Annihilation - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 334

  • Bane
    Bane 11 hours ago

    This was so stupid... but pretty I guess. how you gonna send useless people like this in... half the group act like dumb bitches. how you don't give them more gear.. like night vision, head sets... a helmet... maybe a bigger knife... a side arm at least... a ton of dumb. one of them has training... you didn't train the others for this, like... a basic boot camp for some, for the months they were there? so stupid... but at least we jammed in an all women cast that doesn't suck shit as much as ghost busters did.

  • Todd Manual
    Todd Manual 16 hours ago

    WORST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN
    HERES WHY..... 😢
    ⭕️Characters fucken sucked.
    ⭕️No character development
    ⭕️Awfully pacing
    ⭕️Nobody smiled once in the movie so it was just a drag
    ⭕️I felt no emotion about who died or lived.
    ⭕️all that set up time could of been spent on connecting to a character. Instead it was wasted on a lady who was just sad
    ⭕️what was up with the affair, random add that was contrived and unneeded
    ⭕️it was contrived like a modern artist
    ⭕️end scene played too long
    ⭕️no explanations to get you on a thinking track
    ⭕️whiney girls upset for no reason.
    ⭕️emo messed up girls who backstory were absent
    ⭕️no villain to fear
    💯on a positive note. Pretty world and cool creatures

  • charles robledo
    charles robledo 4 days ago

    Best sci-fi movie I've watched in awhile, if for no other reason...it was outside the box. Plus it gives hope that the 'next' movie might even succeed where you feel this one failed. Do you have one that you think did succeed?

  • Michael Neal
    Michael Neal 9 days ago

    Mr.Nobody

  • Jay Sony
    Jay Sony 12 days ago

    mother!

  • Michael Derr
    Michael Derr 15 days ago

    Cerebral Movie : Blade Runner

  • Dahlia Murder
    Dahlia Murder 15 days ago +1

    Still better than arrival

  • ajzeg01
    ajzeg01 18 days ago

    This movie was great! You're crazy.

  • Marie
    Marie 20 days ago

    I only recently watched this movie, because it was on Amazon Prime streaming, I gave it 3 out of 5 screaming bears. It was weird. Didn't really like the ambiguous ending.
    Might be worth pointing out that this was based on a book by the same name.

  • David Bell
    David Bell 21 day ago

    I don't know if I liked this movie or not a day later. But good Lord! I'm never forgetting that intestine scene! It's like the level of when the alien first popped out of the chest in 1979. Total PTSD

  • tetsuyanamamura
    tetsuyanamamura 23 days ago

    Can you imagine watching the end part of the movie drunk? Or high smoking weed?

  • Jesse Compton
    Jesse Compton 26 days ago

    literally the most overrated movie i've ever seen. Thank god you see this movie for what it is. Chris Stuckmann completely lost me with his review and i usually see his point when I don't agree. Pretty bad dialogue. Genuinely cringy at times. Trying so very hard to be deep at metaphorical. I know exactly what it's GOING for, but the execution is fucking awful. So much fake bullshit science in this movie. I get it. Everything is a metaphor for cancer and self destruction. It bludgeons you on the head with these metaphors. Metaphors are nice and interesting, but when the actual event makes no sense, you can't forgive the scene because it's a metaphor for something. Horrible CGI when it wasn't being implemented for the environment. Exp. literally any monster.

  • Aaron Hahn
    Aaron Hahn 28 days ago

    But he gave pacific rim the best score. Lmao

  • Christopher Nash
    Christopher Nash Month ago

    I think you didn't get the movie! If you thought the being at the end of the movie was an alien then of course, you are going to think there are plot holes. Actually, the shimmer is responsible for evolution and the creation of the universe. The being in the lighthouse was a replica of Lena. The being didn't want anything as they said in the film. It didn't want anything because it wasn't an individual and it wasn't even an intelligent consciousness. It just replicated the mind of Lena, which is why she could control it with her mind. The being attacked her because she attacked it. It was following her thoughts. It pushed her against the door because she felt trapped. She made it blow itself up because she wanted to annihilate apart of herself. Other reasons why I think the shimmer is responsible for evolution and the creation of the universe is that the bear and crocodile were merging with other biological species. Also, though they didn't say this, I think the shimmer brought many elements of physics together to create the universe. There was talk of God making mistakes with the universe.

  • AnthonyWW68
    AnthonyWW68 Month ago

    Your review was 100% spot on. I agree almost word-for-word with everything you said. Nothing wrong with "arty" slow-burn, high-art thinking pieces, but c'mon, don't shallowly and deliberately have no actual REASON for anything going on. I'll probably watch more of your reviews just because you were so spot on with this one.

  • Alexandra Donnelly
    Alexandra Donnelly Month ago

    The movie just started a bit too slow for me. That thing, though. The scary one. Was horrifically beautiful.

  • Nathan Slade
    Nathan Slade Month ago

    I can’t believe people ACTUALLY like this movie.. it was pure and utter GARBAGE. Not entertaining even in the slightest, Plot holes galore, and like Jeremy said SLOWWWW.

  • Russell Buzarang
    Russell Buzarang Month ago

    It was interesting & beautiful at the start but the ending totally killed it... Starting from the lighthouse scene to the very end. Total waste of time!!!

  • Luke Winsor
    Luke Winsor Month ago

    I agree with you, Jeremy!

  • Bilbo Baggins
    Bilbo Baggins Month ago

    I think the film is cleverly made in a way that distracts you from everything, thus allowing your to over interpret it. Think about it. It barely touches on any of its main plot elements (which of course make 0 sense). The whole movie tries hard to save itself towards the end with its side plots and psedo-intellectual garbage (no structure whatsoever). It just throws a bunch of crap on the table, barely brushing upon huge themes regarding human nature and the self (self-destruction, annihilation - see cancer patient psychologist that reaches the core, physicist that wants to kill herself, natalie portman as cheater etc) and goes "make whatever you want out of this". There's some vague symbolism thrown in there and a bunch of ambiguities. The idea that it was made this way, build around pretty visuals and eerie synth (the 2 saving graces of the film) on purpose just ruins everything. The dialogues suck, the characters suck even more (psychologist, paramedic, physicist - what a waste of a cast) and the whole movie really is a drag with no redeeming values. I give this film 2/10, easily one of the worst sci-fi films I have ever watched.

  • johnnyjohn73
    johnnyjohn73 Month ago

    I just watched the movie and i thought it was good. I would have liked more but that is because what was there was so good. There are two more books in this trilogy they might get made. I doubt it though this one hasn't made back the budget yet.

  • ♡venuz_babi♡
    ♡venuz_babi♡ Month ago +1

    Whoa! I was SO invested in this movie. That's crazy

  • Dennis Logan
    Dennis Logan Month ago

    I thought it was a little better than average. I didn't like a few characters and plots but visually and action wise it was ok. The main character is a Mary Sue and I don't like those kind of characters.

  • Emantis Reviews
    Emantis Reviews Month ago

    Jeremy first time I have disagreed with you. This movie is what we all should be excited for. To make people think and question is the point of this movie. We all have our interpretations of this film and I love hearing them all :)

  • Alex Lee
    Alex Lee Month ago

    Was that horrific thing that was kind of beautiful the guy mutated onto the wall? Cause I REALLY don’t know why I could stop being fascinated by what was honestly disturbing.

  • JR
    JR Month ago

    It was honestly so fucking slow. I watched on Netflix and just skipped 10 seconds everytime someone finally said something or something happens coz everyone's a sloth

  • Seanachie's Court
    Seanachie's Court Month ago

    the movie that makes me question society and people is defo dallas buyers club... bout to watch annihilation, i wont say i have high hopes for it but i do have hopes and i wonder what can it make me question that i havent questioned myself alrdy xD

  • hunter gatherer
    hunter gatherer 2 months ago

    Just watched it at 1am and it's pretty fucking freaky at the end when that thing mimics her .. imagine being there all alone having that happen

  • Kay Space
    Kay Space 2 months ago

    Great fukn movie

  • kris198921
    kris198921 2 months ago

    Mortal kombat annihilation was awesome

  • Ray Mack
    Ray Mack 2 months ago

    This movie is watchable on a plane, maybe. No one will remember it in 5 years.

  • Dex
    Dex 2 months ago

    I was bored out of my mind trying to watch it. I'm sure fans will say I just don't "get" it.

  • Isis Chandler
    Isis Chandler 2 months ago

    Thank you. This movie explained absolutely nothing. The script needed to be revised many times before they started shooting. It had an interesting concept, but it was badly executed. Natalie Portman had no character arch. She was the same dull character at the end of the film that she was at the beginning. Her eyes were normal at the beginning but glowed at the end. That was the only way she changed. All the supporting characters were dull. This film was pretty to look at but pointless.

  • Christopher Ramirez
    Christopher Ramirez 2 months ago

    this movie was fantastic

  • Emmanuel Mondesir
    Emmanuel Mondesir 2 months ago

    the last act was a bit too long but the movie is great

  • Matthew Montecino
    Matthew Montecino 3 months ago

    Aimless turdbag movie.

  • Gayatri Chitale
    Gayatri Chitale 3 months ago

    Valkyrie and Jane foster in a strange new alternate universe

  • Timar Ivo Batis
    Timar Ivo Batis 4 months ago +1

    didnt like it at all

  • Yanderella Sama
    Yanderella Sama 4 months ago

    I have to disagree with you this time, this is one of the best movie I watched in a long time.

  • Julián
    Julián 4 months ago +1

    The movie sucks. Too pretentious. Tries to be intellectual and fails miserably. Plotholes, incongruencies, illogical stuff, no internal coherence...

  • deigning
    deigning 4 months ago

    also lol a "thinkpiece" from the guy who wrote another fuckbot movie where the fuckbot is named a variation of Eve? get your head outta your ass Jeremy or out of his or get him to take his head out of his ass, too many heads in asses going around here

    • deigning
      deigning 4 months ago

      and watch The Machine. THATS my fuckbot film.

  • deigning
    deigning 4 months ago

    thats because oscar isaac has chemistry with EVERYBODY. he has chemistry with your red background who he's never even met and isnt even real but he could fuck it if he wanted and it'd want it too

  • swevicki
    swevicki 4 months ago

    Jeremy is too impatient to appreciate a slowburn and to analyze complex movies like this. I like Jeremy but prefer Chris Stuckmann because he understands and analyzes movies like Jeremy doesn't. I am more like Chris and love analyzing movies which is why I very often agree with him.
    Some people are just too impatient to understand the beauty in a slowburn movie because this movie was brilliant! I wouldn't change a thing, I was constantly mesmerized by this world and how it slowly was annihilating them! 10/10!

  • Jasper Childs
    Jasper Childs 4 months ago

    The "loose threads" are thinking pieces which can be worked out. I guess you just didn't think enough.

    • Jasper Childs
      Jasper Childs 3 months ago

      +moblue 289 My point is you don't have to be smart to understand it, you just have to think a little.

    • moblue 289
      moblue 289 3 months ago

      yes because you are such a smart person and those really had your brain worked out

  • baddagger10
    baddagger10 5 months ago

    I just watched this one. The ending was horrible, it seems like they didn't know what to do at the end. Rest of film was great.

  • Claudia Velasco
    Claudia Velasco 5 months ago

    As an undergrad senior student majoring in biology, I hated this movie because of the lack of creativity in the science and psychology.... however, I'm glad to see some of the young crowd being interested with life :D y'all should study it!

  • NorthWind
    NorthWind 5 months ago

    You talked in circles a lot in this video to pad your critique with different words that all basically meant the same thing which, in the end, was that you were bored. I thought the movie was great. I left it questioning what I saw and googling what other people got from it, and all the different ideas just keep me thinking. I thought the movie looked great, was acted well, and had an ending that I would not have expected at all. I loved it.

  • The Spine Lizard ʕ•́ᴥ•̀ʔ

    The bear scene


    OMG the fucking Bear scene.

  • Scott Smith
    Scott Smith 5 months ago

    Shin Megami Tensei Strange Journey much?

  • Taylor Fields
    Taylor Fields 5 months ago

    Everyone hating on this review: Please remember that different people are allowed to have different opinions, and don't let an opinion keep you from watching other reviews! Jeremy is great, even if you thought differently. All love.

  • elShit07
    elShit07 5 months ago

    This movie is boring.

  • Kurt Rivero
    Kurt Rivero 5 months ago

    This guy is such a clueless fucking idiot.

  • octagonproplex
    octagonproplex 5 months ago

    I don't think the movie even looks good. It looks fake. And biology is boring.

  • Dan M
    Dan M 5 months ago

    Interesting, it was slow in the beginning but I feel like it was rushed after to the point where nothing made sense anymore. It felt like a "if I was high what kind of movie would I make"

  • Humes Knife
    Humes Knife 5 months ago

    Everytime I click on this guy's reviews I regret it. The movie is not "literally perfection" and I'm not here as some defensive fanboy; there is absolutely room for fair criticism, but that accounted for this movie was exceptional and anyone who actually cares about movies and has the attention span and wherewithal to engage with the concepts within it could see that. This guy's analysis and lack of justification for his criticism beyond specious points that could be tossed around meaninglessly at any movie makes me think he's basically just some guy who is more interested in building a youtube channel and "brand" than he is in actual discussion and appreciation for film. (Stuckmann is a much better youtuber film reviewer btw. He actually talks about the movies, not just loosely summarize the main plot then say "and it was great!" or "it was boring!").

  • army of pirates pirates

    it was ok

  • mohit9206
    mohit9206 5 months ago

    Just watched this movie. I'd give it an 8/10. Don't agree with your review but you're still the best youtube movie critic. Keep going man! Now off to watch and read some ending explanations.

  • Ma. Teresa Selena Urmatam

    You need to rewatch this film dude. This review deeply hurt me.

  • juan esmit
    juan esmit 5 months ago

    Hmmm, OK. Movies are art and therefore subjective and all that but there is a limmit to it. Art today is purely made to be "a concept", a spiritual experience beyond the reach of us mortals or something. Scifi movies and blockbusters are made to ENTERTAIN, both things at wich this "conceptual" movie failed. I mean, on one side the picture, the music and the original idea are great, I see the potential there but on the other side the director and writers failed at the realisation part. The movie dragss, fells disconnected and most of what is done there is incoherent, I know boy scouts wich offered better ideas to go and explore that thing in safer ways with better team members, its just ilogic and incoherent. I get the concept and how it was meant to be represented ALL ALONG the film but it failed, they didn't assemble the parts properly, it came out as frankenstain when it was ment to be an ex-machina. Next time they better don't publicite an "artsy conceptual psy" film as SCIFI when it isn't, big mistake. Ad Astra.

  • Jude Potter
    Jude Potter 6 months ago

    damn this movie is more divisive than the Disney Star Wars movies....

  • Aldiggy2000
    Aldiggy2000 6 months ago

    felt like Shin Megami Tensei: Strange Journey - the movie!

  • awquinn1201
    awquinn1201 6 months ago

    This film was the dumbest smart people they could gather, responding to an event in the slowest fashion possible, gathering almost no scientific evidence, to fight a PS2 render that was stuck making honk honk music noises. Pretty, yeah, but when even the ‘scientists’ seemed bored to even be there it’s pretty darn hard to want to be there as an audience member.

  • Noel Gonzalez
    Noel Gonzalez 6 months ago

    Just saw this movie and yeah.... Wife and I both agree with Jeremy. Oh well, next movie.

  • Phvntom
    Phvntom 6 months ago

    This movie was beyond useless and a waste of time

  • Gabrielle Washington
    Gabrielle Washington 6 months ago

    Watched up to 2:08 😐... moving on

  • Felipe Carvalho
    Felipe Carvalho 6 months ago

    JJ, you really made a bad review here.
    I took your word and left the movie "for later". Finally watched it few days ago, and really regretted not watching it before. The movie is AWESOMETACULAR. The message about self destructive behaviour is actually quite clear. The art, the time, everything, EVERYTHING, is PERFECT.
    Starting to feel other reviewers out there might match my tastes better. Still love your channel though

  • sportsMike87
    sportsMike87 6 months ago

    Watch inception if you want a good mind blow

  • David de Juan Navarro
    David de Juan Navarro 6 months ago

    what?? the movie does not look great, the VFX are actually kind of crappy for the whole first part

  • Malte Schuster
    Malte Schuster 6 months ago +1

    Now, if I feel depressed and feel like life has no meaning, I watch "The Grey", "Wind River", "Saving Private Ryan", "Hell or High Water" or one of the Blade Runner Movies. I love all of them, but whenever I watch them, I feel disturbed afterwards. But I still love doing it! Is that weird? Do I need help, Jeremey? DO I?!

  • 87_Michael
    87_Michael 6 months ago

    FILM WAS ASS TO ME.

  • ElizabethRS
    ElizabethRS 6 months ago

    Having read the book, I can say that the movie was entirely different, but it made me enjoy the movie more. You weren't supposed to be attached to anyone. In the book, not a single character even has a name. You're supposed to be like someone from the outside looking in.

  • JP Alpharo
    JP Alpharo 6 months ago

    Finally saw this movie
    It tripped me out

  • Kendall Ward
    Kendall Ward 6 months ago

    Sorry, first time I've really disagreed with you. This movie was a brilliant think piece with themes on cancer, self destruction, what is the motive of a antagonist. I liked it more than ex-machina. Still love your reviews though!

  • Wyatt Posten
    Wyatt Posten 6 months ago

    fuck that bear thing! that shit was creepy as fuck

  • mchief100
    mchief100 6 months ago

    This film tripped me out in ways that i havent felt since the end of eva, i keep looking for a film that just trips me out that makes me question things, a film that sets up an awesome premise but only explains just enough so it doesnt feel like theyre throwing a bunch of shit together, the less i know the better and this movie nailed that, the best way i can describe this movie is live action end of eva but that doesnt do either film justice, the whole film had this unsettling vibe coupled with the other worldly designs and awe inspiring colours, cinematic and art direction, i search for hours for entertainment that makes me feel like this and i wish this kind of film would be made more often

  • TM Martin
    TM Martin 6 months ago

    I actually liked this movie and the ending really made you THINK.

  • Wahaj_98
    Wahaj_98 7 months ago

    Arrival 2016 is basically the best example of what this movie COULD have been. But it lost point and couldn't stick the landing. I really thought there was a pay-off but sad.

  • Hugo Stiglitz
    Hugo Stiglitz 7 months ago

    I completely disagree. And I'm not sure if it's to avoid spoilers but I find it strange that you fail to explain why you think this movie didn't "stick its Landing" as you say. Seems more like you just didn't get it.

  • Jesus Roman
    Jesus Roman 7 months ago

    To each their own. I was intrigued the whole movie

  • Yusef Endure
    Yusef Endure 7 months ago

    This was a great film. Is Lena an alien clone or biologically altered human? Is there a difference? Was she lying during the interrogation? In 2001: A Space Odyssey, none of the characters were likable, the movie was slow paced, and it was hard as hell to understand upon the first viewing which is exactly what we have with this film that makes you think! Chill out, watch it again, and keep an open mind!

  • Starcraftgamer97
    Starcraftgamer97 7 months ago

    I just got done watching it and it has me more annoyed than anything. I didn't really see any think pieces or deep questions with this nor do I understand what is supposed to be "intellectual" about it. I had no clue what the movie was and all I got out of it was that some dunderheads imitating smart people walked into a shimmering Lovecraftian evolutionary shitshow and got fucked. Some mentally, most physically. The characters were flatter than cardboard with only Natalie Portman giving and real good analysis or character moments. The plot was basically nonexistant and I could only describe it like I did above. The good part? The bear sequence. You could make a legitimate horror movie with that creature. That was the only tense part. It had something in terms of an idea but like you said Jeremy: it dragged. To me it fell right on its head. I personally just saw everything boiling down to a forced evolutionary process brought on by an exterestial chrome mime.
    I can't say I'm disappointed in it because I had no idea what I was in for. I came away not pleased. If you want to captivate me, it'll take more than pretty effects, pretty flowers, and a pretty eerie skeleton bear (again the best part about the movie). Not my cup of tea personally. Except the bear. Seriously: someone make a movie about the bear. It was da real MVP!

  • JediOptimusPrime1
    JediOptimusPrime1 7 months ago

    This movie was garbage. Just as bad as Arrival. Honestly, how can people call this shit Sci-Fi?

  • Koba Kareli
    Koba Kareli 7 months ago

    Just watched it and yeah, it's a slow burn, it was slowly burning my mind the entire time. I had no idea what the movie was, I was expecting an action movie, I just liked the title and decided to watch it before going to sleep. I really was not in a mood for a psychological horror but by the time I realized what it was I was so gripped I could not turn it off. I'm still in shock and I want to watch it again.

  • Thuthuka Qoza
    Thuthuka Qoza 7 months ago

    I really really liked this movie. A lot . Just the last 15 mins threw me off.

  • abduri X
    abduri X 7 months ago

    dick!

  • First Chapter
    First Chapter 7 months ago

    Just another femtard film. This agenda from Hollywood is actually putting viewers off.

  • gerry o sullivan
    gerry o sullivan 7 months ago

    Yep it’s trying to be a kind of 2001 but fails badly

  • Richard_22_
    Richard_22_ 7 months ago

    I enjoyed the hell out of this movie.

  • dracon raido
    dracon raido 7 months ago

    This movie unsettled me in a way a movie house hasn't done to me in a long time

  • GamE FrEak
    GamE FrEak 7 months ago

    All characters r so unlikable. The character n how it try to show made no sense. Why they act n do the stuff like that. Took me out if the pic so many time.

  • Frederick X.
    Frederick X. 7 months ago

    The fuck was thaaaaaaaaat? Its like they tried to meld 9 different movies together. It didn't work at all, imo. The artistic direction, sure. The acting, fine. Everything else was a cobbled together mess without direction, much like the entire mindset of the characters and their world.

    • gerry o sullivan
      gerry o sullivan 7 months ago +1

      Frederick X. Yea I was thinking Avatar,Alien,2001,Predator,Arrival.Its a film stew that tastes shit

  • theflywho
    theflywho 7 months ago

    "Hybrid" ahah!
    "Terrible beauty " is how I'd describe the environment, which is nature.
    Unreliable narrator, okay, check.
    My major beef is the science. Refracting DNA so it mixes at cellular levels, cool! But in developed organisms, no. Just no. At that speed? No.
    Major major beef? The perpetuation of the equating species with genus. Hybrids are totally made from crossing species. Within a genus. There is even hybridization between genera. Digiplexis, look it up. Within families, sure, between families, eh. But it all happens at baby level.
    Okay, I'm speaking out of my ass, maybe Paul Parent is right and pollinators can taken pollen from a wild orange daylily and make a frilly purple hybrid daylilly turn orange , but my gut says he's full of it.

  • chris berg
    chris berg 7 months ago

    I thought this was gonna be like a thriller/darker version of the Martian

  • Danny Zuko
    Danny Zuko 8 months ago

    To answer your question at the end. The Prometheus movies! I swear those movies hit my soul and my mind big time!

  • Keith Vulgamott
    Keith Vulgamott 8 months ago

    thumbs down for your leather jacket. try being less of a tool. side note, annihilation sucked big time.

  • Rusty Shackleford
    Rusty Shackleford 8 months ago

    Did anyone forget she slept with a black man from work less than a year after he was gone her husband was gone guess not

  • Marko Mihajlovic
    Marko Mihajlovic 8 months ago

    Awful Stalker ripoff

  • Vivek Acharya
    Vivek Acharya 8 months ago

    I have not seen this movie but I am sure I am going to love it.

  • MyName
    MyName 8 months ago

    sorry but this movie fucking amazing .

  • bscutajar
    bscutajar 8 months ago

    The concept was great, the music was terrific, that one creepy ass scene was well... creepy. However while I'm aware that this is science fiction, it stretches my treshold of what's believable a little too much. Was worth seeing just for that creepy ass scene.