Death Note - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 078

  • star doomer
    star doomer Day ago

    Ryuk is the Apples and we are ryuk, we need more ryuk!!!!

  • Hisame Artwork
    Hisame Artwork 2 days ago

    They always dumb down japanese characters, same for Ghost in the shell. It's like they think americans are retarded therefore they must do cliche slogan american stories: government bad, boy bang girl, etc

  • Orange Blossom
    Orange Blossom 2 days ago

    Ryuk was my favorite, too. 6:49 BINGO

  • sammorgan31
    sammorgan31 5 days ago

    Who the hell is Light Turner?

  • ChocoKaylaRobin
    ChocoKaylaRobin 6 days ago

    That thumbnail XD

  • Young Dedicated Cynosure

    They turn one of the biggest character traits of Light.... and do the exact opposite lol. Light would never ever do anything for any woman. Yes he’s married to Misa but that’s only because she was the 2nd Kira and he had use for her. Misa threw herself at him and he denied her time after time. In fact Kira was going to kill her but Misa’s shinigami told Light if anything happened to her, she would kill Light. Then after he used Misa to carry on killings after he took on in L’s place or when under investigation. She was only ever a tool. Same with all of his other relationships. His only focus was becoming “God of the New World”

  • Matthius & Shaggy
    Matthius & Shaggy 9 days ago

    Okay, not trying to come off as racist but L being portrayed as black was a terrible choice imo. The character of L is supposed to be a weird, scrawny, pasty white emotionless person who is a great detective cuz of it. If Light was black I’d be more on board for it cuz like you know, it’s a different character development. L’s contrast between his bleach white skin to his pitch black hair was very appealing and it gave the character some eerie feeling to him. But hey, that’s just my opinion 😝

  • Kamal Mazrif
    Kamal Mazrif 9 days ago

    It’s not Death Note, it’s Final Destination Note!

  • Neo Virz
    Neo Virz 15 days ago

    Lol even i can direct a better adaptation... no joke

  • Kjell
    Kjell 20 days ago

    This movie was amazing and Nat Wolff was fantastic.

  • Danny Darko
    Danny Darko 21 day ago

    Those tats are amazing bro! Awesome

  • guccicaskets
    guccicaskets 21 day ago

    i have yet to see this film but my feelings towards it right now is mixed. From what i hear this movie was nothing like how the anime is and i can obviously tell by the cast, but i just saw the trailer and honestly it don’t look that bad.

    • Morgane Germé
      Morgane Germé 16 days ago

      Truth be told, as a movie, it's not terrible. It can actually be quite enjoyable if you don't compare it too much to the orginal version. However, as an adaptation, IT IS awful.

  • Keone Jones
    Keone Jones 22 days ago

    FYI they have a live action Japanese death note movie. Its way better then the American one.

  • Keone Jones
    Keone Jones 22 days ago

    Bet the dude who plays L is a major weaboo.

  • Martin Kolakowski
    Martin Kolakowski 23 days ago

    You should watch the Japanese live action movies version. It's also dubbed by the same actors that dubbed the anime. It's a LOT better than the Netflix version and they knew what to do with the source material.

  • David Brown
    David Brown 23 days ago

    Chris Talk about the live action Bleach movie

  • Ciel Blue
    Ciel Blue 24 days ago

    I like how he tries hard to make it sound OK when it's actually really bad...

  • Mudm Ouse
    Mudm Ouse 24 days ago

    You are too nice. Unless you are implying that he tried to deliberately destroy it. American Style.

  • Omega4491
    Omega4491 26 days ago

    Chris Stuckmann - Says he's a big fan of the original anime and manga, constantly mispronounces Ryuk's name.

  • Vui Vui
    Vui Vui 27 days ago

    The film makers should have just made their own story around Death Note.

  • annie lee
    annie lee 28 days ago

    Still do not understand why people feel that this is an acceptable movie when not being compared to the anime. Let me be honest, the movie sucks. I have absolutely no problem with changing the characters' race or story line. However the problem with many Americans action movies nowadays is that they lack the depth, complexity and character development (same goes for the new mangas nowadays though).
    This movie is just full of gross stereotypical teenage romance and violence. It's just one dimensional. As Chris has put it, the creators don't understand the Japanese culture at all, or should I say Asian cultures. If they do, they should know that many Asian movies/dramas focus a lot on character development and a good storyline that invoke our emotions, whether is it sympathy, sadness or conflicting feelings without excessive violence but rather are done through dialogue or reaction to incidents (that's not violence). There is no absolute evil nor goodness. There is no 'moral of the story' shit. It is not some sort of movie you just sit back and be brain dead, which is the problem with many movies nowadays.
    However I could say the audience is at fault too for many now enjoy quick pleasure and adrenaline rush to escape from the mudane life. And of course this will cause other problems which I will not elaborate or else this would become an essay.
    And wth is with music in the movie??????
    If I want to watch something related to sociopaths, I would rather watch Alfred Hitchcock 's works. If I want to sit back and relax and he brain dead for a while, I would rather watch Transformers (though the first two are good). If I
    want to immerse myself with violence and thrill I would rather watch.... nevermind I would rather find some activity to do that would give me the thrills and excitement that doesn't involve violence or horror.
    Moral of the story: WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!! Stop letting your children watch this kind of movies that dumb their minds 😢
    P. S. I really hope that American kids do not act like how they are depicted in dramas and movies... eg. dress in a fancy manner, partying, doing/saying reckless things, the romance and drama etc.

  • Darien Darkhouse
    Darien Darkhouse 28 days ago

    Light's last name could have still been Yagami.
    "Your last name's Yagami?"
    "My grandfather/great grandfather was Japanese."
    Done.

  • arnez cooper
    arnez cooper Month ago

    i like death note to

  • Tushar Rathore
    Tushar Rathore Month ago

    Even as a standalone movie characters are not really interesting

  • Tushar Rathore
    Tushar Rathore Month ago

    This movie suck they completely ruin all characters (L,Kira, light, Misa)

  • Kiki Lord
    Kiki Lord Month ago

    Why Light's actor looks like n@a productions XD?

  • Quinn Minear
    Quinn Minear Month ago

    I hated this movie so much. I love the anime and the characters, but now I have to say: "I love Death Note, no not the shitty movie. No the anime."

  • Iperial Android
    Iperial Android Month ago

    I'm not gonna take a potato chip and eat it

  • ThisISclickBAIT
    ThisISclickBAIT Month ago

    Death note nerflix should be a serie

  • ThisISclickBAIT
    ThisISclickBAIT Month ago

    I love the Netflix death note, am i the only one in love with light? Haha and i love the end scene when he talks about how he did it and how the (power of love) was playing instead like other movies when it´s an action song

  • Jonathan Joestar
    Jonathan Joestar Month ago

    Honestly this is a terrible portrayal of L. sure he did the same stuff, but in the anime it was for a reason. It felt like the only reason L did those things in the movie is because he did them in the anime. Not to help built and develop his character in the manga/anime.

    • Jonathan Joestar
      Jonathan Joestar Month ago

      For this and so many other reasons this is my least favorite film. I'm glad you are able to enjoy this even a little bit Chris, but I personally hates everything about it. 1/10

  • Nikolas Serratorubio

    L using a gun was...not true to character, so not sure that every character was well adapted ._.

    • Tresangor
      Tresangor Month ago

      Well, he had a gun in the musical, but he was kind of forced to carry one....

  • SinisterPlotter
    SinisterPlotter Month ago

    My thoughts exactly. Was a decent film and all (nothing spectacular but still good) but it really didn't respect the anime. Honestly had they maybe split it into two movies with one about Light discovering the Death Note and his descent in evil and then have the second focus on the 'cat and mouse' aspect then even if the characters were the way they are in the movie as is it would likely have worked out better considering they're doing a sequel now.

  • Vegeta Uchiha
    Vegeta Uchiha Month ago

    Well....more Ryuk would mean more money for Dafoe....so yeah.

  • Vegeta Uchiha
    Vegeta Uchiha Month ago

    The Misa character was the worst.....and she could not even act...

  • Real.Piece.Of.Work
    Real.Piece.Of.Work Month ago

    i really don't know why people have such a hard on for anime. its basically just shite animation, all i can think is it must be the stories. the stories must be so good that it makes people overlook the very poor animation. i'm sure there are people out there that do genuinely love anime but i am equally sure that a huge % of the people that say they love it are just jumping on a bandwagon.

  • PokeEmblem 692
    PokeEmblem 692 Month ago

    “Light Turner is a genius”
    Don’t you mean Light Yagami?

  • Clau ny
    Clau ny Month ago

    my favorite was the detective

  • nek gurs
    nek gurs Month ago

    Ya The deractor is relly happy Especially after the buling he got on Twitter

  • Harmbow Salem
    Harmbow Salem Month ago

    Agreed.

  • Ananya White
    Ananya White 2 months ago

    Yagami....fuck light turner

  • Ananya White
    Ananya White 2 months ago

    Yagami....fuck light turner

  • John Riker
    John Riker 2 months ago

    have u ever done a ever review of hackers

  • Manos Perpinakis
    Manos Perpinakis 2 months ago

    Light Turner? That's how they renamed him in the English dub?

  • SemperFidelisTyrannosaurus

    If Light wanted to be smart he’d make the cause of deaths ‘suicide by cop.’ Engineer situations where every victim suddenly becomes belligerent and provokes a popo into fatally shooting them; at least the cause is always explained. As an added bonus the victim dies in an undignified manner.

  • emil engen
    emil engen 2 months ago

    I really like the first 40 minutes.

  • Zachary Pettigrew
    Zachary Pettigrew 2 months ago

    The most intriguing part of this whole video is the mystery behind the tattoo. This movie was THAT BAD. Why did you get it? What is it of and why? Who did you choose to do it?
    This film turned me off entirely to film adaptations of anime. Even after MAGNET made my favorite manga of all time (that they messed up translating in the anime so was curious to see what a live action translation would look like) - "Blade of the Immortal" by the extreme talent Hiroaki Samura. Man is it good. The first few volumes are a must read for comic, anime and manga fans. It made me mad at Netflix for doing this. I think the original creators like the money and recognition that came with Netflix making a movie out of their creation. NOT this abortion. And I'm one of those people that is curious to see a live action adaptation. I thought one of my favorite books, Fight Club was turned into a Movie that transcended and surpassed the source material. I like the Marvel take on Deadpool better than the originals.

  • uxserdvghbjl
    uxserdvghbjl 2 months ago

    Death note is also one of my favourite cartoons

  • TDS
    TDS 2 months ago

    Never watched the anime myself, but the manga was excellent.

  • noah stump
    noah stump 2 months ago

    Trash

  • starving venom
    starving venom 2 months ago

    My self I watched the movie before the anime and i must say the movie could have been better.

  • Agiri
    Agiri 2 months ago

    STAR FOX IS THE NAME OF THE TEAM
    HIS NAME IS FOX MCCLOUD

  • NoaMovies
    NoaMovies 2 months ago

    This was uploaded on my birthday and I watched this movie on my birthday. I was so excited to watch this and I thought my bday would be the perfect time but I just got disapointed and Netflix gave me the worst bday present :(

  • dobbz _
    dobbz _ 2 months ago +1

    Light Yagami is his name in the anime, its Turner in the movie

  • derMemory
    derMemory 2 months ago

    All the character were shit.
    All of them.
    Even Ryuk tried to force Light to write in the book, whereas in the anime/manga he was just observing and enjoying the events that were unfolding.
    He wanted to see if Light could continue to surprise him or just trip over his own schemes and get caught.
    I’m just gonna pretend like this movie didn’t exist.
    Yup. That’s right. Call me ignorant if it pleases you so.

  • Scarfy F
    Scarfy F 2 months ago

    Death Note... more like Death- NOPE
    I'm not sorry.

  • Jordan Smith
    Jordan Smith 2 months ago

    The only good thing about that movie was William Defoe

  • SRS Art Productions
    SRS Art Productions 2 months ago

    the movie should have been like the first 10 or so episodes... its a Netflix Original. it's not like they couldn't have made another or a few.

  • Tokemon
    Tokemon 2 months ago

    I'm Also a death note

  • Shadowreeper213
    Shadowreeper213 2 months ago

    Something I noticed from watching the adaptations of Ghost in the Shell and Death Note is that American writers, directors and producers like to replace intelligent psychological plot elements with ones revolving strongly around sentiment instead. Ghost in the Shell was originally about action and a complex intelligent plot. The adaptation stripped most of that intellectual quality away to serve the sentimental plot instead.
    Death Note was also originally pretty intelligent, but it turned into a sentimental teen romance more than a psychological thriller as it originally was.
    It's kind of sad that that's what Hollywood thinks people always want. It's more sad that they may be right, that us in America generally don't like material that requires us to think a little.

  • vince aggari
    vince aggari 2 months ago

    the way they portrayed misa amane made me so upset

  • AlbaRose
    AlbaRose 2 months ago

    Hated this version . Love the Japanese FILM versions much better .

  • Xavier J Thomas
    Xavier J Thomas 2 months ago

    The movie shouldve told an entire new story from another owner of a death note in America. Maybe even refrencing Light after his demise.

  • Fernando Aguilar
    Fernando Aguilar 2 months ago

    I hate to be that guy but I binge watched the anime and while it started out strong it started to drag really quickly. One of the most repetitive and filler packed anime I have ever seen. I enjoyed the movie as a condensed, loose adapatation of the original. In my opinion they kept everything good about the anime and trimmed the fat. I actually preferred this version of Light. I was disappointed in the direction they took him in the anime and the ending was horrible. Don't mean to disrespect the fans but I honestly don't get all the praise for the anime. The only good thing about it was L.

  • Patrick
    Patrick 2 months ago

    Stop adding teenage drama into your anime adaptations.

  • Erika Warren
    Erika Warren 2 months ago

    I was hoping to get a similar reaction like your dragon Ball video. You had alot more personality on that

  • Sophie
    Sophie 2 months ago

    this movie is such garbage

  • Haagen Regit は ゲイです

    Would have been better off as like a Death Note 2, maybe Ryuk after the events of the first movie somehow got his hands on another Death Note and throws it into America; but it just became a shitty adaptation. Ryuk actually looks like he wants to get rid of Turner tbh. Also Light Yagami more like Light Turner...amirite?

  • ShadowNinja Build
    ShadowNinja Build 2 months ago

    There is actually another adaptation came before this and it is amazing they have change some stuff for the better that adaptation had three movies and they were pretty good too Chris can you review that please

  • Stalin
    Stalin 2 months ago

    "This is a good portrayal of L." Did we watch the same movie? L goes from an intelligent calculated character to an emotional accidentally right idiot who takes tons of unnecessary risk. Also, instead of just liking sugar, watari tells him he needs to eat it medically. That's dumb and this movie is dumb.

  • Caveman Steve
    Caveman Steve 2 months ago

    Dude.... This IS a throwaway disaster like DB Evolution.

  • Beanpie McBean
    Beanpie McBean 2 months ago +2

    "Actually, I thought the movie was alright for what it wa-"
    (has heart attack, dies)

  • Jan Paolo Jovellanos
    Jan Paolo Jovellanos 2 months ago

    Can you see the similarities with the Famous Series "Stranger Things" you can see directly an Akira Anime influence in it, and it God Damn worked why? because they made it in a perfect good way,

  • Jan Paolo Jovellanos
    Jan Paolo Jovellanos 2 months ago

    so far the Japan's live action films are good like the Samurai X live action films are spot on, but anime Hollywood live action films? haha they fail like a lot haha i don't know if it's culture difference but i think they need to closely coordinate with the Author of the manga and bridge what can work and not work in Hollywood, just think about a One Piece Live action films a lot of people says it wont work, but Oda only approved it as long as he is a part of the making of the film, and i imagine it being like a pirate's of the caribean with Willy Wonka fushion with a wide mixed races of actors as Strawhat pirates i'll be interesting to watch , but for Naruto live action it should just be a asian style theme, or else we would see another Dragonball Evolution hahaha

  • Ted gaming
    Ted gaming 2 months ago

    I bet you didnt relize ryuk didnt have wings

  • Lenin Verdezoto Pozo
    Lenin Verdezoto Pozo 3 months ago

    Dude Masi Oka since the beggining said it was an addaptation, diferent from the original, different audience, they look for a new audience, not old fans. The director also mentionts it in his interviews. they tried something completely different, and it works but not in the spected ways

  • Shadow Seeker
    Shadow Seeker 3 months ago

    i keep saying it live action movie makers should stay the fuck away from manga and anime it always ends up bad leave that shit alone its good on its own

  • Mikko Amour
    Mikko Amour 3 months ago

    William Defoe is literally the only good part of this movie. For a Huge Death Note fan.

  • Jonny Jonville Jonathan

    You know, I actually liked this movie. Sure, it has absolute garbage and had nothing to do with the anime, but it was so fun to watch and laugh at. When I very first turned this movie on, I thought. Ok, this could actually be decent. But, as soon as ryuk appeared and light freaks out and shit, then I knew it was going to be one of those movies. I'm not going to lie. I do think they had some good ideas here. I really liked how the played out Watani. But, a lot of other ideas fell short. And that's when it's so bad it's good comes in. I laughed so hard at this movie. It was a fun movie for that. I think most people go into these anime adaptation movies, and expect it be a live action anime. But, the thing is, they're always bad. So, you should go into them thinking they're going to absolutely terrible and just laugh at them. Death note is one of, if not my favorite anime of all time. And the fact that I liked this movie, should say a lot, I think. Sure, it had nothing to do with the source material. The only thing they have in common is the character names and main idea of the anime/manga. Everything else was made up. But, again, it shouldn't be taken seriously. Just laugh at how bad it is and have a good time.

  • Brandon Hanson
    Brandon Hanson 3 months ago

    You should do a review on the death note anime!!

  • RainyCloud 10
    RainyCloud 10 3 months ago

    There's a Japanese live action adaptation as well. Watch that.

  • Hezi ScopeZ
    Hezi ScopeZ 3 months ago

    L is my most favorite in the world

  • Ly M
    Ly M 3 months ago

    I hated this film so much I got a headache watching it

  • SuperWolfkin
    SuperWolfkin 3 months ago

    Deathnote is a trash anime but wow is that adaption bad.

  • zeldafreak701
    zeldafreak701 3 months ago

    I mean, yeah, it shits all over Deathnote. But I gotta say I did enjoy the heck out of this movie. It was dumb and over the top and I love it.

  • Isam Elder
    Isam Elder 3 months ago

    Let’s say for example there was no death note anime, the movie would have been yanno, alright. Not too bad. But what made it atrocious was the fact that death not was an anime beforehand and they took out 95% of the good things and Americanized it into senseless garbage. Light was not even that smart or strategic in the movie at all, and he had the wrong motives as well. Light yagami is supposed to have the motive of believing he is doing good in trying to make the world a better place by killing criminals, sparking the debate of whether Kira is a hero or a villain. In the live action movie it’s very very clear he’s a villain. Not trying to make the world a better place and there for his own benefits. Lights motives played a big reason on why the movie failed. Also I disagree with you Chris , they got L very very wrong.

  • Joseph Bromberg
    Joseph Bromberg 3 months ago

    Ryuk was the best and only good part of the movie

  • Nenad Filipovic
    Nenad Filipovic 3 months ago

    WHY IS THIS NOT A HILARIOCITY ???

  • Nezlol
    Nezlol 3 months ago

    I watched this first, and the anime was fucking great, but coming from someone who didn’t know anything about the original source material, I thought the action or investigation parts were pretty cool, but the love scenes were cheesy asf

  • Jonathan Fitzharris
    Jonathan Fitzharris 3 months ago

    "In he original anime Light Turner is a genius", Turner, Turner....... how dare you...

  • Jon Arbuckle
    Jon Arbuckle 3 months ago

    I love it when Chris’ mouth is closed in the thumbnail

  • Roy Severs Jr.
    Roy Severs Jr. 3 months ago

    There is the Japanese 2006 live-action adaptation of the film, you may enjoy.

  • GristlyKnave
    GristlyKnave 3 months ago

    There are only three anime that I like and that's Death Note , Attack on Titan, and Danganronpa.

  • God
    God 3 months ago

    You got a tattoo of videogame characters. 🤢🤢 bit sad.

  • stararts
    stararts 3 months ago

    I hope people know that there is a Japanese version that stays to the anime. Just putting that out there sooo google it

  • Jordan Villanueva
    Jordan Villanueva 3 months ago +1

    I swear Ryuk is the best.

  • Samuel Spokesworth
    Samuel Spokesworth 4 months ago

    whitewashed.

  • Mad Blood God
    Mad Blood God 4 months ago

    the hell wit all these adaptation that butchered the source material? there are some good ones around, but some of these are just bad

  • Jarrod Hakaraia
    Jarrod Hakaraia 4 months ago

    Death note - Hollywood!!.

  • joelskie85
    joelskie85 4 months ago

    My fav part (I can't tell anyone my secret. Here's my secret)