Pacific Rim: Uprising - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 2 227

  • asifur rahman
    asifur rahman 15 hours ago

    Pacific Rim first one incredible. it was one of the best anime turned into a big screen movie. it totally taken from Evangelion n u can see that if u watch the anime.

  • Lauren Fletcher
    Lauren Fletcher 20 hours ago

    rewatching this review just for the cute doggies

  • Isaiah Lequay
    Isaiah Lequay Day ago

    Aha your reviews are hilarious

  • AA 15
    AA 15 Day ago +1

    why did they involve John Boyega in all this shit tbh the movie was horrible. talented actor in a shitty ass movie smh wasn’t worth my money or time lmao

  • Yung Wells
    Yung Wells 2 days ago

    I actually liked it. Hot asians btw

  • Aimopotis 80
    Aimopotis 80 2 days ago

    It was power rangers for the new generation.

  • Atheist Lego
    Atheist Lego 5 days ago

    Bwhahah fuuck you pacific rim uprising fanboys or gals let’s hope they never make another one

  • Toren Johnson
    Toren Johnson 5 days ago

    Directed by very talented hand...This means a lot!!!

  • Richard Birdsong
    Richard Birdsong 6 days ago

    I actually enjoyed this movie a lot.

  • SpreadBox
    SpreadBox 6 days ago

    Just watched it and loved it. Preferred it to part 1

  • zekrom fuisionHaQo2
    zekrom fuisionHaQo2 6 days ago

    The action was good but the story was horrible

  • AnIrishMusician
    AnIrishMusician 8 days ago

    The minute I saw the teaser trailer, I was scared of the movie. Just look at that CGI.

  • Im a nigger and im fast as fucc boii

    Me and my friend were at the theatre then the girl says "Gipsy Avenger" and my dumbass non movie fan straight up asked "Is he an Avenger?,will he be in Infinity war?"

  • Kathryn Victorian
    Kathryn Victorian 9 days ago

    I want to cuddle with your pups.

  • RYU Nap
    RYU Nap 9 days ago

    That Siberia scene was so unnecessary i think

  • Rip & Tear gaming
    Rip & Tear gaming 10 days ago

    The fists Pacific rim has a very dear place in my hart and I went in to the second Pacific rim with faith that that action would be good but that would be the only good thing about it but I felt the did an amazing job telling a good and engaging story and I really liked uprising. The only problem I had with it was that it didn’t have as good of a cast of supporting characters as the first movie did and it change the intent of the monster attacks. But other than that I really enjoyed this movie

  • Zaku II Zaki
    Zaku II Zaki 11 days ago +1

    Just watched Pacific Rim 1 at Netflix. Keep putting it in the backburner of what almost 5 years and finally got around to watch it. I LOVED IT! PR1 is definitely flawed. Those who watch the japanese Godzilla movies or even the Ultraman movies will know the human part will always be campy. Giant Robots vs Giant Monsters. The director of PR1 made a knowing homage by making the human part in PR1 campy too. Not overboard but watching PR1 you get the vibe of the old godzilla/ultraman movies. But at the same time there is some heart and sincerity in the human camp, which is a nice touch. And I appreciate how the Kaiju are portrayed as serious threat. The giant mechs/jaegars, people and pilots die when the Kaiju show up. That's how you set tension - by showcasing the villian as a legitimate threat to the hero/es. Most movies seem to forget that now days. Definitely worth a watch Pacific Rim 1 though it will be a hit or miss.^^

  • zam023
    zam023 11 days ago

    I found Pacific Rim: Uprising much better than the first Pacific Rim.
    You sound so butt hurt or even jealous that the 2nd movie is better than you nitpick on little things.
    When I entered the cinema I didn't have much expectation for it to be a better movie than the first one, because of Boyega. Don't like him that much after watching Star Wars: The Last Jedi.
    By the end of the movie though, I really liked Uprising much more the 1st movie. Looking forward to the 3rd part with some Gundam influenced action.

  • Alcatraz Gaming
    Alcatraz Gaming 13 days ago

    i went for giant mechs killing monsters and i was not disappointed

  • TiagoWazzup
    TiagoWazzup 13 days ago

    You had the guy who didn't want to become a pilot but you know he´ll eventually do it, 2 guys who don't like each other but eventually do, the two girls who don't like each other when they meet but by the end they do, a kid building a Yager by herself, the jokes :/ I found so much stuff horrible that I can't even remember all, my brain blocked it!

  • TiagoWazzup
    TiagoWazzup 14 days ago

    I didn't like this movie, the robots and the fight scenes were cool but the parts with the humans sucked! Every time they started talking I wished they would skip to the robot scenes. Cliches after cliches after cliches. Every scene with dialogue was a cliche :/ and they even put memes on the movie. Nope, they ruined del toro vision.
    You had the guy who didn't want to become a pilot but you know he´ll eventually do it, 2 guys who don't like each other but eventually do, the two girls who don't like each other when they meet but by the end they do, a kid building a Yager by herself, the jokes :/ I found so much stuff horrible that I can't even remember all, my brain blocked it!

  • EcruosNepo
    EcruosNepo 14 days ago

    I think the lack of more connection to the previous film and the Chinese girl was forced to much in the story are what I don't like about the movie.

  • RyoHazuki224
    RyoHazuki224 15 days ago

    I actually enjoyed the second movie slightly more than the first. Story-wise you don't expect much, it's giant robots fighting giant monsters. But I knew that going into the first movie and knew that going into the second.
    I'll tell you why I had more fun in this movie though: Lack of rain/night fighting. The first movie almost all of the big action set pieces were at night and usually in the rain. Which is cool, gives it a slick style for sure. But in CGI effects, making things rainy and dark, you can hide a lot of the flaws in your effects easier. The second movie, MOST of the fights were set in the day, bright, colorful day fights. That made the fights more enjoyable to me because the CGI was really solid and made for spectacular action!
    And sure, the story was a little out there, but you already had an established story from the first one, you didn't have to do a lot of world-building in this so they can at least focus on a whole new problem, which I liked the direction they went. And the twist kinda surprised me, I was expecting a cliche to happen but when it did it was twisted a bit, so I liked that.

  • José Sarango
    José Sarango 15 days ago

    you're gonna review Cobra Kai, right?

  • AnimeGirl4891
    AnimeGirl4891 15 days ago

    *gasp* Puppies! Click.

  • Dusty Crophopper 97
    Dusty Crophopper 97 15 days ago

    I saw it today. It wasn't perfect, but it certainly was enjoyable. 7/10

  • ilovevirtualconsole
    ilovevirtualconsole 15 days ago

    Completely agree with you on your rating Jeremy. Just saw this yesterday and I barely remember anything.

  • Kevin Reynart
    Kevin Reynart 16 days ago

    Jeremy, your puppies are SO CUTE!!!

  • Adino1
    Adino1 16 days ago +1

    Sweet shirt.

  • Elias Boomstick
    Elias Boomstick 16 days ago

    Those puppies stare into my soul...

  • kido
    kido 17 days ago

    I love Pacific Rim, but to say this movie is completely inferior is unfair. John Boyega, Scott Eastwood, and the girl are way better characters than the main characters in the original. Also the original movie was a cliche and wasnt copmpletely aware of itself, keep in mind i love the original so don't comment hate, Id argue this movie was more self aware. Also the Charlie Day misdirection was a great misdirection of his character.But i still do agree the first is better, because it was the first time ive had so much fun in a movie

  • lolcompany4u
    lolcompany4u 17 days ago

    You know what could have help the sequel not killing MAKO MORI IN THE FIRST 30 MIN, make her into a main character and let John Boyega grow as a character with her help.

  • Rocio Munoz
    Rocio Munoz 17 days ago

    More pups please!

  • Anarion99 GamesNTechReviews

    He's right. He did not use a SINGLE clip. Wth TVclip!

  • Andre Horst
    Andre Horst 17 days ago

    Send me your doom shirt pls

  • Panji Sulaksono
    Panji Sulaksono 17 days ago

    i think what i saw in the theater last week was the best episode of power ranger i've ever seen

  • Bigtrek34
    Bigtrek34 18 days ago

    I love this movie!!! it was so fun!!!

  • Yi Zheng Lu
    Yi Zheng Lu 18 days ago

    Wow been 5 years

  • Solaris100
    Solaris100 18 days ago

    I liked this more than the first part. A fun romp nothing more.

  • Josiah Baughman
    Josiah Baughman 18 days ago

    Your gripes with this movie make no seance to me at all, and although yes Gypsy and Danger are adorable because I love dogs and I have a bulldog myself but I'm still pissed because your problems make no seance to me at all I've seen this movie twice and I don't get what you or any other critics are saying, just once Jeremy just have fun with a movie, remember what you said on your top 10 movies of 2015 you said your a fan of movies first and critique movies second but you have just been judging since 2016 come on!

  • Tobey Muguire
    Tobey Muguire 18 days ago

    I think you should do all of your reviews with your dogs!

  • rin okok
    rin okok 18 days ago

    I saw the movie yesterday in 3D and in all honesty it was okay but not terrible

  • Struggler 24
    Struggler 24 18 days ago

    THE DOGS 😍

  • Proxximo Amandil
    Proxximo Amandil 18 days ago

    That Independence Day Thing was veeeery mean!

  • josue gutierrez
    josue gutierrez 19 days ago

    The movie was fucking awful I want my money back it kill it for me hope Guillermo fix this shit soon and some of the actor were missing and I mean the main ones from the last one

  • Paulo Benologa
    Paulo Benologa 19 days ago

    To be fair, if you watched the first movie, you'd understand how come the kaijus came in like almost at the last act of the second movie, simply because there are no more kaijus in the world currently and the great kaiju war ended 10yrs ago.

  • Racoon 9MM
    Racoon 9MM 19 days ago

    Still can't believe that kid died in the battle.

  • Eidrian111
    Eidrian111 19 days ago

    The biggest flaw with uprising was that guillermo del toro wasn’t directing. The new director took a Transformers approach that sucked ass. I also found the kids fucking annoying. And why the fuck are children in a military base? Aren’t they supposed to finish school then enlisting for the army? This was a major disappointment the first one is my personal favourite.

  • SpydeyDan
    SpydeyDan 20 days ago

    Pacific Rim Uprising is like a baseball game where every single player bunts.

  • Andy's Art Corner
    Andy's Art Corner 20 days ago

    For me personally pacific rim uprising was a big... meh... The first one is way better than the second one. Also hey used the same exact cliches from the first movie and most of it looked more like a power rangers thing. It really isn’t any different from the first one and the first half of the movie leaves you completely confused and wondering what’s going on. And honestly, when I figured out who the main bad guy was, I was kind of disappointed. I’m not saying the movie was bad. Hell no. I liked it for the fight scenes cuz there was a lot of intriguing action. I’m just saying that I would much recommend to wait till it comes up on Netflix instead of paying to see it in the theatres. That’s just my opinion.👍🏻👎🏻👏🏻👌🏻🙂

  • Vadim Deylgat
    Vadim Deylgat 20 days ago

    Just watched Uprising with my 8yo son. He loved it. Me,...not so much. Uprising feels more like a video game. I didn’t care about the characters, I didn’t believe many of the set ups, I hated the end.
    They had a “tiny” jaeger, I personally hoped they would kill the last kaiju by dropping it into the jaws of the big beast and work its way into the kaiju brain. Bang! I even have the right quote for it: “bigger isn’t always better”.
    Damn, I could write a better script for this than whoever ended up writing the final draft.

  • Noah grant
    Noah grant 20 days ago

    Pacific rim 2 takes a lot of its stuff from the first one its like a remake

  • firestonegraywolf
    firestonegraywolf 20 days ago

    pacific rim 2 was dumb as fuck..SERIOUSLY NO ADULT PILOTS?? NO OTHER REGION HAD BASES?? WHAT KIND OF BULLSHIT...first one was better, we need more mech movies

  • Joe Kamka
    Joe Kamka 20 days ago

    CGI is ruining movies.

  • Ben Branch
    Ben Branch 21 day ago

    Just saw it a few hours ago and that movie was trash, however I didn't see the first one

  • Matthew Mata
    Matthew Mata 21 day ago

    Did anyone else see the Gundam Easter Egg...I know nothing if the Universe but woukd love to see a live action

  • Shonhaji Putra
    Shonhaji Putra 21 day ago

    what

  • Nerd1090
    Nerd1090 21 day ago

    I loved this movie, not as great as the first one, but I would recommend you see it if you liked the first one

  • Alfredo Hall
    Alfredo Hall 21 day ago

    I saw the movie not even an hour ago. I thought it was terrible. The first half of the movie should have been completely cut out, and then the ending just was kinda there. Went in hopeful, went out sad. 4/10.

  • Königstiger
    Königstiger 21 day ago

    🐶 🐶

  • Bobby M
    Bobby M 21 day ago

    I just watched the movie. Liked it, but can see it flop in the grand scheme of things... Loved the first one for sure :)

  • MOZI KITTEN
    MOZI KITTEN 21 day ago

    I loved it personally

  • Iwillone
    Iwillone 21 day ago

    JB was really good in this movie. Had fun with this one but PR 1 is still better

  • Darkraes743
    Darkraes743 21 day ago

    This was a better power rangers movie than the last Power Rangers movie

  • terrel limjoco
    terrel limjoco 21 day ago

    for me this is the best robot movie ever. coz if youre gonna watch something liek this movie, for me im looking for action, graphics, 3d works, designs, destructions... all the fantasies when you were a kid and this movie gives it all. its full of action, destruction of buildings, its so crazy and badass. im not looking for story line, drama shits. all i need is a badass action.

  • Joshua Rose
    Joshua Rose 22 days ago

    This movie gave me mesothelioma

  • gor9027
    gor9027 22 days ago

    Puppies!!!

  • violeteyez17
    violeteyez17 22 days ago

    Weird. I liked this one better than the first one.

  • Marius Koen
    Marius Koen 22 days ago

    I loved the first one?

  • Arturo Torres
    Arturo Torres 22 days ago

    Those adorable cute puppies, Gypsy and Danger, need to be on more videos! Bring them on Tales of the Comments section!!!

  • May
    May 22 days ago +1

    Gypsy! Danger! ❤❤❤❤❤

  • Neckronik
    Neckronik 22 days ago

    Gundam Exia blue looks amazing

  • adam rickster
    adam rickster 22 days ago

    Jeremy is hot af!!!😙

  • Ankit Das
    Ankit Das 22 days ago

    PACIFIC RIM UPRISING was everything TRANSFORMERS should have been AND everything PACIFIC RIM should have been not. throw in POWER RANGER somewhere in there too cuz it reminded me of it.. man these 3 franchises should be interconnected

  • Joshua Amade
    Joshua Amade 23 days ago

    We need more of your dogs on this channel

  • MrBalsisr
    MrBalsisr 23 days ago

    Just watched it after I saw your review, it’s at least a good time no alcohol required😏

  • EDY el O
    EDY el O 23 days ago

    So a movie about monsters and robots where the monsters are mostly absent.
    Thanks mate, not wasting my money on that crap.

  • Ben S
    Ben S 23 days ago

    The puppy on the left... oh ma gerd to adorable

  • Denis Desmond
    Denis Desmond 23 days ago

    shit sequel

  • wolfpup9487
    wolfpup9487 23 days ago

    I enjoyed the movie but I agree on all points. The 1st was better, Boyega was fantastic, that one plot point was weird, and it dragged at certain points. Also Gypsy and Danger are adorable

  • No Chill
    No Chill 23 days ago +1

    You named one of your dogs from DC universe

  • Natedogg5413
    Natedogg5413 23 days ago

    This movie was loud _as F*CK_

  • Steelman2906
    Steelman2906 23 days ago

    I can definitely see Neon Genesis Evangelion nods through out this movie, everyone I know that's seen uprising enjoyed it more than the first whereas I, I enjoyed the first a lot more than uprising

  • Ja a
    Ja a 23 days ago

    I just saw the second movie and did not like it at all. I lost track of how many, “that was convenient.” moments there were. I was trying to get comfortable in my seat by the end and couldn’t wait for it to be over.

  • dterryize
    dterryize 23 days ago

    Boyaga and the girl's chemistry was MUCH better than him and Rey. At least the girl wasn't a Mary Sue. I greatly enjoyed this film. Some nice surprises.

  • Dazen Cobalt
    Dazen Cobalt 23 days ago

    I thought in a lot of ways uprising was better than the original. I could go into a ton of detail but I won't. I will sum it up like this: the first pacific rim had heart, the second had logic and felt like there was more at stake.

  • megaslayercho
    megaslayercho 23 days ago

    "Pacific RIm:Uprising is to Pacific rim,how independance day resurgence is to Independance day" you nailed it jeremy,well said.
    I watched both movies back to back,I went to see Pacific rim uprising in the cinema and than after walking away from the movie with A REALLY bad taste in my mouth,I decided to watch the original Pacific rim when I got back home.
    My comparative verdict:
    original Pacific rim- awesometacular(went to see it 3 times in the cinema when it got released,3 times!)
    Pacific rim uprising- dog shit(michael bay/social justice star wurs type of utter generic dog shit)
    This only seems to confirm what I have been suspecting for a few years now and that is that movies are 90% about who directs them,not who acts in them,not who is the publisher,but who is the director behind the wheel.
    Guilermo del toro is a GREAT director,he took a concept that is really silly on paper(giant robots vs monsters) and he really made it work.
    The amazing attention to detail,how music synegyzed with every scene ,how the physics of such a rediculous movie actually made some sense and looked cool(like how yegers/kaiju were smashing into buildings and you would actually feel like those are buildings,made of steel and concrede. Or how much attention they put into the water physics and the way water was pouring from the yegers and kaijus giving you an idea of just how big they are .)
    The hole movie had that serious,dark,epic vibe to it,the world was ending ,the war was beeing lost ,the fights were serious and had gravity to them.
    The movie wasnt without plot holes or some issues,but when an epic scene was going down,boy was it epic!
    Meanwhile in the new movie....
    You have the typical dysney bullshit "everyone must make a joke in the middle of a fight scene" ,acting was horendous,dialog was horendous,the plot was more shallow than the lyrics of a nicky minaj song, the only semi competent people that needed to save the world were a bunch of teenagers with attitude(unique snowflakes) and most of the fight scenes made me cringe.
    The thing that really made the fights look bad imo,was the complete and total lack of any sort of logic/authenticity/realism to them.
    Ok,let me just clarify that when I go to see a robots vs monsters movie,I dont expect a perfectly realistic movie that has better plot than the matrix.
    But by realism I mean,just somewhat realistic looking physics,like you know,if a yeger smashes through 100 buildings,without even slowing down(if they were smashing through paper towers,they would of slowed down their inertia more than these steel buildings)that just looks lame as fuck.
    Going into this type of movie,all I expect and wanted was to see good,epic fight scenes.
    The first movie not only delivered perfectly on that,but had plot,characters and world building that I quite honestly didnt expect,it surpassed my expectations.
    The 2nd movie was a cliche comedy posing as an action film,failing badly at both the comedy and the action.
    Dont think I ll ever go to watch a pacific rim movie again,not unless del toro is back in the director seat.
    /endrant

  • Amira F
    Amira F 23 days ago

    I fucking hate 3D and always try to avoid it but Pacific Rim was the first movie where watching it in 3D actually made sense and maybe even made the experience better...cant believe its been 5 years like what the fuck??!!! apprehensive for this one the tone seems rly different but hey

  • Dana
    Dana 23 days ago

    That last jedi shade though

  • Alucard Grayson
    Alucard Grayson 24 days ago

    so i go to the movie pay 40 bucks for 3 people then pay another 30 for 4 cola and 2 popcorn then wait half an our becouse of adds 8 mins of that was trailers then the movie itself pacific rim: how to raise kids and it suckt like ass at the end of the movie it felt like a wast of space i was out 70 bucks and i was pist especially becouse of the ungodly amount of adds at the beginng but it kept being fueled by the shitty story goddamn it

  • Kim Kim
    Kim Kim 24 days ago

    Ha! Clever cheap puppy trick me to dig

  • • Devin •
    • Devin • 24 days ago

    "Yeah... both" 😂😂

  • Hansel Roman
    Hansel Roman 24 days ago

    It wasn't directed by Guillermo Del Toro, well now that explains literally EVERYTHING. I really wanted to like this movie. But it not only felt wayyy to fast paced, but I couldn't shake the feeling that something big was missing. Not I understand that what was missing was the Del Toro touch. Plus the fights were stupid as shit. Don't resort to kicking the giant monster when ur sword is the only thing doing damage, keep using ur sword. Also, why would u all attack from the same direction with melee weapons? Spread out and hit him from all directions, idiots.

  • SpeedyGaming
    SpeedyGaming 24 days ago

    2,000th comment.

  • RushEffect
    RushEffect 24 days ago

    Good Movie imo

  • Tom Stewart
    Tom Stewart 24 days ago

    My family loved it!

  • Pycho_drummer_boy
    Pycho_drummer_boy 24 days ago

    I'm pretty pissed about gypsy's name change and everytime I heard them say "avenger" in the movie I would fake cough and be like DANGER

  • Corbin Peterson
    Corbin Peterson 24 days ago

    I so much wanted to a real review on the movie and break it down more. But my review pretty much turned into a RANT right away for Uprising.

  • bat prime
    bat prime 24 days ago

    I like first pacific rim it's like gundam and gorilla mixed together same can be said about comic book movies there all same good vs bad

  • FleetwoodTV
    FleetwoodTV 24 days ago

    The worse movie I’ve seen in years, fight scene on ice was dope tho