The Last Czars Netflix - the series review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 17, 2019
  • Recently, Netflix produced a series called The Last Czars. It's a docu-drama about the life and fate of the last Russian Emperor from the Romanov dynasty and his family. Together with Anna, we'll review it and find out just how negligent creators can be when it comes to historical facts of a foreign country.
    The Last Czars (2019), starring Robert Jack, Susanna Herbert, Ben Cartwright, Oliver Dimsdale, Bernice Stegers, Steffan Boje, Indre Patkauskaite. Directed by Adrian McDowall, Gareth Tunley.
    Subscribe to our channel - bit.ly/2MYHo5f
    Follow us:
    ◊ Website - bit.ly/2x38RYT
    ◊ Facebook - bit.ly/2KngS3i
    ◊ Instagram - bit.ly/2WNn2Am
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 206

  • RUSSIA BEYOND
    RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago +10

    Read 'The Last Czars' debunked: 48 most glaring mistakes in Netflix’s series - www.rbth.com/history/330639-last-czars-debunked-48-most-glaring-mistakes

  • Emil Sosnin
    Emil Sosnin Month ago

    Красотка

  • Kingdom of Hungary
    Kingdom of Hungary Month ago +1

    That moment when kaiserreich is more accurate...

  • Maurine Emba
    Maurine Emba Month ago

    Definitely people have to watch this series right now

  • HP Lovecraft
    HP Lovecraft Month ago

    This movie could have been so much better. The commentary was informative for the most part and very engaging but most of the main cast were bereft of any real character or compassion, the dialogue was flat and fails miserably to convey the drama and pathos of this unbelievably huge and tragic story

  • WilliamParadise
    WilliamParadise Month ago

    His wife was more English like than German..

  • AC81
    AC81 Month ago

    I’ve watched it before bed every night so far.... it’s good, and sad

  • Paloma Aranzazu Godinez Melgoza

    What is the book you recommend instead?

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  Month ago +2

      Try any books by Richard Pipes or Donald Raleigh, or, most notably, 'The Russian Revolution' by Sheila Fitzpatrick.

  • А. Савинов
    А. Савинов 2 months ago

    Снимите пожалуйста про Колей и Королев их эпохи, как они людей убивали и что использовали на английском! А то они этот момент как-то забывают(специально упускают), что они творили с людьми, как убивали и пытали! Но частенько нам и миру напоминают только о негативных моментах нашей истории! Вот только если бы это было так в действительности, как они рассказывают, то я думал СССР и уже тем более РФ до наших дней просто напросто не дожила!

  • Victor Wheeler
    Victor Wheeler 2 months ago

    How did they get black peril from moun-te-negro 😂

  • rodrigo reyes
    rodrigo reyes 2 months ago +2

    im taking notes now!

  • James Sutton
    James Sutton 2 months ago

    Hanged, not hung. "Hanged" is the past tense of the execution, whereas Ron Jeremy is "hung". Sorry for being a grammar nazi

  • StarcyInfo
    StarcyInfo 2 months ago +3

    An interesting, even some mystical fact.
    The Romanov Dynasty began in the "Ipatiev Monastery". The first Czar Michael lived there.
    The Romanov Dynasty ended in the "Ipatiev house". The last Czar was executed there.
    Such a coincidence. Such an irony of fate.

  • Another NPC
    Another NPC 2 months ago +7

    Even as someone who is not exactly a fan of (modern) Russia: this whole series needs to be stamped "Citation needed" once every five seconds.

  • Anastasia K
    Anastasia K 2 months ago +1

    Who else saw a tattoo on a Nikolas hand at the very first episode?))

    • Максим Генов
      Максим Генов 2 months ago

      It’s true. When Nikolay was young, he visited Japan, where he made a tattoo in the form of a dragon

  • StarcyInfo
    StarcyInfo 2 months ago +1

    The Romanovs. The History of the Russian Dynasty. Russian Documentary Film in english. 8 episodes
    tvclip.biz/p/PLwGzY25TNHPCxyFuJ7VOLetm95QQIY7L0

  • Lafleurrose
    Lafleurrose 2 months ago +1

    OMG, this is good. I have little knowledge details about the story so I didn't see the mistakes but your video clarifies me. Thank you!.

    • Lafleurrose
      Lafleurrose 2 months ago

      @StarcyInfo Thank you :) b

    • StarcyInfo
      StarcyInfo 2 months ago +1

      The Romanovs. The History of the Russian Dynasty. Russian Documentary Film in english. 8 episodes
      tvclip.biz/p/PLwGzY25TNHPCxyFuJ7VOLetm95QQIY7L0

  • Comrade Cartman
    Comrade Cartman 2 months ago

    Прикол в том, что это не Столыпин, а Витте, так пишется в титрах

  • Moushumi Ghosh
    Moushumi Ghosh 2 months ago +2

    Thank you for pointing all those gaffes!

  • Gordon Kirkland
    Gordon Kirkland 2 months ago +2

    Very dissapointing. Simon Sebag montefiore ( who is a part of the "team") Seems to be speaking completely differently about the history than he does in his books. I'd love to know what books RUSSIA Beyond recommends on this subject.

    • StarcyInfo
      StarcyInfo 2 months ago +1

      The Romanovs. The History of the Russian Dynasty. Russian Documentary Film in english. 8 episodes
      tvclip.biz/p/PLwGzY25TNHPCxyFuJ7VOLetm95QQIY7L0

  • joecoffeyartistguy
    joecoffeyartistguy 2 months ago +4

    thank you-all well put and valid -i got through the first episode and stopped -couldn't go on lol

  • Sabrina Capistrano
    Sabrina Capistrano 2 months ago

    I watched the show and I actually finished it. What you're saying is true, Netflix should have double, no triple checked the facts before actually incorporating it in the docu-drama series, but then again, there's the word drama.
    Aside from all the historical mistakes, aesthetically it was really good, music was on-point, the acting was great (gotta say the actor of Rasputin was really good because he annoyed me to bits), and it killed time. If you guys want a dramatization of history, go and watch this, but make sure to search for answers to your questions while watching :)

  • Tara Thelen
    Tara Thelen 2 months ago +1

    The execution scene was very hard for me to watch. The family didn’t have to die like that

    • LBF522
      LBF522 2 months ago +1

      @Frank Algernon Cowperwood True

    • Frank Algernon Cowperwood
      Frank Algernon Cowperwood 2 months ago +1

      @LBF522 , The serfs are not supposed to know anything real.

    • LBF522
      LBF522 2 months ago

      I agree it was barbaric and senseless. That is why they kept it from the Russian public so long.

    • Frank Algernon Cowperwood
      Frank Algernon Cowperwood 2 months ago +2

      @lagracie1012 , Today's tyrants better watch this scene over and over again to envision their own days of throes.

    • lagracie1012
      lagracie1012 2 months ago +1

      Was a sanitised version of the execution. The reality was far more brutal. None of the Romanov children died as quickly as in the show.

  • THX1188 8855
    THX1188 8855 2 months ago

    I want more soivet russian movie with more lenin and stalin the czar is stupid i want more stalin.

  • Шалтай Болтай

    Интересно, они специально сделали Николая таким обсоском, чтобы хотелось, чтобы его наконец ёбнули? 🤔

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +1

      Надо было Николашку сделать чёрным мачо... :))))) Вот смеха-то было бы!

  • xlbronco
    xlbronco 2 months ago +7

    Hollywood nor anyone from the West will ever make a movie or documentary that is based on facts regarding Russia. Thanks for the video!

  • Allison Strahan
    Allison Strahan 2 months ago +7

    I might be wrong about this, but I believe the tiara that Maria Fyodorovna places on Alix's head before the wedding is completely incorrect, which isn't a surprise from all the inaccuracies in the show. I believe it is an inexpensive replica of Britain's Cambridge Lovers' Know Tiara (made most famous by the late Princess Diana and more recently Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge.)
    From my understanding, Alix did wear a similar tiara that featured drop-down pears, but it didn't even closely resemble the Cambridge Lovers' Knot. I know it's such a little detail, but I hate to see the elements from the British Royal Family creep into this story.
    It's just so disappointing, this concept had so much potential and the devil is really in the details. The end of the Romanov dynasty is such an interesting and compelling subject that is hardly ever explored in the West. I had such high hopes for this series, hoping it could achieve even a scrap of programs like "The Crown" or "Victoria."
    Great work on the research and time this video took to complete. I thoroughly enjoyed, way more than the entire Netflix series.

  • Михаил
    Михаил 2 months ago +1

    В сериале действительно много ляпов, но ведущая сейчас сама ответила ляпами на ляп: например, в период Первой мировой войны Дума практически не функционировала много месяцев и реальная власть была в руках правительства и Александры Федоровны. В управление страной Думу не допускали и это стало одной из причин революции. Это общеизвестные факты. Непонятно, что ведущая имела в виду, говоря: "Дума была нижней палатой парламента в отличии от современной Думы". Вообще-то по конституции Дума и сейчас нижняя палата.

  • Sovietsky Boi
    Sovietsky Boi 2 months ago

    It's spelt Tsar not Czar

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago +1

      www.rbth.com/education/330683-tsar-or-czar-russia-monarch

  • Princess/Queen CB
    Princess/Queen CB 2 months ago +5

    1997 Anastasia was more historically accurate than this!

  • acta non verba
    acta non verba 2 months ago +3

    I was shocked how they portrayed the grand duke Sergei Alexandrovich.

  • sandesh suresh
    sandesh suresh 2 months ago +1

    Which is the best book about the Romanovs

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago

      Try any books by Richard Pipes or Donald Raleigh, or, most notably, 'The Russian Revolution' by Sheila Fitzpatrick.

  • Dmitry Duplensky
    Dmitry Duplensky 2 months ago +1

    Спасибо тебе, что я теперь не увижу этого убожества. Иначе бы мои глаза так же окропились кровью

  • MVE
    MVE 2 months ago +36

    Big FAIL! Why are they creating a documentary/drama about a decisive historical event with so many inaccuracies? It’s like falsifying history.

  • Carlos Gandara
    Carlos Gandara 2 months ago +3

    Very interesting. Thank you from Spain

  • dsubdu
    dsubdu 2 months ago +27

    OMG! Thanks for the content! You mentioned all the points that my eyes catched! Only people with no knowledge of Russian history could make those mistakes!

  • Levashov Evgeniy
    Levashov Evgeniy 2 months ago +3

    Насколько я помню, после Ходынки Николай поехал на прием к французскому послу, никуда не ходил, и хотя и заявил о возможной выплате компенсации, но никому ничего не было выплачено

  • алик алик
    алик алик 2 months ago +2

    молодец

  • WMD
    WMD 2 months ago +3

    Thank for pointing out these errors.

  • SIWACZYŃSKI
    SIWACZYŃSKI 3 months ago +6

    весьма забавно наблюдать над тем, что девушка говорит на чистом английском, а затем, неожиданно, появляется чисто русское произношение

    • SIWACZYŃSKI
      SIWACZYŃSKI 3 months ago +1

      а ещё спасибо за видео, узнаю о России и о мире через тебя

  • Sabrina Messenger
    Sabrina Messenger 3 months ago +5

    Terrible show. The people who create such shows are more interested in demonizing the Romanovs than historic fact.

  • Reginald Okeke
    Reginald Okeke 3 months ago +1

    Nice video but do you really mean no one ever raised his voice at a Russian Czar? Not once?

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago +2

      Try any books by Richard Pipes or Donald Raleigh, or, most notably, 'The Russian Revolution' by Sheila Fitzpatrick.

    • Reginald Okeke
      Reginald Okeke 3 months ago

      @RUSSIA BEYOND ok, do you have any book recommendations on court etiquette in imperial times?

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago

      @Reginald Okeke If you planned to murder an emperor, you would be able to afford to be rude.

    • Reginald Okeke
      Reginald Okeke 3 months ago

      @RUSSIA BEYOND what about the people who killed Emperor Pavel, did they just politely commit regicide?

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago

      Yes, of course.

  • Arild Aasmoe
    Arild Aasmoe 3 months ago +5

    what an absolute gem this channel is

  • Salman al Halaby
    Salman al Halaby 3 months ago +3

    As if their bloody murder of the Imperial family wasn't enough last year the creeps made a movie as wierd as its Australian name "matilda", it was just like this stint made to denigrate and rub salt into the wound. The zionist owned directors, producers and charlatans never mention the millions of $ wall street crooks Rothschild, Paul Warburg and Jacob Schiff financed the murderous Bolsheviks, its made up all about the damn bread in Petrograd. Just like the lies and deception that was the fake revolution in Libya. Anna, Netflix made a heroism documentary on the isis/alCiada pr branch they call White Helmets.

  • Surreptitious Upstander
    Surreptitious Upstander 3 months ago +6

    Those faits accomplis will not give Russia a new lease on life.

  • Frank Algernon Cowperwood
    Frank Algernon Cowperwood 3 months ago +5

    Overzealous nitpicking!

    • Victor Wheeler
      Victor Wheeler 2 months ago

      @Frank Algernon Cowperwood Then why call it a documentary? Russians don't give a shit what you do for profit but you will be called out for bullshit, free or Not.

    • Frank Algernon Cowperwood
      Frank Algernon Cowperwood 2 months ago +1

      @Command_Unit , Of course, I know that you are Russian. Who else can write so much stupidity?

      1. Netflix operates under the jurisdiction of a free country where there are no Ministry of Culture, Department of Truth, or censorship. It is free to film anything the company wants any way it wants. The company management and movie producers care about one thing and one thing only: profit.

      2. General American audience does not give a damn sh1t for what really happened a hundred years ago somewhere on the outskirts of humanity. For them, this is just entertainment and a reason to munch some popcorn.

    • Command_Unit
      Command_Unit 2 months ago

      @Frank Algernon Cowperwood I am Russian and this honestly makes the show unwatchable its like they didnt hire a single russian...

    • Frank Algernon Cowperwood
      Frank Algernon Cowperwood 2 months ago +1

      @Command_Unit This show is not for you. The show of Tsar's OMON brutally pummeling and maiming ungrateful Russian serfs is for you.

    • Command_Unit
      Command_Unit 2 months ago

      Not when they completly Ruin the show...

  • Ludivine Witenberg
    Ludivine Witenberg 3 months ago +2

    Agree100%with you.
    No way in hell I'll watch that 💩💩💩. If I need to watch a movie about the Russian royalty, I will go to the source, not from suppose historian/ movies, made by people, with "suppose knowledge" about Russia, who don't even speak the language of the people of that land.
    It's like they never learn that to know the culture, costume, history, etc.... of a country/ group of people, you need first of all to speak/ understand their languages.

  • Laura Mabee
    Laura Mabee 3 months ago +2

    Anna,
    I see a lot of reviews on this series pointing out issues such as location and clothes, but nobody discusses more of the historical errors. I take issues with the show making it look like Rasputin was a child molester, or that the Grand Duchess Maria was caught about to have sex with a guard, and there are so many more to discuss. I'd love to see another video outlining more of these errors, as a lot of people seem to think those who are familiar with the history are just upset because they didn't shoot on location. When it is indeed much more than that.

    • Laura Mabee
      Laura Mabee 3 months ago

      @RUSSIA BEYOND Very big fan of #Romanovs100. Beautiful work and artistry.

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago +1

      tvclip.biz/channel/UC1HueIYaZd3ADgnAjXtC2Dg

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago +1

      Thanks, we will discuss this.

  • Billy Milligan
    Billy Milligan 3 months ago +4

    Иронично, что самый интересный контент о России делается на английском. Но тем приятней, что лицо нашей страны представляют такие люди, как вы. Хочется, чтобы все вокруг были такие: харизматичные, интеллигентные и умные. Спасибо за ваш труд)

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +1

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Канал, финансируемый из бюджета РФ, который занимается настоящей журналистикой, не может существовать в априори. Ваша команда и другие команды на этом канале занимаются производством инфошума (т.е. информации, которая не имеет никакого отношения к реальности) для промывания мозгов Западной аудитории. Это определённый тип пропаганды.

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago

      @Alex Rus Допустим, но какое отношение наш канал имеет к этому тривиальному перечню?

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +2

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Отвечаю на ваш вопрос.

      *Пропаганда это заранее спланированное и целенаправленное распространение лжи, вранья, полуправды, дезинфомации, а также иной отвлеченной информации для промывания мозгов и оболванивания населения, а также разжигания ненависти как правило в интересах узурпатора власти.*
      Никто не забыл и не забудет "распятого славянского мальчика", "изнасилованных девочек", "съеденных снегирей", "диспетчера Карлоса и летчика Волошина с несвежими трупами на СУ-25", "ихтамнетов" с градами, акациями, гвоздиками, пионами, гиацинтами, тюльпанами подрезанными в Военторге, "гражданских любителей готики Петрова и Боширова"... Список информационных преступлений бесконечен!

      "Не читайте Советских газет." (С)

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago

      @Alex Rus что такое пропаганда в вашем понимании?

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +1

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Верно. Этот канал не про это и не про то, и не про что, а про пропаганду... бессмысленную и беспощадную... :)

      PS Кстати, прекрасный пример пропагандистской подмены понятий. Всё вышеперечисленное является объективными фактами и к убеждению не имеет отношения.

  • a. bojeva
    a. bojeva 3 months ago +1

    обещанные книги, пожалуйста 😄😊

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago +1

      Например, "Русская Революция" Шейлы Фицпатрик.

  • the gaysha
    the gaysha 3 months ago +11

    i cant believe that she speaks both english n russian without any accent💅🏻💅🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻 props to ya hun!

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago +1

      All answers are here tvclip.biz/video/fBXDxMjicZ0/video.html

  • Groovywen
    Groovywen 3 months ago +5

    Sometimes I get really surprised how this lady knows so much not only about history, culture, but photography and storytelling, specially in a generation where people don't bother a lot about history and historians in general, but that's Anna and Russia Beyond for y'all! Two months ago I was really into this, having rewatched Disney's Anastasia I wanted to know how much they adapted from the true story (i know, no magic and stuff 😂) so I was looking forward to this adaptation here. Well, still gonna watch tho, but they REALLY need better consultants and screenwriters. YOU GUYS BETTER HIRE THIS GIRL 😂😂 thanks russia beyond for another great time!!

  • Alex Wyntword
    Alex Wyntword 3 months ago +5

    Cute British accent

  • Νικήτας Theodosius
    Νικήτας Theodosius 3 months ago +29

    Красивая русская девушка рассказывает о России,ее истории,культуре,фильмах и сериалах про Россию и русских для иностранцев.Что может быть лучше?
    Спасибо,Анна,вам и всей команде Russia Beyond)

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +1

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Я не сомневаюсь, что вы не только "не знаете" про пригожинских троллей, но и сделаете всё возможное, чтобы ничего об этом и "не узнать"... :) Меньше знаешь -- крепче спишь... :)

      Мой пост о пропаганде (в другой ветке) был удалён. Возможно не вами. Я подкорректировал его и повесил снова, хотя и в изначальной версии ничего непристойного не было. Я не в обиде.

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago +3

      На сколько помню, ничего из написанного вами мы не удаляли. Возможно, мир действительно в курсе того, о чём вы здесь пишите, но лично я - нет. Думаю, что это не так уж интересно.

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +1

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Зачем спрашивать, чтобы потом удалять посты в которых правда слух режет и глаз колет? Весь мир знает про пригожинских троллей, а Вы не знаете? В чём смысл прикидываться? Забейте в Гугл "Пригожин, повар Путина, Агенство Интернет Исследований" и всё сразу узнаете...

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  2 months ago +3

      Если это не секрет, то не могли бы вы хотя бы сказать, кто такие пригожинские тролли?

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 2 months ago +1

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Вы сильно переоцениваете мои скромные возможности. Меня всего лишь интересует эффективность влияния российской пропаганды на англоязычную аудиторию в Интернете. К счастью, она ниже плинтуса. А тот факт, что вы и прочие пропагандисты работаете совместно с пригожинскими троллями, это уже давно лишь секрет Полишинеля.

  • Anthony Pang
    Anthony Pang 3 months ago +14

    I think my personal fav was the lenin mausoleum in 1905, must be good fortune telling

  • Alan Lucero
    Alan Lucero 3 months ago +8

    Thanks you for the information... Best regards from Spain

  • marvel jason
    marvel jason 3 months ago

    watch Sacred games on Netflix... its really good..

  • Alex Rus
    Alex Rus 3 months ago +3

    Все фильмы о России должны начинаться эпиграфом "Умом Россию не понять..." Хотя сами эти слова великого поэта оксиморон. Если не понять умом, тогда чем понять? Пятой точкой? :)

    • имя кузьма
      имя кузьма 2 months ago +1

      @Alex Rus у вас вместо души жопа или таковая отсутствует полностью? Поэтому идиоты вроде тебя никогда не поймут Россию)

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago +3

      @Alex Rus Нашу родину буря сожгла.
      "Узнаешь ли гнездо своё, птенчик?
      О мой лист, ты пугливей щегла!
      Что ты бьёшься, о шёлк мой застенчивый?

      О, не бойся, приросшая песнь!
      И куда порываться ещё нам?
      Ах, наречье смертельное «здесь» -
      Невдомёк содроганью сращённому."
      Определение души. Борис Пастернак.
      Что до деградации, тирании и вырождения, то неустанный ручной пересчёт невинно-убиенных - это, конечно, самый верный способ борьбы с такими явлениями.

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 3 months ago +2

      @RUSSIA BEYOND , Душой? А что такое душа и где она живёт? Может дадите физическое, биологическое или медицинское определение душе? LMAO

      С таким "душевным пониманием" Россия в 20м веке прошла через 3 революции, 2 дезинтеграции, десятки миллионов невинно-убиенных, непрерывную экономическую стагнацию, сменявшуюся периодическими экономическими коллапсами и снова оказалась в ситуации вырождения, деградации и тирании... Душевненько так... И если кто-то думает, что это конец, то сильно ошибается. Жирная точка ещё только будет поставлена.

    • Boroka Fekete
      Boroka Fekete 3 months ago +1

      @RUSSIA BEYOND спасибо, я знаю) Просто в комментарии непонятно написано

    • RUSSIA BEYOND
      RUSSIA BEYOND  3 months ago +2

      Это из стихотворения Фёдора Тютчева.

  • Ilya Greenstein
    Ilya Greenstein 3 months ago +2

    Николаша.....

  • Евгений Иванов

    Интеллигенция схавает

    • Евгений Иванов
      Евгений Иванов 3 months ago +1

      @Alex Rus я так полагаю это интеллигенция в 3 поколении, раз пишет слово "генетика" через 2 Н. :) Вас Киселева и Скобееву заставляют смотреть под дулом автоматов?

    • Евгений Иванов
      Евгений Иванов 3 months ago +1

      @Alex Rus а вот и интеллигенция подтянулась. :) Раньше люди читали книги для развития, а сейчас у интеллигенции выбор между пропагандой Киселева либо CNN.

    • Alex Rus
      Alex Rus 3 months ago

      Лучше хавать эту ерунду чем Соловьиный помёт.