Tesla Model 3 Review - 6 Months Later

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 18, 2018
  • The best features of the Model 3 after 6 months of ownership, how well the car has held up, issues we've had with the Model 3, and improvements Tesla can make to future versions of the car.
    Decided you're getting a Tesla? Make sure you take advantage of Tesla's referral program to get yourself 1,000 miles of free supercharging credits. Feel free to use our referral code: ts.la/josh95038
    Music:
    Ticker by Silent Partner
    Candlepower by Chris Zabriskie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)
    Source: chriszabriskie.com/divider/
    Artist: chriszabriskie.com/
    Weirder Stuff by Geographer
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 826

  • 6 Months Later Reviews
    6 Months Later Reviews  6 months ago +44

    If you watched the video and decided you want in on some Tesla goodness, make sure to get yourself 1,000 miles of free supercharging credits. Use a referral code like mine: ts.la/josh95038 or your friend’s, neighbors’, or from whoever. Just make sure you take advantage of these referral codes floating around.

    • Jackie Keltner
      Jackie Keltner 6 days ago

      6 Months Later Reviews

    • Worldatistics
      Worldatistics 2 months ago

      Take a look at Model 3 Sales tvclip.biz/video/SX8MsduNBhU/video.html

    • 6 Months Later Reviews
      6 Months Later Reviews  2 months ago

      Thank you! You’re gonna love it!! It’s a fantastic car!

    • Samuel Goldstein
      Samuel Goldstein 2 months ago

      Just ordered and using your referral code, can't wait!

    • Tiny TownZ
      Tiny TownZ 2 months ago

      Bro thats kansas city in the backround I live there

  • John Doyle
    John Doyle 19 hours ago

    I am seriously interested in buying one, but 3 weeks back in the shop for repairs is too much.
    I have a Mitsubishi PHEV, in 5 years it has never been in for any warranty repair, nothing has gone wrong, if Tesla can hit this level of reliability then they have a winner. I still think I will get one soon.
    Had a Volvo XC90 once it was always going wrong, so had to go, but my Range Rover was very reliable, all personal experience.
    Cue loads of comments "My Tesla has never had a single fault"
    Thanks for the video.

  • George
    George 20 hours ago

    checking after 6 mouths ?? ehh this is a car no phone. all brand new cars after 6 mouths its gonna be ok.

  • Marc Guima
    Marc Guima Day ago

    Are you for real ? Seriously 😳 How much did they pay you for this ?
    Girl, have you seen the new Mercedes?

  • Don Nolin
    Don Nolin Day ago

    The best way to avoid most micro scratches is apply a good quality car wax to the piano black finishes. It also helps with fingerprints.

  • Brian Waller
    Brian Waller 3 days ago

    I would buy one but my price point is 30k nothing more.

  • Markus Häusler
    Markus Häusler 3 days ago +2

    I really miss: it's an advertisement for tesla, be carefull

  • Gordon Warlow
    Gordon Warlow 4 days ago

    Congrats on your purchase (investment in the future). Your videos are surely encouraging for those who are sitting on the fence with their EV purchase decisions. Thanks for providing a balanced view of this game-changing vehicle. Cheers.

  • Gordon Warlow
    Gordon Warlow 4 days ago +1

    Not having to put up with the painful dealership process when buying a vehicle might be worth the $50k Tesla online purchase alternative.

  • Joseph S. Barrera III

    Just skip to 9:30 where the "6 months later" shitshow finally begins. Sounds like what my parents put up with their Cadillacs in the late 70s. "Oh, but the dealer takes such good care of us!"

  • Ben Jake
    Ben Jake 4 days ago

    I have a 2019 Tesla 3 Performance. It’s been a great car overall with amazing performance. The electronics can be a bit flaky at times which is a work in progress via continued updates. The car works great and has plenty of space for my family of four but could be a bit more comfortable imo especially for the longer trips.

  • Anne Smith
    Anne Smith 4 days ago

    What's wrong with people's lives if they get so excited about a piece of metal?
    It's just a car, and the best one by the way.

    • GodplaysDice
      GodplaysDice 4 days ago

      @Anne Smith what I meant was driving is also a sport. Some people drive for sportiness, handling, steering feel, road feel, comfort, etc. What's wrong with it?

    • Anne Smith
      Anne Smith 4 days ago

      @GodplaysDice Really? You'll tell this to the police officer who will stop you next time.

    • GodplaysDice
      GodplaysDice 4 days ago

      Driving is a sport.

  • Ian Bell
    Ian Bell 5 days ago

    Ditch the horrible green screen please. Looks sooooo fake.

  • Kirsten Greene
    Kirsten Greene 5 days ago +1

    Oak City Love!!!

  • René Bégin
    René Bégin 6 days ago +1

    Pretty good and complete video. Makes me hard to wait for my model 3 in June 2020 😤

  • sor3999
    sor3999 7 days ago

    I don't get the obsession on every EV review talking about road trips. You can afford this car, but can't fly? What about all the time you save not fighting over a pump at the gas station on a weekly basis? Vs 30 minutes on a road trip you take how often?

  • Benson 'Drongo' Hedges

    Still would rather a Lexus

  • Alcovitch
    Alcovitch 9 days ago

    I disagree with the entire care being relegated to a touch screen. Was there some specific need to remove ALL instrument readouts from directly in front of the driver? You know, the direction required to look while operating the damn thing?
    Why can't you have a minimalist digital speedometer behind the steering wheel like a conventional car? Why can't i have wiper controls at my finger tips via a steering wheel column stick like a traditional car?

    Not everything needs to be put onto the tablet in a bunch of menus. I'd say it's a lot safer to click a column stick to turn on your wipers and adjust them then having to fiddle with a tablet to the right, distracting you from the act of driving while doing it.

    I think the interior of this car is over engineered. I don't want EVERYTHING on the tablet, just some of it.

    • 6 Months Later Reviews
      6 Months Later Reviews  9 days ago

      You don’t need to turn your wipers on and off because they automatically turn on and off. If you need to manually turn them on you hit the wiper button on the stalk and then a card will pop up on the screen so you can fine tune the wiper mode if you need to.
      For the speed on the screen, you don’t need to do a head turn to read it, its within your field of vision when looking straight ahead and isn’t a big deal at all. Highly encourage test driving one and trying it out.

  • James Till
    James Till 9 days ago

    I bet you get this a lot, but your eyes are amazing :)

  • operation ajax
    operation ajax 10 days ago

    Electric cars are a no brainer!! After watching this video I got into my car (2018 Audi A8) and felt like I went back in time 100 years!!
    Electric cars are the way to go!!

  • fendermon
    fendermon 10 days ago

    Angry headlights..is actually a thing now.

  • Obed Zuniga
    Obed Zuniga 10 days ago

    Needa have them install google play

  • Nate Hill
    Nate Hill 10 days ago

    I have 2 problems with the T-3. I dont care about the screen being in the middle vice in front of the steering wheel, thats not new, Toyota Echo and Renault Espace (maybe more; but ive seen those 2 personally) both had that 20 years ago and I got used to it.

    Rather, its the fact that A) you have to use the screen for ->EVERYTHING

    • Steve Schramm
      Steve Schramm 7 days ago

      driving my Tesla rarely requires me to use the screen -- I use the spinner buttons on the steering wheel for most driving tasks. Also, the screen sticking out is better because you can anchor your thumb on the bottom of the screen to make it easier to control the temperature and such. The driving experience of the Volt stinks compared to a model 3.

  • KhoiKO
    KhoiKO 10 days ago

    Set that speed chime to 100mph lol

  • indica 777
    indica 777 10 days ago

    What about efficiency stats like how far can you get on a charge, are there multiple types of charges, what does it cost? More or less cost effective than gas cars? Thanks for your good review! And enjoy that car!

    • indica 777
      indica 777 7 days ago

      Thanks Steve... our son just bought a Tesla 3 and I just bought a Mazda 3 Hatch. We are happy. But I can see how battery operated cars may well be 'the thing' for most folks soon. Enjoy your car!

    • Steve Schramm
      Steve Schramm 7 days ago

      I live in California and it costs me $1.18 for 40 miles of charge. My previous Acura cost $6.38 for 40 miles (at current gas prices). So the Tesla is roughly 1/6 the cost to fill up. Of course, I don't have to pay for changing the oil and filter or do all the other gas related maintenance, either.

  • Robert 30-06
    Robert 30-06 10 days ago

    That laptop in the car is dangerous , to much extracting your site from the road , its more a toy than a car .

  • Quang Somit
    Quang Somit 11 days ago

    The only thing missing in this video is some pompoms.

    • stormypath
      stormypath 11 days ago

      the pom poms, along with the incredible amount of advertising can be found on any TV channel for Volkswagon, Honda, Kia, etc....I cannot believe how much these car companies spend to sell their cars...Tesla spends nothing...and just delivered a record amount of cars this last quarter...

  • Omegathrive
    Omegathrive 12 days ago

    what u said is a good car but still a car like any other one just electric

  • HODL crypto
    HODL crypto 12 days ago

    Excited and feeling like throwing up 🤣🤢🤮

  • mark amburgey
    mark amburgey 12 days ago

    how much does tesla pay for reviews

  • Adrian Shephard
    Adrian Shephard 12 days ago +1

    But the main question is, how long battery capacity will stay high, and how fast it will drop? And the cost of replacement of those battery's probably ain't gonna be cheap at all!!!

  • Des M
    Des M 13 days ago +1

    It proberly has a short life
    His dad must be Mark Zuckerberg or whatever his name is lol 😂🤣😆😁

    • stormypath
      stormypath 11 days ago

      you mean probably...right? They will last far longer than an ICE...that has been proven by independent mechanics....but then why introduce facts to you...right?

  • Keaton Gollihare
    Keaton Gollihare 13 days ago

    Kid looks like Dr Grey and Dr Sheppard's love child that never was conceived.

  • Robbert Morgan
    Robbert Morgan 14 days ago

    Door latch must be instinctive due to safety....

  • loctite222ms
    loctite222ms 17 days ago +1

    The front does looks a bit weird, sort of like it should be amphibious.

  • Lyd L
    Lyd L 17 days ago

    Thanks for the tips. Do you need to turn on those “avoiding crash/truck” features via autopilot mode or are they automatic in any mode?

  • Zika Track
    Zika Track 19 days ago

    I ride a bike and nobody cares

  • Mike Aux
    Mike Aux 21 day ago

    If I hit the mega million I will buy one.

  • Chris L
    Chris L 23 days ago

    Tesla looks like the Mazda mx-3 , instead of going into the future were going backwards good job Tesla

  • WhiteWi
    WhiteWi 23 days ago

    Good video editing

  • Sand Hill81
    Sand Hill81 23 days ago

    This cars are for driving in Town and for look down on people, because they do not have one...Not for long ass trips. Use a Rental.

  • BabobhaiTV
    BabobhaiTV 24 days ago

    If these are the most comfortable seats you been in....then u obviously have no experience when it comes to german comfort hahahahhaha...this car is cheap inside and overpriced as a car...stupid review

  • bigpurple100
    bigpurple100 24 days ago

    anyone notice the industrial coal burning in the background at 6:47 ? saving the planet one tiny bit at a time right..

  • Pat McDaniel
    Pat McDaniel 24 days ago

    Me too.

  • Melvin Freeman
    Melvin Freeman 25 days ago

    I thought you were very insensitive saying that you didn’t have to worry about buying gas during the impending hurricane. It’s obvious that you own a Tesla which doesn’t need gas station visits. You put up with two - three weeks of not having your car. Us drivers of gas vehicles find just getting regular oil changes almost annoying. Otherwise, great effort 🤗!!

  • Rebellious
    Rebellious 25 days ago +1

    You know how its illegal to idle your car in certain areas... does that still apply to teslas? They don't produce any carbon emissions, why would it be?

  • O Gordon
    O Gordon 27 days ago +1

    Terrible parking to start the video. Come on, man. Did you borrow your DP? 😉

  • TheRinaSandleryoutub
    TheRinaSandleryoutub 27 days ago

    I think this is a joke
    Two - three days in a shop after buying a brand new car?????
    Never ever will buy this car. However I will accept it as a free gift, maybe - only if I can’t get the gift as cash instead ...
    Why on earth would anyone buy a brand new car which has so many issues after six month?
    This is the second video I came across , by accident, that states how great Tesla is and names all the issues that a BRAND NEW CAR SHOULD NEVER have.
    The quality control is not on par with anyone.

  • krisztiantth
    krisztiantth 28 days ago

    the front of this car is ugly as fuck....

  • Angelo Lopezcua
    Angelo Lopezcua 29 days ago

    Does the model 3 have cruise control?

  • marshall hughes
    marshall hughes Month ago

    hmm. I used to have Slacker premium and it would play the exact song I requested every time unless it happened to be a song that Slacker did not have a deal with. Does the Slacker account that Tesla use include Slacker Premium. I am now on Google music because after about 4 years I started to find more and more songs that Slacker did not allow me to play on demand that previously were available. Also I got youtube premium when i signed up for Google music.

    • 6 Months Later Reviews
      6 Months Later Reviews  Month ago

      It’s just a slacker regular account, it’s not premium unfortunately. I use Google/TVclip music as well.

  • 9600GTMAN
    9600GTMAN Month ago

    you gone waay for out of your way to say tesla is a bland piece of shit with even more empty interior and barly enough switches to properly control the car...that's a piss poor design to be honest...and dangerous to fucknig around on the big tablet out of your vision...

  • mike m
    mike m Month ago

    Is the featured Tesla gray or black??

  • Michael Woodard
    Michael Woodard Month ago

    Go Raleigh

  • Thomas van Els
    Thomas van Els Month ago

    This video was sponsored by...

  • Adreiaun
    Adreiaun Month ago

    Summary - Everything is the best compared to any car he has experienced..........but he also sounds like this is the first car he has experienced...so to be fair he also lists the issues as well

  • Street Guru
    Street Guru Month ago +1

    I would kill for a good moden QWERTY phone sir.

  • Tesla Brisbane
    Tesla Brisbane Month ago +3

    I'm so glad I got the grey Model 3! Waiting game is now on for delivery.

  • apv
    apv Month ago

    Six hour long trips? How did you charge the car while driving? I am not trying to give you hard time, I drive a cheap EV because I could not afford a Tesla (I am aware of superchargers). I basically spend about three hours charging (level 2) for one hour of driving. I love the car and I have used fast charging a couple of times as well. Definitely not a road-trip type of vehicle... Good luck, enjoy your awesome car!

    • apv
      apv 13 days ago

      @Andrew Harrison , thank you for the reply! My fast charge takes about 20-25 minutes to 80%, depending on how low the battery is at the beginning of charging. However, the part that didn't sound right was the "six hour long trips". Three is about half of that, so, he was not really accurate with his statement. I wonder what else he doubled up to make it look better than it really is. Tesla is still an awesome EV. No need to exaggerate...

    • Andrew Harrison
      Andrew Harrison 15 days ago

      That charge to drive ratio is terrible. The model 3 long range charges to 80% is under 40 minutes and that gives you 3 - 4 hours of drive time.

  • Jeremy Romero
    Jeremy Romero Month ago

    @1:40 wow what a shot of that tesla. I don't know if its actual snow blowing around or if its editing but that looks stunning.

    • 6 Months Later Reviews
      6 Months Later Reviews  Month ago

      Thank you! Glad you’re enjoying them! 😊

    • Jeremy Romero
      Jeremy Romero Month ago

      @6 Months Later Reviews Enjoying the videos man, good stuff!

    • 6 Months Later Reviews
      6 Months Later Reviews  Month ago

      Only camera trick was shooting it in 120 FPS and then slowing the footage back down to 30 to get the slow motion effect.

    • 6 Months Later Reviews
      6 Months Later Reviews  Month ago

      All the snow is real. We just got lucky with the flurry that came through when we were filming it.

  • David Weingast
    David Weingast Month ago

    Excellent video!

  • Peter 210
    Peter 210 Month ago

    Some body give this guy paper so he can wipe his ass

  • The Fish
    The Fish Month ago +11

    The term “affordable” is pretty relative here.

  • Marek Sýkora
    Marek Sýkora Month ago

    Ok. But, please, don't propagate electric cars in Washington DC, PEN, Ohio, Indiana, all central states. They aren't environment friendly there. Most electric energy is produced from coal and gas there. All electric consumption increase invoked by new electric cars is covered only by generation increase in coal powerplants there. More electric cars, more burnt coal with much worse emissions than a normal car. All Teslas are coal powered burners when they travel and consume electric energy from the grid in central and east USA.

  • S H
    S H Month ago

    This is, and is going to be, a classic.

  • wholeNwon
    wholeNwon Month ago

    Shortly after the Model S came out, Tesla brought one to me to examine and to drive. I looked at it objectively, found a number of shortcomings and decided not to part with my Lexus LS400. Now, after 21 years with that car, it's still virtually perfect. Maintenance has consisted only of wear items, fuel, oil, etc. There was one mechanical repair that I did myself for $20. I will very likely become an EV owner in the future but not yet and certainly not the current Model 3.

  • KERB Photographic
    KERB Photographic Month ago

    If you bought it, you are not an impartial reviewer. You will of course pat yourself on the back for your wise move buying it.

  • bassistdc
    bassistdc Month ago

    That car is not stunning! It's average looking and the interior is ridiculously sparse and boring! I would rather have a Kia Niro EV. No disrespect intended.

  • Martin A. M. Erickson, III

    how useful is the center-mounted gadget for a left-handed person?

  • Rob Mentzer
    Rob Mentzer Month ago

    I’m gonna have to get one