Acute Kidney Injury (Acute Renal Failure) Nursing NCLEX Review Management, Stages, Pathophysiology

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 15, 2017
  • Acute kidney injury (also called acute renal failure) nursing NCLEX review lecture on the nursing management, stages, pathophysiology, and causes (prerenal, intrarenal, postrenal).
    What is Acute Kidney Injury? It is the SUDDEN decrease in renal function that leads to the build up of waste in the blood, fluid overload, and electrolyte imbalances.
    What are the causes of Acute Kidney Injury? There are three causes, which are based on location. The first is known as prerenal injury and this is an issue with the perfusion to the kidneys that leads to decreased renal function. A second cause is known as intrarenal injury, and this is due to damage to the nephrons of the kidney. Lastly, postrenal injury is due to a blockage located in the urinary tract after the kidney that can extend to the urethra. This is causing the back flow of urine, which increases the pressure and waste in the kidneys.
    Stages of Acute Kidney Injury: There are four stage of acute kidney injury, which include initiation, oliguric, diuresis, and recovery stage. The initiation stage starts when a cause creates an injury to the kidney and then signs and symptoms start to appear. This leads to the oliguric stages. The patient will void less than 400 mL/day of urine during this stage and will experience increased BUN/creatinine levels, azotemia, hyperkalemia, hypervolemia, increase phosphate and decreased calcium levels along with metabolic acidosis.
    After this stage the patient can progress to the diuresis stage and this is where the patient will void 3-6 Liters of urine per day due to osmotic diuresis. The patient is at risk for hypokalemia, dehydration, and hypovolemia. The last stage is recovery and the patient's glomerular filtration rate has returned to normal. Therefore, the kidneys are able to maintain normal BUN and creatinine levels, electrolyte, and water levels.
    Quiz on Acute Kidney Injury: www.registerednursern.com/acute-kidney-injury-nclex-practice-questions/
    Notes: www.registerednursern.com/acute-kidney-injury-renal-failure-nclex-review/
    More NCLEX Renal Lectures: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfXkfh1nWrtxLcRTrohj41su
    Subscribe: tvclip.biz/user/registerednursern
    Nursing School Supplies: www.registerednursern.com/the-ultimate-list-of-nursing-medical-supplies-and-items-a-new-nurse-student-nurse-needs-to-buy/
    Visit our website RegisteredNurseRN.com for free quizzes, nursing care plans, salary information, job search, and much more: www.registerednursern.com
    Check out other Videos: tvclip.biz/user/RegisteredNurseRNvideos
    All of our videos in a playlist: tvclip.biz/video/pAhHxt663pU/video.html
    Popular Playlists:
    NCLEX Reviews: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfWtwCDmLHyX2UeHofCIcgo0
    Fluid & Electrolytes: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfWJSZ9pL8L3Q1dzdlxUzeKv
    Nursing Skills: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfUhd_qQYEbp0Eab3uUKhgKb
    Nursing School Study Tips: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfWBO40qeDmmaMwMHJEWc9Ms
    Nursing School Tips & Questions" tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfVQok-t1X5ZMGgQr3IMBY9M
    Teaching Tutorials: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfUkW_DpJekN_Y0lFkVNFyVF
    Types of Nursing Specialties: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfW8dRD72gUFa5W7XdfoxArp
    Healthcare Salary Information: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfVN0vmEP59Tx2bIaB_3Qhdh
    New Nurse Tips: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfVTqH6LIoAD2zROuzX9GXZy
    Nursing Career Help: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfVXjptWyvj2sx1k1587B_pj
    EKG Teaching Tutorials: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfU-A9UTclI0tOYrNJ1N5SNt
    Dosage & Calculations for Nurses: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfUYdl0TZQ0Tc2-hLlXlHNXq
    Diabetes Health Managment: tvclip.biz/p/PLQrdx7rRsKfXtEx17D7zC1efmWIX-iIs9

Comments • 166

  • RegisteredNurseRN
    RegisteredNurseRN  2 years ago +49

    Hey Everyone! Thank you so much for watching. Don't forget:
    Quiz: www.registerednursern.com/acute-kidney-injury-nclex-practice-questions/
    Notes: www.registerednursern.com/acute-kidney-injury-renal-failure-nclex-review/
    More Renal Videos: tvclip.biz/video/0qZxw0Nd1lI/video.html
    Facebook: facebook.com/RegisteredNurseRNs
    Instagram: instagram.com/registerednursern_com/
    Twitter: twitter.com/NursesRN

    • JOHN HENRY
      JOHN HENRY 11 months ago

      ANOTHER OUTSTANDING VIDEO. SARAH IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! THANK YOU SARAH FOR ALL THAT YOU DO. :-)

    • Gabriel Marenvil
      Gabriel Marenvil 2 years ago +1

      Ray Chel good luck

    • RegisteredNurseRN
      RegisteredNurseRN  2 years ago +1

      That is awesome! You go! I'm so honored my videos have helped play a role in that....thank you for using them!

    • RegisteredNurseRN
      RegisteredNurseRN  2 years ago +1

      Thank you so much, Lindsey :) I hope your exam goes well today. I hope to have ESRD done by the end of this week. Hopefully, you can use it for your final :) Thank you for watching this video!

    • Lindsey Ray
      Lindsey Ray 2 years ago +3

      I have a 90 average in my chronic class because of you!!! 2 more tests to go.....

  • gc voon
    gc voon 24 days ago

    Good video, straight to point. could the slow down of heart function on long term taking medicine eg carvedilol causing renal failure in the example discussed by you?

  • mark elliott
    mark elliott 25 days ago

    As a mental health nurse on a very steep learning curve studying pathophysiology a huge thanks!!!!

  • bhawana sedai
    bhawana sedai Month ago

    Thank you for your Vedio it helps a lot to understand...u are super intelligent..❤️

  • brian young
    brian young Month ago

    God Bless you Sarah. I owe you the N in my future RN license for the videos.

  • Benjamin Isaac
    Benjamin Isaac Month ago

    Thank you so much. Very very helpful

  • Isabela Blood1
    Isabela Blood1 2 months ago

    Your life saver thanks a lot god bless..

  • Will Buchholz
    Will Buchholz 2 months ago

    I’m a high school senior any tips before I get started?

  • rafael javelona
    rafael javelona 2 months ago

    Thanks a lot!!!!!

  • vanessa camacho
    vanessa camacho 2 months ago

    I’ll be sure to thank you in my speech when I graduate in May!🙏🏼

  • Elen Shawn
    Elen Shawn 3 months ago

    U r a amazing teacher

  • Chowdeshhb
    Chowdeshhb 4 months ago

    You are amazing lecture and 200 videos uploaded great job keep it up...

  • maria molinari
    maria molinari 4 months ago +2

    Thank you so much for taking the time to make these videos. I always watch your videos before I go to lecture or read my chapters and its 100% easier, so thank you SO much

  • Dr Iqtader786
    Dr Iqtader786 4 months ago

    Nice video

  • Reem Amro
    Reem Amro 4 months ago

    love youuu 💜💜💜💜💜

  • Kirsten Scott
    Kirsten Scott 4 months ago

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I've got my first critical care test tomorrow and this video has helped clear up A LOT.

  • Richard Greene
    Richard Greene 5 months ago

    Very detailed and interesting information. I believe this information applies to my current condition, after three weeks in hospital, this helps me to understand what is going on in my system, as I was diagnosed with Acute kidney Injury. Thank you.

  • Gift Ogechukwu
    Gift Ogechukwu 5 months ago

    Thanks so much for your videos has helped me in my med sug exams , you talked about dialysis would like so videos on that thanks ☺☺

  • Rafiq Ahmad
    Rafiq Ahmad 6 months ago +1

    Nice
    Awsome
    I like and love you from pakistan
    See your lecture
    Thanks madum

  • Lacey B
    Lacey B 6 months ago +1

    I don't know if you already teach for a school, but Galen College of Nursing would be excited to have you! These past three years I have been in nursing school I have made my way back to your videos. You are so natural at teaching and definitely have helped more than a few. Thank you, I appreciate your time and effort to help us nursing students. :)

  • Cut The Bull Shyt Weymon

    Perfect God bless you!!

  • Lavonia Dickerson
    Lavonia Dickerson 6 months ago

    will you pin me

  • Diane Claudine Reyes
    Diane Claudine Reyes 7 months ago +1

    Hi Sarah! 🙂
    I just want to say thank you for making these informative videos. You made them in a way that we can easily grasp the content. I'm an international nurse and I passed my NCLEX on my first attempt last May 2019 with 75 questions. And you have a big contribution to my success.
    I hope and pray that you will continue to help a lot of nurses/future nurses.
    God bless 🙏

  • Naggalye Janet
    Naggalye Janet 7 months ago

    Omg nmy dear you are a life saver. I've understood so well better than how I was taught. Your videos are the best madam. Am so grateful. I hope to pass my DHA nursing exam. Thank you so much.

  • Constance Shannon
    Constance Shannon 8 months ago +2

    Nurse Sarah I have been an LPN for 13 years and I have a BS in bio. I just wanted to let you know that I am in term 4/5 of nursing school and you are THE REASON! Thank you for what you do, you are gifted! Teaching and nursing are your calling...even long distance! Now that's talent!

  • Creative gamer Caydence

    Can you do some videos on leukemia, lymphoma, and HIV? :)

  • Katia Keller
    Katia Keller 9 months ago +1

    Thank you so much for these videos. I graduate with my BSN in 18 days and I have my med-surg final on Tuesday and your videos have helped me so much with my classes. I hope to be as good as a teacher as you some day.

  • shayna nycole
    shayna nycole 9 months ago +2

    Back again, 4 weeks left til I finish my RN degree and that is very much thanks to your videos! They have got me thru every test, so thankful I discovered this site back in my first semester. I'll be graduating with highest honors, have maintained a 4.0 GPA all thru the program! And received several scholarships and offers because of it. So seriously THANK YOU for all you do to help us nursing students! I feel completely confident about the NCLEX and that is also thanks to your videos. Can't wait to graduate in 4 weeks! We have one more test on this (renal) and burns which I have been watching those videos too, then the final, and 2 more clinicals and I'm done! I will be returning to your videos when I go back for my BSN next, then masters for nurse midwife! Feels great to be checking off goals!

    • Bri Bri
      Bri Bri 8 months ago

      I see that this comment was posted 4 weeks ago soooo... CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR GRADUATION

  • Jock Mo
    Jock Mo 9 months ago +1

    great presentation. Thank you!

  • aljotock
    aljotock 9 months ago +5

    absolutely brilliant presentation. My father (90 yr old and ill) developed AKI and this has helped me understand the realistic prognosis for him. He's not in End stage renal failure which is regrettable but understanding the mechanism and S&S's etc has really helped when discussing with his doctors what is the most appropriate treatment plan. many thanks x

  • ZEN Controller
    ZEN Controller 9 months ago

    try raisins, and try adding raisins to your water. take N-Acetyl-Cysteine and Glutathione. Vitamin C and vitamin K2 also help... I was really suffering yesturday but this combination of vitamins and minerals have really helped... remember you need to look after yourself for 3yrs plus to have a permanent improvement in your liver and kidney function... imo anyway

  • Deanna Conlin
    Deanna Conlin 9 months ago +8

    I cannot express how grateful I am for your videos! You make it all make sense, and wrap all the concepts together in a neat little box that ican actually remember!! Your are a Goddess of Knowledge !!

  • Alexandru Sudacov
    Alexandru Sudacov 9 months ago +6

    you are a blessing to the nursing students and educators. Thank you very much and continue to educate!

  • Hayley Scott
    Hayley Scott 10 months ago +2

    That was fantastic thank you. Learned more in this than in med school :)

  • Rachel Strong
    Rachel Strong 10 months ago +10

    Hi Sarah, I just want to say I have been reading from multiple sources, answering NCLEX questions, and going over class powerpoints for hours on end. Of all the studying I’ve done, your videos helped me the most and made the most sense because you explain it much more efficiently and effectively. My stress levels went from beyond 10 to a 3 in 30 minutes thanks to you. Thank you so much for your website and your nursing videos!!!!

  • april nugent
    april nugent 11 months ago +1

    your awesome!

  • JOHN HENRY
    JOHN HENRY 11 months ago +3

    ANOTHER OUTSTANDING VIDEO. SARAH IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! THANK YOU SARAH FOR ALL THAT YOU DO. :-)

  • Cristiana Cesario
    Cristiana Cesario 11 months ago +2

    Thank you so much for your job!It is wonderful ! so, it becomes easy to understand! :)

  • Amanda Cooley
    Amanda Cooley 11 months ago +29

    I graduate in May, we have to select an instructor to pin us at our pinning ceremony. You have officially been nominated!

  • Viewsfromthedarkside

    Really appreciate this video. I was struggling to get an understanding of akf. This video massively helped me.

  • flybilly123
    flybilly123 Year ago +3

    Your videos are the best! Thank you!

  • DJ BraVo
    DJ BraVo Year ago +4

    Sara, I have no words to explain how grateful I’m for such amazing lectures…

  • Anju Dhami
    Anju Dhami Year ago +1

    You're such a amazing nurse with great knowledge. Yours lectured really helps ...thank you so much

  • Safin Joseph
    Safin Joseph Year ago +4

    Thank you so much for your such usefull video classes.

  • Rica Doneza
    Rica Doneza Year ago +1

    Can you please do a video on leptospirosis? There's not much sources that can give a detailed yet simple explanation about the diease pathophysiology.. Thank you so much and God bless u!

  • Rica Doneza
    Rica Doneza Year ago +3

    hi! I want to thank you for your passion in sharing your knowledge with us through these wonderful videos. I really have learned a lot.. Keep the fire burning!

  • Mikez
    Mikez Year ago +1

    So since you're like a movie star, do you get nursing universities banging on your door to teach? How cool would that be to learn from you in person! Love your diagrams, very illustrative.

  • Paul K.
    Paul K. Year ago +1

    A zillion thank you for your VDOs.. They are very helpful and easily and comprehensively explained everything. Thank you for helping all the students and me - a future registered nurse.

  • T_ _Andre_Mitch
    T_ _Andre_Mitch Year ago +8

    Hello can you please do one on incontinence? Thank you

  • Rayanne A
    Rayanne A Year ago +65

    Just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all your time and effort in making these videos! I wish I had instructors like you in nursing school. You were an imperative part of my preparation for my Nclex exam. I viewed almost 80 % of your videos and made notes. When I took my Nclex I remembered key points from your videos which helped me pass!!! Thank you thank you thank you

  • msamywuu
    msamywuu Year ago +1

    Thank you so much for such a great video. I love how you do your videos. Can you please do a video on glaucoma and cataracts. Thank you.

  • alicia tellez
    alicia tellez Year ago +2

    You have clarified so much for me! I love how you breakdown the pathophysiology of the disorders so that we can understand it fully. I take my NCLEX-PN in 2.5 weeks. Thank you for all that you do!

  • THE USMLE CHANNEL.
    THE USMLE CHANNEL. Year ago +1

    Great lecture!

  • Jenny VBlogs
    Jenny VBlogs Year ago +5

    Nurse Sarah, thank you so much! You are a life saver!!! Im on my 3rd year now.

  • Irene Nayenga
    Irene Nayenga Year ago +1

    Thank you for your videoes, Is it possible to get the notes for this video?

    • RegisteredNurseRN
      RegisteredNurseRN  Year ago

      Thank you so much for watching. Here are the notes: www.registerednursern.com/acute-kidney-injury-renal-failure-nclex-review/
      You can always find the link to the notes either in the TVclip description or pinned via the top of the comment section!

  • lily Sigei
    lily Sigei Year ago +6

    A big thanks for your videos. You have a way of breaking the content down to make it easy to understand. Please do a video on spinal code injury. God bless you

  • Rizwan Manzoor
    Rizwan Manzoor Year ago +1

    Thank you for making this video, your way of delivering lecture is very effective. I am watching your videos from India.

  • Nyamurungi B Tumusiime

    You are the most brilliant nurse i've ever seen

  • Billy Rubin
    Billy Rubin Year ago +4

    best nursing videos i've ever found. thank you

  • Ariel Chasipanta
    Ariel Chasipanta Year ago +2

    Thank you!!! Very good video!!!! #MVP