Thor: Ragnarok - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 5 699

  • M3M3KING
    M3M3KING Day ago

    please review Boy also by Taika

  • BS7 games
    BS7 games Day ago

    When you realise that Chris gave Thor ragnorok an A but Avengers Infinity War a B

  • Rayza NC
    Rayza NC 2 days ago

    I was blown away by this movie, honestly one of the best I've ever seen and easily the best Marvel movie.

  • BossKarp
    BossKarp 6 days ago

    I disagree. The movie was utter shite coated in a thick layer of humor to cover up the lackluster center. My main complaint is that Thor was depicted as weak and impotent that it annoyed me. If it wasn't for the few moments of action then I would have forgotten that he was supposed to be a great god of strength and power. From being caught in a net like a dog by a dogcatcher to being rendered a laughingstock whenever the Valkyrie shocked/ immobilized him, Thor is completely stripped of any dignity, status, and strength. Its almost as if he was being shamed and degraded on purpose with the intent to make him into a joke of a character. I couldn't take him, or the movie, seriously after that farce.
    Thor should have wiped the floor with everyone; from the ruler of that junk planet to that Valkyrie. With "Ragnarok" tacked on the title I thought the movie was going to be an epic where Thor and the warriors of Asgard waged a futile battle to stave off the inevitable doom of their world. Perhaps the director should've added " comedy adventure of Thor on holiday " to have prevented misunderstandings from happening.

  • Benjamin Kennedy
    Benjamin Kennedy 6 days ago

    More like Bore Ragnarok

  • Todd Hardman
    Todd Hardman 10 days ago

    I did not like this movie, didn’t feel serious felt like it was just a clip of forced laughs.

  • Patrick Pomerleau-Perron

    Damn, I'd be Skurge in a heartbeat, even though Hela's as old as my mom 0.0

  • My Way Hostel Dubrovnik

    Hela ... ❤ Cate is a queen.

  • Dirty Fighters
    Dirty Fighters 14 days ago

    I didn't enjoy ANY Thor film in the MCU, the only thing I enjoyed, was when he was serious, but usually when he was serious, he'd just turn incredibly clumsy at least 5 seconds after! So there are jokes, but none of the jokes actually tickle my funny bone, mainly because Thor is a shocking clown in these films! He's nothing like that in the comics, and that's how I thought it would be, but I was wrong

  • Danny Darko
    Danny Darko 21 day ago

    Wow! First time I disagree with you Chris. I cant believe it. Its actually sad :( this movie was super lame and generic as hell. It's a fucking comedy! Not a superhero action suspenseful film....a FUCKING COMEDY!!! Like WTF

  • vicki martin
    vicki martin 27 days ago

    I love korg!

  • Universal Awakening
    Universal Awakening 28 days ago +1

    Thought this was a terrible movie, ruined by too much comedy, just like guardians of the galaxy vol 2. But that's just my opinion, if you like it that's good for you.

  • Nicolas O'Brien
    Nicolas O'Brien Month ago

    I know people are gonna hate me for saying this, but, this is the movie that made me hate big budget movies. The reason: jokes. Marvel is supposed to be action and sci fi. But ragnarok came out, and it ruined it. Anytime something epic is about to happen, dumb joke, any cool battle, dumb jokes. I really want hollywood to try to make an awesome movie and clever jokes, not horrible ones said every 5 seconds.

  • Moravian Lion
    Moravian Lion Month ago

    Thank you again, Chris, for great reviews! I've got tired of MCU some time ago, but you made me to watch this and I wasn't disappointed!

  • Horse Noise Entertainment

    Movie was trash

  • DailyGamingVideos
    DailyGamingVideos Month ago +1

    Guardians of the galaxy + thor and loki= Ragnarok

  • bartonez123
    bartonez123 Month ago

    Thor Ragnarok? More like Bore Ragnarok.

  • Jack Ransom
    Jack Ransom Month ago

    Based on the previous ones, I didn't give a shit about Thor until I saw this movie. I watched it because someone made me watch it, and was blown away. Also one of my favorite MCU flicks.

  • Nazo the Mysterious Hedgehog

    Did anyone notice any similarities between Thor Ragnarok and Coco?
    Like when two old mean passed away they turned into golden dust or all the colours in the advertisement.

  • Lirim Vivaldi
    Lirim Vivaldi Month ago

    I'm going to have to disagree. This movie was superficially good, but an hour after watching and piecing the story line, the characters and all of their history of character development...and the force-fed comedy...this was nothing but a let down. No blood, no realism, no way to immerse. They've done better, but that's not saying much. Much as well be rated G and have Disney's logo slapped over it and just rip the bandaid off.

  • Yanis Kaps
    Yanis Kaps 2 months ago

    I absolutely agrre with you. The first time I heard the immigrant song in the movie theater, i got chills.

  • Wilo Polis
    Wilo Polis 2 months ago

    What We Do in the Shadows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, and Thor: Ragnarok. Waititi is a legend

  • Danny Bailey
    Danny Bailey 2 months ago

    Finally saw this movie... I normally agree with you and highly respect your reviews and recommendations.
    That being said, what I hate about this movie is the “comedy”. It’s way to cheap, obvious, and tension destroying. I can’t think of a scene when there wasn’t a joke and because of that, I couldn’t buy into the whole Thor is in danger. And it’s not even unique comedy. It’s standard, run-at-the-mill Marvel comedy and at some point they’ll have to address his problem.
    I honestly can’t think of a reason to justify your decision to call it an A because that means you are putting it on the same pedestal as Tobey Maguire’s spiderman 1 and 2, and the Dark Knight trilogy. While the Dark Knight series was dark and very serious, the Spider-Man series knew when to be funny but knew when to be serious. Thor threw comedy in scenes when it should be serious.
    I feel the problem lies in the improve. Because it felt very clunky and very forced. The very best I could see this movie being is a B

  • Tom Shenton
    Tom Shenton 2 months ago

    I will always love the des and Troy part

  • Kevin Schart
    Kevin Schart 2 months ago

    this is a sign of things to come with the MCU. eventually the franchise will devolve into a goofy batman and robin look alike.
    i had a lot of fun with this but eventually this whole thing will fall apart.

  • Got Freedom?
    Got Freedom? 2 months ago

    I loved this movie to bits. Its by far my favorite mcu movie.

  • SK
    SK 2 months ago

    Thanks to Full Sail University for sponsoring this episode. If you’re interested in learning more about advancing your film degree at Full Sail University

  • 3rd Gunman
    3rd Gunman 2 months ago

    I think Taika Waititi could direct an amazing movie in the Borderlands 2 universe.

  • Snapchat Sketch
    Snapchat Sketch 2 months ago

    This film is absolutely terrible. The tone is all over the place, the jokes are god awful.
    The immersion just isnt there, the acting isnt great either.
    Wtf even was the cgi?!?!?
    I managed 30 minutes of this garbage, severely dissapointed.
    Ps chris please dont put this on the same level as winter soldier, that film is fantastic

  • carbon273
    carbon273 2 months ago

    Thor Ragnarok is what Guardians of the Galaxy vol 2 missed: Controlled tones.

  • Skyan Augustus
    Skyan Augustus 2 months ago

    The clip of the skatepark at the 7:35 mark is in Orlando and I have skated it. I just wanted to say that. I am looking forward to watching this movie.

  • Jackie Skillet
    Jackie Skillet 2 months ago

    This movie was fuckin 70% trash

  • 31 Savage
    31 Savage 2 months ago

    *Korg. Korg stole the film*

  • Tom Oliver
    Tom Oliver 2 months ago

    I think it’s just time to except that Marvel Movies are made for kids and don’t cater to adult audiences anymore.

  • Jayden Rodriguez
    Jayden Rodriguez 2 months ago

    Before I start watching this review im going to predict that this movie will get a D

  • ET Alii
    ET Alii 3 months ago

    More like BORE: RAGNAROK

  • hoff music
    hoff music 3 months ago

    The bit at the beginning where there doing the play, Thor comes back and Anthony Hopkins is like "oh shit" 😂😂

  • Cole Nesper
    Cole Nesper 3 months ago

    We all love Jeff Goldblum

  • KillerBoots
    KillerBoots 3 months ago

    Fun fact I don’t have the same sense of humor as 99% of the population.

  • Γιώργος Καρυδόπουλος

    Thor 1 is better in my opinion

  • Captain Michael J. Caboose

    Thor Ragnarok is my favourite MCU Film

  • Jan Henrik
    Jan Henrik 3 months ago

    This movie was utter bullshit

  • Cruzinthruspace
    Cruzinthruspace 3 months ago

    Let me guess u liked this movie more than black panther

  • Dom Black
    Dom Black 3 months ago

    I thought that this movie while fun, relied too much on humor and charisma and not enough on plot or continuity. What exactly does the prophecy of Ragnarok say? The movie seems confused with this at times. How does Hulk fly the quinjet through outer space? Why did Heimdal leave his post? Where was Sif? Why did Thor and Jane break up? Why is Thor suddenly goofy and sarcastic? The planet hulk portion of the film could have been taken out and not much of the film would have been affected. It felt like a bunch of filler.

  • DLeeW357
    DLeeW357 3 months ago

    Hela didn't wanna destroy asgard... she gets how power from there

  • Tekken20 Iron Film
    Tekken20 Iron Film 3 months ago +1

    meh... kinda dull for a Thor movie.

  • Reder Khalifa
    Reder Khalifa 3 months ago

    I hate Thor the dark world but I actually like Thor 1. Seeing Thor on earth and how he reacts to certain things he doesn’t understand was very entertaining. And I loved Loki in his film. To me Thor 1 is when Loki was at his best. Great villain.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald 3 months ago

    I’m in the same boat as you Chris, I’ve never really been a huge fan of the previous Thor movies, if I had to rank all the MCU movies they’d definitely be near the bottom, I still think they’re decent but I’m not crazy about them, but I too really enjoyed Ragnarok, like you I think it’s easily the best of the Thor movies

  • Jafar Al Haddad
    Jafar Al Haddad 3 months ago

    Why I think that making third movie of thor be better than 1st and 2nd

  • Rahlique White
    Rahlique White 3 months ago

    Is the tattoo new? I haven’t seen it before and I’ve been subscribed for years now

  • Skewy
    Skewy 3 months ago

    I just watched this movie, and holy crap it was sooooo good! I'm so buying it! (i got it on redbox so thats why lol) It was so fun and colorful! My aunt liked it and she doesn't like superhero movies so GOOD JOB MARVEL! :p

  • Romina Talpos
    Romina Talpos 3 months ago

    Thank you for this video! :*

  • r0bw00d
    r0bw00d 4 months ago

    Fuck that one character that kept killing the tension with his bullshit jokes. Get rid of him and change the title to "Thor: Planet Hulk (and Oh Yeah, Ragnarok, Too)" and this movie will be even better.

  • Draven Doom
    Draven Doom 4 months ago

    i enjoyed the first 2 but then the 3rd just confused me. I dont know the marvel universe i just expected more of a thor movie not a weird sci-fi hulk movie. I also found the humor very corny and there was never a rest.

  • William Drewitt
    William Drewitt 4 months ago

    They shouldve made a full planet hulk movie and a seperate thor ragnorK

  • William Drewitt
    William Drewitt 4 months ago +1

    Really good movie but some of the acting was terrible and lots of it seemed rushed

  • Tequila C.
    Tequila C. 4 months ago +1

    I finally watched it for the first time two nights ago and I was super disappointed. I didn't watch any of the trailers for Ragnarok, so I had no idea what to expect going into the movie. What I did want was the total annihilation of Asgard to be taken seriously, you know, with a few jokes thrown in here and there. Just a typical run of the mill Marvel movie. Lord was I wrong. It had too many jokes, too much talking, too much Led Zepplin (can't believe I could ever say that), and just nothing seemed to make sense. Maybe it showed some maturity on Thor's part that he didn't start a brawl with Loki when he found out Loki faked his death and ousted their father from the throne only to have Odin disenegrate not minutes after they find him. But honestly, how could Thor not cave Loki's face in. We don't see him mourn Odin's death, we don't see him even mourn the Warriors Three or acknowledge where the hell Sif was when all this was going down. I don't understand why Thor had to seek wisdom from Odin the second time he went into his "Avatar State," when he already did it the first time fighting Hulk. I thought it would have been better that Hulk knocked him out just before he could use it, tries to reflect on it after he wakes up before he gets distracted, and then seeks guidance from Odin during his fight with Hella. And I don't know how I feel about trading out Earth for a Trash Gladiator planet, but I guess anything is better than that bland love interest Jane Foster.
    I chuckled some in the beginning, but the improve grated on me something fierce. The jokes didn't seem natural and there was no kind of timing whatsoever, they just threw it in whenever they liked. It kind of reminded me of the RedLetterMedia's 2016 GhostBuster review where he said the improve was one of many factors that ruined the movie. I found myself shouting "stop talking! Stop with the jokes!" in a Marvel movie of all things. I'm glad I didn't pay to see it. Marvel movies are never a waste of money to me, but this one would have been. I would dare say I found this movie just marginally better than the Dark World, but the worse than the first movie.

  • capital STEEZ
    capital STEEZ 4 months ago +2

    Easy A+ for me

  • evhleppard
    evhleppard 4 months ago

    Agree with you completely on this one, great, fun movie.

  • 🎶d-.-b🎶
    🎶d-.-b🎶 4 months ago

    As always , with any movie. You will have a 50/50 divide in opinions

  • grease112
    grease112 4 months ago

    Led Zeppelin in the actual movie was an anachronistic mess for me. Totally killed the mood in my opinion

  • Platypus Kid
    Platypus Kid 4 months ago

    I LOVE Your Reviews

  • Awkward Athena
    Awkward Athena 4 months ago

    Korg is the best thing to come out of the MCU ever

  • Rachel R
    Rachel R 4 months ago

    I just... I don't know, I really wanted to love it, but it was trying way too hard to be funny at the expense of anything else, and that crippled any emotional punch it could have (SHOULD have) had. Our hero lost his eye, and there wasn't a breath for us to be shocked before there was a punch line. The entire world was lost and even that couldn't spare a second to be serious. I'm fine with these movies being quirky and fun, but Guardians knew to balance it against actual emotional moments so we cared and actually felt something for the characters.
    I don't know, this was such a miss for me, and it sucks that it's so beloved because I'm afraid more of the movies will go in this direction moving forward -- hiding from emotional moments behind jokes.

  • Fenton Tuck
    Fenton Tuck 4 months ago

    dude your tattoos are awesome

  • wholetruthy
    wholetruthy 4 months ago +2

    Really have to question your good taste if you think those tattoos are cool !

    • joe lewis
      joe lewis 4 months ago +1

      must be compensating for a small dick

  • bill carson
    bill carson 4 months ago

    Anybody that likes this movie is a moron first class . Worst MCU movie .

  • Clockwork
    Clockwork 4 months ago

    Korg was the best

  • SK
    SK 4 months ago +1

    Just watched the movie. BLOWN AWAY! Easily A+ from me.

  • big kahuna burger
    big kahuna burger 4 months ago

    Love this film so many jokes work and the characters are so vibrant and color

  • canadavatar
    canadavatar 4 months ago

    Seriously, the Thor Ragnarok idea about traveling from different planets and fighting space knights seemed like taken from Rick & Morty universe!!!

  • Brian Collins
    Brian Collins 4 months ago

    Another day, another Doug.

  • Bob Ranch
    Bob Ranch 5 months ago

    Yes very funny, I watched it on a plane.

  • applecinnamon
    applecinnamon 5 months ago

    This movie has so many AMAZING actors (Chris, Tom, Anthony Hopkins, Cate, Mark) I feel like Taika knew he could experiment and improvise so many scenes in this movie. Also this was Chris and Tom’s 4th movie together so the chemistry is there and you can totally feel it, it’s an amazing character development for both Loki and Thor

  • Cristian Itsirc
    Cristian Itsirc 5 months ago +3

    This movie was a joke from start to finish. Aimed at people with low IQ. People dying left and right, but hey, let's crack a few more jokes. Ha ha, hi hi all the way. Disappointing to say the least.

    • Cristian Itsirc
      Cristian Itsirc 5 months ago

      Oh, i think even you watch more movies than i do :P. Is it wrong to expect better quality stuff? Apparently it is :(

    • The Troll Killer
      The Troll Killer 5 months ago

      Cristian Itsirc obvious troll is obvious.

  • samspumpkin
    samspumpkin 5 months ago

    Loved this!!!!!! Great review! On point!

  • s3lfFish
    s3lfFish 5 months ago

    extremely surprised too
    I didn't thought I'd say that about a thor movie but this one is real fun

  • The Fourth Chairman
    The Fourth Chairman 5 months ago

    is it just me or the fighting theme of this movie really sounds like Wonder Woman fighting theme?

  • ssjMaximum22Goku
    ssjMaximum22Goku 5 months ago

    This is, by far, one of the best Marvel movies. I watched Spiderman Homecoming not too long before this, and, in comparison, SH was a load of crap. Ragnarok really felt like a breath of fresh air.

  • Norman Bowlding
    Norman Bowlding 5 months ago

    New sub! Do you write about movie reviews or freestyle? Amazing work u do!

  • xCrAzYiiNsAn3x
    xCrAzYiiNsAn3x 5 months ago

    Which Deadpool figure is that in the back? Thanks.

  • Endless Bliss
    Endless Bliss 5 months ago

    Awesome movie.

  • Jose Saenz
    Jose Saenz 5 months ago +1

    No offense but I thought this movie sucked

  • ben morrison
    ben morrison 5 months ago

    Best marvel movie tbh

  • MC R-Techz
    MC R-Techz 5 months ago

    'An extremely funny movie?' Gonna have to stop you there mate, must have a weak sense humour sheesh

  • Jeff Riddell
    Jeff Riddell 5 months ago

    such a surprise , what a great movie

  • Gold Shack Pictures
    Gold Shack Pictures 5 months ago

    Favourite marvel films:
    Guardians of the galaxy and Thor Ragnarok

  • EgocentricHead
    EgocentricHead 5 months ago +1

    This movie? This movie is... It... SUCKS! I think it'll take us another decade and another version of on-screen Thor to finally see a movie that actually does him justice and doesn't need to undercut any of his iconic features by constantly winking at its audience by saying how dumb the comic books are. This wasn't Ragnarok. This was Ragnanothing.

    • The Troll Killer
      The Troll Killer 5 months ago +1

      EgocentricHead could you be any more of an obvious troll? Seriously, fuck off, asshole.

  • Liz Neptune
    Liz Neptune 5 months ago

    definitely was the best Thor movie and one of my favorite superhero movies!!

  • That guy you thought you knew once

    I absolutely loved it. It was so much fun. I love fun movies. Was my favourite MCU movie until I saw infinity war.

  • Just A Fan of Fantasy
    Just A Fan of Fantasy 5 months ago

    Piss of ghost

  • VonBulbo
    VonBulbo 5 months ago

    Korg for president!

  • OLdJeRRyGaming
    OLdJeRRyGaming 5 months ago

    i watch on google movie, on my phone... true i cant stop watching. I finish the movie within a few days of my meal break time. Should i buy the BLu-Ray ?

  • Barren
    Barren 5 months ago

    I Love Thor

  • Yellena
    Yellena 5 months ago +2

    Oh my God!!! The film was soooo bad...I just ...have I watched something completely different?!?

    • Yellena
      Yellena 5 months ago

      The Troll Killer No, not at all, are you? I didn't like this movie and I wrote my opinion about it, if you have different opinion about THE MOVIE please feel free to write as well, it's very simple really.

    • The Troll Killer
      The Troll Killer 5 months ago

      Yellena Are you a moron?

  • Joel Fulker
    Joel Fulker 5 months ago +2

    I'm torn about this film. On the one hand, it could have been just a junk planet movie, and the escape from the junk planet didn't have to be an anticlimactic pocketpick and brief car chase (and the Hulk didn't have to be there, because it conflicts with "Team Thor" and doesn't really make sense to begin with). But at the same time, treating the first 2010 draft of "Thor 3" as a giant punchline by *Spoilers* not even really fighting the villain or saving Asgard. It's the sort of dismissive unpredictability I expect from a Taika Waititi movie, and getting that joke to work properly requires building up the generic disposable villain like someone the film is taking seriously. So all things considered, I'm happy with the humunculus of a film I wound up getting.

  • Steven Green
    Steven Green 5 months ago +2

    I couldn't help but notice that this video was sponsored by Full Sail University. As a former student, I feel that I should advice anyone looking to enter FSU to really think about their decision. FSU is not like any other school out there. It's a very accelerated program where you are expected to already possess a somewhat advanced skill set. If you're unprepared or fresh out of high school, you should take a leap year and get a job to prepare you for FSU. That's what Full Sail is like. It's more of a work environment than it is a school with a rather draconian attendance policy. You miss 1 day of class and don't have a valid excuse, its an automatic fail and you must pay to retake the class in full, upwards of $1200 for a one month class. You are expected to learn and grow in skill in a very accelerated rate, but I should also mention that most of the instructors are very helpful and supportive. They understand your struggle and will do all they can to help you improve. Case in point, if you fail a class because your artwork wasn't up to snuff, you'll retake the class completely free of charge.
    Full Sail is a tough school, they don't fuck around. The drop out rate is sky high (I'm one of them) and It takes a great level of commitment to see it through to the end. If you decide to go to FSU, commit to it, treat it as if it were your job, and you will succeed.
    I'm not bashing Full Sail. I genuinely think it's an amazing school and if you make it to the end, you will be among the best in your respective industry.
    Just know what you're getting into, don't make the same mistake I did and go in blindly. I highly recommend any potential Full Sailors to ask about the Extended Program, it takes an extra year to graduate, but you only take one class per month (they're 8 hours long) and you'll have enough time to commit and truly give it your all.
    The guys at FSU really are great and they'll do everything in their power to help you succeed, but you must give it your all.

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS 5 months ago +1

    Its amazing.
    But how the fuck could you decide this was better than logan?

  • LaLa Icyling
    LaLa Icyling 6 months ago

    Thor in this movie is nothing like Thor in the previous movies. He's so much better

  • Jetto
    Jetto 6 months ago

    100% improvised felt. Felt like MEET THE SPARTANs of MARVEL STUDIO.