Kong: Skull Island - Movie Review


Comments • 3 747

  • El Roi
    El Roi 2 days ago

    Jeremy, I couldn't agree more. So much talent was wasted on this film. Whoreywood has attempted to reboot this "franchise" so many times with such little success I really can't grasp how these wastes of celluloid keep getting green lit? The 1933 orginal and the 1993 remake are the only two KKs worth watching. The best part was the always entertaining John C. Riley. When will those greedy tools in Whoreywood please leave this story be and move on to something original on which to blow millions and millions of dollars?
    Box Office
    Budget:$185,000,000 (estimated)
    Opening Weekend USA: $61,025,472, 12 March 2017, Wide Release
    Gross USA: $168,052,812
    Cumulative Worldwide Gross: $566,652,812

  • Josh Fury
    Josh Fury 3 days ago

    It was a shite film with lots of small stupid mistakes that ruined it

  • Zenith
    Zenith 7 days ago

    Hopefully the Godzilla King Of The monsters is nothing like this, I saw some random people say good things about this only to buy it and realize its hollow af and is only saved by the action

  • J Dxvx
    J Dxvx 13 days ago

    Very good Movie and great cast. Not sure what the problem is..... Again: opinions....

    • Zenith
      Zenith 7 days ago

      Well, based on 200 thousand votes, people think its below average. so yeah

  • Robert Lee
    Robert Lee 15 days ago

    This movie was garbage
    I texted all the way through it

  • stephen
    stephen Month ago

    its an horrible movie

  • Alex Webster
    Alex Webster Month ago

    Jeremy I love you. But you are definitely wrong about this movie. It's a monster movie. Most people who go see a movie like this wants to see the monsters and don't give a shit about the people. But I do agree that this movie exists just to tie in with godzilla

  • LUNA
    LUNA Month ago

    Didn't like the movie that much, it gave me the I have seen this before vibe and I think it lacked a lot of things. I liked the old king kong better.

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur Month ago

    I saw it with my brother and we both loved it. I would buy it on Blu-ray

  • Chris Hansen with dateline NBC

    Does anyone else remember the books dogzilla and cat Kong?

  • bigwhopper6501
    bigwhopper6501 Month ago

    They should make a sequel to deep rising, please review it, ik it's old but it's a decent monster movie

  • ShAdOwMaN
    ShAdOwMaN Month ago


  • Emo Ray Torres
    Emo Ray Torres 2 months ago

    This might be the first time I disliked a Jeremy Jahn review, finally watched this movie on HBO thought it was dope as fuck!!

  • djJames
    djJames 2 months ago

    How could you be board, this movie had jump scares, some funny moments plus, plus the action had kept it good between Kong and the monsters, tbh I enjoyed it.

  • Libanesa maria
    Libanesa maria 2 months ago

    People can desagree with u because they just want to kong in action and the bad ass scenes, but the movie ended up been like just to make happy the fans. Poor edited, poor dialogue, poor music etc... for people that spected high standars it was a desaster.

    Edit: I know, my typing is more than bad.

  • Arevion
    Arevion 2 months ago

    Imo this movie sucked

  • Oscar Loft
    Oscar Loft 2 months ago

    Tom hiddleston can do everything well because he was in the SAS duh

  • lol60994
    lol60994 2 months ago

    movie was great imo. had some really great fights.

  • Enrico Sarmiento
    Enrico Sarmiento 2 months ago

    I love Godzilla and King Kong (2005) a lot better than Kong Skull Island. Skull Island was fun. But it was disappointing as a whole

  • BadWolf 757
    BadWolf 757 2 months ago

    This was a fun movie for me.

  • pinkywinky222
    pinkywinky222 2 months ago

    I just finished watching this movie and I loved it! 😁

  • elmer  salinas
    elmer salinas 2 months ago

    This movie was absolutely awesome. Great action, great effects, and the fights were kickass. Can’t wait to see what else they do with this story. I have to disagree with you on this one Jeremy.

  • Ty Willis
    Ty Willis 2 months ago

    It wasn’t a bad movie, it was just a bad King Kong movie, definitely not a movie I’d watch more than twice it’ll get boring after that

  • Tewas23
    Tewas23 3 months ago

    Dear Jeremy Jahns, you absolutely got this review wrong. Its great, as a monster movie, how much Kong is in it, the characters are actually awesome, and the comedy does stick. Stop being a critic and go back to being a movie lover! Please!

  • LaCandace ThaDiva
    LaCandace ThaDiva 3 months ago +1

    This movie sucked!!!!!! Lol

  • Chase XJ
    Chase XJ 3 months ago

    I actually really enjoyed this movie haha I had such a good time and of course Kong was done really well!

  • Ryan Scherbluk
    Ryan Scherbluk 3 months ago

    Wow hang on there Jeremy I've just saw this movie like 5 minutes ago and I'll say this was way more entertaining then that shit fest 2014 Godzilla but everyone's entitled to there own opinion. I will say some of the characters I found in Skull Island I didn't care much for I liked the old war guy that was about it but I thought it as better then Godzilla 2014.

  • Gee Cee
    Gee Cee 3 months ago +1

    I’m watching this movie now and it is HORRIBLE. Besides Sam Jackson, John Goodman, and Tom Hiddleston the casting is just disposable. The comedic relief is unnecessary. The dialogue does not make sense. I see random scenes every 15 minutes. No character development at all. The end credit scene was touching but had nothing to do with Kong.
    Everyone’s opinion is different but this movie is bad in MY opinion.
    The 2005 King Kong movie was way better. Again, my in my opinion.

  • Alec Kramer
    Alec Kramer 3 months ago

    This was a fun movie not a great movie Godzilla was great though

  • DD Lee
    DD Lee 3 months ago

    The aspect ratio jumping around with the tight eyeball with fire reflection shots jumping to a giant panorama beauty shot in widescreen format made me scratch my head.

  • Frankie Pollock
    Frankie Pollock 3 months ago

    Nostalgia wins for peter Jacksons movie god I love that movie

  • Dashall  Vazquez
    Dashall Vazquez 3 months ago

    the acting was horrible and the pacing was terribly fast as well as the dialogue.

  • wholetruthy
    wholetruthy 3 months ago

    Fuck Jeremy blew another one

  • MKMcNugget
    MKMcNugget 3 months ago

    Wow. A lot of the people in the comments said that they disagree, and that they actually enjoyed the movie. But with anything there's always two sides to it. This movie was just terrible. I DO NOT SEE HOW ANYONE COULD HAVE ENJOYED THIS. 30 minutes into the movie i had to turn it off just from a single interaction between two characters. The one pilot who was like: "Do you love yo mama?" Copilot guy: "I love my mama!" Or something along those lines. I was done there

  • Arevion
    Arevion 3 months ago +1

    I'm sorry but this movie is imo bad!

  • Inconsistent TechDad
    Inconsistent TechDad 4 months ago

    So I'm so far behind I just watched this tonight, and until hearing your review had no idea there was a Godzilla tie in coming lol. Is that revealed in Godzilla? I haven't watched that yet either. Personally I enjoyed Kong.

    • Greg B
      Greg B 3 months ago

      Inconsistent TechDad Godzilla is good please watch

  • Levi Vaughn
    Levi Vaughn 4 months ago +1

    Awesome Batman voice at 0:54😂😂

  • Enrico Sarmiento
    Enrico Sarmiento 4 months ago

    Kong: Skull Island was a good action movie. But I think it would have been better had it stick to the tone of Godzilla.

  • Enrico Sarmiento
    Enrico Sarmiento 4 months ago

    Honestly I wasn't a Godzilla fan before I watched Godzilla 2014. And after I did I was very impressed with all the characters, their development, and their role in the movie. I was not disappointed with Godzilla or his screentime at all. The M.U.T.O' s were freakish and awesome. And the story was great. I was impressed with the cinematography. There was never a moment to leave or paused the movie. And the movie was like a a great cross between a blockbuster and an indie film. It's the same thing with Peter Jackson's King Kong.

  • Hindsight Aquatics
    Hindsight Aquatics 4 months ago

    Best part about the movie with being able to stare at Bree Larson whenever she was on screen!

  • Stalwart Shinobi
    Stalwart Shinobi 4 months ago

    Go watch angryjoes review no idea why the top movie reviewers are critisizing so much, Chris stuckman was being shitty with it too

    • Liable Punchline Dispenser
      Liable Punchline Dispenser 4 months ago

      Callum Uchiha I think the answer to that is simple: film critics watch this to see a movie. Which means the whole package has to be there

  • Ola Birgitsønn Vik
    Ola Birgitsønn Vik 4 months ago

    The movie popo

  • Carlos Angel
    Carlos Angel 5 months ago +1

    I hated this movie so much. The pacing was shoddy, the action was okay at best, there were so many holes in the plot that I barely understood what I was watching until the very end when Kong FINALLY fights the big thing, the soundtrack was good, but there was so much of the Vietnam music in scenes where it shouldn't have been. It felt more like a music video that was edited to be two hours long rather than an actual King Kong movie.

  • Bill Nelson
    Bill Nelson 5 months ago

    I like your reviews on a whole but on this one i couldn't disagree with you more..... I like it to me very well done and showed Kong to be what i wanted him to be a king among Monsters

  • Damon R.
    Damon R. 5 months ago

    They're probably doing a remake of King Kong vs Godzilla. Who knew?

  • BrontoSmilodon1
    BrontoSmilodon1 5 months ago

    king kong 2005 had more screen time.

  • PumpkinKing AMV
    PumpkinKing AMV 5 months ago

    The director is ganna be mad at you for rating it "good time if I were drunk"

  • PhoutianPhill
    PhoutianPhill 5 months ago

    Wow, I'm flipped. Kong is a better story, told better, with better characters and actors. Overall this movie was awesome and I really enjoyed it, all of it. The only part of Godzilla I enjoyed was Godzilla himself, which is like 15min total.

  • NitroVexPlays
    NitroVexPlays 5 months ago

    Nick fury and Loki in this film wow

  • ChickenOfTheCaveMan
    ChickenOfTheCaveMan 5 months ago

    This is a 2017 movie with 90s mentality. The action is cool but the characters are so damn dumb and boring.
    And Hiddleston is not an action hero or at least not a 90s "stay here until I come back" action hero. They gave nothing to Larson, it's like be pretty, take pictures that we'll show while you take them, do some facial expressions. Sam Jackson is a Sam Jackson character being mad at a giant ape.
    It's not bad, it's just a movie that your friends will tell you about it and you'll be like, yeah, I think I saw it but can't quite remember. I don't see anybody being a huge fan of it.

  • Paul Rizzo
    Paul Rizzo 6 months ago

    I understand the points you're making and they are all valid, but the humans in Godzilla were the WORST part of that movie.
    The lack of Godzilla in favor of the "bullshit-convenient-army-man story" KILLED that movie. At least here you got Kong immediately and you got lots of him.
    You had to have humans because you have to have humans.
    This was way better than Army Man...oh sorry, Godzilla.

  • L Cha
    L Cha 6 months ago

    I thought i was the only one who thought this! lol
    I watched the Korean subbed one and was like "I hope this was just cut for Korean audiences because this movie is so random with jump cuts and terrible." Also shout out to those Asians that they used as living props. You'd imagine they'd have something to say about living generations after generations with giant monsters roaming around but nope, they don't even have a language! :o... Hollyweird yo lol

  • Gino
    Gino 6 months ago

    For a guy looking for a nice cinematic experience with good storytelling and likeable characters, this was a boring ass movie.

  • Lucy Heartfilia
    Lucy Heartfilia 6 months ago

    I loved this movie but the romance between Brie and Toms characters the didn't really happen was so frustrating for me. Maybe it's my inner fan girl wanting to ship them but idk I thought they had really good chemistry. But then again this movie isn't really about romance.

  • G Toyadha Tagya B
    G Toyadha Tagya B 6 months ago

    Rampage movie?, sure, cool, go.

  • Ravi Tolani
    Ravi Tolani 6 months ago

    damm.. both chris and jeremy don't liked this movie... but i liked it..

  • Willy Wanker
    Willy Wanker 6 months ago

    What?! The movie was a good time not gonna lie, i think it deserves a good time no alcohol required rating

  • Silverfox
    Silverfox 6 months ago +2

    Yea, didnt like this movie much. The most emotional scene was in the credits.

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All 6 months ago

    The after credit scenes set up a reboot of an early 60s monster movie - "Ghidorah, the Three-Headed Monster" Thats where Godzilla teams up with Mothra and Rodan to defeat a 3 headed alien monster. They're drawn on the wall of the cave they show in that after credit scene. Here's a clip from the 60s movie tvclip.biz/video/mM8mohcuBQE/video.html

  • Arevion
    Arevion 6 months ago

    I give this movie a 7!
    1. Good plot
    2. Good CGI
    3. Quite funny
    4. KONG!!!
    1. Camera work
    Things that were okay:
    1. Dialogues
    2. The cast
    Imo the cast was okay but with some actors I was like, 'Hmmm... they don't really fit with the movie.' For example Samuel L. Jackson. Samuel is a great, great actor. He's good at acting and most of his performances are great but I think that the studio could use another guy to play his character. And the guy at the very beginning... his acting didn't pleased me.
    Conclusion, great and enjoyable movie but could be better!

  • Stranger45
    Stranger45 6 months ago +1

    This movie sucked. The actors played poor excuses for humans and the decision-making and logic was God awful.

  • RampagePhoenix
    RampagePhoenix 6 months ago

    Jeremy, my dude, you are losing your touch. I just saw this movie for the first time at home and i gotta say comparing it to your review, It doesn't quite match up.
    You kinda shit all over this movie for little justifiable reason and i honestly thought you were better than that. But hey, its your channel, do what you want.

  • GreatVideos
    GreatVideos 7 months ago

    I don't know what movie he just watched, because Skull Island was just one of the most bad to the bone action movies I have ever seen! The movie runs 2 hrs. Nonstop action. It did not have time to do deep character development . We know who each character is, deductive reasoning tells you within a minute who Sam Jackson is, John Goodman, John C. Reilly, Brie Larson, Tom Hiddleston, etc. We don't need to know anything more. The director was absolutely perfect for this movie. Nonstop perfect CGI creatures. Editing, 1973 feel and wardrobe. Set Design. Creative camera shots. and STUNNING creature action fight sequences-probably the best I have ever seen. SEE THIS MOVIE! PERIOD!

  • Clark Kent
    Clark Kent 7 months ago

    One of the few times that I disagree with Jeremy. I really enjoyed the movie and it had a good mixture of Kong and people. As far "characters you don't care about" there are only a few. Besides they always ha e expendable characters in movies. Look at predator and alien.

  • NICKatron Film
    NICKatron Film 7 months ago

    I felt that it was a bit weird but overall I liked it

  • paratrooper 82
    paratrooper 82 7 months ago

    Kong was in like 70 percent of the movie.. I avoided seeing the movie based on this review. Finally watched it on a plane a few days ago. Loved it. Was blown away!

  • C Penner
    C Penner 7 months ago

    I bet the director will go on a rant about this as well

  • Dirkardo StEvergreen
    Dirkardo StEvergreen 7 months ago +1

    Fair review. Although the special effects and the set designs were pretty amazing I thought.

  • Dark frozen
    Dark frozen 7 months ago +1

    CGI --> GREAT

  • SJ Styles
    SJ Styles 7 months ago

    Wow everything he liked about Godzilla I didn't and everything he disliked of Kong I loved. Just saw it today and was better than Godzilla from the beginning.

  • Collob Collins
    Collob Collins 7 months ago

    The only joke that got a laugh out of me was the part when John C. Reilly's character says: "Yeah, it sounds like a bird, but it's actually i giant fucking ant."

  • Collob Collins
    Collob Collins 7 months ago

    I would've liked the movie better if the trailers and the movie didn't hint at this tying into Godzilla, and focused on making the script better, and saved the cave drawings revealing the tie in to Godzilla at the end of the movie.

  • Danyael
    Danyael 7 months ago

    I just finished watching it, and I really enjoyed it. True... I'm drunk. But it was a cool movie.

  • Elias Armendariz
    Elias Armendariz 7 months ago

    Late to the party but I had to come back and watch the review to see if we matched and YUP!
    Movie was fun-ish. Turn off your brain and enjoy style of movie. I say that because when I watched it, I couldn't attach to any of the characters and there's a couple awful attempts of relationship building between a few characters and even with Kong. I also wanted the world to feel dangerous or showcase something more than a giant buffalo. I feel like they could have gone with a Jurassic Park/World style of environment.

  • Black Wolf
    Black Wolf 7 months ago

    The movie was cool and all but some of the writing was really bad

  • MasterPlanPenguin
    MasterPlanPenguin 7 months ago +1

    One of the very very few movie reviews I disagree with Jeremy on. I bought the movie the other day, watched it for the first time 3 hours ago with my mum. Was a great movie. There were some moments that could have been better, and I agree that you don't care to much for the human characters. They were just there with the only one emitting any real emotion was Chapman the guy who had a kid at home, and John Reillys character. The others you are just kinda... meh they're there. Also this movie gave Kong heaps of humanity, people came to his home and fucked with him. He is shown that he does care about humans and is fighting to protect them from the other monsters. He is the last of his kind and his parents were killed by the Skulldraggers, so you also get the whole "I'm also doing this because fuck those skulldraggers".
    Besides that one thing though, the movie is entertaining, Kong is in it quite a bit, way more than Jeremy says, and it is just a fun movie. So yeah I think Jeremy dropped the ball with this review. Just seems like he watched a completely different movie to the one I watched. Fun movie and is well worth checking out and buying.

  • hamndv
    hamndv 7 months ago +2

    Yeah boring character but not the worst action/monster movie.

  • Paladin Boyd
    Paladin Boyd 7 months ago

    He's British of course he's brilliant at everything.

  • hyenachase f
    hyenachase f 7 months ago

    bad film the cast is shit

  • Wlof25
    Wlof25 7 months ago

    I just dont get how a movie lover can get bored with this movie. This movie has so much world building and ideas that I am just curious about what else can be made out of it.

  • luckyDancer100
    luckyDancer100 7 months ago

    I liked Kong. Was it flawless? No but it was a fun movie with a good cast

  • ELBandido
    ELBandido 7 months ago

    Agree, this movie sucks

  • UZer 103
    UZer 103 7 months ago

    Kong was a really good movie (I say that for every movie so don't take my word) I agree on the characters, I feel like I didn't connect with them as well

  • FurryRogue
    FurryRogue 7 months ago

    People... just saying that you liked it, doesn't make it a good movie. You can like it, but to act like that is an argument against critiques of the film, is ridiculous. The film was style, over substance. The director impulsively kept in irrelevant shots just because they looked pretty. Out of the HUGE cast, there were only 2 mildy interesting characters, SLJ, and JCR, and the Editing/pacing was unfocused and all over the place.
    The final battle was cool, and entertaining, imo, but as a whole the film had MANY flaws. Like it all you want, but stop pretending it was a good movie.

    • Wlof25
      Wlof25 7 months ago

      Movie is not a master piece , but thinking that this is a bad movie is just silly.
      And as i wrote in the comments just recently, I dont get people who say that this movie is boring.

  • James Orbe
    James Orbe 7 months ago +1

    When you almost get persuaded by the review that you don't want to watch the movie but you read the comments and a lot of comments says its good so i am gonna watch it.

    • Wlof25
      Wlof25 7 months ago

      To be honest, I watch Jeremy for the entertaining purpose. It happened, many times actually, that he disliked the movie, which I thought it was a good one, for one, or another reason.
      So we should always take, with a grain of salt, what reviewers are telling to us, because they are also humans with their subjective taste.

  • ash mcfarts
    ash mcfarts 7 months ago

    I gotta say the composition of some shots and cgi was really good! The characters felt to flat to me. Fun to to look at but not fun to think about. Also what the heck is up with the villagers, Did they have a language or not? Why werent they pissed about their god being fucked up by randoms?

  • ImDaBomb 46
    ImDaBomb 46 7 months ago

    I think he just copies Chris stuckmann

  • The Awoken Warrior
    The Awoken Warrior 7 months ago

    The last monster in the end credits scene appeared to be Cthulhu. WE HAVE A HUGE FUCKING BATTLE COMING

  • Rafe Tizer
    Rafe Tizer 7 months ago

    King Kong himself was cool. The monsters were cool. I think the part that kinda undoes the movie for everyone is the poor choices made by the human characters. I mean, right off the bat, Kong is spearing moving targets outta the sky with trees, and when they come into view of the giant ape, they instantly decide to retaliate. I can see this as something they might WANT to do, but I would think military training and just common sense would dictate they fall back, regroup, and discuss the fact that there is a colossal ape plodding around the island. Then maybe they could decide the best course of action. But instead, they fly low enough to be within arms reach, and attempt to bring it down with small arms fire. Yeah. Great plan. It doesn't take a strategic genius to realize very quickly that your expeditionary force is being eradicated too fast and too easily to have any chance at all against Kong. Yet they just keep on bringin' it. I know there's typically got to be some level of tunnel-vision going on with some characters, but going full-Ahab just seems too illogical for even a revenge motivation. Packard seems to think there is only one chance at killing Kong, and that a return trip with a better-prepared force isn't it. Even when they discover they're balls deep in giant monsters (and some small ones too), it simply spurs him on. Petty gripe here, but speaking of small monsters, there's no way one or even two of those dino-bird things are gonna be able to cart off an adult human. Did you notice the little pull-up log wall over the water? What's to stop something big from simply swimming in and just pushing the wall up as it does? How does twenty year-old gasoline still combust? Where was the perpetual storm-shroud in 1944? The beach was clear skies. Overall, the atmosphere and the monsters were great. The plot was hum-drum. Some of the character banter was fun. Most of the characters were fodder. Most of the actions and motivations were questionable at best. Thankfully, the monsters were fun.

  • blacksun2163
    blacksun2163 7 months ago

    This movie stank!!

  • Lisa Rees
    Lisa Rees 7 months ago

    I FINALLY saw this movie today...and I think you were spot-on, Jeremy. The fight scenes were amazing, and Kong himself was really cool! But the people were so flat, thanks to the writing. Come on, Sam Jackson and Tom Hiddleston?! How could you screw that up? The characters were one-dimensional, you didn't know anything about any of them really, and I was honestly glad when certain ones bit the dust. Kind of a bummer; I really wanted to like this movie....might be on my Guilty Pleasure list, at the most. :P

  • Zachary Locke
    Zachary Locke 7 months ago

    I think this was better than Godzilla and I'm a HUGE fan of Godzilla. Can't wait till 2020 when these two throw down!

  • Bryson Turner
    Bryson Turner 7 months ago

    I agree with a couple of your points. See, I watched this movie only an hour and a half after I finished Power Rangers... so really any movie would be good compared to that. Anyway, I went in to watch Kong kick butt and for the MonsterVerse connection and that's what I got. While I do think some of the characters weren't fleshed out, I forgave it because it was a Kong movie. It's about Kong. Personally, I loved Samuel L. Jackson and John C. Reilly the most though. I'm excited to see Godzilla 2 in a couple years, hopefully that will be an awesome film. And honestly, I could forgive this movie if Godzilla v. Kong turns out to be awesome.
    Tell me this, you said you saw the old Godzilla vs. King Kong movie. Those were just some guys in suits. Now, because Marvel exists, we are going to see Godzilla and King Kong fight in CGI which is MUST more realistic and immersive then just guys in suits.
    So, my question is this... If Godzilla v. Kong proves to be a good movie... on the account of the fight AT LEAST, will you at least partially forgive this movie?

  • 614Amsterdam
    614Amsterdam 7 months ago

    I watched this with no expectations and thought it was pretty bad. C- some good action, got kinda boring, terrible characters, terrible dialogue, stupid cliche's, but I did love the old dude who reunited with his family at the end. That was great. But this movie bored me a ton and I just wanted it to end

  • An Droid
    An Droid 7 months ago +1

    This movie fucking sucked

  • Colton fireball
    Colton fireball 7 months ago

    I honestly can't understand your viewpoint. I thought everything was decent or good. The characters were way way better than the Godzilla characters. Kong Felt like he had a lot of screen time. The characters facing nature was good. All though giving it's a thriller and people have to die. Makes it a little silly. However overall this movie was really good in it's respective genre.

  • Tygamer 202
    Tygamer 202 7 months ago

    King Kong 2005 is a completely different story line so you really can't compared the to

  • Caius
    Caius 7 months ago

    Good film, J C Reilly stole the show for me "Gojira!"

  • unlyricallyrics
    unlyricallyrics 7 months ago

    Just watched this movie and I thought it was awesome. I cared about the characters, I thought that Kong was great when he was on screen. John C Reilly was a treat. The ending actually made me tear up. Solid movie imo.

  • M. ian
    M. ian 7 months ago

    I completely disagree