Why does this exist... Vive Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 13, 2018
  • Buy Optoma NuForce BE Free8 Wireless Earphones on Amazon for $129 USD at
    geni.us/jtDO
    And Newegg at geni.us/ouxnzH2
    CORRECTION: HTC now offers a $1,099 starter bundle which includes a Vive Pro HMD, two controllers, and two base stations.
    Buy the Thermaltake P90 Tempered Glass Edition case on Amazon: geni.us/NqOlr
    Learn more about the Thermaltake P90 Tempered Glass Edition case at geni.us/tWL16
    Is the Vive Pro the next amazing step forward in consumer VR? Unfortunately we think not...
    Buy HTC Vive Pro on Amazon: geni.us/YXauV
    Buy OG HTC Vive on Amazon: geni.us/EwuLcaS
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/916108-the-best-vr-headset-yet-still-has-some-major-problems/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Get LTX 2018 tickets at www.ltxexpo.com/
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
    Sound effects provided by www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 528

  • Skeleton Man
    Skeleton Man 14 hours ago

    I’ve always wanted a vive but I’m 12 so I don’t have any money :(

  • SnowmanAgent
    SnowmanAgent 15 hours ago

    Live > Vive

  • Trolololeos
    Trolololeos Day ago

    Boo-fucking-hoo.

  • colin3ds
    colin3ds Day ago

    To make the original cheaper

  • Andreas Hansen
    Andreas Hansen Day ago

    *_FATALITY!_*

  • John Wick
    John Wick Day ago

    they just copied Samsung headset . i think the windows mixed reality is the way to go and Samsung has the best headset

  • mikeymarmalade
    mikeymarmalade Day ago

    Very helpful thx. Just want the wireless adpater

  • firebrand training

    not buying it after this video.

  • TREETAT 101
    TREETAT 101 2 days ago

    Canadian Paso's? Boy you high. 😂

  • Grog The Frog
    Grog The Frog 2 days ago

    “1000 Canadian pesos”

  • bloxrocks
    bloxrocks 2 days ago

    2:02 can someone link me these tripod things

  • bloxrocks
    bloxrocks 2 days ago

    0:15 did you just insult the prequels
    its treason then

  • J Archers
    J Archers 2 days ago

    Would like your comments or suggestion for a good basketball game VR. Thanking in advance. Very informative video and respect your perspective especially with the earphone.

  • elitebasker
    elitebasker 3 days ago

    Il take it! dont even have one and cant afford one... atm :(

  • Jack sparrow
    Jack sparrow 3 days ago

    hes good at that game

  • Right LFE
    Right LFE 3 days ago

    Why do we need 1000 ft of playspace, nobody has that much space in one room.

  • Robot_Wolf
    Robot_Wolf 4 days ago +1

    I've never had vive (always wanted to get a vive) but I've read reviews and etc and decided that the pro is better, mainly from it being more comfortable and better res. Thats my opinion though, someone whose used the regular vive beofre might not think the same, but ive always wanted to get vr.

  • Vkiller No
    Vkiller No 4 days ago

    Can i have the HTC Vive pro?

  • Scroticus Mcboogerus

    Yep VR is still shit right now. Gonna wait it out at least another year

  • Dimiglio
    Dimiglio 4 days ago

    *EXTERMINATE*
    *E X T E R M I N A T E*

  • Ronen’s Adventures

    WAIT WHAT!?!? your Canadian ?

  • Missing V O I D 80% W O K E

    The vive pro feels lighter to me

  • ِ
    ِ 6 days ago

    Thumbs down for that much advertising.

  • skull elements
    skull elements 6 days ago

    i mean if your not gunna use it...

  • The Blitz
    The Blitz 6 days ago +1

    For euro truck simulator, i would only want a screen with a high resolution. So this is my best option if dont think about the price, right?

  • Captain Dedpul
    Captain Dedpul 7 days ago

    Stop complaining about the weight linus, it will build up your neck muscles like cory taylor

  • Shift
    Shift 7 days ago

    *"Linus, there is new bundle pricing now!"*

  • Turtles McGee
    Turtles McGee 8 days ago

    to bad they dont sell the original vive anymore LOL

  • Avernuum Solantis
    Avernuum Solantis 8 days ago

    To be honest, as a simulator enthusiast, I prefer the higher pixel density over the included controllers and sh*t that is included with the original vive.

  • TrueSlav
    TrueSlav 9 days ago

    Ha, you Canadians and your Monopoly money

  • Khai NGUYEN Trung
    Khai NGUYEN Trung 9 days ago

    Is all his video ad

  • D.G.S
    D.G.S 9 days ago

    honestly the best headset to get rn for cheap is the acer mixed reality. Bad part is that its mixed reality so you cant play all games, but you can play games like rec room, and vrchat. ect

  • Crossdownstreet
    Crossdownstreet 9 days ago

    It's more like Android vs Apple for HTC vs HTC pro

  • Paul Michael
    Paul Michael 9 days ago

    If you don't want it, Can I have it!? :D

  • Assassinbunny
    Assassinbunny 10 days ago

    can I have it?

  • Foxhound482
    Foxhound482 10 days ago

    What kind of a PC it needs?

  • __KoksLoks __
    __KoksLoks __ 10 days ago

    So which one should i buy the HTC VIVE pro or the regular VIVE

  • geof2001
    geof2001 10 days ago

    What stands do you have for the light house boxes?

  • Brett Tickell
    Brett Tickell 11 days ago

    4:08 what game is this??

  • Xofan95
    Xofan95 11 days ago

    wish i had the htc vive pro set x-x also if it is really expensive af >_> (atm, i have just a normal HTC vive x-x)

  • F4c2a
    F4c2a 12 days ago +1

    And it's still the best VR headset right now.
    There's no winning entering the VR scene right now. Just deal with it.

  • TheSalamander
    TheSalamander 13 days ago

    Wow first off I love that when you review something you're not worried to give you %100 honest opinion on a product it's nice to see reviews that aren't just "THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER *laser beams*" and you gave such a in depth description of what you liked and disliked and had comparisons. Just amazing! I look forward to more videos in the future

  • Quality Trash
    Quality Trash 13 days ago +1

    I’ll take it

  • Gannfan
    Gannfan 13 days ago +1

    Nice Linus as always.

  • Regirade
    Regirade 13 days ago +1

    vih vee

  • Jonathan
    Jonathan 13 days ago +1

    I wasn’t even going to buy that thing anyway

  • Dave Otuwa
    Dave Otuwa 14 days ago +1

    Just to avoid throwing profanity at your face although I live in Sin City (Las Vegas, NV) where I got bullied in middle school and a large fraction of the local population loves to curse daily: You didn't shoplift. Either of your episode's sponsors let you have a complimentary trial of the usage just prior to returning the product to the market. I can tell you're the first-ever person to try it as a nonprofit deed.

  • Dave Otuwa
    Dave Otuwa 14 days ago

    Canada goes by dollars, not pesos, jackass! The nation has a deeply low rate of hispanic population.

  • SgtPerkins
    SgtPerkins 14 days ago

    oculus boy seems pretty biased

  • FuriousEmpire
    FuriousEmpire 14 days ago

    You know that you can send the HTC give pro over to me

  • Mijc Osis
    Mijc Osis 14 days ago

    Why is HTC making Gamecube accessories in 2018????

  • unreality6794
    unreality6794 14 days ago

    4:37 (((linus))) tech tips

  • unreality6794
    unreality6794 14 days ago

    PHANTOM MENACE WAS GOOD

  • Dave Green
    Dave Green 14 days ago

    I've owned a CV1 for 2 years, but I'm always open to alternatives. However, I don't trust Pimax one bit, and HTC's high prices and customer service seem terrible. If I get another VR device in the next year, it'll likely be the Oculus Go!

  • bfkmnemonic
    bfkmnemonic 14 days ago

    Many of the thing that you mention as bad sounds like it is something that I was annoyed with in the old Vive.
    1) The strap is SO annoying on the old one. I could NEVER get that headset to sit properly on my head, so I would always have a headache after playing.
    2) The wire is so heavy ans stiff on the Generation 1 that I would always annoy me. I mostly sit and play Sim Racing, it sound like they made it thinner on the Pro. Thumbs up!
    I have not tried it yet, so I don't really know, but I think I will since the old one has been sent back on warenty.

    • bfkmnemonic
      bfkmnemonic 10 days ago

      I have had it now for a couple of days, and I LOVE IT!
      It is so much better than the standard HTC Vive with the head strap. I sits much better on your head. I only have one complaint, but it is not that big of a deal. I with that you could push the front of the headset up, instead of the back, it would be much more useful.

  • Infinite Rage
    Infinite Rage 14 days ago

    If you don't want it I'll gladly take it fam

  • Alejandro Jorge Telatnik

    Where can you buy those monopods?

  • Aerial Media Solutions

    www.amazon.com/HTC-VIVE-Virtual-Reality-System-PC/dp/B07B9WPR7G/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1532814283&sr=8-2-spons&keywords=HTC+vive+pro&psc=1

  • Noahs Memes
    Noahs Memes 15 days ago

    linus is short

  • Horsey4 Gaming
    Horsey4 Gaming 15 days ago

    oculus rift better than htc vive pro xd

  • Themistertaco
    Themistertaco 16 days ago

    I'll have it then

  • Zimpaz
    Zimpaz 16 days ago

    Thats a cool PC case, what is it?

  • JBMASON
    JBMASON 16 days ago

    If u don't the vive pro I'll have it I mean I don't even have a htc vive but fuck it

  • Splash
    Splash 16 days ago

    Im waiting for the vive knuckles since two years, and what we get? A shitty new headset -.- that really makes me sad. Id rather bought an oculus

  • Fallen Shinigami
    Fallen Shinigami 17 days ago

    I tried the Vive pro out for a week. I've got to say the resolution bump wasn't all that much. However I can say it is way more comfortable. I have the OG Vive with DAS and it's nowhere near as comfortable. I think Linus just has a weird head because it can stay on the head much tighter if needed.

  • uxot
    uxot 17 days ago

    come on Rift Gen2 come out >_

  • Vista
    Vista 18 days ago

    The pro probably wasn't supposed to launch before the controllers and base stations. They just got scared of oculus and wmr of having lowering there prices. So they added an excuse to lower the price on the vive.

  • Wapn Perfo
    Wapn Perfo 18 days ago

    Kudos for keeping things honest Seb... this is why you are so popular.

  • Rysc
    Rysc 18 days ago

    hey if u dont want the vr vive pro, ill take it.

  • notatHomeVideos
    notatHomeVideos 18 days ago

    HAHAHA: "this is the best vr experience available right now..."
    as he stuffs it with its cable bundle back in the box

  • Ronald Dumb
    Ronald Dumb 18 days ago

    TW (HTC VIVE) vs USA (OCULUS RIFT)?? I would chose TW! China, you can do it best!

  • DJMIKETHEKING DJ
    DJMIKETHEKING DJ 19 days ago

    Now this is why I never buy this type of crap I’d rather play on my TV and a game system or my PC I’ll never buy a headset crap

  • Hey
    Hey 19 days ago

    I’ll just buy food

  • Oliver White
    Oliver White 19 days ago

    Just realised why Linus Tech Tips has so many subscribers; I'm guessing it's because they cause intentional flame bait.

  • dekkoo84
    dekkoo84 19 days ago +1

    See this is one of the things i cant get myself to spend money on. I went out bought a $2500 pc, np! Bought a $700 gaming monitor np! Iphonex? Np ! Literally any new tech, i buy it. But this thing is way too expensive and i dont see myself with that bear trap on my fucking head for more than 15 mins like a fucking jerk.

  • Martin Schemmel
    Martin Schemmel 19 days ago

    I dont know why people skip the word "Pro" when they try to make sense out of the product... isnt that obvious? The HTC Pro got the capability to use MORE than 2 light towers... so what could it be made for? maybe a... pro... business?! obviusly the pro is made for house scaled VR experiences that can be used in Holocafes or such and then you OBVIOUSLY dont need a light tower set with each headset. Maybe the business even goes with an alternative set of controller so no, also no controller... so there you go.. easy enough to understand the word PRO?

  • Gregory Bauer
    Gregory Bauer 20 days ago

    Subscribed because canadian pesos

  • The Best The World Had To Offer Channel

    I can't believe vr is already a thing, i can't wait till I can justify getting one and they iron out the kinks.

  • DirePig
    DirePig 20 days ago

    I have the vive pro

  • HOKagE DATTebayO
    HOKagE DATTebayO 20 days ago +5

    VIVE: 1
    VIVE: 0

  • gymkhanadog
    gymkhanadog 20 days ago

    "Where's the base stations?" Um, you apparently didn't read anything about what you were buying. I mean, this is Linus Tech Tips after all, one of the worst tech vlogs ever, but you're going to whine and bitch because *YOU* didn't RTFM? Or better yet, you didn't RTFwebsite? It states clearly that the Vive Pro is headset only and is for an upgrade to the original set.... Hey Linus, how's that backup working? Think backups are maybe a little bit important in the modern age, yet?

  • gymkhanadog
    gymkhanadog 20 days ago

    Skip the sellout message 0:40-1:03. Video starts at 1:03

  • Grant Olsen
    Grant Olsen 21 day ago

    The worst possible thing regarding the pro is that HTC screwed everyone who pre-ordered by not making Lighthouse 2.0 base stations a separate accessory or brown-box addon. And HTC is being real dicks about it too (just try asking them for a set and see how they treat you!!!). Other than that I think the HMD is adequate.

  • Torjus HT
    Torjus HT 21 day ago

    I'm ready for VR once it gets more affordable. Considering you need a capable gaming pc on top of everything else. I don't see VR becoming mainstream before that happends.

  • Zsavage1
    Zsavage1 21 day ago

    I'll stick with the WMR headset.. Lenovo Explorer 200.00 and has better picture than the vive and oculus ... and no BS sensors and as many cables to deal with... and I get REVIVE and can play games along with SteamVR that play on either of the overpriced headsets

  • Kimmy Hjalmarsson
    Kimmy Hjalmarsson 22 days ago

    I think its your head / face, I love mine 😉

  • Speedfull
    Speedfull 22 days ago

    Why do i hear shshshshshshshshshsh, when Linus is speaaking?

  • Ben Thomson
    Ben Thomson 22 days ago

    I really wanna make a pc that is VR ready and to be able to run Popular games good but i don't have the money to do it...

  • herman stokbrood
    herman stokbrood 23 days ago

    I wonder if Linus realises his audience is over 10?

  • Michael Shinn
    Michael Shinn 23 days ago

    The real issue here is that you've already sold your target market ie: PC Gamers a $600 dollar piece of tech, you cant expect them to buy a new Vive every 2 years, its the same way that console releases work with X-box releases coming around once every 6-7 years and even longer with Sony at close to a decade. They just want to diversify into other sectors, developing a B to B application while you're working on the next big innovation for the VR market seems like a good idea at a glance. Seems like no one knows exactly where the market is going.

  • The Animaster
    The Animaster 23 days ago

    Can you remove the earphones and use your own?

  • Travis Richerson
    Travis Richerson 23 days ago

    ay man been dying for a vr headset honestly last summer before college would love to just experience any vive tbh

  • Mike Shea Jr
    Mike Shea Jr 24 days ago

    On HTC'S website it is is marketed to VR arcades and other commercial environments. The EULA is even different and accommodates commercial use. Reviewing this as a home system was a fail.

  • Christopher Bryant
    Christopher Bryant 24 days ago

    jesus dude.. this video picks at nits. HTC Vive was the best option before.. they then introduce ANOTHER VR headset that's better than the previous, and it answers the concerns of the previous offering, that ALSO offers support for future tech.. meanwhile the oculus and PlayStation VR can only lower their price to maintain relevance.

  • cryptoslice
    cryptoslice 24 days ago

    i have used both at the microsoft store and the vive pro is alot better but both still cost way to much for me. good to see they are making enough money to keep releasing new hardware

  • Archer
    Archer 24 days ago

    This is a toy for Rich kids with Daddy's credit card. This is not a practical toy for people with responsibility's.
    That price tag is BEYOND ridiculous. There is no words to describe how over priced it is. That is a $600.00 head set, at BEST. And even that's pushing it.

  • Perf_ume6420 No Nuk
    Perf_ume6420 No Nuk 24 days ago

    👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

  • jasoncy31
    jasoncy31 25 days ago

    Honest comment here: I'm not trying to be snarky. I could only get through the first few minutes of this since all he did was complain and gripe about how much he hated it. I've compared the Vive and the Pro to each other and liked the Pro (except for a few fit issues) but the fact that he mentioned no positive aspects of the Pro made me disregard him as a reliable source. The reviewer came across as needlessly angry and unprofessional so I just didn't trust what he had to say.
    If you could strive for some more balance, at least in tone, you might find that your audience isn't quick to disregard your advice. Best of luck.

  • Bonzo Bonzai
    Bonzo Bonzai 25 days ago

    Original Vive + Audio Strap + Wireless TPCAST module = FTW.

  • MrMicheliinMan - GFX Designer

    I think since you didn’t get sensors in the box you instantly made it a biased opinion, saying “this power button annoys me” no Linus the whole concept of no sensors annoys you but you jusy wanna rinse the product. It’s like the review you did on the red camera. You went in so hard on the price point. But what do you expect it a professional cinema camera !