Halloween (2018) - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 17, 2018
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Halloween, starring Jamie Lee Curtis, Judy Greer, Andi Matichak, Will Patton, Virginia Gardner, Nick Castle. Directed by David Gordon Green.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 7 243

  • Gerard Monotilla

    I suppose slasher horror is not for me seeing as this film is a little meh for me

    • Gerard Monotilla
      Gerard Monotilla Day ago

      Like reviewer Decker Shado said the shots and the cinematography is timeless, too bad the script they went for isn't

  • MooN MaN Flo
    MooN MaN Flo 3 days ago +1

    They showed the WHOLE movie in trailers SMFH

  • Vivian Chomp
    Vivian Chomp 5 days ago

    Male pattern baldness

  • Matthew George
    Matthew George 6 days ago

    This movie was weak. Yet again, another director who has no idea what made Halloween so great to begin with. Shame.

  • Kevin Travers
    Kevin Travers 7 days ago

    Despite what fans say I'm still interested in this film. Like he said, go see for myself and maybe I will like it better than others.

  • Jay James
    Jay James 7 days ago

    Just finished watching it. Holy shit, that was a terrible film. So predictable, kill scenes were lame as fuck and not disturbing in the slightest, so many decisions made zero sense, i honestly cant believe someone made this film and thought, slasher fans are actually going to enjoy this.

  • Yannick Naert
    Yannick Naert 10 days ago

    I know the twist you didn’t want to spoil, all I could think was why? It had only minor shock value and more importantly it doesn’t serve the story in any real way. Up nail that point I thought the movie was going strong.

  • Leonardo Turtle
    Leonardo Turtle 11 days ago

    This movie is really dumb. Apparently michael myers isn't phased whatsoever by a man hitting him in the back of the head with a crowbar and then goes on to kill him but as soon as Laurie strode is about to die up stairs a slight push on his face backs him away. Michael Myers just felt too weak in this movie and I'm really annoyed how strong they made the women and how stupidly weak all of the men were. It just seemed like a shitty movie trying to glorify women way too much and just shitting on the father's etc.

  • Mr Cat
    Mr Cat 11 days ago

    I just watched Halloween before watching this and I thought it was terrible. There is no point to the film and the subplot with the doctor was so fucking stupid.

  • Robot Raptor
    Robot Raptor 11 days ago

    I found the while thing fractured,like they had a bunch of ideas for the story and characters so they just put them all in and wrote the story's out as they went along. Just full of head scratching characters and moments. Like the 2 journalists. Pointless characters.
    Plus I actually found the ending totally unbelievable and anti climactic. And
    Spoiler alert!!!!...

    Michel Myers doing shit like letting go of Laurie cause she bites his hand.
    Another thing I didn't think really made sense was the film in one respect made Myers to be just a relentless killer, just killing almost mindlessly then he does stuff like putting the sheet over the girl like ghost or putting the flashlight in the officers severed head. Why?
    And the basement was a trap all along bit just felt thrown in at the last minute.
    And Lauries daughter pretty much does not seem to give a flying fuck about her husband.

  • Sid Sloth
    Sid Sloth 17 days ago

    Okey, I've seen the film and still dont know what hes talk about at the 7.50 mark lol

  • Zerox
    Zerox 17 days ago

    Wasn't there a fucking fence around Laurie's house? Writers forgot about it somewhere in the middle of the movie

  • Zerox
    Zerox 17 days ago

    Are we not gonna talk about plotholes and how flawed logic in this movie is? It's like plot was written by a retard.

  • ajc brum
    ajc brum 18 days ago

    Why did she shoot through the floor when it was a secret bunker he wouldn't of even known you were in there but now he does I'm sick of Hollywood films because they are so dumb

  • Daniel Dalton
    Daniel Dalton 18 days ago

    I overall liked the movie and think it’s the best one since H4. However, my two critiques are Allyson’s boyfriend was ugly, with bad, greasy hair, and a bad actor. They should’ve found someone at least more attractive. And #2 the podcasters describing Judith Myers death adding in details of her murder that couldn’t have happened because we witness her whole murder in the original. Don’t know why they did that, was an idiotic and unnecessary couple lines that ANY fan of the original would catch as never happening.

  • Entertainment Wizard
    Entertainment Wizard 20 days ago

    I agree Chris the movie leaves you frustrated and wanting more!

  • Dusty Wasson
    Dusty Wasson 23 days ago

    Thumbs down on Halloween remake to many remakes and saga continues. They should just remade the whole saga when he was younger and just carefully make the sequel betters. This only can copy cat now or some cloning

  • sydmmr1985
    sydmmr1985 25 days ago +3

    The review was spot on. I was soooooo waiting for this film. But like you, I was very disappointed. It had so much potential.

  • Phil S
    Phil S 29 days ago

    They said they wanted to encapsulate every sequel in this one, think it works as a tribute but agree they should've stuck with the mask itself being evil twist...

  • Abram Sullivan
    Abram Sullivan Month ago

    I actually went to see the newest HALLOWEEN film at the age 21 I actually enjoy it Michael is more brutal and he can feel pain they got rid of all the supernatural abilities he still has his scary strength. His kills are brutal he made a cop face into a crude Jack-o-lantern and he stumped Dr. Newmis head into bloody mulch and he ripped off teeths out from a gas station attendant ripping his jaw like a motherfucker I mean seriously he killed a kid too that's brutal.

  • Nero
    Nero Month ago

    I'm having a very hard time trying to understand how anyone could consider this piece of crap a good movie.
    Seriously, this was one of the worst movies I've ever seen, it has everything that I hate in horror/thriller movies. My god, so generic and boring. I just don't get it.

  • Ayub November 27th brith 1995 ayub

    Hallween 2019

  • Ayub November 27th brith 1995 ayub

    Ayub hallween 2018 moive full moive good 😇💙 micheal myers

  • Flat Earth
    Flat Earth Month ago

    Thank you for not being a rambling idiot like the other review guy that i just saw

  • Dean novani 89
    Dean novani 89 Month ago

    He's right about the tention build up, one scene Michael just walks in a kitchen and batters an old lady Just like that. I was like ah ok??? And the baby sitter bit was rushed and dull reactions to Michael. The scene at the end shutting off all the rooms was great with the manikins

  • NinjaWalrus
    NinjaWalrus Month ago

    The scene with the police was to make you care about them (that’s what I thought at least)

  • Aria Mohtadi Haghighi

    Thanks for the review!
    Come to think of it, T2 aside, the original Terminator was basically retreading the original Halloween in a sense;
    killing machine figuratively clears names to find and terminate the real Sarah Connor = emotionless killer goes killing random people that may or may not remind him of the night he killed his sister, until finally locking in on Laurie Strode.

  • Jacob McMahan
    Jacob McMahan Month ago

    I love it when people like Chris go to film school and all of sudden believe their experts in all things film. I'm telling you send an average person like Chris to film School 2 weeks and they think they're Spielberg.

    • Nero
      Nero Month ago

      And who the fuck are you to question his credibility?

  • Zachary Lee
    Zachary Lee Month ago

    I watched this New Halloween Movie At the movie theater Last October It's a Good Slasher Horror Movie in my opinion, Yes I do actually agree It's Not the best Horror Movie Ever made But it's still Good Though if you get what I'm saying 😉

  • Kgreg1982
    Kgreg1982 Month ago

    It just wasn’t that great. Very poor acting outside of JLC. Will Patton was even bad in this movie, he was pressing.

  • Jay Boek
    Jay Boek Month ago

    Straight up F. One of the worst movies of all time.

  • hauntedgunterhotel
    hauntedgunterhotel Month ago

    I just watched the movie this past weekend, I agree 100% with you. I couldn't careless about the granddaughter and her boyfriend. The film had everything we needed to know about Lori, buuuuuuutttt, I think the film would've been more badass had the story also included more about Michael. For example, how was Michael apprehended (he was shot 5-6 times by Dr. Loomis? The film doesn't mention anything about his capture. What happened in those 40 years Michael was locked up? If he was pure EVIL, did Michael kill anyone while institutionalize? What was Michael's behavior during those 40 years... And what was the purpose of Michael going back to Judith's gravesite? The gravesite scene would've been amazing had Michael just killed the journalists at his sister's gravesite instead of the bathroom scene. Anyhow, hope you read this and let me know what you're changes and/or add-ons for the film...

  • George Ramos
    George Ramos Month ago

    There's much names you can add to the movie title. So Halloween 2018 makes sense

  • George Ramos
    George Ramos Month ago

    Halloween And Laurie title

  • George Ramos
    George Ramos Month ago

    Good point. More on Jamie Lee Curtis

  • BMT115
    BMT115 Month ago

    its very likely that the parts you didn't like were studio made.

  • Void Monkey
    Void Monkey Month ago +1

    I disliked it very much as well. 😔

  • Ali Hussain
    Ali Hussain Month ago

    Chris, please watch KGF Indian movie.

  • Dean Williams
    Dean Williams Month ago

    It was shit....He died in part 2 back in the 80's as far i'm concerned. The End!

  • Kealeboga MOLO
    Kealeboga MOLO Month ago

    Cool shirt man.

  • tiddy
    tiddy Month ago

    that movie was dog shit

  • Mikeman Jordan
    Mikeman Jordan Month ago

    Movie was garbage especially the ending

  • SomeDude96
    SomeDude96 Month ago

    tbh, the movie was meh for me.

  • Jesse Abundis
    Jesse Abundis Month ago

    I was let down, I expected more from the writing team after they talked a big game, saying it was going to be more grounded. Laurie was thrown away, that's all you needed, but they needed to force the teens n teen drama. Halloween 2 is still 100x better than this film. This film actually made me feel admiration for Rob Zombies take.

  • Liam E
    Liam E Month ago

    This movie is bad.

  • Pedro's Vlog
    Pedro's Vlog Month ago

    To many scenes with no music.

  • doom3crazy
    doom3crazy Month ago

    Can someone tell me what weird choice near the ending he is talking about that he said “they just throw away” ?

  • Joliver 730
    Joliver 730 Month ago

    Best music of the series

  • Swisher Sweets
    Swisher Sweets Month ago

    This movie was absolutely fucking terrible it made me want to slit my wrist

  • Anthony Green
    Anthony Green Month ago

    They didn't even have any boobs in the movie 🤦

  • NEINEINEINEINEIN
    NEINEINEINEINEIN Month ago

    C Is about right

  • jjm31usa
    jjm31usa Month ago

    From a fellow fan of the whole Halloween concept, I agree completely. Very frustrating and unfulfilling film for what it was hyped to be. Great review.. keep up the good work.

  • Douglas Stephenson
    Douglas Stephenson Month ago

    Rob Zombies version was much better

  • Magic Micah
    Magic Micah Month ago

    Who has more subscribers, Jahns or Stuckmann? Both say 1.4m

  • 80s Geek
    80s Geek Month ago

    good review. yes very frustrating film. But Halloween 2018 is shite

  • Jordan’s Single Player Gaming Extravaganza

    I enjoyed this movie a lot personally, of course I have only seen the original 1978 Halloween and this 2018 movie and I thought the bathroom scene was so, legitimately frightening to me at least but, maybe that’s because I’ve never seen H20 with the similar bathroom scene beforehand.

  • Evan Pricco
    Evan Pricco Month ago

    One issue that I had with the film was Michael's breathing. I really wish that they had used the original breathing sound from the first two movies. If they had used that breathing in the scene when Michael first puts the mask on, it would've been so much more surreal.

  • Kaster Troy
    Kaster Troy Month ago

    Pathetic film. I'd watch the one with Busta Rhymes again before I'd watch this one.

  • Greg Barnett
    Greg Barnett Month ago +1

    You’re taste in film in starting to waver...Halloween gets a C but Glass (a huge pile of incoherent shit) gets a B? I’m thinking YMS is the only solid film critic on TVclip right now.

  • Hunter Hult
    Hunter Hult Month ago

    I feel you on this one... went into this movie a fan of the series, came out feeling like I didn’t want to see anymore Michael movies...

  • Second Coming97
    Second Coming97 Month ago +1

    Great review dude. But I gotta disagree. I thought it was the best Halloween film since the first one (yes I know the sequels aren't all that, but I personally enjoy all but the 5th film). This film was so damn good, great tension, suspense, acting was great, Laurie was so badass and awesome, Michael was so brutal and so were the kills despite how simple some were.
    But it's like you said horror fans look for much different things in a film and I consider myself more a horror fan than a normal movie fan.

  • Mad Dog
    Mad Dog Month ago +1

    I do agree with all the criticisms, but feel that it was a good movie. The McBride writing killed it. For every clever nuance came a stupid reference that you know came from him.
    Editing is sloppy too, almost like they rushed to finish it.
    Very unnerving violence, yes modern, but some unnecessary, like the kid getting killed. Myers was in the car, why not just steal it like the wagon in 78. It’s frustrating because a couple of tweaks would make this an elite sequel .It did creep me out like the original though. Made Myers the scary lurking character again like when I first saw him as a kid.
    I would like to see a Halloween movie done in a different way. Maybe recreate 78 from a different vantage point, or maybe a prequel focusing on 1963.

  • Aneil Jaisingh
    Aneil Jaisingh Month ago +1

    I liked it but tbh it’s his opinion. The movie was okay. But it wasn’t close to what it SHOULD have been. And for Those of you criticizing him for criticizing the movie. Please kill yourself and rid the world of your stupidity lol.

  • Tim Treakle
    Tim Treakle Month ago +1

    this movie was disappointing to me. it wasn't very scary and the trailers spoiled the movie. we didn't get to see the bus crash and I'm not a fan of them messing with the other movie's by making this a, direct sequel to the first movie when it's not needed. I love the original Halloween 2. however I did like Myers look, his mask especially and the kills were really good. the score was nice and the ending was good. over all I gave this movie a B-.

  • Victoria Cureton
    Victoria Cureton Month ago

    Agreed 💯 percent!!!

  • Jesse Quest
    Jesse Quest Month ago

    Stupid movie

  • Mr Enigma
    Mr Enigma Month ago

    I made the mistake of purchasing this on blu-ray as a blind buy. The more I think about it, the less I like it.

  • kingsky68
    kingsky68 Month ago +1

    I think the movie was good. I didn't have any expectations, so that is why I liked it. I do agree with the negative. I did like that Michael was a random killing machine. Invincible.

  • Jake Tibbs
    Jake Tibbs Month ago

    The problem here is that slashers are supposed to be cheap and dirty. That's part of the charm. This felt way to streamlined and corporate.

    • Johnathan Doe
      Johnathan Doe Month ago

      Well look at strangers Prey at night a slasher film with a reasonably cheap budget by today's standards. It's not the films that have changed it's more so our expectations. We always want more and more and become cyncical towards everything. If the original Halloween didn't come out all those years ago and came out now id say it would flop. Every slasher has problems but the community always looked past those nit picks as they saw how much love and care went into making it. This had soo much care and love while trying to stay through to the original. It's sad to say but these movies are becoming a thing of the past even with a strong community the massive attention of the public now a day's tends to sway our judgement. I enjoyed this movie. I can understand if you didn't. But his is no different to any other slasher film.

  • Roy Iraggi
    Roy Iraggi Month ago

    I mostly agree with the critique, but personally the lesser parts didn't bother me that much. Overall i liked it very much. I brought Michael back down from almost supernatural psycho killer to a strong unrelenting psycho killer, like in the very first movie. And i liked that alot

  • Himanshu Gautam
    Himanshu Gautam Month ago +1

    I agree with chris, after reading comments i decided to watch it bsc many were saying its a very good movie. No its not its just another 'not so good' horror movie. You can notice nonsense in the movie at diff scenes and also it frustrates you. Some things were good like the rage inside Laure but from now on it inscreased my faith on believing that chris is good reviewer.

  • Ashley Bruton
    Ashley Bruton Month ago

    Bro feel the same was disappointed and frustrated anticipated much more story plot and less wasted scene's

  • P-willie 420
    P-willie 420 Month ago

    I completely agree man I was let down 😢

  • ThePsychedelicCinema

    Cranky asshole...you used to be cooler

  • Ross Mitchell
    Ross Mitchell Month ago

    Halloween 2018 was better than it 2017 but I think it chapter 2 will be better

  • goodguynow
    goodguynow Month ago

    I liked it a lot.

  • red hood
    red hood 2 months ago

    It was a better comedy than horror film

  • red hood
    red hood 2 months ago

    Yeah I just didn't like this movie 🤷

  • Tommywood
    Tommywood 2 months ago +1

    Some scenes felt disconnected and the score didn’t even land correctly in some of the scenes. The movie was entertaining but it could’ve been a lot better and more effective.

  • Philip Thompson
    Philip Thompson 2 months ago

    This movie wasn’t scary at all and the characters were dumb as fuck lol-surprised it got such a high rating tbh

    • Johnathan Doe
      Johnathan Doe Month ago

      Slashers aren't meant to be scary they are a subgenre of thriller and horror. They are meant to unsettle you not necessarily scare you. They are to show the horrors within man and at times the brutality. The characters made human decisions not smart but spur of the moment actions. To the characters are stupid is unfair. They are meant to represent human beings flawed and all

  • Melissa Roberts
    Melissa Roberts 2 months ago

    The movie was shit. The teen actors couldn't act. Story line was all over the place. Pointless banter. Late/if any reactions to the deaths. They just put Jamie and John in the movie just to get reviews. It's like they sprayed perfume on dog shit and said it was good. This was the worst... I'm going to bed pissed now thank you for fucking up my childhood Boogeyman.Goodnight🖕

  • Christopher Campbell
    Christopher Campbell 2 months ago

    For someone who has been training in weapons for 30 years, she had no muzzle awareness and came off as a crazy old lady with a gun pointing it at kids and every which direction. So dumb.

  • xXdrake_oneXx
    xXdrake_oneXx 2 months ago +1

    This movie was good.The original John Carpenter Halloween is still number 1...and I still think Rob Zombies take on the series was dark and ominous...Rob Z's First Halloween 2006, gets 2nd place IMO...I believe the acting and energy Michael Myers mean badass yet brutal humble beginnings to how he came to be were top notch, disturbing, yet classic material...This Halloween 2018 attempts to bring back Laurie Strode and Jamie Lee Curtis for another round, and retcons H20 (jlc's performance in H20 was the best imo and top notch) and the terrible H:Ressurection...with it starting from where The Original leaves off...I give it a 3 out of 5. Its good to see that since Rob Zombie the series is still running strong...
    Best Halloween films imo are:
    1)Halloween (76', John Carpenter)
    2)Halloween (2006, Rob Zombie)
    3)Halloween H20 (LL, Curtis, and Hartnet, one of the best endings to a Halloween film.)
    4)Halloween 6 (Paul Rudd)
    Honorable Mentions
    Tie:Halloween 2018 and RZ's Halloween 2 (Rob Zombie took the series to a dark twisted level, whoa...

  • Josiah Baughman
    Josiah Baughman 2 months ago +2

    This was not at all a baaad movie, but this is a baaad review.

  • Ra Vern
    Ra Vern 2 months ago

    Too much whining and not enough review. What am I going to call the movie? As if it’s breathtaking too Halloween 2018.

  • Brady Johnson
    Brady Johnson 2 months ago

    This dude has zero knowledge on films. Watch a trash review.

  • Jilligain
    Jilligain 2 months ago +1

    I agree. It was okish. I grew up w/ the original Halloween. And I also loved Halloween 2. I love John Carpenter's movies a lot tho. Some of his movies are by far my absolute favorites. I feel alil let down by a lot of the Halloween remakes. I wonder if young ppl aren't as let down? (If they haven't watched the original I mean) Also, nowadays we are all somewhat used to horror & nothing seems new anymore, at least to me. Still, Michael Myers goes down as one of my absolute fav movie villains of all time

  • Joe Woodworth
    Joe Woodworth 2 months ago

    This movie was a wanna be ASMR piece of shit!

  • Diggin2Metal
    Diggin2Metal 2 months ago

    The best thing about this movie was the Marlin .44 mag rifle and Micheal Myers himself other than that this movie was boring. The worse part about this movie is the terrible acting

  • Ravaniscool
    Ravaniscool 2 months ago

    This film sucked balls! The original is still the best! Hell, even Halloween 2 had more suspense and better acting! H20 was in fact way better then this nonsense!

  • adrian72300
    adrian72300 2 months ago

    When you see the contents of the cellar,Laurie Strode now looks like a doomsday prepper,and her prophecy that she has been preparing for has come true and she's not "mental" after all...

  • Houston Ward
    Houston Ward 2 months ago +1

    Great review. !

  • Daz Capone
    Daz Capone 2 months ago +2

    Danielle Harris is the True Queen of Halloween...

  • Ben Hill
    Ben Hill 2 months ago +1

    If you like the sequels, you are in no position to criticise this one. This one had much more effort than ALL of the garbage made since 1981.

    • alfa01spotivo
      alfa01spotivo Month ago

      no. II, III and 4 were much more stylish and memorable imo. This film was just bland

  • Suba
    Suba 2 months ago +2

    For once I agree with Chris.

  • Nathaniel Shinn
    Nathaniel Shinn 2 months ago +1

    I loved it

  • B SCHNAUF
    B SCHNAUF 2 months ago +1

    Chris.... no. Set aside those problematic things. This film was exactly what I have been waiting for. I grew up with the original (came out when I was 8-9). That back yard scene with the lights on and off. Man... badass. Plus the kills were so brutal. Minus the two snapped necks. Curb stomp anyone!!!

  • Emerald City
    Emerald City 2 months ago +2

    Jusr watched it. Awful. The doctor twist was simply pathetic. This movie had no ideas and so many problems.

  • krono069
    krono069 2 months ago +1

    I just watched this movie, literally finished it just now, and I thought it was absolutely terrible. Simply put, it was not scary at all to me and I found myself seriously bored for the most part. Extremely disappointed. It really just wasn't scary.