iPhone 8 Review in 2019: Should Anyone Buy It?!

Share
Embed
  • SPONSOR: Go to curiositystream.com/vector and enter the promo code ‘vector’ to start your membership completely free for the first 30 days.
    The iPhone 8, the end of the original design era, at the end of 2019. If you’d bought one when it launched two years ago and were asking me if you were still good to keep going with it today, and for another year or two, I’d say sure.
    With Apple’s typical build quality, the headroom designed into its A11 Bionic chipset, and the constant software updates it’s both gotten and will keep getting for some time to come, I’d say absolutely.
    But buying an iPhone 8 new, now, and in the age of iPhone 11? But starting at $449?
    SUBSCRIBE: tvclip.biz/user/vectorshow
    LINKS
    May contain affiliate links. See Mobile Nations' disclosure policy for more details: www.mobilenations.com/external-links
    MORE:
    Merch: standard.tv/vector
    Gear: kit.com/reneritchie
    Web: www.imore.com/vector
    Podcast: applepodcasts.com/vector
    Twitter: reneritchie
    Instagram: reneritchie

Comments • 80

  • Mary Balazo
    Mary Balazo 17 days ago

    I should buy 11 or Xr

  • althea cruz
    althea cruz Month ago

    i'm upgrading from 5s and deciding whether having the xr or the iphone 8 plus

  • Circumflêx ÂÂÂ
    Circumflêx  Month ago

    My iPhone 8 is my first phone so it’ll stay with me for a while a long while

  • Circumflêx ÂÂÂ
    Circumflêx  Month ago

    My iPhone 8 is my first phone so it’ll stay with me for a while a long while

  • Money Motivator 2.0

    amzn.to/39A04yu
    4.7 Inch Retina HD display with True Tone
    IP67 water and dust resistant (maximum depth of 1 metre up to 30 minutes)
    12MP camera with OIS and 4K video and 7MP FaceTime HD camera with Retina Flash
    Touch ID for secure authentication and Apple Pay
    A11 Bionic with Neural Engine
    Wireless charging - works with Qi chargers

  • Latanza Hammett
    Latanza Hammett 2 months ago

    my crazy mom whot buy get me a iphone for nothing :(

  • Tim
    Tim 2 months ago

    Just bought it on Ebay in January 2020 for $180!!!

  • HOSSAIN DABUILDER
    HOSSAIN DABUILDER 2 months ago

    I have a iPhone 11 Pro Max but the 8 plus is great for someone like my mom because she wouldn’t kno how to use the newer ones and the 8 still performs like a beast

  • ruzzell907
    ruzzell907 2 months ago

    December 2019: iPhone 9 leaks. The old era of iPhone will live on for the next 5 years more.

  • Scarlet Strawberry
    Scarlet Strawberry 2 months ago +1

    Unpopular opinion: the iPhone 11 3 cameras is kind of ugly compared to the iPhone 8... like it's so huge lol

  • Scarlet Strawberry
    Scarlet Strawberry 2 months ago +1

    I mean it's a god phone compared to the Android I'm watching this on

  • auyls
    auyls 2 months ago

    my dad just got a iPhone for my bday from a crap android that couldn’t make calls and doesn’t have data now I have unlimited data and can call and text whenever 😀

  • kip dokken
    kip dokken 2 months ago

    my sister sold her 2 yrs old iphone 8 256gb to me for 260 usd.

  • Carlos Rivera
    Carlos Rivera 2 months ago +1

    I had the XS and didn’t like it so I went back to the 8 Plus gold version. It’s so elegant and classy. So iphone 11 pro? No thanks 👍🏻
    Btw,thanks for making great videos..
    Regards,
    Oslo Norway 🇳🇴

  • GrotrianSeiler
    GrotrianSeiler 2 months ago

    This is a VERY good video. There's a ton of info in a short time. You just need to pay attention. Super helpful too.

  • Hey Serg
    Hey Serg 2 months ago

    I love the design of the 7/8 I might hold on to mine until it dies on me 😂

  • Brandon Martin
    Brandon Martin 2 months ago

    Don’t buy this phone straight from apple I got a refurbished 8 plus last month for £250 (roughly $300)

  • リバイアライアン

    Its 2020 seasons now so buy iPhone 7+ and 8+ above for next iOS ..iPhone 8 plus goes for 3GB ram with the iPhone 7 plus goes with the same 3GB ram with 5.5” of display LCD for both..

  • Cristian Moroi
    Cristian Moroi 3 months ago

    Finnaly a nice review,not those bla bla crap.ThankYou.

  • Aaron Pachuau
    Aaron Pachuau 3 months ago

    Last generation of 3d touch

  • Aoife Marie
    Aoife Marie 3 months ago

    I want to upgrade from an iPhone se to the iPhone 8 any options ?

    • Elliott
      Elliott 2 months ago

      It’s worth it

    • Elliott
      Elliott 2 months ago

      Aoife Marie do it

  • Wouter De Vries
    Wouter De Vries 3 months ago

    The iphone 8 and 8plus are pure perfection if you look for design old school and new school together i love my 8plus

  • Amiya Hancock
    Amiya Hancock 3 months ago

    I got an XR for $70 including an activation fee with a deal from AT&T and probably won’t upgrade for at least 3 years

  • KH hk
    KH hk 3 months ago

    I don’t know why I thought IPhone 8 screen is Better than IPhone 11 Pro

  • ItzJustJayy
    ItzJustJayy 3 months ago

    I have the SE right now and I’m upgrading to the 8 next year in spring!

  • D_Based_Swagg
    D_Based_Swagg 3 months ago +2

    I got a iPhone 8 this Christmas and I’m very happy with it. The only downside is that the regular one is tiny but the plus is a good size

  • Nagato Uzumaki
    Nagato Uzumaki 3 months ago

    Watching on my iphone 8....got it yesterday😌

  • Michalis Chiras
    Michalis Chiras 3 months ago +1

    Excellent review!! I have my iPhone 8 since 5/2018 and it runs perfectly with 98% battery health! It’s the greatest peace of hardware I ever had (along with my AirPods 2) but I’m thinking about upgrading to the 11 the next May with my data plan renewal only for the better camera and bigger screen.

  • the watcher
    the watcher 3 months ago +1

    my sister sold her iphone 8 256gig to me for 260 usd.

  • Xtraa Savage
    Xtraa Savage 3 months ago +1

    The only thing I don’t like is people in my school say “You still have the iPhone 6?”

  • Perihan Bozkurt
    Perihan Bozkurt 3 months ago

    Just upgraded from an iPhone 6 to an iPhone 8 mainly because of the battery in the 6 running out so quickly. I think this phone should be okay for the next few years and hopefully beyond.

  • siloPIRATE
    siloPIRATE 3 months ago

    I bought a 7+ in 2019. What now?

  • ezraXmonster
    ezraXmonster 3 months ago

    I can buy a iPhone 8 Plus on straight talk for $449

  • Matt
    Matt 3 months ago +3

    The iphone 8 is great. Should get me through 2020 easily!

  • Larry Williams
    Larry Williams 3 months ago

    You wear the same shirt every video I’m a fan great videos

  • youraa capistrano
    youraa capistrano 3 months ago

    Guys do you think I should trade my redmi note 7 to a iPhone 8 that can be use for WiFi only no sim card, I'll be buying a flip phone anyway

  • Soloman Watson
    Soloman Watson 3 months ago

    Where can I get that green wallpaper @2:18?

  • ILoveRoblox_GamingXD420
    ILoveRoblox_GamingXD420 3 months ago +1

    no face needed!

  • Luna Stories
    Luna Stories 3 months ago

    .

  • TenZes
    TenZes 3 months ago

    Bought a + a month ago

  • Fusion
    Fusion 3 months ago

    If that matters to you 🤣🤣

  • Georgia Nicole x
    Georgia Nicole x 3 months ago +1

    I just got the 8+ and I love it, had an 11 and then went to an 8+ so 🤷🏻‍♀️

  • Diego Fernando
    Diego Fernando 3 months ago

    I just got iPhone 6

  • dontholdkiback
    dontholdkiback 3 months ago

    I switched phone services today and they gave me the option to trade in my iphone 6s for a credit to get an iphone 8 or an iphone 11. I didn't have the money to put a down payment on the 11 at that time, so I chose the 8. I actually really like it! I'm the type of person that will keep something until it's completely outdated and then upgrade. 😆

  • HeroBrine
    HeroBrine 3 months ago

    Should I move from Samsung to iPhone?

    • HeroBrine
      HeroBrine 3 months ago

      Ari Jrh i dont know duude.. theyre too expensive and the only problem honestly is the battery, nothing else

    • Ari Jrh
      Ari Jrh 3 months ago +1

      HeroBrine Is a must!

  • Janvar Pitelkov
    Janvar Pitelkov 3 months ago

    But iphone CAN record in 4k60fps and does have memoji

  • proudindian30
    proudindian30 3 months ago

    iPhone 8plus Product RED is one if it’s kind!! You can’t beat its looks with any other iPhone. Won’t upgrade until Apple comes up with other product red iPhone

  • JF R
    JF R 3 months ago +4

    I have a 6S plus and have no reason to upgrade.

    • JF R
      JF R 3 months ago

      @Jeffy Stevens Damn, your house must smell like dog shit.

    • Jeffy Stevens
      Jeffy Stevens 3 months ago

      Ok boomer

  • A7moska
    A7moska 3 months ago

    Hi

  • RICO GAMING
    RICO GAMING 3 months ago

    well i love my phone 8 and i have the att up next but i wont be using it bc i see no reason to update any time soon

  • George Kountouris
    George Kountouris 3 months ago

    Just FYI for Verizon there is currently a special $5/month for iPhone 8 and $10/month for the iPhone 8 plus- this requires a new line activation though. If you don't mind changing your phone number, and you have a line that's already paid off, just add a line, transfer your stuff to your new # then delete the old line. This would be much easier for kids that basically just need to contact their friends/relatives of a new number vs adults that have their number rooted in financial/work/insurance... At the price point of $240 for a new iPhone 8 Plus it's a hard deal to beat.

  • Stiff Mayonnaise
    Stiff Mayonnaise 3 months ago +2

    Well I'm not a rich brat. Im a 16 year old working at $9.50 an hour who has to pay for his own phone and phone bill. This is as high up as i can afford. Yes it is viable.

  • Tiger_Icecold Live
    Tiger_Icecold Live 4 months ago

    I have an iPhone 7 Plus and I will upgrade to an iPhone 8 Plus in the next week. I don’t want to miss Touch ID and I don’t like Face ID and I don’t want to miss the home button and I don’t like the notch. Also I have a Canon EOS 80D for photography and also a small Canon PowerShot G5X prosumer compact camera. So I don‘t need all the fancy photography features of the new iPhones. I have an ultra wide angle DSLR lens, so even the iPhone 11 Pro can’t compete here. Also I use my iPad 2018 most of the time. So, yeah, I don’t need a state of the art iPhone for a huge price.

  • MyDikie Rex
    MyDikie Rex 4 months ago

    Im getting an upgrade from a 6s to a 8.

  • tom lewis
    tom lewis 4 months ago

    Don’t buy one. If you want a budget device buy an I phone 7, if you want better than budget get an Xr or 11. I’ll keep my 11 pro max though.

  • Dan T
    Dan T 4 months ago

    got 2 i phone 8+ 128 for 15 a month for 2 years for the kids for xmas presents. I think thats pretty good value.

  •  4 months ago

    Why you make me feel bad 😞?

  • Ariv Ramlal
    Ariv Ramlal 4 months ago

    When my iphone 8 is in the heat for a period of time like when im at the beach etc... the camera tends to become messed up for a while

  • Bruce Day
    Bruce Day 4 months ago

    Sorry, I know plenty of people are doing it but I refuse to spend over $1000 for a phone. I just upgraded from a 5C to an 8.

    • Elliott
      Elliott 3 months ago

      Bruce Day bro same

  • Anna Mazule
    Anna Mazule 4 months ago +1

    I just got a gold iPhone 8 and it’s amazing

  • Thor Jenkins
    Thor Jenkins 4 months ago

    I'm switching from s10+ to the regular iPhone 8. I've been using Samsung for a very long time but I just want to try something new.

  • I love tea
    I love tea 4 months ago

    I’m watching this on an iPhone 6 but I will be updating it to an iPhone 8+ for Christmas!!!!

  • Jordan Maratea
    Jordan Maratea 4 months ago

    I still have the 6s, definitely needing an upgrade

    • Elliott
      Elliott 3 months ago

      Jordan Maratea I would either the get the 8 or XR there pretty similar just the XR is slightly better but if you like the button than get the 8 or if you want the new swipe gestures than get Xr

  • Real Mexican Food Shouldn't Give You Diarrhea

    I’m trying to find a phone for my parents because their current ones are utter shit. But I can’t afford to get them an iPhone X much less 11. I kinda want to get them an iPhone 8 maybe a plus. Idk

  • Craig Travis
    Craig Travis 4 months ago

    If you don't want your teenager walking around holding $1000 to their ear is never seen as a valid reason...

  • Dominik Fras
    Dominik Fras 4 months ago

    Is smart from galaxy s8 with broken glass and is 2 years old upgrade to new iphone 8

  • brucelai lai
    brucelai lai 4 months ago

    Hell yeah

  • Eli-akad
    Eli-akad 4 months ago +2

    It’s funny cause I been considering getting a IPhone 8 next month

  • John O'brien
    John O'brien 4 months ago

    I buying iPhone 8 tonight.

  • verticy
    verticy 4 months ago

    Considering this. Does it have good have good battery life? I'm on samsung and barely need to charge it throughout the day. Thanks!

  • Sandipan Samanta
    Sandipan Samanta 4 months ago

    I don’t like 19.5:9...will use the pre-X lineup & upcoming se2 just for 16:9 as long as possible..

  • Aron Contreras
    Aron Contreras 4 months ago

    Cayese wero feo quien te pregunto

  • sumit jain001
    sumit jain001 4 months ago +2

    Why apple go for SE2 apple should reduce the price of iphone 8 to provide best value for consumers

  • 901_princess _represent
    901_princess _represent 4 months ago +1

    I’ve only ever had cheap Androids. So I have been very impressed with my iPhone 8+. My last phone was a Motorola e5...so if that tells you anything.

  • Kenny Mos
    Kenny Mos 4 months ago

    4:24 iPhones 11?

  • Jack Kida
    Jack Kida 4 months ago

    Don’t get me wrong, I love my iPhone 8, but it’s recently started to black out for no reason and not turn on for 30mins, I don’t know if I should change it or not🤔

  • 복숭아 우유
    복숭아 우유 4 months ago +42

    I'm getting an iPhone 8 this week and I'm excited.

  • Cheese grater beef
    Cheese grater beef 4 months ago

    I'm upgrading from an LG Tribute Empire to an iPhone 8 on Black Friday. Seems like an extremely solid phone

  • Dominique Curry
    Dominique Curry 4 months ago

    Seems like to me 8 iPhone should of been the last 10 the most vidioe. Iv seen is compared only 8 an 11 the 10 basically been put in the back

  • Daniel Barrios
    Daniel Barrios 4 months ago

    I got out for 1 dl on AT&T for adding a line to my service. 👍🏽