Alien - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 3 063

  • SentaiRider33
    SentaiRider33 Day ago +1

    1: Aliens
    2: Alien
    3: Alien 3
    4: AVP
    5: Alien Covenant
    6: Prometheus
    7: Alien Resurrection
    8:AVP: Requiem

  • Terror TV
    Terror TV 7 days ago

    My opinion of the AVP movies- excluding The Predator-haven't seen it yet, and Blade Runner 2049 and Soldier-not scene those either
    12. Alien Resurrection
    11. Predator 2
    10. AvPR
    9. AvP
    8. Alien 3
    7. Predators
    6. Covenant
    5. Prometheus
    4. Alien
    3. Predator
    2. Blade Runner
    1. Aliens
    Blade Runner and Soldier are same series believe it or not

  • Mir5
    Mir5 9 days ago

    Alien > Aliens

  • Jedi Joey
    Jedi Joey 19 days ago

    chris! i just watched it the other day, i’m 16. i love it. i love aliens even more. i was just so interested and i couldn’t keep my eyes off of it. it’s everything my inner-sci-fi-lover wants.

  • lschroter2020
    lschroter2020 20 days ago

    The Thing and Alien are the best Sci-fi horror movies of the genre. Predator and Aliens is action at its finest

  • William Harvey
    William Harvey 21 day ago

    Alien was my first horror movie

  • Mergie S
    Mergie S 27 days ago

    I cannot choose which is better - Alien or Aliens. Alien is a great horror movie and Aliens is a great action movie. It's impossible to choose.

  • Brandon Michels
    Brandon Michels Month ago

    Alien is a masterpiece that has only gotten better with time. I watch the Blu Ray several times a year and also thoroughly enjoy the game Alien Isolation which mimics the style and atmosphere so closely that it's amazing. Something about the retro-future set and prop design gives the movie a timeless charm, and the characters are so believable and relatable, which is something you just don't see very often anymore. I really wish Ridley Scott would have kept the style of this movie for the newer films (I'm not particularly fond of the newer outings, but Prometheus had its charms). I'm finding that a lot more love and effort went into older films in general, and with a few exceptions (Blade Runner 2049) I find myself preferring classic films such as these and really don't pay much attention to a lot of the newer movies coming to theaters these days. Marvel movies are fun, but we need more films like Alien.

  • Neverheart
    Neverheart Month ago

    Giger and Lovecraft are some of the few well remembered creative alien designers. It always disappoints me how aliens are so derivative except for a few cases.

  • The Retro Shed
    The Retro Shed Month ago

    For me Alien is the finest movie ever made. I saw it when I was 11 and it left it’s mark for sure. It terrified me but I had to keep watching! I’ve seen it countless times since and always spot something new! Absolute masterpiece if sci-fi horror with a creature so alluring, beautiful yet so terrifying and dangerous. Perfect organism.

  • Rodney Jean Baptiste
    Rodney Jean Baptiste 2 months ago

    I watched the movie after this review.

  • stupreme
    stupreme 2 months ago

    Can u believe Alien was almost named "Star Beast"
    ???

  • Bigby Wolf
    Bigby Wolf 2 months ago

    I wish newer movies would follow the same “recipe” if you will that older movies followed

  • Ted Michel
    Ted Michel 2 months ago

    Hard to believe this came out in the 70s

  • Lucas Lucas
    Lucas Lucas 2 months ago

    Am I the only one that thinks Alien is boring asf

  • J_ D_B
    J_ D_B 2 months ago

    Even to this day, Chris still has the greatest intro EVER 🔥🔥🔥

  • Black Toy
    Black Toy 2 months ago

    I saw it when i was 5 of 4... I immediately became a fan!

  • Traveling Tal
    Traveling Tal 2 months ago +1

    Number 3 on my all time favorite List.

  • Bobby Daubert
    Bobby Daubert 2 months ago

    STUCKMANIZED

  • Justin New
    Justin New 2 months ago

    The Abyss review it!

  • Alexandre Martins
    Alexandre Martins 2 months ago

    Who would have thought that Ridley would make two such huge steaming piles of shit like Prometheus and Covenant...? So sad.
    And for me, there's Alien. And all the rest is not the development of a franchise, but a series of unrelated films. Including unrelated to each other. None of the Alien films feel like sequels, they work as individual films. Even Proshiteous and Coassnant. They are NOT sequels. Ridley and team just tried to course-correct based on fans reactions and made it even worse.

  • bashpr0mpt
    bashpr0mpt 2 months ago

    Sigourney Weaver destroyed the franchise. For Alien, after her success with Ghostbusters, they couldn't afford her so offered her a stake in the franchise. That's why in Alien 3 she banned all guns and shit. She's a nutbag lefty. :(

  • Ian Genuine
    Ian Genuine 2 months ago

    I thought aliens did better than the first alien

  • Jordan Wright
    Jordan Wright 2 months ago

    Love Alien.

  • Jason
    Jason 2 months ago

    I think you really hit an important point that so many sci-fi movies miss. It makes sense. It feels real. It's logical. The crew fit with what the purpose of the ship is their job roles fit with the setting as does their complaints. It makes the movie far more believable than most other sci-fi.

  • Prodigy Of Rock
    Prodigy Of Rock 2 months ago

    Alien - 10/10
    Aliens - 9.5/10
    Alien 3 - 5/10
    Alien Resurrection - 2/10
    AVP - 6/10
    AVP2 - 2/10

  • Adam Omegalul
    Adam Omegalul 3 months ago

    who else watched just for the rating xD

  • lschroter2020
    lschroter2020 3 months ago

    Another fantastic Alien movie is John carpenters 1982 The Thing that movie is balls to the walls awesomeness it has the best practical affects and has such an awesome use of paranoia

  • PeteAmachree
    PeteAmachree 3 months ago

    My generation had an embarrassment of riches re scifi. This was another Star Wars: A New Hope moment, where my jaw hit the floor from start to finish.

  • Suneish Basu
    Suneish Basu 3 months ago

    My favourite live action shero is Ellen Ripley.

  • Riley Lallier
    Riley Lallier 3 months ago

    I loved Alien and though I think it is slightly dated in terms of the lighting it is great and I'll give Alien an A

  • Mark Magness
    Mark Magness 3 months ago

    chris you're probably not going to see this but just an idea, review the predator movies for the new "The Predator" movie.

  • Gareth Trevor
    Gareth Trevor 3 months ago

    Alien look like a movie made now that how is now

  • Aram Isaac
    Aram Isaac 3 months ago

    Allright, you can hate on me, but I think this movie is overrated. I acknowledge it is a good, suspenseful movie, I admit that, but I just don't think it is as good as people say. Yeah, the suspense is well-handled, it is visually stunning, but there are a couple major problems with the movie.
    - A lot of choices characters make are just stupid; John Hurt's character who is just like 'hey, an alien species egg-thing! MUST TOUCH IT!, or Ripley who goes back for the FREAKIN' CAT!!!, or the other woman who keeps standing in the way of the alien while Parker keeps saying 'get out of the way'.
    - Why did the alien keep quiet while Ripley was in the escape pod? Or why does it sometimes attack immediatly, and sometimes not?
    - The characters aren't empty, but I didn't care about a couple of them because they were two-dimensional, like Lambert, who was just affraid all the time (some characters were very awesome, don't deny that)
    That is why I don't think it is as good as people say. I would give the movie a 7,9/10. (NOTE: this is the theatrical version, so maybe it would be different in the director's cut).

  • john ricciardelli
    john ricciardelli 3 months ago

    I feel like that's every Ridley Scott movie he comes out with a director's cut. Because he never feels satisfy with his films. That's why Blade Runner is a classic disagreement the with the studio led him to changing the film the way it came out.

  • john ricciardelli
    john ricciardelli 3 months ago

    I saw Spaceballs before Alien when they parody the famous Alien burst chest scene.

  • Titantron9000
    Titantron9000 3 months ago

    I suggest watching Alien, playing Alien: Isolation, and then going back and watching Alien. I was constantly surprised by how faithfully the Alien: Isolation team recreated the look and feel of the Alien movie. I probably watch Alien and The Ring more than any other horror movies. I just never get sick of them.

  • Harri927
    Harri927 3 months ago

    I love this movie, This is my favorite movie by Ridley Scott and it's also my favorite horror movie of all time. And also love the 1st alien design and it's my favorite design of the Alien/Xenomorph.

  • Viiking 01
    Viiking 01 3 months ago

    Did you mean you were assuming that you weren't alive in 1979? Something like we all exist all the time sort of deal? jk

  • Gosford Reef
    Gosford Reef 3 months ago

    Don't know if this has been mentioned but.... the actors DID know the chest bursting scene was coming, it was in the script after all. What they didn't know was coming was all the blood. Veronica Cartwright's response was so genuine as she was drenched with far more than even the tech crew thought was coming.

  • Amanda Evans
    Amanda Evans 3 months ago

    Okay I only recently found your channel and I did watch Alien as a young kid so I have those memories. But I never watched the other films until I watched this playlist! HBO had all the fucking movies on demand haha I couldn't believe it! I love your reviews and thank you for pushing me to watch Aliens!

  • Porfle Popnecker
    Porfle Popnecker 3 months ago

    Seeing this in a big old-fashioned movie theater with a packed audience of excited people who had absolutely no idea what they were about to see (the trailers were very teasing and very vague) is still one of my most thrilling shared cinematic experiences ever.

  • Guy Person
    Guy Person 4 months ago

    I am VERY glad that the theatrical cut never showed the cocooned Dallas. First of all, it doesn't make sense. Because there are no eggs, so there is a whole other mechanic somehow missing from that idea....and it disallows the followup movie, which is as good, though of a different genre than this movie. Still, let's say, Aliens never happened.....From a story telling point, it works far better that one character just....DISAPPEARS.....It's so creepy (Brett could have been though to have just been killed in the ducts)

  • Phil Powell
    Phil Powell 4 months ago

    Its a classic movie!

  • Outfield 243
    Outfield 243 4 months ago

    I feel crazy cause I didn’t like the movie at all

  • 43nostromo
    43nostromo 4 months ago

    Let's not forget the masterful score by composer Jerry Goldsmith.

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    It's all thanks to Dan O'bannon

  • tipped jungle
    tipped jungle 4 months ago

    Ellen ripley vs sarah connor
    Who would win??????

  • Red Rose
    Red Rose 4 months ago

    Alien Isolation could be its own movie xD

  • ZombieWolf
    ZombieWolf 4 months ago

    There is no better Horror movie on planet earth such a masterpiece

  • DragonBall Life
    DragonBall Life 4 months ago

    😂I like how you didn’t mention that 3rd form Frieza looks exactly like the Alien

  • markus1701
    markus1701 4 months ago

    The first time i saw it was at the age of 13, alone at home, in the evening, descripted as a space-adventure, in a time scifi for me was something like star wars or Galactica... what can i say, i wetted my pants...again and again!

  • obudan bondon
    obudan bondon 4 months ago

    ey prassu
    *eeey prassu*

  • Shay _432
    Shay _432 5 months ago

    Somehow I watched the directors cut without knowing and I feel it's an excellent movie

  • TabalugaDragon
    TabalugaDragon 5 months ago

    Despite amazing viruals and overall directing and atmosphere, the writing is terrible. One of the dumbest movies I'v ever seen in my life. Ask me why if you disagree.

  • Level 99
    Level 99 5 months ago

    oh look at that innocent face. totally unaware of the trainwreck that was Alien Covenant.

  • Noey Tindol
    Noey Tindol 5 months ago

    No way. The original is SOOOO much better. Forget the director's cut. lol

  • educostanzo
    educostanzo 5 months ago

    I love how Alien and Stalker by Tarkovsky came out in the same year. I mean, they're literally both ends of the spectrum when it comes to sci-fi, and they are both masterpieces in their own rights, yet completely different from each other. I wish I could experience both movies when they came out, that would be cool.

  • Joei Moore
    Joei Moore 5 months ago

    Best Horror movie ever made.

  • carlos acosta
    carlos acosta 5 months ago

    Parker/ Yaphet Kotto and Ash/ Ian Holm could've been up for Oscars.

  • blood_ _money
    blood_ _money 5 months ago

    I saw this movie when I was 10, was obsessed for a long time. Still easily my favorite movie of all time

  • Captain Michael J. Caboose

    Alien is a masterpiece

  • TorontoJon
    TorontoJon 5 months ago

    'Alien' has "space rape". It's like 'Deliverance' in space and as we know, in space, no one can hear you scream...

  • Stone Solo
    Stone Solo 5 months ago

    Alien is the Jaws of Space/Horror.

  • Planet Earth
    Planet Earth 5 months ago

    As soon as Chris said he was getting into the spoilers, I watched the movie

  • Masquerade 51
    Masquerade 51 5 months ago

    Can anybody tell me which year this movie released?

  • R Hayndr
    R Hayndr 5 months ago

    I am alien fan for life. "in space, no one can hear you scream".

  • Justin Bean
    Justin Bean 5 months ago

    Do Pandorum! I wont stop..

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS 6 months ago

    I thought that alien was really slow in between major events but overall good.

  • SN A
    SN A 6 months ago

    I saw this film either 2000 or 2001, can't even remember exact year, so long time ago. Weird thing was Aliens, Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection were all out and I only saw Alien (1979). I didn't even know about sequels.

  • Simon Scrub
    Simon Scrub 6 months ago

    Man I experienced this movie exactly the same way you did

  • Michael John
    Michael John 6 months ago

    One of the greatest films ever. Easily in my top 15.

  • Che Nugent
    Che Nugent 6 months ago

    Okay, so it took me years to get round to it, but I finally watched this whole film today for the first time. Bare in mind, the first alien film I ever saw was Aliens when I was about 9/10 and it creeped me out and entertained the fuck out of me. After seeing the original, I have to say, I'm disappointed. I don't get it, I was expecting horror, scares, creepiness, and suspense....but honestly I found it boring as a whole. I am flabbergasted, because this films a critically acclaimed classic. Because of the reputation it has, and my love for the franchise, I didn't doubt once I'd love it, yet it actually bored the shot out of me. I mean I fucking loved the set designs, H.R Giger props and the overall concept, but the plot felt like nothing was really happening. I genuinely questioned myself in the final 20 minutes what could happen before this finishes to make this film redeem itself, but still nothing suspenseful really happens....

  • breatheinthepinkair
    breatheinthepinkair 6 months ago

    The Shrike, from the Hyperion Cantos, would be more terrifying than the xenomorph, if correctly brought to life on screen

  • pateralus9
    pateralus9 6 months ago

    Chris, how do you feel about The Boondock Saints (& Saints II)?
    The 1st is one of my favorite movies, & the 2nd is pretty good too from what I remember.

  • acid flashback
    acid flashback 6 months ago

    No, directors cut is definitely inferior.

  • jonanjello
    jonanjello 6 months ago

    1979. I was nine years old. The look and atmosphere of Alien had a massively profound affect on me. I mowed lawns and did odd jobs to save movey to buy the photo graphic novel down at the local Safeway. As well, I eventually acquired the Heavy Metal magazine comic adaptation of the film. I knew the movie backward and forward before I ever saw it in the theater, thanks to my older sister who took me about 1 or 2 years later (I believe it was re-released in theaters at that time? 80? 81?) Alien, Mad Max, and the films of Kubrick were cornerstones of my cinema culture. Looooove Alien and Aliens

  • Schazmen Rassir
    Schazmen Rassir 6 months ago

    Alien was the first horror movie I ever saw. I sat on the stairs while my parents watched it in the living room. I was 8. And strangely, I didn't have nightmares about it.

  • Ben Newman
    Ben Newman 6 months ago

    This is my favorite movie of all time

  • golgo 13
    golgo 13 6 months ago

    there was that scene where the alien first appeared, where it puts its hands out like it was saying 'TA-DAAAAAA!!!' i just couldnt take that seriously.

  • DRAMA LAMA
    DRAMA LAMA 7 months ago

    I'm 12 years old, and I am amazed by this fanomanal movie

  • Alkhazred1
    Alkhazred1 7 months ago

    Alien
    Aliens
    Alien 3
    Prometheus
    Covenant
    All the rest is heresy. And yes I think Alien 3 is fantastic, dramatic and incredibly artistic, sublime and spiritual movie.

  • Rumi900
    Rumi900 7 months ago

    Chris is right. The alien is almost never seen. That's one of the beauties of the film, wonderfully edited. Often, it's like the movie should have been titled "That Darn Cat"!

  • slowndes79
    slowndes79 7 months ago

    Reveal cut = Ambiguity between environment and monster. Tone for the film.

  • Rana O
    Rana O 8 months ago

    I never got the Mother thing in the movie. Anybody?

  • jza66
    jza66 8 months ago

    That T-shirt is dope

  • Kisra009
    Kisra009 8 months ago

    I rewatched all the alien movies
    Alien
    Aliens
    Alien covenant
    Prometheus
    Alien resurrection
    Alien 3

  • Dave Long
    Dave Long 8 months ago

    Alien A+
    Aliens B
    Alien 3 C+
    Alien Resurrection C

  • JRodgesevant
    JRodgesevant 8 months ago

    Interesting fact: If the director's cut were to be made canon, then the sequels would be completely invalidated. By the fact that when Ripley discovered what happened to the crew as they were taken, you see the "hive" that they were in were forming them into eggs, thereby showing that the creature's reproductive methods are completely different then what we got in later films.

  • Yautja Prime
    Yautja Prime 8 months ago

    No Aliens or 3?

  • Patrick Todd
    Patrick Todd 8 months ago

    I always thought the Xenomorph looked cheesy as hell. Just a big plasticy thing dripping with lubricant. OMG and the baby Xenomorph runny away after exiting that dude's body was hilariously bad. Everything else is pretty damn good.

  • Big Chap
    Big Chap 9 months ago

    I am not going to comment until we discuss the bonus situation

  • SN A
    SN A 9 months ago

    I'm surprised Stuckmann saw this movie at 15 years old. I saw Alien (1979) in 2000, when I was 11 and maybe I was too young. However Aliens, Alien 3 & Resurrection I first time heard in 2005. All those years I thought Alien (1979) was stand-alone movie. lol.

  • stephen connell
    stephen connell 9 months ago

    Shout out to Martin Boa. Who? They guy who built the model of the Nostromo used in Alien.

  • mac los
    mac los 9 months ago

    Get right bro it was alien signal that woke them up not just some ordinary signals form human

  • kailen gray
    kailen gray 9 months ago

    nice shirt!

  • Luke Stubbs
    Luke Stubbs 9 months ago +4

    Studying this film in school

    • Mai Nem
      Mai Nem 9 months ago +2

      Kids these days ... how jealous am I?

  • Sparrow Whu
    Sparrow Whu 9 months ago +2

    I remember seeing Alien when I was in my late teens. I had got the Alien Legacy set at a charity store. After seeing the theatrical edition I watched the directors cut... Oh my God. I fell in love with this franchise. The atmosphere, the acting, the cat... And, of course, the alien itself. Its' slow movements, its lack of expression, the sexual imagery... Just... Everything about this movie is golden. I agree with everything in your review.

  • Big Huge
    Big Huge 9 months ago

    I was very happy to hear how much you liked this movie. Many prefer the immediate sequel over the original but I'm very much the opposite where I can't stand the cartoonish acting of Aliens compared to the realistic acting of Alien.

  • The Purple Butterfly
    The Purple Butterfly 9 months ago

    My only complaint about this movie is that it's so dark for a lot of the movie. But maybe that adds to the fear factor?