Ghost In The Shell - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 3 121

  • Karim Selkridge
    Karim Selkridge Month ago

    I finally saw this movie. And I felt it hit in all the right places. Surprisingly I thought it was a really good adaptation of the anime... They changed a few things to make the movie more understandable but they did most of the major moments from the original... and did them well.
    Great movie if you are a fan of the original.

  • Jeremiah Stewart
    Jeremiah Stewart Month ago

    I have to disagree with this. Even as a fan of ghost in the shell. I personally found this movie to be interesting. And there is some significant emotional scenes that happen in it as well.

  • inavzi olanam
    inavzi olanam 2 months ago

    GITS live action good right? Put at this imagine Captain America but the actor is a Japanese im 100% sure even if the actor is a great one and speaking fluent american language no one will accept it.
    I cannot believe what they have done in an already renown anime to be like that i like the visuals and some fighting scene in the live action but overall they disrespect the anime big time the only legit role in GITS live action is the lead officer of sector 9 the old guy and the rest is out of place batou is good also becoz in anime batou looks like american mercenary though he did not spoke japanese language even in talking to their lead officer the movie will be really great if they put some respect on it. The production disrespect the story, ethnicity/culture of the anime itself. Maybe it will work if the anime is universal but too bad GITS is not

  • Ivanka2024 for POTUS
    Ivanka2024 for POTUS 2 months ago

    Great film

  • Aya Almaghrabi
    Aya Almaghrabi 2 months ago

    please watch the anime and review it

  • Jahmilla Vanilla
    Jahmilla Vanilla 3 months ago

    The anime was and is much better

  • Anmol Dudani
    Anmol Dudani 4 months ago

    No no nobody liked it

  • Dan The-Man
    Dan The-Man 4 months ago

    I saw a lot of bad reviews for this movie, so I avoided it, even though I liked the '95 anime, and the trailer for this western adaptation looked like it retained a lot of the original material. But now that I've seen it, I wish I had seen it in the theater, it was that good. Sorry Jeremy, I don't see what you disliked about it.

    • RS 09
      RS 09 4 months ago

      Jeremy seems to be expecting the basic question that the concept that Ghost in the Shell asks, as in the soul and the body, while the live action assumes you've already got that down and moved on to explore something else like consent, parental identity, racial identity, etc. These aren't something newcomers would exactly catch or appreciate going into the franchise for the first time because their basic question haven't been answered. Certain aspects of the movie requires the knowledge of the franchise too (a la the Kusanagi Motoko reveal. The fans would care, Jeremy didn't, and that's understandable.)
      Really, I loved the movie, but I felt like the amount of people who would loved it is very niche. It's still not accessible enough for the general audience, it's not pretentious enough for the arthouse critics, the action isn't constant enough for the popcorn crowd, many anime fans don't wanna embrace it, and there's the sjws.

  • Juan José Fonseca Godoy

    This video proves that Jeremy knows shit about movies. I'll stick with Stuckman

  • E D
    E D 5 months ago

    I haven't seen the anime yet and I don't doubt it's probably much better.
    That being said i just watched this on Netflix and was expecting an average movie but I actually really liked it. Some of the story played out a bit obvious but I thought they nailed the tone and you could tell something wasn't right. The music and tone made me uncomfortable (in a good way) and I cared a lot about the main character.
    I think the last 15 minutes is where it fell off a little but everything leading up to it was great. I give it an 8/10.

    • RS 09
      RS 09 4 months ago

      Interesting. As a big fan of the franchise, the last 15 minutes were among my favourite of the movie. Would you mind elaborate what you thought was off? Was it the Motoko Kusanagi/Hideo Kuze reveal?

  • Jack Fleetwood
    Jack Fleetwood 5 months ago

    "yeeah now itz a barty"

  • ThePeoplesChamp
    ThePeoplesChamp 6 months ago +1

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The visuals are fantastic and the audio?... Holy shit. The sound engineers went to town on this one. I love all the Japanese culture (shout out to Honda for supporting the movie). The story never got boring - Hideo's history reveal was enthralling and Major's Japanese DNA was a total mind f*** . We had some seriously good acting - Thank you Scarlett Johansson, Michael Pitt and Pilou Asbæk. My opinion is completely objective as I haven't watched the anime. This movie captivating to the end. 10/10

  • StuffedDigiDestined - The Poplio N' Bros Show

    Ghost In The Shit

  • MeldThe Steel
    MeldThe Steel 6 months ago

    Only good live action anime movie we've had in a while

  • I C
    I C 6 months ago

    It's a movie for all those weebs who can't accept that other people don't automatically love something just "because Japanese".

  • Walkin'Cat
    Walkin'Cat 6 months ago

    The movie is a pile of shit on so many levels.

  • Ty Queen
    Ty Queen 6 months ago

    Watch it again after you watch the 1995 anime. They really did a great job with this.

  • N7Gambler
    N7Gambler 7 months ago

    This movie made me walk out the theatre and not experience a movie I paid to see. This is the first time a movie was so bad it made me leave before finishing it.

  • diddymuck
    diddymuck 7 months ago

    flopped because the series is boring outside of its concept. If they wanted to spend millions on anime flicks, try Full Metal Alchemist, Lupin the Third, or Cowboy Bebop.

  • CyberRonin
    CyberRonin 8 months ago

    The anime is better but this wasn't a bad attempt. I actually liked the story more in the live action movie than the anime.

  • Mel Jordan Iii
    Mel Jordan Iii 9 months ago +1

    I just watched it. Although, I played the video game, where the main character, was in a spider like tank, I found the movie to be more entertaining, than Wonder Woman.

  • groundchele
    groundchele 10 months ago +1

    this man needs to see the original lmao none of the fans liked it because the original is considered a masterpiece

  • ColdOneK
    ColdOneK 10 months ago +1

    it doesn't live up to the anime or the anime movies
    they did what every single "live-action" adaptation does
    they made up goofy b/s characters and called them the names of the characters from the original
    they changed core parts of the world - for no reason
    they didn't even take the time to retard-check their story - you know that moment where you step back - read the story - and ask yourself, "Is this completely retarded?"
    evil corp - lets take an anti-gov hobo party teen's brain - put it into an absurdly expensive synthetic body - and have it lead "Section 9" - a gov organization created to fight cyber terrorism
    this was a cash-grab at people who like the anime
    it's basically dragonball: evolution for Ghost In the Shell

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All 10 months ago +1

    Going into it without knowing any of the back story, I thought it was a boring knockoff of bladerunner meets Matrix. This is why a black widow movie would be a mistake too.

  • David Smith
    David Smith 10 months ago

    i liked it

  • mattronimus
    mattronimus 10 months ago

    HBO did make a show like this... Westworld .

  • Husam M
    Husam M 10 months ago

    I really liked the movie. Haven't seen the anime though

  • I'm LawstarXP
    I'm LawstarXP 10 months ago

    I enjoyed the movie but the anime is better

  • MasterStryfe
    MasterStryfe 10 months ago +1

    Visually appealing? More like appalling. Half the time I couldnt see shit and it was predictable like a mofo.

  • Yuichi_Deletes
    Yuichi_Deletes 10 months ago

    Hey..*jumps cuts*
    So this is..*jumps cut*
    Ghost in the s*jumps cut*

  • MovieFanZ
    MovieFanZ 11 months ago

    I really enjoyed this movie. I liked the action, story, and visuals. My only issue is that I don't see a lot of rewatch ability. So I give this movie 8/10

  • Mia Bailey
    Mia Bailey 11 months ago +1

    I just watched this and I 100% agree. I was so bored through most of it and I thought the dialogue was heavy handed and terrible. A lot of potential but execution was poor.

  • Jay Stevens
    Jay Stevens 11 months ago

    Scarlett Johansson is Beautiful as always.

  • Jay Stevens
    Jay Stevens 11 months ago +1

    it was ok. better for Netflix, not theaters. it didn't do the anime justice. at least they had a spider tank, I was waiting the whole time to see one. im a fan of the SOC series

  • Brian Green
    Brian Green 11 months ago

    You are actually introduced to the so-called second villain, first. He was clearly the bad guy.

  • Chris Wincek
    Chris Wincek 11 months ago

    I thought the movie was good it could have been longer though and I'm hoping they make another and bring back Scarlett Johansson back as the major and the rest the people that were part of section 9 turn the movie if they do make another one I'm hoping that it is better then the second animated Ghost in the Shell movie

  • High5
    High5 11 months ago +1

    Just watched it it's really not that bad and the visuals are really cool. Kind of wish they would have given Togusa more of a back story just because he's one of my favorite character from the anime.

  • Flynn Skywalker
    Flynn Skywalker 11 months ago

    Why wait till the final minute of the review to say you haven't watched the animation , this makes your whole video invalid, watched first then say something about it !!

  • XxM1THRAND1RxX
    XxM1THRAND1RxX 11 months ago

    Did anybody saw the Metal Gear Phantom Pain homages in this film or was it just me?

  • XxM1THRAND1RxX
    XxM1THRAND1RxX 11 months ago

    Wow i can't believe it, this is the first time i disagree with Jeremy. I didn't see the anime and i thought this was a good movie, not perfect but a good movie no alcohol required.

  • 0Anesthetic 4u
    0Anesthetic 4u Year ago

    I gotta disagree, Scar Jo is the only person on Earth who can play an emotionless robot that effectively...
    Wait that's not what shes supposed to be?

  • TuMMa TiMe
    TuMMa TiMe Year ago

    Yeah this guy understood so little about 1# the concept and 2# the point if you like the original film watch it if not watch the original first or youll miss alot

  • Kurosaki Ichigo
    Kurosaki Ichigo Year ago

    Jeremy Jahns just saw your review on the money but for one thing. I'm a huge manga and anime geek but I thought this movie was a dumpster fire. I feel sorry for Johannson cos she was literally turning Japanese slowly through the movie wonder how she felt about that part of the 'script'. Even after dragonball evolution they learn nothing.

  • Templar Enforcer
    Templar Enforcer Year ago

    the anime was way better, and its the only anime i ever watched.

  • Chriss RE
    Chriss RE Year ago

    Im the only one that liked this movie. :)

  • Banana Hammock
    Banana Hammock Year ago

    Typical movie review. "I know nothing of the background story or even the genre. I go to a movie because the trailer cgi looks good and it has an actor in it whose name I recognize". GITS is not only a dystopian scifi, but it deals simultaneously with metaphysical "soul and humanity" issues as well as being a political drama. But that's okay if most people don't see those layers. Most people are entertained by such epic dramas as The Bachelor and Big Brother. Go back to your living room Jeremy and please don't share your opinion on a movie unless you actually have some reasonable knowledge about what you're commenting on. You are embarrassing yourself.

  • Elleon Ken
    Elleon Ken Year ago +1

    If you ask me, the Major and Bato's personalities are a complete miss and so is the entire movie.They shoved a lot of stuff in this movie that i've never seen in the anime and the movie overall is very boring.Just because Scarlet is cast as Major people aren't giving the movie as much sh*** as it deserves(which i don't agree with).

  • Aaron Howell
    Aaron Howell Year ago

    Probably should watch the original if you're going to critique the remake... =/

  • Josh Van Natta
    Josh Van Natta Year ago +1

    It was hollow af.

  • young_padawan
    young_padawan Year ago

    its another by the numbers movie...fuck hollywood

  • Wildicon19
    Wildicon19 Year ago

    Just a note on movies today and movies written a while back, today the movies rely on intense action and CGI to hit it big it seems. The older movies were written better and did not rely on the eye-popping CGI to carry it through. The writing is getting better, don't get me wrong. There are some movies that are well written, however, there are some out there that do not quite fit the bill, and look like they were rushed to get it out to the public.

    "Que the hate mail"

  • Wildicon19
    Wildicon19 Year ago

    Thank you, Jeremy for your honest review of Ghost in the Shell. I personally loved the movie as it had an interesting twist in the plot. The twist worked for me as it made the live action adaptation stand out from the original despite it borrowing heavily from the anime.

  • tiaopiak
    tiaopiak Year ago

    Just watched the movie. No way near the 1995 anime movie but a good movie to watch. From all the bad ratings from many reviewers, was surprised it is quite good.
    Hopefully it will do well in the blue ray releases and more people will like it.

  • MagicianFlip69
    MagicianFlip69 Year ago

    because they did ghost in the shell justice . I look forward to vampire hunter D. ninjascroll. Appleseed. evangelion. macross. voltron.

  • TonyDracon
    TonyDracon Year ago +1

    movie is shit. and cgi city was shit.

  • ODC ART
    ODC ART Year ago +1

    holy shit man you are the one reviewer who speaks the truth it was a beautiful boaring af

  • gronkgrunk
    gronkgrunk Year ago

    I watched the original anime years ago & i thought this hollywood version was pretty good, except for minor details & simplifying of certain elements. No alcohol required for me to enjoy this.

  • geak
    geak Year ago

    Good video

  • Pedro Santos
    Pedro Santos Year ago +2

    Im really disappointed with this movie:-/
    Super dumb down one of the most intelligent anime movies ever made.

  • Danny SJ
    Danny SJ Year ago +1

    I feel like it was missing a few things.... Character development as she gets used to being a robot... Skipping a year straight from the beginning, bullshit

  • DocterOreo
    DocterOreo Year ago

    So to put it bluntly it wasn't a bad movie I enjoyed it
    But the entire series of Ghost in the Shell is like 50 hours long and it felt like the producers tried to put all of that content into a 2 hour movie
    It compared to the series it feels like a movie of Easter eggs
    I give the movie a 7/10

  • Jack Kraken
    Jack Kraken Year ago

    You should watch the original movie, while your perceptions were bang on target you would have realized that the villain from the original was way more interesting and thought proving. Think of the original villain as the Ai from the movie Her (2013) that went rogue.

  • soulsurvivor2001
    soulsurvivor2001 Year ago

    It sucked hard.

  • MaverickMarty
    MaverickMarty Year ago

    All things considered, I really liked the anime movie and the S.A.C. series (have yet to see the revised series) and as I was watching, and seeing how they tied in certain scenes from the anime movie, it didn't feel like it was TOO shoehorned in for just fan-service. They made it work in a way for the things they changed to "Americanize" it.
    So in a nutshell, I was not disappointed.
    Could it have been better? Probably. Was it bad? No.
    When I go into remade stuff like this, I try to view it not as a fan, but as anyone going in for the first time would, not knowing anything about the series at all... and on that note, I recommend it.

  • Graikos
    Graikos Year ago

    No

  • ryublueblanka
    ryublueblanka Year ago

    oh and yeah...watch the original and #2 innocence... its based off those two

  • ryublueblanka
    ryublueblanka Year ago

    when I first herd about this movie I was super excited but then I really thought about it...some things just shouldn't be remade and some things just can't be messed with. the anime ghost in the shell is incredible..its close to perfection. It "stands alone" even after all these years and accumulated knowledge its still the GOAT =]

  • Raverz s
    Raverz s Year ago

    bet you never watched the anime. basic review for basic generic people

  • c0c0456
    c0c0456 Year ago +1

    WORST WHITE WASHED MOVIE EVER!!!!
    I mean, they are in JAPAN!!!

  • MotvnGM
    MotvnGM Year ago +7

    I am a fan of Ghost In The Shell, but this movie was way to long, and I found myself waiting for the ending.... Should have watched Power Rangers.....

  • Jesse F
    Jesse F Year ago

    I don't understand the mediocre reviews, this movie is awesome

  • bannajirocks
    bannajirocks Year ago

    my last review video from Jeremy. sick of his chatter.

  • EarlGrey
    EarlGrey Year ago

    It was allright.. mostly because of scarlett johanson who did a great job. And visually the new one is also beautifully done.
    But in all other aspects.. be it storyline, atmosphere, philosophy, score.. the old ones are absolutely superior.

  • Derek Jones
    Derek Jones Year ago

    21 st century CGI, 1980's mindset. JUST MAKE NEUROMANCER, IT'S ALL THERE!!!

  • PhyschoBoB Bobbinthon

    Her wig threw me off the entire movie.

  • S.T.A.R
    S.T.A.R Year ago +4

    This was good movie
    THERE IS NOT ENOUGH DEEP MEANINGFUL SCI-FI LIKE THIS
    MOSTLY HOLLYWOOD JUST LIKE TO BLOW SHIT UP AND THE AUDIENCE ENJOY IT 😒#transformers

  • otaku 22
    otaku 22 Year ago

    I really really REALLY LOVED this movie

  • Le Ghostface
    Le Ghostface Year ago

    Chris Stuckman is better sorry his review was way better

  • Winston Chueng
    Winston Chueng Year ago

    The anime was way better. The opening was cool then it went down hill.

  • getyapaper
    getyapaper Year ago

    I saw the original back in the days and I saw this new one now. Basically, I don't care for the story that much... neither for the anime nor for this movie. To be quiet frankly I don't even care for the story of Blade Runner that much either. I mention both movies because there is definitely some similarities. I just like the visiuals. The atmosphere, the look and the feel is what makes the movie. I appreciate the movie that they really make the anime look like a real movie. They really nailed it down. Story wise I just don't care, but this was with the original anime the same case. However, muted down on TV drunk with friends I can watch this any day.

  • Elizabeth Crespo
    Elizabeth Crespo Year ago

    Bladder control 😂

  • thai pham
    thai pham Year ago

    this guy is a fag movie was awesome... what is there not to understand? they kill orphans to take their brain to put into synthetic bodies to see if they would work

  • david walton
    david walton Year ago

    the way he fucking talks gets on your nerves

  • byrn
    byrn Year ago

    Eh. For me, its always been The Story First. I could care less how it's presented - live action, animation, CGI - whatever. I hate to quote the bronies but I'm here for the plot. I'm here for the mind fodder that sticks in your subconscious and heart long after the shiny has worn off - because the only true test of time, the only true measure of success is in the memories you inspire in those who live beyond you...

  • Roberta K.
    Roberta K. Year ago

    It does not do justice to the animation... they completely changed the story. And of course the anime movie was way better.

  • Eon Ziggy
    Eon Ziggy Year ago

    awesome adaptation

  • I'm Negan
    I'm Negan Year ago

    You know why I hated the movie I kept seeing the actress Rila Fukushima instead of Scarlett Johanson. Seriously this was a movie were they had the chance to cast a beatiful asian lead actress(for once) and they have to fuck it up with chosing generic casual scarlett johanson who we've seen a thousand times and has an ulgy long ass nose imho. WHY DO THEY ALWAYS DO THIS??? They change fucking Johnny Storm into a black guy for diversitys sake which fucks up the whole lore because he should be invisble womans brother(well goodbye to that whole emotional connection)????!! and in this movie they fuck it up by whitwashing an asian character OMFG... -.- Hollywood has no fucking clue about what they are doing and a lot of people should get fired it's disgusting

  • bushido woods
    bushido woods Year ago +1

    who's this Chris everybody's taking about

  • jasoninthetube
    jasoninthetube Year ago

    A Good movie

  • Kronickillness Nikolaos

    yeah go watch the anime and it's pretty damn good despite being a lil too slow talking about fictional politics lol aren't they all. but yeah none of the trailers grabbed me either cuz that scenes in the anime&possible that it was done better but idk so gotta see it first. that's why I'm watching this to see if it's worth it even

    • Kronickillness Nikolaos
      Kronickillness Nikolaos Year ago

      they'll do BOTH lmao. so it'd just like the anime lol I shouldn't have paused pfft

  • HimmuraTube
    HimmuraTube Year ago

    No no no...the villans had an arc. The fact that you're criticizing "first and second" villans shows that you're buying into the usual hollywood cliches. This movie was different....and that's OK.

  • Chris Stathopoulos

    I think the movie was great

  • SplatterInker
    SplatterInker Year ago

    Anyone reading these comments who saw the film, and loved the soundtrack, might be interested to know that the score release was cancelled and there's a petition online to get them to release it!

  • Chris Tanner
    Chris Tanner Year ago

    Jeremy, I'm sure a lot of people have already suggested it, but if you're interested in GitS as a series, definitely check out Stand Alone Complex. It really lets the story breathe and expands on a lot of the same themes. Plus really interesting villains.

  • ProtecSirius
    ProtecSirius Year ago

    They should have just sticked to anime story. The whole "kidnapping poor teens for evil corporation test subjects" was kinda stupid.

  • Jorge Andrade
    Jorge Andrade Year ago

    This is why I prefer Chris Stuckman over Jeremy. Chris actually goes down into the psychological analysis.

  • HFR83
    HFR83 Year ago

    I feel like it's your own fault for not liking the movie or being in on said "inside joke". I'm sure you knew where the source material was from so you only did yourself a disservice by not doing your due diligence and researching/watching the original anime before the live action. I consider this an uninformed lazy movie review

  • BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH
    BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH Year ago +1

    Japanese cartoons are stupid anyway

    • BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH
      BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH 11 months ago

      Johnlindsey289 shut up weeb

    • Johnlindsey289
      Johnlindsey289 11 months ago

      Not all! have you seen the badass adult animated movies being Akira and Ninja Scroll? those are awesome movies and influential. And without Akira there'd be no Matrix.

  • Charlotte Katakuri

    The anime were better.

  • Tosh Biko
    Tosh Biko Year ago

    lazy