Stranger Things: Season 3 - Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 8, 2019
  • Stranger Things has a 3rd season....and it's possible the show is losing some of the magic for me. ANyhow, here's me talking about it for 9 minutes or so.
    #StrangerThings
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 717

  • PrisonCipher
    PrisonCipher 4 days ago

    Bruh, Stranger Things is lowkey Elfen Lied....the minute I read the plot of season 1, that's all I thought about, then I saw it, and was like "yeah, Elfen Lied, the PG version". Its good, but definitely derivative.

  • FutureMaxz
    FutureMaxz 7 days ago

    Season 3 and the fanbase completely pushed me away from stranger things

  • megamar
    megamar 9 days ago

    Season 1 = 8.5/10
    Season 2 = 6.5/10
    Season 3 = 3/10
    Stranger things became trash.

  • Spingy Katsoon
    Spingy Katsoon 12 days ago

    I get wut u mean
    But umm
    Yh I thought 3 was the worst
    But umm
    I liked it
    Alot

  • Spingy Katsoon
    Spingy Katsoon 12 days ago

    Ok

  • CaptainTaco97
    CaptainTaco97 13 days ago

    I honestly don’t agree. I think the biggest problem with this season is that they didn’t give Hopper and Joyce enough to do. I think everything for the kids was really good. Give Steve his own show.

  • Aaron Jones
    Aaron Jones 17 days ago

    No demogorgon. No season 4. Go home Duffer Brothers, you’re both drunk.

  • Ralf Rolf
    Ralf Rolf 25 days ago

    Unfortunately I totally agree with you. The last episodes where just straight up boring and that really bummed me out because I loved the show :(
    I really don´t want more seasons. I feel even the cast thinks that way but now they bound to this show.
    Not a catastrophe like GoT but just really really sad.

  • GristlyKnave
    GristlyKnave 28 days ago

    I don't know why people are saying that this is the best season

  • Filip Orvik
    Filip Orvik Month ago

    Yes, this had an AMAZING start. Season one made this be a potentially top 10 show of all time for me, the season 2 came and took a big step down, then season 3 was coming, i was expecting and hoping the show would rise again, but it didn't.

  • Martin Mendez
    Martin Mendez Month ago +1

    Also I love how Nancy loads in 4 shells and ends up shooting 10 shots.

  • Martin Mendez
    Martin Mendez Month ago +1

    I love how the Garda on the underground facility just leave the only way out *the elevator* completely unguarded and they leave... easy peasy

  • Violeticious
    Violeticious Month ago

    Everyone in the comments is laughing about the magnets thing, but if magnets fell from the fridge, I'd freak out, too. That scares me so much as I would know that something is seriously wrong, but would not know what. Aliens? Upside - down? Is it just me? But come on, a secret Russian base under an American mall, that's ridiculous! And the Russian Terminator - I laughed so hard! The season was boring until episode 6 and then it got ridiculous and funny.

  • The Awemazing Crew
    The Awemazing Crew Month ago

    I'm listening here really, but I liked season 3 more then all of the other seasons. The character development was very clear and they did a great job. The new characters were easily fit in and complex, especially Robin. Yeah, it was more funny then scary this time around, and if you not into that then I'm sorry. But I liked it, I really did. It doesnt matter to me either way, I like serious, funny, scary, thrilling. Season 1 was thriller and serious. Season 2 was thrilling and scary. Season 3 was really funny and focused more on its characters. Hopper being "homer simpsoned" was kinda sad but the speech at the end made up for everything. I cried. I've only cried at the end of avengers endgame, how to train your dragon 3, and Logan. So that's really saying something

  • Jeff Riddle
    Jeff Riddle Month ago

    Gotta watch that shit again. Your review felt rushed man...,?
    Right on! about Star Wars.
    Wrong on! About Stranger Things.

  • Jt Garcia
    Jt Garcia Month ago

    I 100% agree with you on everything. I'm so surprised by the praise this season has been getting. I really don't get it

  • Ryan Cox
    Ryan Cox Month ago

    I'm in the minority here, but this was my favorite season, and the last episode of this season was my favorite Stranger Things episode.

  • Barun Tiwari
    Barun Tiwari Month ago +1

    Worst season ever

  • Dean Dawson
    Dean Dawson Month ago

    I watched series 2 and then 3 straight away and it was so jarring that I thought there were new writers.
    Like wtf Mike turned into a totally obnoxious little prick in 6 months.
    Jonathan turned into a bit of a prick and was suddenly super sceptical about everything considering what he and Nancy went through before.
    And hopper was soo weird. Like why was he needlessly raging and outright pigheaded??
    And max was suddenly super girly... all in 6ish months.
    In the end in my head I just imagines it was 2/3 years later to make it more bearable.
    I lost track of how many times she had to locate people and how many nosebleeds she had. And how she can throw someone through a wall and be fine, but get a nosebleed shitting a cupboard door.
    The worst thing by a country mile though, was how many times I had to say... do something! Like eleven is being strangled? SIX people stand and watch!
    Eleven is in danger? FIBE PEOPLE JUST STANDING THERE WATCHING!
    Steve is getting wailed on? FOUR PEOPLE JUST WATCH!
    it’s so frustrating lol

  • David
    David Month ago

    Couldn’t agree more! Still loved the kids story but the other stories going on at the same time were just in it to include the other characters

  • Tboy 205
    Tboy 205 Month ago

    Season 3 was easily the best.

  • Richard Paul Caird
    Richard Paul Caird Month ago +3

    Season 3 sucked! It felt like there was loads of more cash & the story suffered as a result. The Upsidedown was sidelined & 11 had 0% traumatic effects of season 1 & 2 (really strange)???

  • emerson ortega
    emerson ortega Month ago

    Yeah, that guy reminds of the terminator.

  • Trinitarian
    Trinitarian Month ago

    Pretty much how I felt watching this garbage. First game of thrones, now this. What’s next..

  • 4TH AJG PLAYS
    4TH AJG PLAYS Month ago +1

    Stranger things season 3 is better than 2 and 3. This review is bullshit

  • Chris Taylor
    Chris Taylor 2 months ago

    I liked the season a lot, but it's one of those things where the more I think about it, the more I have issues with it.
    1. Seriously, what were the Russians trying to achieve by opening the gate? Do they even know what it is? Is the Mind Flare controlling them? You cant leave such an integral part of the season unexplained.
    Also did the mind flare remain after El closed the gate at the end of the previous season? Or did it come through the gate the Russians had opened? What was the link between these two antagonists?
    2. I might be forgetting some scenes, but did Nancy and Jonathan's sup plot really add anything crucial to the plot? The people being controlled was going to get exposed by the kids taking on Billie anyway, so what purpose did their investigation serve?
    3. Poor Will. The writers really dont know what to do with him. A crucial character in season one is now a glorified motion sensor.
    "he's here". Thanks Will, your usefulness is over for this scene.
    4. That Russian terminator hitman was a shit character. Should have been removed entirely.
    5. Erica annoyed the hell out of me.
    6. I don't mind these characters developing romances, its only natural at this point. But after three or so episodes, it shouldn't be interrupting the main plot.
    I think it's the show's charm that won me over. The cinematography was very impressive and the somewhat lighter comedic tone didn't bother me that much.
    Also the ending was really good. They could end the show here, and I'd be okay with that ending.

  • G B
    G B 2 months ago

    I really loved parts of this season, like Steve, Dustin, Robin and Erica as a group were great. I really enjoyed things around Alexei and so on, but things like Hopper acting like a dumb ass, sex depraved, raging alcoholic and Max being a complete bitch for no real reason just bothered me the whole season.

  • Kimmania Filipino Gamer

    Stranger Things Season 3 is like the second season of One Punch Man. It's just...meh.

  • Kimmania Filipino Gamer

    Hi, Jeremy! Do you reply to comments?

  • Trevor Seidl
    Trevor Seidl 2 months ago +1

    Get your shit together it's a very good don't be an asshole

  • DYKWINNING
    DYKWINNING 2 months ago +1

    The last episode could have been 20 min shorter to make it more concentrated. The never ending story part was one of the filler parts.

  • Tappa Tappa
    Tappa Tappa 2 months ago

    It is awful... Painful to watch and over the top

  • SurviveOnPizzaRolls
    SurviveOnPizzaRolls 2 months ago

    That one comment about Billy being likeable so he has to die now- I don't understand how but you're right. Like Billy was a literal asshole in Season Two. Why did i like him. I don't understand.

  • Ami Akta Phone
    Ami Akta Phone 2 months ago

    All i saw is AGENDA PUSHING. After 2.5 episode, i googled 'stranger things season 3 sexual agenda'..... Results: That girl (maybe robin) is shown as a lesbian later in the season. It was that obvious

  • Sophia Foster
    Sophia Foster 2 months ago

    I'll be the millionth teenage girl to say this, but Alexei's death seemed unjustified. It would have been interesting to see more interactions between him and Murray. What else did he see? How remorseful is he about creating the machine? He should have lived instead of just being a good interesting character that died because plot reasons

  • Skyelar EmeryEagle
    Skyelar EmeryEagle 2 months ago

    He forgot the mind flayed is cronenburg

  • EXOTIC BUTTERS
    EXOTIC BUTTERS 2 months ago

    I just love how i love you and stuckman..... And you guys tend to have big differences of opinion....and sometimes I side with you...sometimes I side with stuckman...

  • jjgoodway
    jjgoodway 2 months ago +1

    My wife and I said the same thing after the season - they ruined Hopper. That in turn kind of ruined the season for us, but it was still entertaining and had some good moments. Hopefully, they get back on track in season 4.

  • Grim Reaper
    Grim Reaper 2 months ago

    3:55 I really agree about them taken away from the adventure they were the standouts of season 1 and 2 just like jeremy said but this season they weren't much involved I felt it that way

  • Jesse Palmateer
    Jesse Palmateer 2 months ago

    DESTINY REFERENCE FRICK YES

  • Matien Azemy
    Matien Azemy 2 months ago

    Season 1 remains the best season. I love season 3, it’s really fun and seeing the characters change throughout the seasons is awesome but the downsides of season 3 is 1) there is to much (cheesy) humor and 2) it doesn’t have that dark atmosphere season 1 and season 2 have. And Hopper.... Hopper wasn’t the Hopper I know from season 1 and 2 which imo is so unfortunate. He isn’t the serious Hopper from season 1-2.

  • ilejovcevski79
    ilejovcevski79 2 months ago

    I had to see the entire season before i watched this review (thank you for the spoiler warning) and yeah, i just did so, a half an hour a go and i decided to see what you thought about it. And..... yeah, i agree actually. Maybe i feel a bit less disappointed then you do, but in the end i do think it was the weakest season so far. I'm having a hard time establishing why exactly. I mean, my brother (with whom i actually watched the first 2) actually quit on it by episode 4. By the end it did kind of redeem itself, the last two episodes were really good, the very last one especially touching. But the rest..... the rest was kind of all over the place. It felt very much like a few bright moments (yeah i too think of Billy here, and the theme of growing up) bonded together by a bloatware of half baked non coherent ideas and plots, mashed with some mediocre social commentary. Character arcs got watered down, or just stuck there in order for the actors to have something to do. I understand the need to refresh the cast and introduce new characters, but at least make them likable, relatable and not sticking like a walking anachronism. On a slightly less harsh note, i found the main cast less likable now that they have entered the puberty, but hey......it's normal, i didn't even like myself that much when i was that age, so i consider it part of the plot. A part of the plot that actually belongs there, unlike some other things. So there, if they ever make a season 4, i hope they either come up with something completely new or stick to the original. This show is in a steady decline. Suffering from slow starts in the 2nd and 3rd season, and (unfortunately) misguided plot arcs in the 3rd. Maybe it's best they shut it down while it still hadn't gone the way of some other franchises which i will not name here!

  • Paige Archie
    Paige Archie 2 months ago

    So at the end end when the Russian guy said "not the American" who tf was that? 🤔 I've got an idea, but I can't say for sure

  • Jehovanny Garcia
    Jehovanny Garcia 2 months ago +1

    I loved this season tbh lol

  • Turbo
    Turbo 2 months ago

    Just finished season 3 and honestly....I see where Jeremy is coming from, but I liked it a lot, it still had that "oh snap I need to click the next episode to see what happens that the previous ones had.

  • Justin Bathelt
    Justin Bathelt 2 months ago

    I really can't understand how people can say they love Season 1 but don't like Season 3. I'd say most of those people have nostalgia fueled rose colored glasses about the first season because for me this season was about on par with that.

  • CultureDTCTV
    CultureDTCTV 2 months ago

    I cried at the finale .
    That's rare .

  • Andres Torres
    Andres Torres 2 months ago

    I have the complete opposite opinion. This season was the best for me. The acting, the main characters, the cinematography, the cheesy-ness, the production design, the costume design, the side characters, the suspense. I loved all of it. Hopper was hilarious, Steve is my new fav character of the show. This season was just pure fun and I can't wait until season 4.

  • Sean Reilly
    Sean Reilly 2 months ago

    Glad to see I’m not the only one who was disappointed

  • Al Amin Shufian
    Al Amin Shufian 2 months ago +2

    If they made season 3 less funny and more sinister like the first season, it would have easily been the best season imo. Nevertheless its still better than most shows

  • Neoshenlong Archivo 2008 - 2011

    Thank. God.
    I just caught up, but I have been reading twitter for months, with people saying "Stranger Things 3 is the best show ever!" and stuff like that. I was like... yeah it was fun, but halfway through I just wanted it to get to the end to see how things turned out. The beginning showed a lot of promise, IMO. I felt like Season 2 lacked a lot of that investigation stuff that drove Season 1 so much! That kind of drama that keeps your public guessing and trying to figure stuff out with the rest of the characters. In this one by the first episode I was like "Oh so this is going to be Body Snatchers". And by the end of the fourth one I was 200% sure that was it, that was when I realized I lost a bit of interest.
    Also, when the terminator dude appeared, I told my gf: "Okay you know what this is making me think? When does it stop becoming a homage and it begins to be a parody?".
    I do agree the ending was strong, even if most of it was telegraphed ages ago. Oh no Billy is here what will they do? If only 11 saw random images of his past that have nothing to do with the story. Oh no the monster is coming what will they do? If only they had a shit ton of fireworks they said wouldn't work some episodes ago. Russian dude says "you can blow it up but YOU CAN'T BE IN THE ROOM OR YOU'LL DIE", oh jeez I'm sure everyone will be fine and that information won't matter at all, right? RIGHT?!
    Anyways the emotional beats where there and they did make me tear up a little, it was such a good ending. In fact it was such a great ending I kinda wish there was no postcredits scene announcing a season 4.

  • Hamdi Aden
    Hamdi Aden 2 months ago

    best season from best to good
    1: stranger things season 2
    2: stranger things season 1
    3: stranger things season 3
    Lets see about season 4

  • Timothy Hughes
    Timothy Hughes 2 months ago

    Season three was pure Awesome!! Started off slow, but the story arc of Billy was phenomenal!!

  • Marie
    Marie 2 months ago

    Robin was a great addition to the cast though.

  • Giacomo Cecchinato
    Giacomo Cecchinato 3 months ago

    100% right. Goofy, boring, a very unuseful new character etc

  • Trae King
    Trae King 3 months ago

    I thought Matthew Modine did good in “The Dark Knight Rises.” I don’t understand the ridiculous complaint there.

  • Theinterimbeast87
    Theinterimbeast87 3 months ago +1

    First time I’ve ever really disagreed with a Jeremy review. I loved season 3

  • Vatroslav Morbidović
    Vatroslav Morbidović 3 months ago +1

    I know I am a bit late, but I also did not like this season. And I am glad you were disappointed too, Jeremy, otherwise I would have to fight you. :p And no, I did not look up for that song. That was one of the dumbest moments in whole show.

  • Kyere Nilrem
    Kyere Nilrem 3 months ago +1

    Hey but that Dustin Suzie collab was flames

  • shogun harlem
    shogun harlem 3 months ago

    Lol jeremy are you high. Season 1 was et , firestarter, and alien