Aladdin - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 23, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Aladdin, starring Will Smith, Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, Marwan Kenzari, Navid Negahban, Nasim Pedrad, Billy Magnussen, Numan Acar. Directed by Guy Ritchie.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 217

  • Chef C
    Chef C Day ago

    I judged this movie so hard from the trailer, Again the power of cinema man you can't judge a book by it's cover. Will Smith had huge shoes to fill and went way beyond my expectations. The movie stayed in it's own lane and it was amazing.

  • Asad Rizwan
    Asad Rizwan Day ago

    they should have cast jim carry as gene...

  • Asad Rizwan
    Asad Rizwan Day ago

    RIP Robin Williams...

  • Cyrus The Great
    Cyrus The Great 2 days ago

    Holy crud! I completely forgot this remake existed. Just like any other live action disney remakes, excluding the jungle book and cinderella.

  • Gerry Reid
    Gerry Reid 2 days ago

    Recently saw this movie, this is the only honest review of it, poorly made bad acting but will smith was great

  • emil engen
    emil engen 3 days ago

    I will not see this movie there's a misandric feminist song in it.

  • Mimah 101
    Mimah 101 3 days ago

    4:30 "This movie, everything looks clean, so relentlessly perfect looking..."
    Um Chris, are you sure your still talking about flaws here?
    😂😂

  • TheAnimelover360
    TheAnimelover360 11 days ago

    My expectations were do low for that movie and I didn't hate it, I won't watch it again but ...yeah. they should have change how jasmin stole the apple to give the child. I love the length of the movie and how it have the characters more time to fall in love. I agree with your gradding

  • sssinfullyyours
    sssinfullyyours 12 days ago

    I hated the “A Whole New World” part of the movie where they were flying around at night! Wtf! We can’t see anything!!

  • Badly named channel
    Badly named channel 13 days ago

    The ONLY real criticism I have is that Ben Kingsley wasn't Jafar.

  • Nelson Cabico
    Nelson Cabico 13 days ago

    I wish disney made alladin like a real live bollywood movie..

  • cool killer
    cool killer 13 days ago

    Only if they casted Ranveer Singh as Aladdin this film could've escalated to a different realm !

  • Simo Häyhö
    Simo Häyhö 14 days ago

    I think Will Smith was the best part of the movie

  • MrFlipperInvader792
    MrFlipperInvader792 15 days ago

    3:20 cmon chris grow a spine

  • RodCornholio
    RodCornholio 16 days ago

    Poor acting (or directing of actors) - aside from Smith, naturally - in part due to poorly written dialogue. Awful, out-of-place, unmemorable song writing (other than "A Whole New World). Miscast....everyone, other than Smith and the monkey. Typical, modern-film, shit sandwich; great visual effects wrapped around mushy feces.

  • ElectroShock
    ElectroShock 16 days ago

    Will Smith looks like a goddamn smurf. lol. There should have been a voice actor for the Genie and the Genie of course would have been a photorealistic Genie using CGI. Also the cave of wonders should have been more menacing and bigger like it was shown in the animated film. Jafar wasn't evil enough in this movie either. The animated Jafar was truly evil and that was rated G whereas the live-action film is rated PG. So I don't understand what the fuck happened.

  • peregrine
    peregrine 18 days ago

    Just want to point out at the end of the movie after they win against Jafar, they never go back and free the palace guards from the prison that sided with them

  • Jeremy Lee
    Jeremy Lee 22 days ago

    Aladdin was so good. Idk Aladdin was great as Aladdin hahah! Definitely far better than the Lion King live action remake. Will was great af! But I did want Genie to lose to carpet “I lost to a rug.” Hahah

  • A K
    A K 22 days ago

    I absolutely hated Jafar in this movie, with him on the screen I instantly felt uncomfortable. He was simply not threatening enough for the role, he was short and his features were way too round and "likable" compared to the cartoon version. I guess the film makers did this on purpose, since Jasmine was the feminist hero of the movie and if Jafar was this big tall witch-like evil villain (like he should have been), the young princess Jasmine challenging him would not have been believable.

  • Nikola Vidic
    Nikola Vidic 25 days ago

    Chris "i have something stuck up my ass man" stfu, the movie was good period!

    • MG3
      MG3 13 days ago

      Chill the fuck out it's his opinion on the movie get over it

    • ElectroShock
      ElectroShock 16 days ago

      No it wasn't good. I had higher expectations for this movie and this movie did not live up to my expectations either. The live-action version just sucks. I'm sorry if that offends you but most people I've talked to agree with me.

  • moviebuff1275
    moviebuff1275 26 days ago

    who else is watching this review before watching the actual movie?? 😅😅

  • Trisha Leigh
    Trisha Leigh 28 days ago +2

    I rewatched the “Never had a friend like Me” & “Prince Ali” sequences several times. I laughed along, rooted for the heroes & heroines, fell in love & cried tears of joy at the end! Wonderful LIVE ACTION remake & thought Guy Ritchie was perfect. As for the original & Robin Williams, they cannot be outdone; true perfection! So it’s a different take. Just as Heath & Joaquin had different but amazing takes on the joker!

  • QueenQuita
    QueenQuita Month ago

    A very great and executed movie. The music the dancing the acting and the CGI was great. I thought they were going to screw it up but I walked out satisfied. I disagree with most of your critique. I thought they did good with bringing it to reality. It's magic in the real world.... of course it's not going to be as deep dark and precise like Game of Thrones. Just a fun silly movie for the imagination. You're thinking toooo much on this movie. A C minus? Really tho....

  • MundoJuanci
    MundoJuanci Month ago

    I have to agree with your review, Chris

  • Jvv ng Tondo
    Jvv ng Tondo Month ago

    Will Smith nailed it. We really need a black guy in a every movie for real xd

  • mufudzi makaza
    mufudzi makaza Month ago +1

    I enjoyed this movie 👌

  • moonwalker things
    moonwalker things Month ago

    If you're saying "pretty good" to a movie, the movie was trash.

  • Jeffrey Pressey
    Jeffrey Pressey Month ago

    I've rarely had so much fun watching a movie as this. B+ in my book, and for a great litmus test, I think Robin would have loved it

  • Stephen Last name
    Stephen Last name Month ago

    I fell asleep during this movie

  • Stephen Last name
    Stephen Last name Month ago

    Jafar could’ve been so much better

  • Atabul Sk
    Atabul Sk Month ago

    This is awesome

  • rudeboymon
    rudeboymon Month ago +1

    Everything about this movie from the special effects to the acting completely won me over. I thought it was going to be cheesy and terrible. Watch it, its really good and Will Smith was actually great as Genie👍

  • Frankie Cuellar
    Frankie Cuellar Month ago

    Love the shirt I used to work at blockbuster. and when the store close I was going to throw away my uniform. but then I decided to keep it but thinking about it was going to be nostalgic one day. And now look you're wearing Blockbuster so I knew it was going to be a thing in the future. good thing I kept it. I'll wear it sometimes to stores an people would always something

  • CyPha SaRin
    CyPha SaRin Month ago

    It's like you spoke my mind, the movie was better than i thought, Will was better than all the shit people gave him, the singing was meh, i swear some of it was autotuned, but that dude they cast as Jafar, WHAT THE ACTUAL F xD

  • Gaming Nation
    Gaming Nation Month ago

    I gave Aladdin a B

  • chanel henderson
    chanel henderson Month ago

    i refuse to watch this film

  • Mads D
    Mads D Month ago

    I was bored. Jafar was not menacing at all. So glad the animated version still exists. I like the new song performed by Naomi though.

  • ThatYoutubeGirl
    ThatYoutubeGirl Month ago

    I agree with you on the acting. Especially Jafar.

  • L Morgan
    L Morgan Month ago

    Will always brings his a game. He would be a great mentor

  • Na Ru
    Na Ru Month ago

    this movie is awesome

  • Lacei Barber
    Lacei Barber Month ago

    I hated the hip hop aspect of this film. Completely took away the magic. Will Smith was alright. But the rap/hip hop style sucked. Would they have gone that direction with a different actor playing genie or was it only like that because of will smith? Actor playing aladdin was cheesy and didn’t feel like he was playing a a character. Jasmine was okay. SO AUTOTUNED! Terrible cgi. Jafar was a total fail. Actor was cheesy. They clearly missed the mark. I wish they would’ve went with a more cultural approach like Bollywood and had better actors

  • Mustafa Sakib
    Mustafa Sakib Month ago

    it's much easier to forgive the cringeworthy acting and shitty dialogues when viewed in a theater.

  • kenneth miller
    kenneth miller Month ago

    will smith is ok as will smith but he was totaly wrong for this role and if that is the best part of the movie then its a bad movie.

  • Michael Anderson
    Michael Anderson Month ago +1

    Never listen to critics, This movie was a lot of fun and Lion King sucked.

  • Hitler Kun
    Hitler Kun Month ago

    I really don't understand how people enjoyed this. Alladin was a big part of my childhood and i could not for the life of me finish this movie, to start off it was oh so cringe! The singing although was good in its own right, was terrible in the broader veiw of things. I don't even want to finish this comment on account of how appalling the film was.

  • Jazmin A
    Jazmin A Month ago

    Aladdin guy looked like him but geez he had no genuine charisma . And jafar was like some random clown . Plus it was bollywoodesque and not Arab 😒🙄

  • GoddessOfWhim2003
    GoddessOfWhim2003 Month ago

    i didn't care for it. it was both fast and slow. somethings were rushed and others wouldn't end. Aladdin meeting Jasmine-rushed, the party scene-wouldn't end. i didn't care about the Genie's "love story", Jasmine's song Speechless was fundamentally fine but lyrically cringey-it was a pain to get through. i'm glad i didn't pay money to see it

  • Brave Wolf Gamer 101

    I personally really really liked the film.

  • Sharkzbyte Fisto
    Sharkzbyte Fisto Month ago

    I like your review of movies because you are a newer video producer I try to be one too but I don't have much money for effects 😭and not to many of my family or friends can play in my short movies

  • M R
    M R Month ago

    The chick was hot

  • blackfox1320
    blackfox1320 Month ago

    This movie was absolutely terrible. Awful storytelling, horrendous acting, piss poor music; this was an all around disaster. Please stop supporting these live actions, They're the worst.

  • Manuel David Rendon Acevedo

    I do disagree with a couple of points Chris mentions on his review, but I can surely respect it

  • Kevin
    Kevin Month ago

    You actually like these movies?
    UnSubScrIBeD!!!!

  • 丂卄ㄩㄒ乇ㄚ乇

    Kinda late but imo, I think the film was aight. Its not worth watching in theaters but renting it and watching it with the fam is quite fun. Thats my take on this movie.

  • Tiller King
    Tiller King Month ago

    Is true that Will Smith was the best thing in the movie, Aladdin's actor was horrible.

  • UNREAL REALITY
    UNREAL REALITY Month ago

    All people now ever want is the movie to be "MORE REALISTIC" ....live action movie can still be real but a fantasy...like our dream ...everything is real but still something's different...that's the kind of vibe i got from this movie and i loved it!....Everything is real and normal but it's not because you're flying and shooting bullets from your fingers but it is hard to tell.......And now that i think about it.... people will love Aladdin movie more if it were more like a horror movie.....cause even though there's a bit of "UNREALISTIC" part to it..people will love it cause everything dark and scary is what they relate to their life after all !!...and yes my English is bad and i don't have a genie to learn it overnight so stop bitching about bad grammar.

  • The 11th Hour
    The 11th Hour Month ago

    Too bad you gotta be vulgar mouthed to review a movie Chris... especially a kid's movie. There's something seriously wrong with you dude.

  • Captain Barbossa
    Captain Barbossa 2 months ago

    I agree with SO many things Stuckmann has said about the movie although I didn’t think it was terrible just not close to being perfect.
    Things I liked about it:
    1. Will Smith was a really good Genie.
    2. Naomi Scott as Jasmine was excellent!
    3. The musical sequences were fun, energetic and all around great.
    4. The changes added were acceptable ones.
    5. Costumes and sets looked great.
    Things I did not like:
    1. Jafar-laughable casting error. Guy had nothing on the original Jafar.
    2. CGI and production not always great looking.
    3. Speechless was so unnecessary. Reminded me of the overrated Let it Go.
    4. The dialogue was atrocious at times like the jams joke, really??
    5. Aladdin’s actor while good for most part, could have had a little more emotion to his performance.
    6. The animal characters and the Magic Carpet not having much to do to the point where they didn’t feel like they had character.
    7. Iconic lines from the original used in the remake feeling stilted and dry.
    8. The Sultan feeling bland as a character.
    9. The Cave of Wonders lacking much of the character and dread the original had.
    10. Certain sequences felt rushed especially in the beginning. Granted I give them credit for trying to take a different approach.

    Think that's about it. Also what's kinda sad is that the energy and the life of the original film is nonexistent here. This remake felt like all of the power and energy was drained out in exchange for an attempt at a more serious and epic movie and it didn't have to be at all.

    I'd give Aladdin 2019 a C+

  • Kelsie Williams
    Kelsie Williams 2 months ago

    Shity ass movie complete fucking fake

  • Anissa Clarke
    Anissa Clarke 2 months ago

    I agree with everything you said