It - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 6 603

  • Brandon Schiavone
    Brandon Schiavone 17 hours ago

    To me this was one of the best movies I’ve seen in years ! It also provided this nostalgia from other classic movies like the goonies, the sandlot, or ET. It was more of an incredible adventure film with some intense horror themes. Such a great movie.

  • jesse williams
    jesse williams 22 hours ago

    Bill skarsgard was just incredible in the film however I found the clown and horror parts kinda my least favourite part. I just wanted more of the kids, there characters are just amazing. I love all the scenes with the kids in it.

  • Emilio Valdovinos
    Emilio Valdovinos 3 days ago

    It seems like everyone hates it. I don’t get it. It did have more comedy than an average horror but it was really good and when it was scary it was definitely scary. I love it and I can’t wait for part 2. Also I have to say it’s pretty accurate to the book on most parts. I think this movie was what Stephen king was going for. Much better than the miniseries.

  • Jen Lawrence
    Jen Lawrence 3 days ago

    You need to do a deep dive on this one

  • Nick McGrew
    Nick McGrew 5 days ago

    @1:47 pun intended much? Lol

  • Evey LPS
    Evey LPS 6 days ago +1

    My big 15 year old brother thinks that Coraline is more scary than IT

  • Xenofere
    Xenofere 11 days ago

    It may not be as scary as I thought it would be, but it gets real damn sad at the end of the climax.

  • Judson Joist
    Judson Joist 13 days ago

    1:21 Also, what's with the mother and son furry incest in Sleepwalkers? How many fetishes do you have, Stephen?!
    2:50 That "V" works on multiple levels. Remember the original 'V' miniseries from the '80s?

  • mr arican
    mr arican 14 days ago +1

    I liked the book more though.

  • Coaster Elite
    Coaster Elite 14 days ago

    People complaining about this movie because it wasn't scary don't get the point of this movie. I don't think it was supposed to be the scariest thing you ever seen in-fact it seems every movie that is in the genre of horror, people say they are not scared of. Then why do you watch scary movies if every time you see one you are disappointed because you are not scared by it. What exactly is scary to you? I think it was well thought out unlike some movies and although people are not happy about their being jump scares, those jump scares had a purpose and made for some fun visuals. but no we are just going to hate on this movie for every little thing we can. It was more focused on the story which was what really brought the creepiness out and it did a good job at catching me off guard at times. My conclusion is that you can't please everyone so just move on. If you don't like it, move on. But don't try and tell people they can't like because of the reason you didn't like it.

  • faisal prince
    faisal prince 16 days ago

    My life is Sophia. My love is Sophia ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️

  • Mathew Rutland
    Mathew Rutland 16 days ago

    One of my favourite books and really enjoyed the movie. Great review.

  • Jeremy Heartriter
    Jeremy Heartriter 20 days ago

    Definitely not as scary but a very very well made movie -- I love it and thoroughly enjoyed 😊

  • Metal Militia Army
    Metal Militia Army 21 day ago

    I like this movie I thought it was really fun and scary. My 9 year old brother watches it and laughed at it. You have the greatest mindset when it comes to movies.

  • ChanelSaysWhaat!
    ChanelSaysWhaat! 23 days ago

    @Chris Stuckmann I like your reviews yet I have to admit you kinda jus ticked me off. I respect your opinion I'm jus shocked the first IT is a classic that movie scared me and still does to say this one was better is like a slap at my childhood. This movie was so bad it made me mad ima jumper scary movies scare the shit outta me but only when they are scary this movie was not scary at all the acting was bland the script was bland it was over all bland. I'm shocked that you hold it so high.. WOW.. But cuz I like your reviews and I think ya kinda hot plus u favor chris pratt I'm goin to give you a pass only this time tho..lol

  • Mark 3
    Mark 3 23 days ago

    My favorite movie of 2017. Such a great movie. I've seen it 5 times lol

  • Mary V
    Mary V 25 days ago

    As someone who has loved the book and Tim Curry as Pennywise, i didn't like this movie. I found the kids unfunny and irritating especially Richie with his "yo mama so fat" corny jokes and how they handled Beverly's character as a damsel in distress. The clown is trying too hard to seem scary and they don't even let the actor showcase his abilities with all this CGI mess. I've seen better.

  • Ahmed Ali
    Ahmed Ali 29 days ago

    Please make a video on the list of the movies u think are A+ ..

  • Vui Vui
    Vui Vui Month ago

    The choice to split the films into two was a good choice, as the book was 1,100 pages long

  • Forcefulbat 1234
    Forcefulbat 1234 Month ago

    Sure bill skazgard looks scary but he dosent act scary and thats what tim curry did so well because he was mysterious and makes me feel very uncomfortable

  • Kylo Ren
    Kylo Ren Month ago

    Is this movie more scary than the conjuring?

  • Ravi Teja
    Ravi Teja Month ago

    5:21---he had given rating at.

  • anakin.
    anakin. Month ago

    I find it funny how people hating on this movie can't even properly state why they do, except saying that it was 'funny' or it didn't scare them. And basically ride the same bandwagon as those who dislike any movie automatically because it got popular. Like duh, horror movies are more than just cheap jumpscares. Plenty of B movies out there if you wanna get 'scared'. But if you want a unique/creature horror film, this one's not for you.

  • Perineum
    Perineum Month ago +1

    Nothing bad to say about the movie, still gets a minus. Huh?

  • Sergej Keser
    Sergej Keser Month ago

    One of the rare horror movies that Chris liked and gave it an A as a grade, while I was laughing my ass off and could not wait for movie to be over becouse it got so anoying and worn off at the end.

  • LaBelle Indifference

    Agreed except I would give A+ for this film. Pennywise creep level multiples 100 times than the original one. Congrats Bill Skarsgard! This is one of those very few good horror movies nowadays that satisfied me.

  • tony
    tony Month ago

    This movie is shit...

  • Austin Author
    Austin Author Month ago

    I'm shocked people liked this movie as much as it did. I thought it was a hot mess. Only good scene was the one at the beginning. The psychopath bullies, the pedophile dad and a pedophile dad do shit worse than Pennywise. Not to mention two annoying boys and Beverly whose only personality is that she's an underaged girl everyone (including two adults) wants to bang.

  • Sam Alvis
    Sam Alvis Month ago

    Best part of the movie is when the kid asks if the reason they can see the clown is because they’re still virgins😂

  • MrEmanthedrummer
    MrEmanthedrummer Month ago

    The thing about Bill Skarsgard for me is that he’s much accurate to the original Pennywise in the book than Tim Curry is. Don’t get me wrong, Tim Curry is a legendary Pennywise but I appreciate how authentic Bill is.

  • Jose R
    Jose R Month ago

    To be honest it did not scare me, the effects were kind of trashy, and the only kids I liked were the two last boys seen in the movie and the girl. The best scene in my opinion is the first, before the little boy gets attacked. I think the movie is bad, what I missed somebody tell me?

  • Mahmuda Kabir Moni
    Mahmuda Kabir Moni Month ago

    The CGI was very good...it didn't look fake or made up at all in this movie :)

  • Jazzamatazable
    Jazzamatazable Month ago

    boring movie

  • Two Grumpy Reviewers
    Two Grumpy Reviewers 2 months ago

    I loved this movie!!

  • Two Grumpy Reviewers
    Two Grumpy Reviewers 2 months ago

    I hate admitting that I didn't like the TV series version cause so many love it...it just didn't come close to the book, which I read repeatedly. BUT TIM CURRY IS THE BOMB!!!

  • Angel Gomez
    Angel Gomez 2 months ago

    PSA: Pennywise is an alien, not a demon

  • ReaperXP
    ReaperXP 2 months ago

    It's a bad horror movie but a good movie at the same time

  • Marijan the Macedonian
    Marijan the Macedonian 2 months ago

    there were 2-3 scary scenes in the movie

  • Ethan Hendrickson
    Ethan Hendrickson 2 months ago +1

    The movie was also incredibly funny when it wanted to be. "This motherfucker looks like Hamburger Helper!"

  • Phoenixisanormie Phoenix

    1:35 And thank F U C Cing GOD

  • Well I agree with what you said, but

    I forget how dark this movie really is

  • Bring the Bee
    Bring the Bee 2 months ago

    This movie was okay. The scares were there but they weren't scary enough besides that projector scene was 👌. The second movie sounds like it will be a lot scarier and a lot more darker tone. The cast is actually okay.

  • MasonParker
    MasonParker 2 months ago

    I've seen more porn of Pennywise than any other popular character. _Awkward._

  • Kurtsiecolferite S
    Kurtsiecolferite S 2 months ago

    This movie absolutely terrified me because I have a very strong fear of clowns (in haunted houses they are the one thing I absolutely cannot handle without screaming in horror). But Mike from Stranger Things was in it so I decided to go see it anyways. VERY well done horror movie. Couldn’t sleep after watching it. Kept expecting to see Pennywise in the shadow of my closet. Highly recommend this to anyone who likes really scary horror movies.

  • Jessica Anderson
    Jessica Anderson 2 months ago

    I liked this movie overall but found there were at least a couple obvious cg moments. The scenes with the woman in the picture for Stan, and the bum for Ed looked pretty bad to me. I think real effects could have been easily used and would have looked a lot better.

  • Lien Nguyen
    Lien Nguyen 2 months ago

    Bill got me cracking everytime.... And I dont laugh very easy

  • Archie Whiting
    Archie Whiting 2 months ago

    What do you guys think? Do you think this film series is going go disregard the spiritual/supernatural extraterrestrial side of things with the spiders and ‘youl float too’ meaning in spider webs? Will they explore this in the second chapter?

  • theravenousbeast
    theravenousbeast 2 months ago

    The kids were the best part of the movie. The actual picture looked great, some of the Derry outside shots were magnificent.
    However it lacked any sort of tension to grip you like a good horror movie should. The clown was far too demon-like. Lots of purposeless scenes

  • Mark Godleman
    Mark Godleman 2 months ago

    Your T shirt is Boss where can I get one👍

  • jake kayll
    jake kayll 2 months ago

    I decided to watch this again as they are now filming IT CHAPTER 2. I must say the cast for the adult children look absolutely incredible. I hope this film does the adult part justice

  • Karissa Romero
    Karissa Romero 2 months ago

    the IT book in the back. You're my new favorite person

  • Pred Dziadek
    Pred Dziadek 2 months ago

    Worst movie I ever watched. The horror itself is to watch this shit and last till the end before killing yourself or someone for filming this crap. Jeez. It's just an unrealistic movie about kids killing a clown in the end. No character dies, just the stupid clown in the end. And it last for over 2 hrs. OMG. First 5 minutes are great. Then it turns into typical crap that made no sense at all. Absolutely Awful.

  • Doomguy
    Doomguy 2 months ago

    My mother and I watched the movie when it came out in theaters. I loved every bit of it, but my mother hated it because she was such a big Steven King fan. Me, I don't read King's books.

  • Michael Andersen
    Michael Andersen 2 months ago

    The 2017 version si really bad. It has been way to "Americanized" which makes it rather cringe-worthy to watch.

  • chrisrus1965
    chrisrus1965 2 months ago

    It sucked.

  • Oliver Hernandez
    Oliver Hernandez 2 months ago

    Man it like the movie was so good yea it was scary but more funny

  • Jeffrey Riley
    Jeffrey Riley 2 months ago

    I like all of the 1990 miniseries, including the second half.

  • Salli Junttila
    Salli Junttila 2 months ago

    I thought the pacing was AWFUL and the CGI too I was constantly laughing and none of the scares got me I'm surprised so many people liked this film

  • Psubengals 101
    Psubengals 101 2 months ago

    6/10 the acting is good but it’s a bit too long. It’s not scary though, like I’m not trying to be a badass but nothing scares me in it.

  • Alex Alkov
    Alex Alkov 2 months ago

    So many people killed and are missing, yet the police doesnt investigate!

  • losev 2009
    losev 2009 2 months ago

    This movie was a joke.. Don't try to act as though it was scary.. It wasnt.. Bad animations and the story plot at the end fell apart.. Was ridiculous.. And i laughed harder at the scary parts.. Waisted my time on the movie honestly

  • Dialogue with the Stars
    Dialogue with the Stars 2 months ago +1

    I really liked this movie. It is among the handful of horror movies that I find scary, along with The Babadook, Killing of The Sacred Deer and The Fourth kind

  • Athiest Angle
    Athiest Angle 2 months ago +1

    Am I the only one who noticed that the guy who played Beverly's dad in IT also played Patrick Bateman's lawyer in American Psycho?

  • Homie Narwhal
    Homie Narwhal 3 months ago +1

    That shirt you have is great.

  • Sam Ashkenazy
    Sam Ashkenazy 3 months ago

    I'm surprised you liked this movie. It felt so forced and was extremely surface level.

  • Ross Kemp
    Ross Kemp 3 months ago +1

    Have you even read the book?!

  • TMG 365’z
    TMG 365’z 3 months ago

    I really didn’t like this film. Not even sure why this film is labelled as a horror, I think slice of life thriller would make more sense to me. It wasn’t scary in the absolute slightest. The only good scene of the entire film was the first scene with Georgie and it but the rest was just a joke. C- for me

  • Densetsu no LEGEND
    Densetsu no LEGEND 3 months ago +2

    Chris, I really gotta thank you for this one. Without this review, I would've been watching this movie in fear of the creepy favors that are done in the book. That stuff is uncomfortable when you're seeing it with family, so thank you so much for making it clear that they forego it in this movie. Really, thank you. I hate awkward stuff like that when your family is right there.

  • Giuliano 224
    Giuliano 224 3 months ago +1

    IN MY OPINION ITS WILDLEY OVER RATED

  • Matt Caserta
    Matt Caserta 3 months ago

    This movie was fucking stupid and they used dumb/blurry CGI every time the clown showed up.. how did you like this? Everytime he charged at one of the kids the background gets thrown outta focus and Pennywise turns into a blurry cgi clown charging at you.. this movie could have been scary, but they went the cgi route instead.. this movie was no different than the conjuring, insidious or any other horror movie that’s come out in the last 8 years.. but instead of a ghost they used a clown.. this movie didn’t make an ounce of sense and nothing was explained either.. set in the 1980s, but uses 2017 humor.. go figure.. only good part was the beginning when pennywise actually had DIALOGUE with Georgie.. but that scene was quickly ruined when the clown opened his god awful cgi mouth and bit the kids arm off.. would have been better if georgie reached for the boat, then have pennywise grab his arm and have the screen go black.. Bill skarsgard was good in the opening scene, because he had lines.. but you could have put any actor in make up for the rest of the movie and I don’t think anyone would have told the difference .. all he did was scream after that

  • Siobhan Griffiths
    Siobhan Griffiths 3 months ago

    I thought the movie was crap. I didnt find it scary or very suspensful and it felt like a very badly put together anthology film, although the kids themselves and their little stories where good. The sceane with the painting lady had us all howling.

  • Bomholtz
    Bomholtz 3 months ago

    I don't get it. Yes, it has high production value, yes it has great acting, but it all seems like empty air, because of how awefull the horror elements are (especially when it comes to Pennywise and his antics). The cgi is made in a way that comes off as comical instead of frightening and the annoying jump scare sound effects ruins the tension in EVERY "scary" moment. I only really enjoyed the scenes with the characters and thier development, but that only makes it feel like a half Stephen King film. Decent 5 out of 10 at best.

  • Zen Dragon
    Zen Dragon 3 months ago

    I loved the movie but the side monsters werent scary. I thought pennywise was the only scary part

  • Tjr4448
    Tjr4448 3 months ago

    Great film! Finally a great Stephen King novel brought to life the right way......👍🏽👍🏽🤡

  • mohan nice
    mohan nice 3 months ago

    i feel sad for that clown who got some serious ass kicking

  • Mr. Lee
    Mr. Lee 3 months ago

    Loved this movie!

  • Daniel Walker
    Daniel Walker 3 months ago

    they are coming out with a new one

  • Isak Dahl Short Films
    Isak Dahl Short Films 3 months ago

    Found it a really bad movie that didn’t scare or creep me. Still pretty entertaining but a really bad movie. Probably mostly because it’s so over the top. It started out really good, but all of that changed as soon when Pennywise bite Georgie’s arm of. I was like “what the fudge!?!?”.

  • isabellaaa 099
    isabellaaa 099 3 months ago

    In my opinion this was a really good movie, but something is just missing. I don't know what though. A lot of actors were really great in this movie, but some were not. Also, it didn't scare me as much as I thought it would. I thought there was going to be TONS of jumpscares, but they weren't that scary tbh. I even watched it the first time at night, and I was completely fine 😂 I also got a weird nostalgic feeling when I watched it? Anyway, I'll still give it an B because it was entertaining and scary, just not how I thought it would be. 🎈🎈🎈

  • abhishek rana
    abhishek rana 3 months ago

    To me, Bev's dad and that other kid's mom was evenly terrifying and that's a good thing. Obviously, the people who wanted conjuring type shit would be disappointed.

  • Dahlia Legacy
    Dahlia Legacy 3 months ago

    I love too how creepy og it was, like yes they have modern technology in it, but it all felt very at the root of horror for me. Like it never felt out of place and cheesy. Honestly, this is one of the better adaptations that I've seen of his books in a long time. That and they used quiet so well, like other movies need to take notes, you don't need everything so loud, sometimes the quiet sets up scares a lot better. ^_~

  • Isaac Sasquatch
    Isaac Sasquatch 3 months ago

    I think the issue with Pennywise is that people these days often have a very strict idea of what's scary, so when Pennywise tries to do the goofy yet horrible creepy clown stuff, people just see goofy. A common complain I saw was that Pennywise dancing in the sewers was stupid and ruined the moment for them, but I found that scene pretty unnerving.

  • 레디액션맨임상훈

    The cameraman is Korean.

  • Rhienfo
    Rhienfo 3 months ago +1

    I hate the cheap jumpscares with loud sounds

    • Rhienfo
      Rhienfo 2 months ago

      Luis Meraz I meant in general for all movies

    • Luis Meraz
      Luis Meraz 2 months ago

      Rhienfo there was only two jumpscares

  • Lachie Swincer
    Lachie Swincer 3 months ago

    is good

  • Lachie Swincer
    Lachie Swincer 3 months ago

    i think that part to of the tim curry one

  • EBFL
    EBFL 3 months ago

    Just imagine if mutha f'n jaws showed up during that quarry scene. We always remind ourselves that we're safe from great whites in rivers/lakes/quarry's so if Bruce the shark happened to show up in that scene I would've crapped my pants in fear. Also think it would be a good nod to the OG it where they used 40s cinema horror figures, if they used 70s horror figures

  • SilvershadowX
    SilvershadowX 3 months ago

    How is no one talking about the changed setting? The 50s setting of the book was a major selling point for me. Why the hell does the film take place in the 80s?

  • dvssk8er3
    dvssk8er3 3 months ago

    The girl does what at the end of the book?😳

  • Kou Y
    Kou Y 3 months ago

    Pennywise is barely in the movie

  • Pascal Pasap
    Pascal Pasap 3 months ago

    Good movie in my opinion, however the fuckin’ *FANDOM* it generated just turned it into walking cancer I don’t want to hear about again. Honestly the fucking internet ruins damn near everything.

  • MrPwndaFTW
    MrPwndaFTW 3 months ago

    I feel like it wasn't violent or intense as the book and that is a big con for me. The book is so much more violent and the kids deal with so many more mature themes.

  • Tharaan Thambyayah
    Tharaan Thambyayah 3 months ago +1

    The movie was amazing.Bill Skarsgad was amazing as Pennywise.

  • Steven Orellano
    Steven Orellano 3 months ago

    Well, what the fuck? What about the second part?

  • yosip peña
    yosip peña 3 months ago

    Did anyone notice in the seen where pennywise was talking to jorgei his eyes were blue and when he said "do you want your boat...... take it" his eyes started to become Orange that was the best scene ever

  • yosip peña
    yosip peña 3 months ago

    It wasn't scary but I did get a bit of shivers when pennywise cut of the kid's arm because I hate seeing kids getting hurt in ways they can never heal from especially when he stated yelling I mostly felt bad and angry

  • Mark Montgomery
    Mark Montgomery 4 months ago

    I will give this movie an F+ I just liked the old one better

  • Mark Montgomery
    Mark Montgomery 4 months ago

    The old one was better

  • johnny boy
    johnny boy 4 months ago

    Movie was fucking garbage! Never listening to this asshole again.

  • c karav
    c karav 4 months ago

    This movie is not necessarily scary to most people, more simply unsettling. I found it to be a fun movie in most respects but there's not much here too memorable in my opinion. B+