Alien - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 997

  • Shay _432
    Shay _432 6 days ago

    Somehow I watched the directors cut without knowing and I feel it's an excellent movie

  • TabalugaDragon
    TabalugaDragon 8 days ago

    Despite amazing viruals and overall directing and atmosphere, the writing is terrible. One of the dumbest movies I'v ever seen in my life. Ask me why if you disagree.

  • Level 99
    Level 99 8 days ago

    oh look at that innocent face. totally unaware of the trainwreck that was Alien Covenant.

  • Noey Tindol
    Noey Tindol 11 days ago

    No way. The original is SOOOO much better. Forget the director's cut. lol

  • educostanzo
    educostanzo 12 days ago

    I love how Alien and Stalker by Tarkovsky came out in the same year. I mean, they're literally both ends of the spectrum when it comes to sci-fi, and they are both masterpieces in their own rights, yet completely different from each other. I wish I could experience both movies when they came out, that would be cool.

  • Joei Moore
    Joei Moore 14 days ago

    Best Horror movie ever made.

  • carlos acosta
    carlos acosta 15 days ago

    Parker/ Yaphet Kotto and Ash/ Ian Holm could've been up for Oscars.

  • blood_ _money
    blood_ _money 15 days ago

    I saw this movie when I was 10, was obsessed for a long time. Still easily my favorite movie of all time

  • Captain Michael J. Caboose

    Alien is a masterpiece

  • TorontoJon
    TorontoJon 19 days ago

    'Alien' has "space rape". It's like 'Deliverance' in space and as we know, in space, no one can hear you scream...

  • Stone Solo
    Stone Solo 21 day ago

    Alien is the Jaws of Space/Horror.

  • Planet Earth
    Planet Earth 24 days ago

    As soon as Chris said he was getting into the spoilers, I watched the movie

  • Masquerade 51
    Masquerade 51 25 days ago

    Can anybody tell me which year this movie released?

  • R Hayndr
    R Hayndr 26 days ago

    I am alien fan for life. "in space, no one can hear you scream".

  • Justin Bean
    Justin Bean 27 days ago

    Do Pandorum! I wont stop..

  • Nate Saldutti
    Nate Saldutti 28 days ago

    I thought that alien was really slow in between major events but overall good.

  • Samuel Nevalainen
    Samuel Nevalainen 28 days ago

    I saw this film either 2000 or 2001, can't even remember exact year, so long time ago. Weird thing was Aliens, Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection were all out and I only saw Alien (1979). I didn't even know about sequels.

  • Simon Scrub
    Simon Scrub 29 days ago

    Man I experienced this movie exactly the same way you did

  • Michael John
    Michael John 29 days ago

    One of the greatest films ever. Easily in my top 15.

  • Che Nugent
    Che Nugent Month ago

    Okay, so it took me years to get round to it, but I finally watched this whole film today for the first time. Bare in mind, the first alien film I ever saw was Aliens when I was about 9/10 and it creeped me out and entertained the fuck out of me. After seeing the original, I have to say, I'm disappointed. I don't get it, I was expecting horror, scares, creepiness, and suspense....but honestly I found it boring as a whole. I am flabbergasted, because this films a critically acclaimed classic. Because of the reputation it has, and my love for the franchise, I didn't doubt once I'd love it, yet it actually bored the shot out of me. I mean I fucking loved the set designs, H.R Giger props and the overall concept, but the plot felt like nothing was really happening. I genuinely questioned myself in the final 20 minutes what could happen before this finishes to make this film redeem itself, but still nothing suspenseful really happens....

  • breatheinthepinkair

    The Shrike, from the Hyperion Cantos, would be more terrifying than the xenomorph, if correctly brought to life on screen

  • pateralus9
    pateralus9 Month ago

    Chris, how do you feel about The Boondock Saints (& Saints II)?
    The 1st is one of my favorite movies, & the 2nd is pretty good too from what I remember.

  • acid
    acid Month ago

    No, directors cut is definitely inferior.

  • jonanjello
    jonanjello Month ago

    1979. I was nine years old. The look and atmosphere of Alien had a massively profound affect on me. I mowed lawns and did odd jobs to save movey to buy the photo graphic novel down at the local Safeway. As well, I eventually acquired the Heavy Metal magazine comic adaptation of the film. I knew the movie backward and forward before I ever saw it in the theater, thanks to my older sister who took me about 1 or 2 years later (I believe it was re-released in theaters at that time? 80? 81?) Alien, Mad Max, and the films of Kubrick were cornerstones of my cinema culture. Looooove Alien and Aliens

  • Schazmen Rassir
    Schazmen Rassir Month ago

    Alien was the first horror movie I ever saw. I sat on the stairs while my parents watched it in the living room. I was 8. And strangely, I didn't have nightmares about it.

  • Ben Newman
    Ben Newman Month ago

    This is my favorite movie of all time

  • nobody special
    nobody special Month ago

    there was that scene where the alien first appeared, where it puts its hands out like it was saying 'TA-DAAAAAA!!!' i just couldnt take that seriously.

  • DRAMA LAMA
    DRAMA LAMA 2 months ago

    I'm 12 years old, and I am amazed by this fanomanal movie

  • Alkhazred1
    Alkhazred1 2 months ago

    Alien
    Aliens
    Alien 3
    Prometheus
    Covenant
    All the rest is heresy. And yes I think Alien 3 is fantastic, dramatic and incredibly artistic, sublime and spiritual movie.

  • Rumi900
    Rumi900 2 months ago

    Chris is right. The alien is almost never seen. That's one of the beauties of the film, wonderfully edited. Often, it's like the movie should have been titled "That Darn Cat"!

  • slowndes79
    slowndes79 2 months ago

    Reveal cut = Ambiguity between environment and monster. Tone for the film.

  • Vellichor M.
    Vellichor M. 3 months ago

    I never got the Mother thing in the movie. Anybody?

  • jza66
    jza66 3 months ago

    That T-shirt is dope

  • Kisra009
    Kisra009 3 months ago

    I rewatched all the alien movies
    Alien
    Aliens
    Alien covenant
    Prometheus
    Alien resurrection
    Alien 3

  • Rishi This
    Rishi This 3 months ago

    Alien A+
    Aliens B
    Alien 3 C+
    Alien Resurrection C

  • JRodgesevant
    JRodgesevant 3 months ago

    Interesting fact: If the director's cut were to be made canon, then the sequels would be completely invalidated. By the fact that when Ripley discovered what happened to the crew as they were taken, you see the "hive" that they were in were forming them into eggs, thereby showing that the creature's reproductive methods are completely different then what we got in later films.

  • Yautja Prime
    Yautja Prime 3 months ago

    No Aliens or 3?

  • Patrick Todd
    Patrick Todd 3 months ago

    I always thought the Xenomorph looked cheesy as hell. Just a big plasticy thing dripping with lubricant. OMG and the baby Xenomorph runny away after exiting that dude's body was hilariously bad. Everything else is pretty damn good.

  • Neva Herdamee
    Neva Herdamee 4 months ago

    Please make another blu ray collection video

  • DaveKeeling
    DaveKeeling 4 months ago

    I am not going to comment until we discuss the bonus situation

  • Samuel Nevalainen
    Samuel Nevalainen 4 months ago

    I'm surprised Stuckmann saw this movie at 15 years old. I saw Alien (1979) in 2000, when I was 11 and maybe I was too young. However Aliens, Alien 3 & Resurrection I first time heard in 2005. All those years I thought Alien (1979) was stand-alone movie. lol.

  • stephen connell
    stephen connell 4 months ago

    Shout out to Martin Boa. Who? They guy who built the model of the Nostromo used in Alien.

  • mac los
    mac los 4 months ago

    Get right bro it was alien signal that woke them up not just some ordinary signals form human

  • kailen gray
    kailen gray 4 months ago

    nice shirt!

  • Luke Stubbs
    Luke Stubbs 4 months ago +3

    Studying this film in school

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 4 months ago +2

      Kids these days ... how jealous am I?

  • Sparrow Whu
    Sparrow Whu 4 months ago +2

    I remember seeing Alien when I was in my late teens. I had got the Alien Legacy set at a charity store. After seeing the theatrical edition I watched the directors cut... Oh my God. I fell in love with this franchise. The atmosphere, the acting, the cat... And, of course, the alien itself. Its' slow movements, its lack of expression, the sexual imagery... Just... Everything about this movie is golden. I agree with everything in your review.

  • Thom Florio
    Thom Florio 4 months ago

    I was very happy to hear how much you liked this movie. Many prefer the immediate sequel over the original but I'm very much the opposite where I can't stand the cartoonish acting of Aliens compared to the realistic acting of Alien.

  • The Purple Butterfly
    The Purple Butterfly 4 months ago

    My only complaint about this movie is that it's so dark for a lot of the movie. But maybe that adds to the fear factor?

  • Jason 6732
    Jason 6732 4 months ago

    Out of this and Aliens... I prefer Alien. Both are amazing movies. (Including Predator)

  • Ben Quinney
    Ben Quinney 4 months ago

    Like a moray eel

  • RED
    RED 4 months ago

    I'd give Alien a "C". By the time I watched it I already knew what was going to happen. It was hilarious to see the outdated effects and cliche plot elements fold out. Would be cool to see a re-make.

    • RED
      RED 4 months ago

      Mai Nem Skyrim Special Edition.

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 4 months ago +1

      not a single remake has ever worked. Name one.

  • Nicholas Syl
    Nicholas Syl 4 months ago

    An Alien review with an AVP bug as the thumbnail?? Blasphemy I say. ;)

  • Leonardo Abreu
    Leonardo Abreu 4 months ago

    Hi

  • Presley Kraus
    Presley Kraus 4 months ago +4

    I LOVE this movie. Like I LOVE this movie. There is really nothing I can say bad about this movie, it's amazing.
    I give it a 10/10 A+

  • Ryan O'Cerous
    Ryan O'Cerous 4 months ago +1

    One of the few sci-fi flicks that makes my Halloween regular list.

  • Antonio De Alejandro
    Antonio De Alejandro 4 months ago

    I'm 11 and love all of them...........(except alien resurection

  • B.A.Edwards
    B.A.Edwards 4 months ago

    Seen this film dozens of times and just realised how underwhelmed the crew were at discovering an alien spacecraft and humanoid lifeform, as soon as they arrive on the deck of the alien ship the first thing they do is say ohh look there's a hole in the ground let's investigate, here's an idea investigate the the seven foot alien sitting in captains chair or the fucking controls for the ship 😕

  • Lee Thomas
    Lee Thomas 4 months ago +1

    Great film by a great director who I'm proud to say is from my home town of South Shields, UK.

  • Akash Gupta
    Akash Gupta 4 months ago

    Life too took inspiration from alien

  • whatsUPlocs
    whatsUPlocs 4 months ago

    Was it hard for Ripley to not tell the Crew "I told you so" throughout this film? She was yelled at by her boss and the crew and even got smacked in the face, all along she was right.

  • Defenstrator
    Defenstrator 4 months ago

    There are only two Alien movies. Alien and Aliens. Just stop there with no regrets.

  • Eric Bisson
    Eric Bisson 5 months ago

    Don't you think it was weird that all of a sudden we have a half naked Weaver running around in her skimpy underwear at the end? I always thought how out of place that felt.

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 4 months ago

      So you go to sleep fully clothed then.
      O. K .....
      As long as you use deodorant.

  • WILSON
    WILSON 5 months ago +2

    You are like me when it comes down to the type of movies we like. You are a true movie buff, glad I got you Subscribed. Good stuff man. Keep it up!

  • Stranger than Fiction
    Stranger than Fiction 5 months ago

    Ash when contact to ground Crew is lost: "Dallas? Daellis?"

  • Stranger than Fiction
    Stranger than Fiction 5 months ago +1

    And to know that Ash has way more strenght than a human being.... its horrendous.

  • Stranger than Fiction
    Stranger than Fiction 5 months ago +1

    Watch Ash in the Birth Scene right before the Alien breaks through, Kanes last twitch, so to speak. Ash grabs his arm, slams it down onto the table real hard, thus "nailing" him to the table and giving the Alien more power to be Born. The look on Ashs face, the brutality in it is terrible, and to know that he let the Thing grow inside the unsuspecting CORPSE which he now rapes and brutalizes is a real shocker. After all These years the Alien might have lost its "Terror", but Ash gets more disturbing and inhuman each time we watch the movie. Ist a masterpiece bý Holm.

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 4 months ago

      I love his performance in this - brilliant actor.

  • Mr. Stupar
    Mr. Stupar 5 months ago

    Hey I saw it when I was 15 to

  • Zilla Universe
    Zilla Universe 5 months ago +1

    What a masterpiece my favorite horror film of all time 10/10

  • Joshua Patrick
    Joshua Patrick 5 months ago +1

    Favorite horror film and definitely top five all time favorite films because it's groundbreaking...

  • atd8vii
    atd8vii 5 months ago

    Never a fan of Alien, Aliens was much better for me.

  • LV-426 Devasher
    LV-426 Devasher 5 months ago

    This is one of the best reviews I’ve ever watched. Articulated very well. 👍

  • poyi1013
    poyi1013 5 months ago

    The words coming out of your mouth seems to think this movie is interesting, but you dont seems to be interested in it...

  • Ma Sato
    Ma Sato 5 months ago +1

    I always find the characters die of stupidity. Yeah, let's stick out your heads when you are exploring an unknown organism. When hunting something obviously dangerous, it's a good idea to walk away on your own to find a cat and not even stay alert. They keep separating and get killed.

  • SomeGuy
    SomeGuy 6 months ago

    I don't care if people get triggered but is a 7.5/10 for me, it was kinda boring and slow in the first hour, aliens is better tho, that's how sequels should have done.

  • Rozza
    Rozza 6 months ago +1

    Personally I would say the thing has a better design but we never ever see what it looks like so I really can't count it

  • Oliisawesome right now
    Oliisawesome right now 6 months ago

    This video, and the film, inspired me to make an unscripted review of this film. Because Alien is a classic.

  • Bear Roebuck
    Bear Roebuck 6 months ago

    Good point on the protagonist given at the time of this movie's release Sigourney Weaver was an unknown actor. Today we would identify her as the protagonist right away. I was also impressed by the constant low engine hum through the entire movie and how much unrelenting dread it caused. I saw this movie as a double feature along with Johns Carpenter's The Thing at a drive-in when I was eight years old. Arguably the best two monster movies ever made. I have LOVED movies since that fateful night.

  • Imaginary Corgi7
    Imaginary Corgi7 6 months ago

    Saw it same age and it as director’s cut too, last week

  • Mimosa Amelia
    Mimosa Amelia 6 months ago +1

    Just watched Alien for the first time today. I'm always wary of movies with this much hype as often they don't quite live up to expectations. This one did!

  • Irshad Ahmad
    Irshad Ahmad 6 months ago

    2001 a space odyssey review I want

  • Quiet Side
    Quiet Side 6 months ago

    Totally agree. The scene when Lambert and Parker are attacked and Ripley hears it all on the speakers still is the stuff of pure nightmares.

  • Jokerstick
    Jokerstick 6 months ago

    I don't know why but I keep finding myself coming back to this video over and over.

  • mr. Krabz420
    mr. Krabz420 7 months ago +2

    My favourite movie of all time is the first alien movie.

  • SoySauceBananna
    SoySauceBananna 7 months ago

    Lol u didn’t stumble upon this everything your saying was written before

  • CartoonrBOY
    CartoonrBOY 7 months ago

    A+? Yer damned right!

  • mariofan 520
    mariofan 520 7 months ago +1

    The Greatest sci-fi horror movie of all time!

  • Electricfire
    Electricfire 7 months ago

    I love this movie and Aliens. I'm currently writing an Alien story set on present day Earth. Don't worry, it's nothing like AVP2. I've currently finished 5 chapters and a prologue to the story.

  • Zech Evans
    Zech Evans 8 months ago

    257 people are part of Waylon-Yutani

  • Public Lemur
    Public Lemur 8 months ago +4

    In space, no one can here you scream

  • Voltrex
    Voltrex 8 months ago

    My parents let me watch alien when i was 9

  • Andrew Clarke
    Andrew Clarke 8 months ago +1

    For me, the original cinema release of Alien is the best version, simply for the pacing of the action. Don't get me wrong, I really like the additional footage in the directors cut, but I feel the original release is the better version of the film. Absolutely a classic.

  • David Lynch
    David Lynch 8 months ago

    1. Alien
    2. Alien 3
    3. Aliens
    4. Covenant
    5. Prometheus
    666. Resurrection

    • David Lynch
      David Lynch 8 months ago

      Mai Nem Nice ranking.

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 8 months ago +1

      1. Alien
      2. Aliens
      3. Alien Isolation [yes - a game, but it's so brilliant and cinematic]
      4. Covenant
      5. Prometheus
      6. Alien 3
      7. Alien Resurrection

  • ZacStrikesBack
    ZacStrikesBack 8 months ago +1

    I actually don't like this movie, and I hate to say that. The characters were forgettable(minus Ripley) and the pacing is ridiculously slow in my opinion.
    I also don't find it as scary or engaging as other movies from that era like Jaws or The Exorcist. I will say the sequel, Aliens, is amazing though.

  • resistnzisfutl
    resistnzisfutl 8 months ago

    One of the first true iterations of sci-fi horror that scared the pants off of viewers, and was excellent cinema at the same time.

  • Alex & Blaise
    Alex & Blaise 9 months ago

    1. Aliens
    2. Alien
    3. Prometheus
    4. Alien: Covenant
    5. Alien3
    6. Alien vs. Predator
    7. Alien vs. Predator Requiem
    8. Alien: Resurrection

  • LatinoOnFire 77
    LatinoOnFire 77 9 months ago

    I swear Chris has the best shirts of all time

  • Taronamic
    Taronamic 9 months ago +6

    Whenever He Says Anything, You Say "Right" Brett. You Know That? *RIGHT!*

  • d. allen spencer
    d. allen spencer 9 months ago

    Some of the same people went and did work on outland with Sean Connery, it could be in the same universe

  • RationalLllama
    RationalLllama 9 months ago

    I have an idea. Let's deem all the Alien movies non-cannon with the exception of Alien and Aliens. Let's get a good sequel to Aliens.

  • Skull Fragments
    Skull Fragments 9 months ago

    Always wondering about what happened to the "weapons " Dallas says to break out after they land and are getting ready to go out to explore and locate the beacon? What weapons? Is this a flaw with movie and script? Mystery....

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 8 months ago

      No - it was a kind of sarcastic figure of speech.
      Like if you experienced my cooking - "Break out the vomit bags!"
      I don't have any vomit bags - it's just a joke, a figure of speech.