Why does this exist... Vive Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 13, 2018
  • Buy Optoma NuForce BE Free8 Wireless Earphones on Amazon for $129 USD at
    geni.us/jtDO
    And Newegg at geni.us/ouxnzH2
    CORRECTION: HTC now offers a $1,099 starter bundle which includes a Vive Pro HMD, two controllers, and two base stations.
    Buy the Thermaltake P90 Tempered Glass Edition case on Amazon: geni.us/NqOlr
    Learn more about the Thermaltake P90 Tempered Glass Edition case at geni.us/tWL16
    Is the Vive Pro the next amazing step forward in consumer VR? Unfortunately we think not...
    Buy HTC Vive Pro on Amazon: geni.us/YXauV
    Buy OG HTC Vive on Amazon: geni.us/EwuLcaS
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/916108-the-best-vr-headset-yet-still-has-some-major-problems/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 303

  • W.D. Gaster
    W.D. Gaster 8 hours ago +1

    So you’re saying we need to have a vive if we are gonna buy a vive pro, welp i’m not that rich dude, i can’t, too expensive.
    (I didn’t say the money is mine, but yes i’m not that rich)

  • Mickehd00d
    Mickehd00d Day ago

    You shouldn't buy this for moral reasons alone. Don't let HTC think for ONE second that this is an acceptable price.

  • Luis Yax
    Luis Yax Day ago

    I'm receiving my HTC Vive pro tomorrow, I got the package that includes new base stations and controllers, so I'm hoping my experience is better then yours. Currently my first gen Vive still works but has busted audio, so can't wait for this one. Your points are pretty valid though for folks that only are getting the new headset.

  • Ducky Man
    Ducky Man Day ago

    Thankyou for saving me enough money to buy the controllers at the same time as the headset

  • Mike Dalley
    Mike Dalley 2 days ago

    I've found a complete list of all VR Headsets ever produced and all future Headsets in comparison: delight-vr.com/blog/complete-list-of-vr-headsets-2019/

  • Raj Jethwa
    Raj Jethwa 2 days ago

    The vive pro is extreme , I use my lenevo explorer

  • spaceweed10
    spaceweed10 4 days ago

    This exists as a disgusting money grab from Valve.

  • Liz L
    Liz L 5 days ago

    Oculus: Let's drive consumer interest by creating more user friendly devices with more polished software, and only release hardware when we know it's ready.
    Vive: HEY GUYS NEW HEADSET EVERY 3 MONTHS AT OVER A THOUSAND DOLLARS PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD BE A BUSINESS OWNER

  • Trippy Subie
    Trippy Subie 5 days ago

    Hold on, what the fuck case was that?!?

  • Sxedoc
    Sxedoc 5 days ago

    Hmmm, i spent 10$ in a software called trinusvr and now i can use my PS VR on my pc. Problem solved.

  • Pyrocical X Bell Delfine

    Oculus rift s bb

  • FlyAway
    FlyAway 7 days ago

    Just asking but can my laptop run vrchat at 60fps with htc vive:
    GTX 1050 2gb
    I7 7700k
    16gb ram ddr3
    Windows 10

    • FlyAway
      FlyAway 7 days ago

      +Cryptic Light how many would i need

    • Cryptic Light
      Cryptic Light 7 days ago

      u just need to make sure you have enough usb 3.0 slots for your vr

    • Cryptic Light
      Cryptic Light 7 days ago

      thats perfect for vr basically mid range

  • Darth Vader
    Darth Vader 9 days ago

    The vive pro is the reason why I switched to Oculus.

  • Lexus Fox
    Lexus Fox 12 days ago

    So it’s not worth the upgrade?

  • Imad Choucair
    Imad Choucair 13 days ago +1

    You see today after one year of this review how Linus did not have enough product knowledge about the PRO and what is planned from wireless option, ...you did not do well here, sorry

  • MYC
    MYC 13 days ago +5

    LTT: Let's unbox it
    Me: Yay i'm so excited
    LTT: After this sponsored message
    Me: ... Get. The. Gun.

  • Jim Silvestri
    Jim Silvestri 14 days ago

    VALVE INDEX FTW!

  • Angelica San Juan
    Angelica San Juan 16 days ago

    You just said Canadian pesos... ☹️

  • Nigel Minor
    Nigel Minor 16 days ago

    Is it me or this guy is speaking in alien language.......


    Ooh im just high

  • For Wakanda
    For Wakanda 17 days ago +1

    why is this guy always making himself look like an idiot?

  • DanTdm
    DanTdm 17 days ago

    *_zucc juice_* 1:12

  • Avaku
    Avaku 17 days ago

    7:30 I thought you said BabeStations lol

  • Voice Muted
    Voice Muted 18 days ago

    Google Plastic 2.0

  • Email Alpha
    Email Alpha 19 days ago +1

    I think the Valve Index is better than this in every measurable way - including price.

    • Croft
      Croft 17 days ago

      Well, it's been a year since this video. So probably not surprising. But yeah I agree, the Index is looking good.

  • Platinum_Panzer
    Platinum_Panzer 19 days ago

    Saddest part? The Samsung Odyssey, a $300 Windows Mixed Reality HMD was able to compete with this HMD and actually beats it in some areas like the microphone quality.

  • Macafee
    Macafee 19 days ago

    Linus just doesn’t like anything.

  • Tarek Moneim Said
    Tarek Moneim Said 20 days ago

    wait, so this is a "pro" version that is actually targeting businesses, and not just used as a fancy marketing word? Seems like it, since it's bulkier, it has a 93m2 range (way bigger than most people's apartments, let alone their room)...

  • Rich Smith
    Rich Smith 20 days ago +1

    Newsflash: Linus can't appreciate the brilliance of the Pro because of his massive honker.

  • Matt
    Matt 21 day ago +2

    I brought a vive pro - have loved it since the day I brought it and never had any issues what so ever. Mind you I never tried a vive 1.

  • Jiří Valtr
    Jiří Valtr 21 day ago

    So... if I'!m a typical poor consumer... do you recommend me to buy Oculus Rift? And what about the sensors? Rift doesnt have those two blacky-boxy-sensors, does it? Thanx to anyone who answer.

    • Jiří Valtr
      Jiří Valtr 17 days ago

      +mushnoodle I have watched lot of videos and I have made a decision :) Ill buy HTC Vive, but used. Not the new one. Its much more worth than buying any shitty Microsoft Mixed Reality headset :D
      Anyways, thanx for answering.

    • mushnoodle
      mushnoodle 17 days ago

      If you're a poor consumer you might want to look into mixed reality headsets (but i heard they might be a bit flimsy in terms of material and tracking?) or consoles and phone based sets but those require you to have a certain phone or the playstation or the nintendo switch. (the prices on these vary a bit)
      oculus quest 64gb is at 400$ which is just released for preorder. (you can try the set out in some stores once its released and its a standalone set that doesnt need a computer)
      the go is cheaper but i wouldnt really recommend it over the quest imo. If you already have a decent pc (costs a lot too after all) rift S also costs 400$.
      or you look into second hand Vive&riftcv1 since some people might want to get rid of theirs in favor of a new set?
      the valve headset and future vive is probably going to be pretty expensive so i wouldnt count on those.

  • Horary Zappy
    Horary Zappy 21 day ago

    Well... if you don’t want it

  • JasperTube
    JasperTube 21 day ago +2

    Why i cant have a VIVE Pro for free?? Guess i have to lick your shoes later

  • Malcolm Hughes
    Malcolm Hughes 22 days ago

    i love my pro but i hate the lighthouses

    • Carl James
      Carl James 21 day ago

      I think my google cardboard blasts this thing out of the water

  • saucy snipers
    saucy snipers 22 days ago

    seems like i had none of the problems you had

  • Jimmy Nahlous
    Jimmy Nahlous 22 days ago

    I'm happy with my very cheap 2nd hand Vanilla Vive I got.. At work we have 2 vives, 5 Oculus Rifts, and not long ago a Vive Pro.... I tried the Vive Pro and man, that was buggy, heavy like Linus said in fast paced games. Not to mention, the signal kept dropping out and the image pixelating to keep up with the bandwidth. It literally goes from the best image it can give you to a 'censored' artifacting look even at 2m away from the transmitter. I think it is very prone to interference.

  • Edwin Biju
    Edwin Biju 23 days ago

    Does anyone know what that keyboard he was using with the corsair one was???

  • Crowz
    Crowz 23 days ago

    Sorry The vive pro is already out...Valve can't count to a third product....

    • Crowz
      Crowz 22 days ago

      +ILovePlebs It's a running joke about Halflife 3....it was never released and Valve denies it will be a thing...Valve doesn't do threes....

    • ILovePlebs
      ILovePlebs 22 days ago

      Crowz what do you mean?

  • Brando Crispim Vieira
    Brando Crispim Vieira 27 days ago +1

    HTC Vive is overpriced, customer support is awkardly defensive about everything and they try to enforce a 1-year warranty even in countries where it's 2-year by law.

    • ULI LOCK
      ULI LOCK 25 days ago

      This is my biggest complaint. So many reviews of issues with customer support, or being forced to pay to mail in a defective unit, really scares me away and to the Rift and other options. Support is important.

  • MindDrift
    MindDrift 27 days ago

    I'll give you 200$ for it.

  • SHRED SHREDDER
    SHRED SHREDDER 29 days ago

    Zucc juice

  • Fishum
    Fishum Month ago +11

    After nearly a year with the vive Pro full 2.0 kit, I'll say it was one of the best decisions I made, it seems perfectly adapted to my head, didn't hurt my nose and feels ten times better than the original Vive.

  • Dave Wisnosky
    Dave Wisnosky Month ago +1

    I'm still surprised that this guy is heterosexual (not that there's anything wrong with that)

  • James Hoffman
    James Hoffman Month ago

    you know I could've just taken that off your hands and used it just as the headset and been happy.

  • Wade Zer0
    Wade Zer0 Month ago

    Dislike at "RIGHT AFTER!"

  • Iancov m
    Iancov m Month ago

    9:32 Isnt this just another radiation generator stick in to the year? Worming up the brain:D you should check it with a radiation metter:)

  • Grass Hopper
    Grass Hopper Month ago +1

    What game is that he is playing at the start>?

  • Team Ski
    Team Ski Month ago

    Awesome review, thank you!

  • TheBlueberry606
    TheBlueberry606 Month ago

    Sim racing :)

  • coolbeatsunboxing
    coolbeatsunboxing Month ago

    This guy is so negative

  • Scott Magee
    Scott Magee Month ago

    I absolutely fully agree with what you mention in this video. I have an Oculus Rift and the HTC Vive. I mostly only use the Rift due to discomfort because of the weight of the Vive. I even bought a delux headset to try and fix the comfort issue, but it still not as good for me as the lighter Rift. Like you, I'm also blessed with a big nose, but I doubt that is the actual problem. lol I won't be getting the newest Vive anytime soon.

  • Gamers Haven
    Gamers Haven Month ago

    @LinusTechTips think I can get it then, to replace my DK1 Oculus Rift?
    I don't mind buying the controllers later.

  • _Aedan_ _Richardson_

    So oculus wins again?

  • SLAYER-GAMES
    SLAYER-GAMES Month ago

    I have a rift should I buy a Vive?

    • Demongod99
      Demongod99 Month ago

      No, stick with the Oculus until you can buy an actual new better VR headset like the upcoming windows mixed reality headsets. All of the headsets that are out right now are about the same. You won't notice a difference in the vive than the Oculus.

  • Rick Nance
    Rick Nance Month ago

    I'm just lazy. I'm waiting for the mixed reality contacts. I want yellow with lizard pupils.

  • Samael Gamboa
    Samael Gamboa Month ago

    Holy sponsored message, that looks seriously sexy

  • sculpta
    sculpta Month ago

    LINUS STOP BEING SO FUCKING MISERABLE YOU FUCK

  • maulCS
    maulCS Month ago

    You are exerting way too much energy swinging your arms around. I mean, fuck.

  • eropis
    eropis Month ago

    My issue with this thing is only one. I cannot use my favorite Headphones because they dont fit over the thicker Headwrist. In every other Way i think it is better. Fits better in my Head and stays there opposite to the normal Vive without Deluxe Strap.

  • Marko BlackBaron German

    parli troppo!!!!

  • sexmachine-Stay on the scene

    take the blue pill take the red pill or Vive

  • LuigiBro74
    LuigiBro74 Month ago

    Valves been getting away with overpricing their shit long enough

    • M0rph3u5
      M0rph3u5 Month ago

      Not for long hopefully, with the upcoming Valve Index and Rift S/Quest

  • Psykonaut
    Psykonaut Month ago

    I feel like it's still not the time to invest in vr yet...

    • M0rph3u5
      M0rph3u5 Month ago

      Definitely NOT!! at least wait till June when both Valve Index and Rift S (along with Quest) are released, and possibly Vive revealing more info re: Comsos. Its too late to get 1st gen Vive or Rift

    • Radu Stoltz
      Radu Stoltz Month ago

      have you tried a proper VR setup yet? because i had the same mindset until i tried a setup and was completely mind blown with it, watching does not do it justice at all, give it a decent go and then decide

  • Han Lockhart
    Han Lockhart Month ago +1

    Big, bulky and ludicrously expensive- Yea, I`ll wait.

  • King im craften
    King im craften Month ago

    Hi

  • SevenDeMagnus
    SevenDeMagnus Month ago +6

    VR is so amazing, just watching it, does it no justice (it's like describing the most beautiful actress you saw in person with stick figure drawing). VR is the most amazing, it's sometimes even better than the real world. I'm glad I've tried VR. The emotions the same game brings is multiplied so many times.
    God bless, Proverbs 31

    • TehUltimateSnake
      TehUltimateSnake 13 days ago +1

      SevenDeMagnus google earth vr is also beautiful. Being able to go back to the house and streets I grew up on gave me major nostalgia. Thats when I knew VR was special and not just a gimmick.

  • C M
    C M Month ago

    Send it to me then since I can’t get a free one

  • MrEkg98
    MrEkg98 Month ago

    SO this is the true rift 2.

  • SP Champion
    SP Champion Month ago

    Your channel fu@#%$! rocks!

  • Times
    Times Month ago +1

    VR is the future, but the future ain't here yet.

  • The NoukiMusic
    The NoukiMusic Month ago

    Sound like apple

  • Nick Hoover1979 Wride
    Nick Hoover1979 Wride Month ago +1

    But is the higher resolution OLED display really an improvement, when you factor in the blur and god rays introduced by the soft plastic fresnel lenses?

  • S0phisticatedZ0mbie
    S0phisticatedZ0mbie 2 months ago

    Can i get that Vive?

  • NesimiSa
    NesimiSa 2 months ago

    Wow, sponsor+ads

  • Joe Storer
    Joe Storer 2 months ago

    you didnt take off the plastic on the cameras

  • brikeibur123
    brikeibur123 2 months ago

    I have owned the OG vive and the Pro, I have struggled with the fit of the vive pro since day one. HTC definitely took two steps back in terms of the fit and comfort in my opinion.

    • moik
      moik Month ago

      brikeibur123 Oh okay, well thank you! :)

    • brikeibur123
      brikeibur123 Month ago

      +moik It's fine I used a set of Cloud X headphones for a few months before getting the deluxe strap and it was fine the convenience of the deluxe strap was what made it amazing though.

    • moik
      moik Month ago

      brikeibur123 what about it without the strap? If I get it I was planning to use it with just my headphones. Do you recommend getting the vive though?

    • brikeibur123
      brikeibur123 Month ago

      +moik I unfortunately don't have any experience with the Rift. The regular Vive is a fantastic experience if you purchase it with the deluxe head strap though.

    • moik
      moik Month ago

      brikeibur123 since you own the og vive after this long, do you think getting the og vive instead of an oculus rift s is a good choice? I can’t decide which headset to purchase because I’m giving my old rift away to a friend so I can play with them on my new one.

  • B1Vantage
    B1Vantage 2 months ago +1

    I also own the original, tried out and returned the vive pro. I have all the same issues you have with pro. Comfort is so much worth with pro.

  • Nekminute
    Nekminute 2 months ago +1

    I want to buy into VR but they all suck nowadays maybe next gen ?

    • Mr. Positive Positivity
      Mr. Positive Positivity 2 months ago

      they suck or u just arent appreciated in nowadays technology. go to another dimension if u can even do that.

  • Bob Bob
    Bob Bob 2 months ago

    Hey can I have it if you don't like it I mean give to the poor right

  • AnimeGamer
    AnimeGamer 2 months ago

    If you don't want it I could take it 😂

  • Tarkan Dereboylu
    Tarkan Dereboylu 2 months ago

    Not a hardcore gamer here, I just enjoy casual gaming so I’m totally happy with my standalone $300 Oculus GO

  • Tarkan Dereboylu
    Tarkan Dereboylu 2 months ago

    You know what they say, king size nose king size ......

  • Hakeem Hakim
    Hakeem Hakim 2 months ago +1

    Back again...I did an upgrade to my original HTC vive....I did the lens mod, replaced the foam padding and WOW!!! This thing is like a new headset. I compared it to my Samsung Odyssey plus and it is more clear than that. In essence, purchasing an HTC Vive Pro is a rip off! get the original vive, do the lens replacement mod and change out the foam padding for the VR Cover (that's what it is called..it allows your yes to be closer to the lenses). There are no blind spots and you can actually move your eyes around and read text instead of moving your head....I also paired it with the wireless solution and it is now a truly great experience!!!

  • Penguinz 9000
    Penguinz 9000 2 months ago

    When Is Nerve Gear releasing

  • GokouZWAR
    GokouZWAR 2 months ago

    Linus, is the 1,300 one with the base stations and controllers now worth it for a VR arcade maybe one who doesn't have ANYTHING yet (new upstart VR arcade...)? I mean I'd really rather get a oculus rift for my arcade, (I love the controllers and the headset and screens (hate the tracking system for 360 requiring 3 sensors) but nevermind that, they don't support commercial licensing of software (did you know that VR arcades basically can't use oculus at all? maybe so, but now you know for sure just in case you didn't) so it kinda kills it for any VR arcade leaving us to have to give customers a shitty experience with huge screen door effects with the original (now super dated) Vive (non-pro). Its pretty much, Get vive or close up shop and people at home can now get the rift super cheap and it looks and works way better (esp with 3 sensors and 360 tracking) so why the hell will they come to my shop if I don't get ahead of the consumer market and make sure I have the top stuff available with the best quality screens? The rift in my book blows the vive (non-pro, and pro alike) away with the lighter headset and better quality screens. I agree the lighter the better and Rift is really freakin light...and looks awesome...but...now with pro sticking to the non-pro for my arcade startup, is that even a wise choice?

  • Killer Jellybean
    Killer Jellybean 2 months ago

    I'm confused, should I get an oculus or the vive.

  • gael jehanno
    gael jehanno 2 months ago

    just this one reference to the onions was enought for me to add a thumb up( and the video was pretty nice too).

  • Alan smith
    Alan smith 2 months ago

    PVR iris headset is a whole new way to watch porn in VR.

  • Fenlander216
    Fenlander216 2 months ago

    It is great if you have the original vive, but I don't have the 90 square meters to have a room space. So the new lighthouses are going to be pointless in buying unless my original ones break. Same with the controllers.

  • Kim Strandberg
    Kim Strandberg 2 months ago +1

    OG Vive with DAS is alot better, and lighter.

  • Cyclopsgaming
    Cyclopsgaming 2 months ago

    So basically if you never had an original vive to compare with, this one might be greatly liked?
    Edit: if it came with all the other accessories of course

    • Noxid
      Noxid 2 months ago +1

      I just switch from rift to Vive pro, already love it more.

  • TOBN
    TOBN 2 months ago

    No it’s not for gaming is it?

  • Why?
    Why? 2 months ago

    Yes this is worth it if u don't want it give it to me u ungrateful brat

  • GravellerGear
    GravellerGear 2 months ago +2

    I was going to get a Pro for my gaming company... well... I'll still get it lol

  • NOS Huffer
    NOS Huffer 2 months ago +1

    Other than price and lack of accessories this is better than the old vive and rift. So i dont know why your being a bitch since its free. You got a free upgrade and still to spoiled to use it

  • baseballmom67's worst nightmare

    So this is what valve was working on and not Half Life 3

  • Thunder Nile
    Thunder Nile 2 months ago

    Can u give me the headset if u don’t want it

  • D Rex
    D Rex 2 months ago

    I feel like you have to be rich to enjoy tech life 😔

  • Sasoushii
    Sasoushii 2 months ago

    ok so this clearly an OCULUS rift but in VIVE...

    • Sasoushii
      Sasoushii 2 months ago

      +Mike Hines oh, well how he jut explained it , he act like somone that never does VIVE then -_-

    • Mike Hines
      Mike Hines 2 months ago

      You must have never used a vive

    • Sasoushii
      Sasoushii 2 months ago

      +Mike Hines yeah , the flexible strings , you can move your VR for the persons who wares glasses like me , evrything to look an OCULU RIFT !

    • Mike Hines
      Mike Hines 2 months ago

      Lol what?

  • Austin Millen
    Austin Millen 2 months ago

    Linus Tech Tips
    Hey, if you aren't using the vive pro, I can take it😂😂

  • MiniGamer2015
    MiniGamer2015 2 months ago

    *Fuck off HTC Vive Pro, i will buy the normal one (HTC Vive)*