Ghost In The Shell - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 30, 2017
  • Ghost in the Shell gets a live action adaptation for the big screen. Here's my review for "Ghost in the Shell"!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 025

  • ncdv47
    ncdv47 9 days ago

    Like Jeremy, I haven't seen the original anime and thought it was quite good. Not great, but definitely better than if I were drunk.

  • unfair sanic
    unfair sanic Month ago

    I think that they should make a sequel on this movie

  • Metal Pizza Dude
    Metal Pizza Dude 2 months ago

    Stuckmann is more of a die hard fan of GITS, which why his A+ review was more passionate.

  • Blue Collar Men Productions

    I thought it was dogshit

  • Dejio Dejio
    Dejio Dejio 4 months ago

    Wow. It seemed like he had a lot to say in this review; with all those hand gestures and fast talking. But by the end, he didn’t say anything at all.

  • i asimov
    i asimov 4 months ago

    I bought the DVD at Walmart for $5.00. I thought it was very loud, much more than $5 worth of noise.

  • caramba1995
    caramba1995 5 months ago

    no it doesn't do it justice, as anime fan I hate this film with every fiber of my being

  • Johnlindsey289
    Johnlindsey289 6 months ago

    One of my fave films of 2017! very well made, well acted and surprisingly nice take on the manga, i'm not a fan of the anime and never been since i was 14 as it was overrated and hollow as i tend to like stuff like Ninja Scroll and Akira better

  • Timppa Timo
    Timppa Timo 7 months ago

    My God, another "expert" saying this movie is an "adaptation of 1995 animation" LOL

  • Hannibal Harkonnen
    Hannibal Harkonnen 7 months ago

    Hey, I've got an idea! Let's remake film masterpieces with ScarJo, Ryan Reynolds and Samuel Jackson.
    Hopefully this crap pile is soon forgotten.

  • imicca
    imicca 11 months ago

    i dont think the "world" was as mind blowing as Blade Runner honestly. There the cyberpunk universe was explained better, here - it was just visuals.

  • Darryl Lowe
    Darryl Lowe 11 months ago

    You can tell this movie influence Cyber Punk. This movie does suck ass

  • Karim Selkridge
    Karim Selkridge Year ago +5

    I finally saw this movie. And I felt it hit in all the right places. Surprisingly I thought it was a really good adaptation of the anime... They changed a few things to make the movie more understandable but they did most of the major moments from the original... and did them well.
    Great movie if you are a fan of the original.

  • Jeremiah Stewart
    Jeremiah Stewart Year ago +1

    I have to disagree with this. Even as a fan of ghost in the shell. I personally found this movie to be interesting. And there is some significant emotional scenes that happen in it as well.

  • inavzi olanam
    inavzi olanam Year ago

    GITS live action good right? Put at this imagine Captain America but the actor is a Japanese im 100% sure even if the actor is a great one and speaking fluent american language no one will accept it.
    I cannot believe what they have done in an already renown anime to be like that i like the visuals and some fighting scene in the live action but overall they disrespect the anime big time the only legit role in GITS live action is the lead officer of sector 9 the old guy and the rest is out of place batou is good also becoz in anime batou looks like american mercenary though he did not spoke japanese language even in talking to their lead officer the movie will be really great if they put some respect on it. The production disrespect the story, ethnicity/culture of the anime itself. Maybe it will work if the anime is universal but too bad GITS is not

  • Aya Almaghrabi
    Aya Almaghrabi Year ago

    please watch the anime and review it

  • Jahmilla Vanilla
    Jahmilla Vanilla Year ago

    The anime was and is much better

  • Anmol Dudani
    Anmol Dudani Year ago

    No no nobody liked it

  • Dan The-Man
    Dan The-Man Year ago

    I saw a lot of bad reviews for this movie, so I avoided it, even though I liked the '95 anime, and the trailer for this western adaptation looked like it retained a lot of the original material. But now that I've seen it, I wish I had seen it in the theater, it was that good. Sorry Jeremy, I don't see what you disliked about it.

  • Juan José Fonseca Godoy

    This video proves that Jeremy knows shit about movies. I'll stick with Stuckman

  • Eric
    Eric Year ago

    I haven't seen the anime yet and I don't doubt it's probably much better.
    That being said i just watched this on Netflix and was expecting an average movie but I actually really liked it. Some of the story played out a bit obvious but I thought they nailed the tone and you could tell something wasn't right. The music and tone made me uncomfortable (in a good way) and I cared a lot about the main character.
    I think the last 15 minutes is where it fell off a little but everything leading up to it was great. I give it an 8/10.

  • GRINGO FLEETWOOD
    GRINGO FLEETWOOD Year ago

    "yeeah now itz a barty"

  • ThePeoplesChamp
    ThePeoplesChamp Year ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. The visuals are fantastic and the audio?... Holy shit. The sound engineers went to town on this one. I love all the Japanese culture (shout out to Honda for supporting the movie). The story never got boring - Hideo's history reveal was enthralling and Major's Japanese DNA was a total mind f*** . We had some seriously good acting - Thank you Scarlett Johansson, Michael Pitt and Pilou Asbæk. My opinion is completely objective as I haven't watched the anime. This movie captivating to the end. 10/10

  • VarietyGamesDX
    VarietyGamesDX Year ago +1

    Ghost In The Shit

  • MeldThe Steel
    MeldThe Steel Year ago

    Only good live action anime movie we've had in a while

  • Walkin'Cat
    Walkin'Cat Year ago

    The movie is a pile of shit on so many levels.

  • Ty Queen
    Ty Queen Year ago

    Watch it again after you watch the 1995 anime. They really did a great job with this.

  • N7Gambler
    N7Gambler Year ago

    This movie made me walk out the theatre and not experience a movie I paid to see. This is the first time a movie was so bad it made me leave before finishing it.

  • diddymuck
    diddymuck Year ago

    flopped because the series is boring outside of its concept. If they wanted to spend millions on anime flicks, try Full Metal Alchemist, Lupin the Third, or Cowboy Bebop.

  • CyberRonin
    CyberRonin 2 years ago

    The anime is better but this wasn't a bad attempt. I actually liked the story more in the live action movie than the anime.

  • Mel Jordan Iii
    Mel Jordan Iii 2 years ago +1

    I just watched it. Although, I played the video game, where the main character, was in a spider like tank, I found the movie to be more entertaining, than Wonder Woman.

  • August Pitatties
    August Pitatties 2 years ago +1

    this man needs to see the original lmao none of the fans liked it because the original is considered a masterpiece

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All 2 years ago +1

    Going into it without knowing any of the back story, I thought it was a boring knockoff of bladerunner meets Matrix. This is why a black widow movie would be a mistake too.

  • David Smith
    David Smith 2 years ago

    i liked it

  • mattronimus
    mattronimus 2 years ago

    HBO did make a show like this... Westworld .

  • I'm LawstarXP
    I'm LawstarXP 2 years ago

    I enjoyed the movie but the anime is better

  • MasterStryfe
    MasterStryfe 2 years ago +1

    Visually appealing? More like appalling. Half the time I couldnt see shit and it was predictable like a mofo.

  • Yuichi_Deletes
    Yuichi_Deletes 2 years ago

    Hey..*jumps cuts*
    So this is..*jumps cut*
    Ghost in the s*jumps cut*

  • Knightmare5026
    Knightmare5026 2 years ago

    I really enjoyed this movie. I liked the action, story, and visuals. My only issue is that I don't see a lot of rewatch ability. So I give this movie 8/10

  • Mia Bailey
    Mia Bailey 2 years ago +1

    I just watched this and I 100% agree. I was so bored through most of it and I thought the dialogue was heavy handed and terrible. A lot of potential but execution was poor.

  • Jay Stevens
    Jay Stevens 2 years ago

    Scarlett Johansson is Beautiful as always.

  • Jay Stevens
    Jay Stevens 2 years ago +1

    it was ok. better for Netflix, not theaters. it didn't do the anime justice. at least they had a spider tank, I was waiting the whole time to see one. im a fan of the SOC series

  • Brian Green
    Brian Green 2 years ago

    You are actually introduced to the so-called second villain, first. He was clearly the bad guy.

  • Chris Grey
    Chris Grey 2 years ago

    I thought the movie was good it could have been longer though and I'm hoping they make another and bring back Scarlett Johansson back as the major and the rest the people that were part of section 9 turn the movie if they do make another one I'm hoping that it is better then the second animated Ghost in the Shell movie

  • High5
    High5 2 years ago +1

    Just watched it it's really not that bad and the visuals are really cool. Kind of wish they would have given Togusa more of a back story just because he's one of my favorite character from the anime.

  • Flynn’s Grid
    Flynn’s Grid 2 years ago

    Why wait till the final minute of the review to say you haven't watched the animation , this makes your whole video invalid, watched first then say something about it !!

  • XxM1THRAND1RxX
    XxM1THRAND1RxX 2 years ago

    Did anybody saw the Metal Gear Phantom Pain homages in this film or was it just me?

  • XxM1THRAND1RxX
    XxM1THRAND1RxX 2 years ago

    Wow i can't believe it, this is the first time i disagree with Jeremy. I didn't see the anime and i thought this was a good movie, not perfect but a good movie no alcohol required.

  • 0Anesthetic 4u
    0Anesthetic 4u 2 years ago

    I gotta disagree, Scar Jo is the only person on Earth who can play an emotionless robot that effectively...
    Wait that's not what shes supposed to be?

  • TuMMa TiMe
    TuMMa TiMe 2 years ago

    Yeah this guy understood so little about 1# the concept and 2# the point if you like the original film watch it if not watch the original first or youll miss alot

  • Kurosaki Ichigo
    Kurosaki Ichigo 2 years ago

    Jeremy Jahns just saw your review on the money but for one thing. I'm a huge manga and anime geek but I thought this movie was a dumpster fire. I feel sorry for Johannson cos she was literally turning Japanese slowly through the movie wonder how she felt about that part of the 'script'. Even after dragonball evolution they learn nothing.

  • Gamer Tom
    Gamer Tom 2 years ago

    the anime was way better, and its the only anime i ever watched.

  • Chriss RE
    Chriss RE 2 years ago

    Im the only one that liked this movie. :)

  • Banana Hammock
    Banana Hammock 2 years ago

    Typical movie review. "I know nothing of the background story or even the genre. I go to a movie because the trailer cgi looks good and it has an actor in it whose name I recognize". GITS is not only a dystopian scifi, but it deals simultaneously with metaphysical "soul and humanity" issues as well as being a political drama. But that's okay if most people don't see those layers. Most people are entertained by such epic dramas as The Bachelor and Big Brother. Go back to your living room Jeremy and please don't share your opinion on a movie unless you actually have some reasonable knowledge about what you're commenting on. You are embarrassing yourself.

  • Elleon Ken
    Elleon Ken 2 years ago +1

    If you ask me, the Major and Bato's personalities are a complete miss and so is the entire movie.They shoved a lot of stuff in this movie that i've never seen in the anime and the movie overall is very boring.Just because Scarlet is cast as Major people aren't giving the movie as much sh*** as it deserves(which i don't agree with).

  • Aaron Howell
    Aaron Howell 2 years ago

    Probably should watch the original if you're going to critique the remake... =/

  • Josh Van Natta
    Josh Van Natta 2 years ago +1

    It was hollow af.

  • young_padawan
    young_padawan 2 years ago

    its another by the numbers movie...fuck hollywood

  • Crimson
    Crimson 2 years ago

    Just a note on movies today and movies written a while back, today the movies rely on intense action and CGI to hit it big it seems. The older movies were written better and did not rely on the eye-popping CGI to carry it through. The writing is getting better, don't get me wrong. There are some movies that are well written, however, there are some out there that do not quite fit the bill, and look like they were rushed to get it out to the public.

    "Que the hate mail"