The Great Wall - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 715

  • Armaan Lambra
    Armaan Lambra 2 days ago

    You could say....


    It was the mediocre wall bahahahahaha
    kill me now

  • FISHING WITH PHAM
    FISHING WITH PHAM 19 days ago

    i thought it was really good the only thing they got wrong was there are suppose to be imperial guards in the capital guarding the emperor who are best of the best in martial arts not even then generals can defeat

  • westerntui
    westerntui Month ago

    Dam this guys annoying delete by latz.

  • Jack Alpha
    Jack Alpha 2 months ago

    excellent, enjoyable action movie, beats all marvel super-poop by a mile.

  • Wentao Feng
    Wentao Feng 5 months ago

    Dont blame Matt Damon, having a foreign actor in a Chinese movie is not the reason why this film is not successful. Just look at The Last Samurai, the issue is how to blend the foreign actor into this new set of culture and world

  • K. The Artist
    K. The Artist 5 months ago

    I liked this movie a lot. I'll probably buy it on Blu-ray when I get the chance

  • codafett
    codafett 8 months ago

    I thought it was cool, but definitely needed some work

  • henry pendle
    henry pendle 10 months ago

    This is my Favorite movie of 2017.

  • Barzillai Banogon
    Barzillai Banogon 10 months ago

    I agree with the first part being interesting but for other reasons. It really felt like a big ad for China. Lol. There was so much excessiveness to it, such as the brightness of the color of the uniform which was far from realistic(i mean, at least make it look a little believable); then the drummers with all those kung fu stuff: wth was that for?; then all the acrobatic diving done by those poor blue ladies...i mean, why not just throw the friggin' spears?

  • Arturo Gonzalez
    Arturo Gonzalez 11 months ago

    Jeremy is just being nice.

  • Arturo Gonzalez
    Arturo Gonzalez 11 months ago

    Lmfao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Matt Damon you are so fucking GAY!! LOL!!!! THIS MOVIE IS SO RETARDED!!!

  • Tiara J Williams
    Tiara J Williams 11 months ago

    This movie is white washed

  • Christ Emiya
    Christ Emiya 11 months ago

    I think this movie would've been great if it was a two-part movie
    Not just to get to know the characters better but to let the story unraveled and hopefully get a part 3 but that's just me.

  • Piggy Oink Oink
    Piggy Oink Oink Year ago

    Jason Bourne and Oberyn Martell teaming up with the Chinese Power Rangers to fend off a swarm of Zerglings

  • Bunthan Sephieroth Kong

    Could of been better a folklore basically what the hell shouldn’t they work together to make it better. Not scramble for one another to make them look better then another. Two great halves to melt like oil and fire..... What you scared of should of called it the great fall

  • YipYapYoup
    YipYapYoup Year ago

    I thought this movie was complete shit. The monsters are extremely bland so the very few action scenes are uninteresting, and the rest is filled with boring clichés. The whole sub plot about stealing black powder goes no where and I absolutely hate the "defeat the queen and they'll somehow all die" trope.

  • Manny Reyes
    Manny Reyes Year ago

    I liked the movie it wasn’t that bad.

  • Swerty Que
    Swerty Que Year ago

    Why China shouldn't make Hollywood blockbusters

  • Brian Austin
    Brian Austin Year ago

    Just finished it and good breakdown! Not a good movie I predict will be in the bargain bin at Walmart sooner than later

  • Marty3317
    Marty3317 Year ago

    PIECE OF SHIT!! I want the time I lost back!!!!DONT WATCH THIS SHITTY MOVIE!!! If it was free I would bitch about how shitty this movie was..Yes, it's that bad!!

  • David Smith
    David Smith Year ago

    i liked it

  • Duality
    Duality Year ago

    it was fun to watch tho. lol

  • John D'Isselt
    John D'Isselt Year ago

    I love how no one talks about the fact that in Infernal Affairs Andy Lau plays the character Matt Damon's character is based on in the Departed.

  • BRONX TITAN
    BRONX TITAN Year ago

    I actually liked it. Could have been better but I love the concept.

  • Pip's Tips: Films in 5

    Agreed the opening act is colourful, energetic and epic - briefly recalls Hero et al

  • Em Mezco
    Em Mezco Year ago

    Me and my bf painfully watched this movie in the theaters cuz neither of us had our ID to see John Wick 2 😑😑😂😂

  • Ned Rick
    Ned Rick Year ago

    Me and my wife just watched this and she goes "wow so the Chinese saved us all" I just had to smh. And ask her were u going to hug the fish and chip shop owner and thank him for his service to the world against the tao tai's

  • tiaopiak
    tiaopiak Year ago

    Enjoy this movie as a popcorn flick, I certainly did.

  • Bingo Bango
    Bingo Bango Year ago +1

    In the second I saw the generals, I inmediatly thought about the Power Rangers. XD
    #GoGoPowerRangers!

  • Hristo Donev
    Hristo Donev Year ago +3

    Meh...could have spent this hour and a half better :D

    • HuntSD
      HuntSD Year ago

      Hristo Donev That was one hour and a half? It felt like an eternity for it to end.

  • ElijahPw
    ElijahPw Year ago

    I like the colorful armor and Jing Tian is pretty. I also like the battle, the design and the queen mechanism of Tao Tei hordes (alien from outer space basically). Who doesn't like Matt Damon, Oberon, Dafoe, Andy Lau but they given so little to work with and even the small amount is garbage. So, in the end, its a wasted potential and money.

  • Piggy Oink Oink
    Piggy Oink Oink Year ago

    Hey, it wasn't Matt Damon's best performance, but at least we got a horde of shoulder-eyed hyena frogs commanded by a big momma with an entourage of Leatherbacks 😂😂😂

  • Rich Orwell
    Rich Orwell Year ago

    Take your meds

  • The Lost Soul
    The Lost Soul Year ago

    yikes bad hair day.

  • wolverineiscool
    wolverineiscool Year ago

    Lackluster lazy movie for kids who like disney cartoon movies

  • Johnk H%100
    Johnk H%100 Year ago

    I think this was better than wonder woman.

  • Ben McDonald
    Ben McDonald Year ago

    This movie feels like a 4 grader's fantasy about the Great Wall Of China because he finds the actual history of it boring

  • Babar Asghar
    Babar Asghar Year ago

    what a disappointment this movie was ... not a single thing was practical n logical in it ...
    thanks im not alone felling like this

  • Charlie S
    Charlie S Year ago

    Great visuals and vibe of the first part was really good. That's it though.

  • Annie Moses
    Annie Moses Year ago +1

    honestly I really liked this film, it actually kept me interested through out

  • Leave Blank
    Leave Blank Year ago

    YES!!! I'm glad that I wasn't the only one that thought of LOTR during the first battle. I agree completely with JJ's comment about how After shit calms down and we need to care about the characters, I didn't really care about the characters.

  • Silver Atlas
    Silver Atlas Year ago

    Good mindless fun. One of those movies that's not total garbage yet isn't that good either, but you can enjoy it if you're going in with the mindset of it being a goofy action movie with some cool concepts and visuals. I will say though, despite the CGI being kinda lower quality, the monster designs themselves were unique and interesting. Also props to it being one of the few movies to actually get a nearly entirely Chinese cast to play Chinese characters unlike a certain other movie. *COUGH COUGH GODS OF EGYPT COUGH*

  • Call Me Hunky
    Call Me Hunky Year ago +1

    This movie was not good, but VERY entertaining. I wasn't bored one bit and if you wanna just sit back and watch a movie without critiquing every bit of it, then you'll enjoy this movie

    • HuntSD
      HuntSD Year ago

      Call Me Hunky Sure the film was entertaining but my problem with it that it never made me care.

  • LochNess 64
    LochNess 64 Year ago

    I watched this movie for Luhan but I really did enjoy the movie.

  • countreekidd
    countreekidd Year ago

    I liked it.

  • Jérémie Bradette
    Jérémie Bradette Year ago +1

    They should hire a new writer, rework the premisse a bit and invest in good CGI to make a god-like anime

  • Yang Mi Bee
    Yang Mi Bee Year ago

    I only liked it because of Luhan, Jing Tian, Andy Lau and the visuals

  • leadspot
    leadspot Year ago

    Jing Tian for Mulan!

  • Chinedu Opara
    Chinedu Opara Year ago

    I really enjoyed this film! Maybe I have lower standards, I dunno.

  • badfoody
    badfoody Year ago

    sad that this movie didn't make enough. It was original and we don't get enough original films anymore

  • 123Jokkmokk123
    123Jokkmokk123 Year ago

    I watched this movie drunk as a sailor in Singapore. It makes it better!

  • David Stefanov
    David Stefanov Year ago

    dude's am I the only one who is watching the review after watching the movie?

  • Jay Ed.90
    Jay Ed.90 Year ago

    I don't know who copied who but this review is almost identical to the Chris Stuckmann's one..but I agree the movie was a big pile of shit.

  • iEatPusiLikeiHaveaDisease

    i liked the movie. i think im easily entertained.

  • Shahbaz Gul
    Shahbaz Gul Year ago

    Theee Great Wall full movieeee heeere => twitter.com/1b17b07d42c4368f3/status/845455440032890880

  • Cor sijtsma
    Cor sijtsma Year ago

    this movie was ok, but damn those drums and the music were phenominal!

  • STADFISH TV
    STADFISH TV Year ago

    I actually enjoyed the movie

  • Suga G
    Suga G Year ago

    I disagree, this was an awesome movie

  • cmon wow
    cmon wow Year ago

    Thank you for the review fuck face

  • kieran Milner
    kieran Milner Year ago

    this film is the king of aids something you just don't want

  • MrSnapy1
    MrSnapy1 Year ago

    From the first scenes I was turned off by the bungy cord flying spear warriors.Why not just throw the spears off the wall and survive? No they had to bungy down there to die for dramatic effect.A small scene but ruined any credibility the whole army cause had the rest of the movie for me.

  • w_R Andrs
    w_R Andrs Year ago

    Yet another movie that could've have been great... I mean monsters. Again... I was hoping this was as Jeremey pointed out "factions fighting each other for the lands" And the enemy (my BIGGEST let down) i was hoping to be mongolians.
    Why wasn't there mongolians they fought...? Do u know how cliché it is to have magical or fictional beings as the anti-protagonist?
    Urgh...

  • Gibberish Mike
    Gibberish Mike Year ago

    I had fun watching the Great Wall. The beginning part of the movie was the best, middle part was kinda boring, the ending was alright. This movie is a lot better than most movies produced/directed in China.

  • MilTacticsandStuff

    The guy in 'The Shack' killed his own daughter-I will keep posting this comment until YOU, Jeremy Jahns, review that movie and agree :).

  • ManlyPelican
    ManlyPelican Year ago

    i really liked it, sure the characters weren't intresting but it had cool moment that i really liked.

  • MrMLaidlaw
    MrMLaidlaw Year ago +1

    I enjoyed this movie more than Logan

  • Hayden Kwok
    Hayden Kwok Year ago

    TBH the only reason why people enjoy this movie is because of the battles. But the fact that there are only like 3 makes it kindle boring but cool at the same time.

  • Hayden Kwok
    Hayden Kwok Year ago

    The great BALLSSSSSS of GINA!!!!!

  • Ad N
    Ad N Year ago

    Plus: cool war armors, some part of the battles are also cool.. Minus: story, bad cgi for the monsters, template boring plot. The producers shouldve choose better people to make this movie.. They can make like LOTR kinda movie, also with strategy of each generals i expect they have some skills, either martial arts or even superpower, hell the enemies are monsters.. 6/10.

  • King's League
    King's League Year ago

    also the crane corps are horribly just a waist off life. "lets dangle young attractive women on ropes so they can repell down into this horde of monsters and hopefully kills 1-2 of them" "Brilliant!" "Oh and you know those giant blades and all our gunpowder weapons?" "Yeah?" "How about we dont use them until the second wave." "My god you're a genius."

  • Cameron Davis
    Cameron Davis Year ago

    Gotta say I agree but was thinking the rateing was more of a its a good time if your drunk, or stoned, yep now it's a party.

  • Nsanda Pesu
    Nsanda Pesu Year ago

    I really liked this movie. It was interesting and it looked great.

  • Seosamh Wray
    Seosamh Wray Year ago

    One arrow wouldn't have cut it. They needed something with more force and the Queen's guards would've recovered before more could be fired to an extent where it'd go down.

  • Ben
    Ben Year ago

    Thanks a lot, Jeremy... We wanted to watch this movie with a friend, after watching your review, fuck it, we won't gona watch it.

  • lexxon11
    lexxon11 Year ago

    This was a great movie. I was nervous because it received bad reviews. but it has a consistent point, action, a little cheesy( i like cheesy). 7 out of 10

  • Manel S.Bento
    Manel S.Bento Year ago

    Guys, I need some help!
    I'm from Europe and here we don't use the letter-grade system. From what I found online there are 2/3 tables with conversion to 1-10, I just want to know which one is the correct one or the one appropriated for movies?
    Examples: A- can be 9.0-9.2 | 8.0-8.6 from what I saw online... Some say F = 0-5.9, others say it's from 1-19 ...
    Someone, please?

  • nimajneb106
    nimajneb106 Year ago

    honestly thou i felt they did a good job of putting the matt there without making him the chosen one.

  • Monowarul Haque
    Monowarul Haque Year ago

    Watch TTThe Greaaaat Waaaall online heeere => twitter.com/68f5c63c93e68bff6/status/834598911650041856

  • harry sri
    harry sri Year ago

    those lizards looked delicious

  • Asif Ali
    Asif Ali Year ago

    thanks jeremy I nearly choked on my tea when you said the movie starts to trip over it own dick lmao 😂😭

  • Diana Castro
    Diana Castro Year ago

    So you didn't watch Warcraft, but watched this? When you didn't made a video on The Babadook it was kind of sad, but this is sadder.

  • Juztin
    Juztin Year ago

    AWFUL

  • TH3 T0UCH
    TH3 T0UCH Year ago

    If they re did the film and rewrote it to just be set on the wall, and the soldiers are defending the wall to the last man... that would be cool. It would have a helms deep vibe to it. Also, what if you have arguments between the ranks (portrayed by the colours of armour). This would add a bit of tension to the film and also give the main characters something interesting to do. Keep the army together and they will survive the onslaught.
    I liked the design of the armour and the creatures and some of the action set pieces were entertaining and clever (like the fog at the wall sequence), but it did feel very choppy towards the end. If it had a little bit more room to breath as a film, I think we would have gotten much more likeable characters and a decent or at least entertaining epic :)

  • PandaGamers
    PandaGamers Year ago +1

    I found your channel and i laught.
    +1 Sub and like
    xD

  • Chino Wantan
    Chino Wantan Year ago +1

    For the first time on mi ENTIRE LIFE I felt sleep on the cinema

  • Vanessa M
    Vanessa M Year ago

    Isn't it a bit ironic that the ad I had to watch before the video was the trailer of this movie...?

  • κωστας μαυρομάτης

    i was really whanted this movie to be something else .... love the combination between real life events with some fiction in a movie but this was a little over the top . imagine at the end if our heroes wake up from the effects of a drug that they where given them and realise that all of this things where in fact men slawtered ..... their enemies and they just saw them as they told them they are .... just saying

  • shaquille sheppard

    I watched it last night in the cinema it was ok I enjoyed it

  • That Guy
    That Guy Year ago

    funny how Hollywood always has white man saving the native species. haha when in reality they manipulate extort and destroy haha

  • Kevin Mclay
    Kevin Mclay Year ago

    I enjoyed it but he's right about the last act. I left to take a piss gone for 5 minutes came back and it felt like I'd been gone for 30. But it is a enjoyable watch.

  • Carl
    Carl Year ago

    I was watching movie laughing while saying "chinese pussy is white man's kryptonite"

  • Xenofag Uprising
    Xenofag Uprising Year ago

    I loved the creature design and costuming honestly.

  • Steven Chavez
    Steven Chavez Year ago

    Am i the only one who though matt damon was mark whelberg?

  • Kelly4370
    Kelly4370 Year ago +1

    I just seen the "Great Wall"... I haven't been following movies for a while now... I really like it. If you think like the character of Matt Damon... It's Excellent... If you watch the movie as a "Realist", it's good....

  • Faialaga Tanuvasa
    Faialaga Tanuvasa Year ago +3

    idk but the movie is fuckin awesome couldn't stop thinking about it, i say this dude doesn't like matt damon

  • erick villagrana
    erick villagrana Year ago

    The Great Wall of Trump!!

  • steeve gaming
    steeve gaming Year ago

    he lying go watch it its awesome watched it in 3d

  • Ronaq Sahni
    Ronaq Sahni Year ago

    If there's a sequel to this movie, I bet it'll take place in America and Mexico/

  • Ab R
    Ab R Year ago +7

    Duuuuuuuuuuude...NOOOOO!! Come on! They tried HARD! FIRST time I actually enjoyed a movie with a main 'western' character in an 'eastern' setting.. I mean, yeah, his skills set him apart and bla bla, in a world with so many martial artists it's unfathomable they went for Matt goddamn Damon be the one doing all the crazy stunts but come on. That whole 'you could have just shot the guy' tirade is a bit forced.. These are goddamn tao tei.. And this is their queen they're trying to kill.. Hard to kill should not need to be spelled out. You want to attack weaknesses, have a go at why o why an accomplished army which trained for 60 years suddenly need the advice of some random white dude (or why they are even invited at a goddamn war council a day after being no more than mistrusted criminals).. Pacing was alright, visuals were awesome and people relative movements were actually ok.. I am just glad they didn't effin kiss. That. Would. Have. Ruined. The. Movie.

  • listener 2920
    listener 2920 Year ago

    It honestly felt like a starship troopers combined with lord of the rings in it it would have been cool for it to be as long as a lord of the rings movie but mor batles.