Joker - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 2, 2019
  • Chris Stuckmann reviews Joker, starring Joaquin Phoenix, Robert De Niro, Zazie Beetz, Bill Camp, Frances Conroy, Brett Cullen, Glenn Fleshler, Douglas Hodge, Marc Maron, Josh Pais, Shea Whigham. Directed by Todd Phillips.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 11 453

  • Martin Ducharme
    Martin Ducharme 2 minutes ago

    In Taxi Driver, the blood in the last scene is really dimmed.... almost like pink. This is the only reason the film got out. The MPAA wouldn't give the R rating unless it was less violent.

  • FLYNNZILLA
    FLYNNZILLA 57 minutes ago

    Weird cut in the beginning

  • Wise Techie
    Wise Techie Hour ago

    I watched it & it's a real deal

  • Collin Reid
    Collin Reid 10 hours ago

    Review the movie Downsizing, it is the worst movie I’ve ever seen

  • Leonard Halbert
    Leonard Halbert 14 hours ago

    Gives it an A- but admits that it copied taxi DRIVER to a T ???

  • KAY-09 Gaming
    KAY-09 Gaming 15 hours ago

    Arthur was a leftist and within a leftist society (socialist and hate towards rich) Arthur became joker. No wonder some people criticise this over couple of murders while john wick kill so many people and not spreading violence. 😂

  • 张钧哲
    张钧哲 18 hours ago

    可以加上中文字幕吗?

  • caren chau
    caren chau 21 hour ago

    He said “ first u feel bad for him second u r scared of him “ but I feel the opposite, I feel bad for him then scared of him n then I understood him n then I felt empathetic n then I cried

  • ihave7sacks
    ihave7sacks 22 hours ago

    John Wick kills 400 people per movie, Joker kills *spoiler* 6 ( possible maybe 7 if you watch til the end ) and people lose their shit lol.

  • Joel Gomez
    Joel Gomez Day ago

    Overrated

  • Syed Shah Nawaz Ali

    Fantastic movie. DC is back with a big Bang

  • Adrian Reyes
    Adrian Reyes Day ago

    When there's a Joker 2, and there will be, my fear is that it is going to mirror the Matrix. The first Matrix was great. The second Matrix, neo had already become the one and it got bogged down in philosophical bullshit. In the Joker, we see Joker become Joker, but I hope it doesn't loose it's way like the Matrix did. I'm so happy to see movies taking big risks.

  • Why You Trippin' Deebo

    Honestly the first hour of the movie was dull. But the last 45mins were good.

  • Shoumon Srulevich

    9:22 I don't know, after this movie, something dark wakes up in me, and want to kill particular people.

  • Grant Paulsen
    Grant Paulsen Day ago

    Only 7 months after the last controversial comic book movie, god dammit

  • nik pik
    nik pik Day ago

    He would be great as the grinch,he wouldnt have to act neither.

  • mimi mimi
    mimi mimi Day ago

    yeah, I was thinking taxi driver the whole time. Not only because I compared the characters' similar situation but because it's a portrayal of a type of man that is rarely the leading role in a film. The ultimate underdog that discovers life is not all the beautiful after all. The under-represented majority of us I dare to say.

    As i saw more of the video I have something else to say. You said it makes us question whether there's some responsibility on us even though we are not the ones ''pulling the trigger''. Hell yeah there is. I've been saying it all along throughout every shooting and every mass attack on the population. It's statistically impossible that they all share the same pathology. They are, in fact, just as the joker is in the movie, fed-up victims of a system that so obviously ''doesn't care for people like them''. Does it make his actions ok? No. Is there a reason behind it besides pure evil? I think so. There's only so much someone can take before snapping and the movie has some amazing quotes on that.

  • Rustproof Boar
    Rustproof Boar Day ago

    All I have are positive/sad thoughts of this movie. If you haven’t seen it, you don’t get it

  • shinywa Officials

    7:02 um... uh, what was that? 😂

  • Eduardo B. R.
    Eduardo B. R. Day ago

    It pissed me off, that no one have the capacity to understand that it's fiction, this is not something to be used as a model of how to behave in society, this is a work of fiction, like millions of others thro the history of human kind.
    Should we burn all books to ashes, because they are not depicting the "true and good way to behave"? who decides that? and what about one of the reasons fiction even exists in the first place: telling a story about something that is not normal, something that is not your daily boring office commute routine? why people get so offended by fiction is beyond me, and yeah, some movies, a lot of them, are the kind of movies that make you think about your stupid useless "normie" way you are living your life, perhaps it make you wonder how it would be otherwise, that does not mean, these movies will be exposed in schools with teachers saying "hey, kid, this is how you should behave". People take things to extremes that are more fictional, than the movie itself. Who in their own fucking mind would think a movie should be used as a guide on how to live their fucking lives? i hate this kind of debate and i think it's useless.

  • Arrrghzzz
    Arrrghzzz Day ago

    laughed my ass off ... on the toilet ... over the last joke - "...you wouldn't get it..." - because I didn't get it instantly, while watching

  • yo-yo G
    yo-yo G Day ago

    I expected so much violence before seeing it. This was nothing.

  • The Journey
    The Journey Day ago

    I loved the film, and i think it actually does a good job showing the Joker asking for help, so hopefully that helps direct people in some sort of mental health state that needs it to get help.
    But I also understand that the area where that garbage who called himself the joker and attacked a theatre even with the Batman - The Dark Knight are not showing the film, and I get it in that situation completely. Considering, even with Heath's somewhat less controversial portrayal there was a copycat incident. I seriously think discussions about issues, like the political divide, recent gun violence, etc is more important than trying to pretend it isn't already happening anyway.
    And man, Jauquin's performance was masterful. He just jumped to a top ten list of actors of his generation, if I made such a list, with this performance. I honestly wasn't expecting to like it. cause violence deplicted for the sake of violence, just to appease that sometimes demented side of moviegoers always puts me off many a movie that pretends to be something higher than it is, in this case, wow, they shot at the moon, and caught Mars.. Quite a feat with a superhero(villian) movie.

  • andre fernan
    andre fernan Day ago

    Just saw the movie... Best comic movie I've seen so far lol Best joker no question!!!

  • Devin Hill
    Devin Hill Day ago

    Just watched the movie a few hours ago. Damn it was good.

  • TO FALL UPWARDS
    TO FALL UPWARDS 2 days ago

    I guess I'm the only one who isn't okay with "The joker" having an IQ in the 50s. 😂😂😂 Give me a break. The dancing, the lack of lines. He was so mentally incompasitated it was ridiculous! The joker is supposed to have intellect! Yes he's supposed to be crazy. But there is a difference between insanity and being mentally challenged. 🤷🤷🤷 The movie wasn't about the joker at all. But about mental illness with joker thrown on it. It has nothing to do with the actual origin story. Not to mention the joker is 45 years old living with his mom while Bruce is still a child. Has everyone lost their minds?!? Did we see the same movie!!!???

  • Frejborg
    Frejborg 2 days ago

    Depressing film... not worth seeing imo. Just another thing urging common people to become violent, cynical, apathetic, etc.

  • RICHARD O'shea
    RICHARD O'shea 2 days ago

    It wasn't sympathy that they were attempting to engender, it was empathy. Sympathy is what you give a cold, wet dog.

  • IMGOINSSJ2 GAMEZ
    IMGOINSSJ2 GAMEZ 2 days ago

    You started to rooting to for the Joker as the movie goes on

  • the ronin
    the ronin 2 days ago

    thanks so much for reviewing this film!!

  • patrick booten
    patrick booten 2 days ago

    One week to go , and i'm gonna watch joker . fascinating how he becomes evil or wicked feed by dark energy of this society we are living in . I hope i dont get to much sympathie for the joker . But i ques thats their purpose . Already subscribed and thanks for youre great information and explaining . Greetings from belgium

  • Levi Nunya
    Levi Nunya 3 days ago

    8:20 I’m not sure how I feel about your position here. We want to give an artist space to make their statement, we might need a mirror reflecting back on us to show us an ugliness otherwise hidden.
    I’m unconvinced that violent movies and video games are a complete non factor in America’s tendency toward violence, and the science just confirms one’s bias. So it gets confusing.
    If an artist wants to make a film like this or like Taxi Driver, they’re taking on a lot of responsibility. They can’t foresee the consequences of art like this, and neither can you.
    Taxi Driver wasn’t such a great movie that I’d sacrifice my loved ones or their safety just to make sure it got made. I just feel like this sort of thing is more complicated than your attitude suggests.

  • Sanne Ottenhof
    Sanne Ottenhof 3 days ago

    The way I see it, this film doesn't glorify violence at all. To me, it shows how a kind person can transform into someone who does horribly violent things, because of a combination of factors such as a mental illness, being treated terribly, failure career wise, violence, and a resulting self hate and total lack of confidence. Violence is part of the solution for Arthur when he becomes the Joker, because he has been pushed down by society and his mental illness so many times that it's the only thing that can help him get up. This does not mean it's glorified, because the more Arthur becomes the violent Joker we know, the less you can relate to him. At least, this is what I felt while watching the movie.

  • Tim Schwoegler
    Tim Schwoegler 3 days ago

    It was a tough watch, he’s so confused and in his head, he has no control over his thoughts and he took everything so personal and had no control over his emotions, it was very well made but just tough to watch, wouldn’t see it again.

  • jggpj
    jggpj 3 days ago

    The A+ is a myth 😂

  • Captain Jakemerica
    Captain Jakemerica 4 days ago +1

    Chirs plenty of MCU movies leave you talking Avengers Infinity War just about the whole Captain America Trilogy and various others

  • Captain Jakemerica
    Captain Jakemerica 4 days ago

    This movie is a solid commentary on how to help those in need and not allowing violence to happen this controversy is overblown

  • Di Malki
    Di Malki 4 days ago

    Jared Leto: I’m such a good Joker
    Joaquin Phoenix: Hold my Oscar trophy

  • frutotrela
    frutotrela 4 days ago

    nice review!!!

  • Hien Vo
    Hien Vo 4 days ago

    Joker is like the Taxi Driver

  • Desmond Ciauri
    Desmond Ciauri 4 days ago +1

    If they made him gay it would have been A+ but I still liked it🌈

  • Matt Williams
    Matt Williams 5 days ago

    Where did you get that kickass shirt?
    I want one!

  • Jackson French
    Jackson French 5 days ago +1

    The JOKER does have an origin story . It is titled "WHITE HEAT " , starring JAMES CAGNEY .

    • Todd Doherty
      Todd Doherty 5 days ago

      That's funny because the first act of Batman 1989, especially at the Ace Chemical Plant, always reminds me of White Heat!

  • burns burns
    burns burns 6 days ago

    I wish you spoke more on mental illness in your breakdown of his character. this guy is mentally ill

  • Ivan Storey
    Ivan Storey 6 days ago

    Your voice is so lifeless

  • The Elven Jedi
    The Elven Jedi 7 days ago

    Those scenes of the subway train filled with Jokers singlehandedly makes me want to see this. But the rest of the scenes already make me so uncomfortable I don't know if I'm ready for that. I feel like I'm already depressed enough about society as it is...

  • Diurno MX
    Diurno MX 7 days ago

    I really think Heath Ledger was just a freak in face paint. Instead of the Joker.

    • Diurno MX
      Diurno MX 16 hours ago

      @Rent My Ego I can even go a step further The Dark Knight is fuckin overrated, it is not even a good BATMAN movie, and not even a good COMIC BOOK movie. If you remove Batman from it the movie plays out the same.

      bye now.
      Phoenix did an origin, and someone like the JOKER is not sane at all. Heath was okay but not my favorite honestly.

    • Rent My Ego
      Rent My Ego 17 hours ago

      Diurno MX your nuts if u think ledger is overrated. Phoenix was just some crazy guy in clown paint. Ledger is the definitive joker

    • Diurno MX
      Diurno MX 17 hours ago

      @Rent My Ego not really, Phoenix really portrayed the illness mentally that Joker is going through at all times. Heath is just overrated because he died.

    • Rent My Ego
      Rent My Ego Day ago

      Diurno MX Phoenix was the same as well. heath is still the best

  • Diurno MX
    Diurno MX 7 days ago

    You are right. Deadpool is visually more violent. However, the violence in this movie is depicted very realistically and grounded.

    • Diurno MX
      Diurno MX 17 hours ago

      @Adrian Mantsch exactly. Deadpool is comic violence, this Joker guy could be your neighbor next door

    • Adrian Mantsch
      Adrian Mantsch Day ago

      Yeah, this movie shows psychological violence which is far worse than visual violence.This is why the comparison with Martyrs works.

  • TheLifeOfKaay
    TheLifeOfKaay 7 days ago

    yeah . what chris said .

  • Davis Jugroop
    Davis Jugroop 7 days ago

    I just watched it. I liked the movie. The slow build up is good and the ending is like a punch like ! I felt like him after.

  • Ricky Ricardo
    Ricky Ricardo 8 days ago

    People aren’t confused on the character, everybody in this day and age just likes being outraged for no good reason.

  • Ong Grace
    Ong Grace 8 days ago

    Why this Joaquin Phoenix ‘s Joker is well received:His reasons of becoming the Joker is realistic and logical and reasonable.

  • Brooklyn T. Guy
    Brooklyn T. Guy 8 days ago

    saw it for the second time today... favourite movie of 2019 by far

  • The Trash Junkie
    The Trash Junkie 8 days ago

    His performance was absolutely amazing, I have never been disturbed by a film like this

  • Aniv Khawaunju
    Aniv Khawaunju 8 days ago +1

    Every thing about this movie was good except for the plot and story . That was just a hot mess and if not for Phoenix, this movie would've been a B or C+

  • Eimear Butler
    Eimear Butler 8 days ago

    Is there anyone else who didn't like it

  • Matt Hill
    Matt Hill 8 days ago

    Fyi, averse and adverse mean different things. =]

  • CKGoldiing
    CKGoldiing 8 days ago

    Chris Stuckman videos = consistently class.
    I love how your opinions are those of (a) a regular movie fan, and (b) someone who clearly wishes to produce his own features & actively pitches them to studios.
    It makes for a refreshingly wholistic viewing experience.
    Here's to you, bud.

  • Gurjinder Singh
    Gurjinder Singh 8 days ago

    "It is a Drama" - that's what I like about The Dark Knight

  • Gurjinder Singh
    Gurjinder Singh 8 days ago +2

    "Is he going to tickle people to Death?" - Lol I wouldn't be surprised if he did.