Hellboy - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 12, 2019
  • A film adaptation of the Hellboy comic book is once again made, this time starring David Harbour. But was it necessary, or even worth it? Here's my review of HELLBOY!
    #Hellboy
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 505

  • james adams
    james adams 4 hours ago

    Dude🤦🏽‍♂️shut up. Seriously. Your just saying anything negative you can. This movie was so so got damn funny and subliminal and action packed. You are a piece of shit

  • Janno JJ
    Janno JJ 7 hours ago

    I ENJOYED THIS MOVIE. I don't fking understand why everyone is whining.

  • latonya ingram
    latonya ingram 8 hours ago

    It was very gross.I love violence and gore,but it gross

  • young Da
    young Da 10 hours ago

    I enjoyed the movie

  • Zachary Nixon
    Zachary Nixon 13 hours ago

    Have you read the Hellboy comics? They're pretty violent.

  • Scott Fieldsend
    Scott Fieldsend 18 hours ago

    DONT GET WHY PEOPLE HATE THIS MOVIE ITS R RATED YOU WANT LOTS OF BLOOD AND GUTS AND THIS HAS LOADS FROM START TO FINISH I WATCHED WITH A FRIEND AND BOTH LIKED IT I WOULD DEFINATE SEE A SEQUEL DONT WANT BACK STORY ON ALL CHARACTERS JUST ONES THAT MATTER MOST GET TO LOCATION KILL FUNNY HUMOR AND MOVE ON A WILL BE BUYING IT WHEN ITS RELEASED IN STORES AS WELL

  • Lex Loadgiver
    Lex Loadgiver Day ago

    In other words it’s hot trash and I’m going to see some hot trash tonight.

  • Uveni
    Uveni Day ago

    God of war but done wrong. Pure unnecessary, nasty gore and just plain nasty. Not Mortal Kombat and not God of war good and a whole bunch of running around for no reason to defeat a villain that could have been blown up but no less do boring "let's make sects and kill mens" shenanigans.

  • Gabriel Snowboy
    Gabriel Snowboy Day ago

    That wrestling scene at the beginning is just one of the many scenes that didn't need to be there. It was that kind of movie.

  • The 9th Planet
    The 9th Planet Day ago

    It was pretty good, not great but not bad either. For me the editing was the worst part. But I still recomend it, an ok film.

  • Shawn Shawn Binks is the sith27

    The thing i like in this novie is that even though he is treated like shit he still chose to be a good guy regaurdless and he feels more..idk like someone who wasnt raised as good and it works

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell Day ago

    GIVE. ME. GOD. DAMN. WAFFLES!!!!

  • Tobs W
    Tobs W Day ago

    Millie jovovich is a guaranteed stamp of shit on any movie. Seriously. They need to make it illegal for her to act in movies. Her acting skills are so shit and she has done so much damage to cinema that she shouldn't even be allowed to act in a B grade porno.

  • oldschool zombie

    It just felt like it was missing something , like with Guillermo version you fell into this world of style and monsters and this felt empty .

  • Blaze The Movie Fan

    I’m sorry you didn’t like it. I hope I’ll like it more than you did.

  • MrJakeJimmy
    MrJakeJimmy Day ago

    Terrible movie! I give it a 1/10

  • Hugh Jhass
    Hugh Jhass Day ago

    Hellboy was great. I loved the first two as well but this was great too.

  • Hugh Jhass
    Hugh Jhass Day ago

    Hellboy again? What about Spiderman again... And again

  • Vic S
    Vic S 2 days ago

    Early sign of bad story telling: Hellboy goes to Mexico to find a BPRD agent who was investigating vampires. Said agent gets turned into a vampire luchador. Hellboy kills him and the audience is supposed to feel emotional since Hellboy is distraught over this. Next scene, Hellboy is picked up to go on his next mission after spending weeks getting drunk.
    The vampire plot gets dropped. No scene of Hellboy going on a path for vengeance. Nothing... moving on

  • Ryan Brown
    Ryan Brown 2 days ago

    Maybe the irony of a film about a demon superhero coming out a week before Easter has something to do with the film's poor release

  • shadow wolf 77
    shadow wolf 77 2 days ago

    I saw the movie yesterday and thought that it was garbage, but a piece of garbage that I would see again if it was on Netflix or something. there were only something good about the movie but very few and the CGI was absolutely terrible, I don't know the work that goes into CGI but clearly not a lot of work went into that.

  • Chris Briceno
    Chris Briceno 2 days ago

    Is it me or does this dude move to much, STAY PUT

  • alfie mikhail
    alfie mikhail 2 days ago

    The physical manifestations of the spirits in the movie are known as "ectoplasm", a well-known type of manifestations among medium/spiritualists circle

  • Jfund12
    Jfund12 2 days ago

    At the end, it was just another in the office feeling they left one. Which does seem appropriate in concept. It just wasn't fulfilling.

  • gotans con
    gotans con 2 days ago

    Fan 4 stick that's to funny good show your power level is over 9000 bye

  • steel ssstu
    steel ssstu 2 days ago

    Fantastic film, much better than most wanker reviewers are saying, go see it and don't listen to these twats who hijack TVclip with this movie review shit it's a good movie

  • ThomasdWell
    ThomasdWell 2 days ago

    I hated it. Mostly cause everyone felt meaner, the swearing was over done along with the gore. But the real kicker for me was just how they took actual stories from the comic and stitched them into short little segments. Worst one being the 'backstory' of Hellboy and Alice which was boiled down to he told a fairy to return the baby and he sits down on a couch for some time before the baby is returned.
    As a fan of the comic series, it was just a waste of time if they cut the beginning narration (which omg, who and they're grandmother doesn't know King Arthur's sword) to King Arthur cut the bad lady in to parts, they could have given more weight to the pig man having a real grudge other than, "hellboy touched me with iron for half a second and that really hurt my feelings."
    I feel bad for David Harbour cause he had so much going against him because he wasn't Ron Perlman and more often than not he was fairly convincing, but man was the dialog shit. I sat in the theater and actively thought to myself, "someone wrote this and no one said to take a second pass." Not to mention the Blood Queen was assembled pretty quick and really wasn't a threat. Baba Yaga was a greater threat for the small screen time she had.
    I will say that the monsters were good and that Baba Yaga will haunt my nightmares with her weird swaying tits. Mind you the comic version of Baba was much more like an old unsuspecting woman you'd pass by. Still flipping bold of them to add a teaser for Abe AND Koshchei the Deathless

  • Rob Scofidio
    Rob Scofidio 3 days ago

    Just saw it on a Friday night showing; all 10 of us in the theater. Agree completely; won’t be seeing this again, at least not on purpose!

  • G Richard Yamagata
    G Richard Yamagata 3 days ago

    Great Review! I was looking forward to this movie. Your trailer review sold me on seeing this. I share your views. When are they going to hire you to fix the movies before they are released to the public. Then again there is nothing they could have really done. Thank you for the review.

  • Geeky Fanatic
    Geeky Fanatic 3 days ago

    The moment they announced Ron Perlman wasn't going to play hellboy in this movie, I knew it was going to be bad. Turns out, I was right, but Hellboy was a good part of it. Strange.

  • yoseph Denny
    yoseph Denny 3 days ago

    I enjoyed it, but I agree with a lot of your points

  • Dumont
    Dumont 3 days ago

    I loved the 2 old pnes

  • Iserior
    Iserior 3 days ago

    Liked the first Hellboy, don´t care for Golden Army.
    I had a lot of fun with this one. Story and Characters are alright, nothing special but they have a certain B-Movie charme. the action is solid if you can tolerate some CGI hick-ups. The comedy is nothing really special, pretty much "to cool for school" attitude from some characters somtimes but it wont break the atmosphere of the scenes. Regarding the music, i cant complain, mostly Metal, some of it clearly inspired by DOOM.
    The biggest point of critique for me is the sometimes frantic cut and rushed story. The movie is very fast paced with very few calm moments and all events just stack up so fast you dont have much time to process it.
    Like i said, i had my fun and think that i got my moneys worth of entertainment. Also i would like to see a sequel.

  • Proxy Payload
    Proxy Payload 3 days ago

    Why is every sentence by this guy an attempted punchline? :s

  • Andrew Pearson
    Andrew Pearson 3 days ago

    But I honestly never thought the CGI was bad except when they showed hellboy being summoned or whatever as a baby

  • Andrew Pearson
    Andrew Pearson 3 days ago

    I went to see it twice and get why people disliked it but I still thought it was a really good action movie

  • Evan Font
    Evan Font 3 days ago

    Generally speaking, the original Hellboy doesn't hold up all that great. Mostly because of the human character guy who works with Hellboy is a complete tool and his whole subplot of trying to steal Selma Blair from Hellboy doesn't really work. But shit, and least it's still kinda fun and funny.

  • Reece Lively
    Reece Lively 3 days ago

    The giant fight was the best thing about the movie.

  • Wile.E Mario
    Wile.E Mario 3 days ago

    I liked the movie.

  • Westwood Da cat
    Westwood Da cat 3 days ago

    I thought it was a amazing

  • schubbel
    schubbel 3 days ago

    I think is succeded in the rare so bad it became good. I enjoyed it but recognize it as a terrible movie.

  • Skyler Anderson
    Skyler Anderson 3 days ago

    Oh man comparing this to fan4stic is savage

  • onika inyam
    onika inyam 3 days ago

    I'm a big fan of Guillermo Del Torro's Hellboy, but I would have to say that WE ACTUALLY ENJOYED THIS MOVIE! The scene with the Baba Yaga will haunt me forever!

  • Undead dissection
    Undead dissection 3 days ago

    My god why did they not just make hell boy 3 for fucksack

  • Thu Linh Nguyen
    Thu Linh Nguyen 3 days ago

    Cant get over David's dad bod 🙄

  • Neo Art School
    Neo Art School 3 days ago

    this whole time I was like he sounds like a Washington guy... you just move to seattle making that money or...

  • Robert Brewster
    Robert Brewster 4 days ago

    More than anything it felt like a tv show season condensed into a 2 hour film.

  • Robert Botello
    Robert Botello 4 days ago

    I seriously just walked out... I was in the scene where hellboy and the dad come back to mansion and everyone is dead. Gosh I was falling asleep. Horrible music choices, pace was way to fast. Dialogue was pointless. Gore was meaningless

  • Bob Bob
    Bob Bob 4 days ago +12

    I don't care if it is the worst written movie or the plot sucks. If it entertains me then I like it and will watch it again
    And this movie entertained me

  • josh lamb
    josh lamb 4 days ago +1

    I liked it. I thought it was better than captain Marvel.

  • Marlon Davis
    Marlon Davis 4 days ago +8

    Guillermo can still put out the 3rd Hellboy if he wants, I'll definitely buy a ticket for that.

  • johnulcer
    johnulcer 4 days ago +1

    STOP. SCREAMING. AT. US.

  • Pat Green
    Pat Green 4 days ago

    I was going to click like but then you punched me in the FACE!

  • Automaton 42
    Automaton 42 4 days ago +1

    Best part was the last 20 mins seeing demons come out of the ground. Seeing hellboy on a dragon was badass and should of been longer scene. So many unanswered questions and plot holes .

    • Automaton 42
      Automaton 42 Day ago

      +Matt Gates As in what happened to Hellboy's mother and father. They showed brief flash backs of them but there was no understanding of where they went as far as I watched and listened. Next plot hole is the time between Hellboy as a child and then a adult , like there is no real back story on Hellboy to make us relate to him . It's just here is him coming out of the hole , we took him and raised him but you won't see it because it might make the movie longer or uninteresting. Seriously if you're going to reboot a movie then show everyone the shit the character went through to get to this point that he/she should feel the need to help Humans. Not leave it towards the end to just make a choice based off his fathers words . Another Plot hole is that if the Bureau of Paranormal Research and Defense felt the blood queen would bring about the end then why just leave her parts with such little defense thinking that evil can't find it's way into a monastery. I felt more for Gruagach than Hellboy in the end. Again the end was more exciting than the rest of the movie but I don't think using Del Toro or Ron Pearlman would of made it better unless it was totally darker and more rated R than they went for . Once it's released on Blu-ray I'll be able to slowly account for all plot holes. These are the only ones that made me think more about the story than prolly intended.

    • Matt Gates
      Matt Gates Day ago

      Automaton 42 What plot holes? Just curious if you have legit ones or if your just on the bandwagon

  • DINSTAR-AS
    DINSTAR-AS 4 days ago +3

    Saw this movie on a slow Tuesday... spent a lot of time thinking about my poor choices in life during the movie. On another note, the sound volume was so loud, it was impossible to fall asleep.

    • MrJakeJimmy
      MrJakeJimmy Day ago

      The song selection was so loud during talking scenes, I could barely understand what they were saying. (terrible British accents) shit tier movie.

  • Ravendarke 777
    Ravendarke 777 4 days ago

    That's a shame for David Harbor, when will these studios learn?

  • boiboiboi
    boiboiboi 4 days ago +1

    [ALERT] underage people who didn't watch the movie and denied good review is on comment section

  • The ghost 89
    The ghost 89 4 days ago +1

    The cgi wasn't bad at all lol

  • Jomas Mendoza
    Jomas Mendoza 4 days ago

    Review Love, Death + Robots pls, love your reviews btw

  • Jack Lang
    Jack Lang 4 days ago +2

    I loved it great fucking movie in my opinion they did there own thing they didn't just copy del Toro and it had more of a comic book
    Vibe the CGI no not the best but odly felt right for the movie

  • Justin Torrez
    Justin Torrez 4 days ago +14

    For everyone go watch the movie I really liked it and it was a ton of fun just saying dont let this review stop ya from watching it.

  • darkly
    darkly 4 days ago +1

    You gave this a low score because of your anti british sentiment.

  • Waytotheland
    Waytotheland 4 days ago

    I LOVED the original 2, I was so disappointed when the third one was canned😔. I had hopes for this one but now I’m disappointed yet again😢

  • ghostwolf84
    ghostwolf84 4 days ago

    answer to the Alice question. No, no she couldn't do any of that.

  • Jeff Busby
    Jeff Busby 4 days ago

    So sad to hear this movie sucked I had such high hopes
    Oh well at least avengers comes out soon… Let's just hope Captain Marvel doesn't fucking ruin it

  • Andy Bell
    Andy Bell 5 days ago

    SPOILERS: I would've liked this movie better than the first two combined if everything wasn't all over the placed. The scene locationings is pretty much like my dextop on my PC, completely unorganized filled with random files. What was the point of that other witch with the missing eye by the way that hellboy kissed by the way? Hellboy didn't even get her an eye it served no purpose. The only purpose that one eyed witch served was at the start with the Pig. See? I already forgot about that one eyed witch and I just came back from the cinemas watching it. All I could remember from her was that grotesque kiss that was just there for comedy scenes after and her and that pig.

  • jay folk
    jay folk 5 days ago +1

    more joy than cpt marvel but slogged down by too many characters, with no decent intro, setup, or payoff.

  • SonOfPsalms
    SonOfPsalms 5 days ago

    "I was more attached to the pig. Gimme the pig!"

  • J.R. M
    J.R. M 5 days ago

    The stuff coming out of the woman's mouth is called ectoplasma. I only know this because of that horrible movie The Haunting in Connecticut

  • toneoneonly
    toneoneonly 5 days ago

    This guy sucks. Nothing to do with the movie, he just sucks.

  • Peter
    Peter 5 days ago

    Fan four stick 😂😂😂😂

  • Who needs profile Pictures Really?

    I feel like this movie, and this story, should have been 2 different movies. Maybe 3. A TV show could do it justice too! But they just made it shitty.

  • Takoshi Hitsamaru
    Takoshi Hitsamaru 5 days ago

    Yep, this guy nailed exactly how I felt about this movie.
    I wasn't a huge fan of the Del Toro ones, but after seeing this, I long for a chance to watch those again.
    There is a scene where Hellboy and company go to some island and traverse a cliffside to get to this cave on the far side of the island. Then after they are like "oh shit, we gotta get back to London ASAP" and then cut, they're in London and not hours upon hours late like real-time would dictate)

  • Game boy
    Game boy 5 days ago +1

    For me, very many sensors, the last scene I thought would be exciting fighting with his demonic form, it turned out that it was just a boring ending

  • Drawing Conclusions
    Drawing Conclusions 5 days ago

    Gotta agree with this review overall. Also Hellboy looked so fake. So much worse than the Ron Perlman Hellboy. We didn't give it a good review either.

  • Ian Berghammer
    Ian Berghammer 5 days ago

    I actually really liked it, it was like hellboy done by a young Sam Raimi who was also really into metalocalypse.

  • Probonoman
    Probonoman 5 days ago +1

    i liked the OG, and after watching the 2019 remake i will be buying the blue-ray 4k. liked them both, no issues and hope they keep making more.

  • Tajuana Hardaway
    Tajuana Hardaway 5 days ago

    It was okay for what they were able to do I saw the originals so I'm a little bias but there were some good parts in the movie problem is that there were a few too many parts that made you wonder was this really what they wanted to do half the time I was like wow that's kind of cool and then the other half was like wow why did they do this just saying it was okay but it wasn't where it should have been for reboot of such a good movie

  • Tvennet
    Tvennet 5 days ago +1

    Yeah well, no wonder it’s a fail. Milla Jovovitch is in it 🤷🏻‍♂️

  • Tender Defender Farms

    Not allowed to see the new one but the originals were awesome

  • Jey Tee
    Jey Tee 5 days ago

    1:47 - 1:55
    Cartoons and animations *are the exact. same. thing.*
    They literally have interchangeable definitions. Differing art styles doesn’t isolate them into their own 100% different category; if it’s drawn (hand, computer, or otherwise) and uses a sequence of frames to “bring it to life”, it’s a cartoon AND an anime, cuz it’s animation either way.

  • sangreiti
    sangreiti 5 days ago

    I shit you not. I totally thought that was liv Tyler!!!

  • Lee Joyner
    Lee Joyner 5 days ago

    When critics become cry babies

  • Johnny Cotton
    Johnny Cotton 5 days ago

    It's not avengers infinity war good but its not RIPD awful I had a good time with it and will probably buy it on blueray

  • Ivan Hairnandez
    Ivan Hairnandez 5 days ago

    *LMAO IN GUILLERMO DEL TORO*

  • Nicholas Fraedrich
    Nicholas Fraedrich 5 days ago

    The violence would have been way more impactful without the music. Plus it seemed Hellboy was invincible so there’s that.

  • Mr Power
    Mr Power 5 days ago

    AH GREASE LIGHTENING!!

  • Lord Zuko
    Lord Zuko 5 days ago

    They should have let Ron and Del Toro finish their trilogy.
    The Golden army was great and they should have let them finish it.

  • Dianna Rockymore
    Dianna Rockymore 5 days ago

    Omg I loved the first two Hellboy, was awesome and was looking forward to this but idk now if I will go pay 12+ to see it might wait until it comes to a redbox

  • Wade Wilson
    Wade Wilson 5 days ago

    You cunts are so picky this was prity entertaining in parts. The monsters were awesome

  • Ron Petersen
    Ron Petersen 5 days ago

    I just came out of watching it a few hours ago. I liked it, it was a fun film. It does go darker and bloodier than the original. I had no problem following it. I would totally be down for a sequel. I think it needs a fair shake. Though. This was a bad time to release it because everyone is saving their money to watch End Game 52 times.

  • Andres Landaeta
    Andres Landaeta 5 days ago

    The new hellboy was a horrible remake, I wish I could get my two hours back.

  • Riculf Riculfson
    Riculf Riculfson 5 days ago

    I enjoyed it. Felt like an RPG with episodic story telling.

  • Human Google
    Human Google 5 days ago

    holy shit timmy turner makes movie reviews???!

  • Xavier Perez
    Xavier Perez 5 days ago

    At least the CGI was better than that aquaboy movie

  • Richard San
    Richard San 5 days ago

    Hmmm, giving Castlevania its place.
    I caught that!

  • C John
    C John 5 days ago +1

    Liked it,the guy is good as hellboy , its purely the direction is missing, but its fun ,worth seeing

  • Mar10
    Mar10 5 days ago +1

    Say it ain't so Jeremy, say it ain't so.

  • Gage
    Gage 5 days ago

    Bad cgi doesn’t mean bad movie. But bad cgi does mean bad movie.

  • Oliver O
    Oliver O 5 days ago

    Ron Perlman will always be Hellboy