Ocean's 8 - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 8, 2018
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video. The first 500 people to sign up at this link will get their first 2 months for FREE! skl.sh/chrisstuckmann
    Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Ocean's 8, starring Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett, Rihanna, Helena Bonham Carter, Anne Hathaway, Mindy Kaling, Sarah Paulson, Awkwafina. Directed by Gary Ross.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 510

  • Claus Bonne
    Claus Bonne Month ago

    It suck ed pretty hard

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Month ago

    A review of a movie starring all women? Let me guess, everyone in the comment section is bitching about feminism

  • David rodriguez
    David rodriguez Month ago

    they basically had no conflict in the movie that wasn't immediately absolve as soon as it was presented. not really any tention imo

  • jamb
    jamb Month ago

    I've noticed that any channel that has got over 1m subs can't be honest wen it comes to the modern PC politics!! Too scared to get pulled on saying the truth that this movie was simply "meh" at best,with the stupidest twist ending I've ever seen. I suppose I can't blame him and others for sitting on the fence as the SJWs cud/wud crucify him and his channel if he gave his honest opinions on this movie.

  • Matin Far
    Matin Far Month ago

    I just watched it tonight for the first time with the fam and it was FUCKING BORING. There was no suspense, lots of plot holes, and the reason for the heist was weak and lame. I give it 3/10.

  • Jovi Teh
    Jovi Teh Month ago

    Didn't watch the prequels to this and I love this

  • A. Inai
    A. Inai 2 months ago

    Alot of awkward silences in that film

  • Thomas Barnett
    Thomas Barnett 3 months ago

    Funny how u are reviewing a movie very carefully because you dont want to be seen as a man who hates women. Critics said it failed because of white men dominating

  • The Metric Labs
    The Metric Labs 3 months ago

    I thought if the other movies never existed and this movie was just these women robbing a bank it's not that great because it something doesn't seem to be as great as it could be

  • yinny
    yinny 3 months ago +5

    couldnt disagree more. this movie was an absolute bore: the characters did everything with basically no struggle whatsoever, they never slipped up, never got caught, never had to make compromises, nothing. it was a straight line from start to finish and that's a surefire way to make people fall asleep

    • Nock
      Nock Month ago +1

      EXACTLY

  • Ramiro Perdiguero Díaz

    Es una basura esta pelicula

  • C7 StreetRev
    C7 StreetRev 3 months ago +3

    I stopped watching this review when you said it wasn't bad..smh

    • Emilia Barzini
      Emilia Barzini Month ago

      C7 StreetRev yeah because if someone doesn't share your subjective opinion, they're automatically wrong

  • xavier ramirez
    xavier ramirez 3 months ago +1

    Watch "Widows" for a good female driven heist movie this movie was so meh

    • Matin Far
      Matin Far Month ago

      YES! Widows was 1000x better than this trash.

  • Goddess Ahh
    Goddess Ahh 3 months ago

    I wish you could have just judge the movie based on its self individually.

  • richie p
    richie p 4 months ago

    Despite having such a talented cast the movie was just flat and boring.

  • himura haibara
    himura haibara 4 months ago

    It's really a bad idea to make a "woman version" from a movie with men as leads. No matter what the audience will compare the two, it's just human nature. Why not make another standalone movie?

  • Facts over feeling facts over feeling

    It's a shitty ass remake with SJW agenda, say it, fuck feminism PC culture!!!!

  • Atlas Fall
    Atlas Fall 4 months ago

    Sandra is bat shit crazy. I find that super attractive. She is like ten years older than me. I saw her in speed when I was a child 😂

  • Tom Saer
    Tom Saer 4 months ago

    I don't get the hate for this movie. it was perfectly serviceable as a heist film, nothing amazing or stunning, just a fine movie idk

  • V von Hessen
    V von Hessen 4 months ago

    I liked this movie. I mean it wasn't Oscar worthy but it had so many actresses I like, plus Rihanna, who I thought did well. I know her character wasn't complex but she at least came off as natural in front of the camera, unlike Beyoncé. This was one of those "fun" movies. No huge complaints from me.

  • Jaq F
    Jaq F 4 months ago

    fuck akwafina

  • ArArArchStanton ArArArchStanton

    After the necklace theft I wanted to turn it off the entire last 40 minutes. It was painful. So much of the plot revolves around people just doing what Sandra wants when she hasn’t no reason to think they will. And then other things happen with no payoff. There’s absolutely no reason Hathaway joins them at the end. It adds nothing and means noting to the plot. Problems get solved via magic. It’s horrible.

  • Rad Chad
    Rad Chad 5 months ago

    this movie felt boring to me--and not even as someone who's seen and prefer the originals--i just thought it was boring. it just felt like a let-down, which sucks, because i love most all of the women cast and the costumes were impeccable.

  • nur arief
    nur arief 5 months ago

    if this movie come out before ocean's eleven, I will call this a "fine" movie. but unfortunately it didn't.
    "watchable" is my best grade for this movie.

  • marco avila
    marco avila 5 months ago

    Good cast movie sucks boring 3/10 ocean 11 8/10

  • marco avila
    marco avila 5 months ago

    What's next predator remake all woman soldiers . Fuck that lol. James Bond as a faget tranny or a woman .lol

  • marco avila
    marco avila 5 months ago

    What's next Spiderwoman Hollywood make something original with women kicking fucking ass

  • Jordan Harrington
    Jordan Harrington 5 months ago

    As someone who hasn't seen ANY of the "oceans" I freakin loved this movie.

  • samslick90
    samslick90 6 months ago

    This movie made me throw up

  • M Mac
    M Mac 6 months ago

    Watchable? Oh please. It's a festival of cringe by idiots who can't come up with original ideas.

  • Brian Ajax Wintor
    Brian Ajax Wintor 6 months ago

    I kinda liked the acting.

  • ¤T'CHALLA¤
    ¤T'CHALLA¤ 6 months ago

    This movie wasn't good...it was a bad copy of George clooney Ocean series

  • Ana Luisa Dias
    Ana Luisa Dias 6 months ago

    Expectation sucks! I have never seen any of the previous movies, I went to this one with all my heart in it. And when the movie finished, I was kinda like, that's it? The movie was good, the cast was superb but the movie looked so easy, everything went perfect to them, not even i tiny risk of things going south... I little disappointing. Nice movie, not much more than that.

  • MAGACOP
    MAGACOP 6 months ago

    It was fucking terrible.

  • The The
    The The 6 months ago

    Truly a horrible movie. Great bunch of talented woman actors waisted , doing the tired, roll reversal bandwagon thing. Yawn Yawn. If it isn't enough to have to watch all my childhood favorites, like the Ghostbusters Busters become chicks and Dr Who becoming a she, now nothing is safe from being bastardised. Wouldn't it be better to invent new strong interesting female character, instead of dumping on everything ever made. Finley, I recommend ditching this movie and instead go and see the new movie "Widows" which was as an original 1980s ITV sreenplay and mini series, that features an all strong female cast .

  • ceegsterr9669
    ceegsterr9669 6 months ago +1

    U said at the beginning it wasn’t a remake then at the end u said it was. ????????

  • Meg Fujiwara
    Meg Fujiwara 6 months ago

    As a person who’s never seen any of the oceans series film, i loved it! It was funny and aesthetically amazing

  • Khalif Azman
    Khalif Azman 6 months ago

    this was such a gorgeous movie

  • Jill Thompson
    Jill Thompson 6 months ago

    I completely agree with this! It's exactly what I was thinking when I left the theatre

  • Kjizzle
    Kjizzle 6 months ago

    The part i ddnt get in the movies was, if the magnet was the only thing that could remove the necklace when put on, then how the fuck did the guards believe the story of the necklace falling of her neck while she was running to the bathroom... somebody needs to explian this to me. cos the magnet was in the guards possession. smh....

  • gret morales
    gret morales 7 months ago

    Did u watch the same movie i watched?😳

  • Tobi. D
    Tobi. D 7 months ago

    If you want to be feminist cunts that complain about men...don't copy what men do. Unbelievable..

  • Ganizani Mwale
    Ganizani Mwale 7 months ago

    Not a bad movie. Just entirely unoriginal.

  • goji
    goji 7 months ago

    As I haven't seen the other movies, (heck, i didn't even know it was a franchise) I actually enjoyed this movie

  • Lauren LoSchiavo
    Lauren LoSchiavo 7 months ago

    I find your opinion a bit on the shallow side...there are very few, if any, real life movies that are not remakes of something. Seriously, what topic has not been covered extensively in almost every country of the world. It is not the plot, motive, actions, etc. that make a great movie, it is how the actors portray it in a way that carries itself to every individual who views it. Your dialogue, for example....I have heard these same points hashed out with too many movie 'critics'...Your opinion nor approach is not new.

  • Keithan Chester
    Keithan Chester 7 months ago

    Oceans 8 = Scream 4
    Both movies copy from each of their first movies. Just switch it up a little.

  • ViciousBane 56
    ViciousBane 56 7 months ago

    So what’s the difference between remake and reboot? Also I like this movie and it was watchable and had a good time

  • G Chinmay Varma
    G Chinmay Varma 7 months ago +1

    _Movie sucked ass_
    Forget women being strong and bullshit
    Its just plain bad
    Wasted 3 hours of my time
    *fucking Americans who want women yays*
    Really fucking disappoint for oceans series , it was so good .
    Long story short , don't watch it , *It Sucks Ass*

  • Zan
    Zan 7 months ago

    The issue I have with both this and Ghostbusters (2016) is that the movie just feels like a retread. The sad thing is that Kristen Wiig, Sandra Bullock and the rest of the star power doesn't change that despite their talent, and despite having some good scenes, especially with Ocean's 8, it just doesn't feel like a new movie. Which is a shame, because I was sort of looking forward to it.

  • Ripper
    Ripper 7 months ago

    What’s next the X-women origins

  • Little Mo
    Little Mo 8 months ago

    I reluctantly decided to watch this movie thinking that I would absolutely hate it but that wasn't the case at all. I thought the actresses we're quite Charming and I liked the way they worked together. People who say there is no originality it it's film may not be aware that Ocean's 11 was a remake. While Ocean's 11 was a good movie I did not care much for 12 or 13. There seems to be a lack of realism in movies. I have been to those casinos that they pretended to rob in those movies and I guarantee you it is not possible. I have seen jewelry heists happened in real life so this movie seems more realistic than the other ocean movies. I've been pleasantly surprised by how good some of the movies that these millennial freaks smash on the opening weekend and then these movies don't do as well as they should. Honestly these basement-dwelling losers need to get a life. If you think everything sucks then you need to go out there and create something original.

  • Thiago Moreno
    Thiago Moreno 8 months ago

    To me the movie was pretty alright, but I kept expecting some actual conflict and it never came...
    All the conflicts are stuff like when the boy who's taking the jewel stops to have a chat... but then continues
    So in the end it was kinda boring, a story with so little conflict is always boring

  • Donald Stuckley
    Donald Stuckley 8 months ago

    This movie is 💩💩💩💩💩

  • tom202404
    tom202404 8 months ago

    Try again female leads.

  • Cameron Morgan
    Cameron Morgan 8 months ago

    OK. Do at the end of Ocean's 8. Sandra Bullock shakes a Martini on a bench at Danny Ocean's grave. She sits the Martini glasses on her right side and pours it in front of a vault with the name Helga M. Meyer 1992-2010. This was Sandra Bullock's mother's name born in 1942-2000. Then Sandra Bullock picks up her drink, glances down at this vault, looks back up at Danny's grave and says, "you would have loved it." obviously evoking her real life mother, Helga
    .

  • C Bailey
    C Bailey 8 months ago

    Rhianna was looking too good in that red dress with those tiittes popping out

  • footbal
    footbal 8 months ago

    At least it was better than the new ghostbusters

  • Dolan Cleary
    Dolan Cleary 8 months ago

    Perhaps I'm just spoiled by the 2001 Ocean's 11 and the likes of Payday 2, where I now expect heist flicks like this to be a bit grander in scale or to have more moving parts. Even Lucky Logan (or as I like to call it, Hillbilly Ocean's 11) felt like a notch higher than Ocean's 8, despite having a much lower payoff for those involved in the heist. The twist at the end felt duller than dirt and out of left field as it reveals that not only any sort of surprise it could've had was boring and irrelevant to the main heist, but that this film could've been much more interesting. And no, "empowering women" isn't an excuse to lack quality.

  • Dalisu Ngobese
    Dalisu Ngobese 8 months ago

    I’m saying this movie is a dog

  • Andy Drew
    Andy Drew 8 months ago

    Lol dude it’s so obvious you’re treading superrrr cautiously likely due to the cast. Relax a little bit. Just say it’s absolute dog shit. Everyone else would agree.

  • Bob Smith
    Bob Smith 8 months ago

    Eh ... I was going to watch it on one of the streaming services and then I noticed ... all the characters were girls ...
    Now - I like watching girls. I liked Suicide Squad because - it had Margo Robbie in booty pants.
    I like strong women. I loved Ripley (in the first two ...), Katniss and Selene. I've got those movies on DVD.
    But ... I have a very, very, very low tolerance for people who are trying to push a political agenda on me through my entertainment.
    I watched ... that Natalie Portman thing with the 4 chicks and ... yeah ... there it was ... someone's agenda ... not as bad as some but ... I didn't enjoy it.
    The thing is - like in The Last Jedi - these people who are pushing feminism seem to think that they need to make the men look stupid - to make the woman look good. They don't. I liked Rouge One. All the characters in there had their weaknesses and their strengths. Jen didn't have to make a male character look stupid for her to look good. She looked good because of what she did - not at the expense of someone else. THAT is the thing the SJW's don't get.
    So ... no. I'll pass on this. I like Sandra Bullock but ... I've had more Politically Correct horse shit lately than I care for and ... just don't want to waste any more of my time on something else which MIGHT be more of the same. If it's not ... then I've missed out ... but ... naw ... I don't care ... I've reached my quota of crap for now.
    .

  • Horror fan 4 Life
    Horror fan 4 Life 8 months ago

    I loved this movie. especially the third act.the characters,score and cinematography were very good.sandra Bullock Anne Hathaway were the stand outside in my opinion.the story
    Was sensational. A-- is my grade

  • James Nnabeze
    James Nnabeze 8 months ago

    Disappointed in this review this is a horrible movie.

  • battle hardened
    battle hardened 8 months ago +2

    so many lonely men in the comments

  • jakmere
    jakmere 8 months ago

    I think that was the point. They didn't diverge too much from O11 because they wanted to emphasize the familial lineage - Debbie Ocean is doing exactly what the Ocean family does. She is like a duplicate of her brother in every manner except gender.

  • Maxx Doran
    Maxx Doran 8 months ago

    Rhianna simply can’t act...she can barely sing. Mildly attractive at best. She was awful and irritating in Valerian. Enough of her and her lack of talent already

  • George M
    George M 8 months ago

    Don’t you think that maybe the reason they made it so similar is because not everyone is on board with having a full female cast, so they decided to play it safe and have it mirror a film that they know did well.

  • Learn More
    Learn More 8 months ago +1

    I was rooting for this to be good because of the amazing cast. It was still watchable and I enjoyed some parts of it but, yeah, the lack of originality kinda killed it for me.

  • NAGGER wassup
    NAGGER wassup 8 months ago

    How can this film be empowering when all they do is to rip off other movies changing men's roles with women? Can't they just make an original movie with original script?

  • Rhino Thunder
    Rhino Thunder 8 months ago

    What’s happening here is that the movie “Oceans 8” is technically cheating by not being a remake and instead claiming to be a sequel. It’s basically a remake that hiding behind the fact that it’s technically a sequel. It’s a way for these people to make it home female remake without calling it a remake even though it really is just a remake.

  • andrea temblador
    andrea temblador 8 months ago

    I think good or bad is a perspective.

  • Joao Holtz
    Joao Holtz 8 months ago

    Movies are supposed to be enjoyable, not necessarily "original" under the surface. Thought it was a great movie. Enjoyed seeing the original trilogy style "updated". It doesn't have anything to do with feminism

  • dollarhugo37
    dollarhugo37 8 months ago

    it was a let down, like ghost busters.

  • Lord Darth
    Lord Darth 8 months ago

    Pls remake 'born on the 4th of July', pls pls pls they can do that i feel it........or the trans version of Platoon...they are so powerful! Saving miss Ryan...

  • Deux T
    Deux T 8 months ago

    So C+ is good? Should change the channel name to Chris Cuckmann

  • Atikah Nurul Khaninda
    Atikah Nurul Khaninda 8 months ago

    what I think that you lacked mentioning is that how this heist kind of movie is rare in today trend, which makes it really fresh in its own way with all the tricks, that's my opinion

  • Architecture
    Architecture 8 months ago +8

    3:50 No chris, it's not better than Ocean's Twelve in any way, it's just dull!, i actually like Ocean's Twelve a lot, it's so entertaining.

  • otownrvr
    otownrvr 8 months ago

    Piece of crap flawed movie

  • Captain Planet
    Captain Planet 8 months ago

    i love these movies. they ruined ghostbusters now this. a constant reminder of how terrible woman are in movies. i'm think the feminists should now do spiderwoman to make me laugh even more

  • Humayra Faizah
    Humayra Faizah 8 months ago

    One thing for sure!Rihanna can't act for shit

  • Suchart Boontid
    Suchart Boontid 8 months ago

    One glaring flaw in the plot is the fact that the necklace has to be removed by a special magnet. They spent maybe 5 minutes on introducing that plot thread and how to solve it. And after they used their own magnet to remove the necklace they handed it to Mindy Kaling who used a regular cutting tool to cut the necklace into small pieces. Aqwuafina could have just used the same kind of cutting tool to cut the necklace between the diamonds and grab it while Anne Hathaway is puking her guts out. No need to call in Rihanna's sister.

  • markknife1
    markknife1 8 months ago

    The movie was a nice change of pace from the usual teledrama garbage thats been coming out in droves.
    This movie is actually fun.

  • Mary Barr
    Mary Barr 9 months ago

    I think they should have run with the "Sandra Bullock's character is Danny Ocean's sister and their entire family are criminals" theme and storyline and still presented it with a fresh take. A brand new story (rather than this shot-for-shot, almost copy and paste version of Ocean's 11) would have been so much better. Still keep the Met Gala heist in, but make it a brand new story.
    It's such a shame because I thought this cast worked so well and their chemistry with each other (in particular Sandra and Cate) was amazing! It's a shame it was not an original story and it's a sequel within the same universe.

  • maximumrisk2004
    maximumrisk2004 9 months ago

    I actually liked this movie alot. It may be, because I have not seen the first Oceans movie in ages. In general I would say they did a great Job.

  • Matt S
    Matt S 9 months ago

    An all female version of Terminator is next...no joke. Feminists suck!

  • sweetbabyboo5
    sweetbabyboo5 9 months ago

    Good film but forgettable. It's also one of those movies you don't rewatch. Definitely agree there's no real suspense or build up. Cast was great, clothing create, revenge subplot was ridiculous and unnecessary (to me).

  • madzangels
    madzangels 9 months ago

    It's not women actors they need, it's Women Directors, Producers, Artists, that they need.
    Otherwise you're just copying shit men have already done 30 times already.

  • P G
    P G 9 months ago

    Movie blew so bad

  • typingbacon
    typingbacon 9 months ago

    SPOILERS



    The ending is one big plot hole, if they do decide to make a sequel of this its gonna be Ocean's Twelve again because why the hell did Sandra tipped James, when the owner of the jewels they've stolen find out that they're all fakes she's already a prime suspect and she's gonna go somewhere in Europe and pretend to be Sandra Bullock to Bruce Willis

  • Movie User
    Movie User 9 months ago

    I didn't get past the first 12 minutes.

  • Nehemiah
    Nehemiah 9 months ago +2

    This movie was Dogsh**t period!

  • John Egan
    John Egan 9 months ago

    No interest in this movie

  • GCT10/31/1990
    GCT10/31/1990 9 months ago

    Terrible movie, what a waste... Could of brought the original cast back for one last heist could of been amazing, females... Stop this "we can do what you guys do". Bullshit

  • shawn stephens
    shawn stephens 9 months ago +1

    Hollywood is in the propaganda making business these days...this is all about pushing the women are taking over the world agenda...its better than the white people bashing movies they have made lately...I just feel sorry for young people that don't realize they are being brainwashed...its pathetic that they do this to people in America.

  • winlanduy
    winlanduy 9 months ago

    ocean´s 12 is better than 13.

  • David Bobowski
    David Bobowski 9 months ago +1

    I think it was quite refreshing. Renewing an older movie is unoriginal, but younger audiences who haven't seen the original can be introduced to it through movies like this. It was very entertaining and I always enjoy seeing how the heists are pulled off.

  • zer00rdie
    zer00rdie 9 months ago

    Its a SJW remake not worthy of the name, much like Ghost Busters.

  • Kuldeep Singh
    Kuldeep Singh 9 months ago

    NEXT X-WOMENS

  • highlander robert
    highlander robert 9 months ago

    I miss the good old days when art meant something instead of social justice bull$#!+

  • Mahmuda Kabir Moni
    Mahmuda Kabir Moni 9 months ago

    it totally looked like ocean's eleven...bratt pit introduced others with clooney and here kate introduced everyone with sandra...the girl with glasses the designer played that old man with glasses from ocean's eleven team.. i guess