Hellboy - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 12, 2019
  • A film adaptation of the Hellboy comic book is once again made, this time starring David Harbour. But was it necessary, or even worth it? Here's my review of HELLBOY!
    #Hellboy
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 449

  • Roger Sanchez
    Roger Sanchez 6 days ago

    1:22 - 'Clearly on a greenscreen, 'cause oh-my-God, that was on a green-screen.'
    Then:
    2:39 - This girl can have ghosts come out of her mouth, but you would think it would be mist...It's not, it's like some weird membrane that looks like the ass of the alien queen from the movie 'Aliens'. Even if that's in-line canonically with the comic-books...make a change. I'm just saying - it was pretty gross.'
    So, was the CGI bad, or convincing? Having a tough time understanding with this contradiction.
    P.S. Movie was actually pretty good.

  • PinkiePool GamerBrony29XL

    Really wished they did a HellBoy 3 with Ron Pearlman he's the Best as HellBoy

  • TheKoolKenway
    TheKoolKenway 13 days ago

    Its alr movie i thought him being arthurs decendent helped the plot alot

  • Thomas Smith
    Thomas Smith 15 days ago

    I think that’s suppose to be Ecto-Plasm that ghost are suppose to made up of, like in Ghost-Buster.

  • Daimon Clarke
    Daimon Clarke 22 days ago +1

    This Hellboy felt like watching a really cool game of D&D. The creature designs were sick even if the cgi wasn’t the best. I enjoyed how fast the pace was despite how many unnecessary scenes there may have been. The Pig was terrifying and a hilarious goon type character. After hearing it get ripped to shreds online and then watching it myself I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. It’s objectively not as good as the originals but it was pretty close for me. The originals and a couple animated movies were my only knowledge of the mythos so I didn’t mind all the exposition that much. Also, the Abe tease at the end got me hype. I also try not to look at the original films with nostalgia goggles on. There was so much exposition in those things. CinemaSins Everything Wrong With... video on the first is one of my favourite things haha.

  • baz dodd
    baz dodd Month ago

    It was good

  • Blanksy Mortimer
    Blanksy Mortimer Month ago

    Move less you look like your drowning on land

  • ARH78
    ARH78 Month ago +1

    Movie was fine enjoyed it 👍

  • Jason B
    Jason B Month ago

    Didn’t luv the movie, but I luved those monsters that came out of the ground at the end and started killing people. Best part of the movie by far! Awesome monsters!

  • Sean
    Sean Month ago +1

    Thanks for doing a review without a single swear word. I stopped watching Chris Stuckman reviews due to his thing for swear words.

  • Randy Nguyen
    Randy Nguyen 2 months ago

    Pretty sure Ron Perlman is busy working on Teen Titans season 6. Hellboy can wait.

  • Brian the Trainer
    Brian the Trainer 2 months ago +2

    This movie is blasphemy
    Only exception is Milla Jovovich cause she's hawt 😍🤤

  • ViciousBane 56
    ViciousBane 56 2 months ago

    Guillermo del Toro did I phenomenal job on hellboy and he’s such a talented, unique, original director

  • ViciousBane 56
    ViciousBane 56 2 months ago

    Hopefully he says it’s dogshit because it is but if he say some great things about this movie then I will be furious

  • ViciousBane 56
    ViciousBane 56 2 months ago

    Just saw the film and it was pure trash and man it glad I didn’t pay to go watch it. I’m sorry if I’m being too rude or whatever but it didn’t work for me and my gosh Guillermo del Toro bellboy films are a masterpiece! Guillermo del toro hellboy films are way fucking better than this new one and I think everyone wanted to see the third one. Also no wonder this movie bomb at the box office and it makes sense that this film was going to be on January.

  • Aaron S
    Aaron S 2 months ago

    As a Brit, I've got to say: no British teenager talks like that. The young girls dialogue felt extremely awkward, not to mention she had about five different types of accent... WTF!?

  • JG E
    JG E 2 months ago

    0:12 Oh my gosh! It's the REAL Enchantress's brother!

  • yea Fure
    yea Fure 2 months ago +1

    I think it was a good movie, it doesn't matter who directed it. It had a good story, plot, and a hint of comedy. I think people just don't like it due to the fact that it's not quite the same as the original.

    • yea Fure
      yea Fure 2 months ago

      You just used the same comment as the review. Plus there was nothing wrong with the script or acting. But I will admit it was all over the place, but that also leaves room for a sequel with an open plot. But now, the movies been so shunned that will never happen. It could have been a good movie franchise if was given a chance.

    • Jacob Shodin
      Jacob Shodin 2 months ago

      Id watch all Sharknado's before I ever watch this crap again.

    • Eric J
      Eric J 2 months ago +1

      No it was because the editing, script, pacing and acting were all over the place. You don't know what a good film is.

  • Joshua Breeding
    Joshua Breeding 2 months ago

    I honestly don’t get all the hate. I really liked it, and will be buying it on Blu-ray!

  • Jacob Shodin
    Jacob Shodin 3 months ago

    These positive reviews in the comments for the past 2 weeks are trolls from the studio and ignore them. This movie was utter garbage.

  • Dane of Halves
    Dane of Halves 3 months ago

    This movie was lots of fun. I was surprised.

  • Raptorswin Raptorswin
    Raptorswin Raptorswin 3 months ago

    Its reminded me of evil dead with its.. Cheezy gory shit that you don't want your kids to watch. please Boot yourself for trying to reboot this movie.

  • Linda Hadley
    Linda Hadley 3 months ago

    I really like the movie it just needed Baby Ruth and cats that was it love the movie I give it 20 Stars

  • Markel Scott
    Markel Scott 3 months ago +2

    This movie was ass and hella boring didnt make it 30 mins

  • Orbit Snoog's LA Guns & Comics Heaven

    It was messy here and there but it was fun. And I liked the gore!

  • Eddie Costa
    Eddie Costa 3 months ago

    It was a good movie....a lot of weird cut ‘s but a good popcorn flick

  • Super Smart
    Super Smart 3 months ago

    The end of this movie has some of the goriest stuff I've ever seen, overall this is a good movie, gruesome and gross at points yeah but if you can't handle it go back to baking pies... Jeremy jahns wrong again

    • Eric J
      Eric J 2 months ago

      Not only are you wrong but also stupid

  • yocraigst
    yocraigst 3 months ago

    This movie is on blue-ray/dvd now so I bought it and watched it. I thought it was good...enough. No, not a masterpiece. Yes, Del Toro did it better. It wasn't as bad as the reviewers said it was. I enjoyed it.

  • JGame87
    JGame87 3 months ago

    The movie was OK. Really loved the Pig 😁

  • J Cooper
    J Cooper 3 months ago +1

    The only thing good about this movie was David's performance.

  • cebisa
    cebisa 3 months ago +2

    It was trying to much to be bad ass

  • Owen Robertson
    Owen Robertson 3 months ago

    The effects were dire at times
    But I really enjoyed it .The scouser pig was hilarious. ...

  • Phil Dickan
    Phil Dickan 3 months ago

    Just seen the new Hellboy movie and I thought it was good.
    I enjoyed it.

  • DTVPRESENTS
    DTVPRESENTS 3 months ago

    This movie was bad fuckin ass! No clue why peeps ain’t liking this. This a legit great time and action packed flick. Watch it again peeps but this time soak it in for real.

  • george leinberger
    george leinberger 3 months ago

    "The violence doesn't serve a purpose"?!? It's. F***ING Hellboy! It belongs in there for the same reason it belongs in Logan. For Christ sakes that has to be the dumbest thing you have ever said. Who wants explicit violence in a movie with demons and monsters? Ummmm...me.

  • Mar Rastapopoulos
    Mar Rastapopoulos 3 months ago

    Jesus Christ! Ease the fuck down!

  • Lucid999 456
    Lucid999 456 3 months ago

    This movie was a 9/10 , I don’t see how it gets negative reviews...comic book fanboys maybe or people jumping on the negative comment bandwagon

    • Eric J
      Eric J 2 months ago

      Or maybe it was a bad movie..

  • Alterss Bot
    Alterss Bot 3 months ago

    I actually enjoyed this hellboy

  • 2858brandon
    2858brandon 3 months ago

    i totally disagree i loved it it was a really good adaptation of the comics

  • TonyB1023
    TonyB1023 3 months ago

    I love Ron Pearlman and the Guillermo del Toro films. And this Hellboy was actually fun. I enjoyed it! The action was nice and the characters were good. I liked it

  • dizzitoast
    dizzitoast 3 months ago +2

    Meh.... it was blah. I hated the way Hellboy’s hand looked. His designer was bad. The blood Queen was Beautiful.... the story was weak...

  • Tathagata Guha
    Tathagata Guha 4 months ago

    0:40 exactly my thought...

  • jhunt5578
    jhunt5578 4 months ago

    So true. The best arc in the story belongs to a side villain, swearing, pig. 🤦🏽‍♂️

  • Austin Braswell
    Austin Braswell 4 months ago +1

    It really is dissapointing how this movie turned out. I enjoyed the hell out of seeing David Harbour give his take on hellboy but everything else fell so flat. I would honestly go see a sequal to this movie due to the fact that with better direction and more flushed out characters along with David's good performance, this could be turned into a much better piece of cinema.

  • wigglesize
    wigglesize 4 months ago +1

    Absolute garbage, tried to watch it and fell asleep. Unfinished CGI, nonsensical script and a real shoddy attempt to revamp the franchise. An insult to the origionals which I love

  • Victor Alvarez
    Victor Alvarez 4 months ago

    Movie was good

  • Judas Fox
    Judas Fox 4 months ago

    Ok so, I didn't see this movie in theaters because of this review since I respect Jeremy's opinion frfr but I regret it. Watched it today and if your watching this review give it a chance honestly. Especially if your a hellboy fan it was truly fantastic.

  • Stefan Langenhoven
    Stefan Langenhoven 4 months ago

    this movie was cringe with a sprinkle of fan service

  • Zack Musick
    Zack Musick 4 months ago

    Hell boy 2 was good just in a damn if you do damn if you don't. They shouldn't have released that movie around the same time the Dark Knight came out.

  • Underground Chamber Muzik

    i enjoyed the movie dont know why its got so much hate i thought it was pretty dope

  • Nayr
    Nayr 4 months ago +1

    Not a great/good movie but easily still way better than the fantastic 4 reboot.

    • Ajpod 7
      Ajpod 7 4 months ago

      Nayr - Yeah, that one sucked ass.

  • leighton
    leighton 4 months ago +1

    was I the only one who felt like hellboy didn't really do alot of badass stuff in this movie

  • Jon Lastimosa
    Jon Lastimosa 4 months ago

    i love the gore..hahaha

  • Marcxman1991
    Marcxman1991 4 months ago

    Movie really wasnt that bad.
    Actually had a blast watching it!

  • Jan Diether Valero
    Jan Diether Valero 4 months ago +2

    I just watched it and for me, it felt rushed

  • LAMLM24/7/365
    LAMLM24/7/365 4 months ago

    Hellboy, David Harbour did a good Quintin Tarantino shouldve wrote the script and directed rhe film..

  • Gavaskar B.
    Gavaskar B. 4 months ago +6

    Rating R was "abused".. to much gore and blood.. to much f-bombs and bad language.. but it didnt enhance the movie at all..
    You either are Martin Scorcese and you know how to have a proper Rated R movie 😊

  • R.V.T. DOUBLE O.G.
    R.V.T. DOUBLE O.G. 4 months ago

    This movie was just as good as the other 2 movies

  • louis
    louis 4 months ago +1

    Didn’t really like the new hellboy actor. It felt too forced

  • Spotlight A
    Spotlight A 4 months ago +9

    I actually liked the movie