Split - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 352

  • craftboy TDE
    craftboy TDE 11 days ago

    i saw this movie when i rented it and i honestly loved it. james McAvoy is amazing and creepy.

  • a curious gamer
    a curious gamer 3 months ago

    It's easily Awesometacular

  • jamal kal
    jamal kal 3 months ago

    YEAH the whole point of the movie you can argue is in the flashbacks (fighting the demon inside you and staning up for yourself) if they weren't there you wouldn't know why she isn't as active against the horde as the other girls and you wouldn't know why she didnt go straight away with the policewomen in the end(she finally told on her uncle because of what she learned from maccavoy on facing your inner demon) so i think it's actually the main point that should be ther and you telling me it shouldn't be there makes me wonder if we even watched the same movie

  • Alex burbanck
    Alex burbanck 4 months ago +1

    I know this is super old, but why no mention of unbreakable?!?

  • Allah is gay
    Allah is gay 4 months ago +1

    The stupid part in this movie was the hostage girl was talking to the zoo keeper, he acted like it is on the internet and no one knows where the call is coming from, dude you know who has that wireless device, you hear a girls voice, you should investigate and call the cops.

  • Ramza
    Ramza 4 months ago

    No comment about that ending?

  • Alcatraz Gaming
    Alcatraz Gaming 5 months ago

    this is the only movie i verbally shouted "Ohh shit" when i saw the plot twist in the theater

  • Heather Dale
    Heather Dale 5 months ago

    For my part, this movie was pure Awesomtacular...tho do agree some of the surrounding cast was lacking, even so, the execution overall = pure genius

  • Darrius James
    Darrius James 5 months ago

    Can i kiss you?”i think you’re pregnant now” lol I promise qouted that wrong but lol my god that was funny.

  • Josh Adams
    Josh Adams 5 months ago

    The flashbacks were my favourite parts of the movie for me

  • isabel reyes
    isabel reyes 5 months ago +1

    This movie was trash tbh idk what the fuck you’re talking about.

  • Unboxing Deutschland
    Unboxing Deutschland 5 months ago

    Tolles Video gefällt uns, echt top 💪 Schau doch auch mal bei uns vorbei würden uns freuen. Like hast du aufjedenfall 😎

  • Chris Corley
    Chris Corley 5 months ago

    Great freak'n low budget movie. Great cast. Good psychological thriller and horror drama. Nice to see what PG-13 can push extremely well. Loved it. 📽

  • Remmi Mundeling
    Remmi Mundeling 5 months ago

    Why is this one not on the Best of 2017 list!!! Get out aint got nothing on this bitch! But then again i live in Europe so this topic that is so relevent for you amaricans right know dont interest me one bit. I saw 12 years a slave and niceville and between those i got my racism topic fix that will last at least 8 years.

  • Smile JEM
    Smile JEM 5 months ago +2

    I felt like the movie was overrated

  • 4e4i
    4e4i 5 months ago

    The ending got me gasping ...

  • okir rama
    okir rama 5 months ago

    Why there's no spoiler???

  • Joseph Taylor
    Joseph Taylor 6 months ago

    Just got done watching this movie. And... Just wow. I mean, why does M. Night get so much hate? I saw The Happening when it came out in theaters. No, it wasn't good. But whatever. I got a refund. Moved on with my life. I saw his movie Signs when I was 14. Scared the shit out of me. Rewatched it now almost 10 years later and I appreciate it for what it is. I thought it was a good film. (I even loved the twist of Evil ((is that it? The elevator movie)) because.. fuck! I just wasn't expecting it!) Idk what it is about his movies that make everyone groan. Or reviewers on TVclip putz around a real or true opion because "better be careful what I say some people hate M. Night and might disagree!" Screw that. This was a great movie. M. Night or not, I would of still loved this movie. Get the hell over the stigma. No, he's not Spielberg. You know who is? Spielberg. He's M. Night. Imagine him directing Shaving Ryans Privates (I think that was the title) could you see it? Okay end of rant.

  • Patrick Innocent
    Patrick Innocent 6 months ago

    I have to disagree with the flashback comments. At first im like ok its like she is retreating mentally by recounting her child hood since she is in the predicament to cope. Then u see more and more then it just went off like a light bulb why she was so calm when they first got taken. Those flashbacks were needed. Granted yea M. Knight could of started off with her backstory in the beginning to make it less jarring then fast forward to where she was at the start of the film but I did mind the flashback option.
    Other then that yea I liked the film. Stick to it M. Knight. This is what u do best.

  • MrNoelJMIS
    MrNoelJMIS 6 months ago

    I don’t think it needs the tie in with unbreakable. It doesn’t even make sense really. I would’ve rather just stayed focused on the 23 fighting with the beast or something. I actually thought the other two girls wear extensions of the main girl… Like a superior DID kidnapped one with less personalities. Please don’t drag Bruce Willis back onto the screen for a movie that we will all hate!

  • EpicSheepGamer
    EpicSheepGamer 6 months ago +1

    Why is it that I am almost always the odd one out on some "good" movies? So many people said that this and "Don't Breathe" is excellent, but I just didn't feel the same about any of these two movies.
    I felt that James did a GREAT job and absolutely carried this film. Without him this movie might have flopped. I also like the general premise, but where this film absolutely lost me is at the slow pace and I did not like the twist. A BIT OF A SPOILER: I felt a bit off about the beast. I would have been fine with the beast just being a super psycho cannibal human identity, but the problem is: He actually turned into a f*cking beast (the beast kind of looked like Bautista's character from Guardians of the Galaxy under a certain light).
    This Twist kind of undermined the movie's theme and immersion value for me.
    As I mentioned above, this movie has a slow pace and it can get a bit tedious, especially for me. It was also not really that scary, but it was a bit unnerving at some points (thanks to James doing such a great job).
    Does anyone feel the same?

  • Sparkz Mentalz
    Sparkz Mentalz 7 months ago

    I liked Unbreakable. It would be cool to see David Dunn and The Beast collide.

  • /AmpedCottam/
    /AmpedCottam/ 7 months ago

    had to stop watching due to this guys hands robbing all of my attention jesus fucking christ his hands are like a fucking entity

  • Evan Nixon
    Evan Nixon 7 months ago

    i hate the beast

  • mohammad kako
    mohammad kako 7 months ago

    First of all thanks for the amazing review about split but very interesting in seeing the next interview about the next film GLASS

  • Potato Masher
    Potato Masher 7 months ago

    Why no spoiler talk for this movie?

  • Richard Tompkins
    Richard Tompkins 7 months ago

    I see Shyamalan can be a bit showy too at the end...yeah he's back in form

  • Mitch Connor
    Mitch Connor 7 months ago

    You really didn't understand this movie 😏

  • Warchief TTT
    Warchief TTT 7 months ago

    agree

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald 8 months ago

    Tbh, I don't get the hate towards M. Night Shaymalan, sure he's had a few missteps but for me, the only movie of his I flat out hated was After Earth, Last Airbender was a bad movie yes, but as someone who wasn't even a fan of the original source material I guess it didn't anger me as much as most people, and sidenote since I hear it a lot, this 1 movie isn't enough to warrant giving him the Worst Director Ever label, sorry Avatar fans but it's not. The Happening is of course laughable, Lady In The Water I found ambitious but still not good, The Village I actually think is ok, and I think Spilt, The Visit, Unbreakable, The Sixth Sense and Signs are all great movies. So it really confuses me when I constantly hear people say "Shaymalan is 1 of the worst directors ever!" Cause when you actually sit down and look at his filmography it's really not bad. I feel like Shaymalan ended up getting stuck with this image because so many people jumped on him and attacked him in his earlier days and spread all this negativity about him like gossip. Now sadly he's an easy target for a lot of shit talkers. The best way I can describe Shaymalan's name now is Fantastic Four (2015) It's not even half as bad as people built it up to be

  • Internet Vigilante
    Internet Vigilante 9 months ago

    This movie sucked so fucking much. The directing, the acting, fucking everything.

  • SoulBrandt
    SoulBrandt 9 months ago

    Those flashbacks are important, without the flashbacks the ending would've made no sense.

  • powerwegy
    powerwegy 9 months ago

    Onslaught is coming...

  • Jillian Brunelli
    Jillian Brunelli 9 months ago

    "the happening" is the lamest movie i have ever seen.

  • Hieillua
    Hieillua 9 months ago

    I totally don't agree with the critique on the Flashbacks and it being a slow burn.
    First of all. The flashbacks were there to develop the female lead. To show us WHY she was such a problem child at school and how she always was in a prison because of the abuse from her uncle. She escaped ''Kevin's'' grasp at the end only to go back to her other prison. Without the flashbacks we wouldn't know she was being abused. That also ties into her scars and Kevin seeing how she was ''pure''. That all tied together with the flashbacks. They weren't just flashbacks for the sake of flashbacks.
    I also didn't feel it was a slowburn. The pace was actually good. I never felt like it was going on too long. When I started the movie last night I actually wanted to watch just the first hour and save the other hour for today because I had to wake up early. However, that didn't happen because the movie took a hold of me and wouldn't let go. I never felt like stopping during a slower part of the movie. It felt like time flew while I was watching it.
    This movie was very solid. My only gripes with it was the jarring M. Night cameo and some of the weak supporting performances like the psychologist.

  • Sebastian Herzog
    Sebastian Herzog 9 months ago

    How did James mcavoy not even get nominated for an oscar

  • mega lawak
    mega lawak 9 months ago

    your hands need to be cuffed mannn...

  • Paddy McGuire
    Paddy McGuire 10 months ago +1

    stop moving your hands, you fuck

  • Resident Evilfan666
    Resident Evilfan666 10 months ago

    the main chick played by anya taylor joy is so beautiful and gorgeous women ever i love her role in this movie really good actress but i never seen her in the witch i know that it has bad reviews but this one of her in it this movies i will say Awesometacular

  • Vicky F
    Vicky F 10 months ago

    I think this movie is very unique and memorable. McAvoy is an amazing actor and one day he will be crowned as the best actor.

  • oscar ortiz
    oscar ortiz 10 months ago

    this movie is sht

  • im replying to this comment

    Why did the nigga turn into spiderman at the end?

  • Satan Himself
    Satan Himself 10 months ago

    it's like the third review disliking the flash backs for some reason

  • MrThreeWorlds
    MrThreeWorlds 11 months ago

    This movie fucking sucked. McAvoy had some good scenes, but the rest of the cast was pretty bad. Mediocre acting. It's like there's a good movie in here somewhere and the idea is neat but this movie is completely wasted potential. Maybe if a good director handled it, it might have been good. And what's up with that stupid M. night cameo? He's there for noe reason, and that stupid discussion about reheated chicken wings from hooters? Was that an in joke or something that I missed? Great idea for a film but very poorly executed.

  • Skinny Phatz
    Skinny Phatz 11 months ago

    I loved everything that Anya Taylor Joy has been in however I'm "SPLIT" on the ending of this movie.

  • snake I's
    snake I's 11 months ago

    lol not the airbender shit

  • Antonio Donofrio
    Antonio Donofrio 11 months ago

    Pure DOGSHITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

  • sportsMike87
    sportsMike87 11 months ago

    M Night is like Bay you either love or hate him

  • sportsMike87
    sportsMike87 11 months ago

    I liked the Visit!

  • harunotodoroki
    harunotodoroki 11 months ago

    You forgot the doctor who was great too

  • Adam G
    Adam G 11 months ago

    Boring, predictable, tension-less and a complete waste of a time. Not surprised Jeremy liked it. His low standards and all.

  • Tobey Muguire
    Tobey Muguire 11 months ago +1

    2:58 "McAvoy is Fanta" ?? 😂😂

  • Mr Blue
    Mr Blue 11 months ago +1

    This was one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. I heard that the next movie is going to be a sequel to both Unbreakable and Split. Bruce Willis had a small cameo in this film. Shyamalan revealed that this movie is connected to Unbreakable. Can't wait to see it

    • Mr Blue
      Mr Blue 11 months ago

      The next movie that is

  • Sergio Salinas
    Sergio Salinas Year ago +1

    how were the girls flashbacks shoe horned????????

  • NKRV6900000
    NKRV6900000 Year ago +1

    He never even mentioned the ending and the flash backs are to show why she handles the situation better than the other two girls?

  • Epic man 2.0
    Epic man 2.0 Year ago

    The movie is great just saw it today I would give it a 8 / 10 the movie was all over the place but that did not mean i enjoyed it

  • darkskull Jason
    darkskull Jason Year ago +1

    jeremy first off im a big fan of yours and untill now i agreed with every review you did since i started watching your reviews back in 2008. but for the first time ever i must say i disagree. i think the movie desereves at least a blue ray if not awesometacular, it was intense, intriguing and i was sitting on the edge of my seat through most of the movie

  • D Fens
    D Fens Year ago

    The IMDb cast list ruined the twist of this movie for me. They not only remove the comments board option, they ruined the twist of this movie. I'm officially deleting the app. Cunts!

  • Elsie Tagaloa
    Elsie Tagaloa Year ago

    I loved it!!! AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME ...great acting xo

  • Neeltje Schmidt
    Neeltje Schmidt Year ago

    I've watched this movie with my mom on my Raspberry Pie network and in my opion, it wasn't even that scary. But all in that, it was SO good!!!!!!!!

  • Seanbanks83
    Seanbanks83 Year ago

    This guy by far has the worst taste in movies

  • Johnny Blaze
    Johnny Blaze Year ago +1

    before you give james his oscar you gota give one to my boy jake. did you guys forget Nightcrawler!?!?!

  • wolverineiscool
    wolverineiscool Year ago

    i thought it was great to be honest, the slow burns in movies like the sixth sense is unbearable were it not for the ending but this movie didnt need to rely upon twist endings to be good, it had content in it right from the start to make it interesting, the performances are creepily real and it does carry the movie, im just glad m night has made a comeback, hope he keeps this streak

  • Lee Poling
    Lee Poling Year ago +1

    This movie did the same shit 10 cloverfield lane did to me. They were both fantastic movies up until the end. They both ruined themselves with stupid paranormal/sci-fi that felt out of place. 10 cloverfield lane with its aliens and split with its "I can walk on walls. Bullets don't hurt me." They both connected themselves to previous movies and I had no way of knowing this unless I'd seen them (had to look it up both times). Both had fantastic acting but shit endings that really ruin the entire movie for me.

    • Cirong Wang
      Cirong Wang 7 months ago

      Well probably for you, yeah sure. But judging by the ratings most of us liked it a lot.

    • mrcheesemunch
      mrcheesemunch Year ago

      I can kind of see what you mean but they did hint at it a lot throughout the movie so I don't feel it was out of place really, especially not with how the end scene connected itself to more paranormal stuff. It was intended to bridge a gap and everything before was a pretty solid movie.
      They talked about him becoming a powerful being a lot in a way that would suggest it's going to happen and it did, it's probably something we should have expected from M. Night but to be fair his movies haven't been as great for a while.

  • FlowUrbanFlow
    FlowUrbanFlow Year ago

    Really? I hated the main girl's role. She was kind of the one thing stopping them from getting out at first, and her stubbornness to help was dumb.

  • Felipe de Oliveira

    Jeremy didn't catch the cameo + movie connection ate the end of Split. One word: SHYAMAVERSE.

  • NastyStankyChicken

    Wait Jeremey you didn't even mention the ending man? What the fuck. One of the biggest and best cinematic endings ever. Never have I shouted at the top of my lungs in a move theatre before until Split.

  • i make music
    i make music Year ago +1

    best movie i have EVER seen!!!!

  • Alex Sanchez
    Alex Sanchez Year ago

    man all i gotta say is glass in 2019 is going to be a MASTERPIECE.

  • Derrick Nichols
    Derrick Nichols Year ago

    it was a bit slow, but enjoyable to watch

  • Al-Jay Magnifico
    Al-Jay Magnifico Year ago

    Wow, I disagree with Jeremy on this one.. not often that happens and the first time in a long time that I feel the rating was a disservice to a movie, for me Split was Awesometacular!

  • Kobalt_
    Kobalt_ Year ago

    I loved this movie.
    I disagree with Jeremy Jahn when he said the flashbacks were out of place. The flashbacks served a purpose and not only explains why the girl is the way she is, but also explains why she was spared at the end.

  • ShogunG
    ShogunG Year ago

    Trash movie

  • Light Yagami
    Light Yagami Year ago

    The Visit was great, I gave it 4/5

  • Light Yagami
    Light Yagami Year ago +1

    I wish there was more nudity, the chicks were hot!

  • Slicky Kid
    Slicky Kid Year ago

    This and the Sixths Sense are AMAZING!

  • fatima sahar
    fatima sahar Year ago

    So tell me...why doesn't McAvoy get bigger roles in Hollywood? How many times an actor needs to prove himself? Actors worst than him are making it big in the industry. He should have had a couple of Oscar nominations in his pocket by now.

  • Beo-Wulf13
    Beo-Wulf13 Year ago

    Dude, u didnt mention the stellar twist at the end. Though, u probs avoided that for spoiler reasons so I get it

  • Diamond Wolf
    Diamond Wolf Year ago

    The main girls isn't important in the movie the same would happen if she wasn't in it

  • Mopey S
    Mopey S Year ago

    definitly thought jeremy would have touched on the final scene in the diner
    to me that is the sign that Shyamalan has returned

  • Lavenia Hewes
    Lavenia Hewes Year ago +2

    I thought it was really good

  • James Segrue
    James Segrue Year ago

    Spoiler alert, The Vest is in the last scene of the movie, Squel time.

  • Comander
    Comander Year ago

    wtf this is a Buy it on blueray movie at LEAST maybe even awesometacular

  • Erick Alejandro
    Erick Alejandro Year ago

    No one is talking about the ending twist

  • Yehia Abdelrahman
    Yehia Abdelrahman Year ago +148

    McAvoy should be nominated for the best leading actor and the the best supporting actor!

    • burger5082
      burger5082 4 months ago

      He should get one nomination for one personality

    • Bedgypooks
      Bedgypooks 4 months ago +4

      Yehia Abdelrahman and best actress as Patricia

  • Gururaj Shenoy B
    Gururaj Shenoy B Year ago

    The poster of this movie has broken glass !!

  • Roland Camcena
    Roland Camcena Year ago

    Fucking swear to my life the worst movie ive ever seen like ever seen

  • Hack World
    Hack World Year ago

    Shaymalan is a piece of shit director and film maker this movie is dog shit for you jeremy to say this was not alcohol require is a low point for you. since the start when that idiot got inside the car to think the other girl didn't open the fucking door fast enough to get out and seek help is bullshit. but of course she stood like an idiot and put a tear cause he was about to use a spray that puts people to sleep. are you fucking kidding. when trapped this actor who plays the dumb multiple personalities is hilarious inaccurate, and the editing is so confusing stupid. I lost my money cause of your ass and now. but it is my fault to believe that shaymala actually made a good movie LOL, that will never happen that director is shit it self. please shaymalan do not make no more movies you suck.

  • Madeus Gerstenlauer
    Madeus Gerstenlauer Year ago +1

    I really hope James McAvoy sorry if I spelt his name wrong, gets nominated for best actor

  • Matheus Souza
    Matheus Souza Year ago +3

    all the actress in this film are so fucking hot, geez

  • Ecco The Dolphin
    Ecco The Dolphin Year ago

    THIS MOVIE SUCKED ASS!

  • AgentChico
    AgentChico Year ago

    just seen this movie. it was okay

  • Darren Thorsen
    Darren Thorsen Year ago

    To me, this movie was just....meh...

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell Year ago

    If Shyamalan calls Mark Wahlberg now, would he wanna work with Shyamalan now?
    I've heard he hated his job in The Happening because Shyamalan didn't know how to explore his acting skills, unlike James McAvoy

  • Penguin Publisher
    Penguin Publisher Year ago +1

    Split is decent, I think that The Visit had a better twist and felt genuinely creepier.
    Although, James McAvoy and Anya Taylor-Joy (the main girl) deserve major props for their acting chops in this film.

  • lalo landa
    lalo landa Year ago

    no alcohol?
    this movie deserves
    buy in blue ray

    • George
      George Year ago +1

      abraham Escalante bane voice...for you

  • HC
    HC Year ago

    horrific all around except for James mcavoy..I don't want to blame the other actors as it is script but I wanted to punch this movie in the proverbial head

  • John Brown
    John Brown Year ago

    Ok, so the question is, what is up with the girl in the movie. Here are a few thoughts. The car scene was very interesting. Both of the girls (his original targets) were in the back and were sprayed. He didn't spray her let alone pay attention to her until she made noise trying to open the door to escape. She also mentioned something interesting to the 9 year old personality. She tried to gain his trust by relating to him stating that she got in trouble on purpose to get away from everybody. Even in the opening shot of the movie she is isolated at one end of the table and everyone is ignoring her as if they don't see her........ get my drift? Maybe during the years of her abuse by her uncle she was able to develop an ability to "escape" maybe she can become "invisible". Not in the traditional comic book sense but more of the ability to control people's perception of her to the point where she is totally ignored. Aren't scientists in the real world working on cloaking technology? What do you guys think.

  • kenneth minear
    kenneth minear Year ago

    a good time if you're drunk, lumbering, predictable, monotonous with superb performances especially by james mcavoy

  • Brian HL
    Brian HL Year ago

    The lesson in this movie was that getting molested as a child will later save your life as an adult.