Annihilation - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 171

  • Kool Keith Productions

    *7.5/10*
    All the sci-fi stuff was really great, but the side-plot about her being a cheater was just AWFUL to sit through. Every time they would cut back to her and that professor knockin' boots, I would be like "GET BACK TO THE DAMN SHIMMER!!!" This movie could have been so great if they cut all that stuff out -_-

  • Nick Hadlick
    Nick Hadlick Day ago +1

    😲The final act aka "The Lighthouse" was magnificent, but the rest of the entire movie wasn't engaging and rational, especially considering it's mind blowing concept and potential. What a great idea that was poorly executed. I was CONSTANTLY screaming "WHY?!?!" because these characters are so oblivious and absent to the unknown severity and magnitude of their surroundings and expedition. The movie portrayed terror in certain situations, but the characters disregarded those moments as one-offs. It's as if they only had to feel that emotion at that time as opposed to constantly, especially considering that they know they are in a place that is infinitely precarious, potentially deadly, and literally NOBODY has ever returned from.......so.......WTF!?!?😤💯🍻

  • Mike Molcule
    Mike Molcule 4 days ago

    Mew

  • Mikhail Ivanov
    Mikhail Ivanov 5 days ago

    Stuckman gave this movie an A

  • Dustin Ortiz
    Dustin Ortiz 7 days ago

    I thought this movie was stupid but it did look good

  • Jessie-Maruuka Liktria

    i read the book. 95% of the movie didn't happen in the book and likewise. though in the movie's defense, the plotholes and cliffhangers are because this is 1/3 in a trilogy

  • Maximiliano Ríos Vera

    HEY DIPSHIT, YOUR CHANNEL SUCKS DICK AND YOU OFFER NO ARGUMENTS WHATSOEVER

  • matthew anderson
    matthew anderson 10 days ago

    Wondering why Jeremy doesn't do den of thieves

  • Mario Arias
    Mario Arias 10 days ago

    Every once in a while Jeremy misses a review, this is one of the cases, Annihilation is a fucking amazing movie. It's brilliant, it's sublime, the performances are incredible, the science is on point, the cinematography was beautiful as well as the music. I think this movie is amazing and definitely at least a Blu Ray if not Awesometacular

  • Jadra Sibenik
    Jadra Sibenik 10 days ago

    Really? 15$ for a ticket?

  • David Wrongway
    David Wrongway 10 days ago

    I Guess you didn't even understand
    what the movie was trying to say.

  • cruzgallardo99
    cruzgallardo99 11 days ago

    Chris Stuckman is far better than you.

  • Anime Play
    Anime Play 12 days ago

    what dreams my come ....does it for me

  • callahaine100
    callahaine100 15 days ago

    Maybe it's Garland style, like Denis Villeneuve. Ex Machina was very slow too, but very good nonetheless

  • starwarsfanboy101
    starwarsfanboy101 16 days ago

    I felt it was quite pretentious really . I think I agree with Jeremy. Loved ex machina, But this felt overly complicated for the sake of being "deep". I thought it was an interesting and well directed film though and I'm glad its been made. Definitely a film that starts conversations.

  • Vercilla Salvia
    Vercilla Salvia 16 days ago

    You should review korean movies and tv shows please watch Goblin!!!

  • Bobby C
    Bobby C 17 days ago

    This movie is not an intellectual movie lmao. You become smart by questioning everything and learning the truth. Not by watching a movie lmao. This just shows how dumb these people are who actually enjoyed this movie.

  • Bobby C
    Bobby C 17 days ago

    A really shitty movie. Don't watch. It does not have a plot. However, if you like special effects and not really think when you watch movies. This is for you.

  • whosdad
    whosdad 17 days ago

    my favorate thinking would be Prometheus

  • Gangi Films
    Gangi Films 18 days ago

    Donnie Darko is the original mind fuck film.

  • shashank sagar
    shashank sagar 18 days ago

    stick to superhero movies... this is above you

  • Assh GT
    Assh GT 18 days ago

    l love this movie. it' s so original.

  • freeman239
    freeman239 18 days ago

    This movie had promise, girl power narrative and incompetence of the characters ruined it.

  • Gabriel Arredondo
    Gabriel Arredondo 19 days ago

    I'm surprised Jeremy didn't make a joke about the fact that Jennifer Jason Leigh's character's name is Dr. Ventress.

  • Gobesh Arumugam
    Gobesh Arumugam 19 days ago

    Arrival - 2016

  • G G
    G G 19 days ago

    Annihilation is the best film of the year so far. I loved it

  • Maruchan Chiken
    Maruchan Chiken 19 days ago

    It’s a review not a rant tone it down

  • Luke Ormsby
    Luke Ormsby 20 days ago

    I completely agree with your thoughts. I think it felt like a rip off of so many sci fi films I love but shoved together into a thematically incoherent story, where it thinks it's being deep and philosophical but instead incredibly predictable and unsatisfying.

  • JP Alpha
    JP Alpha 20 days ago

    Bear scene anyone?

  • Connor McCartney
    Connor McCartney 21 day ago

    Don't think he likes things that are slow or artsy.

  • Jabba's Palace
    Jabba's Palace 21 day ago

    2001

  • Air Bear
    Air Bear 21 day ago

    Yeah, you can just say it's garbage, Jeremy, haha. Visuals are no longer enough reason to watch a movie. Almost any highly produced film will look good these days... I literally fell out of my chair in boredom and found myself reaching for a drink after 30 minutes... alas, there was only one beer left in the fridge... I needed whisky. Like you said though, I kept hoping for a payoff, but just got a waste of time. Yeesh! Let's hope they don't try to make the other two books into more art-fluffed dog crap with a "strong female cast", haha :( As an artist, animator, and film-lover, I think this movie makes the whole industry look bad - overreaching, shallow, self-inflated, insular, and meaningless. [facepalm]

  • Kin Caid
    Kin Caid 22 days ago

    It is a good thing I watched the movie before I saw this review. The movie was great. Come to think of it I usually watch Jeremy review after watching a movie. He always ruins it even if he gives it a good rating. He messes with my expectations.

  • John Stanley
    John Stanley 22 days ago

    Helplessly hoping you give it a good review. See what I did there? Eh?

  • MrMystery99
    MrMystery99 22 days ago +1

    You found the ending boring but were you bored throughout the whole film? Can’t lie I hate it when reviewers start with “It looked great” as their opening positive. It’s a 2018 studio film, kinda unoriginal. You say there are loads of loose threads but don’t expand on what they are and just say that the director failed. Indulgent isn’t really the word to describe the film at all, can’t respect this review tbh.

  • David Williams
    David Williams 24 days ago

    Jeremy's one of those guys I can absolutely disagree with and still like the video. I loved this movie. I also get where he's coming from. From my P.O.V, I was entertained because it got me thinking, horrified by it when I thought about it too much, and I have every intention of seeing it again in theaters. It's one of my favorites so far this year. I will agree with Jeremy on this, though, that I fell in love with the concept more than I did with the characters and the story. I wish I'd loved them both equally.

  • Sukhbir Sekhon
    Sukhbir Sekhon 24 days ago

    I think 'indulgent ' is the key word here for Jahns. I wish I had a large sock of horse manure.
    Geddit? Was this intentional reference to a previous film?

  • EconnPlays
    EconnPlays 24 days ago

    That bear thing scared the life out of me lol

  • Malley Able
    Malley Able 25 days ago

    Favorite Cerebral movie? Super Easy and one that should be the standard because it was done to perfection.....Jacobs Ladder.

  • nosuchthing8
    nosuchthing8 25 days ago

    I'm posting this because critics are ignoring the facts. The movie seemed light because it was ultimately based on a lovecraft story, color out of space.

  • Chirag D G
    Chirag D G 25 days ago

    It was a great out of the box movie. But did not reach Ex machina level.

  • Souciance Eqdam Rashti

    Dude, probably the worst review of yours I have seen so far. In anything, this will be one of the best films of the year!

  • Gustav Bahler
    Gustav Bahler 25 days ago

    Too bad LSD isn’t legal

  • Jimbo
    Jimbo 26 days ago +1

    Couldn't agree more on this one. I usually love "deep concept movies" but this one just felt so hollow to me. It was completely void of any actual substance.

  • Oof Oof
    Oof Oof 26 days ago

    A Ghost Story. Please review it Jeremy

  • unique mahin
    unique mahin 27 days ago

    i loved the movie............ i dont know why u didnt like it

  • Dominic Paulazzo
    Dominic Paulazzo 27 days ago

    This movie is trash. Only got good reviews because it’s a bunch of lesbians savings the world.

  • cill521
    cill521 27 days ago

    To bad it didn't work for you. There is a brilliant film in there

  • DuhBeers Z
    DuhBeers Z 27 days ago

    Why wouldn’t they wear hazmat suits🤔🤔

  • Kool_Your_Aid_Man
    Kool_Your_Aid_Man 27 days ago

    Surprised he didn't talk about the bear!

  • Blue Collar Men Productions

    I think the review was spot on.

  • Blue Collar Men Productions

    He's right I've never been high but the last 10 minutes of the movie I bet anyone who was high would loveeee

  • Kyle Rudman
    Kyle Rudman 28 days ago

    Wow I really don’t agree with what you said, this movie was fantastic and totally achieved what it was going for and what the construct of “evil” is. I usually agree with you but damn I’m happy I went and saw this.

  • Ignacio Andrés Guajardo Perales

    There´s a "shimmer". People goes in, but no one gets out and we need to know whats going on!. Lets assemble a team we put some kind of rope around their waists and we "retrieve" them a few hours in.
    *spoilers*
    Why did they loose their memory only in one spot and one place?

  • babak plus
    babak plus 28 days ago

    A very fascinating idea totally fucked by story telling and film making. I didn’t like it.

  • Dildi Pinkoos
    Dildi Pinkoos 29 days ago

    manbearpig confirmed. al gore was right all along

  • Jounzey
    Jounzey 29 days ago

    The bear had me freaked...

  • Juanito Meneses
    Juanito Meneses 29 days ago +1

    Arrival is far better than this "meh" movie.

  • Ardashes Najarian
    Ardashes Najarian 29 days ago

    I agree the film is a bit indulgent, but I loved every moment, and it takes a lot to make me this unsettled in a film

  • Zak Tawes
    Zak Tawes 29 days ago

    I completely disagree. I loved this one. I think it stuck the landing and the pace was perfect. I usually like hard sci-fi, but sometimes it's nice when a science fiction movie or book leaves the majority unexplained. Plus I'm glad they snuck a Tool video in at the end. That said, I still enjoyed your review.

  • gl3nnium
    gl3nnium Month ago

    Weird. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. I guess the very idea of a film review is also redundant because everyone takes something different from an experience and everyone's opinion is valid. This is actually the first time ever I've watched a review after iv'e seen a movie and felt that someone is so misguided that their opinion actually becomes invalid. It's as if this person watched the movie through some bizarre prism that prevents him from seeing what is plainly obvious to virtually all others. Thanks for submitting your opinion and all but I don't think ill be putting much stock in any future reviews you do.

  • ElbowJonesEvents
    ElbowJonesEvents Month ago

    Wag the Dog is my goto "thinky" movie...

  • Youn Kim
    Youn Kim Month ago

    how is this guy commanding 1.4M subs? his reviews are so juvenile.

  • saxbend
    saxbend Month ago

    Maybe I'd have enjoyed this more if they'd released it in the cinema. At home on Netflix its strength, the visuals, don't hit as hard.

  • Jillwiches
    Jillwiches Month ago

    This movie sucked!

  • k1dicarus
    k1dicarus Month ago

    I heart Hackabees is one of my deep think movies. Or was, haven't seen it in a while.

  • Rodrigo Forense
    Rodrigo Forense Month ago

    agree 100%

  • Roberts Matisons
    Roberts Matisons Month ago

    I appreciate your opinion on the movie, but I just wanted to add this: Are the plot holes really plot holes? Or maybe there's something more to them...? I certainly believe that the plot holes you are referring to are meant to be explored.

  • tacsmoker
    tacsmoker Month ago

    i say the movie was great..
    started slow then fuck me, trippy, gory, weird, thoughtful, sexy!
    8.5/10
    edit... light a bong up at the start!

  • BombGaming21
    BombGaming21 Month ago

    The movie that makes me question life itself is the EMOJI MOVIE ✋😕

  • Tk-5748
    Tk-5748 Month ago

    Bear

  • szerkezet
    szerkezet Month ago

    Hi! The problem with deep-tought movies that you never know, if you got the right understanding of "what was the poin". Actually this could be also the good side: you don't have to be correct about the intentions of the director. You can enjoy the movie in your own way, finding your own message (loquence), and the opinion of other doesn't matter. The problem side arises if you're doing a review, and publicize your lack of understanding as a lack of meaning. Fortunatelly Jeremy leaves the possibility open for understanding this movie sometime later.... but why then the labeling?

  • Abdulla Alsheraifi
    Abdulla Alsheraifi Month ago

    It was really exhausting watching this movie

  • Nitzan Kimel
    Nitzan Kimel Month ago

    How about a spoilers talk?

  • XON3D6IXXGODD
    XON3D6IXXGODD Month ago

    Cliche characters which sucked

  • javier migoya
    javier migoya Month ago

    spoiler alert: when the lead character comes in direct contact with it's mimic, there is a transfer of conscience between them hence that is why while it's burning it touches her dead husband, the mimic is still her in a way but when she hugs her mimic husband the eyes light up to let you know it wasn't her, to me it was clear as day, the mimic husband's sickness stops because she is now the shimmer so where ever she goes species of the shimmer can exist healthy, Annihilation 2 here's a plot line, who knows how much of her radious affects the DNA of sorrounding species since they will constantly mix and re-evolve into a different variation of what they used to be, since she is constantly moving then the radius is constantly expanding from point zero, which was the edge of the previous shimmer, The research facility

  • John Seed
    John Seed Month ago

    Padme and poe dameron ohhh they must cracked a star wars joke on set

  • Ennoea
    Ennoea Month ago

    Maybe just stick to marvel bro

  • lolsanvvich cnobber

    everyone's entitled to their opinions and everyone's entitled to whether disagree or agree with other opinions. Coming from a reviewer that gave the third transformers film a high rating I choose to not follow your channel. Keep up with what you do and to your supporters that like your content.

  • Al Cole Hall
    Al Cole Hall Month ago

    I don't know how to feel about this movie. I kind of feel like it was a waste of time but the story was ok and it looked good but the end let me down.

  • dudeyy399
    dudeyy399 Month ago

    movie sucked. glad it bombed. its a rip off of Thing

  • Jesse Huff
    Jesse Huff Month ago

    I couldn't disagree more but ya know to each their own.

  • De Nile
    De Nile Month ago +2

    I think it was pretentious and a waste of time. I'm glad for the people who liked it, yay, but it was literally 0/10 for me, not even Portman could save it. F o r m e, unless I clarify that a gazillion times, people whine about my opinion. I thought it would be at least interesting.

  • Random Kryptonian
    Random Kryptonian Month ago

    Enemy

  • lourens vorster
    lourens vorster Month ago +1

    Your an idiot

  • Lennart Weber
    Lennart Weber Month ago

    Danny Bailey
    I agree to you.
    If u want to make viewers think about something, you should let them know that.
    This movie scratched some interesting ideas, but adressed none of them directly.
    I thinn ut was overall garbage.
    You cant trap the brain of someone who is dying in a bear. That biological impossible.
    Overall it was mostly nonsense, kon stop plotholes, dull characters.
    I guess people like natalie portman and good visuals and the film delivered. But for all the rest 'deep thinking stuff' you need to be either high, or very overinterpretative.
    If the lovie wants ro tell sonething, it better should.
    When i was younger i thought for years that Tron Legacy was the best movie ever.
    I watched it like 23 times and then finally i realized, that the whole plot was garbage and i lived a lie for all these years.
    Turns out i still like the movie, but not because the movie itself is good, but because of the over the top visuals and best soundtracks i heard in movies so far.
    I came to the conclusion that people might dont like the movie because of the story, and after i accepted that i could see it as a bad movie with an awesome scenery and top notch sound.
    I believe it is the same here.
    The story is redundant, but the visuals and the overall concept of the film is what makes it so good.

  • Mishimized
    Mishimized Month ago

    Shut the Fuck Up Jeremy. This is the first movie review in 8 years I don't agree with you.

  • Ryan Vetter
    Ryan Vetter Month ago

    The ending was fucking silly. Its a great lead up, but the mimic at the end, the lighthouse burning down, the weird explanation for everything, it was just too much suspension of disbelief for most people. I think a Science fiction film that delves into rather complex subjects such as anatomy, DNA, biology, and mutations, should be able to convey those concepts in a less ham-fisted way. Don't get me wrong, the film was very, very interesting. I haven't seen something like it before, or at least something that draws so many different elements that work well together. The ending was just too 1950's black and white Science fiction for me. It reminded me quite a bit "The day the Earth stood Still," crossed with Scarlett Johansson's "Under the Skin," with a dash of John Carpenter's, "The Thing," among other films that have already covered a lot of ground when it comes to this genre.
    I'm not saying that it isn't a well put together movie, but the ending takes a lot out of the mysteries early on, we never learn what happens to literally dozens of other research teams, military personnel, and other scientists. Where are all the animals? Why are their only a couple of mutated deer, a bear and a crocodile-shark? The whole idea of their very DNA being REFRACTED is just so implausible, and its not explained why some were more susceptible to the "Shimmer" then others. I found it to be visually fascinating, with loads of interesting ideas, but when you start thinking about some of the concepts the film is trying to explain, it gets a little heavy handed and actually quite ridiculous.
    The "twist" isn't really a twist and is poorly explained during the scene. If she destroyed the lighthouse, if Lena SET the fire, and it causes the chain reaction, then why on earth would the "shimmer" still be living inside of either of them? This isn't just stupid, its like leaving a grand canyon somewhere in your script for the sole purpose of letting your audience fill it in for you. Its a vague, poorly explained ending that honestly makes me more frustrated than mesmerized and its difficult to find any of what was even going on thought provoking when you're sitting there thinking, "Wait, why did that happen? What was the purpose of that?
    Why were so few animals effected? Seriously! Where were the rest of the animals? If the coast was "infected" with the shimmer, then surely ANY ANIMAL IN THE VICINITY could've just carried out into the fucking Ocean. Why do three of the girls not see a 400lb bear with a skull face, in a fully illuminated area, with night vision, and are also unable to land a hit even though they're all armed?
    Since when do Crocodiles just give up whatever they have in their jaws? What were the flower people? Were those other people that had been transformed or were the plants really just growing like that? I mean how do they even know aside from the scenes where Dr. Portman looks through her fisher price microscope so we can see that the cell is indeed making "doppelgangers" of cells? Why does one of the girls lose her SHIT and tie everyone up? Know one thinks that Portman found the dead body? Why does she immediately distrust her? Is it just cause of the video, and when she sees the locket? Why did Natalie even bring the damn thing if she had already told them she didn't know Kane? That's moronic. We don't even get to spend much time with the characters, so I didn't really care who ate it in any of the scenes. We didn't know most of their motivations or reasons for going outside of the main protagonist. "I'm going cause I have to save my maybe not husband because I feel guilty I cheated on him with a black guy cause he was gone so often."
    Boring.
    Lastly, why on earth did this movie have to have 30 more minutes tacked onto it to show establishing shots of Portman getting porked by her work college and scenes with the husband being her husband? These scenes didn't help with the story, nor the pacing and I truly question what the point of them was. Considering it has no effect on the finale, I honestly couldn't tell you what made Lena or Kane unique people to begin with. Was that the point?
    Tl;dr guess the whole thing was just a metaphor for shitty relationships and being given the chance to start over or something.

  • Machetecalinete Doom

    This review was spot on!
    A movie can’t be great if the story is weak. This was a good movie, and that’s it!!!!

  • Myles Coyne
    Myles Coyne Month ago

    The Sixth Sense is a amazing film, one of M Nights good ones!

  • stiqula
    stiqula Month ago +1

    uhhhhh, maybe you aren't smart enough to get it... This movie was philosophical, existential, gorgeous AND horrific all in one. The unknown is terrifying. That's the point of the ambiguous ending. This is a cosmic horror movie, through and through.

  • Wander Bear
    Wander Bear Month ago

    "The Fountain" and "Mr. Nobody" both blew me away

  • Jelly Jeffrey
    Jelly Jeffrey Month ago +46

    I loved this movie. I felt like it stuck the landing for me.

    • Bobby C
      Bobby C 17 days ago

      Jelly Jeffrey I guess you don't think when watching movies. This movie was horrible.

  • Anthony Miranda
    Anthony Miranda Month ago

    Movie was amazing 9.5/10

  • Kingstad
    Kingstad Month ago

    okay so it seem to be only me but this movie was more terrifying than any horror movie I have seen in a long time

  • Cody Chuck
    Cody Chuck Month ago

    You only care about boobs and explosions

  • Heather Dale
    Heather Dale Month ago

    Really enjoyed the film, saw so many concepts that hit me days later as I continued to think about it. The depth and simplicity of the movie were equal and pure brilliance.

  • Ian MacQuarrie
    Ian MacQuarrie Month ago

    2001: A Space Odyssey...

  • Rebecca Phillips
    Rebecca Phillips Month ago +1

    You’ve got to be kidding. This was a rare and amazing sci fi movie. Sorry it wasn’t the dum-dum explosion movie that comes around twenty times a year.

  • Quinones
    Quinones Month ago

    I'll have to disagree with this review. In my opinion, this film was fantastic. One of the better "thinking" films I have seen.