The Nun - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Sep 8, 2018
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Nun, starring Demian Bichir, Taissa Farmiga, Jonas Bloquet, Charlotte Hope, Ingrid Bisu, Bonnie Aarons. Directed by Corin Hardy.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 611

  • max gruber
    max gruber Day ago

    Wish conjuring universe collab with DC someday and Aquaman can punch nun someday

  • XL R8
    XL R8 Day ago

    This is the worst movie I've ever seen 0.5/10

  • Aurora Surrealis
    Aurora Surrealis 7 days ago

    I got so bored, I had to walk away...

  • Dickmeiss
    Dickmeiss 9 days ago

    I'll give The Nun 4/10

  • James M1079
    James M1079 10 days ago

    I actually fell asleep in the theatres watching this, no joke

  • emil engen
    emil engen 11 days ago

    A sequel is coming🙄

  • Christopher
    Christopher 12 days ago

    There was nothing wrong with this movie, what so ever. It's just, we're used to seeing most of the things this movie has to offer.
    Horror is a dead genre because we've gotten used to this sort of stuff. Jumpscares, suspence, creepiness! Name a single movie that
    hasn't already used the same formula and been praised for it!
    It's a good horror movie, made with old ingredients. That's all.

  • TheSkyIsTeal
    TheSkyIsTeal 18 days ago

    I have never felt that any of the Conjuring movies are supposed to have surprising and scary jumpscares. I, for one, have been able to predict almost every scare in the franchise with shocking accuracy. I think, instead, it's about the art of the setup. I think this movie did very well in general but I will agree that the pan away, pan back did get old.

    in regards to the "pranks," they are all to erode the characters' psyches. Particularly in the scene with the bells, this is to disorient them. Burke feels like he will never be noticed with all the other bells. The girl is associating each bell with someone who was buried but is alive. Everyone buried in that graveyard appears to the girl in visions that she believes are real. For her part, Valak had no reason to expect that the girl would find Father Burke, she only found him because of her psychic abilities. Also why not: a demon's existence is based solely around carnal pleasures. Like It, she revels in her victims' fear, why not have a little fun along the way to murdering people.

  • Nanda Gokula Almeida Guimaraes

    D+? Too generous imo

  • AngryLittleGnome
    AngryLittleGnome 20 days ago

    I watched this in 4K HDR. Didn't look blue at all.

  • Melissa McMillan
    Melissa McMillan 20 days ago

    Ugh I didn't want to admit it because I love the conjuring universe, but man, you're spot on.

  • mia's world
    mia's world 21 day ago

    It literally was just a smorgasbord of jump scares lol.

  • John Dominic Escapular

    Did you guys know that "Nun" spelt backwards is still "Nun"?

  • Cole REVIEWS
    Cole REVIEWS 27 days ago +1

    My Ranking Of Conjuring Universe Movies
    1. The Conjuring (2013) A-
    2. Annabelle Creation (2017) B+
    3. Conjuring 2 (2016) B-
    4. The Nun (2018) D
    5. Annabelle (2014) D

  • Pulse The KiDd
    Pulse The KiDd 27 days ago

    Fuck the nun but his shirt is dope asf

  • antonjace hill
    antonjace hill 28 days ago

    Everyone is killing me with their fucking dead ass sarcasm and passive aggressive bullshit yes I spelled out “bullshit”... the fucking movie sucks it has no real plot it jumps around the entire time ... my main point this movie fucking sucks ass... the end

  • george
    george Month ago

    Are your balls ginger

  • Duarte Vader
    Duarte Vader Month ago +1

    *_I would "stuckmannize" Taissa Farmiga..._*

  • Ginger Perkins
    Ginger Perkins Month ago

    If James Wan directed this film it would have been amazing. It had potential it could have been great

  • Apotheosis
    Apotheosis Month ago

    Generic Jumpscare Movie #496

  • Schrodinger's Cat
    Schrodinger's Cat Month ago

    I actually burst out laughing at the mirror scene where the nun just keeps a hand from behind and the mirror breaks. It was hilarious.

  • DBJ
    DBJ Month ago

    if you look at it like a demon trying to shake the faith of a priest it makes more sense. no meaning in just killing him, got to make him denounce his god first. that way you have his soul to torment for eternity. or that's my understanding of Christianity anyway.

  • J doe
    J doe Month ago

    What I didnt respect about the Nun has more to do with conjuring 2. In conjuring 2 they defeated the demon really easily. In the nun you have a priest who has experience with exorcism and a nun the entire movie was a battle

  • jay22
    jay22 Month ago

    There was so many Fucking hellos I thought ADELE was gonna pop up saying ITS ME.... fuck me what a trash movie . If you want scary movie you should watch some Thai ones .

  • Krish Shautriya
    Krish Shautriya Month ago

    The worst part is this movie could have been extremely scary,

  • Alexis Perry
    Alexis Perry Month ago

    I feel like this movie is more frightening to ex or practicing Catholics. Yes, the demon messes with them, but that is how a demon breaks a person down so they can possess them, which was the ultimate goal of this demon. I really enjoyed how they brought it back to the first Conjuring.

  • Amelia Burra
    Amelia Burra Month ago

    thanks for this now i dont have to watch it any more :")

  • Kevin Emmons
    Kevin Emmons 2 months ago

    Nice shirt, cowboy

  • Daulton Litteral
    Daulton Litteral 2 months ago

    I find that i had to watch it a few times to appreciate it

  • Adam Marcum
    Adam Marcum 2 months ago +1

    I am sick of these cheap,mediocre horror movies!what happened to the creatively of horror movies from the 1970's and 80's?

  • Prod. Chen-an
    Prod. Chen-an 2 months ago +4

    Insidious > Conjuring + Anabelle + The Nun

  • Greg Barnett
    Greg Barnett 2 months ago

    Also, such wasted potential as they actually shot on location in real castles in Transylvania...ugh, what a good movie this could have been

  • Greg Barnett
    Greg Barnett 2 months ago

    There were some creepy sets and tense sequences BUT it was all built up so stupidly and there was zero plot or character development...what a disappointment

  • WALTER PAYTON
    WALTER PAYTON 3 months ago

    All this was a plan...and the plan was to make it look like they sealed the demon but actually finally possessed someone and got out. Awesome origin of the demon that is making it hell for people.

  • Danielle Phillips
    Danielle Phillips 3 months ago

    This was the most disappointing movie ever the entire movie legit only had 3 boring annoying characters = /

  • Stephon Taylor
    Stephon Taylor 3 months ago

    The deman pulling pranks lmfao!!! You hit that on the head.

  • Bell Justbell
    Bell Justbell 3 months ago

    The only thing that scared me is that they think Mary points the way . Jesus is King he makes it very clear we are to cast out demons in his name only .

  • mikepeeeee1000
    mikepeeeee1000 3 months ago

    i liked The Nun. not great, but pretty good.

  • cyberjack-CJ
    cyberjack-CJ 3 months ago

    OMG this movie sucked ass

  • ERUS THE DEER
    ERUS THE DEER 3 months ago

    intelligence 4

  • Gabriel Rader
    Gabriel Rader 3 months ago

    eh, jumpscares only last about half a second. where physiological ones are the good ones that kinda fuck you up. (the ones with the suspense and developing plot)

  • Jordy R
    Jordy R 3 months ago

    The whole Jesus blood made me roll my rolls... If there was Jesus blood saved away religious people would definitely use that as proof of God. So sick of loud music lame jump scares... Modern horror is trash lately.

  • Knight Watch
    Knight Watch 3 months ago

    "oh my gahd boys its the NUN!!
    -CorderyFX

  • Joey Syron
    Joey Syron 3 months ago

    stream hereditary and suspiria 😌

  • Edward Ramkissoon
    Edward Ramkissoon 3 months ago

    I totally agree with you Chris, I'm a fan of the Conjuring movies, but this one fell way short for me

  • Mathias Kanuck
    Mathias Kanuck 3 months ago +2

    Chris...
    You like the babadook.... We all know deep down you loved The Nun

  • Charmedsas1
    Charmedsas1 4 months ago

    I literally thought that i was going to get to see the real actress being a nun from back in the day, i thought the whole point of the nun was a nun gone bad but oh well. i was disappointed, but still love me some Wan.

  • Randitha Philip
    Randitha Philip 4 months ago +1

    they should've give The Nun to Jordan Peele lol

  • Jared Myers
    Jared Myers 4 months ago

    Loved this movie. It was so campy and had a 1970s Italian vibe to it. They should have scrapped the exorcism side plot though, had they done that it would've been 10/10 for me in terms of entertainment. Definitely not a scary movie, just fun and super atmospheric.

  • TheLonelyGoomba
    TheLonelyGoomba 4 months ago

    This has got to be one of the most disappointing films I've seen. I think even the worst horror films have some redeeming features. But this was just such a huge let down.
    The only really redeemable aspect of the film was the setting, but it wasn't really used well either. Hated this film man

  • Alita Skywalker
    Alita Skywalker 4 months ago

    Oh my god bois! It's the NUN!

  • Anti Petrolhead
    Anti Petrolhead 4 months ago

    So is 'The Nun' worse or better than 'Apostle?' Apostle told a sketchy story that led to something much bigger which was surprising in the end.

  • moviebuff1275
    moviebuff1275 4 months ago

    4:04 for the grade

  • De Svenster
    De Svenster 4 months ago

    Crucifixes.....crucifixes...everywhere....scary shit....

  • Melisa Cornejo
    Melisa Cornejo 4 months ago

    This MOVIE SUCKEDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD and i was so excited for it so disappointing, i feel you.

  • goodguynow
    goodguynow 5 months ago

    Hater

  • Oh Yeah yeah
    Oh Yeah yeah 5 months ago

    I watched this on a flight to Miami

  • Coolissim0 Unl1mited
    Coolissim0 Unl1mited 5 months ago

    Maybe they wanted to do a low budge movie to get more money, perhaps to support for a better movie????

  • Corey Kelley
    Corey Kelley 5 months ago

    Just finished it, what a boring sack of shit.

  • Aradhya Sharma
    Aradhya Sharma 6 months ago

    So many nun puns...

  • Archismaa sivaganesh
    Archismaa sivaganesh 6 months ago

    I'm waiting for Chris to write and direct a horror movie!!!

  • John Prentice
    John Prentice 6 months ago

    Hey Chris thanks for the review of the Nun I'm not buying it now. Keep up the great work 👍🤔

  • Deepa Lall
    Deepa Lall 6 months ago

    This is the movie you can watch when nothing good is coming on the TV and then doze off within 20 minutes.

  • Jesus Chavez
    Jesus Chavez 6 months ago +1

    Not scary but a good triller if you see it that way 🤷🏻‍♂️ might be a guilty pleasure in the future

  • Nelson
    Nelson 6 months ago

    Like for the shelves... I'm definitely copying

  • DCMJ
    DCMJ 6 months ago

    Demon who likes to play prank, lol.

  • Sid
    Sid 6 months ago

    I fucking yawned five times watching this.
    But when the second half started I was wide awake., couldn't stop laughing.

  • Saad Imtiaz
    Saad Imtiaz 7 months ago

    This deserves a hilacity review

  • MrBuc128
    MrBuc128 7 months ago

    I was surprised at how much I liked it. Is it a great movie? No but I didn’t expect it to be. I found it entertaining

  • oldschool1987
    oldschool1987 7 months ago +2

    This film was so so bad.
    They hired Vera's younger sister, who's character is a medium, but she's not a young Elizabeth Warren??? It makes no sense

  • The Slasher
    The Slasher 7 months ago

    This had so much goddamn potential and they bombed their own careers. Say goodbye to Conjuring 3.

  • Jimmidiggincats
    Jimmidiggincats 7 months ago

    It was so bad it was actually funny

  • Charles Woogie
    Charles Woogie 7 months ago

    I am willing to bet....that there will be a prequel to The Nun, and that the prequel to the prequel will be better.

  • Alezey574
    Alezey574 7 months ago

    The worst horror movie in the world. Waste of my time

  • Jesse 1981
    Jesse 1981 7 months ago

    My brother brought this movie over tonight and it sucked ass. Super blashpemous, retarded, and the nun was like a fucking alien from star wars on pcp and was stupid af. They pirated a scene from Star Trek 2 when a tenticle chokes a guy out and pirated the holy hand grenade from Monty Pyton and the Holy Grail, only made it supposedly filled with the blood of Christ, and the girl drinks
    it and spits it in the nuns face. Seriously, how godless can society become to mock Jesus in such a filthy way. Sickening. Hated this movie with a passion. I give this movie an F, as in Fucking Trash. The creator should be flogged with a 2x4.

  • vai walker
    vai walker 7 months ago

    i wonder what happened. all the previous movies were good. this movie just played with the camera angles like when anyone turns around and they turn back, BOOM as expected a spirit will be there. if you guys want to good horror movie to do with a religious cult, watch Apostle. if you want a really good scary movie, watch "A Quiet Place" excellent movies

  • PMT Slot Hits n' Stuff
    PMT Slot Hits n' Stuff 7 months ago

    The pan away and pan back is mastered by james wan. He does it in a way that you dont know what's gonna happen and when. Insidious chapter 3 with the guy who jumped out the window then was crawling up the wall. That was perfect! (If only the trailer didnt spoil it😒)

  • mrs struggle
    mrs struggle 7 months ago

    i fell asleep after the first 20 minutes

  • Spìrít gïrl
    Spìrít gïrl 7 months ago

    This is exactly what I thought when I watched the movie trailer, I had a feeling it would fall flat
    and so I came here to good old Chris Stuckmann to tell me more✌

  • Blue Sky
    Blue Sky 7 months ago

    Even the first two sucked.

  • Matthew Savoy
    Matthew Savoy 7 months ago

    i wanna see the movie because the lead girl is HOTT

  • Nawaid Ali
    Nawaid Ali 7 months ago

    Highly dissapointing

  • Peace Maker
    Peace Maker 7 months ago

    I've watched this movie heard lot of criticism before but this movie is actually pretty good. The location, the camera movement vfx. This movie is not as bad as these review. Out of 5stars I would give it 4

  • Commodore Rook
    Commodore Rook 7 months ago +1

    Ok, just finally got around to watching this movie: and it was great!!!!
    Both me and my girlfriend loved it! Ultra scary. A few goofy moments, but much better than I was led to believe! Screw reviews, like what you like!

  • TailinCry Fox
    TailinCry Fox 7 months ago

    2/10 shittie movie, boring as hell, I disapprove it

  • some guy
    some guy 7 months ago

    Rated at a 8 out of 10 worth watching I would buy it on DVD

  • Mexican Monkey
    Mexican Monkey 7 months ago

    Movie was ass

  • Ayesha Zulfqar
    Ayesha Zulfqar 7 months ago

    I agree with you soo much.... It was not the best movie I wish i would haven't wasted my time on this movies.... So much hype was around this movie it didn't lead to my expectations.... I was just wast of time

  • Horror fan 4 Life
    Horror fan 4 Life 7 months ago

    I really enjoyed this movie.the special effects and look of the possessed nuns were great. The locations and score are really good as well. The characters did a great job and I knew what I was getting from this movie which is why it was enjoyable and a nice fit for this franchise. B+.

  • Nobita Nobi
    Nobita Nobi 7 months ago

    the nun is one of the worst film i hv ever seen

  • ASAFYY
    ASAFYY 7 months ago

    this movie sucked!!!! thank god i saw it on popcorn and didnt pay a dollar for that shit!

  • Alpha Kitty
    Alpha Kitty 7 months ago

    I felt like this movie didn't fully delve into why this entity chose to present itself as a nun and haunt this particular church. I know in the conjuring 2 it touched on the entity presenting itself as nun to test your faith, but is that all? It wasn't entertaining at all and was a a great disappointment. I was looking forward to this film as well and just ended up falling asleep and having to rewind some parts.

  • GoldenBear 173
    GoldenBear 173 7 months ago

    I didn’t find it scary even when I watched it in 1:40 am

  • ChimChim Noodles
    ChimChim Noodles 7 months ago +1

    I respectfully disagree with the people that say the nun is a bad movie cause I enjoyed the movie 🍿

    • Nawaid Ali
      Nawaid Ali 7 months ago

      It's boring and highly dissapointing

  • Reesey Me
    Reesey Me 7 months ago

    all the hype down the drain, pretty much like insidious 4

  • mirror
    mirror 7 months ago

    to fool people and support Christianity.....

  • Roger Aune
    Roger Aune 7 months ago

    The plot twist in the nun was kind of quite scary, but I think I've seen a similar plot twist in another movie, but I can't seem to remember the movie....

  • johnny iron lung
    johnny iron lung 7 months ago

    It was the shittiest movie i have seen in a long time. Was dissapointed. One horror cliche after the other for no reason. Just a mess of a movie. Expected so much more. I am kinda sad that this movie can be the reason that the conjuring franchise won't be able to expand with another movie. It would disheart every single director and producer to even attempt creating something that has to do with the conjuring franchise. Shit movie don't even watch it. It is a cashgrab and i would love if i could get the 10 euro refund for the cinema that i payed. This movie did not even deserve 4 euros nevertheless 10.

  • Soumyadip Bairagi
    Soumyadip Bairagi 7 months ago

    At 1:19 isn't that BATIM jump scare sound effect?

  • Show me Footsies
    Show me Footsies 7 months ago

    If you're really a massive horror fan you gotta understand that the rationality of horror stories is not that important to the genre. Horror come from the imagination. Its the domain of irrationality and mystery, and its correct that some things or events doesnt make sense and are not explained. The visuals and the atmosphere should and do come first for most of the time. Most of Dario Argento, Lucio Fulci, Sam Raimi, all those great directors works, are renowed for the visuals and atmosphere building; their stories are often messy and incoherent, actors do stupid things, etc ...
    I really liked the gothic aesthetic of the movie. When they use practical effects its well done too. The parts of cgi was kind of meh. Yeah they used that cliché of old tomes to explain the entity backstory, but since it take place in a old monastery, i think its well justified.