Halloween (2018) - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 7 047

  • red hood
    red hood Hour ago

    It was a better comedy than horror film

  • red hood
    red hood Hour ago

    Yeah I just didn't like this movie 🤷

  • Tommywood
    Tommywood Hour ago

    Some scenes felt disconnected and the score didn’t even land correctly in some of the scenes. The movie was entertaining but it could’ve been a lot better and more effective.

  • Philip Thompson
    Philip Thompson 18 hours ago

    This movie wasn’t scary at all and the characters were dumb as fuck lol-surprised it got such a high rating tbh

  • Melissa Roberts
    Melissa Roberts 23 hours ago

    The movie was shit. The teen actors couldn't act. Story line was all over the place. Pointless banter. Late/if any reactions to the deaths. They just put Jamie and John in the movie just to get reviews. It's like they sprayed perfume on dog shit and said it was good. This was the worst... I'm going to bed pissed now thank you for fucking up my childhood Boogeyman.Goodnight🖕

  • Christopher Campbell

    For someone who has been training in weapons for 30 years, she had no muzzle awareness and came off as a crazy old lady with a gun pointing it at kids and every which direction. So dumb.

  • xXdrake_oneXx
    xXdrake_oneXx 2 days ago

    This movie was good.The original John Carpenter Halloween is still number 1...and I still think Rob Zombies take on the series was dark and ominous...Rob Z's First Halloween 2006, gets 2nd place IMO...I believe the acting and energy Michael Myers mean badass yet brutal humble beginnings to how he came to be were top notch, disturbing, yet classic material...This Halloween 2018 attempts to bring back Laurie Strode and Jamie Lee Curtis for another round, and retcons H20 (jlc's performance in this flick was the best imo and top notch) and the terrible H:Ressurection...with it starting from where The Original leaves off...I give it a 3 out of 5. Its good to see that since Rob Zombie the series is still running strong...
    Best Halloween films imo are:
    1)Halloween (76', John Carpenter)
    2)Halloween (2006, Rob Zombie)
    3)Halloween H20 (LL, Curtis, and Hartnet, one of the best endings to a Halloween film.)
    4)Halloween 6 (Paul Rudd)
    Honorable Mentions
    Tie:Halloween 2018 and RZ's Halloween 2 (Rob Zombie took the series to a dark twisted level, whoa...

  • Josiah Baughman
    Josiah Baughman 2 days ago +1

    This was not at all a baaad movie, but this is a baaad review.

  • Ra Vern
    Ra Vern 2 days ago

    Too much whining and not enough review. What am I going to call the movie? As if it’s breathtaking too Halloween 2018.

  • Brady Johnson
    Brady Johnson 2 days ago

    This dude has zero knowledge on films. Watch a trash review.

  • Jilligain
    Jilligain 2 days ago

    I agree. It was okish. I grew up w/ the original Halloween. And I also loved Halloween 2. I love John Carpenter's movies a lot tho. Some of his movies are by far my absolute favorites. I feel alil let down by a lot of the Halloween remakes. I wonder if young ppl aren't as let down? (If they haven't watched the original I mean) Also, nowadays we are all somewhat used to horror & nothing seems new anymore, at least to me. Still, Michael Myers goes down as one of my absolute fav movie villains of all time

  • Joe Woodworth
    Joe Woodworth 2 days ago

    This movie was a wanna be ASMR piece of shit!

  • Diggin2Metal
    Diggin2Metal 2 days ago

    The best thing about this movie was the Marlin .44 mag rifle and Micheal Myers himself other than that this movie was boring. The worse part about this movie is the terrible acting

  • Ravaniscool
    Ravaniscool 2 days ago

    This film sucked balls! The original is still the best! Hell, even Halloween 2 had more suspense and better acting! H20 was in fact way better then this nonsense!

  • adrian72300
    adrian72300 3 days ago

    When you see the contents of the cellar,Laurie Strode now looks like a doomsday prepper,and her prophecy that she has been preparing for has come true and she's not "mental" after all...

  • Houston Ward
    Houston Ward 3 days ago

    Great review. !

  • Daz Capone
    Daz Capone 3 days ago +1

    Danielle Harris is the True Queen of Halloween...

  • Ben Hill
    Ben Hill 3 days ago

    If you like the sequels, you are in no position to criticise this one. This one had much more effort than ALL of the garbage made since 1981.

  • Suba
    Suba 3 days ago +1

    For once I agree with Chris.

  • Nathaniel Shinn
    Nathaniel Shinn 4 days ago

    I loved it

  • B SCHNAUF
    B SCHNAUF 4 days ago

    Chris.... no. Set aside those problematic things. This film was exactly what I have been waiting for. I grew up with the original (came out when I was 8-9). That back yard scene with the lights on and off. Man... badass. Plus the kills were so brutal. Minus the two snapped necks. Curb stomp anyone!!!

  • Emerald City
    Emerald City 4 days ago +2

    Jusr watched it. Awful. The doctor twist was simply pathetic. This movie had no ideas and so many problems.

  • krono069
    krono069 5 days ago +1

    I just watched this movie, literally finished it just now, and I thought it was absolutely terrible. Simply put, it was not scary at all to me and I found myself seriously bored for the most part. Extremely disappointed. It really just wasn't scary.

  • Gregory Ricker
    Gregory Ricker 6 days ago

    H20, was the best hands down.

  • Gregory Ricker
    Gregory Ricker 6 days ago

    I thought she had a son in h20. Where did the daughter come from.

  • Skidz1818
    Skidz1818 6 days ago +1

    she prepared for 40 years!!! and still was not effective in her combat/prepping skills! Almost everyone in the film made the worst possible choices they could. Dumb and horrible movie!!!!

  • Camilo Caballero
    Camilo Caballero 7 days ago

    I thought the first act was strong, the second one was pretty lackluster though, the third one was solid in and of itself, but yeah, I see where you're coming from. It was a good sequel I guess, but there's lots of extra stuff that just misses the mark. I agree with what you said about Jamie Lee Curtis and Laurie's character, and it is true that the movie suffers when it strays from that arc.

  • Leso Leso
    Leso Leso 7 days ago +1

    Crhis im big fan Halloween and i think this is A

  • Black/Death Metal Warrior

    The new Halloween 2018 was terrible! It seems and feels like a repeat to the Rob Zombie Halloween films.

  • Diesel
    Diesel 9 days ago

    I just got around to watching this movie... Average at best... I'd say the 1st Rob Zombie remake was better then this one

  • D A
    D A 9 days ago

    I thought it was amazing haha. For me easily the best one in the series after the original movie.
    I'm a big fan as well of the entire franchise. I also had to get the other versions of Halloween 6 😂 There are actually several different versions of that movie.
    Anyway, I loved this movie and I'm gonna buy a pizza and watch it again very soon.

  • Daniel Brown
    Daniel Brown 9 days ago

    I really wish I didn't agree with this review but I really do. This film was so cynical, jokey, wise cracking, dumb and so unlike the original, it actually depressed me. The original works because it's almost an art house film. They said they'd make him a real person again, not supernatural, yet he gets blasted, attacked etc and survives. The Trauma Laurie thing went too far. I wanted her to be a real traumatised person, not someone who has the where with all to build a death trap house. JLC in the press going on about how MeToo it was. How many MeToo women build houses with guns and flame-throwers in the walls. In real life they become depressed and addicted. Her being fit might have worked and armed but this was hysterical nonsense. It felt the film was only interested in nods to the original and others - just like this artistically appalling new trend to remake films as new ones - Force Awakens, Mary Poppings Returns. The jump the shark moment with the doctor was one of the worst choices I've actually ever seen in a major film. Even at the beginning the doctor letting the podcasters scream at his patient made me realise the whole thing was not what was promised and would not work. I take my hat off to the. creatives - they've cynically made a film that got a ton of attention but they completely dumbed it down. If they had made a more grown up, genuinely scary film that was all about Laurie and an escaped lunatic it would have been a bigger hit. I won't buy this on DVD. Ill stick to my old collection. The original Halloween 2 is a better horror film. The rest are rubbish but I at least respect them more for having original ideas of their own. I respect all the talent in this remake but have never been so disappointed by a film in my adult life. The biggest insult was they gave away so much of the film in clips before it was released and even gave away the ending on the iTunes soundtrack credits. I will not see the next one because of this, major lack of respect for the audience. Ive always loved Blumhouse and believed they genuinely care about horror and fans of it. Throwing all the footage out there had shattered that belief. They are just a business like all the rest and nothing more.

  • Xavier Tapia
    Xavier Tapia 10 days ago +1

    if you wanna watch a real review go to mark kermode channel, not this bs

  • Pickle Jar
    Pickle Jar 10 days ago +1

    I don’t get why he’s complaining about there being similar kills to previous halloween films. It’s pretty realistic actually, serial killers tend to repeat their methods of operation.

  • Xavier Silva
    Xavier Silva 10 days ago

    I love this movie it’s A + in my opinion

  • Londzale
    Londzale 11 days ago

    How can you not hate this movie? That hide and seek scene in the end was nearly 10 mins long. I woke up 3 times in that scene and they still weren't finished. And the feminist propagation ..... why? Its fucking retarded.

  • Bob Bobarino
    Bob Bobarino 11 days ago

    It was mediocre. I own them all, and while I enjoy the originals...Zombie did it best. All the cops in this movie were dumb as fuck, so were the people

  • Ramon Cruz
    Ramon Cruz 11 days ago

    Did he know how to drive when he was put away? I give this movie a 3 out of 10.

  • Pure Corruption
    Pure Corruption 11 days ago

    Halloween 2018 has a better review then the original Halloween 2 lol l.

  • Mr. Creatinator
    Mr. Creatinator 11 days ago +1

    Halloween 2 1981 was boring and had slow pacing in its story, just like how Chris's reviews are boring, have slow pacing in reviewing movies, but with controversial opinions that anger people like me.

  • John Christopher
    John Christopher 12 days ago

    5 stars motha f**ck**. This is how you evolve a classic into the 21st century.... Can we please get Jason to kill the entire predator race, Please?!?

  • Liam Gallagher
    Liam Gallagher 13 days ago

    Here's something to know, the scene were lori is in the street and the trick or treater pass her by. The masks they are wearing are the one from halloween 3

  • Jay West
    Jay West 13 days ago

    Found this movie disappointing to be honest, just another sequel. Didn't capture the essence of the original. I knew it was gonna suck when I heard the premise anyway. Would have been much scarier had Laurie not known Michael was coming at all. Film also tried too hard to be modern and had weird ass camera angles and shit. It wasn't really scary. First two were the scariest.

  • Andre
    Andre 14 days ago

    Chris has really good skin.

  • Oscar Hernandez
    Oscar Hernandez 15 days ago

    The movie was good haters are going to hate the best 2018 movie

  • Andrea Prestia
    Andrea Prestia 15 days ago

    The movie to me was awful it was nothing but a cash grab.

  • Aaron
    Aaron 17 days ago

    Only liked the Michael scenes. If they wanted to get away from Laurie being his sister, just remove her completely.

  • Hasla Hali
    Hasla Hali 17 days ago

    I just saw this movie for the first time and it was such a disappointment! :D Well, thank god Hereditary came out this year too! :D

  • Luc Benjack
    Luc Benjack 17 days ago

    The film was meh. H2 remains the best sequel for me.

  • 0 Subscribers With No Videos Challenge

    The movie was good but I feel like the end was pretty bad. The way they killed Michael was just to bad. I felt like a ending where both Laurie and Michael die would have been better or maybe when Michael just stamds there knowing he is dead would have been better if Michael would have said something.

  • Abdi'sHairline
    Abdi'sHairline 17 days ago

    The black kid was the only smart one lmao.
    "Oh shit"

  • Hellmarch
    Hellmarch 17 days ago +1

    This movie was garbage lol

  • Zone 6 Judo
    Zone 6 Judo 17 days ago

    Ima big Halloween movie fan since the beginning...but this movie was terrible...overall Micheal Myers wasnt really dat scary and he didnt do that much damage like he did in the other movies..I rate this movie a 5 out of 10 😔

  • J Cortez
    J Cortez 18 days ago +1

    I finally got around to this movie tonight. I wanted to see it in theaters and I wish I did because it might have been more suspenseful. It was terrible in my opinion. I didn’t get and nothing made sense. I truly believe there is a way you could make a Halloween movie scary in 2018 and yet again they can’t. Not scary, doesn’t make sense. Just ultimately disappointing. Rob Zombie’s remake was better and that is hard to admit.

  • Djordje Jelic Joke
    Djordje Jelic Joke 19 days ago

    Chris - I’m not mad, I’m just disappointed

  • Dan Grunden
    Dan Grunden 19 days ago

    Exposed

  • REAL-ANDY
    REAL-ANDY 19 days ago

    i give halloween 2018 a big fat DDDDDDDDDDD for dum the story sucks 40 years later he come back to kill her are you kidding me...

  • Nikolai Nixon
    Nikolai Nixon 19 days ago

    I 100% agree

  • Michael Hansen
    Michael Hansen 19 days ago

    Damn, this movie is bad

  • nippy 31
    nippy 31 19 days ago

    To me this new take on Mike Myers is fucking awesome man I love this MF. And I hope they keep it going like 1 r 2 films but that's it

  • MR. GENRES
    MR. GENRES 19 days ago

    I've always at least in my mind thought of this as Halloween H40

  • REPTAR
    REPTAR 20 days ago

    Dude where can I get that long sleeve? Damn!

  • Andeddo Zonbi
    Andeddo Zonbi 20 days ago

    I seriously agree with what you say about this movie... Except I'm even saltier about this. Does not feel like a REAL Halloween film till the third act, amongst several other problems I have with this movie... 4/10

  • Nice Shot
    Nice Shot 20 days ago

    Good grade. Let's hope he doesn't become Krueger.

  • d1330star
    d1330star 21 day ago

    Ok currently watching the movie and I'm 45 minutes in. Disappointed so far. Not many suspenseful moments, nor killings. No Halloween was not originated from just filming aftermaths of Michael's killings. Wrong. This movie so far is focusing way too much on other extra character's small talk, and when the others have something to say about Michael, it's repetitive. No plot build up, so far other than he doesn't speak, but that's a given for anyone who knows these movies. Like that was some sort of plot climax.
    Give Halloween back to Rob Zombie. He did this franchise justice and watching his Halloween movies gave me chills. The acting, the cinematography, and Michael's character were more raw and more convincing that the psycho in Rob Zombie's version was more real and more interesting than the Michael in this current 2018 film.
    Redo it Rob. Real fans are waiting.

    • d1330star
      d1330star 20 days ago

      Ugh the acting is just getting worse as I continue. Not one of Michael's victims sounds convincing as if they're about to meet their end. Horrible!!! I feel completely ripped off buying it before reading someone else's review of this movie. Never again! If this is the work of John Carpenter, which I think it is, hang it up. This one sucks!!!

    • d1330star
      d1330star 21 day ago

      ...and no a good Halloween story doesn't need too in depth character bs relationship life drama. It makes a horror movie dull.

  • Lomax0506
    Lomax0506 21 day ago

    Just finished watching the movie. I agree with nearly everything Chris said. Such a frustrating movie that could have been easily fixed. The 10 million dollar budget certainly didn't help. They could have easily given it a 30 million dollar budget and hired a more capable director.

  • NUTCool
    NUTCool 21 day ago +1

    Halloween 1981 and Halloween 4 are better than this movie in my opinion.

  • Darren Frey
    Darren Frey 21 day ago

    I would like to apologize in advance for any auto correct typos as I am visually impaired and talk to my phone.
    No atmosphere? The Kills were lame? Have you seen the original? The Kills in that movie weren't over the top but they were still just as brutal. There was only one death in this movie that I consider to be very brutal and that was towards the end when someone was discovered outside the house. The fact that most of the deaths actually took place off camera or in such a way that the camera was shaky you didn't actually see them very well, I thought was brilliant. As for the police joking around about there dinner, that's just normal police talk. When they are on stakeouts their lives are pretty much so boring they talk and joke about anything just to keep the mood good. And to keep from falling asleep. As far as the tension goes I'm not sure what you mean either about there not being any because the scene where the British guy was holding up the mess screaming at Michael to say something was pretty fucking intense and so was pretty much all the scenes after Michael got into Lori's house. The scene where Lori's granddaughter's friend who was coming on to her got killed actually reminded me of something we would have seen in part 4 or 5. I found this movie to be nostalgic as hell and well I will say the ending was quite strange if they weren't planning on making a sequel but I would assume that this is not the end.

  • Minebro 370
    Minebro 370 21 day ago

    Cris, I agree with you at 7:33. That part is strange and the worst part in the movie.

  • Supr3m3 Zen-Oh-Ku
    Supr3m3 Zen-Oh-Ku 21 day ago

    I just don't understand how this motherfucker has been locked up for 40 years. Yet he just automatically has a knowledge of everyone and everything. He can run into any random person in this town, but it always seems to be someone related to one of the main characters in the film. The journalist, the grandaughter's friends, etc. Like how is this even possible?! Is he psychic? The random killings I can understand, they're random, but hes picking off specific ass targets right off the bat. It makes no fucking sense! In previous films he stalked his victims, he studied their movements, he could identify them. This film he just know everything.

  • Andrew Einstein
    Andrew Einstein 21 day ago

    I felt the exact same way, major disappointment but entertaining none the less👍🏼

  • david Davidson
    david Davidson 25 days ago

    Just finished it
    Super let down and honestly suprised this wasn't straight to DVD

  • AgentMcQueen
    AgentMcQueen 25 days ago +1

    2 out of 10.

  • diviengi
    diviengi 25 days ago

    For fuck sake, who is responsable for this shit, donald trump? Do not waste time on this shit movie. May the writer director and cast never get a job again.

  • JeehoonOh
    JeehoonOh 25 days ago

    "Gotcha"
    such a badass moment.

  • AymeneIssam
    AymeneIssam 26 days ago

    the movie is shit , the acting was shit , the plot was dumb shit , worst movie i have seen in a long time , what a dissapointment !!

  • chocolate
    chocolate 28 days ago +1

    Yeah, agree on most of your points. I'd go as far as 5.4/10.

  • Scope Out Horror Reviews

    I think this film is a hell of a lot better then the previous 2
    And to compare atmosphere in this film to trick or treat
    That movie im sorry
    Was shit

  • asdf5599
    asdf5599 Month ago

    WTF CHRIS ?!?!?!?!?!

  • Wilson Gang
    Wilson Gang Month ago

    This movie was great.

  • OliverTittyTwist
    OliverTittyTwist Month ago

    Stuckman's review is spot on. Forget the gibberish from the comments below who'll all say theyre die hard horror fans...they're obv not.
    Ive just watched Halloween 2018. worst in the series? Yeah probaly, including H3. Worst screenplay writing by far. It is ruined by an uneasy mix of distracting dumbed down comedy contrasting with over the top brutality (killing children for shock value? seriously?). I cannot believe that this film was given the green light with the screenplay in such a state, but at only $10 million, thats pretty much a tax right off for the studios.
    However, kudos has to be given for the way it looked - Halloween 2018 did look very nice, but the story was so bad, I mean really really bad with a needless twist' - which is usually an indication that the writers were struggling for ideas. And it shows. If youve read any book of screenplay or done any film classes etc you will know that H2018 is amateur night.
    Recommend watching online for free b4 wasting your money on this. Really disappointing. Comedy writers should piss off and stick to making crappy comedies.

  • Joshua Dickens
    Joshua Dickens Month ago

    Give the spoiler, cause I'm not wasting my money to see same plots or scene in every movie.

  • Its Hero Reborn
    Its Hero Reborn Month ago

    Anyone know the figure all the way to the right?

  • akvalues
    akvalues Month ago

    MICHAEL IS NOT A MONSTER AND IS VERY HUMAN LIKE. THE TOWN RESPONDS ACCORDINGLY! UNLIKE MOST MOVIES. THE WRITING IS GOOD AND ACTING IS AS WELL. I ACTUALLY CARED WHEN PEOPLE WERE MURDERED. THE ENDING WAS GREAT! IT WAS UNIQUE AS WELL BECAUSE THE ATMOSPHERE WAS ORIGINAL BECAUSE AT TIMES IT FELT AT TIMES LIKE A DRAMA THAT JUST HAPPENED TO HAVE MICHAEL MYERS IN IT. AND THAT WORKED FOR ME BECAUSE IT DIDNT ALWAYS HAVE THE HORROR MOVIE TROPES GOING ON LIKE THE TYPICAL PREDICTABLE BORING HORROR MOVIE SUSPENSE.

  • akvalues
    akvalues Month ago

    THE BEST HORROR MOVIE IN MANY YEARS!! DAMN JASON FREDDY AND PINHEAD HAVE SOME CATCHING UP TO DO.

    • Chansey _XD
      Chansey _XD 18 days ago

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA... No really HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

  • PUMPKIN12_4
    PUMPKIN12_4 Month ago

    Fuck off haters, it's better than any of those shitty sequels and a great film.

    • PUMPKIN12_4
      PUMPKIN12_4 18 days ago

      +Chansey _XD no it is not

    • Chansey _XD
      Chansey _XD 18 days ago

      Even halloween 3 is better than this shit

  • PhoenixForce
    PhoenixForce Month ago

    i wish the name of the movie would have just been his name. i think that would have been better then calling it Halloween for the 3rd time

  • Mike Warner
    Mike Warner Month ago

    I conquer. C. At best. And I don’t need Halloween Merch behind proving I love Michael Myers.

  • Mike Warner
    Mike Warner Month ago

    The dr killing the sheriff!!! Dumbest decision in movie horror history

  • Ben Askrens daddy
    Ben Askrens daddy Month ago

    Hey can we get a review on rob zombies halloween

  • Paul Zenco
    Paul Zenco Month ago

    40 minutes into the film, turned it off, it is awful

  • Hopingover Leavesinfall

    Disagree with this review. I also do not like the fact that a way of people trying to prove their opinion nowadays is to say that other people they saw the film with reacted a certain way or agreed with their opinion.

  • Van Hub Gaming
    Van Hub Gaming Month ago

    The movie had a lot of good build up but never went anywhere with it.

  • Van Hub Gaming
    Van Hub Gaming Month ago

    It was mediocre. If it didn't have the top notch production quality, it's a crappy movie. Characters were absolutely dumb. Even for a horror movie. Friday the 13th 2009 was better.

  • MMA4LIFE87
    MMA4LIFE87 Month ago

    You don't wait 40 years to do a sequel or wait 40 years to replace a sequel

  • Aaron Call
    Aaron Call Month ago +6

    Movie was pretty mediocre. Nothing that was spectacular.

  • gabriel Pocaterra
    gabriel Pocaterra Month ago

    suck my ass
    Cordialmente Gabriel Caraeperra

  • ErikRichardson
    ErikRichardson Month ago

    No suspence? Dude this movie was full of suspense. I had to chain smoke a pack of cigarettes just to keep me at ease lol.

  • Sebastian von P
    Sebastian von P Month ago

    watched it today. Loved it. I found 2 flaws but they were minor. I really liked the family drama. I also appreciated the shout out to Dr Viktor Frankl!

  • The Reel Review
    The Reel Review Month ago

    I think you mean 'sought out' ;-)