Interstellar - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 5, 2014
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Interstellar, starring Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain, Bill Irwin, Ellen Burstyn, Michael Caine. Directed by Christopher Nolan.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 4 423

  • Brazy Wolf
    Brazy Wolf Day ago

    I can't believe it took me until now to watch this movie. Damn it's a good movie. One of the best movies I've seen in years.

  • LianaCatherine19

    I definitely felt it could have ended with him stuck in the dimension trying to reach out and communicate with Murph, and we never know if he truly gets or not. Everything built up as if it was ending there and I actually thought it would’ve been perfect as well.

  • Kirby Hughes
    Kirby Hughes 3 days ago +1

    I have seen interstellar about 40 times and love it!

  • WollcottHD
    WollcottHD 3 days ago +1

    I honestly believe in retrospective this movie should be given at least an A-. I recently talked to lots of physics students at my university and so many of them said that literally this movie brought them to science. this phenomenon is also visible in the rise of physics students from 2014 on pretty much around the world.

  • mayur magadalwar
    mayur magadalwar 3 days ago

    I agree it is good but not masterpiece

  • Astuteous Maximus
    Astuteous Maximus 4 days ago

    I thought it was a pretty good film but at two hours forty-five minutes, it was a little too long imo. They should have packaged that film into a two-hour production. I'd of fallen asleep if watching that movie in the cinema.

  • smriti singh
    smriti singh 6 days ago

    Amazing....

  • Alvultion Gaming
    Alvultion Gaming 6 days ago

    TBH, that movie did have that emotional punch for me. I never felt so emotional for a long time before seeing that.

  • Laura-Lee Gillion
    Laura-Lee Gillion 6 days ago

    Seriously? If the ending didn’t end the way it did, it would have completely defeated the purpose of the movie. A whole almost 3hour movie for nothing? The movie was so well thought out, one of it being the well thought out insinuations to time being a 5th dimension.
    And someone else said on another review that maybe the bulk beings (they) were the plan B humans on the third planet Hathaway managed to get to and wanted to save their ancestors (that being Cooper etc.) perhaps because Brand wanted to honour Cooper’s wish to save the human race on Earth since Cooper is the reason why Brand made it there and could repopulate the Edmund planet.
    The ending seems worthwhile if these are the conclusions we can deduce from it.

  • BarnacleBoy
    BarnacleBoy 7 days ago

    5 days for avengers endgame

  • KARTHIK R
    KARTHIK R 9 days ago

    The movie was bad. Throwing money doesn't make a good movie.

  • Nitin Jadhav
    Nitin Jadhav 11 days ago +1

    Chris.. Please change the rating to A+.. just saw the movie again after first photograph of black hole.. I felt this movie is like Stanley Kubrick's movie which you might not get right in first few views or few years.. but it sinks in over the period of time.. and understand it's worth..

    • Nikita Jadhav
      Nikita Jadhav 11 days ago

      Yess exactly it deserves A+ and even more 😇

  • Khloe Rabnta
    Khloe Rabnta 11 days ago

    I hated the end of it lol I was expecting so much more the entire movie lol but it was still a really good movie. Still prolly my fav movie I have watched in a long time.

  • Anios Arkhangelisk
    Anios Arkhangelisk 13 days ago

    My favourite movie, I watched it 8 times in cinemas.

  • Thomas Paul
    Thomas Paul 25 days ago

    this movie deserves an A+ -_-

  • NotSoPerfectDrummer

    Freaking awesome movie, freaking awesome soundtrack

  • Hetzer Hasser
    Hetzer Hasser Month ago

    No Emotional punch??

    Excuse me?

    Interstellar was legit, one of the only movies that made me shed a tear, all thanks to Matthew's acting, and that's not only it. The idea behind the movie is what is such a rough, not punch, but a fucking emotional roundhouse kick. I legit, stood still, for 30 minutes, after finishing the movie. It is the only movie ever, that gave me the "What the fuck am I doing with my life" feeling.

    No emotional punch? Come on mate, you can do a lot better than that....

  • Shanna Sweger
    Shanna Sweger Month ago

    This film is perfect and flawless, are you kidding me?

  • MinuteBrice
    MinuteBrice Month ago

    I completely agree with you. Some of the people here are acting like you gave it an F! This movie is great, but it does have issues.

  • PopCultureHistorian

    A+ at least. What about A++, huh?

  • Rasmus Pagter
    Rasmus Pagter Month ago

    What a rollercoaster of emotion at the end, from mind blowing to a cry baby. God damn, didn't think I would cry to this

  • Frankie Hamilton
    Frankie Hamilton 2 months ago

    I hated the ending

  • Trevor McCormick
    Trevor McCormick 2 months ago

    Isn't this one of the saddest movies ever??? I need to watch this with my family.

  • John Smith
    John Smith 2 months ago +1

    This movie opened a can of worms for my curiosity of everything outside of Earth. In my opinion an A+

  • Liam Twist
    Liam Twist 2 months ago +1

    So if future humans placed a wormhole next too Saturn too help the present humans (Cooper etc) too find answers and save humanity...how did the future humans get too where they are now? Did they have future humans helping them too? This has always bothered me with this film, just can’t get my head around it. 🤔

  • Andrés Concha Maurelia

    I really like Chris' reviews, but this B+... Yo can't give As to lesser films and then give a B+ to this one. You just can't.

  • TheHero136
    TheHero136 2 months ago +1

    People! Chill! This movie is kinda overrated. It's way too long, there's way too much pretentious exposition dialogue, and about half of the movie is really dull and boring. I think a B+ is generous. I'd give this just a B, even B-.

  • Gareth Packham
    Gareth Packham 2 months ago

    Has your opinion changed on further viewings?

  • Dumbass motherfucker
    Dumbass motherfucker 2 months ago

    Now I get it ,Space time Can be connected to everything it is the bridge. A world between worlds
    When I saw star wars rebels I was having that same Interstellar vibe Except in rebels you can change but easily by interfering while on interstellar you can Send signals or something like clues.

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 3 months ago

    i felt that bloody punch though ..it was awesome i would give it an A

    • joseph hardwicke
      joseph hardwicke 2 months ago

      But imagine if the music wasn't blasting down your ear.

  • Jay Khan
    Jay Khan 3 months ago

    i felt it

  • shtby
    shtby 3 months ago

    The movie is about the feelings , if you want the cgi go and watch marvel and dc , and if you are a father you will understand , but if u r a person who look to see a cgi and pics i respect that , u r talking if you can say like a meal of visual effects thats describs the bond of the family and the important of the realation ships not avoiding the promises with one of the top sound tracks avoiding some selfish details you will get a perfect imagination and reality bending to each other so it deserve A+

  • Amirata Behzadnia
    Amirata Behzadnia 3 months ago

    You trashed this film way too much.

  • Sherry
    Sherry 3 months ago +1

    You cannot go wrong with Christopher Nolan.

  • nickthemusicnerd27
    nickthemusicnerd27 3 months ago

    Unpopular Opinion: this is by far my least favourite Nolan film. It’s still good. Probably 3 1/2 out of 5. But i have a lot of problems with the third act and I think it’s overly long.

  • Vevo web
    Vevo web 3 months ago

    Fuck u fuck ur mama fuck your planet mother fucking asshole that movie is classic A+ or sSs+

  • Aldo A. G.
    Aldo A. G. 3 months ago

    Chris also gave a B+ to Justice League

  • Dr. Phil
    Dr. Phil 3 months ago

    This should be an A+ honestly. ESPECIALLY when you watch it back! Watch it back! Watch it back! Murph !

  • GODLESS101
    GODLESS101 3 months ago

    Interstellar was my favorite movie of 2014. I love science, I love Nolan movies, I love everything about this movie. It's a classic.

  • 720 Zone
    720 Zone 3 months ago

    Can someone please link the follow-up video he mentions at the end of this one? I can't find it, but thought I saw it years ago. Thanks!

  • julius martinez
    julius martinez 3 months ago

    What did he mean the ending was "too convenient"?. used to liked this guy.

  • julius martinez
    julius martinez 3 months ago

    This Guy is an idiot... he gives worse movies an A or A+ but gives ACTUALY gave this movie a B+.. what a moron....

  • RosaManeki
    RosaManeki 3 months ago

    In the end of Interstellar I actually sobbed uncontrollably

  • Sidharth Sreekumar
    Sidharth Sreekumar 3 months ago

    Sorry to disagree but Martian felt like another cheesy generic space flick in comparison to Interstellar

  • Abdi'sHairline
    Abdi'sHairline 3 months ago

    Bruv this deserves more than a B. It was incredible.

  • Iqbal Lamsy
    Iqbal Lamsy 3 months ago

    it's funny when u rate annihilation A but this movie as B+

  • Oneßlood
    Oneßlood 3 months ago

    Should have gotten an A+. That’s not up for discussion or argument

  • Dr Prashant Sagar
    Dr Prashant Sagar 3 months ago

    This movie I have wacthed 3 times in I max and one time again rescreened by Christopher Nolan himself in 2018 ,in Mumbai liberty theater every time gives me a goosebumps and you are giving just B+ ,as per story is just amazing and emotions ,how much emotions that you wanted ??? End is soo perfectly framed this movie realy deserve A+ ........

  • just jacob11
    just jacob11 3 months ago

    This movie deserves an A or A-

  • Damian Treat
    Damian Treat 3 months ago

    I will agree that the ending didnt hit home with me either. Think it would have helped if they put Jessica Chastain in old makeup honestly

  • ahmed chemkhi
    ahmed chemkhi 3 months ago

    wtf are u serious interstellr is a big movie body
    i want u to tell me or to give me your best 5 movies ever wached

  • Sagi Vijayarama Raju
    Sagi Vijayarama Raju 4 months ago

    And this guy gives deadpool an A+........

  • Kukiiishh
    Kukiiishh 4 months ago

    I don't really care about your rating ( to me was a solid A )because you can't expect your critic (even your favorite one ), always feel the same way with you... but I can disagree in some point, and in this case I have one issue , and it's the "emotinal punch" that you was looking for and you didn't feel it .
    but to me and many people that punch was the "cooper and old daughter in hospital scene" and I was touched by that, if you can't feel it it't perfectly fine , but the filmmaker ,at least to me, cares about that .

  • Fabio David
    Fabio David 4 months ago

    Well... This is The Movie i cried after Titanic
    😛

  • Krishna Sammrat
    Krishna Sammrat 4 months ago

    The greatest ever director in dis solar system delivers the greatest sci fi genre movie ever....... The great nolan
    I cry at few scenes every time i watched dis movie
    Love u nolan

  • Lucas Ribrib
    Lucas Ribrib 4 months ago

    The ending wasnt so perfect as this review is trying to say, there are 2 interpretations that you could choose , he either dies and everything after the black hole is a death dream, or you really do choose to agree with cooper and everythinh after the black hole really did happen. This movie is perfection.

  • KABLE MUSIC
    KABLE MUSIC 4 months ago

    Need to watch this again the first time i didn't get it!

  • naenae boy
    naenae boy 4 months ago

    Interstellar is an amazing movie. Nothing wrong with it at all.

  • Martin Tremoulet
    Martin Tremoulet 4 months ago

    A /// this movie is epic!

  • Omar Alkema
    Omar Alkema 4 months ago

    Yea fuck that ! You suck ! You probably have to think of another career...if you think interstellar was bad

  • lschroter2020
    lschroter2020 4 months ago

    Also When you said the cast and then Someone else were you referring to Matt Damon

  • lschroter2020
    lschroter2020 4 months ago

    I watch this movie every november that just says classic all over interstellar

  • James Bond
    James Bond 4 months ago

    I honestly think Interstellar is one of the greatest films ever made !

  • Brandt Aicher
    Brandt Aicher 4 months ago

    I usually never get emotional enough during a film to cry, but I felt my eyes get a little wet at the end of this one. Its beautiful, and I will forever regret not seeing it in Imax.

  • brigham2250
    brigham2250 4 months ago

    Watched this for the first time yesterday. Out of 5 stars 2.5 maybe 3. The first 40 minutes of family life was 20 minutes too long. The last 45 minutes (more or less) were just silly. Communicating through a bookcase and watch? I didn't find it all that interesting. Time travel issues were ignored, such as what happens if you change the past. And since in the past he was apparently already in the future, hence his knocking books off the bookcase early in the movie, then that means that it already happened before. So he's in a loop. It just didn't make sense. And the astronaut who dies in the wave on some distant planet... did anyone even care? I don't recall anyone giving it a second thought. This movie was overblown and a bit full of itself. And Matthew McConaughey (who is also full of himself with his bible talk and thanking god talk, because, you know, he's so special, as millions of others suffer daily) didn't feel like the right actor to play this part. It's no 2001 and Sunshine was a better movie.

  • google google
    google google 4 months ago

    They said that Mcchonaughey's character was actually some sort of spirit.

  • Kukiiishh
    Kukiiishh 5 months ago

    go to that theater it's not dedication, that's is a stupid decision,
    you have to watch it on IMAX... 😒considering that you are a movie critic.

  • AsSeenOnTV
    AsSeenOnTV 5 months ago

    Gay review

  • Joshimitsu
    Joshimitsu 5 months ago +1

    This movie is a masterpiece. I'll show my kids this when they're old enough to understand the story.

  • stilltainted922
    stilltainted922 5 months ago

    i am obsessed with this film. i cry every single time.

  • Jonah Henrickson
    Jonah Henrickson 5 months ago

    Fun Fact: This film actually influenced Mackenzie Foy to be a film director when she grows up :)

  • Vicky 12
    Vicky 12 5 months ago

    I genuinely agree that the last 10-15 minutes were rather weird and actually took the edge of our imagination ... because as you say, they were trying a bit too hard to end with a final punchline topping all previous emotion. I too think, the film would have had a perfect ending with *spoiler alert* the image of Cooper floating into the light... Maybe a final cut to Brand who manages to send signals from her new planet to Murph's office right after she's managed to save the earth. I know Murph would probably think it's her dad finally communicating with her again after decades and that would have made us all cry even harder, but we know...and Murph knows... he had already retuned sending her signals through the book shelf. Something like that would have been much more inspiring than the "perfectly wrapped gift" (to quote you here), that we got presented with that glorious finale. But ok, a lot of people don't seem to mind as those finale impressions with Murph's monologue in the off were so touching. By the way, all Murph actresses were sensational casting choices! So was Mcconnaughey, obviously, and so was *Spoiler Alert* Matt Damon!!Yep furthermore, Hathaway was very convincing as a dedicated scientist, though I also thought she didn't seem to care too deeply about the part. In a nutshell, a technical masterpiece with a very thought-provoking message demonstrated by selfless, courageous human beings portrayed by brilliant actors... if only the story would be a bit more conclusive! 🤷🏻‍♀️ We should include that aspect, people! So not an A+, for me, but a very solid B+!

  • Flamcesco
    Flamcesco 5 months ago +1

    Anne Hathaway was perfect, and she is sooooo beautiful


    Boner? Nah I swear ;)

  • sephykun88
    sephykun88 5 months ago +1

    :( should’ve been an A+ stuckman :((((

  • JJ Salas
    JJ Salas 5 months ago +1

    This movie is A+++, period.

  • Leo the short guy
    Leo the short guy 5 months ago

    Good review.

  • Cyba IT
    Cyba IT 5 months ago

    It annoyed me that they didn't blow out and spark the engines straight away on the mountain(water) planet when time was going so fast (relatively). They only started the engines when the second wave came.

  • Jack J
    Jack J 5 months ago

    I loved the score of this movie so much. And I think it deserves more like an A

  • Your Local Brown man
    Your Local Brown man 5 months ago

    YOU DUMB BITCH WHY DID YOU NOT GIVE IT AN A++++



    What a mother fucker

  • RX Bandit
    RX Bandit 5 months ago

    Matt Damon is far and away the worst part of this movie.

  • SullysNQ
    SullysNQ 6 months ago

    One of my favorite movies, just a couple things bugged me about the ending. When he walked in, the family just looked at him and didn't say anything along the lines of "wow, you're my grandfather." I know this was the intention for impact but still. He literally saved the Human race and got zero credit. One thing I was hoping for was more "awe" when someone with a little bit of inside knowledge meets him, and gets to give him the props he deserves. The whole movie was Cooper trying to get back to Murph, 2 hours of it, yet Nolan thought it was a good idea to wrap it up with 2 minutes of dialogue. One way to look at it is yes, they missed eachother, but wouldn't Murph with all of her life experiences become slightly estranged to Cooper? The reunion for us may have felt differently than to them in a way. Anyways, im into this 5th dimension stuff, so the movie hit home for me. I'd give it an A

  • Andrew Fowler
    Andrew Fowler 6 months ago +1

    Brilliant film but had to use subtitles for the lead dude as I couldn't understand a word he said

  • Larks' Tongues In Aspic

    the " love " thing that transcends space-time was so stupid lol.

  • Ariq Fauzan
    Ariq Fauzan 6 months ago

    this is an A+ for me. I saw 2001 a space odyssey and this is still better.

  • x8Ball
    x8Ball 6 months ago

    This movie is a piece of art, the music, characters, story the intensity is just glorious!
    12 out of 10 8balls!

  • Andre Sandy
    Andre Sandy 6 months ago

    If this was a discovery channel movie, fine... but as a Hollywood movie uninteresting...

  • Andrew Attenborough paranormal and movie reviews

    one of my favourite movies great review Chris IMAX is the best way to have seen it with anamorphic lenses it was a great masterpiece by Christopher Nolan

  • antsolja
    antsolja 6 months ago

    this is my favorite movie and i just finished my 3rd watch of it, every time i watch i notice more tiny details i didnt notice before and its just such an incredible movie, i was really scared to watch a review of it and see the illusion ruined but i agree about the ending, too convenient is definitely the right wording, but i love the other 99% of the movie so much i completely forgive it, the tension, the emotion, the attention to detail especially in the space scenes and just the epicness all overwhelm me so much, and yes the soundtrack is incredible, the soundtrack and they way its used are the cherry on top that really complete it, idk what a B+ equates to i assume thats an american thing but id give this movie 9.7/10, i dont really watch enough movies so out of the things ive watched this is by far my favorite

    • antsolja
      antsolja 6 months ago

      also a sound track that gives me chills every time it kicks in is automatically a 10/10

  • Pellude
    Pellude 6 months ago

    Sorry Chris just gonna say disagree with you on the most part but the final 10 min of the movie I agree should just be cut. As soon as he walks into the room and we see an old Murphy laying in the bed while the music rises and CUT the movie finishes would've been the best ending!! In my opinion of course

  • claisolais
    claisolais 6 months ago

    I totally thought it was a perfect movie until you point it out that the ending plot is too perfect..

  • Rohit More
    Rohit More 6 months ago

    Unsubscribing u for this..

  • Gateway Realtor
    Gateway Realtor 6 months ago

    Chris I respect you so much... But the fact that you didn't see this movie with a proper sound system really hurts its effect on you. Going to see this in IMAX was beyond a movie experience for me and my friends. It was almost like going to the Planetarium except actually enjoying a story. It was just something more than a film. The Sound shook us... Not in an overbearing way but in such a grandiose level, I think it did more than your typical movie did in terms of the actual experience it gave the moviegoer...
    I'm sorry but this film does so much more so incredibly right than it gets slightly wrong. The fact that the stuff it does well absolutely blows minds, so it deserves no less than an A-

  • Jose Saenz
    Jose Saenz 6 months ago

    I love this movie it was awesome

  • Mike -_-
    Mike -_- 7 months ago +1

    People always think that they know everything about space. I hear people question the dark hole, and question the fact that they barely aged etc. All of this could easily happen at one point in time. We don't know anything at all about black holes. This might be what it's actually like.
    I mean, do you really think we can't exit our universe? We think that our universe is it, but remember: It has to be inside something. For example, a different dimension. I recon there is a way to exit our dimension and gain access to a different one. One where we can watch over our current dimension.

  • crb6852
    crb6852 7 months ago

    A B+ all because of the ending?! Are you kidding me?! This movies deserves an A- at the least and is leagues ahead of every other movie given the same letter grade. I just cant

  • Talha Ahmad Khan
    Talha Ahmad Khan 7 months ago

    Dude you have to explain which bad part are you talking about , in you spoiler review.
    I've seen this movie 15 times and don't think there is a bad ending at all. It was just a conclusion according to the writer/director.
    B+? no sorry

  • banana junior 9000
    banana junior 9000 7 months ago +1

    The last 1/4 completely fell apart in so many ways. Overall writing was not great and I think the robot was underdeveloped or simple unnecessary.

  • Jokes Animated
    Jokes Animated 7 months ago

    2018 Sep 20th just saw the movie AGAIN!!! Insane movie!!!! INSANE!!!

  • AMK
    AMK 7 months ago

    Shut it

  • Jesters Children
    Jesters Children 7 months ago

    Most if not all people dont realize that this movie is actually sphere 2.