The Predator (2018) Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 669

  • Thomas Hill
    Thomas Hill 3 days ago +1

    Hi yes I am late to the review, I wish I could say it was ok But was I did like was that it had a few good predator shots and that was it. WHY CAN'T writers make a good true sequel. I see it this way, you go back to the beginning and start at the end of the first. (camera on Dutch in the helicopter leaving the area, CAMERA swings to the far south side of the burning rebel camp that Dutch and his team blow to hell, to see a Russian Special Forces Team exiting the jungle near the camp. They are sent to find the missing Russian officers, as they are searching the camp a solder finds a survivor that tells them of a American team that left around four hours ago to the north. The Commander decides to try and capture the Americans, a scout locates a trail leading into the jungle. Shortly after following the trail they come onto a area flattened by weapons fire and find a bloody poncho in the grass. One of the solders sees a SKINNED BODY hanging from a tree, one of Dutch's men. as they continue the search one of the team is killed and taken. ( NOW THE HUNT IS ON ) THE PREDATOR is on of a three predator hunting party, Dutch killed one NOW TWO REMAIN on the hunt. We the fans could see more intense hunting of the team and see weapons from other movies with small changes to the mask and armor of the predators to give them a unique look. Predator is a HORROR / ACTION movie that was SIMPLE the story straight to the point. It don't need SPACE DOGS or upgrade predators and NO CHILDREN. The first was the best and will stay the best, but a well directed and written sequel would revive the franchise. And if you need a great death match fight have the two predators fight for the right to claim the ULTIMATE HUNTER statues But I think all the Russian should be killed so to show why THE PREDATOR is the ultimate hunter, lets face it it is a specialist in hunting dangerous prey ALIENS.

  • Gaurav Gyawali
    Gaurav Gyawali 6 days ago

    Normal predator has been killed by ultimate predator

  • kenneth ruffin
    kenneth ruffin 14 days ago

    IT REALLY SUCKED

  • Sjaakadelic
    Sjaakadelic 15 days ago

    Keegan Michael Key was horribly miscast, imo.

  • Sjaakadelic
    Sjaakadelic 15 days ago

    The Predator: the quest for autism

  • DanThaWolf
    DanThaWolf 18 days ago

    Agreed i saw it yesterday here in NZ Venom today was better than Predator Character wise and Story Predator was a decent action flick but it wasnt as good Venom

  • W Poll
    W Poll 19 days ago

    I imagined it as a Monster squad sequel and really enjoyed it.

  • Number 47
    Number 47 20 days ago +1

    Another dissapointment, i guess they will never be able to make a good predator.

  • Shemarlos Scott
    Shemarlos Scott 21 day ago +1

    Choose your pick for the predator folks
    Shemarlos scott ?
    Tj storm ?
    Lateef crowder ?

  • Shemarlos Scott
    Shemarlos Scott 21 day ago +1

    The predator is better than alien

  • Mike Wiederhold
    Mike Wiederhold 21 day ago

    Olivia Munn was good in this movie? lmao her performance was flat ...and none of the jokes landed a bunch of yo mama jokes we all heard before and jokes that were way outta place for the scene

  • Stephen Stone
    Stephen Stone 22 days ago

    The movie was great if u are drunk.

  • ray vang
    ray vang 26 days ago

    Great movie nice and funny, fucken trying to please the fans fans, all about getting everyone to like the movie

    • Mike Wiederhold
      Mike Wiederhold 21 day ago

      nice and funny? Wait don't tell me you must've loved battleship and wild wild west/John Carter/suicide squad ...hell bet you even loved that Netflix deathnote movie

  • Lejay James
    Lejay James 27 days ago

    This movie was a disgrace to the franchise

  • Xexul 22
    Xexul 22 27 days ago +1

    The whole harvesting dna to put in themselves was garbage it literally ruined predator to me

  • nolove 1970
    nolove 1970 27 days ago

    One word..... garbage

  • Diogo Pereira
    Diogo Pereira 28 days ago

    Welcome to John Campea movie reciews "No fun allowed zone" if "fun happens with an obvious expectation subversion" then its a "vomitous waste"... Damn those prety damn harsh words for a movie about aliens hunting for humans with an obvious and fow 80s style throwback. It was a movie about that right? Or were you people expecting "citizen kane" but with aliens?

    • Tenryuunaito
      Tenryuunaito 22 days ago

      +Diogo Pereira It ain't criticism just for the hell of it. The plot points in the movie felt un-Predatory.

    • Diogo Pereira
      Diogo Pereira 22 days ago

      "complicated for a predator movie"!? Now thats criticizing just for the sake of criticizing... look man, it seemed prety much in line with all the other movies, (mindless fun and just deep enough to question the characters motives), also including the AVP saga thing and the comic books wich were prety much the same level of "complicated".

    • Tenryuunaito
      Tenryuunaito 22 days ago

      +Diogo Pereira It's complicated for a PREDATOR MOVIE, which feels out of place in such a series.

    • Diogo Pereira
      Diogo Pereira 22 days ago

      +Tenryuunaito You consider this movie's story complicated? You are sure of that? Cause I bet you can write all the details of that story in a paragraph or two without missing anything...

    • Tenryuunaito
      Tenryuunaito 22 days ago

      +Diogo Pereira I wouldn't say the movie didn't take it very seriously. Otherwise, the story wouldn't be so needlessly complicated for a Predator movie.

  • kSwissh007
    kSwissh007 29 days ago

    predators vs. expendables movie wud b amazing!!!!!! final fight predator vs. arnold !!!!

  • Bdelliumharts
    Bdelliumharts 29 days ago

    Right on, I was really disappointed on the movie. The last half hour was a pain to bear through

  • Doug Bergman
    Doug Bergman Month ago

    Movie looked amazing, but wow what a dumb movie!

  • rollin blardz
    rollin blardz Month ago

    seeing how this latest installment to the predator franchise disappointed a lot of expectations makes u wanna wish that director Shane black was killed for real by the predator in the 1987 classic! just because he directed iron man 3 doesn't mean he had to make the epilogue look like iron man 3

  • bullzeye1423
    bullzeye1423 Month ago

    This movie was such a disappointment. This was Requiem all over again. We had moved on. The pacing was horrible. Some stuff was cool, but a lot of times came off silly.

  • albert l
    albert l Month ago

    just saw it... dude did all the actors just say fuck it.. lets make a cheesy bad movie lol

  • Alejandro Cisneros
    Alejandro Cisneros Month ago

    The movie was good the gore and the comedy. The issue is that Arnold didn't come back, and It's trying to run for a sequel Instead of being subtle and nailing this movie! The movie was good! This isn't a art house or a Nolan movie.

  • Playne Monty
    Playne Monty Month ago

    Wasn't sure about the biologist being proficient in firearms and jumping from roofs to moving buses. Genuinely thought it was gonna turn out she's an ex soldier or Dutchs' daughter or something ridiculous...then she shot herself in foot... literally. Supposed to be funny I think...it wasn't.

  • Mal van London
    Mal van London Month ago

    For a split second, the prison bus reminded me of John Carpenter's Assault on Precinct 13. Folks, go check that one out - if you haven't yet seen it! Then imagine if THAT was how this movie went down. Would have been awesome!!!

  • Highlander01
    Highlander01 Month ago

    Another throwaway movie that just kicks another consistent franchise to its knees. Awful in every way. This wasn’t a Predator film, it was a glorified action film that was instantly forgettable. An incoherent script, misplaced comedy and a plot that was so capricious that it was impossible to keep up with. Horrendous on every level and a major disappointment for any Predator fan.

  • Ethan Rodriguez
    Ethan Rodriguez Month ago

    Thats what happens when uu hire writers and others because they know people and their rich ..or what evr ..bach.degree... But no talents... I could have made this better... Weak story with a predator character....

  • Cédric Extended Play

    0:25 Gangly as ever 🤣🤣🤣

  • Northern Rider
    Northern Rider Month ago

    I agree, the movie was just awful. How the hell does using the predators dog as a pet sound like a good idea.

  • Castro 333
    Castro 333 Month ago +2

    This is definitely a movie you shouldnt take anyone's word for and go see yourself. I enjoyed the hell outta this movie. "Did it have its flaws? " yes but the good parts kinda outweigh the bad (in my opinion, just wish it had a little more action) im actually starting to feel like some force is behind bashing this movie. Was it as good as I hoped? hell no. But it wasnt a BAD movie.

  • Doomfruit
    Doomfruit Month ago

    My favorite part was a severed arm joke 👍...that’s never good. Certainly made me sick about Shane Black.

  • Princess Buttercup Buttercup

    Are you saying Campeaness or campiness?

  • Eymerich
    Eymerich Month ago

    Olivia munn's character was believable? You must be joking! Let's see: (spoilers)
    - biologist with no military expertise
    - freaking out literally shitting herself in the corner shaking in fear when an unarmed predator is near...
    1 minute later...
    - she became wonder woman!
    - finds a Tranquillizer gun and running after and hunting the same thing that made her shitherself 2 minutes ago the thing that massacred bunch of people in the room and by that time got armed
    and killed a dozen soldiers...
    - yeah totally fu.... believable
    (not even wanna go into act3 where she can handle any rifles like pro soldiers and have a courage with her 50kg body to jump on "superpredators" and apparently either can teleport or she can run as fast as a spaceship can fly..:P

  • Reel Fiends Movie Reviews

    Agree. The movie sucked hard. Classic Pred was the best aspect of it. Just a hot mess.

  • shnizew
    shnizew Month ago

    Great comedy horrible predator film

  • street level arm wrestling

    sorry I loved it so much

  • Milan Daniel
    Milan Daniel Month ago

    Destruction and Disappointment of the Legendary movie. I like to see same quality story like Prometheus

  • Iron Spider
    Iron Spider Month ago

    This movie was perfect. From beginning to the end. And the predator killer suit they introduced at the end? It was epic and amazing. And the CGI was flawless. And the plot made sense to me. And the predator dogs? It was amazing too. Everything about this movie is amazing. Shane Black did amazing directing this

  • gil jackson
    gil jackson Month ago

    A lot Of Cussing!

  • somekindaguy100
    somekindaguy100 Month ago

    Best part of the movie was me getting up and leaving after I finished my snakes .bad bad BAD movie I am sad to say

  • bamm86
    bamm86 Month ago +1

    Everybody PLEASE go see this movie and judge for yourself. Me and my theater and my date had an incredible time watching this.

  • Clinton Kinsey
    Clinton Kinsey Month ago

    I was very disappointed. I didn't know this was supposed to be an action/comedy. Idk ... whatever.

  • thepostfk
    thepostfk Month ago

    This movie will make you appreciate AVP, AVPR, and Predators a whole fuck ton more.

  • Fei Li
    Fei Li Month ago

    John you could not be more wrong about the movie. Your a hack and you get told by the studios which movie to support. I watched this movie and it was easily the 2nd best Predator movie ever, nowhere as great as the original but what could possibly be?

  • Split Screen Gaming League - SSGL's Games and Vlogs

    I guess there's a reason why the Mission Impossible movie series still has it where it counts... and the Predator series doesn't.

  • Paul Dean
    Paul Dean Month ago

    Sorry John, I disagree with you on most of that. Personally, I enjoyed the film. Yes, I know it's not a great movie but I went in there knowing it wasn't going to be great. That's just my opinion

  • Chief Kilos
    Chief Kilos Month ago

    your mouth keeps saying “yes” but your overtly noticeable head nodding “NO” just tells the truth, 23 seconds in. I’m just hoping the movie is actually good cause I’ve already bought the tickets lmao

  • Blue G
    Blue G Month ago

    The Predator: The Spoof

  • Harrison Smith
    Harrison Smith Month ago +1

    I think the main problem was studio interference as per damn usual the same happened to the avp movies and the fact that Paul w.s Anderson directed the first one doesn’t help but John I think THE PREDATOR was better than both those movies I think it was what avp requiem should have been, I rate avp requiem 2/10 and the new predator gets a 8/10

  • Chris Rookie
    Chris Rookie Month ago

    Agreed with everything you said

  • CBDukebs
    CBDukebs Month ago

    The movie was bad .... and they all sucked at acting except the predator! Please this movie was made by amateurs !

  • Jeff W
    Jeff W Month ago

    You didn't mention anything about the reshoots or the fact that the movie seemed stitched together and flowed horribly because of those reshoots.

  • OG Band Mann
    OG Band Mann Month ago

    She single handily ruined a franchise Shane Black was in tears after the release and the studio made it worse with Terrible editing and changing the ending

  • OG Band Mann
    OG Band Mann Month ago

    Olivia munn ruined predator

  • Don Joe
    Don Joe Month ago +1

    Shocked this movie isn't getting all the love it deserves. It's not perfect but a very enjoyable film. How you could give this film comments such as "unwatchable" or a "waste" is quite confusing. Great movie and simply not sure why anyone who likes Predator movies wouldn't like this I smell an agenda against it somehow.

  • Byron Jones
    Byron Jones Month ago

    I only have one thing is anybody going to address that the Predator is supposed to be helping Humanity by giving us a gift but the first thing the Predator does a start off killing anybody?

  • Crazyduck16 gaming
    Crazyduck16 gaming Month ago

    I'm gonna see it next week. I may like it or may not. Im a alien Jurassic Park/world and predator fan boy XD

  • predalien1413
    predalien1413 Month ago

    I do not buy into Oliva Munn's character simply because A she is just a biologist, and B not once was she ever stated to have any firearm or combat training what so ever. So all those scenes with her doing stuff that isn't hard set on science is just BS. Also even her science "facts" are complete BS, its like they had one due skim through some random info and then came to a completely misguided conclusion on how things work.

  • Brandon Bennett
    Brandon Bennett Month ago

    This movie needs to be rewritten and make sure shane black has nothing to do with it. He must have been smoking crack mixed with LSD when he put this garbage. I followed the making and read every review that came out and to actually watch this broke my heart. Like Forrest Gump thats all i got to say about that.

  • Timothy Jason Carr
    Timothy Jason Carr Month ago +1

    Bullshit. It was great. People expected Predator 1.

  • Jmoney J
    Jmoney J Month ago

    Shane Black director of Iron Man 3 was atrocious inconsistent and nonsensical as well but a lot of people gave it a pass even though the plot was prematurely written and convoluted messy dialogue poor cheesy not funny lines melted in but overdone action to desensitized viewers that don't see those details.

  • Sonny Fausel
    Sonny Fausel Month ago

    When they ended up in the loony bus the rest of the movie felt like a chore.

  • riseagainstfb
    riseagainstfb Month ago

    They killed aliens.....why not kill predator..?movies are being made poorly period....don't think there's been 1 good movie this year

  • Philip Morrison
    Philip Morrison Month ago +1

    Absolutely loved the movie and can’t wait for the Blu-ray

  • Tazz Mission
    Tazz Mission Month ago

    shame really i had hopes. i loved predators from 2010 . ill still see it for myself though i mean hey maybe ill like it . everyone likes different things

  • Nick Mediano
    Nick Mediano Month ago

    Shit flick💩, predator dogs 🤣

  • AnbuGreenShinobi
    AnbuGreenShinobi Month ago

    The thumbs up scene ruined it for me

  • Joe DeLo
    Joe DeLo Month ago

    *SPOILER* If the first Predator that crash landed at the beginning of the movie was coming to help humanity then why did he start killing everyone. It didn't really make much sense.

  • beatleblev
    beatleblev Month ago

    The plot kernel of this film is solid. Predators wanting to manipulate their own evolution and a renegade who wants to give earth a chance sounds like a cool story. All the filler plot points are ridiculous: The A-Team loony bus, Demodogs from Stranger Things, and a leftover 2099 War Machine suit not used in IM3? At what range are bullets effective against Predators? At no point in this film was disbelief suspended. It was either an action/comedy that was at times too serious (the kid plot thread), or an uneven discombobulated action flick. The movie that we got would have been better with Aubrey Plaza playing Munn's character and Jason Sudeikis or Chris Pratt as blonde Col. Hannibal Hays. Maybe we could have had both Key and Peele? If you're desperate...and hunted by aliens...and if you can find them...maybe you can hire...sigh.This could have been such a cool flick.

  • Antonio Mendieta
    Antonio Mendieta Month ago

    Movie sales say different

  • Mfashan Mo.fashan
    Mfashan Mo.fashan Month ago

    John 🖕

  • Joshing Around
    Joshing Around Month ago

    Olivia Munn character is totally pointless, a biologist who knows how use all kinds of different weopons.

  • Buddy Bigs
    Buddy Bigs Month ago +1

    I have to disagree with you John. I actually really liked the movie and the one liners were EXACTLY what I was expecting when I found out a 90's action guy was in charge of the it.
    I wasn't a fan of the setup for the end, and I didn't like them pulling a Predators with the original design.

  • George Constanza
    George Constanza Month ago

    Movie is huge pile of shit end od story

  • Edward Branscomb
    Edward Branscomb Month ago

    Chuckles and giggles in a Predator movie??

  • Gabe
    Gabe Month ago

    I feel like your expectations where too high and you didn't like it cuz your a fanboy crybaby. I enjoyed it it was awesome and I think shane black did a awesome job with this movie. Cmon why dont you talk about predators instead now that was a shit movie

  • patrick alexis
    patrick alexis Month ago

    Bahamas 2018 hey John. I subbed, you got talent man.

  • Owen McCafferty
    Owen McCafferty Month ago

    How did Jacob Trembley do?...hope they didn’t make him predator bait !!!!! Poor kid

  • Lee Mckenna
    Lee Mckenna Month ago +1

    I actually liked it

  • Digi-Bits Gaming
    Digi-Bits Gaming Month ago +1

    I still enjoyed it 7/10 for me but it certainly has issues. The movie isn't edited together all that well, I wouldn't land that all on Black though, what with all the script changes, reshoots and last minute test screenings ect this has studio interference written all over it, Fox did an Alien 3 again.
    Left alone Black wouldn't have made something this sloppy, evident by his other well made movies.

  • jason miller
    jason miller Month ago

    You are a clown!!

  • invisibleaznDJ
    invisibleaznDJ Month ago

    i thought there were to many laughs.....

  • Chris Santiago
    Chris Santiago Month ago +1

    Just imagine what Robert Rodriguez’s would of done if he made this movie with how fucking bad ass predators was in 2010 !

    • Chris Santiago
      Chris Santiago Month ago

      I 100 agree it would of been cool to see that but Danny is definitely getting old for that and I think he said he was supposed to make a sequel ? As I heard because I know there still stuck on that predator planet that’s how the movie ended after Royce killed berserker

  • Chris Santiago
    Chris Santiago Month ago

    I saw it last night I just thought the ending was cool honestly they killed the super predator with his big ass wrist blade

  • Unique person
    Unique person Month ago +1

    Holy shit, the predator during the lab scene was awesome

  • ThePulse10
    ThePulse10 Month ago

    Olivia Munn's character was awful as well. The whole movie was just PURE TRASH!!!!!

  • daker dee
    daker dee Month ago +2

    Loved it. The pu_sy jokes were hilarious. The women in the audience were laughing the loudest.

  • gasgasLex
    gasgasLex Month ago

    The new Predator movie is a shambolic cliched, stereotyped pile of excrement . Terrible story, awful dialogue, hackneyed Americanisms that induces vomit in the rest of the Western world.

  • Craig Hicks
    Craig Hicks Month ago

    Shane Black is a terrific director?
    Time to re-evaluate that position.

  • Simone Brunini
    Simone Brunini Month ago +1

    The movie is not that bad, if you like '90s action movie you'll enjoy it a lot. I am not say that it's perfect because it is not, but at the same time is way better than you think after reading the critics reviews. I think we need to remember what "science-fiction action comedy movie" means...if you are looking for essay stuff you may go to see something that is not called "The Predator" :)

  • Sav Harris
    Sav Harris Month ago

    That movie stunk all to be damned..
    What made me most angry was the Predators clear communication with humans.
    It REALLY messed with the intrigue and mystique of the alien species.
    I sucked my teeth ridiculously hard when the Pred used a severed arm to give that thumbs up, and when he made that subtle "drop the gun" gesture.

  • kiaser Sozez
    kiaser Sozez Month ago

    Dude there was NOTHING GOOD about this movie at all .... waste of time and money .. Shame Black should go back to film school !!

  • Andrew Serridge
    Andrew Serridge Month ago

    You may not agree with me, but the ending wound me up, the predator killer!!!! It was a pointless thing. It was like Tony stark said here have a suit that will kill them. It was to much like war machine. They could have ended the movie as the capsule was opening up and leave you guessing what it was or everyone was hoping Arnie would be in it as a cameo which would have been a better ending.

  • Thizlamic
    Thizlamic Month ago

    I walked out on it. Predators with Brodie is better than this movie.

  • G Ang
    G Ang Month ago

    Review was good til OM came on

  • E 100 Batchat
    E 100 Batchat Month ago

    You Direct the Next Movie. and show us what were missing. ok thank you.

  • BATTLEREADY
    BATTLEREADY Month ago

    The dogs made no sense

  • wasabi-in-my-eye
    wasabi-in-my-eye Month ago

    The sequel will have laser zapping predator-dogs. This movie will be remembered forever for all the wrong reasons. If anything it made the awesome original predator even more awesome.

  • BigBamSlamJam
    BigBamSlamJam Month ago

    Ehh Olivia honestly kept pulling me out of the movie...