WHAT?! "OK" Joins Pepe as Hate Symbol, #CancelNYT & Whistleblower Complaint Explained, David Dobrik

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 26, 2019
  • Hey! Go to NordVPN.com/PHIL and use code ‘PHIL’ to get 70% off a 3-year plan and an extra month for free. Protect yourself online today!
    Check out TODAY’S Rogue Rocket Deep Dive: tvclip.biz/video/NFiq2i7TXuE/video.html
    Check out my conversation with Dr. Mike: tvclip.biz/video/IdPFaDt2dEo/video.html
    ✩ MY NEW PODCAST ✩
    ✭Listen on Anchor: Anchor.fm/AConversationWith
    ✭Watch: tvclip.biz/video/woe_W4VXdho/video.html
    ✩ FOLLOW ME ✩
    ✭TWITTER: PhillyD
    ✭FACEBOOK: DeFrancoNation
    ✭INSTAGRAM: phillydefranco
    ✩ SUPPORT THE SHOW ✩
    ✭Buy Merch: ShopDeFranco.com
    ✭Lemme Touch Your Hair: BeautifulBastard.com
    ✭Paid Subscription: DeFrancoElite.com
    ✩ TODAY IN AWESOME ✩
    ✭ Check out phil.chrono.gg/ for 78% OFF “Sid Meier's Civilization®: Beyond Earth™ The Collection” only available until 9 AM!
    ✭ The Truth About Prison Rodeos In The United States: tvclip.biz/video/NFiq2i7TXuE/video.html
    ✭ My Conversation With Dr. Mike: tvclip.biz/video/IdPFaDt2dEo/video.html
    ✭ The Irishman Official Trailer: tvclip.biz/video/WHXxVmeGQUc/video.html
    ✭ Pro Chef Learns How to Carve a $1,500 Leg of Ham: tvclip.biz/video/0olmZzsF4Xo/video.html
    ✭ Liza Koshy, Kimiko Glenn, & Travis Coles Take a Friendship Test: tvclip.biz/video/VFIFWRhLpNg/video.html
    ✭ DAY6 Tries 9 Things They've Never Done Before: tvclip.biz/video/b-ytbmzgWpU/video.html
    ✭ Ashton Kutcher Gets an Endorphin Rush While Eating Spicy Wings: tvclip.biz/video/nNhYqLbsAGk/video.html
    ✭ Astronaut Nicole Stott Answers Space Questions From Twitter: tvclip.biz/video/yX1KsPh_D2Q/video.html
    ✭ The Best Dogs Of BBC Earth: tvclip.biz/video/MPV2METPeJU/video.html
    ✭ Secret Link: tvclip.biz/video/fdGSuvASB5U/video.html
    ✩ TODAY’S STORIES ✩
    ADL Updates Hate on Display List:
    roguerocket.com/?p=15165
    Whistleblower Complaint Goes Public:
    roguerocket.com/?p=15162
    Previous Coverage: tvclip.biz/video/mO7jrWAamVA/video.html
    David Dobrik Gives Homeless Man Free Chipotle and a Car:
    www.insider.com/david-dobrik-gave-homeless-man-car-and-year-of-chipotle-2019-9
    metro.co.uk/2019/09/26/david-dobrik-fans-tears-surprises-homeless-man-years-supply-food-new-car-10811857/
    ✩ MORE NEWS NOT IN TODAY’S SHOW ✩
    TVclip and Facebook Join Twitter in Saying They Won’t Remove Politicians’ Posts Even if They Break the Rules
    roguerocket.com/?p=15157
    Daddy Yankee, J Balvin, and Other Urbano Artists Call Out Latin Grammys for Exclusion
    TheRogueRocket/status/1177312237503033344
    ------------
    Edited by: James Girardier, Julie Goldberg
    Produced by: Amanda Morones
    Art Director: Brian Borst
    Writing/Research: Philip DeFranco, Lili Stenn, Maddie Crichton, Cory Ray
    ------------
    #DeFranco #DavidDobrik #Trump
    ------------

Comments • 7 514

  • Poipole49
    Poipole49 3 days ago

    👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌

  • Uspatriot219 Gainz
    Uspatriot219 Gainz 4 days ago

    I love PEPE

  • Nick Mancuso
    Nick Mancuso Month ago

    Weeeeell... now kinda awkward you promoted NordVPN lol

  • Morgan Anderson
    Morgan Anderson Month ago

    PhillyD with the 100 thieves swag

  • Wrath Upon Eden
    Wrath Upon Eden Month ago

    Good show dawg!

  • jobriq5
    jobriq5 Month ago

    pretty sure ADL is just helping racism

  • Nolan Martin
    Nolan Martin Month ago

    Phil put here with Hot Takes on the ADL

  • WaaDoku 【和ァ独】

    So is breathing also racist now? Cause Nazis and other hate groups do it all the time...

  • Jake38nine
    Jake38nine Month ago

    The ADL is a waste of a corporation and space. There are more important things to worry about than symbols and words and phrases and memes. Seriously, why has our world come to where we're SO extremely offended over stupid shit all the time? I was threatened to be a killed by a co-worker last night, guess what I did? I laughed it off and made him feel like a fool. Rather than being offended and victimizing yourself over stupid people's shit, how about you make stupid people feel stupid so that they will quit or kill themselves. That's what natural selection does. Getting offended over stupid shit just gives stupid people more power.

  • Żołnierz Republiki

    Some Day they start yousing antifa symboles

  • Briar Burkett
    Briar Burkett 2 months ago

    People in the comments comparing ADL to PETA deserve an r/woosh and a kick in the teeth.

  • Cryo
    Cryo 2 months ago

    PepeHands

  • Elp Smith
    Elp Smith 2 months ago

    We need to acknowledge 👌as a hate symbol but not ban it. Pepe, much like the swastika, did not originate as a hate symbol but due to certain groups using it it has been steeped in hate. As long as we look at context we are okay

  • Paz
    Paz 2 months ago

    the only way of mantain the actual meaning of all the symbols are still using it. If this people use this symbols like a secret code, and we leave to use easily, soon or late will lost the actual meaning and will be apropiated for these people (they are so uncreative, who actually need to stole actual symbols and gestures from other groups for comunicate, figures!)... That happened with the swastik-/manji/black sun symbol, who actually is the big symbol of hate, but in the past was a symbol of good luck, cycles, a temple location, etc. Now the asociation is damaged. So, lets claim this symbols and use it with their ACTUAL meaning, for mantain it for the rest of the sane world.
    OK? :)
    edit: in the ADL page, was mentioned who the meaning depends too mush of the context. If the guy have the confederate flag, suspictious tatoos, and carry a bag with numbers like 14, or 88, and then do the ok gesture, is trying to comunicate something more than an ok.
    This hate groups already taked punk symbols, for example, but punks have a real distate for this groups since their origins. A punk never will carry a naz- sign, except the "hate naz-" one.
    Conclusion? we can still use this symbols. Is only who them are give it an extra meaning, so we must still use it for conserve the REAL meaning.

  • CampCamp
    CampCamp 2 months ago

    👌

  • Brooke Hawkins
    Brooke Hawkins 2 months ago

    Wow the ADL has made huge leaps in stopping white supremacy and extremism by adding photos of and my actual 3 and 5 year old nephews to the lists of white supremacy because of their common bowl cut haircuts! While also banding the sign language symbol for F as a hate symbol as the leftists would say that discrimination towards deaf disabled people what bigots you hypocrites are! 🤯🙈🤥

  • TheMeanLiberal
    TheMeanLiberal 2 months ago

    Wonders how many internet losers actually believe the "ban" is a real thing.

    Good clue...if they use a made up name they probably think it's REAL.

  • Angela Shelley
    Angela Shelley 2 months ago

    So what are scuba divers going to do now? The ok symbol is taught as part of the sign language you use. I’m so confused. Lol.

  • LeviathanHomeCooking
    LeviathanHomeCooking 2 months ago

    Hate symbols have to have an actual message and purpose. What is the OK symbol trying to say about white supremacy? Nothing! "Hate groups" (probably more like trolls on the internet actually) make jokes and references about it because they know idiots like the ADL will go berzerk over it. The swastika symbolizes a fascistic past regime and ideology, the OK symbol is troll fodder.

  • mashburg
    mashburg 2 months ago +1

    Drink every time he says whistle blower 🍻

  • dave s
    dave s 2 months ago

    Let's change all the things but the 100 and somthing old laws.hmm

  • Karsten Cooper
    Karsten Cooper 2 months ago

    Nice shirt!!

  • Tejco
    Tejco 2 months ago

    well, dude already lost job because of circle game sign as using inverted ok sign.....go adl!! it is no coincidence that people go now through old pictures and are horryfied, when they are full of "racist" sign. adl should be held responsible for this....

  • Tess House
    Tess House 2 months ago

    I'm kinda bummed that you're putting a rodeo in "Today in awesome" and promoting it, Phil...

  • China Russia
    China Russia 2 months ago

    I mean, it's quite simple. If a hate group starts rallying around a paint brush, a tool long associated with painters, then, YES, it CAN become a symbol for hatred.
    I don't see where the confusion is coming from. The Leftists didn't start this. The Alt-Right made the stupid frog and the ok symbol about their cause. SIMPLE.
    If I say that my name is Tom............and everyone starts calling me by that name, well, WHOSE FAULT IS IT THAT I'M BEING CALLED EXACTLY WHO I SAID THAT I AM???????????????????????
    If I, then, call everyone stupid for calling me Tom when my real name is something else,.........then WHO is the one being the idiot????????? Who is the one playing games????? The Alt-Right plays these IMMATURE games and think that they are so deep when everyone "doesn't get" their fickle 'humor'.
    Fickle, in the sense that Pepe and the ok symbol IS, indeed, being used under the auspices of racist hatred. NUMEROUS examples online...................so when the public calls the Alt-Right out for this behavior, it's strange that these guys will deny what they are doing..........IN PLAIN VIEW........FOR ALL TO SEE.
    It's like me speeding. Officer pulls me over for doing JUST THAT and I argue with him that I DID NOT DO what he just saw me do. WTF.
    So he throws up his hands in frustration and it's agreed upon that we'll both just pretend that what just happened, didn't happen.
    He leaves and I do the Beevus & Butthead snicker to myself, "ha ha, I WAS speeding and he said I was speeding but I denied speeding, although I clearly was speeding. I WAS speeding.........but I WASN'T speeding. Ha. He just doesn't get it. My humor is just too far above his understanding level."
    THE ABOVE is Alt-Right Logic and 'humor'. They argue nonsense IN CIRCLES: They ARE racist but they're NOT racist. If anyone calls them out on their racism, they say that the person is over-reacting because although what they were doing was racist, it wasn't really racist.
    Sound confusing??????????????????????????? This INSANE thought process is what the Alt-Right calls '4-D Chess': The flawed idea that their convoluted thinking is so WARPED...........that it's genius.

    • China Russia
      China Russia 2 months ago

      They make the same argument for the Joker. The Alt-Right ARE USING THE JOKER AS A HATE SYMBOL OF THEIR CAUSE...............but, you call them out on it, they will DENY, DENY, DENY.
      Again, examples all on the internet, far too numerous to conceal.
      Even the Joker movie IS being used as a rallying cry for online racist Incels and Gamers.
      Joquiem Phoenix can deny that the above exists. The director of the movie can deny it. The Alt-Right can deny it................but, their footprints are all over the internet.
      You CANNOT deny REALITY and the reality is that although movies CANNOT cause you to kill, they CERTAINLY CAN INFLUENCE AN ALREADY BAD SITUATION:
      THE JOKER FILM IS A FILM ABOUT (SHOOTER) INCELS.......FOR INCELS. DENIAL IS MOOT WHEN A GREAT SWARTH OF THE INCEL COMMUNITY, GAMERS, RACISTS ARE USING THE FILM AS A RALLYING CRY.

  • Joshua Amado-DeCarvalho

    Hello Philip! I know you wont remember me but I've posted comments on your videos before on this and another older channel that you have brought up in your videos. I have recently discovered a video of a powerful speech from a Hong Kong protester that no media outlet is showing and no search result will pull up. I believe the video is getting shadow banned for its powerful message. I have taken the liberty of uploading to TVclip and and hoping you can either talk about it or even show the video and its powerful message for what it truly means to be an american (Or at least the ideals of being a true american). I've included the link below and hopefully you'll get this in time for the next show! as always please Phil them in!

    tvclip.biz/video/LXYRHMamBGc/video.html

  • PrimaDeluxe
    PrimaDeluxe 2 months ago +4

    "Haters in a community."
    That one sentence sums up exactly the type of people doing this.

  • Jonah Song
    Jonah Song 2 months ago

    The Christchurch guy used it cuz he WAS TROLLING

  • Jonah Song
    Jonah Song 2 months ago

    White supremacists don't even use the ok hand sign...

  • Jossio
    Jossio 2 months ago

    I cannot belive that Deaf people and divers have been white supremacists all this time, smh my head you can't trust anyone these days. 😤😤😤

  • Jordan Grosz
    Jordan Grosz 2 months ago

    A character actor for Gru at Universal Orlando was just fired because he used the ok hand gesture in a photo.

  • Staggerson Jagz
    Staggerson Jagz 2 months ago

    How do you not understand this adl thing? They even said themselves it's not all use of it, but the fact that it is used sometimes for that purpose.

  • Betty Kegley
    Betty Kegley 2 months ago

    Trump doesn’t need help from another country to get re-elected. He’s got Nancy Pelosi.

  • Corey Slade
    Corey Slade 2 months ago +2

    I feel like in spite of reading the purpose of the list of symbols, everyone still somehow missed the point. No one is banning them or telling people not to use them, but it is useful to be able to recognize a dogwhistle when it's being used. That's what these things are, and that's what the list is for, not saying that you are racist for putting up the 👌 sign

  • Laroiidz Art
    Laroiidz Art 2 months ago

    Oliver Tree is gonna be pissed-

  • Daniel Ohayon
    Daniel Ohayon 2 months ago

    Holy shit be started talking about the David dobrik story at exactly 4:20 !! That can't be a coincidence

  • Lee Murdock
    Lee Murdock 2 months ago

    I am so distracted by your bouncing hands it is hard to pay attention to your content.

  • Maisie P
    Maisie P 2 months ago

    Please don’t recommend watching rodeos Phil, prison or not, they are vile animal abuse practices

  • Jaune Arc
    Jaune Arc 2 months ago

    Oh, look, another reason why ADL should never be taken seriously, woohoo.

  • steve johnson
    steve johnson 2 months ago +1

    The whistleblower, his memo, and anyone reporting it is a giant fucking joke

  • Larissa Jorge
    Larissa Jorge 2 months ago

    I'll start by saying I feel very much the same as Phil does about pepe and the ok sign/haircut thing but I also understand where they're coming from with the creation of this list. I imagine it as a reference book. Idk, say some parents see their kids are changing and acting weirdly. They keep insisting on getting a hairstyle or doing hand gestures they never noticed them doing before. They might google "what's this about the ok symbol" and get that ADL list as a search result. It's informative. They can look at everything else, get informed and see what checks out or not and then take the appropriate measures as parents (or partners/guardians/siblings/teachers/roomates/etcetcetc - that same scenario could of course happen with any other type of relationship) and, by the number of "almost domestic terrorism actions" that police everywhere keep saying they're stopping, reaction is a real thing. Because really, think about it, not everyone is as well informed as people who watch Phil DeFranco's videos. That being said, I think there could be better ways of getting this information out there (and I don't think it gives these people more power, I think they just don't care and are possibly already drunk on power they imagine they have by their skin color) but I'm not gonna be the one to come up with these solutions so I'm not gonna throw rocks at intentions that might get a good result.

  • Days of French 'n' Swedish

    The classification of essentially random symbols as hate symbols is just so freakin' dumb.
    In Swedish, the genders of nouns are "en" (pronounced like the letter N) and "ett". So if explaining a Swedish concept in English, you often have to say "It's an EN word." Are they going to classify discussing Swedish grammar as a hate symbol?

  • Political Parmesan
    Political Parmesan 2 months ago +12

    ADL: Streisand effect? Never heard of it.

  • Jeff
    Jeff 2 months ago

    my science teacher thinks im a nazi for putting pepepls a emote on twitch of pepe dancing as my profile picture 2019 is fucked

  • Dewgy Houser M.D.
    Dewgy Houser M.D. 2 months ago

    I hear nazis love water. Drinking water is a sign of support

  • Arbiter and Chara Dreemurr

    " 6:16 Mikey boi yo I love his videos and how he's an actually good doctor (the ones I get aren't)

  • Ryukachoo
    Ryukachoo 2 months ago +31

    So like
    The ADL is essentially becoming PETA; a noble goal at heart, absolutely drowning in hatred it sees as justified

  • boydnchrist
    boydnchrist 2 months ago

    ADL need to put ADL on the list. It TRIGGERS me!

  • Theo Sutton
    Theo Sutton 2 months ago

    Here for the 100Thieves shirt

  • henkeljc
    henkeljc 2 months ago

    Thank u for sharing some wonderful heart felt story. To many news outlets rather it be on tv or online seems to focus primarily negative ugly stories. I just can't enjoy a continuous spout of negative stuff. To see some cute wonderful stories. U ths man phil

  • SkyeBlack101
    SkyeBlack101 2 months ago

    CAN YOU COVER ONISION PLEASE?

  • Everyday Musician
    Everyday Musician 2 months ago

    I am bald, so clearly I'm a skinhead and if I am caught giving the "okay" sign while drinking milk and laughing watching Dave Chappelle's Netflix special on my phone, I will be removed from existence immediately.

  • Ravusaedes
    Ravusaedes 2 months ago

    While I agree with the ADL's goals in general, if they make everything a symbol of Hate, then nothing is. Kinda makes the whole thing useless.

  • Professor BingChingler
    Professor BingChingler 2 months ago

    Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower Whistle blower

  • Nancie Nordwick
    Nancie Nordwick 2 months ago

    Despite whatever happens about the whistleblower's complaint, let's let the truth about Ukraine and corruption come to light. Please.

  • Nancie Nordwick
    Nancie Nordwick 2 months ago +3

    "ADL defamed normal people" by usurping white male haircuts and American sign language as "supremist"

  • Daniel Bustos
    Daniel Bustos 2 months ago

    Watch ADL become a hate speech symbol.

  • Ironboundturtle
    Ironboundturtle 2 months ago

    The ADL is a joke. Almost every single "hate symbol" on their website is about white supremacy intended to demonize white people.

  • Yana 7012
    Yana 7012 2 months ago

    🍓🥛
    Lalalala OK👌
    Lalalala OK👌
    Lalalala
    Say OK
    O-O-OK
    🍓🥛

  • tae flores
    tae flores 2 months ago

    I'm really glad you and your team look into all possible areas to gather information about the political issues (and other areas as well) not to mention how you break everything down so you're able to understand what the hell is going on. I hope to hear the news from you for many years to come.