Aladdin - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 23, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Aladdin, starring Will Smith, Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, Marwan Kenzari, Navid Negahban, Nasim Pedrad, Billy Magnussen, Numan Acar. Directed by Guy Ritchie.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 697

  • szewei85
    szewei85 8 hours ago

    Haha nice

  • alvaro alas
    alvaro alas 9 hours ago

    i just saw yesterday it wasn't as bad as people say it is but of course it doesn't compare to the original

  • Batul Hashim
    Batul Hashim 15 hours ago

    I think it's a cultural thing.. lots of Arab and Indian monarchy actually had Tigers, elephants and lions as pets

  • Dan
    Dan 18 hours ago +2

    Are you kidding? I feel that most of the criticism is because of the childhood biased. Ask the generation of the after millennia. I think they would love the film.

  • Mimah 101
    Mimah 101 23 hours ago

    Dude, imagine someone's issue being every is so clean and perfect. 不不不不不不不不不不不 But I get it.

  • Thing 1 & Thing 2 The Media Maniacs

    So I just saw The ALADDIN Remake and I thought it was FUCKING AWFUL They totally messed up on Aladdin and most of the characters. They totally botched the introduction of Princess Jasmine we first meet her on the streets of Agrabah disguised as a commoner The ALADDIN
    Remake FUCKING SUCKS

  • System Solarium
    System Solarium Day ago

    aladin was very interesting

  • Stacey Sales
    Stacey Sales Day ago +1

    Wow. C- was harsh?!?
    Oh well...仄踱儭

  • strictlystarlight

    I liked it. 予

  • J D
    J D Day ago

    AN ARAAAAAABIANNNN NIGHHHHTTTT

  • naivieee
    naivieee Day ago

    Am I the only one here that agrees with Chris 100%? I found this film pretty cheesy and I honestly can't see why people are praising it so much. Sure it's definitely watchable, but out of all the disney remakes I think this one's the weakest.

  • David Hernandez
    David Hernandez 2 days ago +2

    if i developed a crush on Naomi Scott as Kimberly as pink ranger, her as Jasmin made it an obsession, she was amazing as Jasmine, plus I didn't know she could sing, I was amazed by great singing voice.

  • ElvishStar
    ElvishStar 2 days ago

    I didn't think the staff was weird because I'm used to Jafar having a staff. Animated Jafar was older so maybe he could claim it was a walking aide. I would've liked if the movie had delved more into Jafar using sorcery before his second wish.

  • onespeed
    onespeed 2 days ago

    It was better than expected, maybe 25 minutes too long. I wonder how this movie is to someone who's never seen the original.

  • Jacob Stallone
    Jacob Stallone 2 days ago

    Wow almost 98% in the comments disagree with Chris review on Aladdin being a bad movie.
    I watched it and I thought it was amazing!
    Mena mansood as Aladdin was an amazing casting. He had so much chemistry with very one.

    His jam scene with will smith had so much chemistry.
    Will Smith was extremely funny and also was good in the emotional scenes
    Aladdin and jasmine work perfectly together.
    Jasmine!!! Wow she was really perfect for the role. She is a professional singer and I must say her song speechless might be as good as let it go

    Being objective I cant say this movie was bad.

    I would give it a 7.8/10 easily! I dont think Cinderella or malifacent where in any way better than this.

    Let me know if you guys agree with me.

  • Mohamed Sied
    Mohamed Sied 2 days ago

    Chris u can picture talking animals and Cinderella and her carriage rat horses and glass shoes but u can't picture a flying carpet and a Bangali Tigger (yes Bangali Tiger not Siberan you illiterate uncultured blan American twat . Go fuck yourself Chris I'm gonna give ur poor ass biased review a - Z

  • Jabari Ermon
    Jabari Ermon 2 days ago

    Rats turn into horses and pumpkins turn into carriages in real life?

  • Eric Chan
    Eric Chan 3 days ago

    Not sure why this was a C minus but, we had a bunch of people in the cinema (asia) with laughter and cheering at the end leaving with joy. Brought my wife to watch it, and she said she would want our son to watch it when he gets older. P.s: I do agree on one thing, the actor for Jafaar could have been someone more badass looking but overall, this movie was satisfying and worth the time. Light romantic, humorous and without Will Smith, I'd think this movie might have been dull without him. Going to have to disagree on this review.

  • cepenica1
    cepenica1 3 days ago

    No one is going to talk about the princess becoming sultan????????????

  • Mark Douglas
    Mark Douglas 4 days ago

    Is Will Smith still alive? I guess he's got to be cause' he keeps shoving his kid in movies to make them horrible. I.E. "The Day the Earth Stood Still" , "The Karate Kid", " After Earth".

  • PMT Slot Hits n' Stuff
    PMT Slot Hits n' Stuff 4 days ago +1

    I love you but, saying jasmine being friends with a tiger being less realistic than a boy being raised by wolves...?

  • Alejo Munoz
    Alejo Munoz 4 days ago

    Costumes not dirty...its a Disney movie, this isnt full metal jacket now

  • 渣科鬲
    渣科鬲 4 days ago

    This movie was made based on Aladin tail. Though I knew the process of story and ending, but it was still interesting. I recommend this movie to one who is stressed.

  • Carm Snow
    Carm Snow 4 days ago

    I feel like I would be betraying Robin Williams just seeing this movie

  • HummingbirdSound
    HummingbirdSound 4 days ago +2

    This movie looks like a Bollywood movie...

  • Michelle Valdez
    Michelle Valdez 4 days ago

    I hated Jafar he ruined it for me but other than that I loved the movie!

  • darkdirtyalfa
    darkdirtyalfa 5 days ago +2

    You see, i watched Aladdin when it first came out, in spanish, I had zero idea who Robbin was and I loved the genie. It took decades before I knew the genie in english was him because I watched it in spanish so i dont have that stigma of only Robbin can play the genie and I though Will was good and I went in there thinking he was gonna be bad.

  • TT CC
    TT CC 5 days ago

    What the fuck?? All these elements work perfect in movie form. Serpent staff? Wtf is wrong with that??

  • Areatrance
    Areatrance 5 days ago

    I really enjoyed it myself. Honestly, I would rewatch this Movie over any of the new Star Wars Movies any day.
    They intended to have the audience in a "suspension of disbelief", that did work very well on screen. Even the comedy was absurd, but held up well for my tastes.
    The entire aim of this Film was to re-create the feeling you would get walking into an old theater and watching actors do an entire play, though I have to also admit that the acting felt "off", just a little.
    I would gladly rate this a 4/5.

  • alwaysxnever
    alwaysxnever 5 days ago

    This is the only live action remake I have liked so far. I thought of this like a stage play/Bollywood production and I loved it. I was ready to hate Jafar and didn't and after Shazam and Captain Marvel this was nowhere near as cringey with the dialogue. I am ready for Return of Jafar. Lol

  • Inksterboy
    Inksterboy 6 days ago

    5:09 I totally agreed his voice was terrible my father even hated him lmao

  • Billy Rewko
    Billy Rewko 6 days ago

    I loved Will Smith as always. I love the fresh prince

  • Fatima Mahdi
    Fatima Mahdi 6 days ago +3

    Loved the movie i disagree with u for the first time. As for the cloth i thought they looked indian not arabian

  • Fatima Mahdi
    Fatima Mahdi 6 days ago +1

    I honestly loved the remake. As a fan and i mean an obsessed fan with everything i love. I would love to get a new taste of what i love.

  • K Clems
    K Clems 6 days ago

    Horrible

  • Nyabingi Michie
    Nyabingi Michie 6 days ago

    The movie was horrible, this year sucked for movies

  • adeena6
    adeena6 6 days ago +1

    All the critics are being so harsh but every regular person ik has loved it

  • The Egocentric Predicament

    I think your review is off you need a better understanding of the original and the musical to understand the live action you make some fair points but respectfully
    I dont think you have enough contextual knowledge of Aladdin to completely understand the live action I would give it a B / B -

  • Ib7 h
    Ib7 h 6 days ago

    Lol bullshit. These reviewers think their unique for giving their own reviews that contradict their other reviews.

  • Cody Todd
    Cody Todd 6 days ago

    I see Disney deployed its army to defend their latest failure in the comment section.

  • Tyler Worsham
    Tyler Worsham 6 days ago

    "When the genie wasn't on screen, I found myself relentlessly bored." Surprise, surprise, that's exactly how I felt about the original animated film...

  • Blinded
    Blinded 6 days ago

    It seems Disney has fallen to the "make it look like a cosplay" trap that has ruined so many manga/anime live action adaptations.

  • Darryl Wayne
    Darryl Wayne 7 days ago

    This was the weirdest fucking mood Ive ever watched. The characters were flat, the jokes went on for so fucking long, but for some reason I was kind of enjoying myself. It was a shitty movie, D- at the most, but I still ended up enjoying myself some how

  • Laura Burgos
    Laura Burgos 7 days ago

    Love the movie, it was very entertaining, love the fact that the recording style in some scenes was with a style of wizard movies of past decades, in addition to a clear style to the bollywood movies. In addition, they gave the characters a background story. Just love that movie歹

  • anerysium
    anerysium 7 days ago

    Please don't burn your Sonic games just because Sonic in the movie looks horrid.

  • Scott Fitzpatrick
    Scott Fitzpatrick 7 days ago

    I found your criticisms a little strange Disney movies with live actors are basically stage shows filmed by a camera like Mary Poppins both versions. A lot of your criticisms were of that type of movie. Just what were you expecting. Was wizard of oz bad because no one's costumes were dirty lol. I expected not to like this and was instead pleasantly entertained

  • peter chen
    peter chen 7 days ago

    I'm kind of laughing just at the comments on how some people are butthurt lol. But anyone the film was just meh to me

  • FLY KIDS 6
    FLY KIDS 6 7 days ago

    Jafar had to many edited parts , wasn't expecting his shaft to get broke when it did. Story-Art gave genie a life after the lamp.
    One thing I pay attention to is speaking things into existence. Genie & Queen's handmaid spoke everything they wanted before they actually had it.

  • sm0rses
    sm0rses 7 days ago

    As someone who didnt watch the original and my only memory of Aladdin is the random snippets of the animated series that happened to be on tv when I had it on as a kid, I think I was one of the older viewers that went without the nostalgic attachment so I think I just went to see it as a normal movie goer.
    There were def bits where I laughed and enjoyed, where most actually included will smith - friend like me, prince Ali, the jams -, but the main gripe I had with it was as you mentioned the whole directing and setup 3:53 that left me with a it was okay.
    From the opening, Aladdin somewhat became Troy Bolton, where his first musical number felt like it could belong to a HSM series. I was quite perplexed, and then I remembered this is Disney, but also, i questioned if a remake of a classic should be comparable to HSM (tho hsms a classic in its own right). And then even later on, when Jasmine had her song, although it is a nice track on its own, the scene for that ... could be more dynamic to support a supposed strong anthem like that. When she burst into song, it reminded me of Cheetah Girls, a scene that could be in movies 2 or 3. Im also a fan of Cheetah girls, but this should be a different scale. Think the greatest showmans never enough scene. That was riveting!
    And there were questionable lines, that Im not sure whether they were scripted or it was a flaw on delivery/execution/directing. There was a line towards the end which was everyone makes mistake and I just burst whatever fantasy illusion thats left for one of my friends singing Hannah Montanas nobodys perfect hahaha.
    Also, I thought it was just me, but I agree the acting felt bland at times. For a movie called Aladdin and from what I think I remember of a more charming character, Aladdin felt quite subdued as played by Mena. The funny thing is that the couple of interviews I watched with him after seeing the movie was that he was so much more charming and playful as himself ! It felt esp jarring when hes together with charismatic Will Smith. To be fair, i think the acting got better for most of the later parts, but as a whole, the acting felt lacking. Naomi Scott was quite alright as Jasmine though.
    It was an eh movie which I wouldnt pay to watch again though a couple of the scenes made some of my moneys worth. And from a non-nostalgic movie-goer pov who also understands that this is one of the classics, the movie I felt gave the wrong kinds of Disney vibes that were mainly from the choice of directing as well as parts of the delivery and execution of lines/characters. I might have a little bias because a little part of me expected the greatest showman standards, and so, a Disney movie maybe isnt supposed to be comparable. But I think I just perceived it as sth that should have been created on that scale.

  • Matt Reid
    Matt Reid 7 days ago

    So picturing a princess with a tiger is hard but the jungle book full of talking animals and a giant monkey is totally fine

  • tsuyoi_hikari
    tsuyoi_hikari 7 days ago

    I unexpectedly really love the movie. It is very entertaining and didnt feel like it is 2 hours long. I'm not the type that easily amuse but Aladdin did it for me somehow. I liked it better than other Disney live action movies tbh. I felt like all the actors were rightfully casted to follow the original cartoon except Jaafar. Had a great time and didnt mind to watch it again for a second time.

  • Leftfield Larrikin
    Leftfield Larrikin 7 days ago

    Well my niece and nephew enjoyed it and im pretty sure there in the demographic that disney were aiming for rather than grown ass men who stilll watch kids shows ? Wierd

  • Rima Sundusita
    Rima Sundusita 7 days ago

    Can Disney be more ignorant than putting Western wedding ceremony in the Middle Eastern background movie?

  • sakura hanuro
    sakura hanuro 8 days ago +1

    I wish this little thing happened in the movie. Remember when Aladdin/Prince Ali was walking through the streets, mumble-complaining about his fight with Genie? He passed by two beggars without acknowledging them. I thought the third beggars he'd come across would be the same children he shared his food with earlier. Once Aladdin sees them, he would have a moment of silent reflection and realized he was being a jerk. And THEN he would look for the lamp in his pocket, wanting to call Genie and apologize, but he realizes that it was stolen by Jafar. I think this would've been a good moment to prove he's "the diamond in the rough".

  • SlowSTI
    SlowSTI 8 days ago

    You sir, REALLY NEEED TO STOP reviewing movies.. you clearly SUCK at it. Please stop.

  • Olga X
    Olga X 8 days ago

    Looks like you are loosing the ability to enjoy movies and stopping picking up on things.

  • Galactic Bird
    Galactic Bird 8 days ago

    The movie was pretty good, it just lack some sword combat scenes, but it's around A+ rating if I were to score it

  • coolzed92
    coolzed92 8 days ago

    Chris I genuinely believe your comment section is astro turfed like well above the usual.

  • Christophe Ferreira
    Christophe Ferreira 8 days ago

    I found annoying they kept calling the tiger a cat...

  • Stephanie Lastname
    Stephanie Lastname 8 days ago

    This movie was unbelievably bad! it sucked! NO one in the cinema was laughing at all.. Complete bore fest, I wound up going home and watching the original! which was so much better!!

  • Covington Halltown
    Covington Halltown 8 days ago +2

    Loved this movie! One of the greats of all time. Perfect for every generation, old and young alike! Go see it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Pocah Doll
    Pocah Doll 8 days ago

    This movie was great. Idk why people have to nitpick.

  • MrFlipperInvader792
    MrFlipperInvader792 8 days ago

    3:25 dont be so over dramatic Chris

  • TheElixir007
    TheElixir007 8 days ago

    One of the few times I disagree with Chris. The movie was actually quite good. Not amazing. But worth your time and money. =)

  • Arissa Yasmin
    Arissa Yasmin 8 days ago

    Any chance you could make a review on secret life of pets 2?

  • Master Roshi33
    Master Roshi33 9 days ago

    You got way to high of standards of movies just stop this movie was good. Yeah it was a little long but good the actors did good too.

  • juan esteban sanchez jimenez

    This Review sucks.

  • Athena
    Athena 10 days ago

    Tough critic. I actually really liked it. Its what I expected from a live action alladin movie仄賤儭 I think people would complained if they didnt have the same things from the original and just started changing things. The point of it is to be a remake not a completely different movie.

  • The Plebeian
    The Plebeian 10 days ago

    I had rather low expectations. Likely as not, this is why my opinion of the film was somewhat higher after I saw it. I would agree Aladdin and Jafar were pretty bad. I kept finding myself having fun throughout the film, however. Nostalgia maybe? My childhood crush on Jasmine re-imagined maybe (yes, this is it!)? Idk. I had fun!

  • YOUNG 3KG'S
    YOUNG 3KG'S 10 days ago

    This movie is trash they should of never change it. It doesn't make sense that Jasmine wants to be sultan and doesn't know how it works my girl was trapped in a castle pretty much all her life. How away

  • Lioness Mummy
    Lioness Mummy 10 days ago

    I walked out of the movie theatre after the street rat musical number. I cant remember the last time I did that. I very rarely walk out of a movie. Any scene that had Jafar in it was excruciatingly awful for me. I dont like Guy Richie as a director, I couldnt sit through his Sherlock Holmes atrocity. The only thing that kept me in my seat for as long as I did was the woman who played Jasmine and the chemistry that she had with the guy who played Aladdin, and that only lasted about twenty minutes.

  • Rae Estomata
    Rae Estomata 10 days ago

    Love this review. Agree, agree, AGREE.

  • Having a bad day Yourself Up

    Why select an Indian woman to play an exotic middle eastern princess. I guess we all look the same to you lol.

  • Hailey Juliana
    Hailey Juliana 11 days ago

    Seriously, THANK YOU. This movie is getting so much praise and I felt that it had a lot of potential that it didn't live up to. My biggest thing was it not being lively enough. I'm so glad someone said it.

  • sanchu jos
    sanchu jos 11 days ago

    your movie review is not trustworthy . i was planning to watch this movie in 4dx and once i saw u r negative reviews about this movie , i though u might be right and decided not to watch this movie . i kind of accidentally had to see this movie yesterday and all i have to say is its another great movie by disney . i will definitely rate it a 8/10 . sad that i missed the 4dx 3d verson . please stop misleading people by negative comments . now that u have given MIB a bad rating , i am gonna watch that as well . we will see how that goies .

  • Unknown user 235 60
    Unknown user 235 60 11 days ago

    Honestly I really enjoyed this movie

  • Haitian Fab31
    Haitian Fab31 11 days ago

    Can we take a moment to acknowledge Chris's shirt game. He be having some dope shirts.

  • Shir-Sure
    Shir-Sure 11 days ago +1

    SPOILERS!


    To be fair, it may be super clean because the genie was retelling this story to his kids.

  • Sir Erkel
    Sir Erkel 11 days ago

    Will Smith was basically the only good part of the movie, everything else is bland

  • Gabby Henderson
    Gabby Henderson 11 days ago

    I didn't think it was THAT bad. I'd at least give it a B-

  • my dude
    my dude 11 days ago +11

    The biggest complaint for me was the pacing. It went really fast in the beginning and basically stopped until the end

  • Slave_To_The_Grey_Gods_ _Imortal_Low_Life

    Dude the movie was spectacular, and you should be pleased with the fact that ALADIN was based on REAL Arabian myth. So yeah, I could actually imagine this being something in 'real life' instead of your nit picky ass animated Robin Williams loving ass. Nothing against RW, or the OG movie, but you are being to critical on a KIDS movie my dudeth. I'm happy enough that I got to even watch MY CHILDHOOD REVAMPED FOR THE LIKING OF FEELING THE NOSTALGIA *AGAIN*

  • The one that got away
    The one that got away 11 days ago +42

    Beauty and the beast A- and aladdin c- chris aladdin deserve more :-(

    • aj pat
      aj pat 3 days ago +1

      @Saleh Ali F**king wrong for a f**king F, ret**d.
      Beauty and the Beast deserved the A-.
      Aladdin on the other hand, D.

    • Saleh Ali
      Saleh Ali 4 days ago +1

      Both films deserve a fat fucking F

    • Tim Sevigney
      Tim Sevigney 8 days ago +4

      True. This movie was 10x better than that shit lol

  • Maya Morrow
    Maya Morrow 12 days ago +2

    In this movie Aladdin talks like a fukboy...

  • Haris Nk
    Haris Nk 12 days ago

    my only complain is the city look really fake..i can see its on indoor studio

  • Lese39
    Lese39 12 days ago

    In Spanish, the genie is voiced by the original actor from the animated movies so it isn't that different.

  • Maycifer
    Maycifer 12 days ago

    i really liked this movie! my one gripe was the fact that Disney apparently can't tell the difference between Arabian and India

  • Junjun
    Junjun 12 days ago

    A 100% agree bout the outfit. It makes the film feel out of place. There is a reason Marvel superheroe costumes "toned down". Not as extravagance as in the comics. Bout "the dirt clothes" see Leonne-Morricone western movies those are the best.

  • Earth_ Bound
    Earth_ Bound 12 days ago

    I give it a D

  • Andrey Klimov
    Andrey Klimov 12 days ago +1

    I think this is not that kind of movie to make it look super real and dirty. This is not that you can expect from a Disney fairytale. Everything looked very clean and colorful on purpose. It would be weird if Aladdin looked like Ritchie's "King Arthur"

  • Calvin F
    Calvin F 12 days ago +2

    My advice is, don't put any expectation to this movie. It will be more enjoyable when you have zero expectation.
    Actually it is not too bad at all. Pretty refreshing way to tell the story.
    Will Smith did really well with the songs especially Arabian Night.

  • INCA
    INCA 12 days ago

    I like it!

  • o0Desimere0o
    o0Desimere0o 12 days ago

    Only problem i had with the film was Jafar and the woke propaganda behind the patriarchy shutting jasmine down "know your place woman" "Stay quiet" I didnt even mind Jasmine wanting to be sultan but the exaggerated Patronizing from the sultan and Jafar was like.... really? Guess we have to make enemies nowadays where there are none to give your life meaning.... like in politics

  • asyraf atarhim
    asyraf atarhim 12 days ago +60

    C- Minus ? Really?? I'd give a B at least. With bias probably B+.

  • Bruno Rehder
    Bruno Rehder 13 days ago

    Disney remakes arent meant for you, Chris. They are meant for those who arent over 26 and saw the original one in the theater.

  • AndrewTheGuy
    AndrewTheGuy 13 days ago +1

    So, maybe it's because I didn't grow up with the original Aladdin, but I prefer Will Smith over Robin Williams.

  • Sam Ash
    Sam Ash 13 days ago

    I love this movie, fast paced and charming...
    Cinderella and Beauty and Beast made me fall asleep in theaters...

    • Shir-Sure
      Shir-Sure 11 days ago

      I agree Cinderella was a boring G movie. That was a real cash grab. At least the other remakes tried lol

  • Lark
    Lark 13 days ago +2

    I think Mena did find in the role..I had no real expectations when I went in so I enjoyed myself.

  • Bryon Devine
    Bryon Devine 13 days ago

    Kool man. I wont have to watch this ever......

  • hoc1992
    hoc1992 13 days ago +2

    I disagree with the Comment section!!! It WAS A C- . This wasnt great. Weve all seen better movies than this. Btw the original is classic. No need to re-do it