Thor: Ragnarok - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 31, 2017
  • Thanks to Full Sail University for sponsoring this episode. If you’re interested in learning more about advancing your film degree at Full Sail University, visit www.fullsail.edu/chrisstuckmann
    FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Thor: Ragnarok, starring Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cate Blanchett, Idris Elba, Jeff Goldblum, Tessa Thompson, Karl Urban, Mark Ruffalo, Anthony Hopkins. Directed by Taika Waititi.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 400

  • The final countdown
    The final countdown 12 hours ago

    felt the same way about this movie and aquaman , both were fresh and really enjoyable.

  • Bowen Orcutt
    Bowen Orcutt 17 days ago

    Know what's even more impressive than 80% improv? From what I've heard, the first Iron Man was pretty much *100%.* Jeff Bridges was quoted as saying that it was like working on a several million dollar college film. So yes, all your favorite RDJ lines were 100% purely RDJ being awesome.

  • me name bob lol bro
    me name bob lol bro 18 days ago +1

    We are the revengers

  • Surge E.
    Surge E. 21 day ago +1

    Hela made this movie for me. 😍

  • Hadjr Lili
    Hadjr Lili 22 days ago

    Korg stole the show for me

  • Friso de Jong
    Friso de Jong 22 days ago +1

    This movie is hands down the worst depiction of marvel comics and the jokes at many points made it look like the creators didn't care about the story at all. Sure, the Thor franchise needed a boost, but the Ragnarok story itself allows for everything it needed. This movie however crapped all over it. The deaths of Odin, Volstagg, Fandral and Hogun, the destruction of Mjolnir, the destruction of Asgard... These are supposed to be dramatic moments, but instead they're laughed away with poor jokes.
    Of course I did like many parts, like the "get help" scene, or the interaction with Dr Strange. But the movie fails to deliver the story.

  • Adam Lavigne
    Adam Lavigne 25 days ago +1

    Better than Justice League

  • Mr Arizona
    Mr Arizona 27 days ago

    Thor was my least favorite character growing up but since the first appearance of Thor and the MCU, Thor has become of of my favorite characters. I used to like Batman the most but Thor is now better than Batman because of these movies. Hoping there is Thor 4 movie someday

  • Davis Shikle
    Davis Shikle 29 days ago

    Great movie! It's in my top 5 for favorite Marvel movies! I also really like the characters Valkyrie, Corg, Helena, and Grandmaster!

  • Mr. Z
    Mr. Z Month ago

    0:19 Hella is actually tried to rule the world "Not Destroying Asgard"

  • David Brown
    David Brown Month ago

    I love ur vids .. but full sail is a scam ....dump them as a sponsor

  • Johnny B
    Johnny B Month ago

    Fantastic review. Made me buy the movie

  • Brandon Clark
    Brandon Clark Month ago

    "Hey man. We're about to jump on that ginormous space ship over there.Wanna come?"- Korg 😂

  • Lasse1583
    Lasse1583 Month ago

    This movie is a piece of shit. Worst kind og lame childish humor i have ever seen in a marvel movie. They shit all over the Thor caracter and turns him into a joke. First marvel movie i almost walked out on.

  • Owen B.
    Owen B. Month ago +4

    This film is a perfect mix of epic and hilarious.

  • Wynne Johnson
    Wynne Johnson Month ago

    Love this movie, so funny!

  • Taylor Herndon
    Taylor Herndon Month ago +1

    This movie was great, but I really didn't like a lot of the humor in it. I hate funny Hulk, he acts like a baby. Action scenes were great though, and I loved the scene with Doc Strange and Loki

  • Oliver Hopkins
    Oliver Hopkins Month ago

    You must have seen a different film to me, that film sucked. Immigrant Song is good though.

  • ChemLogic89
    ChemLogic89 Month ago

    Did we see the same movie? Extremely funny? Absolutely not.

  • Anton A.
    Anton A. Month ago

    Thor is not suited for someone like Waititi. Thor is a character that is mythic, epic, poetic, full of bravado and pathos. His comics are in tone with the likes of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, or even Game of Thrones at times (the Garth Ennis miniseries for sure was with all its violence). Waititi made a funny movie, but he did that with a wrong character. Waititi should be given characters that are inherently comedic, instead of turning serious into comedic.

  • peter ema
    peter ema Month ago +1

    We’re the revenges

  • Aaron Bobko
    Aaron Bobko Month ago

    I actually don’t like this movie, it’s my least favorite Thor movie. I find all the moments that are played for comedy could have had much more emotional impact.

  • weirdtasteinbooks
    weirdtasteinbooks 2 months ago +1

    I'm mad they didn't use thor's led zeppelin song when he arrived in infinity war, they missed a great opportunity there

  • Video Cassette
    Video Cassette 2 months ago

    Immigrant Song stole the movie! Fight scenes were amazing because of it. The second viewing is not as much enjoyable though. The elements of surprise were gone.

  • Jose Cruz
    Jose Cruz 2 months ago

    Okay everyone, think about this if even just for a second....
    In Thor Ragnarok, Odin states while being in Norway and looking to the horizon with both his sons, 21:37 "remember this place, home". Now what if moving forward into the next phase of the MCU, ASGARD gets built above NORWAY instead of Oklahoma like in the comics just because of Hollywood's sake. Anyone agree?

  • **********
    ********** 2 months ago

    you gave it and A??
    gee, I thought it wasn't even that good

  • Maria Gaitan
    Maria Gaitan 2 months ago +1

    Bye

    • MG3
      MG3 Month ago

      Don't let the door hit you on the way out

  • Ray
    Ray 2 months ago

    I tried again to watch Thor: Ragnarok and again, I can't get through this slap stick comedy that wasn't funny but only annoying. WTF!? SMH.

  • Joe Shawcroft
    Joe Shawcroft 2 months ago

    This is also one of my favorite Marvel movies. Thor was totally redeemed in this movie. Hulk's development was excellent as well.

  • Mindless YouTuber
    Mindless YouTuber 3 months ago +1

    Whore: Ragnacock

    • MG3
      MG3 Month ago

      Aren't you so clever

  • Russ Rogers
    Russ Rogers 3 months ago +1

    I love this movie! Incredible quotable
    Also the immigrant song was daf I wish trailer songs were in the movies like hitman 47 and xxx the return of xander cage if they had Voodoo child in the movie they'd be worth watching

  • The Nameless Editor
    The Nameless Editor 3 months ago

    I agree with the fact that there were one too many jokes. I think the one that stuck out to me most is when Korg was talking about the foundation of Asgard holding up and it just decimating. There hardly a pause and then he's like, whoops nope, the foundations are gone. Like could the movie not take a moment of silence for reflection? I know it's a comedic movie but damn.
    Let's pretend Asgard is Earth. A small portion of Earth's surviving and or scattered people just got off the planet in the nick of time. Then those survivors watch it explode. -insert humourous joke here-
    All jokes aside, this movie is crazy dark when you go over it. Thor loses: Mjolnir, Fandral, Hogun, Volstagg, Odin, a huge portion of his population, and all of Asgard.

  • Abhishek Panigrahi
    Abhishek Panigrahi 3 months ago

    Stupidest movie ever

    • Jonathan McGuire
      Jonathan McGuire Month ago

      @Abhishek Panigrahi Please..You like Endgame hun? A bunch of Super Heroes crying for 3 hrs... Its the best movie out of all of them deal with it kid

    • Abhishek Panigrahi
      Abhishek Panigrahi 3 months ago

      @Jonathan McGuire exactly. It's chuckles all over the place which is not a Thor movie should look like

    • Jonathan McGuire
      Jonathan McGuire 3 months ago +1

      Da Faq? One of the best ones yet! This movie is hilarious!

  • Jdub
    Jdub 3 months ago

    Hulk has a major improvement as well

  • AdityA Yadav
    AdityA Yadav 3 months ago

    This is a great movie

  • BangoBuck87
    BangoBuck87 3 months ago +1

    This movie was lots of fun, I just felt Hella was an extremely weak and uninteresting villain. I’d give it a B+

  • Son of Martha
    Son of Martha 4 months ago +1

    This movie was an A+

  • Adwagon 22
    Adwagon 22 4 months ago

    This was just about the most boring and bland movie in the entire mcu tbh

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 4 months ago

    One it has alot of pacing issues. 2 lack luster ending. i can go on

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 4 months ago

    doesnt deserve that A

  • Sunny Lovetts
    Sunny Lovetts 4 months ago

    I think the green screen was kinda too noticeable, and some parts are too corny. I’d say it’s a B-

  • brentonius
    brentonius 4 months ago

    Agree! This was unexpectedly great.

  • yeah, right
    yeah, right 5 months ago

    Saw it a few days ago
    Loved it!
    Far more original looking than the usual too (maybe like the comics or something?)
    Yes there are faults but it was still one of the few marvel movies that I have enjoyed.

  • Gill Adrienne
    Gill Adrienne 5 months ago

    H

  • anbish tamang
    anbish tamang 5 months ago

    The comedy aspect ruined this movie for me. Sorry but I give this movie a C.

    • anbish tamang
      anbish tamang 5 months ago

      @Ryder Barton been watching too many

    • Ryder Barton
      Ryder Barton 5 months ago

      anbish tamang you been watch movies too much.

  • Ilhan Tele
    Ilhan Tele 5 months ago

    Wasn't a big fan of this movie

  • Lynette Wilson
    Lynette Wilson 5 months ago

    No body does the hulk better than Lou Ferrigno is the incredible Hulk no computed generated Hulk can be the hulk looks better as human not computer generated

  • Sybille Stahl
    Sybille Stahl 6 months ago

    Well, I just saw this on Netflix, the first MCU movie I’ve ever watched, and found it so ridiculous that I just wanted to hear someone else’s opinion. I guess it really, really, really wasn’t made for someone like me.

  • ichatterbot
    ichatterbot 6 months ago +1

    Extremely rewatchable movie

  • Sparsh Bansal
    Sparsh Bansal 6 months ago

    Are you fucking kidding me????
    This movie was a parody of itself. How can you not notice the tonal discrepancy?? I would rather watch the dark world even though I hated it. At least the dark world respected its source material. You found humor annoying because you laughed so much that you needed a break?????? WHAT A LOAD OF SHIT!!!!!

  • daniel
    daniel 6 months ago

    I genuinely thought this movie was awful. The comedy was so cringey and forced. It was so hard to watch; I haven't even finished it yet and I probably never will.
    I'd rate it as low as a *D+* smh.

  • shure46
    shure46 6 months ago

    Thor was a good movie , but what cracks me up is how they can travel interstellar space , yet they ride horses .... They have all this technology but don't have cars ???? lol

  • Aboali 100
    Aboali 100 6 months ago

    wait i just had an idea were they setting up for rune king thor

  • Jordan Venning
    Jordan Venning 6 months ago

    C'mon guys this movie is seriously overrated

  • Cody King
    Cody King 7 months ago

    This movie is damn near perfect. I love to hear that some of it was improvised. I don’t know why anyone would be against that. First of all the movie has a script, they always act and say the lines that are written. Secondly some of the greatest movie scenes ever have an actor that improvised in it. The actors don’t write the movie. The actor might come up with something that the writers never even thought of which might work better. So I don’t see the problem.

  • That Guy Tv
    That Guy Tv 7 months ago

    He rated this movie better than he did on infinity war, HMMMMMMMMM

  • Bob Bobete
    Bob Bobete 7 months ago +2

    I hated the movie

  • Louis BIoom
    Louis BIoom 7 months ago

    😖😣A+

  • M3M3KING
    M3M3KING 7 months ago

    please review Boy also by Taika

  • Bengt Sollied JR
    Bengt Sollied JR 7 months ago

    When you realise that Chris gave Thor ragnorok an A but Avengers Infinity War a B

    • Arnold Patterson
      Arnold Patterson 4 months ago

      B+ actually. I think Infinity War does deserve an A, if not A+.

  • Rayza NC
    Rayza NC 7 months ago

    I was blown away by this movie, honestly one of the best I've ever seen and easily the best Marvel movie.

  • BossKarp
    BossKarp 8 months ago +2

    I disagree. The movie was utter shite coated in a thick layer of humor to cover up the lackluster center. My main complaint is that Thor was depicted as weak and impotent that it annoyed me. If it wasn't for the few moments of action then I would have forgotten that he was supposed to be a great god of strength and power. From being caught in a net like a dog by a dogcatcher to being rendered a laughingstock whenever the Valkyrie shocked/ immobilized him, Thor is completely stripped of any dignity, status, and strength. Its almost as if he was being shamed and degraded on purpose with the intent to make him into a joke of a character. I couldn't take him, or the movie, seriously after that farce.
    Thor should have wiped the floor with everyone; from the ruler of that junk planet to that Valkyrie. With "Ragnarok" tacked on the title I thought the movie was going to be an epic where Thor and the warriors of Asgard waged a futile battle to stave off the inevitable doom of their world. Perhaps the director should've added " comedy adventure of Thor on holiday " to have prevented misunderstandings from happening.

  • Benjamin Kennedy
    Benjamin Kennedy 8 months ago

    More like Bore Ragnarok

    • Ryder Barton
      Ryder Barton 5 months ago

      Benjamin Kennedy you been watch movies too long. The Dark World took a cake.

  • Todd Hardman
    Todd Hardman 8 months ago

    I did not like this movie, didn’t feel serious felt like it was just a clip of forced laughs.

  • Triple P
    Triple P 8 months ago

    Damn, I'd be Skurge in a heartbeat, even though Hela's as old as my mom 0.0

  • My Way Hostel Dubrovnik

    Hela ... ❤ Cate is a queen.

  • Dirty Fighters
    Dirty Fighters 8 months ago +1

    I didn't enjoy ANY Thor film in the MCU, the only thing I enjoyed, was when he was serious, but usually when he was serious, he'd just turn incredibly clumsy at least 5 seconds after! So there are jokes, but none of the jokes actually tickle my funny bone, mainly because Thor is a shocking clown in these films! He's nothing like that in the comics, and that's how I thought it would be, but I was wrong

  • Danny Long Legs
    Danny Long Legs 8 months ago +1

    Wow! First time I disagree with you Chris. I cant believe it. Its actually sad :( this movie was super lame and generic as hell. It's a fucking comedy! Not a superhero action suspenseful film....a FUCKING COMEDY!!! Like WTF

  • vicki martin
    vicki martin 8 months ago

    I love korg!

  • Universal Awakening
    Universal Awakening 8 months ago +1

    Thought this was a terrible movie, ruined by too much comedy, just like guardians of the galaxy vol 2. But that's just my opinion, if you like it that's good for you.

  • Nicolas O'Brien
    Nicolas O'Brien 8 months ago

    I know people are gonna hate me for saying this, but, this is the movie that made me hate big budget movies. The reason: jokes. Marvel is supposed to be action and sci fi. But ragnarok came out, and it ruined it. Anytime something epic is about to happen, dumb joke, any cool battle, dumb jokes. I really want hollywood to try to make an awesome movie and clever jokes, not horrible ones said every 5 seconds.

  • Moravian Lion
    Moravian Lion 9 months ago

    Thank you again, Chris, for great reviews! I've got tired of MCU some time ago, but you made me to watch this and I wasn't disappointed!

  • Horse Noise Entertainment

    Movie was trash

  • DailyGamingVideos
    DailyGamingVideos 9 months ago +4

    Guardians of the galaxy + thor and loki= Ragnarok

  • bartonez123
    bartonez123 9 months ago

    Thor Ragnarok? More like Bore Ragnarok.

  • Jack Ransom
    Jack Ransom 9 months ago

    Based on the previous ones, I didn't give a shit about Thor until I saw this movie. I watched it because someone made me watch it, and was blown away. Also one of my favorite MCU flicks.

  • Lirim Vivaldi
    Lirim Vivaldi 9 months ago

    I'm going to have to disagree. This movie was superficially good, but an hour after watching and piecing the story line, the characters and all of their history of character development...and the force-fed comedy...this was nothing but a let down. No blood, no realism, no way to immerse. They've done better, but that's not saying much. Much as well be rated G and have Disney's logo slapped over it and just rip the bandaid off.

  • Yanis Kaps
    Yanis Kaps 9 months ago

    I absolutely agrre with you. The first time I heard the immigrant song in the movie theater, i got chills.

  • Wilo Polis
    Wilo Polis 10 months ago

    What We Do in the Shadows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, and Thor: Ragnarok. Waititi is a legend

  • Danny Bailey
    Danny Bailey 10 months ago

    Finally saw this movie... I normally agree with you and highly respect your reviews and recommendations.
    That being said, what I hate about this movie is the “comedy”. It’s way to cheap, obvious, and tension destroying. I can’t think of a scene when there wasn’t a joke and because of that, I couldn’t buy into the whole Thor is in danger. And it’s not even unique comedy. It’s standard, run-at-the-mill Marvel comedy and at some point they’ll have to address his problem.
    I honestly can’t think of a reason to justify your decision to call it an A because that means you are putting it on the same pedestal as Tobey Maguire’s spiderman 1 and 2, and the Dark Knight trilogy. While the Dark Knight series was dark and very serious, the Spider-Man series knew when to be funny but knew when to be serious. Thor threw comedy in scenes when it should be serious.
    I feel the problem lies in the improve. Because it felt very clunky and very forced. The very best I could see this movie being is a B

  • Tom Shenton
    Tom Shenton 10 months ago

    I will always love the des and Troy part

  • Kevin Schart
    Kevin Schart 10 months ago

    this is a sign of things to come with the MCU. eventually the franchise will devolve into a goofy batman and robin look alike.
    i had a lot of fun with this but eventually this whole thing will fall apart.

  • Chinchin lovs
    Chinchin lovs 10 months ago

    I loved this movie to bits. Its by far my favorite mcu movie.

  • SK
    SK 10 months ago

    Thanks to Full Sail University for sponsoring this episode. If you’re interested in learning more about advancing your film degree at Full Sail University

  • 3rd Gunman
    3rd Gunman 10 months ago

    I think Taika Waititi could direct an amazing movie in the Borderlands 2 universe.

  • Djtrickyyy
    Djtrickyyy 10 months ago

    This film is absolutely terrible. The tone is all over the place, the jokes are god awful.
    The immersion just isnt there, the acting isnt great either.
    Wtf even was the cgi?!?!?
    I managed 30 minutes of this garbage, severely dissapointed.
    Ps chris please dont put this on the same level as winter soldier, that film is fantastic

  • carbon273
    carbon273 10 months ago

    Thor Ragnarok is what Guardians of the Galaxy vol 2 missed: Controlled tones.

  • Skyan Augustus
    Skyan Augustus 10 months ago

    The clip of the skatepark at the 7:35 mark is in Orlando and I have skated it. I just wanted to say that. I am looking forward to watching this movie.

  • Jackie Skillet
    Jackie Skillet 10 months ago

    This movie was fuckin 70% trash

  • Ethan Bradberry
    Ethan Bradberry 10 months ago

    *Korg. Korg stole the film*

  • Tom Oliver
    Tom Oliver 10 months ago

    I think it’s just time to except that Marvel Movies are made for kids and don’t cater to adult audiences anymore.

  • Jayden Rodriguez
    Jayden Rodriguez 10 months ago

    Before I start watching this review im going to predict that this movie will get a D

  • Nickolas Petrone
    Nickolas Petrone 10 months ago

    More like BORE: RAGNAROK

  • hoff music
    hoff music 10 months ago

    The bit at the beginning where there doing the play, Thor comes back and Anthony Hopkins is like "oh shit" 😂😂

  • Cole Nesper
    Cole Nesper 11 months ago

    We all love Jeff Goldblum

  • KillerBoots
    KillerBoots 11 months ago

    Fun fact I don’t have the same sense of humor as 99% of the population.

  • Γιώργος Καρυδόπουλος

    Thor 1 is better in my opinion

  • P.C. Principal
    P.C. Principal 11 months ago

    Thor Ragnarok is my favourite MCU Film

  • Jan Henrik
    Jan Henrik 11 months ago

    This movie was utter bullshit

  • Cruzinthruspace
    Cruzinthruspace 11 months ago

    Let me guess u liked this movie more than black panther