Why does this exist... Vive Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 13, 2018
  • Buy Optoma NuForce BE Free8 Wireless Earphones on Amazon for $129 USD at
    geni.us/jtDO
    And Newegg at geni.us/ouxnzH2
    CORRECTION: HTC now offers a $1,099 starter bundle which includes a Vive Pro HMD, two controllers, and two base stations.
    Buy the Thermaltake P90 Tempered Glass Edition case on Amazon: geni.us/NqOlr
    Learn more about the Thermaltake P90 Tempered Glass Edition case at geni.us/tWL16
    Is the Vive Pro the next amazing step forward in consumer VR? Unfortunately we think not...
    Buy HTC Vive Pro on Amazon: geni.us/YXauV
    Buy OG HTC Vive on Amazon: geni.us/EwuLcaS
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/916108-the-best-vr-headset-yet-still-has-some-major-problems/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 155

  • chloe tucker
    chloe tucker 2 hours ago

    5:28 thatโ€™s what she said

  • Speedbun
    Speedbun 9 hours ago

    And here I am, watching some guy literally shaking around a piece of tech that is worth more than anything that I have ever owned.
    Could you stop complaining about it and just give it to me?

  • Serenity
    Serenity 19 hours ago

    lol who did the subtitles for this?

  • RingoFreakingStarr
    RingoFreakingStarr 21 hour ago

    Back when the Pro came out, I would pretty much agree with all the points in this video. However, after owning and using the unit both at home and at work (3D scene viewing of CAD models), I have to say that it is absolutely worth the money. It looks way better than the OG Vive (the panels), the weighting makes it more comfortable to keep on my head, and the headphones (when mated with those 3D printed clips that slide on the track and force more pressure to your ears) sound really good. If you have the money and you are wanting to stay in the SteamVR basestation space, it's a no brainer. Yes it costs a lot but I think once you start to realize that VR is a hobby, it becomes much easier to fork down the money. NONE OF US are going to make money back on selling these units so just treat it like a trip to the movies or whatnot. It's just for enjoyment.

  • wolfbloodwarrior elite gamer

    Uhhh I just got a HTC Vive and I have only watched vr videos never reviews and this popped up in my suggestion box

  • Chris Robbins
    Chris Robbins 2 days ago

    I bet you liked it if you had to pay the full $1,200 for it

  • Chris Robbins
    Chris Robbins 2 days ago

    Which one can play pubg without needing to buy a computer

  • Lukrative
    Lukrative 2 days ago

    He should give it away

  • Matt Manna
    Matt Manna 3 days ago

    I will gladly take that off your hands and put it to good use if you are not using it! :)

  • kapars cupitis
    kapars cupitis 5 days ago

    you are bribe mister evry video you mast know you are gay sucker suda kroplis tu esi lohs visos video

  • Monty
    Monty 5 days ago

    weeellllll if you dont want it :D

  • Maarten
    Maarten 5 days ago

    Ah VR. To me the tech is just not there yet to warrant investing that kind of money into it. The gaming library is just sad. No big titles, just some flashy "tech demos" at best. The hardware itself is far too bulky and uncomfortable to wear for a long time. Even the Playstation VR annoyed me after less than 30 minutes and that's a seated experience. The resolution for these things is horrible. The hardware to drive it is just not there yet. But for this kind of field of view, we need to go 8k and beyond while at the same time not sacrificing on refresh rates and motion tracking. Motion sickness is another serious issue. One that can only be resolved with improved hardware that allow for those higher resolutions, refresh rates and better tracking. And the controllers need to be replaced by a lightweight, glove-type tracking device. With individual finger tracking. I think it'll be at least another 5 years before these things really take off.

  • Hoax
    Hoax 5 days ago

    Zucc Juice

  • Sam nolan
    Sam nolan 6 days ago

    Do a giveaway!!!

  • 12345 No Videos
    12345 No Videos 8 days ago

    Captions 1:11

  • Jason Schnereger
    Jason Schnereger 8 days ago

    Linus, get yourself setup with brave browser so you can get some BAT from me watching :)

  • Jason Schnereger
    Jason Schnereger 8 days ago

    Linus knows his stuff and most importantly is honest and that's why he's the best!

  • Hara Park
    Hara Park 8 days ago

    CANADIAN PESOS XD

  • Pumello
    Pumello 8 days ago

    what the bloody hell is the game called hes playing at 4:00

  • Melvin G
    Melvin G 8 days ago

    You seem techy, whats your gaming tower, i wanna invest in a gaming pc setup but im gonna use a 60inch tv as monitor

  • outgoingbot
    outgoingbot 9 days ago

    This guy is a great businessman but only has consumer level knowledge of technology and engineering.

  • Jakob
    Jakob 9 days ago

    haha HTC gave it to you... hilarious I also had the rep for HTC VivePro calling me 24/7 here in Denmark and begging me to take it.
    I simply wouldn't and the HTC rep dude kept asking why??.. it was like he simply couldn't comprehend that my Google cardboard VR fitted with my budget Chinese-phone Le2Max with 2K 5.7" LCD screen was miles ahead of his crappy VR 1440p OLEDs (come on 2k vs 1440p it's a no brainer, literally)
    but wicked that he then dump it on you.

  • Robo Rat
    Robo Rat 9 days ago

    With sculpting going VR it would be a dream if they'd create a 'starving artist' version. I don't need the bells n whistles, I just want to sculpt in VR but I'm not paying the price of a car for that.

  • Huntyboy102
    Huntyboy102 9 days ago

    how much can I give you for the vive pro?

  • PLAGUEDASSASSIN GAMING

    So if your not going to use it.... I'll take it off your hands for you. My son has RP and would kick a kick out of VR. Also great video loved your break down of the whole thing

  • Beastly Priest
    Beastly Priest 9 days ago

    Your representation of the price vs the package is misleading.

  • Jaymond Galaxy
    Jaymond Galaxy 9 days ago +2

    OMG, that sucks, just get the Oculus Quest. SERIOUSLY people look into it. The Oculus Quest is what I'm going to buy, it will be the first VR headset I have bought.

  • RaptorKing_1 Adventures

    Can You Give Me Your Opinion For Someone Who Wants A Vive Should I Buy The Vive Pro 1400$ Or The Regular Htc Vive 499$

  • sandakureva
    sandakureva 10 days ago

    It's an enterprise-class device.

  • Jon L
    Jon L 10 days ago

    In your professional tech opinion. How long till VR headsets go wireless.

  • Mikeflower
    Mikeflower 10 days ago

    you are so funny ! thanks i like your simplicity and entusiastic approach to vr! thanks!

  • Oscar Hoad
    Oscar Hoad 10 days ago

    at least you are getting the new basestations and controllers

  • Kristoffe Brodeur
    Kristoffe Brodeur 10 days ago +1

    you moved your arms and lost your breath after 10-15 seconds. and sounded like you were going to die after 60. get a swimming routine, 20 minutes every other day. you need endurance.

  • Sikk Vikk
    Sikk Vikk 10 days ago

    Send me the pro I'll use it...๐Ÿ˜‚

  • V1 Gibby
    V1 Gibby 10 days ago +1

    Stop being a pessimist toward electronics

  • jawrabbit
    jawrabbit 11 days ago

    Hell nah this thing is such an improvement you can no longer see the pixels like you could on the regular one its great

  • thatgtkid2ใƒ„
    thatgtkid2ใƒ„ 11 days ago

    *buys Vive on sale for 200 bucks* welp nothing else needed

  • Andrew Bassano
    Andrew Bassano 12 days ago

    Iโ€™ll take the pro if you donโ€™t want it lol

  • JLMcNulty
    JLMcNulty 12 days ago

    This is why Iโ€™m glad the oculus quest is coming out soon as itโ€™s standalone and I donโ€™t have to spend over ยฃ1000 on a gaming pc and over ยฃ700 for extra accessories like tracking hubs! I canโ€™t wait for the quest to come out!!

  • Michael Barrutia
    Michael Barrutia 12 days ago

    HTC Vive sucks ass

  • Notorious Nuke
    Notorious Nuke 12 days ago

    Just get an oculus bro

  • Mike
    Mike 13 days ago

    Should I pull the trigger on the Vive? My budget: $800

  • seckusa
    seckusa 13 days ago

    Wow!!! This guy is just awful!!!!!

  • Joe Wayne
    Joe Wayne 14 days ago

    What you take for that one then if you donโ€™t want it

  • Jake E
    Jake E 14 days ago

    Ps4 vr ๐Ÿ‘Œ

  • Arizona Drone
    Arizona Drone 14 days ago

    Can you do ur adds at the end. god dayum

  • ์ด๊ด€ํฌ

    ๋…ธํŠธ๋ถ ๋“ฑ์— ์ง€๊ณ  ํ”Œ๋ ˆ์ด ํ• ์ˆ˜ ์—†๊ฒŒ ๋งŒ๋“ค์—ˆ์–ด. VIVE PRO๋Š” ๋””์Šคํ”Œ๋ž˜์ด ํฌํŠธ๋ผ์„œ ๋…ธํŠธ๋ถ์— ์•Š๋ผ, HDMI TO DP ํฌํŠธ ์จ๋„ ์•Š๋ผ. ๋„๋‘‘๋†ˆ๋“ค์ด์ง€. ์ด์„ธ๋ผ๋“ค์€ ํ•˜๋“œ์›จ์–ด ์ŠคํŽ™๋งŒ ๊นŒ๋จน์–ด, ์†Œ๋น„์ž๋“ค๋“ค์—๊ฒŒ ๋ง‰๋Œ€ํ•œ ํ”ผํ•ด๋ฅผ ์ž…ํžˆ๊ณ  ์žˆ๋Š” VIVE์™€ ์ฐจ์”จ๋•Œ ์ฐจ๋•Œ ๊ฒƒ๋“ค. ๋ฏธ๊ตญ๋„ ๋น„์Šทํ•ด. ์šฐ๋ฆฌ๊ฐ€ ๊ฑฐ๋œ๋‚ด์ž. ์™€~~~~~~~~~~ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ์†Œํ”„ํŠธ์›จ์–ด ๊ฐœ๋ฐœ์ž๋‚˜ ํ•˜๋“œ์›จ์–ด ๊ฐœ๋ฐœ์ž๋‚˜ ๋‹ค ์ €๊ธ‰ ๊ฒƒ๋“ค์ด์•ผ. ์šฐ๋ฆฌ๊ฐ€ ๋‹ค์‹œ ๊ฑฐ๋œ๋‚ด์ž ์™€~~~~~~~~~~~

  • simon Jones
    simon Jones 14 days ago

    Since you don't like it how bout giving it to my son

  • Renzo Prakash
    Renzo Prakash 14 days ago

    Boooo9o99h

  • Sir Deus Midi
    Sir Deus Midi 14 days ago

    I feel like those cameras just make it look like dumb eyes, when without the cameras they look cool and mysterious

  • donut132
    donut132 14 days ago

    what box vr game was that?

  • Labo Lavender
    Labo Lavender 15 days ago

    Zuck juice

  • CasualGuy
    CasualGuy 16 days ago

    just buy the rift. Cheaper and good enough

  • The Black Plague
    The Black Plague 16 days ago

    This "VR" is a fake. Let's focus more on full dive VR. Am I right?

  • Bobby M
    Bobby M 16 days ago

    Oof, looks like I'll stick with my $220 wmr headset and controllers.

  • Roman
    Roman 17 days ago

    Does it have pixels visible during gameplay?

    • Roman
      Roman 15 days ago

      Edโ€™s meme factory
      Thanks thatโ€™s why Iโ€™ve been hesitant to buy it.

    • Edโ€™s meme factory
      Edโ€™s meme factory 15 days ago

      Roman yeah all of them do

  • Lobones
    Lobones 19 days ago

    Just get the original.

  • 007vsMagua
    007vsMagua 19 days ago

    Thumbs Up _ for an honest review.

  • ahmad alhamadi
    ahmad alhamadi 19 days ago

    The year ended and nothing we see

  • EndGaming 1675
    EndGaming 1675 20 days ago

    What about PlayStation vr

  • Darkfire8811
    Darkfire8811 20 days ago

    This is why I got PSVR instead of the competitors

  • 1abcrr1
    1abcrr1 20 days ago

    controlling drones (drone swarm) in a combat zone , not panzy ass civi but warfighters drones will be what this tech will shine at I cant wait

  • Johnny Vain
    Johnny Vain 20 days ago

    better to wait...this is early gen vrโ€ฆ.few more years VR will be so crystal clear and crisp.....youll wish you saved that 1k for that.

  • Fieskmask
    Fieskmask 21 day ago

    Any tip for games for it? Just got it

  • Technician
    Technician 21 day ago

    I just smoke a bowl before i use my vive and its so immersive.

  • MrSarko21
    MrSarko21 21 day ago

    There's a little video in your advertising

  • Finlay Gaskins
    Finlay Gaskins 21 day ago

    Guys, skip to 1:11 and turn on captions

  • Emil Amundsen
    Emil Amundsen 21 day ago

    Plenty of games that don't use the controllers. Splitting the package is an obvious boon, enabling a broader audience for the primary product.

  • Rubaiyat Emon
    Rubaiyat Emon 22 days ago

    What watch u use @linustechtips ?

  • Jarod Iking
    Jarod Iking 23 days ago

    he nose alot about vee-are headsets

  • mani sabri
    mani sabri 23 days ago

    when we buy htc vive pro does it come with base stations and controllers?

    • TheDragonfriday
      TheDragonfriday 22 days ago

      No... he literally says no you got to buy them separately

  • ุบุฒุงู„ ุงู„ุดูˆุงู…ุณ

    can i use a Bluetooth headset for this ?

  • Austin 1234
    Austin 1234 23 days ago

    If I use an HTC phone in a google cardboard for VR does that count as a vive?

  • Ethan
    Ethan 24 days ago

    Who in their right mind would buy a vive? The rift is so much cheaper and just as good

  • Hjorten
    Hjorten 24 days ago

    You forgot one one big factor.
    Itโ€™s ugly as fuck

  • PLUSHii Official
    PLUSHii Official 24 days ago

    king sized noes???๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Matt Aslin
    Matt Aslin 24 days ago

    Can you send it to me please if you are just leaving it in the warehouse? Thanks!

  • derekec
    derekec 25 days ago +1

    Too much griping. There are many who do not mind spending the money or find a good deal - I'd like objective tech comparisons not subjectives that you feel insulted by the price or it fits your wife and not you - that stuff varies person to person and goes for any set. But you meant well and provided some info - I found a good deal making this a non-issue, base stations are available and I can get an adapter easily, but I'm left not knowing enough about this. Hey maybe I got the one you returned as open box at half price.

  • KippieChick
    KippieChick 25 days ago

    *zucc juice*

  • holty007
    holty007 25 days ago

    oh Linus, I wish when your did a showcase with a game you would include the game name,

  • zero s
    zero s 25 days ago

    zucc juice

  • John Krain
    John Krain 25 days ago

    current 1440p, 1600p or even 2160p can't handle the real world resolution.. it will probably take like 5 to 10 years till we see clear VR world. Is vive pro better than vive? Yes.. does it look as clear as looking at 1080p monitor screen in real world with your own eyes? No. not even close.. I own vive pro and odyssey+(1600p) but neither of them gives me clarity of the real world. Even pimax 5k+ looks only tiny bit better than vive pro or odyssey+ and that's it. VR world came a long way since orinal vive or oculus release but it still has a long way to go. I wouldn't even expect anything that looks as good as real world 1080p monitor sharpness till 2023 at least.. never mind frigging 4k monitor.

  • William Whitacre
    William Whitacre 26 days ago

    Your arms are looking swole Linus!

  • Viktor Powers
    Viktor Powers 27 days ago

    Kid playing kids game, annoying

  • lyrasimo
    lyrasimo 28 days ago

    Linus , a little Christmas present , can you send me that vive pro to Italy ? you will make a poor bastard happy

  • XxlildramaxX
    XxlildramaxX 28 days ago

    Should I buy a vive or just wait for the next big vr leap?

    • BlissfulBunny
      BlissfulBunny 26 days ago

      Get an oculus rift. It's on sale for $350

  • Strix_U
    Strix_U 29 days ago

    Vive or Rift and why?

  • Katrina mcmasters
    Katrina mcmasters 29 days ago

    Thank you for making a honest review.

  • FNAF โ€˜
    FNAF โ€˜ 29 days ago

    Whatโ€™s next: The VIVE Veteran: (Headset Sold Seperately)

  • nowonmetube
    nowonmetube Month ago

    "Speaking of issues!" such a missed opportunity for the iFixit sponsoring...

  • Natalie Brady
    Natalie Brady Month ago

    I can take that Vive Pro off your hands if you like...

  • Xalzinor
    Xalzinor Month ago

    2.4k people work for htc

  • Nudul
    Nudul Month ago

    I like that he shows himself setting up the things he reviews, and talks about it like a consumer would. It makes it feel like I'm getting an honest review from a consumer, rather than from a big youtuber.

  • Thalanox
    Thalanox Month ago

    Looks like a nice living room. How many millions of dollars do you suppose that cost? Including the home or office space it's set in, of course.

  • FasterFlash
    FasterFlash Month ago

    Does the original support the 2.0 tracking?

  • JustBecuz
    JustBecuz Month ago

    dam ill take it, saves me having to fork out cash for the oculus i was gunna buy xD

  • Trafalgar Law
    Trafalgar Law Month ago

    You are packing it up even tho you got it for free? Damn son let me have it lol xD

  • DaFlyingPineapple s

    you can tell when he gets sponsored by the product makers and when he doesn't.

  • Paytheonn
    Paytheonn Month ago

    This guy is the biggest libtard I've ever heard. Not only is he wrong HTC should never send him another VR headset again. He's an example of what's wrong with our world today. BTW, the VIVE PRO is excellent and I love it!

  • Jonathan Aragon
    Jonathan Aragon Month ago

    Can I have it