Kong: Skull Island - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 3 703

  • Shree Nation
    Shree Nation Day ago

    i'm watching it right now, 15 minutes in. I feel like my IQ is dropping with each sentence being spoken. I don't know what Tom Hiddleston's role is and i dont know if Sam Jackson is playing a mentally slow person. I'm actually glad Kong threw a helicopter at his helicopter in order to shut him up.

  • ruben garcia
    ruben garcia 19 days ago

    As much as I like Jeremy but I'll disagree with him on this. I saw Kong Skull Island last night on cinemax and it was a very good movie and I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Godzilla.

  • PiNkMoEfOe
    PiNkMoEfOe 2 months ago

    I DISAGREE COMPLETELY,THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT

  • PunchianThe3rd
    PunchianThe3rd 3 months ago

    "Bitch Please!"

  • The AV Wiz
    The AV Wiz 3 months ago

    You should do Peter Jackson's King Kong too

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    I personally enjoyed this movie

  • Some Random Glasses Guy

    Word for word, this is how I felt about the movie. Man, like I agreed with EVERY single point he made

  • Tom Shenton
    Tom Shenton 4 months ago

    It is so good and cool action

  • Jony Ibarra
    Jony Ibarra 4 months ago

    Great movie i literally came watching the movie

  • JP Alpha
    JP Alpha 4 months ago

    Just saw it, I enjoyed it because of all the throw downs with the monsters, and the fact that I liked the cast

  • Jesse Lapham
    Jesse Lapham 4 months ago

    I put off watching this film for quite some time because I knew what it would be, and I had heard that it was what I predicted. But recently I re-watched the Peter Jackson film and then Skull Island immediately after it. While I like how dark and disturbing some scenes were in the 2005 film, and there were more interesting characters than the new film, I did find some characters as being either shallow or straight up stupid. The female lead in the 2005 film was idiotic in her love for Kong. I used to see it as a Stockholm Syndrome type thing, and to some extent I still do.. I just found her character to be too dramatic and over-protective of a creature that had kidnapped her, and murdered numerous other people. And it all ties into a preachy message about man being more of a mindless destructive animal than the beast itself, but it doesn't land well at all. It's cringey and preachy.
    Even Adrien Brody's character just seemed to be there to be the eye-candy that rescues the damsel in distress. He adds nothing else to the film.
    Jack Black's character, as well as a few others, had more depth and felt more memorable.
    As I said, I liked how dark, depressing and disturbing it was in its imagery, but they took themselves a bit too seriously sometimes. The effects haven't held up all that well over the years either, although a few parts were fairly convincing and they were mostly in the best scenes (bugs/insects attacking the crew at the bottom of the chasm - though the scene where the younger guy was shooting the bugs off of Adrien Brody with perfect accuracy while he was moving around so much was fucking stupid - and the fight with the dinosaurs). The scenes with the local tribes people still unsettle me to this day. But..Overall the film was just too long and excessively dramatic in a far too unconvincing way. So, by the end of it, I felt like I just wanted to see a shorter, more simple, straight up kickass monster movie with reasonable acting and story. I got that with Skull Island.
    It has a LOT of flaws, but it was a breath of fresh air immediately after the 2005 film, which worked as a perfectly acceptable epic.
    The new film was just more fun and easy to sit back and enjoy. And I could still take it more seriously than Pacific Rim, which I've never enjoyed at all enjoyed. And after the terrifying almost cannibal-esque tribe of the 2005 film, it was also good to see the other side of the coin with a more peaceful tribe in the new film. And the designs for the new tribe (the way they were painted) was aesthetically pleasing. The other monsters in the film were often quite creative and fun to watch as well, especially the bamboo spider creature. The action scenes were on par with the 2005 film and the effects were overall... slightly... more convincing.
    I think both films do an acceptable job at what they were trying to do, but both are equally flawed for various reasons. What I liked in the 2005 film was perfectly contrasted with something new that I liked in the new film.
    Both films have some amount of poor character writing, Skull Island even more so, but the fun of Skull Island balanced out the preachiness of the first film. The new film tried to be a little preachy too, but the creature of Kong was written better this time around so that you could understand that he's a peaceful, protective giant unless you threaten him or his land, which made him a more likeable monster. An interesting oxymoron, that's for sure.
    I'd rank both films fairly equally at a 6/10 because of all this.
    The reason I ended up watching Kong: Skull Island is because I read that the same director would be doing a Metal Gear Solid film adaptation. I was skeptical at first, but now I'm convinced that, if anyone, he could pull it off. He's clearly passionate about the project too.
    I'm also not too worried about these films being made into a universe simply because I don't think they'll make as many as they have with Marvel, and it probably won't profit as high. I'm looking forward to the next Godzilla film, especially after seeing the trailer.. And I'll give the Godzilla vs King Kong film a chance when it comes out too.

  • randy K15
    randy K15 4 months ago

    The movie was pretty good Jeremy hates on everything

  • RECTO Recto
    RECTO Recto 4 months ago +1

    Ur spoiling the movie. Dickhead

  • Jehuty989
    Jehuty989 4 months ago

    Dude are you seriously comparing Kong screentime to Godzilla’s? Smh..

  • Vert Rex
    Vert Rex 4 months ago

    What they should have focused on is john c rielly character when he just crashed with the japanese dude

  • Abdullah Zubair
    Abdullah Zubair 4 months ago

    It feels like to me that Jeremy is going thru some shit and someone forced him to watch the movie with his ex

  • Johnathan Amaya
    Johnathan Amaya 4 months ago

    You're wearing the same shirt that you wore on your Kong Trailer review

  • KnockOut 2098
    KnockOut 2098 5 months ago

    This movie was one of the most surprising, satisfying, and overall great theater experiences I've ever had and I loved it

  • K. The Artist
    K. The Artist 6 months ago

    I liked the people in this movie. I cared about the two girls, Mason and San, and the black guy, Housten. Everyone else was alright. And I did really care about Reilly's character, Hank. All in all, a pretty fun movie

  • K. The Artist
    K. The Artist 6 months ago

    I have Godzilla, but I don't have Skull Island. I will later

  • René Dietz
    René Dietz 7 months ago +1

    This movie is awesome👌👍

  • Lord Yoshi
    Lord Yoshi 7 months ago

    I would love to see Jeremy review King Kong 2005 extended edition

  • Dramamine
    Dramamine 8 months ago

    god i hated this movie

  • ReeLoy Kenjins
    ReeLoy Kenjins 8 months ago

    Much better than Stuckman's review and he didn't give it a perfect score either which means he acknowledges there's good and bad but still had fun with it.

  • El Roi
    El Roi 9 months ago

    Jeremy, I couldn't agree more. So much talent was wasted on this film. Whoreywood has attempted to reboot this "franchise" so many times with such little success I really can't grasp how these wastes of celluloid keep getting green lit? The 1933 orginal and the 1993 remake are the only two KKs worth watching. The best part was the always entertaining John C. Riley. When will those greedy tools in Whoreywood please leave this story be and move on to something original on which to blow millions and millions of dollars?
    Box Office
    Budget:$185,000,000 (estimated)
    Opening Weekend USA: $61,025,472, 12 March 2017, Wide Release
    Gross USA: $168,052,812
    Cumulative Worldwide Gross: $566,652,812

  • Josh Fury
    Josh Fury 9 months ago

    It was a shite film with lots of small stupid mistakes that ruined it

  • Zenith
    Zenith 9 months ago

    Hopefully the Godzilla King Of The monsters is nothing like this, I saw some random people say good things about this only to buy it and realize its hollow af and is only saved by the action

  • J Dxvx
    J Dxvx 9 months ago +1

    Very good Movie and great cast. Not sure what the problem is..... Again: opinions....

    • Zenith
      Zenith 9 months ago

      Well, based on 200 thousand votes, people think its below average. so yeah

  • Robert Lee, Countertenor

    This movie was garbage
    I texted all the way through it

  • Realite Virtuelle FR
    Realite Virtuelle FR 10 months ago

    its an horrible movie

  • Alex Webster
    Alex Webster 10 months ago

    Jeremy I love you. But you are definitely wrong about this movie. It's a monster movie. Most people who go see a movie like this wants to see the monsters and don't give a shit about the people. But I do agree that this movie exists just to tie in with godzilla

  • LUNA
    LUNA 10 months ago

    Didn't like the movie that much, it gave me the I have seen this before vibe and I think it lacked a lot of things. I liked the old king kong better.

  • K. The Artist
    K. The Artist 10 months ago

    I saw it with my brother and we both loved it. I would buy it on Blu-ray

  • Chris Hansen with dateline NBC

    Does anyone else remember the books dogzilla and cat Kong?

  • bigwhopper6501
    bigwhopper6501 10 months ago

    They should make a sequel to deep rising, please review it, ik it's old but it's a decent monster movie

  • ShAdOwMaN
    ShAdOwMaN 10 months ago

    nice

  • Emo Ray Torres
    Emo Ray Torres 11 months ago

    This might be the first time I disliked a Jeremy Jahn review, finally watched this movie on HBO thought it was dope as fuck!!

  • djJames
    djJames 11 months ago

    How could you be board, this movie had jump scares, some funny moments plus, plus the action had kept it good between Kong and the monsters, tbh I enjoyed it.

  • Libanesa maria
    Libanesa maria 11 months ago

    People can desagree with u because they just want to kong in action and the bad ass scenes, but the movie ended up been like just to make happy the fans. Poor edited, poor dialogue, poor music etc... for people that spected high standars it was a desaster.

    Edit: I know, my typing is more than bad.

  • Matien Azemy
    Matien Azemy 11 months ago

    Imo this movie sucked

  • Oscar Loft
    Oscar Loft 11 months ago

    Tom hiddleston can do everything well because he was in the SAS duh

  • Enrico Sarmiento
    Enrico Sarmiento 11 months ago

    I love Godzilla and King Kong (2005) a lot better than Kong Skull Island. Skull Island was fun. But it was disappointing as a whole

  • BadWolf 757
    BadWolf 757 11 months ago

    This was a fun movie for me.

  • pinkywinky222
    pinkywinky222 11 months ago

    I just finished watching this movie and I loved it! 😁

  • elmer  salinas
    elmer salinas 11 months ago

    This movie was absolutely awesome. Great action, great effects, and the fights were kickass. Can’t wait to see what else they do with this story. I have to disagree with you on this one Jeremy.

  • TremainetheMain _
    TremainetheMain _ 11 months ago

    It wasn’t a bad movie, it was just a bad King Kong movie, definitely not a movie I’d watch more than twice it’ll get boring after that

  • Tewas23
    Tewas23 Year ago

    Dear Jeremy Jahns, you absolutely got this review wrong. Its great, as a monster movie, how much Kong is in it, the characters are actually awesome, and the comedy does stick. Stop being a critic and go back to being a movie lover! Please!

  • Candy ThaDiva
    Candy ThaDiva Year ago +1

    This movie sucked!!!!!! Lol

  • Chase XJ
    Chase XJ Year ago

    I actually really enjoyed this movie haha I had such a good time and of course Kong was done really well!

  • Ryan Scherbluk
    Ryan Scherbluk Year ago

    Wow hang on there Jeremy I've just saw this movie like 5 minutes ago and I'll say this was way more entertaining then that shit fest 2014 Godzilla but everyone's entitled to there own opinion. I will say some of the characters I found in Skull Island I didn't care much for I liked the old war guy that was about it but I thought it as better then Godzilla 2014.

  • Gee Cee
    Gee Cee Year ago +1

    I’m watching this movie now and it is HORRIBLE. Besides Sam Jackson, John Goodman, and Tom Hiddleston the casting is just disposable. The comedic relief is unnecessary. The dialogue does not make sense. I see random scenes every 15 minutes. No character development at all. The end credit scene was touching but had nothing to do with Kong.
    Everyone’s opinion is different but this movie is bad in MY opinion.
    The 2005 King Kong movie was way better. Again, my in my opinion.

  • Alec Kramer
    Alec Kramer Year ago

    This was a fun movie not a great movie Godzilla was great though

  • Captain Crunch
    Captain Crunch Year ago

    The aspect ratio jumping around with the tight eyeball with fire reflection shots jumping to a giant panorama beauty shot in widescreen format made me scratch my head.

  • Frankie Pollock
    Frankie Pollock Year ago

    Nostalgia wins for peter Jacksons movie god I love that movie

  • Dashall  Vazquez
    Dashall Vazquez Year ago

    the acting was horrible and the pacing was terribly fast as well as the dialogue.

  • wholetruthy
    wholetruthy Year ago

    Fuck Jeremy blew another one

  • NutBleeder
    NutBleeder Year ago

    Wow. A lot of the people in the comments said that they disagree, and that they actually enjoyed the movie. But with anything there's always two sides to it. This movie was just terrible. I DO NOT SEE HOW ANYONE COULD HAVE ENJOYED THIS. 30 minutes into the movie i had to turn it off just from a single interaction between two characters. The one pilot who was like: "Do you love yo mama?" Copilot guy: "I love my mama!" Or something along those lines. I was done there

  • Matien Azemy
    Matien Azemy Year ago +1

    I'm sorry but this movie is imo bad!

  • Inconsistent TechDad

    So I'm so far behind I just watched this tonight, and until hearing your review had no idea there was a Godzilla tie in coming lol. Is that revealed in Godzilla? I haven't watched that yet either. Personally I enjoyed Kong.

    • Greg B
      Greg B Year ago

      Inconsistent TechDad Godzilla is good please watch

  • Levi Vaughn
    Levi Vaughn Year ago +1

    Awesome Batman voice at 0:54😂😂

  • Enrico Sarmiento
    Enrico Sarmiento Year ago

    Kong: Skull Island was a good action movie. But I think it would have been better had it stick to the tone of Godzilla.

  • Enrico Sarmiento
    Enrico Sarmiento Year ago

    Honestly I wasn't a Godzilla fan before I watched Godzilla 2014. And after I did I was very impressed with all the characters, their development, and their role in the movie. I was not disappointed with Godzilla or his screentime at all. The M.U.T.O' s were freakish and awesome. And the story was great. I was impressed with the cinematography. There was never a moment to leave or paused the movie. And the movie was like a a great cross between a blockbuster and an indie film. It's the same thing with Peter Jackson's King Kong.

  • Hindsight Aquatics

    Best part about the movie with being able to stare at Bree Larson whenever she was on screen!

  • Stalwart Shinobi
    Stalwart Shinobi Year ago

    Go watch angryjoes review no idea why the top movie reviewers are critisizing so much, Chris stuckman was being shitty with it too

    • Crappy HR
      Crappy HR Year ago

      Callum Uchiha I think the answer to that is simple: film critics watch this to see a movie. Which means the whole package has to be there

  • Ola Birgitsønn Vik

    The movie popo

  • Carlos Angel
    Carlos Angel Year ago +1

    I hated this movie so much. The pacing was shoddy, the action was okay at best, there were so many holes in the plot that I barely understood what I was watching until the very end when Kong FINALLY fights the big thing, the soundtrack was good, but there was so much of the Vietnam music in scenes where it shouldn't have been. It felt more like a music video that was edited to be two hours long rather than an actual King Kong movie.

  • Bill Nelson
    Bill Nelson Year ago

    I like your reviews on a whole but on this one i couldn't disagree with you more..... I like it to me very well done and showed Kong to be what i wanted him to be a king among Monsters

  • Damon R.
    Damon R. Year ago

    They're probably doing a remake of King Kong vs Godzilla. Who knew?

  • BrontoSmilodon1
    BrontoSmilodon1 Year ago

    king kong 2005 had more screen time.

  • PumpkinKing MusicVideo

    The director is ganna be mad at you for rating it "good time if I were drunk"

  • PhoutianPhill
    PhoutianPhill Year ago

    Wow, I'm flipped. Kong is a better story, told better, with better characters and actors. Overall this movie was awesome and I really enjoyed it, all of it. The only part of Godzilla I enjoyed was Godzilla himself, which is like 15min total.

  • NitroVexPlays
    NitroVexPlays Year ago

    Nick fury and Loki in this film wow

  • ChickenOfTheCaveMan

    This is a 2017 movie with 90s mentality. The action is cool but the characters are so damn dumb and boring.
    And Hiddleston is not an action hero or at least not a 90s "stay here until I come back" action hero. They gave nothing to Larson, it's like be pretty, take pictures that we'll show while you take them, do some facial expressions. Sam Jackson is a Sam Jackson character being mad at a giant ape.
    It's not bad, it's just a movie that your friends will tell you about it and you'll be like, yeah, I think I saw it but can't quite remember. I don't see anybody being a huge fan of it.

  • Paul Rizzo
    Paul Rizzo Year ago

    I understand the points you're making and they are all valid, but the humans in Godzilla were the WORST part of that movie.
    The lack of Godzilla in favor of the "bullshit-convenient-army-man story" KILLED that movie. At least here you got Kong immediately and you got lots of him.
    You had to have humans because you have to have humans.
    This was way better than Army Man...oh sorry, Godzilla.

  • I use to be Him
    I use to be Him Year ago

    I thought i was the only one who thought this! lol
    I watched the Korean subbed one and was like "I hope this was just cut for Korean audiences because this movie is so random with jump cuts and terrible." Also shout out to those Asians that they used as living props. You'd imagine they'd have something to say about living generations after generations with giant monsters roaming around but nope, they don't even have a language! :o... Hollyweird yo lol

  • Gino
    Gino Year ago

    For a guy looking for a nice cinematic experience with good storytelling and likeable characters, this was a boring ass movie.

  • Lucy Heartfilia
    Lucy Heartfilia Year ago

    I loved this movie but the romance between Brie and Toms characters the didn't really happen was so frustrating for me. Maybe it's my inner fan girl wanting to ship them but idk I thought they had really good chemistry. But then again this movie isn't really about romance.

  • G Toyadha Tagya B

    Rampage movie?, sure, cool, go.

  • the dude
    the dude Year ago

    damm.. both chris and jeremy don't liked this movie... but i liked it..

  • Brandon Ramirez
    Brandon Ramirez Year ago

    What?! The movie was a good time not gonna lie, i think it deserves a good time no alcohol required rating

  • Silverfox
    Silverfox Year ago +2

    Yea, didnt like this movie much. The most emotional scene was in the credits.

  • The One Above All

    The after credit scenes set up a reboot of an early 60s monster movie - "Ghidorah, the Three-Headed Monster" Thats where Godzilla teams up with Mothra and Rodan to defeat a 3 headed alien monster. They're drawn on the wall of the cave they show in that after credit scene. Here's a clip from the 60s movie tvclip.biz/video/mM8mohcuBQE/video.html

  • Matien Azemy
    Matien Azemy Year ago

    I give this movie a 7!
    Pros:
    1. Good plot
    2. Good CGI
    3. Quite funny
    4. KONG!!!
    Cons:
    1. Camera work
    Things that were okay:
    1. Dialogues
    2. The cast
    Imo the cast was okay but with some actors I was like, 'Hmmm... they don't really fit with the movie.' For example Samuel L. Jackson. Samuel is a great, great actor. He's good at acting and most of his performances are great but I think that the studio could use another guy to play his character. And the guy at the very beginning... his acting didn't pleased me.
    Conclusion, great and enjoyable movie but could be better!

  • Stranger45
    Stranger45 Year ago +1

    This movie sucked. The actors played poor excuses for humans and the decision-making and logic was God awful.

  • RampagePhoenix
    RampagePhoenix Year ago

    Jeremy, my dude, you are losing your touch. I just saw this movie for the first time at home and i gotta say comparing it to your review, It doesn't quite match up.
    You kinda shit all over this movie for little justifiable reason and i honestly thought you were better than that. But hey, its your channel, do what you want.

  • GreatVideos
    GreatVideos Year ago

    I don't know what movie he just watched, because Skull Island was just one of the most bad to the bone action movies I have ever seen! The movie runs 2 hrs. Nonstop action. It did not have time to do deep character development . We know who each character is, deductive reasoning tells you within a minute who Sam Jackson is, John Goodman, John C. Reilly, Brie Larson, Tom Hiddleston, etc. We don't need to know anything more. The director was absolutely perfect for this movie. Nonstop perfect CGI creatures. Editing, 1973 feel and wardrobe. Set Design. Creative camera shots. and STUNNING creature action fight sequences-probably the best I have ever seen. SEE THIS MOVIE! PERIOD!

  • Clark Kent
    Clark Kent Year ago

    One of the few times that I disagree with Jeremy. I really enjoyed the movie and it had a good mixture of Kong and people. As far "characters you don't care about" there are only a few. Besides they always ha e expendable characters in movies. Look at predator and alien.

  • EDITニック
    EDITニック Year ago

    I felt that it was a bit weird but overall I liked it

  • paratrooper 82
    paratrooper 82 Year ago

    Kong was in like 70 percent of the movie.. I avoided seeing the movie based on this review. Finally watched it on a plane a few days ago. Loved it. Was blown away!

  • C Penner
    C Penner Year ago

    I bet the director will go on a rant about this as well

  • Dirkardo StEvergreen

    Fair review. Although the special effects and the set designs were pretty amazing I thought.

  • Dark frozen
    Dark frozen Year ago +1

    CGI --> GREAT
    SOUND --> GREAT
    STORY --> GARBAGE

  • SJ Styles
    SJ Styles Year ago

    Wow everything he liked about Godzilla I didn't and everything he disliked of Kong I loved. Just saw it today and was better than Godzilla from the beginning.

  • Omega Yeet
    Omega Yeet Year ago

    The only joke that got a laugh out of me was the part when John C. Reilly's character says: "Yeah, it sounds like a bird, but it's actually i giant fucking ant."

  • Omega Yeet
    Omega Yeet Year ago

    I would've liked the movie better if the trailers and the movie didn't hint at this tying into Godzilla, and focused on making the script better, and saved the cave drawings revealing the tie in to Godzilla at the end of the movie.

  • Danyael
    Danyael Year ago

    I just finished watching it, and I really enjoyed it. True... I'm drunk. But it was a cool movie.

  • Elias Armendariz
    Elias Armendariz Year ago

    Late to the party but I had to come back and watch the review to see if we matched and YUP!
    Movie was fun-ish. Turn off your brain and enjoy style of movie. I say that because when I watched it, I couldn't attach to any of the characters and there's a couple awful attempts of relationship building between a few characters and even with Kong. I also wanted the world to feel dangerous or showcase something more than a giant buffalo. I feel like they could have gone with a Jurassic Park/World style of environment.

  • MasterPlanPenguin
    MasterPlanPenguin Year ago +1

    One of the very very few movie reviews I disagree with Jeremy on. I bought the movie the other day, watched it for the first time 3 hours ago with my mum. Was a great movie. There were some moments that could have been better, and I agree that you don't care to much for the human characters. They were just there with the only one emitting any real emotion was Chapman the guy who had a kid at home, and John Reillys character. The others you are just kinda... meh they're there. Also this movie gave Kong heaps of humanity, people came to his home and fucked with him. He is shown that he does care about humans and is fighting to protect them from the other monsters. He is the last of his kind and his parents were killed by the Skulldraggers, so you also get the whole "I'm also doing this because fuck those skulldraggers".
    Besides that one thing though, the movie is entertaining, Kong is in it quite a bit, way more than Jeremy says, and it is just a fun movie. So yeah I think Jeremy dropped the ball with this review. Just seems like he watched a completely different movie to the one I watched. Fun movie and is well worth checking out and buying.

  • hamndv
    hamndv Year ago +2

    Yeah boring character but not the worst action/monster movie.

  • Paladin Boyd
    Paladin Boyd Year ago

    He's British of course he's brilliant at everything.