Death Note - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 26, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Death Note, starring Nat Wolff, Lakeith Stanfield, Margaret Qualley, Willem Dafoe, Jason Liles, Shea Whigham. Directed by Adam Wingard.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 9 112

  • Adam Shelton
    Adam Shelton Day ago

    The movie was trash. Ryuk was awesome. Willem Dafoe was a good choice for that! Light on the other hand.... :/

  • lynKx :P
    lynKx :P 5 days ago

    I never watched the anime and after watching the movie on Netflix, I'm definitely interested. Even though I really disliked the ending and I was confused for 75% of the time and didn't know what was going on, I'm gonna give the death note a try.

  • Jack Carter
    Jack Carter 6 days ago

    Like wanting another bag of bad chips for no reason Im excited for the second movie even though this Netflix adaptation was really bad and barely Death Note at all.

  • Hype4 Life
    Hype4 Life 7 days ago

    I would give this movie a F in the anime light yagami wanted nothing to deal with love, when he found misa amane he was only using her for her shinigami eyes and a extra hand he didn’t
    Iike her tho and this movie completely went the wrong turn from how light actually is, light wants justice and wants to be a new god of this world because he is sick of the terrible sins people commit

  • Hype4 Life
    Hype4 Life 7 days ago

    It’s light yagami not turner

  • VENOMARI24
    VENOMARI24 9 days ago

    Couldn't hold it in Japan, and L is black..

  • weston407
    weston407 9 days ago +1

    the anime was great until about 20 episodes into it and i had to stop watching at about episode 30

  • GoProJoe
    GoProJoe 9 days ago

    damn u shoulda left tats b/w they looked dope back then

  • Ali Bhaloo
    Ali Bhaloo 13 days ago

    Its light yagami in the anime

  • QNicole
    QNicole 13 days ago +1

    I don't think it's Americanization that's the issue, I think it's grouping the tone with YA dramedy instead of going the serious, self-evaluative route like The Dark Knight did. Imagine if DN had been carried out with the same gravitas as The Dark Knight, imagine Light slowly becoming a Joker and L as Batman, taking place in a city that feels as cohesive and is just as impacted by Light & L's decisions as Gotham. That would've been 'americanized' but done far more justice to the concepts within the show as a whole. they missed such an opportunity...

  • Tia Aaron
    Tia Aaron 14 days ago

    Hollywood should adapt Fullmetal Alchemist instead. Can't be worse than that Japanese live-action version.

  • anonymous _
    anonymous _ 15 days ago

    Guess they didn't watch the actual anime because the story is completely different.. light is supposed to be extremely intelligent and having a god like complex but in the movie they show him getting bullied..the cast chosen was terrible.. some scenes were extremely gross for no reason..no plot followed..plus the best scenes in the anime were not even shown..

  • emil engen
    emil engen Month ago

    I really liked the first half.

  • Batman 01
    Batman 01 Month ago

    Death Note:ADAM'S DEATH THREAT...

  • Pablo Valeiro
    Pablo Valeiro Month ago

    Maybe i'm too picky but could they just make L more like... L? It just felt akward. Also why Yagami has american old cliches?
    Also also, where is the chip?

  • Zanemob
    Zanemob Month ago

    I love Ryuk in this but nothing else... I only started watching Death Note for Ryuk. He's one of my favorite characters ever.

  • Nondogmatic Yesh
    Nondogmatic Yesh Month ago

    Oh man. This is not a disaster? No way it was very very bad and a waste of money.

  • Cooldoge 67
    Cooldoge 67 Month ago +2

    It’s like the creator of the movie only saw a couple of clips of the anime and decided to make a movie

  • Scrambled 59
    Scrambled 59 2 months ago +2

    Willem Dafoe is probably the best thing about this movie

  • Yacheng Moua
    Yacheng Moua 2 months ago +2

    Will you ever do a review of Rurouni Kenshin live action trilogy?

  • Pamela wietting
    Pamela wietting 2 months ago

    Calling yourself a massive fan of death note? You made one mistake 2:46. Last time I checked his name is Light Yagami. Light Turner was a American name he was given. :(

  • Noisykiller12
    Noisykiller12 2 months ago

    He's gonna direct Godzilla vs Kong next year I hope he won't fuck it up

  • Pronoy Nath
    Pronoy Nath 2 months ago

    It is a ZOMBIEEE.. movie

  • paul atr8eez
    paul atr8eez 2 months ago

    It should have been a live action mini series. You cant cram this much into a movie.

  • An Do
    An Do 2 months ago

    The worst thing about this movie was, people watching it while never watch anime or manga version and make conclusion that the manga and anime was awful based on this hollywood adaptation movie!!

  • HauptsacheGeil
    HauptsacheGeil 2 months ago +1

    Light Turner?
    Is Ryuk a fucking fairy?!

    • yurmom gay
      yurmom gay 28 days ago

      Holy shit I never thought of that.

  • Ginta Man
    Ginta Man 2 months ago

    "Adam Wingard definitely tried." lmfao

  • Da real krishpy Kream
    Da real krishpy Kream 3 months ago +1

    Chris please watch death parade it’s a good anime

  • Sagar Dimdung
    Sagar Dimdung 3 months ago +1

    7:29 I couldn't have said it better.

  • Seace Olson
    Seace Olson 3 months ago

    The anime is trash and the movie is decent

  • emil engen
    emil engen 3 months ago +1

    They shouldn't have blackwashed L.

  • David Hernandez
    David Hernandez 3 months ago

    why are all Mia's crazy? girl in movie was crazy.

  • Bentleyscool
    Bentleyscool 3 months ago +10

    Anime : Gotta hide ma book so I can BECOME THE GOD OF THE NEW WORLD
    Netflix: heY GuRL LoOk aT MY FaNcY BOoK

    • Bentleyscool
      Bentleyscool 28 days ago

      yurmom gay Nope I made this myself

    • yurmom gay
      yurmom gay 28 days ago

      I'm certain this comment was stolen but kudos for sharing?

    • KereignVeVo
      KereignVeVo 2 months ago +1

      Especially when he showed it to her the FIRST DAY HE MET HER

  • lessly carthan
    lessly carthan 3 months ago

    Ah millinials you have no new shit so you watch comic soap operas 20,000 writers and directors take on somebody else original shit unstead of coming up with new shit this why you pan 80s stuff because there original you remake them and fail miserably because you cant think for yourselves.chuckie jason freddy die hard rambo commando conan terminator predator mad max back to the future i can go on transformers gi joe you love the fact were original lethal weapon but you hate the fact were original robocop.were on rambo 5 diehard 6 and how many of these you made into tv series because you cant brung shit but soaps to the big screen boaring one life to live for 2hrs at the theatre should i show up in a hoarse driven cot with split tail tux and gloves a bonicle youre generation valume

    • Alita Skywalker
      Alita Skywalker Month ago

      A wrinkly old degenerate talking shit about younger generation.
      Nothing new to hear, people!!

  • Duarte Vader
    Duarte Vader 3 months ago

    *_Light Yagami is the best._*

  • Matthius & Shaggy
    Matthius & Shaggy 4 months ago

    If they were going to change the ethnicity of a character...I didn’t want it to be L...he was supposed to be pasty white, introverted, you can tell he never left the indoors, DeHan(I forget his first name, but he was Andrew in Chronicle) he would’ve made a great L, if they were to change Light’s ethnicity I wouldn’t mind that much, its a small yet big gripe I had with this movie and it’s not the only one lol but that’s my two cents on the matter

  • Vanilla sky
    Vanilla sky 4 months ago

    Hollywood always underestimates the power of understanding of American audience.

  • Red Lee
    Red Lee 4 months ago

    LIGHT YAGAMI!!! FUCK THIS TURNER TWAT!

  • Jesseramos714
    Jesseramos714 4 months ago

    For a Netflix movie and who it was trying to target, it was pretty good. I enjoyed it.

  • Riley Wade
    Riley Wade 4 months ago

    I've only watched and loved the anime of Deathnote. Was his name Light Turner in the manga? I don't think it was but again, never read it.
    Also who the fuck was the girl in this movie?? Because she wasn't Misa Misa... I mean no. I think L was alright. Riok was incredible! But those where really the only characters from the anime.. Light Yagami wasn't in this, Misa wasn't in this.. who are these characters?

  • John Owens
    John Owens 4 months ago

    Your score was Very generous.

  • Steven F
    Steven F 4 months ago

    This movie was straight up ass lol

  • Out West
    Out West 5 months ago

    The live action movie would have been a better mini series. Also one thing it messed up with is the fact that anime Light is a phycopath which is great for a villan. They tried to make him a phycopath in the live action but then give him an emotional attachment to Mia which is something that a phycopath is incapable of so it doesn't compute.

  • joeseyeuh hell
    joeseyeuh hell 5 months ago

    So glad I decided to watch the anime first. It was amazing.

  • Andeddo Zonbi
    Andeddo Zonbi 5 months ago

    They made L a complete embarrassment in this film and he was the number one best thing about the entire anime.....

  • Joe Major
    Joe Major 5 months ago

    Hope you’re slathered in aquaphor. Getting too close to touching that fresh ink

  • Phil S
    Phil S 5 months ago

    L,........................ Dafoe was perfect though. Slater needed more.

  • Dorian CARDOSY
    Dorian CARDOSY 5 months ago

    I get you are a genuine Death Note fan, but you got something wrong unintentionally when voicing a short summary about the anime, Ryuk does indeed tell him more about the Note in details, but by the time he shows up Light already wrote hundreds of names in it. This is a pretty major detail in contrast to how it goes in the adaptation. where edgy lord Turner is entirely dependent on Ryuk to get his first kill and encourages him to use it just for the sake of it, Ryuk in the film is not a viewer or commentator as he is in the anime, in the film he's an enabler, in the anime it's more of a social experiment, Ryuk was bored out of his mind. He never had a purpose or moral high ground in the anime, their vision of Ryuk is that he's only here to pressure Light into doing what the "REAL" light is doing in the anime. Instead of having a well written narrative, a consistent story and nuanced characters. They just decided "fuck it, let's dumb down everything so that everyone won't have to use their brain, oh and let's make it into a cluster fuck and advertise it to the average american.
    That's how I see it, anyway.

  • cute unlucky
    cute unlucky 5 months ago

    I laughed all the way through this movie because it was soo bad lol
    P.s long live RYUK

  • Beast Boi Ahoy
    Beast Boi Ahoy 6 months ago +1

    Similar to Speed Racer it’s a good movie if u consider it a stand alone movie and not take it so seriously, I found this movie entertaining and quite fun.

  • TheGrayMysterious
    TheGrayMysterious 6 months ago

    Honestly, putting aside the original story for a moment, playing with the idea of a completely normal, kinda angsty teen being handed godlike power could have been interesting, like if the main character was really troubled and bullied and now had the ability to take revenge on people virtually anonymously. It'd be a pretty good way of Americanizing the concept of the Death Note without directly impacting the original story.

  • PhoenixAshes 19
    PhoenixAshes 19 6 months ago +1

    I don't think L's portrayal was good either.
    He acted like nuts when something wrong happens. L was never like this. This movie is fucking shit

  • HAREM KING
    HAREM KING 6 months ago +1

    The anime sucked ass

  • Elsys Saragih
    Elsys Saragih 6 months ago

    From scale 1 to 10? Minus

  • SoCal Trojan
    SoCal Trojan 6 months ago

    When Death Note was on toonami on adult swim, I only watched bits and pieces of it. I could recall the ending, but I never saw it all the way through. I always had the intentions of watching the whole series some day.
    Then I saw the movie on Netflix and watched it, I remember enjoying the movie for what it was at the time. Most recently I decided to rewatch Death Note on Hulu, and grind it out until the end. I loved the anime and yes I would agree towards the end of the series, when N took over the investigation, the writing of Light's character went down hill with the loss of L. Once I had finished the series, I thought I would give the Netflix movie another try and see what I thought of adaptation. OMG does it make a difference when the show is fresh in your mind. I remember right out of the gate things were so forced that I had a disliking of the film before getting to the half hour mark.
    Light Yagami ( aka Light Turner ) is not the same character. Light didn't care about finding love in his life, he used anyone he could to serve his purpose and treated them just as replaceable. You didn't get the feeling these two personas of Light were one and the same with the same agendas in mind. In the anime I both loved and hated Light for what he had become. And I think that is what makes him such a compelling character. If we were to put ourselves in his position, how would we use this power? The sense of right and wrong gets muddy, and is a good question for debate.

  • Upperdog
    Upperdog 6 months ago

    In the trailer the book is already dirty before it hits the ground also the book lands on its back but he flips it over anyway

  • HeftyLefty24
    HeftyLefty24 6 months ago

    I never seen the anime. Never heard of it. Watched this movie, loved this movie. You’re a fan of the anime, clearly! And that’s why you don’t like it. It’s understandable tho. I’m sure I would feel the same way you do if I had watched the series! Still love your reviews tho, just my honest opinion.

  • Kristen Marie
    Kristen Marie 6 months ago

    I'll take a potato chip....AND EAT IT

  • DrLucifer
    DrLucifer 6 months ago

    i like it the movie its different and light is more like a normal person than original genius light yagami but i feel the car chase is something that L would never do its 2 reckless

  • Josh Beck
    Josh Beck 6 months ago

    Ah Chris being a little stinker, classic brattyness 😂

  • Portia Monaheng
    Portia Monaheng 6 months ago

    I hate this movie. It's more like a parody than an adaptation. The real Death Note is Mind Blowing. Can someone please re-do it.

  • Shaun Ward
    Shaun Ward 6 months ago

    You critisise this movie for changing the characters too much but then say they got Ryuk right??he was pretty much a passive observer in the cartoon and in this an instigator

  • Shaun Ward
    Shaun Ward 6 months ago

    After lights big freakout he should've had the same line as when he fell off the chair in the Japanimation, that's my main gripe. I enjoyed watching a different interpretation as I've seen the original a couple of times and the Jap movies too

  • Rouge_ The first black super saiyan

    Green goblin turns into a death god.

    Nah. Just kidding

  • Cody Hoff
    Cody Hoff 7 months ago

    I've never seen the original anime so just seeing it without any attachment, it wasn't bad. I do agree with the weird connection with the girlfriend which makes him want to kill. I though that Ryuk was in it a pretty decent amount and more than you give off in this review. I do agree that William Defoe is great and was originally why I wanted to watch it, but he usually shows up when the killing is about to happen. I actually enjoyed the music that went with it but that's my opinion. I do agree that Light's progression was rushed towards the middle. I am a little confused on L and why he is able to do whatever he wants with almost no consequences and yet he looks like he is in his early 20s.

  • Jordan Sullivan
    Jordan Sullivan 7 months ago

    That opener though

  • Thunder Goku
    Thunder Goku 7 months ago

    Remember when Shane Black was initially attached to this? What the fuck happened?

  • Alexander Leslie
    Alexander Leslie 7 months ago

    I never like it

  • James Cornett
    James Cornett 7 months ago

    Good critique however you didn't take into account the fact that the source is a bit of a dated manga and cramming such a dense series into a movie while trying to make it more modern would lead to some creative liberties. If you walked into the same movie never having seen death note the series or read the manga I'm confident your C- would be an unbias B+. Good video thank you for uploading.

  • Anything. Lucy
    Anything. Lucy 7 months ago

    I liked the movie....




    Then I watched the anime

  • sadder daze
    sadder daze 7 months ago

    Yes! Ryuk was the only good thing about the adaptation, and William Dafoe played him wonderfully. I definitely needed so much more of him! I was so disappointed by how dumb and stereotypical Lights character was made in the adaptation. Light was a genius and master manipulator and he didn’t give a single shit about impressing a girl. I also really loved how he could orchestrate entire situations in the anime. So I was just so disappointed by how dumb and horny Lights character was in the adaptation.

  • Bernardo de Alba
    Bernardo de Alba 7 months ago

    I just liked one thing about the movie:
    When it finished.

  • HEX Leviathan The First

    I agree and I respect your opinion on this but I must say the casting for L & ryuk we're amazing I mean you didn't know the name of the actor particularly for ryuk but I recognizes voice instantly from Spider-Man 1 the original movie he played in Green Goblin and I loved his performance all those many years ago but I agree with you want to come to town to light and his girlfriend I mean in the anime they don't even kiss she's more or less is Harley Quinn

  • josefaharrison
    josefaharrison 7 months ago

    you went soft here, its ok, we can live with it.

  • Exploding Tomahawks
    Exploding Tomahawks 7 months ago

    As a casual fan of the anime I didn't expect much when this movie was announced but when they said Willem Dafoe was Ryuk I knew he would be it's only bright light. Oh God I wasn't going for a pun but I'm too tired to edit it.

  • Majin Mark3
    Majin Mark3 7 months ago

    You should review "Bleach" live-action which is on Netflix.... probably the best live-action anime adaption I've seen (not saying much, but it is good).

  • Xeron Devan
    Xeron Devan 8 months ago

    Do no country for old man plz

  • SenselessBonkai
    SenselessBonkai 8 months ago

    I didn't like the fact that ryuk was threatening light to do bad stuff. He's a passive character who observes and watches how humans react

  • Lifex00
    Lifex00 8 months ago

    You can't appreciate Death Note unless you watch the anime. If you can't watch a movie without reading the book, you can't watch it without watching the anime

  • Christopher Titus
    Christopher Titus 8 months ago +4

    Light sort of reminded me of what would happen if Ryan from The Office was given the Death Note.

  • xxGojira54 the channel
    xxGojira54 the channel 8 months ago

    I'm sorry I still hate this movie it is the same level as much as I hate DragonBall Evolution lmao 😂😂

  • Muye Ma
    Muye Ma 8 months ago +1

    to me, that's a F movie

  • Justin Harsey
    Justin Harsey 8 months ago

    What if they did Baccano?

  • Giorno giovanna
    Giorno giovanna 8 months ago

    Ryuk is the Apples and we are ryuk, we need more ryuk!!!!

  • Hisame Artwork
    Hisame Artwork 8 months ago

    They always dumb down japanese characters, same for Ghost in the shell. It's like they think americans are retarded therefore they must do cliche slogan american stories: government bad, boy bang girl, etc

  • Orange Blossom
    Orange Blossom 8 months ago

    Ryuk was my favorite, too. 6:49 BINGO

  • sammorgan31
    sammorgan31 8 months ago

    Who the hell is Light Turner?

  • ChocoKaylaRobin
    ChocoKaylaRobin 8 months ago

    That thumbnail XD

  • YDC Triste
    YDC Triste 8 months ago +1

    They turn one of the biggest character traits of Light.... and do the exact opposite lol. Light would never ever do anything for any woman. Yes he’s married to Misa but that’s only because she was the 2nd Kira and he had use for her. Misa threw herself at him and he denied her time after time. In fact Kira was going to kill her but Misa’s shinigami told Light if anything happened to her, she would kill Light. Then after he used Misa to carry on killings after he took on in L’s place or when under investigation. She was only ever a tool. Same with all of his other relationships. His only focus was becoming “God of the New World”

  • Kamal Mazrif
    Kamal Mazrif 8 months ago

    It’s not Death Note, it’s Final Destination Note!

  • Neo Virz
    Neo Virz 8 months ago

    Lol even i can direct a better adaptation... no joke

  • Kjell
    Kjell 9 months ago

    This movie was amazing and Nat Wolff was fantastic.

  • Danny Long Legs
    Danny Long Legs 9 months ago

    Those tats are amazing bro! Awesome

  • guccicaskets
    guccicaskets 9 months ago

    i have yet to see this film but my feelings towards it right now is mixed. From what i hear this movie was nothing like how the anime is and i can obviously tell by the cast, but i just saw the trailer and honestly it don’t look that bad.

    • Morgane Germé
      Morgane Germé 8 months ago

      Truth be told, as a movie, it's not terrible. It can actually be quite enjoyable if you don't compare it too much to the orginal version. However, as an adaptation, IT IS awful.

  • Keone Jones
    Keone Jones 9 months ago

    FYI they have a live action Japanese death note movie. Its way better then the American one.

  • Keone Jones
    Keone Jones 9 months ago

    Bet the dude who plays L is a major weaboo.

  • Martin Kolakowski
    Martin Kolakowski 9 months ago

    You should watch the Japanese live action movies version. It's also dubbed by the same actors that dubbed the anime. It's a LOT better than the Netflix version and they knew what to do with the source material.

  • David Brown
    David Brown 9 months ago

    Chris Talk about the live action Bleach movie

  • Ciel Blue
    Ciel Blue 9 months ago

    I like how he tries hard to make it sound OK when it's actually really bad...

  • Mudm Ouse
    Mudm Ouse 9 months ago

    You are too nice. Unless you are implying that he tried to deliberately destroy it. American Style.