Best Selling Backpacking Tent on Amazon - ALPS Mountaineering Lynx 1 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 24, 2019
  • Want to Support TOGR who is 100% Agenda Free?
    Do so with Patreon : www.patreon.com/TOGR
    This is the Best Selling Backpacking Tent on Amazon and here is my review of the ALPS Mountaineering Lynx 1....
    it's not for everyone....

    Link : www.amazon.com/ALPS-Mountaineering-Lynx-1-Person-Tent/dp/B07NXVYGXW
    Weight : 4 lbs. 4 oz
    Price : At the time of filming; $115 for the Blue / Green and $55 for the Clay /Rust. I paid $79 when I purchased this tent
    Colors : There are two colors of this tent; blue / green and the clay / rust.
    Measurements : 2'8 x 7'6, Center Height: 36",
    There is a Lynx 2, 3, 4 person version available.
    Design : Freestanding that really isn’t freestanding and I will explain this in a bit.


    This tent is an oddity of sorts as Alps Mountaineering describes the Lynx in the following way;
    What's especially nice about the Lynx is that the walls are mostly mesh, which helps increase ventilation.
    While the walls are of a higher percentage of mesh, this is by far not their most ventilated tent and in fact, for summer use I feel that there are better tent options out there when you are counting on air flow to keep you comfortable. In my opinion, this is more of a 3+ season tent and what I mean is this; this tent has more in common with a double wall, 4 season tent than a meshy 3 season tent and I see it being the best of fits in the fall, winter and spring use as the polyester material holds in more heat and blocks more wind than the average 3 meshy 3 season tent.
    To me, this tent seems confused; it’s part 3+ season and 3 season but it isn’t a matter of neither area. Too much polyester paneling for summer and not enough of it for holding in a lot of heat in the colder months thanks to the mesh which is present.
    Since AM has other tents which are a better fit for warm weather/summer use, I would like to see them leave a majority of the mesh behind for this tent and make it a fanstastic 3+ season.

    Pros :
    Excellent quality for the money.
    Tall; allows for sitting up as long as you are under 5’
    Waterproof; I’ve had no issues with leaking.
    Rain fly covers the entire tent.
    I don’t mind the rust color tent.
    Simple setup and break down
    Cons :
    Size : for an average size individual, this was fine but for tall and wide individuals, you may not like what you find with this tent. I had a buddy of mine hop in this tent who is 6’; he could lay flat but he couldn’t sit up straight.
    I dislike the blue green version of this tent; not my tastes at all.
    Narrow - might be a problem for larger individuals
    Tall- this is a pro and a con because of the height, you have to stake it out as it will blow away in a slight breeze unless it is anchored down. During mild winds, this tent is so tall that the force of the wind pushing on it began to pull the tent stakes out of the ground.
    Velcro pole straps are extremely long and because of that they don’t do a very good job of securing the fly to the pole.
    The good news is that the fly hugs the body of the tent closely so that isn’t be much of an issue when it comes to it being locked into place other than it being annoying to attach; that is why I generally don’t worry about attaching them.
    Because the fly hugs the body of the tent so tightly, air flow is restricted to main the door.
    Limited ventilation and air flow which means condensation is possible
    Can be a very hot tent to sleep in and will require a good breeze blowing through the door to feel it.
    ……
    Summary :
    This is a good quality budget tent that for myself is one that I would only consider using for cooler nights out on the trail and that’s because of the design. On the hotter windless nights, it has been HOT in this tent and at times, I have been miserable in this tent especially when it warm out and it is raining so the door is zipped shut. Uncomfortable for sure. If you need a budget tent which offers excellent ventilation, take a look at the Zephyr.
    AM continues to be one of those companies who in general makes good quality, budget gear which I have no problem recommending as I haven’t had any failures yet. The material choices with this tent and some of their others is questionable but maybe mesh is more expensive than the fabric.
    ...
    Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.
    www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/
    ....
    Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:
    Facebook:
    pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229
    Twitter: OutdoorGearRev
    .....
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 350

  • TheOutdoorGearReview
    TheOutdoorGearReview  7 months ago +55

    This tent is going into storage and will be brought back out later this fall.
    See ya soon Lynx tent!
    - Luke

    • ryan rogers
      ryan rogers 5 months ago

      @Kenny H This is one of his buddies trolling him. LOL

    • D Ward
      D Ward 6 months ago +1

      Have you tried reorient the tent so the head (or feet) side is facing the wind? It may solve both the heat and stability issues

    • andy muir
      andy muir 6 months ago +1

      how much water proof is the outer shell

    • S. BH.
      S. BH. 7 months ago

      ❤️ If you weren't married I would be all over your muscles! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Brian Bechtol
    Brian Bechtol 10 days ago

    Over 4 pounds for a 1 person tent is ridiculous

  • Greg Flores
    Greg Flores 11 days ago

    Just came back for a quick laugh,.” I’m broad shouldered and fairly muscular”,...no dude,..you definitely are neither, but it’s always funny to hear you dish out that bullshit.

  • Golden Gildo
    Golden Gildo 12 days ago

    TheOutdoorGearReview hey please let me know what kind of Sierra Designs tent that was??

  • Streamed Consciousnes
    Streamed Consciousnes 13 days ago

    This has got to be the best tent for when I go live in skid row

  • Larry Cooperman
    Larry Cooperman 19 days ago

    I had it; I called it the gossamer coffin. It was light enough for bikepacking but if you have Claustrophobia you'll go mad. Cheaply made and the rainfly doesn't work too well.

  • Bull Winkle Like-Button Pusher

    Hyper light Camping gear all the way.

  • Gareth & Zoe Wildcamps
    Gareth & Zoe Wildcamps 21 day ago +1

    From a lifetime of camping experience we'd say another con would be inner pitching 1st, especially in the rainy season. Always buy all in 1 pitching ourselves or outer 1st.

  • nice2835
    nice2835 21 day ago

    Hey wait this is the same thing as the REI COOP Tent

  • Eric Inglis
    Eric Inglis 22 days ago

    great tent. But the see through plastic sheets started to decay. I have used it heavily for 1.5 years and only now needed its first repairs

  • High Desert Drew
    High Desert Drew 23 days ago

    I have a few Alps tents, the lynx 1 is what I take for backpacking in the desert. It can be a warm tent, however the constant problem in the desert is wind, and wind blown dust. It's not unusual to have the winds come up in the evening, and even be rather harsh over-night and into mid-morning. Those higher walls can trap some heat, but they also keep your sleeping area from becoming a scene from Dune. I usually try to put the vestibule pointing at the wind, this makes the tent a bit more aerodynamic. I haven't had the same shaking problem you had, or maybe that's just standard behavior for how tents behave in the desert. Either way, thanks for the review.

  • Tyger Blue Eyes
    Tyger Blue Eyes 23 days ago

    That doesn't pack very small. For backpacking I would want something to pack smaller (besides the poles).
    I have a question: Have you reviewed a tent that's 1 or 2 person that you could put up faster; if you were caught in a storm and you needs to tent-up fast. You know what I mean, " Ok, that's enough rain; I need to stop and camp until it stops."

  • Sarah Sheffler
    Sarah Sheffler 23 days ago

    My eureka 3 person tent has been my absolute favorite tent I've ever had. It's mesh all the way around, has a great vestibule and it's right around 4 Lbs. It fits 2 camping pads well so if there's 2 of us we can split the weight and it's absolutely great for hiking.

  • Jesusandbible
    Jesusandbible 23 days ago

    As its a bit tall tho would it let you sit in a low fishing chair in it to wait out a storm? If only it had a big net door it would solve some issues

  • Joseph Mohalok
    Joseph Mohalok 27 days ago

    You give a good review and you are well spoken .

  • scott winters
    scott winters Month ago

    I have the lynx 2 I really like it but yes its very heavy. The floor still allows moisture to come through so you definitely need to use a ground cloth.

  • Heather Whitman
    Heather Whitman Month ago +2

    "in 2019, this list helped me decide for the best pop up tent *scafe.shop/tbput2019?99* hope it helps you out too!"

  • montyollie
    montyollie Month ago

    I have had this tent for many years and just gave it to a friend this past summer. It was not the tent for me -- too small. I have the Alps Mountaineering Lynx 4 for car camping and that one I ADORE. Fabulous quality. I will use it until it deteriorates, but the one person was way way way too small for my liking. No room for your backpack at all and I didn't like the casket-like feeling of my shoulders touching the walls on either side. The quality is very high but the weight was too much and the width was too narrow for me and my needs. I settled on the River Country trekking pole tent for the same price point, saved two pounds and got about double the width.

  • Kim Horton
    Kim Horton Month ago

    I don’t buy tents that feel tight. When I was motorcycle camping and sleeping on the ground I bought three person tents so I could get my gear inside and sleep comfy.

  • Hugh Mungus
    Hugh Mungus Month ago +1

    I just picked up a kelty late start 1 and am looking forward to using it.

  • Brumfield
    Brumfield Month ago

    Luke, because something is the "best selling" does not make it worthy of a review. People make very poor decisions in purchasing, help them out and review the best, not the cheapest/most popular, or what you were furnished for free.

  • Adventures with Frodo

    Lack of mesh. Guess you had to make some thing up to bitch about. Pos review.

  • Grizzy Bear
    Grizzy Bear Month ago

    Take the rainfly off in the summer dumb dumb... was this guy born with a brain?

  • WonderFroWorld
    WonderFroWorld Month ago

    I have the 2 person tent and I love it!

  • Amfear Liathmor
    Amfear Liathmor Month ago

    I just use a Tatonka Double Dome Mosquito Net (replaced the poles with some lightweight Scandium Poles) and a Tatonka Tarp 4 with my Alpkit trekking poles for summer time use. Very spacious and flexible setups for the weight carried.
    tvclip.biz/video/7iwkCRaQ-9g/video.html

  • David Phillips
    David Phillips Month ago

    Good review. Talked me out of it. What is your favorite 3 season 1 person tent that stands up to extreme weather? I currently have a Coleman Phad x2 that is perfect but looking to downsize and need a hot weather tent just to get out of the weather to sleep. Long term expeditions.

    • Ilkka Karppinen
      Ilkka Karppinen Month ago

      No problem, to each their own. :) For me ’extreme weather’ means ’polar expedition’, ’desert storm’ and/or sub 30 C temps, but if you’re thinking thunderstorms and heat, some dual-pole dome-style option is likely to be a better option. Best of luck with the search!

    • David Phillips
      David Phillips Month ago

      photos.app.goo.gl/XxJk3eZnkcvWx3f76

    • David Phillips
      David Phillips Month ago

      @Ilkka Karppinen their tents are made of very heavy and overly expensive materials. I have never had a problem with weather in my $200 Coleman Xponent tents. Just that the heat of the summer with limited ventilation makes it hard to use and the two person size makes it take up a lot of space.
      I guess there is yet to be a perfect tent. On a cross country trip there will be extreme weather such as thunderstorms, extreme heat over 100f and cold in the low 30s is typical.
      What I have been doing is staying in motels in the hot, humid areas. I'm not sure that any tent can solve that.
      I guess the trade off for a lot of bulk is comfort and the only way to get it.
      I'm seeing a lot of these style tents and they all seem to have a problem with the clearance where your head is. The tent top is in your face like a bivey.
      The Enan is a big space saver over the Akto. Akto is more like a 1.5 person tent. Both of these tents are lighter due to the single pole tunnel design. There is a lot of stress on the pole with that design. They will break or bend easily as the structure is not supporting. I gues besides that your going to get everything wet if it rains. The tent has a problem with condensation.
      These designs have no air flow. Bad design for summer. I guess bad for winter too.
      A semigeodesic design is heavier due to more poles but incredibly strong and the vestibule area on the end design provides lots of head room where you're sleeping.

    • Ilkka Karppinen
      Ilkka Karppinen Month ago +1

      David Phillips if extreme weather is a consideration, I’d look at a Hilleberg Akto.

  • Derick King
    Derick King Month ago +1

    Buy a battery powered fan on amazon and stop complaining we’re in 2020 hello

  • P barny
    P barny Month ago

    Having used Alps Mountaineering gear. The Zephyr 1 or the Mystique 1.5 are better tents. You have to accept these are quality budget backpacking gear. They are not skimping on weight and buying materials economically. Durable yes, lightweight nope. Good cheap entry level gear at the penalty of weight and cutting edge design.

  • Jude Agar
    Jude Agar Month ago +2

    "I'm fairly muscular" lol dude what mirror are you looking at?

    • Greg Flores
      Greg Flores 11 days ago

      Xonvereher Ahhh, that’s so sweet, “ look at his arms as he’s assembling it”, me thinks you love his videos so you can check out his “ gear”, to each his own I guess.

    • John Dong
      John Dong Month ago +1

      Then cries about the tent being 4 pounds. LOL

    • Xonvereher
      Xonvereher Month ago +3

      He's definitely not a twig or anything, look at his arms as he's assembling it if you cant see immediately. Why u gotta shit on him for no reason?

  • Noah Zork
    Noah Zork Month ago +1

    I know you're technically correct but c'mon... Show me a tent that has a great time in a gale force wind. Isnt that part of the fun?!?

  • Noah Zork
    Noah Zork Month ago

    Maybe a Zepher 1 for summer and my Lynx 1 for everything else (2 badass 1 person tents for $100!). It's not that hot if you take the fly off as many have said... But I know, rarely is it worth the risk.

  • Christopher Fisher
    Christopher Fisher Month ago

    These types of tents are designed for Mountaineering not lowland camping, therefore their seasonal rating is for Mountain seasons not the warmer/ more humid weather of the majority of American weather

  • kill_your _ego
    kill_your _ego Month ago +2

    That tent sucks. The Nemo elite is way lighter and way better quality.

  • Alwyn Van Der Linde

    So basically in short - advertised as 3 season but actuslly a decent 4 season tent? Pole design seems to be strong enough for snow etc

  • Bob Parsons
    Bob Parsons Month ago

    Bob here from Alberta..can you rec a nice 3 person tent, less than $300 Cdn. Thanks

  • Jon Moran
    Jon Moran Month ago

    That thing is huge packed. And it weighs as much as a lot of 2 person tents. My 1 person freestanding Big Sky 4 season tent weighs in a less than 3 lbs. And it has 2 doors and 2 vestibules.

  • MahaloMoFo
    MahaloMoFo 2 months ago +3

    I've used polyester sided tents like this in the summer in Texas with no problems. Usually if it is that hot out, there is almost no chance of rain. With the rainfly off, it's not bad at all.

  • Louis Carter Jr.
    Louis Carter Jr. 2 months ago

    So us in Florida need not apply! Think about on a trip to the bottom of the Grand Canyon NOGO?

  • Tim Roethle
    Tim Roethle 2 months ago

    The eureka midori tent is exactly like that and I really like it!

  • GO AWAY
    GO AWAY 2 months ago

    Wish you would do the same kind of review on the lynx 2. It would be better for canoers.

  • John West
    John West 2 months ago

    Luke any chance you could review the Winterail personal Bivey tent on Amazon it's about 90.00 says it 2lbs.9oz but the it says in its sack 3lbs 6oz hoping you could review it. Thanks

  • John West
    John West 2 months ago

    Luke could you add extra guidelines if needed? I live in Wisconsin so winters get pretty cold.

  • John West
    John West 2 months ago +1

    That's right Luke we forgot how Adonis like you are we your broad shoulders lol . Still an Awesome review, we gotta pick on you a little. Thanks for all great content keep up the great work: ))

  • TALANGENI
    TALANGENI 2 months ago

    I have this tent(2person) and have used it 5 years now in temps as low as 12°f . I tented in mountains..late fall. on the boundary waters..late fall, and on the beach on Lake Superior in late fall! I do not tent in this in the summer because I use a hammock in the summer but this tent goes with me late fall to sled dog races as I camp on site with my dogs. This is a good tent! Zippers are great and for me zippers are everything. The 2 man is roomy enough for me and my 90lbs malamute and all my gear. If you’re going to backpack with this tent get copper poles. I have sled dogs that carry my gear so I don’t have to worry about weight being an issue. When you’re packing it away don’t make consistent creases, you want to stuff it willy-nilly into the sack and of course dry it out when you get home.

  • Scott InTheWildOutdoors

    I just can't sleep in a 1 person tent nomatter what! Either a 2 person tent or a hammock!

  • Dave - Smoky Mountain Outdoors

    Love Alps Products. My son's Boy Scout Troop exclusively used the Taurus Outfitter line of tents and they held up for years of use and abuse. Heavy duty poles, zippers, etc were a perfect application. Great value for the money.

  • SEVENPIKE
    SEVENPIKE 2 months ago +1

    I don't think that this tent will have an outdoor tent (out-door.store/product-category/hammock ).

  • 577 Jersey Customs Adventures

    Luke da Duke!!!

  • Tim Barnett
    Tim Barnett 2 months ago

    Shorter an wider, better pole mounts an stakes got great one man tent!

  • Jesus Barraza
    Jesus Barraza 2 months ago

    I got a 42 dollar backpacking tent off Amazon, it uses two trekking poles and is already smaller and lighter, sleeps two. I've been really satisfied with it so far.

    • Chad Brooks
      Chad Brooks 2 months ago

      @Jesus Barraza good deal sir I'll have to check that out

    • Jesus Barraza
      Jesus Barraza 2 months ago

      @Chad Brooks it's retailing for 42 dollars right now, look for "River Country Products Trekker Tent 2.2, Two Person Trekking Pole Backpacking Tent" On Amazon

    • Chad Brooks
      Chad Brooks 2 months ago +1

      Info?

  • Xj18A
    Xj18A 2 months ago

    This is my first backpacking tent. Been using it for 2 years now. I live in NE florida. I dont camp in the summer. But in the fall winter and spring. This tent is amazing. I even spent a day in it while it was raining cats and dogs. You know florida storm type. Crazy night. But the tent didnt leak. The wind never made the stakes come up. But I use the msr ground hogs. So maybe thats why. But I love this tent. Im not rich and I dont have mommy and daddy to pay for everything. So I love budget gear. This is a winner for me.

  • Aaron Henderson
    Aaron Henderson 2 months ago

    This is by far my favourite backpacking tent design...simple, two pole with a full cover fly, light...cheapest way to stay dry and comfy on your trips.

  • Christopher King
    Christopher King 2 months ago +1

    I like the tent, he is quite correct. It is an oven. The fly is required for night dew. I am quite wide. It was hysterical for my friends watching me go in and out. I used it in Iowa in the summer during RAGBRAI. No shade and we expected rain three of the 10 nights. I would buy it again as it is compact to carry (heavy). If you can get it under 100 bucks, buy it. Nice review.

  • Yuji Naka
    Yuji Naka 2 months ago

    Just purchased mine and used it last night facing 15knots-like wind , the whole night I just heard the squeezing sound, but it survived it. Yes, don't recommend using it against high wind. Orient the narrow side of it toward the wind. Overall, I like it very much.

  • Archon
    Archon 2 months ago

    Great vid, thanks. I really liked the information about the design choices, some things I hadn't considered when searching for the perfect tent. :)

  • Biking Viking
    Biking Viking 2 months ago +1

    This is such a great little tent. Quick and easy to set up. My son-in-law, a wilderness firefighter has one and loves it. My only question, is there anyone who makes this design but in a lighter weight. If someone like zpaks, big agnes or the like can make 2 man tents under 2 lbs, this design would most assuredly be around a pound or pound and a half and would sell like crazy even at around three or four hundred dollars I believe.

  • Brian Smith
    Brian Smith 2 months ago +1

    Just pull the fly if you’re too hot. 🤷‍♂️

    • s drak
      s drak Month ago +1

      @Brian Smith ...he’s a brand snob. Addicted to the free crap expensive companies send him.

  • john JohnB
    john JohnB 2 months ago +1

    I bought the 2 man version last year. Have used it several times. the ventilation is better with 2 doors. holds my gear and my air mattress, with a lot of room left over. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Kevin Schart
    Kevin Schart 2 months ago +1

    my first tent. decent tent. ive taken it out 3 times in sub freezing weather. kept me warm and dry in rain and snow.
    the only problem is there is not much space inside the tent around your head (very narrow). I would recommend buying a tent that has more squared walls, and not the sloping walls like this one.

  • Aaron B
    Aaron B 3 months ago +2

    Their gear is decent, but heavy.