Parasite | Review!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 18, 2019
  • Dan Murrell reviews Bong Joon-ho's breakout featival hit Parasite!
    ►►Subscribe Now! ► TVclip.com/FandomEntertainment
    ►►Go Deeper!►www.fandom.com/
    Parasite | Review!
    Review by Dan Murrell
    Senior Producer: Billy Patterson
    Produced by: Ryan O'Toole
    Post-Production Supervisor: Emin Bassavand
    Movie Synopsis: Greed and class discrimination threaten the newly formed symbiotic relationship between the wealthy Park family and the destitute Kim clan.
    #FandomEntertainment #Parasite
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 199

  • Annex
    Annex 4 days ago

    Bong Joon-Ho’s ‘Parasite’ rocked me to my core. This is one of the best films of the decade. Groundbreaking, trailblazing, meticulous, fearless, audacious, bold and beautiful filmmaking. A Korean specialty.
    It was a full house with a diverse group. Rarely have I been more invested, holding my bated breath, clenching my ass, bracing myself, racked with tension, suspense, and anticipation. Never knowing what was gonna happen next or how it was gonna unfold. No fair guessing. Nothing can prepare you for this experience. No, it’s not a geek show but a endlessly, deliriously inventive and wickedly entertaining commentary between the rich and poor. The class divide. The haves and have not. Victims of circumstance vs. privilege.
    Talk about first rate performances! Talk about pitch perfect casting! A flawless screenplay. Precise cinematography, editing, and art direction. Memorable score.
    I look for tone, mood, aesthetic and Soul (Seoul)(!). Bong is playing us like a piano and I love it!
    How refreshing to experience a film other than through American sensibilities. It is darkly hilarious, tragic, heartbreaking, deeply satirical, profound, thought provoking, and Devastating! Must be vague, but Jordan Peele meets Tarantino is fair. Get ready, you won’t be able to shake off this film easily, it surprised the hell outta me.

  • Kelly B•
    Kelly B• 4 days ago

    stop referring to it as good for an international film lol it’s the best movie of the YEAR

  • Keaton Hanson
    Keaton Hanson 4 days ago

    Hopefully Dan reviews The Lighthouse

  • jenna nones
    jenna nones 6 days ago

    i didn’t like the half of the movie and the way they subtitle it. i feel like i miss something. and the half of the movie was too draggy for me.
    i just got out of the cinema. all of us people in theater room were so quiet after the show and immediately we exited.

  • Michael Nguyen
    Michael Nguyen 7 days ago +7

    "The best of what international film is offering right now..." I dare say its the best film anywhere worldwide this year. Its possibly the best film of this decade.

  • Kartik Sham
    Kartik Sham 9 days ago

    A podcast version of this would be great

  • lovelyman28
    lovelyman28 9 days ago

    I LOVED IT!!
    I hope it wins both best picture and best foreign film next year.

  • Warren Liebold
    Warren Liebold 10 days ago +2

    You did a great job of communicating just enough to get the audience interested without giving anything away. I went in knowing even less and I'm glad for that/. A great trip.

  • Drsoe08
    Drsoe08 10 days ago

    The hype surrounding this film is too much, hearing people rave about it, calling it a masterpiece, movie of the year, even film of the decade. With all that praise, I expected it to be on par with films (in terms of storytelling & acting) like The Godfather, Pulp Fiction or Park Chan-wook's Oldboy, but no, it didn't even came close. But still it was a very entertaining movie, people only overrate it.

  • GoProJoe
    GoProJoe 10 days ago +2

    btw foreigners think the oscars are an american joke

  • GoProJoe
    GoProJoe 10 days ago

    btw foreigners think the oscars are an american joke

  • GoProJoe
    GoProJoe 10 days ago

    (The boy an alien spoiler warning)

  • Matthew Blum
    Matthew Blum 11 days ago +2

    I appreciate your effort to avoid spoilers.

  • Mr. Myxzptlyk
    Mr. Myxzptlyk 11 days ago

    I am watching all these reviews of parasite cause I really like the movie and felt to me that there was a lot happening there. One thing I notice across the board. No one has the language to describe class conflict in much detail. We have had our class consciousness surgically detached from us.

  • Jose Covarrubias
    Jose Covarrubias 11 days ago

    I think this will be nominated not just for international film but best picture.

  • Connor Morley
    Connor Morley 11 days ago +1

    Parasite, Joker and The Lighthouse are hands down, the best movies of the year!

  • Jackie Corpron
    Jackie Corpron 12 days ago

    I adored Snow Piercer but thought Parasite was so-so. I thought the twists were predictable and the story pretty linear. I'm really surprised everyone is calling this a Masterpiece. A much better film with anti-capitalist themes is "Sorry to Bother You".

  • Rickalicious1
    Rickalicious1 13 days ago

    Just saw this movie recently and it’s one of my favorite movie of 2019.

  • Mike Duplessis
    Mike Duplessis 13 days ago

    The actor who plays the rich guy in the film, Lee Sun Kyun, was the lead in *the best TV series I've seen in my entire life*, the 2018 series 'My Ajusshi' (alt title 'My Mister'). South Korea is doing things in film and TV that you just don't see in the US. Their screenwriters practically become rock stars.

  • MEHTAAB SINGH SANDHU
    MEHTAAB SINGH SANDHU 13 days ago +1

    I liked joker more but for a language barrier this movie was also quite nice.

  • longhorns13192
    longhorns13192 16 days ago +5

    haven’t loved a movie this much since lady bird. Not one wasted frame or moment in this movie. Perfectly paced (IMO).

  • longhorns13192
    longhorns13192 16 days ago

    haven’t loved a movie this much since lady bird. Not one wasted frame or moment in this movie. Perfectly paced (IMO).

  • HoopleHeadUSA
    HoopleHeadUSA 16 days ago

    Saw it last night. Insane film. Go watch!

  • MB4493
    MB4493 17 days ago +2

    Best movie of 2019

  • SuperAvocado
    SuperAvocado 18 days ago

    I don't know why people are praising this movie so much.
    I watched it and the acting is not great. The characters have no personality and do unrealistic things, and apparently they are blind and deaf as well. They are just caricatures of the poor and rich with little depth.
    Think well, if this movie was done with American actors, people would be criticizing the poor acting and script. People are overlooking the flaws just because it's a foreign movie.

    • Luffy
      Luffy 14 days ago

      There is already a similar concept in hollywood. ex - Getout. So, I don't know what you are talking about

  • Danielle E.
    Danielle E. 19 days ago

    Found it. Sweet.

  • 박수영
    박수영 20 days ago +1

    I love new international poster for Bong Joon Ho's Parasite

  • Harriet
    Harriet 21 day ago

    Dear Dan, pls consider doing a spoiler review with Roth. So much to discuss!! Would love to hear you guys break it down.

  • 축복받은자
    축복받은자 21 day ago +3

    It’s very shocking and hilariously funny black comedy and at the same time very sad... because it is indeed showing the real society we all live in today...

  • Scary Dreamer
    Scary Dreamer 21 day ago

    If you want to get a glimpse of what this movie is about just watch the trailer. It sets the tone without spoiling anything.

  • ludus tonalis
    ludus tonalis 22 days ago +1

    I like BTS and Bong

  • Glen Thomas
    Glen Thomas 23 days ago +4

    Great movie. I feel the sudden need to pay my debts 😂

  • J Carson
    J Carson 23 days ago +1

    Best review without any spoilers. Thank you!

  • lalla jha
    lalla jha 24 days ago +3

    I don't like asian movies but I loved this movie.

  • Munkeez 15
    Munkeez 15 24 days ago +2

    UK we have to wait till February...
    I'm weeping.

  • Max Mustermann
    Max Mustermann 24 days ago +1

    What did you think of the movie? Tell us in the spoilers below!

  • Piano Rêvez
    Piano Rêvez 24 days ago +3

    great to see those amazing foreign films get some publicity, now review "portrait de la jeune fille en feu", it was the most beautiful theater experience I had all year!!

  • bearzerger
    bearzerger 24 days ago +8

    I watched Parasite yesterday and I loved it. Thanks for the recommendation. It's a really well told story and it's the funniest "thriller" I think I've ever seen. At least I don't believe I've laughed quite as often in any other thriller. Bong Joon-ho manages to balance quite an interesting mix of contradictions. It's lighthearted, but not without stakes or consequences. It's a bit over the top, but not so much as to make it lose it's realistic feel.

  • constance suze
    constance suze 24 days ago +2

    I saw this a month or two ago when it came out in France. Fantastic film. I got to try to explain the plot to my parents and grandparents over breakfast the next day

  • Moduga Sarang
    Moduga Sarang 24 days ago +1

    I watched that movie in korea june . Parasite is the best movie of this year.

  • Bose Mpuchane
    Bose Mpuchane 25 days ago +2

    Just watched it today. "Parasite/ 기생충" is amazing!

  • Erin Smith
    Erin Smith 26 days ago

    Of course Dan references Snowpiercer, because it has captain America in it. Phoney film
    Critic

  • Donski Grajo
    Donski Grajo 26 days ago +3

    Great director with his favorite actor to collab with...the shift of emotions of this film is absolutely insane!!!

  • 보주
    보주 26 days ago +2

    R.E.S.P.E.C.T! 봉준호

  • Nora Csiszar
    Nora Csiszar 26 days ago +2

    Thank you for the review Dan, I am really looking forward to watch this movie!

  • Sleepy Azathoth
    Sleepy Azathoth 26 days ago +11

    Bong Joon-ho is one of the best directors working today, every movie he has made is remarkable, especially Mother,The Host and Memories of Murder, for me those are masterpieces.

  • Mey
    Mey 26 days ago

    I've been waiting to hear your thoughts on the movie for two months and I hope you'll get a chance to elaborate on it. Best movie of the year for me (so far)

  • WordsWorthLiving
    WordsWorthLiving 26 days ago

    loved the movie.

  • Carla MSM
    Carla MSM 26 days ago

    THANK YOU for reviewing this! Please review Pain and Glory if you’re able Dan, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

  • Jenizz
    Jenizz 26 days ago

    As I had made a presentation in university about Bong Jong Ho and his movies.. it was hilarious to watch Parasite because I was able to predict 2 things. :D I love that he has his own handwriting of sorts and that he sticks to it. I enjoyed this movie a lot. :D

  • Hee dictated
    Hee dictated 26 days ago +1

    Finally!!! I thought I would never get a review of Parasite from Dan! So happy!

  • Tom Will
    Tom Will 27 days ago

    Might I recommend 'Sorry We Missed You' my friend was at Cannes and preferred it over Parasite although he said it was an exceptionally close run thing. I think it's won in a few of the festivals, it's Ken Loach's new film so is therefore my most anticipated film of the year, think it's starts it's roll out in a couple of weeks, can't wait.

  • derpina haha
    derpina haha 27 days ago +3

    yesss it plays in a little arthouse cinems in my town in germany. i will give it a go!

    • derpina haha
      derpina haha 16 days ago

      update: what a good movie! comedy 8/10, horror 9/10, social drama 10/10... but romance 3/10 (based on where the movie was supposed to be in this genre in my perception)

  • Arshil Potter
    Arshil Potter 27 days ago +3

    I loved the first half of the movie, second half felt implausible and convenient. Technically it's brilliant, I loved the camerawork. SPOILERZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ. I don't understand why they would invite someone in the middle of the night whom they tried so hard to kick her out. Also, KI-Woo slipped when the plot wants him to revealing their whole shtick. I didn't get Kang‑Ho Song's character very well, I understand why he killed him but it felt very out of place. I am not convinced that the character goes to such an extreme place. And then there is the Morse code and automatic lights, I felt it was ridiculous and implausible. I don't even think that was necessary to the film, they should have cut that ending section and ended with the violent act. That said I really enjoyed the first half. Also, is the wife also a parasite? I mean was she might be poor/middleclass before and she relies on her husband for money. And she notices the smell from Kang‑Ho Song after her husband tells about it, she didn't have the problem before. There was also a scene where she mentions that she hadn't been to subway for a long time which means she did used to travel before marriage. It is an interesting movie to dissect but flawed.

    • Arshil Potter
      Arshil Potter 25 days ago

      What do u mean by not reality movie? He took liberties that's my problem he took too far. See, "Us" handles similar concept, now you can call that as not a reality movie because it is fantasy or meant to be a fever dream but that's not the case with Parasite.

    • PETBOY
      PETBOY 25 days ago +1

      This is not reality movie. It is far from Reality oriented drama film. The director satirizes capitalism with fun, utilizing film magic. Bong Joon-ho is a director who actively uses the magic of film.

  • 9055661140
    9055661140 27 days ago +19

    "You don't want to know too much about this movie going in"
    Aaaaand I've closed the review lol

  • TheSiemek
    TheSiemek 27 days ago +1

    I am going to watch it on Tuesday and I need to rewatch Snowpiercer and Okja during the weekend.

    • president camacho
      president camacho 25 days ago +1

      those are easily his worst movies. watch memories of murder or mother or even the host.

  • Oliver El
    Oliver El 27 days ago

    This is a really good movie, very funny and shocking in many instances

  • 3317alibaba
    3317alibaba 27 days ago +1

    Not obvious social commentary? Lol, it's right in your face, it's so obvious I was like, there's gotta be something more here, because this is so cookie cutter. Great movie though

    • WinaGoldFishHere
      WinaGoldFishHere 26 days ago +1

      3317alibaba good movie, I think Hereditary is Aster’s masterpiece and that one was my favorite movie of the year last year . Midsommar definitely in my top 10

    • 3317alibaba
      3317alibaba 26 days ago +1

      @WinaGoldFishHere Midsommar

    • WinaGoldFishHere
      WinaGoldFishHere 26 days ago

      3317alibaba your fav movie of the year?

  • tanuki kitsune
    tanuki kitsune 27 days ago +8

    imho it's the best movie of this year so far. any plan for a spoiler discussion of the movie some time in the future?

  • Tommy Smith
    Tommy Smith 27 days ago +1

    I can’t wait to see this movie next week!