Annihilation - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 295

  • Gayatri Chitale
    Gayatri Chitale 13 hours ago

    Valkyrie and Jane foster in a strange new alternate universe

  • Timar Ivo Batis
    Timar Ivo Batis Month ago +1

    didnt like it at all

  • Yanderella Sama
    Yanderella Sama Month ago

    I have to disagree with you this time, this is one of the best movie I watched in a long time.

  • Julián
    Julián Month ago +1

    The movie sucks. Too pretentious. Tries to be intellectual and fails miserably. Plotholes, incongruencies, illogical stuff, no internal coherence...

  • deigning
    deigning Month ago

    also lol a "thinkpiece" from the guy who wrote another fuckbot movie where the fuckbot is named a variation of Eve? get your head outta your ass Jeremy or out of his or get him to take his head out of his ass, too many heads in asses going around here

    • deigning
      deigning Month ago

      and watch The Machine. THATS my fuckbot film.

  • deigning
    deigning Month ago

    thats because oscar isaac has chemistry with EVERYBODY. he has chemistry with your red background who he's never even met and isnt even real but he could fuck it if he wanted and it'd want it too

  • swevicki
    swevicki Month ago

    Jeremy is too impatient to appreciate a slowburn and to analyze complex movies like this. I like Jeremy but prefer Chris Stuckmann because he understands and analyzes movies like Jeremy doesn't. I am more like Chris and love analyzing movies which is why I very often agree with him.
    Some people are just too impatient to understand the beauty in a slowburn movie because this movie was brilliant! I wouldn't change a thing, I was constantly mesmerized by this world and how it slowly was annihilating them! 10/10!

  • Jasper Childs
    Jasper Childs Month ago

    The "loose threads" are thinking pieces which can be worked out. I guess you just didn't think enough.

    • Jasper Childs
      Jasper Childs 4 days ago

      +moblue 289 My point is you don't have to be smart to understand it, you just have to think a little.

    • moblue 289
      moblue 289 14 days ago

      yes because you are such a smart person and those really had your brain worked out

  • baddagger10
    baddagger10 Month ago

    I just watched this one. The ending was horrible, it seems like they didn't know what to do at the end. Rest of film was great.

  • Claudia Velasco
    Claudia Velasco 2 months ago

    As an undergrad senior student majoring in biology, I hated this movie because of the lack of creativity in the science and psychology.... however, I'm glad to see some of the young crowd being interested with life :D y'all should study it!

  • NorthWind
    NorthWind 2 months ago

    You talked in circles a lot in this video to pad your critique with different words that all basically meant the same thing which, in the end, was that you were bored. I thought the movie was great. I left it questioning what I saw and googling what other people got from it, and all the different ideas just keep me thinking. I thought the movie looked great, was acted well, and had an ending that I would not have expected at all. I loved it.

  • The Spine Lizard ʕ•́ᴥ•̀ʔ

    The bear scene


    OMG the fucking Bear scene.

  • Scott Smith
    Scott Smith 2 months ago

    Shin Megami Tensei Strange Journey much?

  • Taylor Fields
    Taylor Fields 2 months ago

    Everyone hating on this review: Please remember that different people are allowed to have different opinions, and don't let an opinion keep you from watching other reviews! Jeremy is great, even if you thought differently. All love.

  • elShit07
    elShit07 2 months ago

    This movie is boring.

  • Kurt Rivero
    Kurt Rivero 2 months ago

    This guy is such a clueless fucking idiot.

  • octagonproplex
    octagonproplex 2 months ago

    I don't think the movie even looks good. It looks fake. And biology is boring.

  • Dan M
    Dan M 2 months ago

    Interesting, it was slow in the beginning but I feel like it was rushed after to the point where nothing made sense anymore. It felt like a "if I was high what kind of movie would I make"

  • Humes Knife
    Humes Knife 2 months ago

    Everytime I click on this guy's reviews I regret it. The movie is not "literally perfection" and I'm not here as some defensive fanboy; there is absolutely room for fair criticism, but that accounted for this movie was exceptional and anyone who actually cares about movies and has the attention span and wherewithal to engage with the concepts within it could see that. This guy's analysis and lack of justification for his criticism beyond specious points that could be tossed around meaninglessly at any movie makes me think he's basically just some guy who is more interested in building a youtube channel and "brand" than he is in actual discussion and appreciation for film. (Stuckmann is a much better youtuber film reviewer btw. He actually talks about the movies, not just loosely summarize the main plot then say "and it was great!" or "it was boring!").

  • army of pirates pirates

    it was ok

  • mohit9206
    mohit9206 2 months ago

    Just watched this movie. I'd give it an 8/10. Don't agree with your review but you're still the best youtube movie critic. Keep going man! Now off to watch and read some ending explanations.

  • Ma. Teresa Selena Urmatam

    You need to rewatch this film dude. This review deeply hurt me.

  • juan esmit
    juan esmit 2 months ago

    Hmmm, OK. Movies are art and therefore subjective and all that but there is a limmit to it. Art today is purely made to be "a concept", a spiritual experience beyond the reach of us mortals or something. Scifi movies and blockbusters are made to ENTERTAIN, both things at wich this "conceptual" movie failed. I mean, on one side the picture, the music and the original idea are great, I see the potential there but on the other side the director and writers failed at the realisation part. The movie dragss, fells disconnected and most of what is done there is incoherent, I know boy scouts wich offered better ideas to go and explore that thing in safer ways with better team members, its just ilogic and incoherent. I get the concept and how it was meant to be represented ALL ALONG the film but it failed, they didn't assemble the parts properly, it came out as frankenstain when it was ment to be an ex-machina. Next time they better don't publicite an "artsy conceptual psy" film as SCIFI when it isn't, big mistake. Ad Astra.

  • Jude Potter
    Jude Potter 3 months ago

    damn this movie is more divisive than the Disney Star Wars movies....

  • Aldiggy2000
    Aldiggy2000 3 months ago

    felt like Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey - the movie!

  • awquinn1201
    awquinn1201 3 months ago

    This film was the dumbest smart people they could gather, responding to an event in the slowest fashion possible, gathering almost no scientific evidence, to fight a PS2 render that was stuck making honk honk music noises. Pretty, yeah, but when even the ‘scientists’ seemed bored to even be there it’s pretty darn hard to want to be there as an audience member.

  • Noel Gonzalez
    Noel Gonzalez 3 months ago

    Just saw this movie and yeah.... Wife and I both agree with Jeremy. Oh well, next movie.

  • Phvntom
    Phvntom 3 months ago

    This movie was beyond useless and a waste of time

  • Gabrielle Washington
    Gabrielle Washington 3 months ago

    Watched up to 2:08 😐... moving on

  • Captain Raz
    Captain Raz 3 months ago

    JJ, you really made a bad review here.
    I took your word and left the movie "for later". Finally watched it few days ago, and really regretted not watching it before. The movie is AWESOMETACULAR. The message about self destructive behaviour is actually quite clear. The art, the time, everything, EVERYTHING, is PERFECT.
    Starting to feel other reviewers out there might match my tastes better. Still love your channel though

  • sportsMike87
    sportsMike87 3 months ago

    Watch inception if you want a good mind blow

  • David de Juan Navarro
    David de Juan Navarro 3 months ago

    what?? the movie does not look great, the VFX are actually kind of crappy for the whole first part

  • Malte Schuster
    Malte Schuster 3 months ago +1

    Now, if I feel depressed and feel like life has no meaning, I watch "The Grey", "Wind River", "Saving Private Ryan", "Hell or High Water" or one of the Blade Runner Movies. I love all of them, but whenever I watch them, I feel disturbed afterwards. But I still love doing it! Is that weird? Do I need help, Jeremey? DO I?!

  • 87_Michael
    87_Michael 3 months ago

    FILM WAS ASS TO ME.

  • ElizabethRS
    ElizabethRS 3 months ago

    Having read the book, I can say that the movie was entirely different, but it made me enjoy the movie more. You weren't supposed to be attached to anyone. In the book, not a single character even has a name. You're supposed to be like someone from the outside looking in.

  • JP Alpha
    JP Alpha 3 months ago

    Finally saw this movie
    It tripped me out

  • Kendall Ward
    Kendall Ward 3 months ago

    Sorry, first time I've really disagreed with you. This movie was a brilliant think piece with themes on cancer, self destruction, what is the motive of a antagonist. I liked it more than ex-machina. Still love your reviews though!

  • Wyatt Posten
    Wyatt Posten 3 months ago

    fuck that bear thing! that shit was creepy as fuck

  • mchief100
    mchief100 3 months ago

    This film tripped me out in ways that i havent felt since the end of eva, i keep looking for a film that just trips me out that makes me question things, a film that sets up an awesome premise but only explains just enough so it doesnt feel like theyre throwing a bunch of shit together, the less i know the better and this movie nailed that, the best way i can describe this movie is live action end of eva but that doesnt do either film justice, the whole film had this unsettling vibe coupled with the other worldly designs and awe inspiring colours, cinematic and art direction, i search for hours for entertainment that makes me feel like this and i wish this kind of film would be made more often

  • TM Martin
    TM Martin 3 months ago

    I actually liked this movie and the ending really made you THINK.

  • Wahaj_98
    Wahaj_98 3 months ago

    Arrival 2016 is basically the best example of what this movie COULD have been. But it lost point and couldn't stick the landing. I really thought there was a pay-off but sad.

  • Hugo Stiglitz
    Hugo Stiglitz 3 months ago

    I completely disagree. And I'm not sure if it's to avoid spoilers but I find it strange that you fail to explain why you think this movie didn't "stick its Landing" as you say. Seems more like you just didn't get it.

  • Jesus Roman
    Jesus Roman 3 months ago

    To each their own. I was intrigued the whole movie

  • Yusef Endure
    Yusef Endure 3 months ago

    This was a great film. Is Lena an alien clone or biologically altered human? Is there a difference? Was she lying during the interrogation? In 2001: A Space Odyssey, none of the characters were likable, the movie was slow paced, and it was hard as hell to understand upon the first viewing which is exactly what we have with this film that makes you think! Chill out, watch it again, and keep an open mind!

  • Starcraftgamer97
    Starcraftgamer97 4 months ago

    I just got done watching it and it has me more annoyed than anything. I didn't really see any think pieces or deep questions with this nor do I understand what is supposed to be "intellectual" about it. I had no clue what the movie was and all I got out of it was that some dunderheads imitating smart people walked into a shimmering Lovecraftian evolutionary shitshow and got fucked. Some mentally, most physically. The characters were flatter than cardboard with only Natalie Portman giving and real good analysis or character moments. The plot was basically nonexistant and I could only describe it like I did above. The good part? The bear sequence. You could make a legitimate horror movie with that creature. That was the only tense part. It had something in terms of an idea but like you said Jeremy: it dragged. To me it fell right on its head. I personally just saw everything boiling down to a forced evolutionary process brought on by an exterestial chrome mime.
    I can't say I'm disappointed in it because I had no idea what I was in for. I came away not pleased. If you want to captivate me, it'll take more than pretty effects, pretty flowers, and a pretty eerie skeleton bear (again the best part about the movie). Not my cup of tea personally. Except the bear. Seriously: someone make a movie about the bear. It was da real MVP!

  • JediOptimusPrime1
    JediOptimusPrime1 4 months ago

    This movie was garbage. Just as bad as Arrival. Honestly, how can people call this shit Sci-Fi?

  • Koba Kareli
    Koba Kareli 4 months ago

    Just watched it and yeah, it's a slow burn, it was slowly burning my mind the entire time. I had no idea what the movie was, I was expecting an action movie, I just liked the title and decided to watch it before going to sleep. I really was not in a mood for a psychological horror but by the time I realized what it was I was so gripped I could not turn it off. I'm still in shock and I want to watch it again.

  • Thuthuka Qoza
    Thuthuka Qoza 4 months ago

    I really really liked this movie. A lot . Just the last 15 mins threw me off.

  • abduri X
    abduri X 4 months ago

    dick!

  • First Chapter
    First Chapter 4 months ago

    Just another femtard film. This agenda from Hollywood is actually putting viewers off.

  • gerry o sullivan
    gerry o sullivan 4 months ago

    Yep it’s trying to be a kind of 2001 but fails badly

  • change023
    change023 4 months ago

    I enjoyed the hell out of this movie.

  • dracon raido
    dracon raido 4 months ago

    This movie unsettled me in a way a movie house hasn't done to me in a long time

  • GamE FrEak
    GamE FrEak 4 months ago

    All characters r so unlikable. The character n how it try to show made no sense. Why they act n do the stuff like that. Took me out if the pic so many time.

  • Frederick X.
    Frederick X. 4 months ago

    The fuck was thaaaaaaaaat? Its like they tried to meld 9 different movies together. It didn't work at all, imo. The artistic direction, sure. The acting, fine. Everything else was a cobbled together mess without direction, much like the entire mindset of the characters and their world.

    • gerry o sullivan
      gerry o sullivan 4 months ago +1

      Frederick X. Yea I was thinking Avatar,Alien,2001,Predator,Arrival.Its a film stew that tastes shit

  • theflywho
    theflywho 4 months ago

    "Hybrid" ahah!
    "Terrible beauty " is how I'd describe the environment, which is nature.
    Unreliable narrator, okay, check.
    My major beef is the science. Refracting DNA so it mixes at cellular levels, cool! But in developed organisms, no. Just no. At that speed? No.
    Major major beef? The perpetuation of the equating species with genus. Hybrids are totally made from crossing species. Within a genus. There is even hybridization between genera. Digiplexis, look it up. Within families, sure, between families, eh. But it all happens at baby level.
    Okay, I'm speaking out of my ass, maybe Paul Parent is right and pollinators can taken pollen from a wild orange daylily and make a frilly purple hybrid daylilly turn orange , but my gut says he's full of it.

  • chris berg
    chris berg 4 months ago

    I thought this was gonna be like a thriller/darker version of the Martian

  • Michael Espeland
    Michael Espeland 4 months ago

    I think this film was a bit too smart for you this time

  • G J G
    G J G 4 months ago

    It was complete trash. Wasted my money.

    • G J G
      G J G 4 months ago

      And I rented it on red box.

  • Danny Zuko
    Danny Zuko 4 months ago

    To answer your question at the end. The Prometheus movies! I swear those movies hit my soul and my mind big time!

  • Keith Vulgamott
    Keith Vulgamott 4 months ago

    thumbs down for your leather jacket. try being less of a tool. side note, annihilation sucked big time.

  • Rusty Shackleford
    Rusty Shackleford 5 months ago

    Did anyone forget she slept with a black man from work less than a year after he was gone her husband was gone guess not

  • Marko Mihajlovic
    Marko Mihajlovic 5 months ago

    Awful Stalker ripoff

  • Vivek Acharya
    Vivek Acharya 5 months ago

    I have not seen this movie but I am sure I am going to love it.

  • MyName
    MyName 5 months ago

    sorry but this movie fucking amazing .

  • bscutajar
    bscutajar 5 months ago

    The concept was great, the music was terrific, that one creepy ass scene was well... creepy. However while I'm aware that this is science fiction, it stretches my treshold of what's believable a little too much. Was worth seeing just for that creepy ass scene.

  • George Papageorgiou
    George Papageorgiou 5 months ago

    Everyone loves this movie but Jeremy LOL stick to transformers dude or other stupid popcorn movies

  • Doug A
    Doug A 5 months ago

    Memba taking mushrooms? Oh yeah...I memba

  • Tommy Tomato
    Tommy Tomato 5 months ago

    Totally agree, slow walking, slow story.

  • Benji Benquer
    Benji Benquer 5 months ago

    Your review makes me think of the movie very confusing

  • Ad N
    Ad N 5 months ago

    The movie is fckin awesome up till the bear with woman voice, hell, up to that scene where the alien mirrored lena, but the ending really sucks, like really???? Using a phosphorus grenade? Why didn't the alien die when kane blew himself up or the other grenades didn't blow at that time, what a way to end lol, overall cool movie destroyed by the ending. And talk about the "experts" team melting down in no time, a psychologist that went nuts, paramedic with no chill, geologist that went high, the team is destined to be fcked up. It's clearly there are soldiers left outside the shimmer, why not go with numbers of them, feminist much?? Anyway im hyped till 2/3 of the movie only to be dissapointed.

  • Joseph Vegas
    Joseph Vegas 5 months ago

    If you wanna be intrigued by the deepness of thought... Read the Bible from cover to cover which reveals the mind of your Creator. THE answers are ALL THERE PEOPLE.

  • Monkey King
    Monkey King 5 months ago

    Has anybody here read the book?

  • Luis Cervantes
    Luis Cervantes 5 months ago

    I just saw this movie last night and Mother! Right after i don’t recommend that it mind fucks you hard

  • 1948 19451
    1948 19451 5 months ago

    Gives poorly thought out shit like the TFA an awesometacular.
    Gives a movie that was extremely thought out and done very well a bad score.

  • 5k subs with no vids?
    5k subs with no vids? 5 months ago

    The Movie as a plain plot is good but when you think about all the things in the movie and what they ment it really does blow your mind of how deep this is. Just search up on youtube the ending explanation and click on the most viewed one (not for the ending itself it explains about the whole movie) i was amazed.

  • Vmt16
    Vmt16 5 months ago

    I have to agree with Jeremy on this one, the movie lands right fucking flat on its ass. I have no fucking idea what the premise of the movie is and what they were trying to say. And I'm honestly not going to bother with watching the movie again to find out, I'm just not going to watch it ever again. I really don't think its a good movie. The dialogue sucks, the character arcs are terrible and the ending is just plain shit.

  • Zach Banasiak
    Zach Banasiak 5 months ago

    Just watched it and something that really bothered me that I couldn’t get past was why did they all go in with literally no like hazmat suit protection? Especially after her husband fell ill? But they’re all hazmatted up when she’s back? Like wtf, really ruined the movie for me

  • nate.t17
    nate.t17 5 months ago

    Annihilation is awesome. Must see. It's original and thought provoking

  • JayBourne84
    JayBourne84 5 months ago

    Jeremy, sometimes, in films, the journey is more important than the destination.

  • Ishtiaque Hossain
    Ishtiaque Hossain 5 months ago

    I have just seen it and I give it 10 out of 10, yes I was that much impressed and it was not a drag.

  • Maximiliano Zuñixtli
    Maximiliano Zuñixtli 5 months ago

    You suck! Annihilation was great! 😏

  • Mesophobia
    Mesophobia 5 months ago

    The Matrix.

  • Dawson Productions
    Dawson Productions 5 months ago

    May I speak for all intellectuales everywhere when I say, "poop!"

  • Cesar Ibarra
    Cesar Ibarra 5 months ago

    you suck

  • JC Visuals
    JC Visuals 5 months ago

    I've only watched it 3 times. Loved it my first time and still do. But there something about it that didn't stick the landing. I loved the deep thinking it made the view leave with, tripped me in some parts but in some places it did felt like it dragged. Maybe it was the way it was intercut with the flashbacks

  • Jiomani Talukdar
    Jiomani Talukdar 5 months ago

    This review should be annihilated

  • Stanlos
    Stanlos 5 months ago

    This movie was freaking OUTSTANDING! It really held my interest and I am still pondering some of the questions it poses months later. It made me superuncomfortable and I loved every moment

  • Chuby Barriocanal
    Chuby Barriocanal 5 months ago

    totally agree about the characters. its just as big of a piece of a movie as the cinematography or plot. hate this new thing about giving unreasonable praise to movies without characters. Great, it does stuff incredibly well, but the characterization is just as important. it should be commented on.

  • RJ_AY
    RJ_AY 6 months ago

    This was one scary effing movie

  • LadyDeVonne33
    LadyDeVonne33 6 months ago

    The Mother

  • bdusa
    bdusa 6 months ago

    The all female group nonsense, boring action scenes, the vision of alienated world as the 50s vietnam jungle. This movie is an expensive popcorn tv movie.

  • Champagne Molly
    Champagne Molly 6 months ago +1

    Did anyone else think there was something between, Lena & Cass? For some reason I felt like there was something between the two.... but maybe that's just me.

  • Crystalian 9000
    Crystalian 9000 6 months ago

    *thought it was an adventure movie*
    might accedentaly spoil something here.



    I was just watching this and I stopped when the jaw of the black woman was ripped off (I regret watching this, it's been a long time sense I was actually scared)

  • Specter
    Specter 6 months ago +1

    The movie was aimless dog shit 💩

  • Brenda V.
    Brenda V. 6 months ago

    i loved the pace, thats what i expect from most thrillers, i loved everything up until the ending. it was bad :(

  • Eric Stainforth
    Eric Stainforth 6 months ago

    Sounds like a similar final product to "Prometheus". Beautiful. Big questions with no answers. Indulgent. But, I did like Prometheus.

  • JP Alpha
    JP Alpha 6 months ago

    The bear scene

  • idontcare7t6
    idontcare7t6 6 months ago

    And ofcourse they cancel my fav serie marco polo. Grrrrr

  • idontcare7t6
    idontcare7t6 6 months ago

    No disrespect but this movie is the reason why i stop netflix.