Blade Runner 2049 - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 962

  • paragonjones13
    paragonjones13 Day ago

    I wasn't the biggest fan of the first movie, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

  • MyCubiclePenguin
    MyCubiclePenguin 7 days ago

    For me, it's the best movie of the 2010's so far.

  • Gary L. Street
    Gary L. Street 12 days ago

    I had the person I took with to see 2049 see the original version, theater cut first, then once she like that, we went to see 2049. She enjoyed it. I do think it might not be a stand alone type movie. The box office did not do it any favors for that argument.

  • DeepEye1994
    DeepEye1994 13 days ago

    Some detractors said that this movie should have left Deckard and Rachael out and be just its own stand-alone adventure set in the Blade Runner universe... To that I say NO, FUCK YOU.
    Go invent your own science fiction story about humans hunting robots, don't piggy back on Blade Runner's popularity. You can do it with Star Wars if you want to, but Blade Runner isn't Star Wars with some kind of huge unexplored universe with tons of characters to use and many possibilities beyond the Skywalker family, it was simply the personal story of Deckard in a dystopian future, so if you're doing a sequel, you better include him and show us what happened to him next instead of using Blade Runner's setting as a fancy sandbox for your shitty police story.

  • Kali Maki
    Kali Maki 15 days ago

    This is how you know all of those movie critics and reviews are all paid sheep. This movie was just a 3hours of time wasting. Garbage movie trying too hard look smart

  • SAN MAN
    SAN MAN 15 days ago

    The original was decent. I loved 2049

  • Jorge Abreu
    Jorge Abreu 20 days ago

    I saw this one before the originals and loved it

  • Charles Fox
    Charles Fox 21 day ago +1

    As much as I love movies.and trust me I really do .I felt this film was a way to long piece of shit that started believeing it's own hype that it was actually good.and at one point you actually see that

  • mkat490
    mkat490 22 days ago

    one of the worst movies

  • Henry Lima
    Henry Lima 22 days ago

    Omg, blade runner 2049 was super boring, me and my girl fell asleep watching it

  • Aaron Burdon
    Aaron Burdon 25 days ago

    Was Joi real or just a hologram program responding to what K wanted her to be? The giant hologram calling him "a good Joe" suggested to me that she wasn't real, just real to him until that bitch stepped on her.

  • Placebo
    Placebo 25 days ago

    Ok, I waited for this movie to come out on TV (HBO). It took me about 3 1/2 hours to watch this (due to rewinding). Holy shit. This movie was beautiful. From the beginning to the very end. At some points, I was like... They could've made this into 2 separate movies. Then, had to smack myself and realize that we're going on an adventure and the director trust the audience enough to grab hold, bite down, and enjoy this Sci-Fi epic Opera. I was not dissapointed at all. The tone, the pace, the story, the thought provoking arch of the protagonist "what does it all mean?!?" I will need to watch this movie again, then probably one more time. But, after the first viewing. The ending was just.... Muah. "Beautiful isn't it..."

  • MovieMusicTV
    MovieMusicTV 26 days ago

    This one blew me away, instantly one of my new favorite movies and it rarely happens that a new movie still enters my top 5.

  • Jacinda Krider
    Jacinda Krider 26 days ago

    I loved it as much as the first movie. I think it's gonna be the next movie I buy.

  • Flintlock
    Flintlock 28 days ago +1

    Do I have to see the first Bladerunner in order to understand Bladerunner 2049?

  • MusicisLife8393
    MusicisLife8393 28 days ago

    dat hair

  • michael allen
    michael allen 28 days ago

    Wow, you are ANNOYING. I watched for 30 seconds and will never watch again.
    This is what has become acceptable, the norm; yelling and quick cuts to give the video more "energy".
    It is so fing annoying.

  • Marco Zuleta
    Marco Zuleta 29 days ago

    i don't like the first blade runner, but i absolutely looooved this one; an absolute masterpiece from start to finish. this is one if not the best sequel ever made.

  • Starbuck
    Starbuck Month ago

    Joi is so hawt

  • kjan jusz
    kjan jusz Month ago

    Let me get this straight - Jeremy gives this movie (a stunning, original and staggering masterpiece) a lower rating than It (a good but decisively overrated horror film based on a book)?

  • Lindsey Fuller
    Lindsey Fuller Month ago

    I like this film more

  • Thomas Tiernan
    Thomas Tiernan Month ago

    2049 was good, not great. A worthy sequel to the original, which also wasn't great.I got tired of the bleakness in both films. Bleak has a place in SF and I don't dislike it. It just isn't my favorite Future. Worth seeing once.

  • king of clubs
    king of clubs Month ago

    I really am interested, but i have never been able to make it through the first one. So until that day comes, the day i see this wont come.

  • BenRiley83
    BenRiley83 Month ago

    This movie is an AwesomeTacular for me. 10/10

  • wholetruthy
    wholetruthy Month ago +1

    Just one question Jeremy ...... Is this movie investigative ?

  • Owenz Hub
    Owenz Hub Month ago

    Was not a fan of the original movie but I am a fan of this one.

  • FZJanimated
    FZJanimated Month ago

    boring movie.. the pacing is so slow and over the top dramatic... i was getting sleepy

  • Alex Leclerc
    Alex Leclerc Month ago

    Do you need to watch the first one to enjoy the second blade runner

  • anthony cheesman
    anthony cheesman Month ago

    Can we all agree the movie is about 30 min too long and Jared Leto sucks in it lol its an 8 out of 10 for me

  • Thad !!!!!!
    Thad !!!!!! 2 months ago +1

    I strongly disliked the first movie, however I loved this one. It seemed like they just improved in every aspect.

  • MickBozovic
    MickBozovic 2 months ago

    I actually didn't like the original and I love this film. BR2049 is legitimately my favorite film of all time.

  • adgtheone
    adgtheone 2 months ago

    Clearly the best film of 2017. I liked the original alot, but I don't know which one I like more. The sequel looks phenomenal, and it features the best acting I've ever seen! Still, Bladerunner did many of the same things, and was both tense and interesting. These kinds of movies are getting fewer and far between, so we should appreciate them for as long as they exist.

  • The West Winger
    The West Winger 2 months ago

    A fucking machine bade by fucking humans is a fucking machine

  • Yautja Prime
    Yautja Prime 2 months ago

    I feel bad for saying I've never liked Gosling in anything he's done. The man is just a bad actor imo.

  • Shawn Scorpion
    Shawn Scorpion 3 months ago

    ACTING WAS BAD..... DIRECTOR: "ACT LIKE YOUR ALL ON MICHAEL JACKSON SLEEPING PILLS" AND ACTION!

  • Captain Obvious
    Captain Obvious 3 months ago +1

    This is what the new star wars should of been.

  • Berend Konings
    Berend Konings 3 months ago

    Jeremy, blade runners "retire" replicants... the terminology is important...

  • WhiteWolf496
    WhiteWolf496 3 months ago

    I didnt really get the original i only watched it once (yesterday) then immediately purchased this and i enjoyed it a lot more... however you do really need to have seen the first to understand the second.
    This is by far the most stunning movie I've ever seen and probably the longest. But i really enjoy the detectiveyness of this one.
    I didn't really understand what was happening in the original but hey... i might get it a bit more on second viewing

  • SamWallace Artisan
    SamWallace Artisan 3 months ago

    I like how they treated Deckard as if he was any other character rather than some hero among men. Compared to Force Awakens, where when he shows up the music swells and it's this big moment; in Blade Runner he shows up and he's just another guy scared of getting his stuff wrecked, and it that's the perfect use of his character.

  • swishpronoob
    swishpronoob 3 months ago

    I'm down to watch the four hour cut.

  • Omar Rashid
    Omar Rashid 3 months ago

    You can absolutely be a fan of this movie without being a fan of the original. I am.

  • The Wraith
    The Wraith 3 months ago +1

    As much as I love this movie I almost wish that they had cut the running time down a bit so that a wider audience could appreciate it. Of course if they did that then it wouldn't be the same movie that I love so much.
    Nevermind, this is a stupid-ass comment. :p

  • Chris Fury
    Chris Fury 3 months ago

    Hey Jeremy, just to satisfy your curiousity- yes, there are such people, I never REALLY liked the first Blade Runner, i did not hated it either, it just did not capture me, 2049 actually did! So yeah, i liked 2049 BETTER.

  • Kyp Durron
    Kyp Durron 3 months ago

    Not a fan of the original, but i loved this one

  • Mister M
    Mister M 3 months ago

    worth it just to see that giant to see that nude pink blue hair girl

  • Xeino
    Xeino 3 months ago

    Blade runner 2049: amazing visuals, amazing concepts, cool story... BORING AS FUCK!!! Film snobs are losing their shit over this movie, when it’s way to fucking long and far too drawn out.

  • Sharpe1502
    Sharpe1502 3 months ago

    I don’t care much for the original blade Runner. LOVE 2049.

  • Evan West
    Evan West 4 months ago

    I loved every minute of this movie.

  • shavingculture
    shavingculture 4 months ago

    This movie make me fall asleep 😴 ad only bad movies make me fall sleep like twilight and other few movies 😒 boring and bad movies make me fall asleep

  • David Dale
    David Dale 4 months ago

    I guess in 2049 life is majorly BORING as hell

  • Luis Ruiz
    Luis Ruiz 4 months ago

    Can I still enjoy this film without having seen the original?

  • Michael John
    Michael John 4 months ago

    Not gonna lie. This one of the best films of all time. My 6th favourie and the best of this decade.

  • Matt Scarpace
    Matt Scarpace 4 months ago

    Am I the only one who hated this movie???? I felt it was just Ryan Gosling walking around for 2 hours

  • The Triple A
    The Triple A 4 months ago

    Hands down, Best CGI and Visual Effects in film history.

  • Ilyaas Hussain
    Ilyaas Hussain 4 months ago

    I had so much fun paying attention to that one strand of hair bouncing around and then magically disappearing and reappearing.

  • BeefIntoCake
    BeefIntoCake 4 months ago

    Ughh.....just some guy doing a random rant on a movie he clearly didn`t understand. Did you even watch it ? Disliked.

  • Walkin'Cat
    Walkin'Cat 4 months ago

    The movie was an epic piece of boredom. Absolutely predictable, monotonic homage to the original movie (every single cut). Bladerunner 2049 somehow looks worse then the original movie, which is weird considering how much time passed.

  • rorrante
    rorrante 4 months ago

    Great review, Enjoyed it ! You gave my ears a workout trying to keep up with you, lol.

  • Matt Cartmell
    Matt Cartmell 4 months ago

    Didn't really like the first one but I loved this one.

  • Chucho35 Pewdsmiester
    Chucho35 Pewdsmiester 4 months ago +1

    I did not like the original blade runner at all, but I loved 2049 and I’d pry give it a 9/10

  • Gerald Ward
    Gerald Ward 4 months ago

    I loved it

  • Jake Tibbs
    Jake Tibbs 4 months ago +1

    It took me three viewings to fully appreciate 2049, whereas the first film I felt I had a feeling for after 1 (though it gets better after a second and third time). 2049 just left me speechless the first two. Like, I knew I'd seen something good, but it was just so much to take in. After viewing three, I think it's even better than the first. The director is better than Scott, the cinematography was better, the visuals were unforgettable, and that score... Wow. I also loved how Harrison Ford was utilized. They could have easily had him as the star to pander to us, but he was there as the plot needed. 2049 is one of the best sequels ever, and I will forever sing its praise.

  • talia che
    talia che 4 months ago

    Yes i wasn't a fan of the original but i'm of this one😂

  • jjledzep
    jjledzep 4 months ago

    I'm surprised that it did not get "Awesometacular"...

  • TRexx 070
    TRexx 070 4 months ago

    Instead of making movies make episodes of Blade Runner

  • diauddin frid
    diauddin frid 4 months ago

    i wasnt a blade runner fan..i didnt know anything about blade runner before i watched it so i didnt understand the plot but i was sooo fucking mesmerized by everything in the movie composition, cinematography design colour atmosphere style and the story etc it was a fucking masterpiece so i had to rewatch it 3 times to take in everything. im a fucking blade runner fan now!

  • FantasticMrBox
    FantasticMrBox 4 months ago

    I think I need to watch the original again. I do remember watching and enjoying the original but there is a lot I don't remember. With that said, even though the original was a bit lost on me for the first watch I did thoroughly enjoy 2049 and it absolutely felt like a sequel rather than an action cash-grab like I thought it would be.

  • Toddmania Toddmania
    Toddmania Toddmania 4 months ago

    This guy talks way too fast. Annoying

  • C Rizzy
    C Rizzy 4 months ago

    One of the best Sci Fi Movies of all time. There was some amazing foreshadowing moments as well as great symbolism. The characters were just beautifully developed. The movie flowed perfectly, people are just so impatient nowadays everyone expects Marvel Superhero movie pace. It's sad really.

  • joe grimes
    joe grimes 5 months ago

    Deckard WAS a replicant. "He wasn't long for this world. Something in his eyes" a subtle wink that he was

  • t-tam
    t-tam 5 months ago

    This movie was boring and long.

    • malicious patrick
      malicious patrick 4 months ago

      t-tam so what? Maybe you're movie taste is transformers TLK .

  • SPARK
    SPARK 5 months ago

    Here i thought replicants were robots like the terminator lol

  • Hong Long Vo
    Hong Long Vo 5 months ago +1

    This masterpiece has lower rating than shit like avenger AoU , fuck this review

  • Raydeus
    Raydeus 5 months ago +1

    TL:DR Just buy the movie in 4K, it looks amazing and it's the proper sequel Blade Runner deserved.
    And now the rambling:
    I loved all the characters in this movie, and I was very gladly surprised by Leto's portrayal of Wallace. Sure, Wallace may have a god complex but he single handedly SAVED THE ENTIRE WORLD from starvation and made space colonization viable. In other words think anything Elon Musk has accomplished right now, multiply it 500 times, and tell me if his god complex is not deserved.
    And while Wallace may appear to be a villain to weaker people the reality is all he wants to do is help humanity colonize the stars. He says it so repeatedly but everyone is too absorbed in their own personal bullshit to even think for a moment about the much bigger picture he is seeing, so he has to do what needs to be done to save people from themselves. There's also an extra short prequel scene on the BD extras (along with an anime short about the Blackout and a short Sapper Morton story) that shows this and how he got the Replicant prohibition revoked so his Nexus 9 could be produced. Such a great character short.
    Anyway my comment was supposed to be about the movie but ended up being a Leto praise (another thing that would vindicate him would be if his Joker from Suicide Squad is actually a crazed Jason Todd. Which would make his Joker actually kind of amazing in that context) but all the characters are really good in this movie.
    Besides Wallace my favorite parts were the interactions between K and Joi as it shows how a man can create a happy relationship with an AI companion. Sure the movie makes it so you don't forget she is a product, but if you look around you'll notice K's relationship with *his* Joi was far more real than most relationships between men and women. And if you don't believe me just take a visit to your local family court, that should show you how real a woman's love is.
    His Joi loved him as she was programmed to, but the point of the personal AI companion is that she adapts and imprints onto her user and becomes what he the user needs, so no two Joi develop the same way. And in the end it doesn't matter if her character was programmed, since we humans are also programmed with instincts to do certain things. What matters is that Joi's actions showed the feelings she had for him, which is more than you can ask from a "real" woman these days.
    I could write a lot more about many other aspects of the movie but it would become a book. Which is why this movie and the original are so good since they make you really think about all these things you normally wouldn't consider. Time to watch the movie yet again.

  • zixiy12 gamer
    zixiy12 gamer 5 months ago

    definitely the most beautiful looking movie i seen in past couple of years

  • Movie Nerds
    Movie Nerds 5 months ago

    Hello man ,
    Can you make reviews of movies like
    Mulholland Drive (2001)
    Sing Street (2016)
    Citizen Kane (1941)
    Rosemary's Baby (1968)
    2001 A Space Odyssey (1968)
    Watchmen (2009)
    Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)
    One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest (1975)
    Psycho (1960)
    Please if you have time then check some of them out as most of this must be seen by you. But try to review some of this awesome movies please.

  • rampage2587
    rampage2587 5 months ago

    It was great. If only the director of the new starwars had treated it like this guy treated the new blade runner. Yknow make choices that are best for the movie and world that's been established while still moving it forward not choices that completely shit on all previously established lore and move it kinda forward but not really. One guy was selfless and devoted to the story the other was devoted to himself and making his "mark".

  • Amy
    Amy 5 months ago

    I actually haven't watched the original Blade Runner movie, but I was mildly entertained by this newer version. Obviously Ryan and Harrison did a great job with their roles, but for me personally, it was hard to take in everything that was happening. Some of what was going on in the main plot went over my head, so I wasn't able to fully understand it. However, I did enjoy the subplot with K and Joi's characters.

  • Sam Zheng
    Sam Zheng 5 months ago

    Joi was pretty

  • Stacian Gray
    Stacian Gray 5 months ago

    DO A REVIEW OF THE BLADE TRILOGY!!!

  • Aaron Chayo
    Aaron Chayo 5 months ago

    Didn't see the 1st Blade Runner. Went immediately into 2049 with almost zero knowledge about it. Loved everything about it. Not just as a SciFi fan but also as a Narrative and the amount of just pure excellence in this movie. It blew me away. Loved it and cant wait to see the first Blade Runner when I get a chance. I hope theirs another sequel but I kinda don't want it because 2049 was too amazing.

  • Dianne B. Dee
    Dianne B. Dee 5 months ago

    Basically this film was a detective story. I loved this film as much as I did the first film. Thanks for a great review Jeremy.

  • Kingstad
    Kingstad 5 months ago

    both movies are slow but I enjoyed this one more than the previous, pretty diffeerent and cool movie but dystopian future was never my tune

  • MiskoKvo
    MiskoKvo 5 months ago

    fucking love the film

  • MCLegoboy
    MCLegoboy 5 months ago

    Okay, so only now have I seen the movie four months later, and I have to say, it rocked. As for the first Blade Runner movie, I went to the library and watched both the Theatrical Cut and the Final Cut. The Final Cut was better because it cut out that narration, had some enhanced visuals, and it cut out that happily ever after ending, but I still never had a sense that Harrison Ford was or was not a Replicant. It never occurred to me, and it still doesn't even with 2049, it's just not where my thought process goes I guess. And I actually liked 2049 more than the first Blade Runner and it's because it never got super weird. The Noir stuff is great, the music is awesome, the world looks fantastic, but then all the howling and gymnastics and things that are probably more symbolic of something I was not thinking about come off as really weird, but in 2049, they made something I enjoyed from start to finish. However, I would never ask someone to watch this movie without having seen the first movie because it did what a sequel should do, which is to expand on story and grow the world that was established before and it worked out in such a way that I found this sequel to be better than the original when that is usually never the case. I also believe in context so even if you didn't need to, I'd still say watch the first one because it isn't a slog. That's why I don't watch reboots or sequels without having seen the original because I'd like to know why they are being done. I saw previews for this movie and I was like, "Cool, I'm never going to watch it since I've never seen the original," and then one day I decided I might as well find a way to watch Blade Runner because 2049 did look really interesting. Maybe I didn't like the original as much as a lot of other people because it was overhyped for me despite me going in without any knowledge or built up excitement, or it was because I was just not at that cerebral level. 2049 didn't feel like I needed to think as much and analyze my morals or whatever sci-fi is supposed to do, but it also wasn't just action thriller. So to sum things up, I like the movie.

  • Pinkiepool GamerBrony27

    I'd just gotten the Blu-Ray to Blade Runner 2049 and it is Awesome

  • Joseph Archer
    Joseph Archer 5 months ago

    Both Blade Runners were the same to me. Beautiful to look at but long & boring.

  • alan cuenca
    alan cuenca 5 months ago

    Imagine this movie made as a sequel similar to how the star wars sequels are made. "You're Han Solo!" :D ::cringe::

  • samuel villarreal
    samuel villarreal 5 months ago

    I didn't enjoy 2049 the first time I watched, second time I did

  • Fatalshock v7
    Fatalshock v7 5 months ago

    Counting down the days until the 4K Blu Ray 😍

  • Iwillone
    Iwillone 5 months ago

    Finally watched Blade Runner and saw 2049 right after. Wow, am I late for this greatness (- ^ )

  • Browder Brothers
    Browder Brothers 5 months ago +1

    Literaly the most overrated movie ever it sucked balls but I guess im the only one in the world who thought that

  • rroollaaff
    rroollaaff 5 months ago

    I wasn't a massive fan of the original blade runner, but I loved this one. Maybe I just need to rewatch it.

  • Gendry batg
    Gendry batg 5 months ago

    this film is not bad, but definitely not a "masterpiece". The visuals and cinematography are amazing, but the pacing of the story is a bit too slow. I feel like the movie could have ended 10mins earlier.

  • Enrique Garcia
    Enrique Garcia 5 months ago

    If I am to be quite honest, the only ways that this film would influence sci-fi is having great visuals, scored soundtrack, great actors and meaning/relevant themes. Other than that, it is a great detective story about quality of life, existentialism and miracle.

  • Lance Lust
    Lance Lust 5 months ago

    I've been known to say "I hate" the original Blade Runner. The story telling was terribly flawed by a mediocre director (I do not like Ridley Scott). Continuity is thrown aside for "cool shots" and funny moments. By telling a character who already knows the business of blade running, they're allowing the audience into the exposition. It was lazy. The visuals were all there was to the movie. Style, in my honest observation, over substance. You don't have to agree with me, because this is my opinion, so blast me if you wish to. I can take it.
    As for Blade Runner 2049. Spoilers:
    There was the last scene when Joe tells Deckard to visit his daughter...? What happened to security? Since the main antagonists are out of the picture, there's suddenly no officials to protect assets?
    As for whether or not I like this movie or not? I do. I found it fundamentally more enjoyable. The story was very engaging. I caught on quickly to the plot, though I was a bit off regarding who the offspring was. I'm not fully aware as to the director of this movie, but this person is far and away a much better director than the original's. I find so many aspects of most of Scott's movies rub me the wrong way.
    So, Jeremy Jahns, here you have the anomaly. I really liked this sequel. Thank goodness Ridley wasn't in the filmmaker's chair!
    Here's my face, go on and punch it! :) :-) :) :-)

  • HerrenGamingNews
    HerrenGamingNews 5 months ago

    It's a hard movie to fallow I've had to watch this movie over and over because i kept falling asleep.
    Never seen the fjrst blade runner

  • humanhornet
    humanhornet 5 months ago

    Watched it, found it super boring, gonna sell the blu ray cause i'll never watch it again.

  • Vintage American
    Vintage American 5 months ago

    You called a corporation "Whose". That is a no-no. Maybe "Which" but never, never, NEVER "whose." Study English and the use of words so you don't sound stupid.

  • s rico
    s rico 5 months ago

    Why does no one speak of the lack of Vangelis's score from the original Bladerunner and how much thisvmovie suffers from lack there of!!!!!!!!!!!!??????????????????