Game of Thrones Season 8 Finale Review: "The Iron Throne" - Dragons on the Wall

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 20, 2019
  • Spoilers! Terri, Laura, Jim and Joshua give their finale reactions to THAT death and who ended up being king of Westeros in our Game of Thrones Season 8, episode 6 "The Iron Throne" review, plus lay out our biggest WTF questions that will never be answered.
    Game of Thrones Cast Says 'Thank You' to the Fans
    tvclip.biz/video/WDHo1_96n9g/video.html
    Subscribe to IGN for more!
    tvclip.biz/user/IGNentertainment
    ------------------------------ ----
    Watch more on IGN here!
    ------------------------------ ----
    DAILY FIX: tvclip.biz/video/-_e1aXYckPE/video.html
    GAME REVIEWS: tvclip.biz/video/pCJmeQyJk1E/video.html&index=2
    MOVIE REVIEWS: tvclip.biz/video/pCJmeQyJk1E/video.html&index=2
    TRAILERS: tvclip.biz/video/hr1dfwy4n90/video.html
    NEWS: tvclip.biz/video/Ctgzg7MZiZ8/video.html
    #ign #gameofthrones
  • GamingGaming

Comments • 577

  • 54markl
    54markl 3 months ago

    Benioff and Weiss shall be known for all time as the Show Slayers!

  • 54markl
    54markl 3 months ago

    Weighed, weighed, measured, found lacking. Grey Worm would have killed Jon on the spot. Drogon probably would have beat him to it. Don’t hand me this!

  • michael treu
    michael treu 3 months ago

    A well done death? Are you serious? Cersi and Jaime's death was so comically bad. it is like something a 12 year old would write.

  • michael treu
    michael treu 3 months ago

    Are you guys trying to be nice? This season has been horrible... so damn horrible.

  • Dwight Wallbridge
    Dwight Wallbridge 3 months ago

    But... who closed the gate behind them...

  • Christy Cree
    Christy Cree 3 months ago

    I don’t get it.
    I felt it was decent.

  • Henbot
    Henbot 3 months ago

    All the non-white foreigners (who happened to be non-white got on mass booted out which by the way does qualify as ethnic cleansing) booted out from Westeros by the white folk. If they tried a whole Romeo Juliet with Dany and Jon it doesn't work if one of the pair survives. For me, Drogon was heading to either ruin of Valyria or Shadow Lands and Assai.

  • Henbot
    Henbot 3 months ago

    The line of succession in the show has been non-existent. Bran had no claim to it but with it gone then they could make him. Like Cersei should never be able to become queen without them showing us how much terrible suppression she was doing. Also they literally never mentioned Meereen and Essos again- it deserved mention even if it was that what she built had completely collapsed. Essos was like 6 seasons. Also, Red Keep has magically been rebuilt this episode. It would have been nice a conversation with them saying "no Targaryen anymore"

  • Henbot
    Henbot 3 months ago

    Bronn shouldn't have been rewarded with Highgarden and the Council slot. Piece of trash Bron is. Certainly seemed like Cersei forgot that Bron was meant to kill her bros otherwise be killed.

  • Henbot
    Henbot 3 months ago

    Wiping out Slave Masters that mutilated children and pedos are not the same as targeting children, babies and civilians. The argument that "they chose Cersei" doesn't make sense because she never had the absolutism with civilians and Masters. She didn't exterminate the slaves with that same notion. The whole "War is a drug" makes no sense because she never has shown such addiction. The romance was terrible and never worked with Jon and Daenerys. Though the actors tried to sell it and their performances did to an extent.

  • Henbot
    Henbot 3 months ago

    Well, Arya said in the early season she wanted to sail west. If that was her dream and assassination was just a sidetrack from that dream I wish we had earlier bits leak in about how her real dream is to sail west. I'd like to know if GRRM told the Showrunners that Jon Kills Dany or Dany exterminates King's Landing and Jon kills her. If he just told them that Jon kills Dany then they deliberately contrived the massacre thinking it be enough for people to not care about killing Dany. The episode for me was too Stark-centric, Tyrion had longer time adjusting his chairs then Daenerys got when she died. It was hollow for me. I would have preferred two longer seasons with way better writing. I liked though if they did the Caeser route which was Dany gets betrayed by Westeros Lords rather then her having to be so evil.

  • nonchalantd
    nonchalantd 3 months ago

    In the sequel, Jon goes crazy because he's a Targaryen alone in the world that feels guilty for directly and indirectly killing the only loves of his life. Drogon finds him. Jon goes on a rampage with Drogon and is the new villain.

  • refderer _
    refderer _ 3 months ago

    At least Jon got where he wanted to be! He never wanted the throne so it wouldn't really have been satisfying to see that imo

  • Mluna792
    Mluna792 3 months ago

    The biggest show in history and everyone's who liked the final episode has the same reaction of it's "fine" haha how is that not the biggest tell of all. A mediocre ending for the most epic show ever made. Very disappointing

  • Nora Gonzalez
    Nora Gonzalez 3 months ago

    La host de pelo cafe esta super tronco. Que la quiten y dejen a la güerita, tiene mas capacidad.

  • guitarHero1885
    guitarHero1885 3 months ago

    sellouts about everything huh? smh.

  • PhamNet
    PhamNet 3 months ago

    I couldnt stop observing Laura’s Double Dragons

  • Kille
    Kille 3 months ago

    Sign the petition at: Change.org

  • 860anthony
    860anthony 3 months ago

    Dany broke the wheel to have it replaced by.......two wheels. Jon kills Dany and sheds......one tear. Jon kills Dany. Dothraki and Unsullied go.....meh. Tyrion throws his hand of the queen pin down at Danys feet she goes......take him away. Jon kills Dany. Drogon goes......nooooooo! and doesn't kill Jon but melts the throne instead. Bran is asked if he wants to be king and says.........why do you think I came all this way. What? No further questions.

  • pplr1
    pplr1 3 months ago +6

    Great "overall" means horrible at some point-in this case the end-and abusing the rest to prop it up.
    Dig deeper and many details are bad, also why would the rest of the lords accept Bran if his own sister will not-does anyone smell a civil war coming?

  • DewkChronic
    DewkChronic 3 months ago +1

    Tyrion gave his life to save Jaime and Cersei but they died.

  • Knut Gråskjegg
    Knut Gråskjegg 3 months ago

    It wasn't terribly bad. I just didn't feel anything. Everything happend without building up tension first and without enough character development to lay the foundation for this ending. I could see it working out in the books though.

  • c c
    c c 4 months ago +1

    Jon Snow's vision to defeat the Army of the Dead and Daenery's vision to
    break the wheel of tyranny both happened. Unfortunately, neither were
    able to enjoy their accomplishments. GOT was a saga of sorrow, loss,
    and triumph. It's hard to accept the finality of no more GOT after 8
    seasons. But, I choose to remember the fantastic music, incredible
    story, characters, scale of production, and attention to detail that
    made GOT the epic show it was. The odds of any future prequel, sequel,
    TV series, or movie replicating the GOT experience is extremely
    unlikely. Winter is over and Spring has returned.

  • Yang-It-Yin
    Yang-It-Yin 4 months ago

    At least we learned that Lysa Arryn might have been on to something by breastfeeding Robert Arryn till he was a teen. The seed became strong; thanks to the progressive Lysa Arryn!

  • MUDDASIR KHALID
    MUDDASIR KHALID 4 months ago

    Dany had nothing and became the most powerful queen by sheer determination. She liberated slaves, liberated women from sexual slavery, civilised the Dothraki, and saved humanity from death by the White Walkers.
    She was betrayed by her trusted advisors and cruelly murdered by her lover. After her death, the wheel of oppression returned. It was back to building ships for conquests and brothels for sexual conquests!
    The fact that millions have rejected Daenerys' transition not only suggests to me that the transition was poorly written (undoubtedly) but that such a transition can never be well written. Perhaps this is because it is a transition that makes little logical sense. Liberators don't turn into tyrants.

  • Kbeezy
    Kbeezy 4 months ago

    I was really hoping Jon would fight Grey worm in a cool cinematic fight and Jon ends up killing him before killing Dany.

  • Dominique Norman
    Dominique Norman 4 months ago

    so basic the writer of game of thrones didn't want keep making game of throne so they rush the whole season they could start writing and working for next star war movie smh and I still mad they a chance to make this whole season a 10 episode

  • SonsOfScotland -
    SonsOfScotland - 4 months ago +1

    Panel of cowards with their ridiculous cowardly reactions for fans. You lost all credibility...

  • Junie Torre
    Junie Torre 4 months ago

    Really enjoyed the discussion here, where all opinions, whichever side of the fence, were intelligent and enlightening.

  • Molda22
    Molda22 4 months ago +2

    What is everyone talking about? What quick and sudden turn with Dany changing to super evil? There was nothing quick or sudden about it. It was evident and coming for many seasons. We all seen the stuff she was doing for a long time and even though she always had her ideals, the things she was doing were slowly getting more and more evil as time passed by in the whole series. This was just the culmination of everything and the final turning point. But nothing that came out of the blue suddenly. Even in this season there were many scenes showing how more and more apart she feels and she starts loosing people she love and at the it she snaps finally. But it was going there from the start almost. And also dont forget her lineage and her beiing Targaryen which in context of this world / books / show IS important factor also because Targaryens were very often like that and because of that there is that famous saying that with Targaryens its always a flip of a coin. Her story arc was great and her ending also. Everyone can have opinions but i hate when people have opinions based on something thats not true or constructed in their minds because they "wished" something was different.

  • JeffTheHokie
    JeffTheHokie 4 months ago

    The unsullied didn't execute Jon out of professional courtesy. He was apparently one of them.

  • S Chochotte
    S Chochotte 4 months ago

    It pains me to see so many people that assume Dragons don't hurt Targaryens. The Dance of Dragons is the story of Targaryen civil war, dragons have killed Targaryens before. It is also weird to me that people never address the huge part that Dany played in saving the world.

  • LordAlisdare
    LordAlisdare 4 months ago

    Bran was the Prince that was promised ,Dany was his Sword

  • Mary Fontenelle
    Mary Fontenelle 4 months ago

    I think Jon got what he wanted the most freedom in the North with the wildlings and Ghost.

  • DavZ NoT HerE
    DavZ NoT HerE 4 months ago

    The internet leans negative...crack reporting there...

  • chris gledrie
    chris gledrie 4 months ago

    AND I WANT A SERIES 9!

  • chris gledrie
    chris gledrie 4 months ago

    Im ok with it, Night king coming back would have been cool , Drop a couple of hidden episodes and Bamm! line up a sequel! this ended too soon!

  • Leonard Jurić
    Leonard Jurić 4 months ago

    dany named grey worm commander of all her forces, dothraki included

  • devildogwhisper
    devildogwhisper 4 months ago

    I couldn't get over how many Dothraki and Unsullied were left. I remember seeing 8.4 where everyone was like, 'we only have half our troops left'. I thought, Half??? The initial Dothraki charge in the Long Night was put out like a candle in the wind! The Unsullied phalanxes crumbled under the droves of wights. It's like they conjured up troops like some kind of GoT version of Age of Empires.

  • Crazy Cool Clips
    Crazy Cool Clips 4 months ago

    Its as if someone who knew nothing about GoT wrote season 8.... it was that awful.

  • Leonard Jurić
    Leonard Jurić 4 months ago +2

    Melisandre's death was awesome and poignant. she had the best season

  • Ryan Dickson
    Ryan Dickson 4 months ago

    soft, diplomatic review -- next

  • michael single
    michael single 4 months ago

    Never thought I would see the day where ign are talking sense and most of the Internet have gone completely nuts

  • mrsxedre
    mrsxedre 4 months ago

    Typical, IGN still giving COD a 10/10.....

  • Owyn Pham
    Owyn Pham 4 months ago

    The show started tanking when they ran out of source material.

  • Number251137
    Number251137 4 months ago +1

    WTF Question: The Golden Company was supposed to be 20,000 strong (with horses, but not elephants!) and we saw a couple of thousand (?) lined up before King's Landing. What happened to the other 18,000?

  • Number251137
    Number251137 4 months ago

    WTF Question: Who was it that the Onion Knight was supposed to have smuggled? And where we they smuggled to?

    • James Vejvoda
      James Vejvoda 4 months ago

      That was pretty clear -- Tyrion was trying to get Jaime and Cersei to safety

  • Vibin' w/ Voorhees
    Vibin' w/ Voorhees 4 months ago

    They made GoT a punchline. Whether you liked the last season or not. You have to admit that. The poor execution and choices actually ruined the legacy of the show. It is beyond upsetting

  • Lauren Michele
    Lauren Michele 4 months ago

    i was thinking the same thing. this season could have ended wtih danny dying and then had one other season fleshing it out. that way they could spend time fleshing out danny's change in characterization. i also think that the fact that people have had years to speculate the finale was a hinderance. people were going to be disappointed regardless

  • Siari Aiman
    Siari Aiman 4 months ago +3

    I think Breaking Bad last season is better than game of thrones, A'm I Right?

  • Bareno
    Bareno 4 months ago

    Get over it ladies! Accept it😂🤣💯 could the season have been better, well yeaahh. But I’m still grateful I got to experience it🤓

    • anita queen
      anita queen 4 months ago

      I'm just glad that those who survived, survived!

  • soris81
    soris81 4 months ago +1

    I LOVED the last episode!!! ❤

  • BOBSMITH
    BOBSMITH 4 months ago

    I thought the ending was fine **puts on flame retardant suit**

    • Number251137
      Number251137 4 months ago

      The ending is what it is. I think most people's dissapointment stems from the rushed storytelling, leading to character decisions that seem shockingly out of character because we didn't have time to explore how they came to them. In Seasons 1-7, the show kept pace with the audience, but in Season 8, the pace accelerates and we are just told what the characters did, rather than exploring the why.

  • SadwichPunch2100
    SadwichPunch2100 4 months ago

    The reason The Night's Watch still exists is the same reason they existed for the 10,000 years between White Walker attacks, to protect against Wildlings raids. Yes, Tormund and this generation of Wildlings are nice, but they are returning to their old lives in the harsh environment of the North. Where prior to the White Walker threat raiding was a way of life both part of the culture and as a necessity for survival. The Wildlings raided for food, women, raw materials, weapons, and tools, and did so for thousands of years including this generation of Wildlings. Give it a generation more or less back in the harsh enviornment of the North and some if not most will return to their raiding ways.

  • Subtr3y
    Subtr3y 4 months ago

    Can you stop yelling at me? Jeez

  • Aaron
    Aaron 4 months ago

    After all these years it's a shame they rushed this season.

  • moonking192020
    moonking192020 4 months ago

    If you read the books they mention that the high council and I'll quote "Drink from a bottle made like crystal, that folds at a rough touch" I'm assuming this is what these "bottles" are.

  • RoadtoRed
    RoadtoRed 4 months ago

    dude on the right is so pretentious

  • Mathew Reeves
    Mathew Reeves 4 months ago

    Meera reed should’ve been Jon’s twin sister who was taken by howland reed to protect her Targaryen identity. (They are the SAME AGE in the books)

  • Dj13e36
    Dj13e36 4 months ago

    I wish Littlefinger would've appeared on Arya's ship, put a knife to her throat and said, "you were never one of us".