Aladdin - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 23, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Aladdin, starring Will Smith, Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, Marwan Kenzari, Navid Negahban, Nasim Pedrad, Billy Magnussen, Numan Acar. Directed by Guy Ritchie.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 136

  • Captain Barbossa

    I agree with SO many things Stuckmann has said about the movie although I didn’t think it was terrible just not close to being perfect.
    Things I liked about it:
    1. Will Smith was a really good Genie.
    2. Naomi Scott as Jasmine was excellent!
    3. The musical sequences were fun, energetic and all around great.
    4. The changes added were acceptable ones.
    5. Costumes and sets looked great.
    Things I did not like:
    1. Jafar-laughable casting error. Guy had nothing on the original Jafar.
    2. CGI and production not always great looking.
    3. Speechless was so unnecessary. Reminded me of the overrated Let it Go.
    4. The dialogue was atrocious at times like the jams joke, really??
    5. Aladdin’s actor while good for most part, could have had a little more emotion to his performance.
    6. The animal characters and the Magic Carpet not having much to do to the point where they didn’t feel like they had character.
    7. Iconic lines from the original used in the remake feeling stilted and dry.
    8. The Sultan feeling bland as a character.
    9. The Cave of Wonders lacking much of the character and dread the original had.
    10. Finally, certain sequences felt rushed especially in the beginning. Granted I give them credit for trying to take a different approach.

  • Kelsie Williams
    Kelsie Williams Day ago

    Shity ass movie complete fucking fake

  • Suspicious Pooh
    Suspicious Pooh 2 days ago +1

    I liked the movie, but Jasmine, Aladdin, and Jafar were really lacking in the personality department. Especially Jafar. He was so...bland. Will Smith did fantastic though.

  • Anissa Clarke
    Anissa Clarke 2 days ago

    I agree with everything you said

  • Bryan Hernandez
    Bryan Hernandez 3 days ago

    The movie was fine. Naomi Scott as Princess Jasmine was fantastic. She was great. I have a feeling she will be the only one from the film to become huge. She was good and a great singer.

  • Sea Hawks
    Sea Hawks 3 days ago

    This movie is beyond embarrassing.

  • John Baumgartner
    John Baumgartner 4 days ago

    I feel like they glossed over or skipped around a bunch with the story..almost made it a cheesy montage or something. A lot of the dialogue was solely there to describe what they were not showing adequately

  • Pinkiepool gamerbrony28X

    as someone who LOVED The original animated Aladdin I'd actually liked the live action Aladdin it stayed true to the original animated Aladdin But I'll give it this it's better then the 2017 live action Beauty and the Beast

  • Pinkiepool gamerbrony28X

    at least Will Smith gave it his all with The Genie

  • George Castro
    George Castro 5 days ago

    Aladdin would've been perfect of they would've cut the pop song Speechless scene and added the Epic Snake scene.

  • jedilori
    jedilori 5 days ago

    He’s looking for reality in an Aladdin movie with a genie? 😂

  • nay jay
    nay jay 6 days ago

    The parrot and Jafar were underacted. Why did they not use a female comic for the Parrot?!

  • Edwin Wright
    Edwin Wright 8 days ago

    We DID NOT see the same movie. AT ALLLL!!

  • orlandobabe
    orlandobabe 8 days ago

    Do any of these directors, actors, etc etc ever read or looked up on the origins of the stories these films are based on and think "Hey why not make this instead of remaking the animated films? NO I didn't go see Aladdin or Cinderella or Beauty and the Beast and I will not even see Lady and the Tramp for the same reason I won't see any films by Pure Flix: NO POINT these movies are just a repeat of something that was already made years ago and the audiences is either to lazy or too bored with just watching it on stream or old fashion DVD

  • ahmad elmahdy
    ahmad elmahdy 9 days ago

    His name is MENA MASSOUD and he's arabian i understand why you saying that about him

  • tony2000and10
    tony2000and10 9 days ago

    still a better remake than the lion king

  • tysoon363636
    tysoon363636 9 days ago

    Spot on again Chris! All these Disney remakes bored me really. Watchable movie but no big deal as everyone hyping about. Probably target mostly women and little kids.

  • Cordelia Chase
    Cordelia Chase 9 days ago

    Jafar was way too young. He looked in his early 30’s. Jafar was supposed to be like 50.
    Also, I don’t think Aladdin was very charismatic the way Scott Weinger (the guy who plays Steve in Full House) portrayed Aladdin. Jasmin also had real no personality in the movie. The voice actors did a MUCH better job.
    I also said that this looked like a stage/play. Unlike movies such as Pirates of the Caribbean or Indiana Jones.

  • Cyrus Number 1
    Cyrus Number 1 10 days ago

    Numan Acar the actor that played Hakim should have been Jafar

  • A Birjas
    A Birjas 10 days ago

    Looks almost like the hindi version aladin ☺️🧡. ( With the boy running)

  • Ama Mensah
    Ama Mensah 11 days ago

    Chris I’m not one to usually comment - however I feel your comments were verrryyyyyy harsh! I watched your video then watched the movie and thought you were wayyy too HARSHHH it wasn’t as bad as you made it! That’s not very fair in all honesty. This is not an animation but a live action and it’s not going to be perfect. They tried really hard and it was just fine! Not worth a c though!

    • Agon Leed
      Agon Leed 10 days ago

      yea...i JUST watched it before watching this...that live action was good

  • Japples
    Japples 12 days ago +1

    so Aladdin with a genie is not okay and Cinderella with her fairy god mother is okay?
    Jasmine with a tiger is not okay and cinderella talking to rats ang mowgli talking to animals is okay?
    I don't get your logic.

  • Kanesha Severe
    Kanesha Severe 13 days ago +1

    I thought the Aladdin movie was fun this is the baddest thing I've ever seen in my life who died were talking about the Aladdin movie this is one of the worst things I've ever seen in my life I haven't seen anybody in the TVclipr never say this before I don't know who he think he is but no thank you I would never like anybody to say anything about the Latimore I feel like he's saying they didn't work hard enough and I think they closed it look dirty did you even see the clothes usually sometimes the pants were a little dirty if you couldn't see them the pants were a little dirty with a little dust not sign he's blowing on your thing but jeez you don't want to say all that about it I was just wondering worst things I've ever seen in my life whatever you do if they didn't make the alarm movie I was just we stuck on that edge with nothing to do and I'm not really sucked into the movie I love with the music and everything and I didn't think the genie and stuff and I said was like Will Smith for something I didn't think that was anything like that I was just thinking how good the movie what

  • Skull Masters
    Skull Masters 14 days ago

    You are truly the most boring movie reviewer in youtube. gooday!

  • M In J’s
    M In J’s 14 days ago

    Will Smith was his own genie in this movie. He actually killed it!!! 💯 C- is too low tho. I’d give it a B for this movie.

  • AwfulMusik
    AwfulMusik 14 days ago +1

    Aladdin=trash

  • Yanis Kaps
    Yanis Kaps 14 days ago

    I would give Aladdin 2019 - B-

  • Mental Inlander
    Mental Inlander 14 days ago

    1. Barely any dust in desert. Seriously
    2. Their clothes color is too vibrant and too expensive. Need more humble clothes
    3. The objects look like 3d printed instead of crafted by hand
    4. The singing scene is terrible. Why dont just make it flash mob like hollywodd its more entertaining.
    5. Should add Sinbad easter egg

  • Fer Torres
    Fer Torres 16 days ago

    Will smith was a horrible choice. No pipes or charisma. I mean in the intro song he needed help from the chorus like all the help

  • Bitje
    Bitje 16 days ago

    I stopped watching when they started singing again for the 3th time. Too bad. I cant stand the singing in movies. The primary reason why i stopped watching disney movies.

  • Odd Eyes94
    Odd Eyes94 17 days ago

    *Stage Play* good summarization

  • LordZuko
    LordZuko 17 days ago

    I just watched it and I throughly enjoyed it. 8.5/10

  • Todd Marks
    Todd Marks 17 days ago

    Jafar was horrible, totally took me out of the thought this was a remake of Aladdin. What’s so difficult to cast Ghassan Massoud, probably would have changed this movie to higher rating. Jasmine was just as bad. I thought Aladdin actor was great, perfectly on par with cartoon. Totally agree everything felt like a set or staged.

  • blasko229
    blasko229 17 days ago

    The awkwardness and lack of charm of everyone but the genie completely overshadowed everything positive about it. Aladdin and his awful wig looked uncomfortable even walking, let alone jumping through the streets. My daughters called this version of Jafar, "the nice Jafar." Where was the jail scene where he is disguised as an old man? Where were his giant genie and snake forms? Where was the silly Sultan? Where was Jasmine pretending she is in love with Jafar? Where was Aladdin yelling "Aren't you forgetting something, Jafar?" before being chained and sent to his lamp? Why change the part where Aladdin tricks the genie into leaving the cave to something so confusing? Why did the guards turn into clouds when Jasmine was doing her new song? Why the did the genie become human after being set free? That nixes any concept of a sequel. Rajah and the Carpet were the best performances. I think you nailed that Will Smith did ok with his uphill battle of this iconic character. But IMO it's just too high level to even consider making a live action movie.

  • A S
    A S 18 days ago +1

    This guy is too nit-picky. Jeez. It’s like he’s on his period.

  • phytDrone
    phytDrone 18 days ago

    This Is Such Bullshit, i am going to unsubscribe i cannot trust you

  • M D
    M D 18 days ago

    I really enjoyed this but that's just my opinion just as this review is 100% opinion

  • Diggy R.
    Diggy R. 19 days ago +1

    Movie is very entertaining. Don't go in details like the clothes were clean n pet tiger n all. Just enjoy the movie.

  • Fay Paradise
    Fay Paradise 19 days ago

    It looks more Pakistan. Jasmine had thick eyebrows.

  • Jorge Andrade
    Jorge Andrade 21 day ago

    I actually forgot Robbin Williams one was The Genie

  • ADITHYA MENON
    ADITHYA MENON 21 day ago

    You know what went wrong the most......making Guy Ritchie direct this movie. Guy Ritchie is great director but not for a Disney musical! Come on!

  • zwippie92
    zwippie92 22 days ago

    The movie was much better than I thought it would be and I enjoyed it at least. It had some cringe worthy moments, like Aladdin talking about jams with the sultan and Jasmine. And then we have the second time Jasmine sings her "girl power" "I'm strong" song and it was nice the first time, the second time it just made no sence, guards dissapearing and what, Jafar just let her sing like she did? It was unnecessary and it just looked weird in context with the story and the flow.

  • Anime King
    Anime King 23 days ago

    Haven't watch yet but pretty much it's a crap movie but not for what people thought.

  • Everything Girly
    Everything Girly 23 days ago

    I think this movie was rather enjoyable. Especially Jasmin's song. I just didn't think that Jafar was a very good villain. It also bothered me how shy and scared Aladdin acted once he became a prince.

  • JingleBell
    JingleBell 24 days ago

    I found the live action performance at Disneyland more entertaining than this movie

  • Gian jillian
    Gian jillian 24 days ago

    Costumes sucks..director watched too much bollywood

  • Banana Child
    Banana Child 25 days ago

    The pacing on this movie is so, weird (as to be expected from a Guy Ritchie film). The music is just, eh... not as fun as the original to sing along to because of how dull and slow it was rearranged. Also Jafaar looks like a total wimp when compared to cartoon Jaafar. Though I will commend the remake for its very beautiful visuals and how faithful Aladdin's voice is to the original when he sings.

  • StanislavyeungHK
    StanislavyeungHK 26 days ago

    You can't put philosophy in movies

  • Ricky Sanchez
    Ricky Sanchez 26 days ago

    It's a musical. A bad musical.

  • Nandan Tendulkar
    Nandan Tendulkar 26 days ago +1

    One of the rare times i disagree with Chris.
    This film is definitely an A- from me.
    Though i respect your opinion.

  • HUNGER GAMES
    HUNGER GAMES 27 days ago

    I loved the movie, but the only things I hated were how Guy Ritchie directed the music numbers (especially one jump ahead, my god was that cringey) and... that’s about it.

  • mememe metoo
    mememe metoo 27 days ago

    its fucking F- who the hell can watch that crap, walked out after 10 min wtf fking retarded movie, the cartoons are GREAT, this is DOG SHIT

  • erfansvideos
    erfansvideos 29 days ago

    This was WAY BETTER than the Lion King

  • Dylan
    Dylan 29 days ago

    I don't think its a bad thing, if you are criticising actors and their performances, the problem would be if you had nothing to substantiate your criticism and be respectful in how you do it. It's all apart of the job.

  • natukunda marian
    natukunda marian 29 days ago

    Imagine they’d remade all those old movies like rear window, or breakfast at Tiffany’s for our generation 😅😅😅😅😅

  • Taylor Craig Newbold
    Taylor Craig Newbold Month ago +1

    Will "Do Anything for Money" Smith

  • Marina Relvas
    Marina Relvas Month ago

    how did live action adaptations spiral down from beauty and the beast to this?

  • Danny Boy
    Danny Boy Month ago

    At least Jafar was sexy AF lmao 😂🤣

  • StruckdownButNotdestroyed 1980

    i totally agree with Chris. ThIs Aladdin is bland, stiff, and souless. no magic at all... it's bleh!

  • StarlightDavid99
    StarlightDavid99 Month ago +1

    to me i really liked this story it didnt just focus on aladdin it focused on jasmine and her struggle as a princess and holding up to expectations and also i really liked the handmaid implement!