Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 387

  • Gerry Wayne
    Gerry Wayne 6 days ago

    Yeah... dont entirely agree here... I certainly enjoyed aspects of the film ie great performances & direction etc but so many 'issues' affecting the main characters in the film with 'solved' but extreme violence... & some of McDormand's reactions were so UNREALISTIC!!! ... & Rockwell's 360 turn from violent racist to nice guy... i didn't buy it )))

  • Stephen Devore
    Stephen Devore 10 days ago

    The ending and it ambiguous tone has been done so much. It fits the story so understand why they did it. Sapranos did it. No country for old men. You do it so much it loses its effect. Most people want a tidy ending. Good idea that is overused. Movie's in general need to be more balanced and less convoluted. What will happen next is you go to a movie and see some guy named Ben and he's back. The End😎 The new trailer for the Julia Roberts movie. I need more to go see it. The show and movies are good but I already know how they end. The Butler did it. 😨 Spoiler🤔😎

  • Shane Kellam
    Shane Kellam 19 days ago

    Loved the movie but kinda waiting for someone to call out the mistakes or things that were wrong. Particularly when she went to rent out the billboards... she didn't wait for an answer on how much. If you're a redneck and you only have $5K after selling a tractor trailer, you don't just hand over everything, especially if you want the most time for your money for the billboards to be up. Then, I'm pretty sure there's an error again in how long she has them for, when the Sheriff goes to the ad company and he says she paid for a year in advance but then she's told that the $5k was a deposit for the first month... or something like that(sorry, only watched it the 1 time).
    Also, pretty sure when a billboard is on fire, it is not wise to climb to the top of one to try to put it out and if you do, I'm sure those flames will be all up in your face or at least plenty of smoke.
    And even though she tried to call the police station to give the deputy a warning call before she set it ablaze, I think a normal person wouldn't go through with it then.

  • SamWallace Artisan
    SamWallace Artisan 20 days ago

    I'm genuinely surprised that this movie was written by the guy who did 'In Bruges'; the script uses almost every cliche in the book and the characters behavior is highly inconsistent for the sake of easy drama.
    Also there isn't any consistency in how consequences work in this movie. You're telling me that a small town is riled up over a woman putting up a billboard, but when she physically assaults a dentist and two students, and commits a domestic terror attack on police property, no one even bats an eye? Bull. Shit. I don't care how many Oscars people throw at it, and I don't care that literally every actor in the movie is somebody I like who I know to be a good actor; it doesn't fix the inconsistencies in and triteness of the script.

  • Damalia Marsi
    Damalia Marsi 20 days ago

    I didn't like it, but didn't dislike it either, it was just different. Had I known what to expect I would probably still watch it.

  • mattronimus
    mattronimus 21 day ago

    this movie was a little beyond the realm of reality. kinda ridiculous at times ...and I'm all for ambiguous endings but not in this scenario

  • vince gredo
    vince gredo Month ago

    I really enjoyed this film. But I think you're a liberal puss Chris

  • Ss Fs
    Ss Fs Month ago

    ending was great

  • Marc
    Marc Month ago

    Truly one of the worst, most unrealistic stories I’ve ever seen put to film. The characters are cartoons of PC stereotypes, the plot has numerous gaping holes, the story seems no more than a vehicle to express far-left ideological frustrations about life. I think less of every actor in it for taking the role. It really is that bad.

  • Francesco Ramicani
    Francesco Ramicani Month ago

    Like we all heard about this movie only because of YOU?

    • Roni _82
      Roni _82 Month ago

      Boxxy software have very easy Curated Content where u can find all movies you want to watch and for free!

  • Kiko 89
    Kiko 89 Month ago

    They never catch the guy or point out any suspects don't waste your time stupid fucking movie and the ending is stupid af fuck any one who says this was a good movie fuck them in there stupid asses

  • Cajun Plaisance
    Cajun Plaisance Month ago

    I agree with the ending. I expected a little more myself. All in all, awesome movie and love Frances McDormand

  • Michael Thomas
    Michael Thomas Month ago

    The king has no clothes. This movie sucks and the ending is crap. I hate Hollywood and everyone hyping this bullshit

  • michael smith
    michael smith Month ago

    I continue to be amazed that anyone likes this movie. The writing and acting are atrocious. Not one likeable character or believable situation in the entire film.

  • iamknosound
    iamknosound Month ago

    Sucked

  • CattailGamer
    CattailGamer Month ago

    “You think I give a shit about dentists? I don’t give a shit about dentists, no one gives a shit about dentists”
    One of the best lines in the film.

  • Dean Lett
    Dean Lett Month ago

    Sorry the ending brought it down for me. I don't like ambiguous endings where we never get closure on if the evil guy who raped a woman as she died gets to pay the price. Good writing but a little uneven. The 19 year old her ex was dating was hilarious, but Frances saying treat her well to the husband who still has a problem with being physically abusive as he nearly was about to beat Frances up against a wall in her kitchen--tells me the director is not really interested in the morality of stopping the evil that men do, be it abusive husbands or evil killers, and that brings it down for me.

  • Mr.SmithGNR Smith
    Mr.SmithGNR Smith Month ago

    Sam Rockwell was the best thing about this movie.

  • Ricky Bobby
    Ricky Bobby Month ago

    Just finished the movie. Agree on all points. Definitely wanted to experience the satisfaction of a final scene too. That would have been the cherry on top of the best movie I have seen in a very long time.

  • Adino1
    Adino1 Month ago

    Only issue I had was how slow half the characters were. I'm not from a small town but I've been to enough of them to know the people that live there really aren't that dumb.

  • Pixie Lee
    Pixie Lee 2 months ago

    Loved it 👍

  • David Rackley
    David Rackley 2 months ago

    I think Chris means “when the focus is finally on the town for being absolutely FAKE”!😎

  • Damon Wadyko
    Damon Wadyko 2 months ago

    Very good film...great performances, but suffers from some major plot points that made no sense.

  • Monte Crisco
    Monte Crisco 2 months ago

    I agree with you ending statement, even just an eye lock then cut would have been awesome

  • ASAP CRACKER VEVO
    ASAP CRACKER VEVO 2 months ago +1

    You must review in bruges

  • nuke018
    nuke018 2 months ago

    best movie of the year

  • Marcus Power
    Marcus Power 3 months ago

    Liberal leftist garbage nonsense. Fuck you Ill take my hard earned money elsewhere. A cop who is a racist bigot blah blah blah. Hollywood terms for every officer on the force. Go fuck yourself man, you lefty nuts are ruining this country.

  • OnlyRoke
    OnlyRoke 3 months ago

    This fucking movie. I was nearly in tears five times. And I usually am not the easiest to move. But that movie..goddamn.

  • durcheinander
    durcheinander 3 months ago

    This was my fave of all the Oscar films this year. I expected something dark and serious and I got something dark, serious -and funny af-. The writer of this film has balls the size of America lol

  • Despacitoof
    Despacitoof 3 months ago

    For someone whom has grown up in a small community, I find this film the best film I had ever seen. As it was clever, it had a good plot, interesting and investing story, and (as he says) unpredictability. The film actually got massive criticism for its politically incorrect jokes such as the chief telling the main character that if we got rid of every cop that slightly hated the blacks we'd have 3 cops left and they hate the gays.

  • k s
    k s 3 months ago +1

    Modern day masterpiece, will go down as a classic

  • lilith lee
    lilith lee 3 months ago

    I agree with the ending
    I must say Midlred was the best caracter of the year and one of the best ever , and Frances Mcdormand was amazing in this movie .

  • Lunova
    Lunova 3 months ago

    *Spoilers* I personally liked the ending, but I do agree with wanting to see more because I personally loved the movie so much. That being said the ending ties in with what I think is the largest theme of the movie. That theme being forgiveness/letting go, and moving on. You can really see what pent up hatred, anger, and emotions does to these people. The real message to me was to not spend your entire life dwelling on the past, or revenge. In that perfectly translated to the ending for me. Don't spend time dwelling on it. The main point was that she finally was able to get over her daughter's death, and obsessing over who did it is ironically what the mother was doing the whole movie. That's how I felt anyways.

  • Linnea Connery
    Linnea Connery 4 months ago

    I really did enjoy this movie BUT i don’t think mcdormands performance was Oscar worthy just my opinion

  • bannajirocks
    bannajirocks 4 months ago

    watching it tonight. good night!

  • Shirley Bibbins
    Shirley Bibbins 4 months ago

    I don't get the hype for it at all. It's really boring, and is nothing like other true crime films like the Texas Killing Fields (2011), or the Last House on the Left (2009)- now those are true crime films. This film is just bad, and boring, with no action, tense, suspense, or violence. No kidnapping, killing, or rape is shown in the movie.

  • ändrew Salter
    ändrew Salter 4 months ago

    I felt this movie was more about our perception of someone and how our perceptions can be questioned when choices are made you didn't expect ! Maybe !!

  • Shree Nation
    Shree Nation 4 months ago

    Without Sam Rockwell this movie would've been shit.

  • archangelum
    archangelum 4 months ago

    Agreed. So the murder isn't resolved, but seeing Mildred a bit more resolved would have been nice. You do get the sense that she's better at the end driving off to Idaho.

  • Austin Ryan
    Austin Ryan 4 months ago

    James bond jr. Tshirt ?!

  • ZiBRA Counselling Solutions

    Chris I love the intelligence of your reviews and the way you connect both the art history of film making and the diverse material / issues that are being tackled by the films you review. I haven't seen this film as yet but since seeing your reviews of other films, I became a subscriber to your channel. I love films, both the art form and importantly the material they choose to tackle. Am a minor film buff myself. I saw my first foreign film when I was 16 years old. Loved it. Have film makers in my family and Im a writer of sorts. America has a long history of great art and film making. Although for me the fanchise machine is a bit tiring. Here is a bit of trivia for you. The earliest known feature length narrative film in the world was the Australian production, The Story of the Kelly Gang (1906). Anyway Chris keep up the great work. A new Australian fan of your channel.

  • bryndone
    bryndone 4 months ago

    Worst movie I’ve seen in YEARS. It was nonsensical, nothing had any consequence, either to the story, or to the characters therein, nobody reacted like any human would, to any events in the film, and the characters were stilted, and forced. It felt amateurish, at best

    • gerry o sullivan
      gerry o sullivan Month ago

      The cop almost killing the sign guy and not getting arrested ruined it for me,then the mother kicking the kids in the groin in front of witnesses and nothing happens confirmed the movies stupidity,no way is this nonsense a "classic" .

  • Golden Sansam
    Golden Sansam 5 months ago

    Where can i get that shirt? :3

  • Aaron Osborne
    Aaron Osborne 5 months ago

    McDormand is a bad ass

  • Pip Boeheem
    Pip Boeheem 5 months ago

    Best movie I’ve seen in a long time

  • Miscellaneous Mobile Gaming

    This was filmed in my town! It was a long stretch of having to go through different roads. It was also filmed at my school!

  • Vegan Ricks
    Vegan Ricks 5 months ago

    A mate gave me this, wasn't sure about it. Gave it a watch. Absolutely loved it. Who thew the can scene was the greatest.

  • Y-You Too
    Y-You Too 5 months ago

    When sam went to his house after he got beaten in the bar and his mom start crying at the bathroom door
    This shit got me real hard

  • Y-You Too
    Y-You Too 5 months ago

    Bruv the ending made me mad is some way

  • Adrian Matos
    Adrian Matos 5 months ago

    I watched this movie and I loved it. She seeks justice in her own way for the death of her daughter. She portraits a character with a strong will, but deep down she is broken for the loss of her daughter.

  • Dave Long
    Dave Long 5 months ago

    Terrible film. D

  • Homoud S.
    Homoud S. 5 months ago

    reviewing or just telling the story ?

  • Giovanni Salamon
    Giovanni Salamon 5 months ago

    Had a feeling it was going to end where it ended. Sort of a Bladerunner style ending to leave the audiences guessing as to what would be done. It ended at the right time.

  • 22martinez1
    22martinez1 5 months ago

    I saw the film the same day when Fifty Shades Freed was released on opening day I saw Freed first because I want to see it end right away so I won't have to think about these movies ever again. After seeing Freed I immediately purchased a ticket to see Three Billboards and I saw both films on the same day and of course Three Billboards is a much better film than Freed and I'm so glad I saw Three Billboards it was amazing.

  • Janice Columbus
    Janice Columbus 5 months ago

    Should have been called 3 Billboards and 2 psychopaths! Wacko unrealistic script, but great performances. Solid C.

  • Thousand_Cuts
    Thousand_Cuts 5 months ago

    -There'll be no more "cunts" in this house!
    -Oh, you moving out?
    👏👏👏

  • John Hamm
    John Hamm 5 months ago

    I don't get the hype with this movie, I hated it. The plot was over the top and made no sense. It wasn't funny either.

  • Mauricio Exenberger
    Mauricio Exenberger 5 months ago

    ****Really enjoyed! "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" addresses the so-called hate crime, in the case of the film, motivated by gender bias, with messages threatening discrimination, rejection and contempt of a mother, interpreted by Frances McDormand, after having published three ads in search for justice for the daughter raped, murdered and burned. The story reveals how a series of omissions, neglections and prejudices contribute to the crime remains unsolved. To conclude, the misinformation, fueled by the local press, makes public opinion against the victim and favors the likely rapist. When he perceives the favorable scenario, the marginal one is freed by the streets and still is in the right to threaten the mother of the girl raped. Strangely, it's up to the troubled cop - Sam Rockwell's impeccable performance - to turn the tables and show that goodwill is one of man's greatest virtues.

  • Kamikat
    Kamikat 5 months ago

    I can surely say this was the most depressing movie I have ever seen

  • Erin S.
    Erin S. 5 months ago

    Why do I have to find out about this movie on an amazon other movie list? Ya and I saw this one through looking at “the Florida project” through Fifty shades Freed that I accidentally clicked on skimming through on my phone. Wtf is wrong with this picture? Either way I can’t wait to watch this movie now. Until then....sleep, wake up, do the family thing, kids go to bed then watch this movie.

  • Phil S
    Phil S 5 months ago

    I love how its tough on ears and reminds us we don't have to be so polite and nice in over sentimentality these days...

  • Phil S
    Phil S 5 months ago

    I love beginning with her, hey F head! How everyone goes lower and lower in language and Harrelson with his gd in front of his kids and everyone more and more... And it does trick you every time! Lol

  • Edwin Batiste
    Edwin Batiste 5 months ago

    Good movie, Was not a big fan of the ending. Would love to see how it all woulda played out.

  • Edwin Batiste
    Edwin Batiste 5 months ago

    Yeah I enjoyed the Shape of Water more

  • Roman T
    Roman T 6 months ago

    This movie really sucked and if anybody liked it I wanna know why?

  • Aravind Dhakshinamoorthy

    This is by far the best review I've ever seen. Spot on on every aspect. Thank you.

  • ilovefood
    ilovefood 6 months ago

    i also couldnt really get the ending. and i was left with questions, who was the killer? why did dixon throw welby out the window? why was mildred going to idaho in the first place?

  • Ryan Williams
    Ryan Williams 6 months ago

    this movie was an absolute mess

  • daniel thomas
    daniel thomas 6 months ago

    felt bad for peter dinklage character for some reason

  • Joogie Jones
    Joogie Jones 6 months ago

    The problem with this film is the script was just a device to string together scene after scene of liberal propaganda. When a film’s politics come before substance, you end up with lazy acting and direction. Nothing about this film felt realistic or believable. The only reason it is receiving acclaim is because it’s producers made a list of liberal bullet points (anti-White Male, racist cops, misogyny, rape culture, feminism, etc) that Hollywood wants pushed in EVERY movie and built an entire film around that agenda. Sorry Chris, your review doesn’t feel genuine either.

    • Joogie Jones
      Joogie Jones 5 months ago

      jackriver1999 What a great argument - tell someone their opinion is shit without having anything to support your rebuttal. Gee, sure looks like you won that one, dickwad.

    • jackriver1999
      jackriver1999 5 months ago

      If you know anything about the work of the writer-director Martin McDonagh, a London-born Irish playwright, you'd soon realize what you said is a steaming pile of shit.

  • Jim Canterak
    Jim Canterak 6 months ago

    What the fuck is wrong with people?
    This piece of shit was barely worth watching, let alone scoring 8s or 9s all over, and even getting an oscar.
    Every single piece of acting was so cringy, I had to actually forward it to stop the physical pain.
    And the "plot" was all over the place.
    Seriously, what the fuck people?

    • Jim Canterak
      Jim Canterak 5 months ago

      Haha yeah. You are so deep, you can find meaning in everything.

    • jackriver1999
      jackriver1999 5 months ago

      Don't worry, Transformers and Jurassic Park will be out later in the summer to save your infantile mind.

  • keen
    keen 6 months ago

    the ending pissed me off. I was hoping to see them catch the rapist and killer!

  • GeekFurious
    GeekFurious 6 months ago

    I thought this was the best movie of 2017.

  • als
    als 6 months ago

    Am I the only one that thinks this movie although pretty decent is way overrated and full of cliches? The classic racist white cop, and the scenes that show the flash back of the daughter and when the father shows up at the house, horrible acting in those scenes

  • Stickett
    Stickett 6 months ago

    I didn't see why this movie was so well regarded

  • Jeremy S
    Jeremy S 6 months ago

    This movie was a waste of time, nothing really happens in it and the ending sucks too

  • Andy Tihonow
    Andy Tihonow 6 months ago

    I was not a big fan of the ending. Would have liked to have seen what they would have done when they reached the potential rapists house. I get your supposed to decide what they were going to do but I am just not that big of a fan of cliffhanger endings. Especially when we just had to sit and watch this movie for over 2 hours. It would have been equally as unsatisfying if it ended and we found out it was all just a dream.

  • Daniel Catallo
    Daniel Catallo 6 months ago

    Sam Rockwell is playing the same type of character here that Billy Bob Thornton did in Monster's Ball. Only far better written and a lot less cartoonish.

  • Benjamin Trif
    Benjamin Trif 6 months ago

    This is a must watch movie I promise you will love it. My unpaid review !

  • QuartuvLarry
    QuartuvLarry 6 months ago

    OK, it turned out better than I thought. But DAMN! The first 40 minutes with McDormand’s character was well nigh UNBEARABLE! She was so sanctimonious and self-righteous with the fucking billboards! Christ! Even after, she still sought damaging retribution for her billboards! Rockwell’s character, though...turned the whole film around! Thank God it became about him, and not her crusading holy highness!

  • Eric B
    Eric B 6 months ago

    Thank you

  • Ricardo Aguirre
    Ricardo Aguirre 6 months ago

    Hey Chris! I really liked the ending, and I want to share why.
    As we’re told throughout the movie, hate only causes more hate. And I think that by this time in the movie, both Dixon and Mildred have learned that. I think the ending scene is perfect because by the beginning of the movie Mildred would’ve killed that fucker in a heartbeat, I think we’re meant to understand that she’s finally letting go, or not, which was probably your point. But I think that sort of goes back to the unpredictability of the film, she has learned her lesson, but that doesn’t necessarily mean she won’t kill that guy, I think that’s pretty clever

  • HotCoals
    HotCoals 6 months ago

    A 'Cohenish' movie . A great one !

  • vova47
    vova47 6 months ago

    Very dark, depressing and way overrated movie, that has good cast but completely unrealistic story plots.

  • Cory Drummond
    Cory Drummond 6 months ago

    Just saw it and those Oscars were definitely deserved.

  • Adrian N
    Adrian N 6 months ago

    the ending is perfect, just because you want more!

  • Jacob Staten
    Jacob Staten 6 months ago

    So the message is; bully people regardless of their involvement or responsibility until you get what you want, because chances are you can justify heckling and/or assaulting the the people in your path one way or another, and everything will fall into place in the end.

  • mick cv
    mick cv 6 months ago

    Its because of you critics saying you like the ending that these damn movies keep telling an incomplete story. I know the meaning behind it so don’t try to lecture, but I like a finished movie just like They did back before movies

  • Kristen Annear
    Kristen Annear 6 months ago

    Good review..im definitely going to check it out

  • Ala Collins
    Ala Collins 6 months ago

    Just watched this movie and loved it!!!

  • Brian Zee
    Brian Zee 6 months ago

    the ending isn't that ambiguous to me after thinking about it. Throughout the movie you see the characters develop a lot of anger as a reaction to the escalating situation. One character decision leads to the reaction of many other characters in a cascading kind of way causing things get progressively more violent. However we observe some very pivotal moments in both end scene characters where their behavior starts to change and things starts to calm down. Namely when Dixon started to read the letter and when Mildred decided to walk away at the restaurant. The ending scene is a real test for the 2 characters and I like to think that they have made the right decision in the end given their characters evolution at that point

  • sharishaBIGBROWNEYES mccoy

    I agree, The ending could have been better! I wanted that SOB to pay! LOL

  • Moravian Lion
    Moravian Lion 6 months ago

    I do think the end was perfect. I don't wanna spoil anything, but for me, it was great and it followed the msg of the film. :)

  • adamh3624
    adamh3624 6 months ago

    What a shock this idiot needed a spoon fed ending.

  • عبدالله الحربي

    ع زق

  • interlinked Media
    interlinked Media 6 months ago

    Liked the movie, the tones didn't really mesh though.

  • Kip Paseo
    Kip Paseo 6 months ago

    Sam Rockwell must never be forgiven for the abomination of the remake of poltergeist in 2015! He should be shunned in Hollywood and the rest of the planet!

  • Christopher L Williams
    Christopher L Williams 6 months ago

    That (Idaho Guy) is gonna wish he paid the $7

  • jack mroz
    jack mroz 6 months ago

    I agree with your review, accept I would give it an a+. Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell were absolutely superb! They blew my socks off. I agree with your comments about the ending, yet I would still give it an a+.

  • Jason Orr
    Jason Orr 6 months ago

    You're completely insane. This was one of the worst acted movies since The Room. But that's what the retarded Tide pod generation is into, I guess.