Surviveware Hiking and Backpacking First Aid Kit - Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 21, 2019
  • This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
    Support TOGR with Patreon : www.patreon.com/TOGR
    Instagram : theoutdoorgearreview
    Just as with the large Camping First Aid kit from Surviveware, I’m looking to get your feedback on this product; be honest with what you see; what you like, what you dislike. Get your cup of coffee, a cold beer and get ready to comment!
    This is the Surviveware Hiking and Backpacking First Aid Kit.

    Link : www.amazon.com/Backpacking-Cycling-Waterproof-Laminate-Adventures/dp/B01HGSLB6K
    Price : $35
    Weight : 1lb
    Not long ago I took a look at the Large Camping First Aid kit from Surviveware and mentioned that the company had a smaller version for hiking and backpacking and that I would try to get my hands on it. I was successful in that regards so it is time to take a look at it together.
    600D Polyester
    stainless steel scissors can cut through clothing or seat belts.
    100 items.
    measures 5.5 x 7.5 x 3.5"
    All inner items are protected from water in durable zip-top laminate baggies.
    Each inner sleeve is labeled according to its function. During stressful situations, all items can found and used. Afterwards all supplies can be replaced in an orderly fashion.

    6” Shears(1), 600D Polyester Bag(1), Alcohol Wipes(3), Antiseptic Wipes(4), Adhesive Bandages: Butterfly Closures(5), Butterfly(5), H-Shape(5), Large(2), Standard (20), Mini(5), Square Shape(5), Cotton Gauze Swab(3), Cotton Swabs(10), CPR Pouch with Instructions(1), CPR Breathing Mask(1), Crepe Bandage(1), Emergency Blanket(1), Eye Pads(2), Hypoallergenic Tape(1), Nitrile Gloves(1), Personal Medicine Laminate Bag(1), Personal Medicine Mini Bags(5), PBT Conforming Bandage(1), Safety Pins(4), Splinter Probes(2), Strip Wound Closures(3), Sting Relief Wipes(3), Basic Tourniquet(1), Triangular Bandage(1),Tweezer(1), Whistle(1)

    …..
    Pros :
    I like the design of the case and the quality of the overall kit for the money.
    Everything is laid out in a logical way.
    I firmly believe that one should piece their own kit but this is a based to build from.
    While larger than my personal first aid kit which I carry; I go minimalistic;
    It’s not overly huge or heavy.
    Room left over for your own additions; Israeli bandage
    Cons :
    Tourniquet is simply ok and if you are going to carry one, carry one that is better than this. A TK4 would fit perfectly in this. This in my opinion wouldn’t cover major arterial bleedings. I would rather the company not include one at all so that people who are buying this don’t think that they are covered. In other words, false sense of security.
    missing antiseptics and antibiotic ointments, moleskin, clotting agent,
    ..
    Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.
    www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/
    ...
    Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:
    Facebook: pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229
    Twitter: OutdoorGearRev
    .....
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 104

  • TheOutdoorGearReview
    TheOutdoorGearReview  7 months ago +5

    While not the overnight adventure I hoped to put up today, still an interesting look at this first aid kit.
    What do you all think about it?
    As soon as the overnight adventure is done uploading, I will post it....
    Stay Tuned and have a great week.
    - Luke

  • BushCraft Teddy
    BushCraft Teddy 5 months ago

    As you said it's a start....but have to replace some items with better ones....

  • The True North Patriot FM

    Not very much good to say, bag is the only good thing about it

  • Rob Gianopoulos
    Rob Gianopoulos 7 months ago

    I'm a firefighter/paramedic. I would buy the case empty and stock it with my own products and equipment, however, my wife would hang me by my balls if I spent money on something that I already have at my disposal. Keep up the great work. Love your videos.

  • Almonte Paolilli
    Almonte Paolilli 7 months ago

    Overall, I liked the kit. I made up my own kit but but this looks like basic kit for someone starting out.

  • Ken Dicus
    Ken Dicus 7 months ago

    You are right on the tourniquet get a RAT or a CAT. I work in EMS we have had the best results with them. The bag looks ok, I would keep the bag and us it to make up my own kit. Thanks Ken D

  • michael leigh
    michael leigh 7 months ago +1

    People should learn to make their own first aid kits and take a course in first aid

  • Shiny Nickel
    Shiny Nickel 7 months ago

    I agree, the tourniquet should not have been included, or should be replaced with a better one.
    I do like that it has room to add your own stuff, because I usually add to my first aid kits.

  • Phil Connor
    Phil Connor 7 months ago

    The most important thing in an iFak in my opinion is a blood clotting powder or sponge. Never needed a bandaid for any small cut, usually you can deal with it. I use athletic/gaffer tape for blister but for me if i have a huge bleeding injury blood clotting powder is needed, not a bandaid.

  • Joe Patterson
    Joe Patterson 7 months ago

    Might be handy to include a chest seal or two as well, especially if you're hiking somewhere that it's possible you might be mistaken for a deer. And yeah, a decent TQ.

  • Drifus
    Drifus 7 months ago

    For the price, no thanks. The items included are very inexpensive as they are bought in bulk. The things you are going to add, creams etc are going to add at least 30 - 50% of the cost of the kit. The whistle should be in the front pocket or on an external zipper pull as one thing you should consider is calling for any help as you dig through the kit to assist someone.

  • Mike Anderson
    Mike Anderson 7 months ago

    4:28 whoa shit, my testicles almost went back up into my torso with that 20 year jump backwards in camera technology. 175k subs, and can't afford proper lighting? Come on dude. ITS CALLED EFFORT.

    • TheOutdoorGearReview
      TheOutdoorGearReview  7 months ago

      Calm down buddy, nothing is perfect in this world including natural light!
      haha - Luke

  • Garlic Generic
    Garlic Generic 7 months ago

    What does a vendor need to do to get their first aid kit FDA approved? Does FDA approval make it much better?

  • TwitchRadio
    TwitchRadio 7 months ago

    I like the smaller kit that you usually have when you go backpacking

  • Dan Guddal
    Dan Guddal 7 months ago

    make your own SMALL first aid kit

  • Roni Nitcher
    Roni Nitcher 7 months ago

    Doesn’t look like a good quality kit. I agree the tourniquet needs replacing with a good one with instructions and warnings or removed. it should have some other basic items like burn cream and antibiotic ointment. They should also fix the website and their videos ( and replace the dumbed-down information with facts about emergency care) or remove the cards- that is false advertisement in my book. I also agree that people should make their own kit based on their experience- take a first aide class! It could save someone when emergency response won’t be immediate.the bag was the best thing about it.

  • Joel Benoit
    Joel Benoit 7 months ago

    I really like the bag it's self and really wish the company would offer the bag by it's self in all sizes, I've seen their bags before and forgot about them, I think i'll be by it anyway, even with the contents and build it up of course.
    Thank you for sharing, Luke.

  • JLB
    JLB 7 months ago

    Waste of money

  • Dave Elias
    Dave Elias 7 months ago

    Is that you doing those Universal Window Voice Overs ? I was listening to the Radio and Like I know this Voice... ?

  • Kari Kuosa
    Kari Kuosa 7 months ago

    nah, easier to make on pouch, with grease patces for fire burns etc.

  • SA Hike n Gear
    SA Hike n Gear 7 months ago

    Luke, please would you go through your own first aid kit for a multiday hike

  • Mr. Skeptical
    Mr. Skeptical 7 months ago

    Not a bad starter kit. Could u do a vid. On best "packable down" jackets?

  • Joanne Walker
    Joanne Walker 7 months ago

    Do you know the weight of the kit. Ultra light is the way I want to go.

  • Cindy neely
    Cindy neely 7 months ago +1

    good vid luke

  • Joe Dunbar
    Joe Dunbar 7 months ago

    At $35 I agree a good start. The part I like best is the 600D Polyester bag.
    But dollar for dollar you will still do better putting your own kit together.
    So it comes down to what is that bag worth to you.
    The rest is parts and pieces you can pick up at any drug store.

  • Wesley
    Wesley 7 months ago

    Hey luke!
    i might have a interesting tent for you, here's the review of the tent (made by the company) : tvclip.biz/video/C9J0LxaqDso/video.html . I have had this tent for a bit and i have tried it out, and for the price it seems to be pretty good (even though it's a bit heavy, and for 2 people it's a bit of a tight fit). But i haven't been able to REALLY test it it out. So i wondered if you would like to test it and make a review on it, because i can't find anybody else talking about this tent.
    I would love to hear from you!!
    -Wesley

  • spacezombe
    spacezombe 7 months ago

    I would buy something from north American rescue or skinnymedic before i would buy a kit like this.

  • Viktor Dubec
    Viktor Dubec 7 months ago

    that tq is good for IV or in case you go donate blood... and please don't use rats, if you want TQ then go for the proven and tested ones - CAT and SOF TT

  • Rose Ciulla
    Rose Ciulla 7 months ago

    I was wondering if you could show the quality of the items they included, like are they a bunch of useless, knock off dollar store China Junk, or are they proper tried and true medical supplies, say 3M tape and steristrips, non stick gauze pads, bandaids that stick! Alcohol wipes that aren't some useless teeny square of material, etc... This makes all the difference in the world. Especially when far away from home off trail.
    I would like to have people actually take a stab at the real cost of those "100" pieces...
    I think what I could buy in quality medical supplies for 35 dollars...hmmm
    I like the bag, in fact I would even consider it for fifteen, twenty bucks or the equivalent to what you could buy in a military surplus store.
    The joke of the turniquet is way sleazy though...

  • Skymouth
    Skymouth 7 months ago

    I have a Cat Gen 7 tourniquet in my car kit! Yes it was something I added to a premade that I intend to keep adding to

  • raintheory
    raintheory 7 months ago

    It's like a slightly larger version of the northbound train first aid kit I've got. Looks well organized and thought out. Thumbs up!

  • Yaffi Fashion
    Yaffi Fashion 7 months ago

    I like the design of the kit

  • Stephen Gonzalez
    Stephen Gonzalez 7 months ago +1

    That video link was a major disapointment. Viewers should take the time to take a Red Cross training course. The most basic kit to be sure. As a medical professional I am concrned that they mention to obtain a higher quality tourniquet. Stephen Gonzalez CMA MBA

  • Robert Ewbank
    Robert Ewbank 7 months ago

    This first aid kit is not very good...i like the bag but it's just band aids

  • Bruce Matys
    Bruce Matys 7 months ago

    Thanks for the honest review Luke, I will not be purchasing this product I will keep using the one I made!

  • bc5766
    bc5766 7 months ago +1

    A first aid kit that im going to carry on me (i.e. not a car or home kit) is going to be built predominately around treating true emergencies. I feel as tho alot of commercially available kits do the opposite. I want to be able to tend to ABC’s/MARCH first and foremost. Next i want to worry about things that are critical to me or the specific situation (do I need an epi, diabetic meds, an extra TQ because im in combat etc.) Tweezers and splinter removers are epically low on this list. I can tough out a camping trip with a splinter in my digit.

  • Chaucer Faux
    Chaucer Faux 7 months ago

    SO do they include dressings for adult wounds? J/k DAmn those conformist bandages. J/K again. Kinda a shame that those links are trash. Overall i think the kits themselves are really well thought out. Few add ons would make it even better. Seems to me Surviveware needs to give a small re-assesment to some of thier site layout. I agree with you luke that if youre going to down talk your own company items then you should either add the better one or just not have it there in general, this way notthing will seem off and you dont have the risk false security in a bad outcome. All in all i still think the kit minus a few things is still well worth the price tag.

  • Charles Cosimano
    Charles Cosimano 7 months ago

    The splinter probe looked like a diabetic test kit lancet.

  • jay mullen
    jay mullen 7 months ago

    ok kit love the bag

  • flashback5391
    flashback5391 7 months ago

    I would rather buy from a company that gives a crap. This company is NOT one of those. Best bet is to just buy a condor med pouch and build your own kit. Otherwise you’ll go broke.

  • Calihiker
    Calihiker 7 months ago

    I still prefer making my own... also, not really important, but the sealed plastic bag it comes in seems somewhat wasteful. Why add another plastic bag to the product.

  • William McCaslin
    William McCaslin 7 months ago

    Somebody in the comments said it's Chinese, that's a no go, No QC.

  • Adam Longhunters270
    Adam Longhunters270 7 months ago

    I agree with you it needs an upgrade with it all.

  • Heather Baker
    Heather Baker 7 months ago

    Plz do a first aid course before you use some of these things unless you know how to use a tourniquet don't use it.But it looks a good kit

  • Nick Tombs
    Nick Tombs 7 months ago

    Not sure I need a you tube video to show me how to put a band aid on

  • If it's not broken fix it

    For the cost of that kit. I believe that one is better off to make their own kit. For someone who has no clue on what to put into a kit its ok maybe. Thanks for the video Luke.

  • Douglas Robbins
    Douglas Robbins 7 months ago

    It’s a joke. !!!!

  • Craig Mooring
    Craig Mooring 7 months ago

    To me, the best thing about that kit is the package, not the contents. The exterior is very well thought out and executed. The interior, with its organization and vivid, permanent labeling is excellent.

  • Ronald Rose
    Ronald Rose 7 months ago

    Hello Luke, I took your advice, I am enjoying a Heineken while I watch your informative video. I agree with you regarding the tourniquet. Too many people do not know how to properly use it. Take care, be safe, have fun and see you on the next one. 🤗

  • John Klopp
    John Klopp 7 months ago

    I wouldn't pay 5 dollars for that kit. Thanks bag is the best thing about it.

  • Surviveware
    Surviveware 7 months ago

    Hi Luke and everybody watching TheOutdoorGearReview.
    Some tough love in the video but good and fair points. Perhaps remove the basic tourniquet completely and replace it with moleskin to prevent blisters. What do you guys think? I am open to your constructive criticism.
    Our videos on the website work again, we had to change a few privacy settings:
    surviveware.com/pages/kit-demo
    Are all the videos on there of little value? The "kitchen: one was removed, it was not the best. I was trying to show the different places to keep the first aid kit. Any thoughts?
    Thank you,
    Janco
    Co-founder of Surviveware

  • Jordi Hester
    Jordi Hester 7 months ago

    A good and unbiased review.

  • Stumpknocker22
    Stumpknocker22 7 months ago

    I agreed, I'd say that is fairly dangerous to put that POS tourniquet in there. They shouldn't have even included it.

  • Ray Lamascus
    Ray Lamascus 7 months ago

    I'd have to add to it. Some celox , a better tk4 etc

  • Daniel Adam
    Daniel Adam 7 months ago

    Concur to all your additions, adding only alight source...

  • Wm W
    Wm W 7 months ago

    The kit is ok, but a snake bite kit would be nice thing to have in it.

  • Slikx666
    Slikx666 7 months ago

    One thing that I think is missing is hand steriliser, I would prefer to do first aid on someone with clean hands, a small bottle goes a long way.

  • Alex Bean
    Alex Bean 7 months ago

    That "tourniquet" is a style designed for use when starting an IV. It's used to occlude veinous return of blood so that the veins distal to the device backfill, making it easier to get a good stick. Because of its intended use, this particular device is intentionally designed not to tamponade an artery, as it would not allow the blood to fill the vein. This device should not be used to control massive hemorrhage.

  • The Patriot Homestead
    The Patriot Homestead 7 months ago

    Looks like a reliable future addition to my kit :D Thanks for the review Luke!

  • Ut På Tur - Out Hiking

    I think it should be possible to make a better premade first aid kit for us "gram weenies" but it would have to include an instruction manual marked with "read and train before you leave" in big bold letters. Covering the hundred uses of a good cotton bandana, for example. And then another chapter on wrapping a basic, long bandage. Making a makeshift Israeli bandage by combining it with a lighter, rock or piece of wood would then become secondary.
    I guess the book would be larger than the kit, but you could get quite far with it and if well trained you don't need to bring the book with you.