POKÉMON Detective Pikachu - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 10, 2019
  • We have ourselves a live action Pokemon adventure where Ryan Reynolds voices Pikachu. Here's my review for DETECTIVE PIKACHU!
    #Pokemon #DetectivePikachu
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 698

  • marcus talerico
    marcus talerico 10 days ago

    Was a little weird that there was a few low ranking curse words. Like hell. I mean..cmon, its pokemon, it just seems weird lol

  • Ronan Buddy
    Ronan Buddy Month ago

    This is my favorite movie so awesometacular and worth buying on blu ray 10/10

  • Aaron Fantazii #AFLive
    Aaron Fantazii #AFLive 2 months ago

    I see you love Ryan Reynolds but. . . . HE DID NOT MAKE THE MOVIE. The two leads did great to me.

  • Jason Lu
    Jason Lu 2 months ago

    They should've casted Dan Green as Mewtwo. That would've been amazing and a great callback to the first Pokémon movie!

  • rudeboymon
    rudeboymon 2 months ago

    I noticed the weird physics too

  • Jimmy Smith
    Jimmy Smith 2 months ago

    I think this movie sucks just my opinion

  • K
    K 2 months ago

    It was kind of weird because Ryan Reynolds is 42 and Justice is 24 so I think it would have made more sense with someone older.

  • Chris Lee
    Chris Lee 2 months ago

    I said the same thing on the scene where he should have died.

  • Captain Jakemerica
    Captain Jakemerica 3 months ago

    Video game movie curse broken out of all the human characters I prefer Lucy the most

  • Phuongnamkhue nam khue
    Phuongnamkhue nam khue 3 months ago

    Wow

  • Carlos Perez
    Carlos Perez 3 months ago

    Ur so right im a fan but yeah some of the acting ........ But i ended up buying it cuz it is kinda funny,no alcohol required

  • Sydney Patrick Marsh
    Sydney Patrick Marsh 3 months ago

    It's not for pokemon fans

  • Sydney Patrick Marsh
    Sydney Patrick Marsh 3 months ago

    Americans leave anime alone use always destroy them

  • LunarSault23
    LunarSault23 3 months ago

    I enjoyed this better than the lion king remake

  • Mystic Fish
    Mystic Fish 3 months ago +1

    I loved the movie

  • MrFlipperInvader792
    MrFlipperInvader792 3 months ago

    0:50 that's why i hope now that endgame is over, i can see these actors do other characters and not be pigenholed anymore

  • Sy A
    Sy A 3 months ago

    Take a shot every time Jeremy says Ryan Reynolds. 😂

  • corosta
    corosta 3 months ago

    the moment i saw the city where they all lived together, i lost interest hahahaha stopped it there , never met dead poolkatchi, never will lol

  • Yaron Charles
    Yaron Charles 3 months ago

    Just hearing Deadpool's voice coming out of Pikachu was amazing

  • J G
    J G 4 months ago

    How didn’t he recognize his dads voice?

  • Bob Victor
    Bob Victor 4 months ago

    observe ► howdy-do ◄ Danke

  • James O'Brien
    James O'Brien 4 months ago

    It was passable i guess, i found the kid actors awful though.

  • TOONYMAN STUDIOS
    TOONYMAN STUDIOS 4 months ago

    this is the gayest shit ever created on the face of this planet! this is not pokemon at all! the story was not even about pokemon, but about a stupid kid that don't even like pokemon who lost his daddy in the mall! this movie is a piece of shit! nothing to do with pokemon! this the first of it's kind too and already they fuck it up with bullshit!

  • javier almodovar
    javier almodovar 4 months ago

    I thought the movie was pretty fun to watch for the comedy bits the emotional ones had no weight to it so I kinda came off as weird because the main character is pretty fucking awkward and bland at points and it feels like they were trying to make interactions like the Pokémon games but who the hell exchanges information if they are “beaten”

  • WTF Am I Even Doing?!?
    WTF Am I Even Doing?!? 4 months ago

    I thought this movie was a lot of fun

  • Lindsthestudent
    Lindsthestudent 5 months ago

    Loved it as a Pokémon fan! Good movie for all like you said. It has its flaws, so I agree that it’s a good time no alcohol required!

  • Ryland Moore
    Ryland Moore 5 months ago

    Which part of the movie was the Tim Burton reference?

  • David Greenway
    David Greenway 5 months ago

    I enjoyed this movie last night, i do have a few problems with it sure but thats cause im a fan and i wanted it! lol
    I feel it didnt have enough pokemon battling in this film, i know its a Detective move, but its still pokemon right?
    Could you do another review "spoiler talk" if you will, so you can go a bit more in depth to some of the points you make here such as the pysics moment you mentioned. And the batman reference? cause i missed that

  • Devon Jenkins
    Devon Jenkins 5 months ago

    This movie was horrible.. Reynolds playing Pikachu made no fucking sense

    • K
      K 2 months ago

      Especially when Ryan Reynolds is 42 and Justice is 24 XD

  • Tairyn Ngatai
    Tairyn Ngatai 5 months ago

    This movie was so annoyingly bad, terrible dialogue, terrible story telling... but ooh we threw like so much money at vfx! That's what a good movie is right?
    The entire time watching this, all i could think about is what the fuck did the screenplay for this look like?
    How did this ever get made? Do the directors and writers hate pokemon?
    Like seriously they used a majority of the most unlikable pokemon as characters for the movie...
    why were the giant mountain turtles even needed? Oh they weren't by the way.
    why did they sneak into a research facility when there is literally a tent open at the back of the facility?
    So much of this movie made no logical sense at all.
    Ryan Reynolds is to the Pikachu movie what Jim Carrey will be to the Sonic movie... The only reason to watch.

  • Sharif Cavil
    Sharif Cavil 5 months ago

    Pokeman isn't Deadpool. Deadpool is Van Wilder.

  • Darksider95
    Darksider95 5 months ago

    Was decent and the pokemon were cute that was enough. Would prefer a conventional pokemon film with Ash going around being a pokemon trainer instead battling gym leaders and catching pokemon.

  • Write
    Write 5 months ago

    Reynolds carries it. That's the bottom line. Next one is how good the designs are, things you think is not important until you see the abomination called sonic live movie. All pokemons look great, no sight of my fave, blaziken, but the classics are there.. Last one that makes the movie good is the story is more focused, it's not about "just" pokemon, but it's about detective pikachu solving a case, there's twist in it and overall i like it, a good video game movie, a rare thing since the old days. Enjoyable, fun, recommended. Imdb and rotten only give 6? What these critics expect? Plot like capote or good will hunting? Same sites give avengers 9 lol 🤣

  • Aarif Ali
    Aarif Ali 5 months ago

    369

  • nicolae cosmin
    nicolae cosmin 5 months ago +1

    I think it was aiming for small kids. I didn't buy the Two Main protagonists - the boy and the girl. The CGI and action were pumped up, and i liked the actor who played the villain, but the lines and the screenplay aimed for children.

  • III II III I
    III II III I 5 months ago +2

    Story was meh. I needed more pokemon battles but it was mainly Tim fighting Ditto. Was expecting team rocket or other legendaries, but nope it was just mewtwo and dynamax torterra.

  • Tiefe dunkle Mitternacht

    You know the movie sucks when you watch a dubbed version (without Ryan Reynolds voice).

  • AdrianTresk
    AdrianTresk 5 months ago

    Probably not a good idea to watch this while drunk.

  • Shoney Rey
    Shoney Rey 5 months ago

    I thought it was pretty good 7/10

  • al ravijn Balingit
    al ravijn Balingit 5 months ago

    never played Pokemon? ok.

  • Rumbotico
    Rumbotico 5 months ago

    This review seems VERY forced.

  • DisrespectfulBastard
    DisrespectfulBastard 5 months ago

    As a huge pokemon fan I was expecting this movie to suck like most video game movies do but I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Jakub Fabisiak
    Jakub Fabisiak 5 months ago

    Jeremy - you call BS on the laws of physics in a world where Magcargo exists - a pokemon with an internal body temp exceeding 10k Kelvin (for reference, The Sun has a temp of 5.7k Kelvin, making Magcargo twice as hot as the Sun) - a wild Magcargo appearing next to you would literally make you spontaneously catch fire, and melt.

  • Sean Patrick Perfecto
    Sean Patrick Perfecto 5 months ago +1

    Same. Not exactly a Pokemon fan but I really enjoyed it. Fucking cried at the end haha.

    • Sean Patrick Perfecto
      Sean Patrick Perfecto 5 months ago

      @dragging no i know only like 5 pokemon haha.

    • dragging no
      dragging no 5 months ago

      Wouldn't that make you a pokemon fan though? If you enjoyed the movie?

  • ezekiel rocha
    ezekiel rocha 5 months ago

    I literally walked out of this movie....3/10

  • Ryan Noakes
    Ryan Noakes 5 months ago +1

    Tim Burton Batman moment: yes. I couldn't believe nobody I was with thought that too. Thank you; I'm not alone!

    • Rebekah Neubecker
      Rebekah Neubecker 2 months ago

      I've never seen all of the Tim Burton Batman so I might've missed it....which scene was it?

  • Osman Matthew
    Osman Matthew 5 months ago

    Just saw the movie it was fucking bad ass loved the CGI love the Cast I would give the movie 9/10 and buy it on Blu-ray

  • Airik Luna
    Airik Luna 5 months ago

    Is this reviews while on Adderall?

  • Gianni Ianiro
    Gianni Ianiro 5 months ago

    Pokémon movie targeted towards Pokémon fans??? NO WAY!

  • I am Lindsay est 2002
    I am Lindsay est 2002 5 months ago

    It was the best movie of 2019

  • I am Lindsay est 2002
    I am Lindsay est 2002 5 months ago

    Geninja is the frog

  • klimmr3021
    klimmr3021 5 months ago

    There was one point in the moment where I went, "Did they get that from X-Men? Because I was getting strong X-Men vibes."

  • QUEENDOM
    QUEENDOM 5 months ago +1

    I don't give a shit about pokemon. Lol

    • chima chibi
      chima chibi 5 months ago

      I don’t know anything about Pokémon but my God Pikachu is freaking ADORABLE!! If this fat yellow rat doesn’t melt your heart, you’re severely depressed.

    • dragging no
      dragging no 5 months ago

      Ok and? That doesn't mean you can't check this movie out..... Give it a chance

  • darrennorniron
    darrennorniron 5 months ago

    I loved it.
    Though the twist was painfully obvious

  • Arnamo
    Arnamo 5 months ago

    I really loved it :) and he survived the fall through telekinesis (an ability from a pokemon shown in the movie that i don't wanna spoil to others lol)

  • Dorian RC Taylor
    Dorian RC Taylor 5 months ago

    It’s tooo PG -13
    Now give me fucking Rated R Pokémon with at real script.... 😀 I’d be sooo hype for that , acting wasn’t bad I feel the writers just gave everyone shit lines

    • PokemonFan
      PokemonFan 5 months ago

      Wait the movie was pg was it pg-13 for you? And hopefully they actually make a pg-13 pokemon movie to draw in the older audience because that = more money

  • Mediawatcher
    Mediawatcher 5 months ago

    I was really entertained by the film, nothing phenomenal, but it was a surprisingly fun time, especially for a video game movie

  • Críticas Crónicas
    Críticas Crónicas 6 months ago

    Take a shot every time you hear "Ryan Reynolds"

  • Darkozl
    Darkozl 6 months ago +1

    Nah it wasn't good, felt like an amusement park ride for Pokemon fans

  • shorney11
    shorney11 6 months ago

    I found in parts this film was aimed at more older audience than who actually went to see this film. Example, miming pouring gasoline over mr mime and threatening to set him on fire with a imaginary match.

    • PokemonFan
      PokemonFan 5 months ago

      Ok and? This is targeting the 90s kids
      Not only that there's more adults today that play pokemon than kids so it was smart to add that in and Idk about you but there was hardly any kids when I went same with other people on reddit