Death Note - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 10 162

  • Vanilla sky
    Vanilla sky 4 days ago

    Hollywood always underestimates the power of understanding of American audience.

  • Cody Lee
    Cody Lee 5 days ago

    LIGHT YAGAMI!!! FUCK THIS TURNER TWAT!

  • jesseramos714
    jesseramos714 9 days ago

    For a Netflix movie and who it was trying to target, it was pretty good. I enjoyed it.

  • Riley Wade
    Riley Wade 12 days ago

    I've only watched and loved the anime of Deathnote. Was his name Light Turner in the manga? I don't think it was but again, never read it.
    Also who the fuck was the girl in this movie?? Because she wasn't Misa Misa... I mean no. I think L was alright. Riok was incredible! But those where really the only characters from the anime.. Light Yagami wasn't in this, Misa wasn't in this.. who are these characters?

  • John Owens
    John Owens 14 days ago

    Your score was Very generous.

  • Steven F
    Steven F 15 days ago

    This movie was straight up ass lol

  • Out West
    Out West 27 days ago

    The live action movie would have been a better mini series. Also one thing it messed up with is the fact that anime Light is a phycopath which is great for a villan. They tried to make him a phycopath in the live action but then give him an emotional attachment to Mia which is something that a phycopath is incapable of so it doesn't compute.

  • joeseyeuh hell
    joeseyeuh hell 28 days ago

    So glad I decided to watch the anime first. It was amazing.

  • Andeddo Zonbi
    Andeddo Zonbi Month ago

    They made L a complete embarrassment in this film and he was the number one best thing about the entire anime.....

  • Joe Major
    Joe Major Month ago

    Hope you’re slathered in aquaphor. Getting too close to touching that fresh ink

  • Phil S
    Phil S Month ago

    L,........................ Dafoe was perfect though. Slater needed more.

  • Dorian CARDOSY
    Dorian CARDOSY Month ago

    I get you are a genuine Death Note fan, but you got something wrong unintentionally when voicing a short summary about the anime, Ryuk does indeed tell him more about the Note in details, but by the time he shows up Light already wrote hundreds of names in it. This is a pretty major detail in contrast to how it goes in the adaptation. where edgy lord Turner is entirely dependent on Ryuk to get his first kill and encourages him to use it just for the sake of it, Ryuk in the film is not a viewer or commentator as he is in the anime, in the film he's an enabler, in the anime it's more of a social experiment, Ryuk was bored out of his mind. He never had a purpose or moral high ground in the anime, their vision of Ryuk is that he's only here to pressure Light into doing what the "REAL" light is doing in the anime. Instead of having a well written narrative, a consistent story and nuanced characters. They just decided "fuck it, let's dumb down everything so that everyone won't have to use their brain, oh and let's make it into a cluster fuck and advertise it to the average american.
    That's how I see it, anyway.

  • demongirl unlucky
    demongirl unlucky Month ago

    I laughed all the way through this movie because it was soo bad lol
    P.s long live RYUK

  • Beast Boi Ahoy
    Beast Boi Ahoy Month ago +1

    Similar to Speed Racer it’s a good movie if u consider it a stand alone movie and not take it so seriously, I found this movie entertaining and quite fun.

  • TheGrayMysterious
    TheGrayMysterious 2 months ago

    Honestly, putting aside the original story for a moment, playing with the idea of a completely normal, kinda angsty teen being handed godlike power could have been interesting, like if the main character was really troubled and bullied and now had the ability to take revenge on people virtually anonymously. It'd be a pretty good way of Americanizing the concept of the Death Note without directly impacting the original story.

  • PhoenixAshes 19
    PhoenixAshes 19 2 months ago +1

    I don't think L's portrayal was good either.
    He acted like nuts when something wrong happens. L was never like this. This movie is fucking shit

  • DONG SMASHER
    DONG SMASHER 2 months ago +1

    The anime sucked ass

  • Elsys Saragih
    Elsys Saragih 2 months ago

    From scale 1 to 10? Minus

  • SoCal Trojan
    SoCal Trojan 2 months ago

    When Death Note was on toonami on adult swim, I only watched bits and pieces of it. I could recall the ending, but I never saw it all the way through. I always had the intentions of watching the whole series some day.
    Then I saw the movie on Netflix and watched it, I remember enjoying the movie for what it was at the time. Most recently I decided to rewatch Death Note on Hulu, and grind it out until the end. I loved the anime and yes I would agree towards the end of the series, when N took over the investigation, the writing of Light's character went down hill with the loss of L. Once I had finished the series, I thought I would give the Netflix movie another try and see what I thought of adaptation. OMG does it make a difference when the show is fresh in your mind. I remember right out of the gate things were so forced that I had a disliking of the film before getting to the half hour mark.
    Light Yagami ( aka Light Turner ) is not the same character. Light didn't care about finding love in his life, he used anyone he could to serve his purpose and treated them just as replaceable. You didn't get the feeling these two personas of Light were one and the same with the same agendas in mind. In the anime I both loved and hated Light for what he had become. And I think that is what makes him such a compelling character. If we were to put ourselves in his position, how would we use this power? The sense of right and wrong gets muddy, and is a good question for debate.

  • Upperdog
    Upperdog 2 months ago

    In the trailer the book is already dirty before it hits the ground also the book lands on its back but he flips it over anyway

  • HeftyLefty24
    HeftyLefty24 2 months ago

    I never seen the anime. Never heard of it. Watched this movie, loved this movie. You’re a fan of the anime, clearly! And that’s why you don’t like it. It’s understandable tho. I’m sure I would feel the same way you do if I had watched the series! Still love your reviews tho, just my honest opinion.

  • Kristen Marie
    Kristen Marie 2 months ago

    I'll take a potato chip....AND EAT IT

  • DrLucifer
    DrLucifer 2 months ago

    i like it the movie its different and light is more like a normal person than original genius light yagami but i feel the car chase is something that L would never do its 2 reckless

  • Josh Beck
    Josh Beck 2 months ago

    Ah Chris being a little stinker, classic brattyness 😂

  • Portia Monaheng
    Portia Monaheng 2 months ago

    I hate this movie. It's more like a parody than an adaptation. The real Death Note is Mind Blowing. Can someone please re-do it.

  • Eric Shaun
    Eric Shaun 2 months ago

    You critisise this movie for changing the characters too much but then say they got Ryuk right??he was pretty much a passive observer in the cartoon and in this an instigator

  • Eric Shaun
    Eric Shaun 2 months ago

    After lights big freakout he should've had the same line as when he fell off the chair in the Japanimation, that's my main gripe. I enjoyed watching a different interpretation as I've seen the original a couple of times and the Jap movies too

  • miles morales aka the black sayain

    Green goblin turns into a death god.

    Nah. Just kidding

  • Cody Hoff
    Cody Hoff 3 months ago

    I've never seen the original anime so just seeing it without any attachment, it wasn't bad. I do agree with the weird connection with the girlfriend which makes him want to kill. I though that Ryuk was in it a pretty decent amount and more than you give off in this review. I do agree that William Defoe is great and was originally why I wanted to watch it, but he usually shows up when the killing is about to happen. I actually enjoyed the music that went with it but that's my opinion. I do agree that Light's progression was rushed towards the middle. I am a little confused on L and why he is able to do whatever he wants with almost no consequences and yet he looks like he is in his early 20s.

  • Jordan Sullivan
    Jordan Sullivan 3 months ago

    That opener though

  • Thunder Goku
    Thunder Goku 3 months ago

    Remember when Shane Black was initially attached to this? What the fuck happened?

  • Alexander Leslie
    Alexander Leslie 3 months ago

    I never like it

  • James Cornett
    James Cornett 3 months ago

    Good critique however you didn't take into account the fact that the source is a bit of a dated manga and cramming such a dense series into a movie while trying to make it more modern would lead to some creative liberties. If you walked into the same movie never having seen death note the series or read the manga I'm confident your C- would be an unbias B+. Good video thank you for uploading.

  • Anything. Lucy
    Anything. Lucy 3 months ago

    I liked the movie....




    Then I watched the anime

  • sadder daze
    sadder daze 3 months ago

    Yes! Ryuk was the only good thing about the adaptation, and William Dafoe played him wonderfully. I definitely needed so much more of him! I was so disappointed by how dumb and stereotypical Lights character was made in the adaptation. Light was a genius and master manipulator and he didn’t give a single shit about impressing a girl. I also really loved how he could orchestrate entire situations in the anime. So I was just so disappointed by how dumb and horny Lights character was in the adaptation.

  • Faster Tips
    Faster Tips 3 months ago

    I just liked one thing about the movie:
    When it finished.

  • HEX Leviathan The First

    I agree and I respect your opinion on this but I must say the casting for L & ryuk we're amazing I mean you didn't know the name of the actor particularly for ryuk but I recognizes voice instantly from Spider-Man 1 the original movie he played in Green Goblin and I loved his performance all those many years ago but I agree with you want to come to town to light and his girlfriend I mean in the anime they don't even kiss she's more or less is Harley Quinn

  • josefaharrison
    josefaharrison 3 months ago

    you went soft here, its ok, we can live with it.

  • Exploding Tomahawks
    Exploding Tomahawks 3 months ago

    As a casual fan of the anime I didn't expect much when this movie was announced but when they said Willem Dafoe was Ryuk I knew he would be it's only bright light. Oh God I wasn't going for a pun but I'm too tired to edit it.

  • Majin Mark3
    Majin Mark3 3 months ago

    You should review "Bleach" live-action which is on Netflix.... probably the best live-action anime adaption I've seen (not saying much, but it is good).

  • Xeron Devan
    Xeron Devan 4 months ago

    Do no country for old man plz

  • SenselessBonkai
    SenselessBonkai 4 months ago

    I didn't like the fact that ryuk was threatening light to do bad stuff. He's a passive character who observes and watches how humans react

  • LifeX00
    LifeX00 4 months ago

    You can't appreciate Death Note unless you watch the anime. If you can't watch a movie without reading the book, you can't watch it without watching the anime

  • Christopher Titus
    Christopher Titus 4 months ago +1

    Light sort of reminded me of what would happen if Ryan from The Office was given the Death Note.

  • xxGojira54 the channel
    xxGojira54 the channel 4 months ago

    I'm sorry I still hate this movie it is the same level as much as I hate DragonBall Evolution lmao 😂😂

  • Muye Ma
    Muye Ma 4 months ago +1

    to me, that's a F movie

  • Justin Harsey
    Justin Harsey 4 months ago

    What if they did Baccano?

  • star doomer
    star doomer 4 months ago

    Ryuk is the Apples and we are ryuk, we need more ryuk!!!!

  • Hisame Artwork
    Hisame Artwork 4 months ago

    They always dumb down japanese characters, same for Ghost in the shell. It's like they think americans are retarded therefore they must do cliche slogan american stories: government bad, boy bang girl, etc

  • Orange Blossom
    Orange Blossom 4 months ago

    Ryuk was my favorite, too. 6:49 BINGO

  • sammorgan31
    sammorgan31 4 months ago

    Who the hell is Light Turner?

  • ChocoKaylaRobin
    ChocoKaylaRobin 4 months ago

    That thumbnail XD

  • Young Dedicated Cynosure
    Young Dedicated Cynosure 4 months ago +1

    They turn one of the biggest character traits of Light.... and do the exact opposite lol. Light would never ever do anything for any woman. Yes he’s married to Misa but that’s only because she was the 2nd Kira and he had use for her. Misa threw herself at him and he denied her time after time. In fact Kira was going to kill her but Misa’s shinigami told Light if anything happened to her, she would kill Light. Then after he used Misa to carry on killings after he took on in L’s place or when under investigation. She was only ever a tool. Same with all of his other relationships. His only focus was becoming “God of the New World”

  • Matthius & Shaggy
    Matthius & Shaggy 4 months ago

    Okay, not trying to come off as racist but L being portrayed as black was a terrible choice imo. The character of L is supposed to be a weird, scrawny, pasty white emotionless person who is a great detective cuz of it. If Light was black I’d be more on board for it cuz like you know, it’s a different character development. L’s contrast between his bleach white skin to his pitch black hair was very appealing and it gave the character some eerie feeling to him. But hey, that’s just my opinion 😝

  • Kamal Mazrif
    Kamal Mazrif 4 months ago

    It’s not Death Note, it’s Final Destination Note!

  • Neo Virz
    Neo Virz 4 months ago

    Lol even i can direct a better adaptation... no joke

  • Kjell
    Kjell 4 months ago

    This movie was amazing and Nat Wolff was fantastic.

  • Danny Long Legs
    Danny Long Legs 4 months ago

    Those tats are amazing bro! Awesome

  • guccicaskets
    guccicaskets 4 months ago

    i have yet to see this film but my feelings towards it right now is mixed. From what i hear this movie was nothing like how the anime is and i can obviously tell by the cast, but i just saw the trailer and honestly it don’t look that bad.

    • Morgane Germé
      Morgane Germé 4 months ago

      Truth be told, as a movie, it's not terrible. It can actually be quite enjoyable if you don't compare it too much to the orginal version. However, as an adaptation, IT IS awful.

  • Keone Jones
    Keone Jones 4 months ago

    FYI they have a live action Japanese death note movie. Its way better then the American one.

  • Keone Jones
    Keone Jones 4 months ago

    Bet the dude who plays L is a major weaboo.

  • Martin Kolakowski
    Martin Kolakowski 4 months ago

    You should watch the Japanese live action movies version. It's also dubbed by the same actors that dubbed the anime. It's a LOT better than the Netflix version and they knew what to do with the source material.

  • David Brown
    David Brown 4 months ago

    Chris Talk about the live action Bleach movie

  • Ciel Blue
    Ciel Blue 5 months ago

    I like how he tries hard to make it sound OK when it's actually really bad...

  • Mudm Ouse
    Mudm Ouse 5 months ago

    You are too nice. Unless you are implying that he tried to deliberately destroy it. American Style.

  • Omega4491
    Omega4491 5 months ago

    Chris Stuckmann - Says he's a big fan of the original anime and manga, constantly mispronounces Ryuk's name.

  • Vui Vui
    Vui Vui 5 months ago

    The film makers should have just made their own story around Death Note.

  • annie lee
    annie lee 5 months ago

    Still do not understand why people feel that this is an acceptable movie when not being compared to the anime. Let me be honest, the movie sucks. I have absolutely no problem with changing the characters' race or story line. However the problem with many Americans action movies nowadays is that they lack the depth, complexity and character development (same goes for the new mangas nowadays though).
    This movie is just full of gross stereotypical teenage romance and violence. It's just one dimensional. As Chris has put it, the creators don't understand the Japanese culture at all, or should I say Asian cultures. If they do, they should know that many Asian movies/dramas focus a lot on character development and a good storyline that invoke our emotions, whether is it sympathy, sadness or conflicting feelings without excessive violence but rather are done through dialogue or reaction to incidents (that's not violence). There is no absolute evil nor goodness. There is no 'moral of the story' shit. It is not some sort of movie you just sit back and be brain dead, which is the problem with many movies nowadays.
    However I could say the audience is at fault too for many now enjoy quick pleasure and adrenaline rush to escape from the mudane life. And of course this will cause other problems which I will not elaborate or else this would become an essay.
    And wth is with music in the movie??????
    If I want to watch something related to sociopaths, I would rather watch Alfred Hitchcock 's works. If I want to sit back and relax and he brain dead for a while, I would rather watch Transformers (though the first two are good). If I
    want to immerse myself with violence and thrill I would rather watch.... nevermind I would rather find some activity to do that would give me the thrills and excitement that doesn't involve violence or horror.
    Moral of the story: WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!! Stop letting your children watch this kind of movies that dumb their minds 😢
    P. S. I really hope that American kids do not act like how they are depicted in dramas and movies... eg. dress in a fancy manner, partying, doing/saying reckless things, the romance and drama etc.

  • Darien Darkhouse
    Darien Darkhouse 5 months ago

    Light's last name could have still been Yagami.
    "Your last name's Yagami?"
    "My grandfather/great grandfather was Japanese."
    Done.

  • arnez cooper
    arnez cooper 5 months ago

    i like death note to

  • Tushar Rathore
    Tushar Rathore 5 months ago

    Even as a standalone movie characters are not really interesting

  • Tushar Rathore
    Tushar Rathore 5 months ago

    This movie suck they completely ruin all characters (L,Kira, light, Misa)

  • Kiki Lord
    Kiki Lord 5 months ago

    Why Light's actor looks like n@a productions XD?

  • Quinn Minear
    Quinn Minear 5 months ago

    I hated this movie so much. I love the anime and the characters, but now I have to say: "I love Death Note, no not the shitty movie. No the anime."

  • Iperial Android
    Iperial Android 5 months ago

    I'm not gonna take a potato chip and eat it

  • ThisISclickBAIT
    ThisISclickBAIT 5 months ago

    Death note nerflix should be a serie

  • ThisISclickBAIT
    ThisISclickBAIT 5 months ago

    I love the Netflix death note, am i the only one in love with light? Haha and i love the end scene when he talks about how he did it and how the (power of love) was playing instead like other movies when it´s an action song

  • Jonathan Joestar
    Jonathan Joestar 5 months ago

    Honestly this is a terrible portrayal of L. sure he did the same stuff, but in the anime it was for a reason. It felt like the only reason L did those things in the movie is because he did them in the anime. Not to help built and develop his character in the manga/anime.

    • Jonathan Joestar
      Jonathan Joestar 5 months ago

      For this and so many other reasons this is my least favorite film. I'm glad you are able to enjoy this even a little bit Chris, but I personally hates everything about it. 1/10

  • Nikolas Serratorubio
    Nikolas Serratorubio 5 months ago

    L using a gun was...not true to character, so not sure that every character was well adapted ._.

    • Tresangor
      Tresangor 5 months ago

      Well, he had a gun in the musical, but he was kind of forced to carry one....

  • SinisterPlotter
    SinisterPlotter 5 months ago

    My thoughts exactly. Was a decent film and all (nothing spectacular but still good) but it really didn't respect the anime. Honestly had they maybe split it into two movies with one about Light discovering the Death Note and his descent in evil and then have the second focus on the 'cat and mouse' aspect then even if the characters were the way they are in the movie as is it would likely have worked out better considering they're doing a sequel now.

  • Vegeta Uchiha
    Vegeta Uchiha 6 months ago

    Well....more Ryuk would mean more money for Dafoe....so yeah.

  • Vegeta Uchiha
    Vegeta Uchiha 6 months ago

    The Misa character was the worst.....and she could not even act...

  • Real.Piece.Of.Work
    Real.Piece.Of.Work 6 months ago

    i really don't know why people have such a hard on for anime. its basically just shite animation, all i can think is it must be the stories. the stories must be so good that it makes people overlook the very poor animation. i'm sure there are people out there that do genuinely love anime but i am equally sure that a huge % of the people that say they love it are just jumping on a bandwagon.

    • Vegeta Uchiha
      Vegeta Uchiha 6 months ago

      Try watching one....you might like em.

  • PokeEmblem 692
    PokeEmblem 692 6 months ago

    “Light Turner is a genius”
    Don’t you mean Light Yagami?

  • Clau ny
    Clau ny 6 months ago

    my favorite was the detective

  • ken kaneki
    ken kaneki 6 months ago

    Ya The deractor is relly happy Especially after the buling he got on Twitter

  • Harmbow Salem
    Harmbow Salem 6 months ago

    Agreed.

  • Ananya White
    Ananya White 6 months ago

    Yagami....fuck light turner

  • Ananya White
    Ananya White 6 months ago

    Yagami....fuck light turner

  • John Riker
    John Riker 6 months ago

    have u ever done a ever review of hackers

  • BeerAndCats
    BeerAndCats 6 months ago

    If Light wanted to be smart he’d make the cause of deaths ‘suicide by cop.’ Engineer situations where every victim suddenly becomes belligerent and provokes a popo into fatally shooting them; at least the cause is always explained. As an added bonus the victim dies in an undignified manner.

  • emil engen
    emil engen 6 months ago

    I really like the first 40 minutes.

  • Zachary Pettigrew
    Zachary Pettigrew 6 months ago

    The most intriguing part of this whole video is the mystery behind the tattoo. This movie was THAT BAD. Why did you get it? What is it of and why? Who did you choose to do it?
    This film turned me off entirely to film adaptations of anime. Even after MAGNET made my favorite manga of all time (that they messed up translating in the anime so was curious to see what a live action translation would look like) - "Blade of the Immortal" by the extreme talent Hiroaki Samura. Man is it good. The first few volumes are a must read for comic, anime and manga fans. It made me mad at Netflix for doing this. I think the original creators like the money and recognition that came with Netflix making a movie out of their creation. NOT this abortion. And I'm one of those people that is curious to see a live action adaptation. I thought one of my favorite books, Fight Club was turned into a Movie that transcended and surpassed the source material. I like the Marvel take on Deadpool better than the originals.

  • Frogwell
    Frogwell 6 months ago

    Death note is also one of my favourite cartoons

  • TDS
    TDS 6 months ago

    Never watched the anime myself, but the manga was excellent.

  • noah stump
    noah stump 6 months ago

    Trash

  • starving venom
    starving venom 6 months ago

    My self I watched the movie before the anime and i must say the movie could have been better.

  • Agiri
    Agiri 6 months ago

    STAR FOX IS THE NAME OF THE TEAM
    HIS NAME IS FOX MCCLOUD

  • Fermented Productions
    Fermented Productions 6 months ago

    This was uploaded on my birthday and I watched this movie on my birthday. I was so excited to watch this and I thought my bday would be the perfect time but I just got disapointed and Netflix gave me the worst bday present :(

  • dobbz _
    dobbz _ 6 months ago +1

    Light Yagami is his name in the anime, its Turner in the movie