Alien - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 2, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann
    P.O. Box 1028
    Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Alien, starring Sigourney Weaver, Tom Skerritt, John Hurt, Ian Holm, Yaphet Kotto, Harry Dean Stanton, Veronica Cartwright. Directed by Ridley Scott.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 099

  • ChubbyChecker182

    I am 46, and had never watched Alien until today. It was on in a big screen cinema in London, UK.
    It always felt like a movie I had to wait to see on a big screen, so had never got passed the first ten minutes before.
    I can see why it would have blown people away back in the day, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely glad I waited for a big screen showing, particularly for the sound too. Really felt that claustrophobia that I had heard about.
    I was aware of one or two of the 'secrets' of the movie, but was surprised that there were quite a few more that I had not been aware of.
    I did find the first half hour a bit too slow, but understandable, especially for its time. I did feel like it flew after that.
    The story was kind of simple in a way, definitely like a slasher movie in space, with extras, but it felt So much more than that, and I was Very impressed with some of the effects and cinematography.
    Anyhow, waiting for a cinema to show Aliens now :)

  • Echo4Sierra4160
    Echo4Sierra4160 8 days ago

    The aliens inner jaw is actually from the moray eel.... they have one

  • Kyoh Pristin
    Kyoh Pristin 10 days ago

    I watched the director's cut and didn't knew it lol

  • Cosplayer Queen98
    Cosplayer Queen98 22 days ago

    I kind of really want him to review Requiem for a Dream, as unlikely as it is.

  • JR Ewing
    JR Ewing 24 days ago +1

    Much has been written and said about the movie Alien and its subsequent franchise. The interesting thing about the original concept was how one could draw upon such intense emotions without actually seeing the creature itself for a period of time. Director Steven Spielberg did the exact same thing in Jaws. We never really saw the shark until later in the movie. But we knew it was terrifying. The expressions on the actors faces, including Jones the cat really caught all of us up in that creepy omg moment. Fear is a very very powerful emotion. Ridley Scott knew this going into the production of his movie. Which explains why he chose the actors he did.
    Giger's impressive artistry is without question a thing of the mind. His vision became our worst nightmares. Seeing this alien creature kill, has it did, was terrifying and impossible to get out of our heads. Even after decades, this movie holds its own against many popular movies since. Special effects (FX) was principally achieved by much cruder methods versus today's CG technological wonders. The thing is, it was the actors that made the movie and the Alien creature so believable. I know I believed back then. Even today, the chest burster scene is remarkably frightening. I can watch Alien every single day and yet, that one scene always gets me. For some, it's a moot scene. Been there, done that, but graphically speaking, it's still pretty darn bloody and splattering.
    The Alien creatures themselves are amazing. The look is epic! I am thoroughly impressed with Giger's rendition of these alien creatures. Nothing to date even remotely comes close, though there are some creatures that have. The very thought of life on another planet is as timeless as time itself. Human beings can be pretty arrogant about our world, but if we are visited by creatures, as imagined by Giger, the human race will be destroyed. Such intelligence must surely exist elsewhere in our universe.

    Alien, in my opinion, is the greatest example of sci-fi in the extreme to ever grace the big screen. Nothing has come close since I stood in line five deep around our local theatre decades ago now.👽💀

  • Brian The BreadCrumb

    I saw this movie and terminator when I was 8 and growing up with the people who raised me, I was fucked up, and still pretty fucked up😂 but I love this movie

  • Dhruv Singh
    Dhruv Singh Month ago +1

    This movie is far better than the superhero crap they show today

  • Karl White
    Karl White Month ago +1

    Justin is a gay bisexual

  • Richard Sutton
    Richard Sutton Month ago

    The Director's cut is definitely good. It's just that it creates a plot hole with ALIENS in that Ripley would have recognized the cacoons.

  • Stop the Philosophical Zombies

    Great review. I'd take exception with only one observation: Ridley didn't know when to leave well enough alone when he said that Deckard was a replicant.

  • P Time
    P Time Month ago

    Please don’t kill me:
    I think it’s a B+

  • petercox9
    petercox9 Month ago

    and yet, for all the class and true grit ripley brings to this movie, they still do to her what they would do to no male actor. they all but show her bush in a close up shot of her in bikini panties. no matter how smart or brave or intelligent a woman is she will always be more sex object than warrior. and forty years later, no hot guy battles an alien in a jockstrap with his azz hanging out.

  • H M
    H M Month ago

    My favorite movie of all time.

  • Russell Scott
    Russell Scott Month ago

    I watched this movie as a kid, several times as adult and never once thought about any sexual connotation. I watched Aliens in the theatre... never once heard anyone discuss any sexual component.

  • Zinc Chameleon
    Zinc Chameleon 2 months ago

    There's lots of hidden easter eggs in the first movie. For example: before the Xenomorph emerges, Brett and Parker complain about odd noises down in the hold, which gets ignored by the crew. But realistically, there needed to be more than one Ashe. More likely there are three android Ashes: one in storage, one in the hold, keeping an eye on the Alien, and the Ashe we see in the med lab. This explains how the Alien is fed.

  • Darth Grumpy
    Darth Grumpy 2 months ago

    Like you know anything about Alien. God I despise you Stuckman.

  • KnockoutPill
    KnockoutPill 2 months ago

    I didn't find it that scary

  • Gay Bowser
    Gay Bowser 2 months ago

    All the actors knew the chestburster thing was gonna happen, they weren't aware it was gonna splash blood all over them.

  • Stephen H
    Stephen H 2 months ago

    Saw Alien in the theater its opening weekend. First R-rated movie I had ever seen. Didn't sleep that night.

  • Ανδρέας Βλάχος

    I shaw the diarectors cut......by fucking chance and thank god !!

  • Czars Salad
    Czars Salad 2 months ago

    Aliens is better

  • CFHVDOPFBD
    CFHVDOPFBD 3 months ago

    way better than aliens(which is still great),where Ripley is reduced to an action chick

  • D.D.
    D.D. 3 months ago

    You got to review The Godfather 1 and 2!!! You don't even have a Godfather review on your Channel. You need one.

  • SentaiRider33
    SentaiRider33 3 months ago +1

    1: Aliens
    2: Alien
    3: Alien 3
    4: AVP
    5: Alien Covenant
    6: Prometheus
    7: Alien Resurrection
    8:AVP: Requiem

  • Terror TV
    Terror TV 3 months ago

    My opinion of the AVP movies- excluding The Predator-haven't seen it yet, and Blade Runner 2049 and Soldier-not scene those either
    12. Alien Resurrection
    11. Predator 2
    10. AvPR
    9. AvP
    8. Alien 3
    7. Predators
    6. Covenant
    5. Prometheus
    4. Alien
    3. Predator
    2. Blade Runner
    1. Aliens
    Blade Runner and Soldier are same series believe it or not

  • Mir5
    Mir5 3 months ago

    Alien > Aliens

  • Jedi Joey
    Jedi Joey 3 months ago

    chris! i just watched it the other day, i’m 16. i love it. i love aliens even more. i was just so interested and i couldn’t keep my eyes off of it. it’s everything my inner-sci-fi-lover wants.

  • lschroter2020
    lschroter2020 3 months ago

    The Thing and Alien are the best Sci-fi horror movies of the genre. Predator and Aliens is action at its finest

  • William Harvey
    William Harvey 3 months ago

    Alien was my first horror movie

  • Mergie S
    Mergie S 4 months ago

    I cannot choose which is better - Alien or Aliens. Alien is a great horror movie and Aliens is a great action movie. It's impossible to choose.

  • Brandon Michels
    Brandon Michels 4 months ago

    Alien is a masterpiece that has only gotten better with time. I watch the Blu Ray several times a year and also thoroughly enjoy the game Alien Isolation which mimics the style and atmosphere so closely that it's amazing. Something about the retro-future set and prop design gives the movie a timeless charm, and the characters are so believable and relatable, which is something you just don't see very often anymore. I really wish Ridley Scott would have kept the style of this movie for the newer films (I'm not particularly fond of the newer outings, but Prometheus had its charms). I'm finding that a lot more love and effort went into older films in general, and with a few exceptions (Blade Runner 2049) I find myself preferring classic films such as these and really don't pay much attention to a lot of the newer movies coming to theaters these days. Marvel movies are fun, but we need more films like Alien.

  • Neverheart
    Neverheart 4 months ago

    Giger and Lovecraft are some of the few well remembered creative alien designers. It always disappoints me how aliens are so derivative except for a few cases.

  • The Retro Shed
    The Retro Shed 5 months ago

    For me Alien is the finest movie ever made. I saw it when I was 11 and it left it’s mark for sure. It terrified me but I had to keep watching! I’ve seen it countless times since and always spot something new! Absolute masterpiece if sci-fi horror with a creature so alluring, beautiful yet so terrifying and dangerous. Perfect organism.

  • Rodney Jean Baptiste
    Rodney Jean Baptiste 5 months ago

    I watched the movie after this review.

  • stupreme
    stupreme 5 months ago

    Can u believe Alien was almost named "Star Beast"
    ???

  • Bigby Wolf
    Bigby Wolf 5 months ago

    I wish newer movies would follow the same “recipe” if you will that older movies followed

  • Ted Michel
    Ted Michel 5 months ago

    Hard to believe this came out in the 70s

  • pacmankid
    pacmankid 5 months ago

    Am I the only one that thinks Alien is boring asf

  • Sir James
    Sir James 5 months ago

    Even to this day, Chris still has the greatest intro EVER 🔥🔥🔥

  • Black Toy
    Black Toy 5 months ago

    I saw it when i was 5 of 4... I immediately became a fan!

  • Traveling Tal
    Traveling Tal 5 months ago +1

    Number 3 on my all time favorite List.

  • Bobby Daubert
    Bobby Daubert 5 months ago

    STUCKMANIZED

  • Justin New
    Justin New 5 months ago

    The Abyss review it!

  • Alexandre Martins
    Alexandre Martins 5 months ago

    Who would have thought that Ridley would make two such huge steaming piles of shit like Prometheus and Covenant...? So sad.
    And for me, there's Alien. And all the rest is not the development of a franchise, but a series of unrelated films. Including unrelated to each other. None of the Alien films feel like sequels, they work as individual films. Even Proshiteous and Coassnant. They are NOT sequels. Ridley and team just tried to course-correct based on fans reactions and made it even worse.

  • bashpr0mpt
    bashpr0mpt 5 months ago

    Sigourney Weaver destroyed the franchise. For Alien, after her success with Ghostbusters, they couldn't afford her so offered her a stake in the franchise. That's why in Alien 3 she banned all guns and shit. She's a nutbag lefty. :(

  • Ian Genuine
    Ian Genuine 6 months ago

    I thought aliens did better than the first alien

  • Jordan Wright
    Jordan Wright 6 months ago

    Love Alien.

  • Jason
    Jason 6 months ago

    I think you really hit an important point that so many sci-fi movies miss. It makes sense. It feels real. It's logical. The crew fit with what the purpose of the ship is their job roles fit with the setting as does their complaints. It makes the movie far more believable than most other sci-fi.

  • Prodigy Of Rock
    Prodigy Of Rock 6 months ago

    Alien - 10/10
    Aliens - 9.5/10
    Alien 3 - 5/10
    Alien Resurrection - 2/10
    AVP - 6/10
    AVP2 - 2/10

  • Toe Collector
    Toe Collector 6 months ago

    who else watched just for the rating xD

  • lschroter2020
    lschroter2020 6 months ago

    Another fantastic Alien movie is John carpenters 1982 The Thing that movie is balls to the walls awesomeness it has the best practical affects and has such an awesome use of paranoia

  • The Cimmerian
    The Cimmerian 6 months ago

    My generation had an embarrassment of riches re scifi. This was another Star Wars: A New Hope moment, where my jaw hit the floor from start to finish.

  • Suneish Basu
    Suneish Basu 6 months ago

    My favourite live action shero is Ellen Ripley.

  • Riley Lallier
    Riley Lallier 6 months ago

    I loved Alien and though I think it is slightly dated in terms of the lighting it is great and I'll give Alien an A

  • Mark Magness
    Mark Magness 6 months ago

    chris you're probably not going to see this but just an idea, review the predator movies for the new "The Predator" movie.

  • Gareth Trevor
    Gareth Trevor 6 months ago

    Alien look like a movie made now that how is now

  • Aram Isaac
    Aram Isaac 6 months ago

    Allright, you can hate on me, but I think this movie is overrated. I acknowledge it is a good, suspenseful movie, I admit that, but I just don't think it is as good as people say. Yeah, the suspense is well-handled, it is visually stunning, but there are a couple major problems with the movie.
    - A lot of choices characters make are just stupid; John Hurt's character who is just like 'hey, an alien species egg-thing! MUST TOUCH IT!, or Ripley who goes back for the FREAKIN' CAT!!!, or the other woman who keeps standing in the way of the alien while Parker keeps saying 'get out of the way'.
    - Why did the alien keep quiet while Ripley was in the escape pod? Or why does it sometimes attack immediatly, and sometimes not?
    - The characters aren't empty, but I didn't care about a couple of them because they were two-dimensional, like Lambert, who was just affraid all the time (some characters were very awesome, don't deny that)
    That is why I don't think it is as good as people say. I would give the movie a 7,9/10. (NOTE: this is the theatrical version, so maybe it would be different in the director's cut).

  • john ricciardelli
    john ricciardelli 6 months ago

    I feel like that's every Ridley Scott movie he comes out with a director's cut. Because he never feels satisfy with his films. That's why Blade Runner is a classic disagreement the with the studio led him to changing the film the way it came out.

  • john ricciardelli
    john ricciardelli 6 months ago

    I saw Spaceballs before Alien when they parody the famous Alien burst chest scene.

  • Titantron9000
    Titantron9000 6 months ago

    I suggest watching Alien, playing Alien: Isolation, and then going back and watching Alien. I was constantly surprised by how faithfully the Alien: Isolation team recreated the look and feel of the Alien movie. I probably watch Alien and The Ring more than any other horror movies. I just never get sick of them.

  • Harri927
    Harri927 6 months ago

    I love this movie, This is my favorite movie by Ridley Scott and it's also my favorite horror movie of all time. And also love the 1st alien design and it's my favorite design of the Alien/Xenomorph.

  • Viiking 01
    Viiking 01 6 months ago

    Did you mean you were assuming that you weren't alive in 1979? Something like we all exist all the time sort of deal? jk

  • Gosford Reef
    Gosford Reef 7 months ago

    Don't know if this has been mentioned but.... the actors DID know the chest bursting scene was coming, it was in the script after all. What they didn't know was coming was all the blood. Veronica Cartwright's response was so genuine as she was drenched with far more than even the tech crew thought was coming.

  • Amanda Evans
    Amanda Evans 7 months ago

    Okay I only recently found your channel and I did watch Alien as a young kid so I have those memories. But I never watched the other films until I watched this playlist! HBO had all the fucking movies on demand haha I couldn't believe it! I love your reviews and thank you for pushing me to watch Aliens!

  • Porfle Popnecker
    Porfle Popnecker 7 months ago +1

    Seeing this in a big old-fashioned movie theater with a packed audience of excited people who had absolutely no idea what they were about to see (the trailers were very teasing and very vague) is still one of my most thrilling shared cinematic experiences ever.

  • Guy Person
    Guy Person 7 months ago

    I am VERY glad that the theatrical cut never showed the cocooned Dallas. First of all, it doesn't make sense. Because there are no eggs, so there is a whole other mechanic somehow missing from that idea....and it disallows the followup movie, which is as good, though of a different genre than this movie. Still, let's say, Aliens never happened.....From a story telling point, it works far better that one character just....DISAPPEARS.....It's so creepy (Brett could have been though to have just been killed in the ducts)

  • Phil Powell
    Phil Powell 7 months ago

    Its a classic movie!

  • Outfield 243
    Outfield 243 7 months ago

    I feel crazy cause I didn’t like the movie at all

  • 43nostromo
    43nostromo 7 months ago

    Let's not forget the masterful score by composer Jerry Goldsmith.

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    It's all thanks to Dan O'bannon

  • tipped jungle
    tipped jungle 7 months ago

    Ellen ripley vs sarah connor
    Who would win??????

  • Red Rose
    Red Rose 7 months ago

    Alien Isolation could be its own movie xD

  • ZombieWolf
    ZombieWolf 7 months ago

    There is no better Horror movie on planet earth such a masterpiece

  • DragonBall Life
    DragonBall Life 7 months ago

    😂I like how you didn’t mention that 3rd form Frieza looks exactly like the Alien

  • markus1701
    markus1701 8 months ago

    The first time i saw it was at the age of 13, alone at home, in the evening, descripted as a space-adventure, in a time scifi for me was something like star wars or Galactica... what can i say, i wetted my pants...again and again!

  • obudan bondon
    obudan bondon 8 months ago

    ey prassu
    *eeey prassu*

  • Shay _432
    Shay _432 8 months ago

    Somehow I watched the directors cut without knowing and I feel it's an excellent movie

  • TabalugaDragon
    TabalugaDragon 8 months ago

    Despite amazing viruals and overall directing and atmosphere, the writing is terrible. One of the dumbest movies I'v ever seen in my life. Ask me why if you disagree.

  • Level 99
    Level 99 8 months ago

    oh look at that innocent face. totally unaware of the trainwreck that was Alien Covenant.

  • Noey Tindol
    Noey Tindol 8 months ago

    No way. The original is SOOOO much better. Forget the director's cut. lol

  • educostanzo
    educostanzo 8 months ago

    I love how Alien and Stalker by Tarkovsky came out in the same year. I mean, they're literally both ends of the spectrum when it comes to sci-fi, and they are both masterpieces in their own rights, yet completely different from each other. I wish I could experience both movies when they came out, that would be cool.

  • Joei Moore
    Joei Moore 8 months ago

    Best Horror movie ever made.

  • carlos acosta
    carlos acosta 8 months ago

    Parker/ Yaphet Kotto and Ash/ Ian Holm could've been up for Oscars.

  • blood_ _money
    blood_ _money 8 months ago

    I saw this movie when I was 10, was obsessed for a long time. Still easily my favorite movie of all time

  • P.C. Principal
    P.C. Principal 8 months ago

    Alien is a masterpiece

  • TorontoJon
    TorontoJon 8 months ago

    'Alien' has "space rape". It's like 'Deliverance' in space and as we know, in space, no one can hear you scream...

  • Stone Solo
    Stone Solo 9 months ago

    Alien is the Jaws of Space/Horror.

  • Planet Earth
    Planet Earth 9 months ago

    As soon as Chris said he was getting into the spoilers, I watched the movie

  • Masquerade 51
    Masquerade 51 9 months ago

    Can anybody tell me which year this movie released?

  • R Hayndr
    R Hayndr 9 months ago

    I am alien fan for life. "in space, no one can hear you scream".

  • Justin Bean
    Justin Bean 9 months ago

    Do Pandorum! I wont stop..

  • Nate DS
    Nate DS 9 months ago

    I thought that alien was really slow in between major events but overall good.

  • SN A
    SN A 9 months ago

    I saw this film either 2000 or 2001, can't even remember exact year, so long time ago. Weird thing was Aliens, Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection were all out and I only saw Alien (1979). I didn't even know about sequels.

  • s i m o n s c r u b
    s i m o n s c r u b 9 months ago

    Man I experienced this movie exactly the same way you did

  • Michael John
    Michael John 9 months ago

    One of the greatest films ever. Easily in my top 15.

  • ApaChe
    ApaChe 9 months ago

    Okay, so it took me years to get round to it, but I finally watched this whole film today for the first time. Bare in mind, the first alien film I ever saw was Aliens when I was about 9/10 and it creeped me out and entertained the fuck out of me. After seeing the original, I have to say, I'm disappointed. I don't get it, I was expecting horror, scares, creepiness, and suspense....but honestly I found it boring as a whole. I am flabbergasted, because this films a critically acclaimed classic. Because of the reputation it has, and my love for the franchise, I didn't doubt once I'd love it, yet it actually bored the shot out of me. I mean I fucking loved the set designs, H.R Giger props and the overall concept, but the plot felt like nothing was really happening. I genuinely questioned myself in the final 20 minutes what could happen before this finishes to make this film redeem itself, but still nothing suspenseful really happens....

  • breatheinthepinkair
    breatheinthepinkair 9 months ago

    The Shrike, from the Hyperion Cantos, would be more terrifying than the xenomorph, if correctly brought to life on screen

  • pateralus9
    pateralus9 9 months ago

    Chris, how do you feel about The Boondock Saints (& Saints II)?
    The 1st is one of my favorite movies, & the 2nd is pretty good too from what I remember.

  • acid flashback
    acid flashback 9 months ago

    No, directors cut is definitely inferior.

  • jonanjello
    jonanjello 9 months ago

    1979. I was nine years old. The look and atmosphere of Alien had a massively profound affect on me. I mowed lawns and did odd jobs to save movey to buy the photo graphic novel down at the local Safeway. As well, I eventually acquired the Heavy Metal magazine comic adaptation of the film. I knew the movie backward and forward before I ever saw it in the theater, thanks to my older sister who took me about 1 or 2 years later (I believe it was re-released in theaters at that time? 80? 81?) Alien, Mad Max, and the films of Kubrick were cornerstones of my cinema culture. Looooove Alien and Aliens