The Post - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 7, 2017
  • FACEBOOK: ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Post, starring Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Alison Brie, Carrie Coon, David Cross, Bruce Greenwood, Tracy Letts, Bob Odenkirk, Sarah Paulson, Jesse Plemons, Matthew Rhys, Michael Stuhlbarg, Bradley Whitford, Zach Woods, Pat Healy. Directed by Steven Spielberg.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 490

  • Siddharth Sinha
    Siddharth Sinha 13 days ago

    This was a really good review!

  • Abigail
    Abigail 16 days ago

    This movie would’ve brought out of me my cynicism about politics and the government... I knew better than to subject my tiny brain into a cycle of mistrust and doubt that inevitably would happen about “we the people” movies....sad but true....

  • The Fonz
    The Fonz Month ago

    The Post has nothing to do with todays climate, big fan and subscriber..... But your wrong

  • Hackingking4478 reviews 2

    You're wearing a spirited away shirt, will you review Spirited away? Please do that

  • Carl Ginland
    Carl Ginland Month ago

    directed by Steven Spielberg, starring Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks... Oscar nomination starting pack

  • The James Show
    The James Show Month ago +1

    The Modern News lies a lot

  • libertarian45
    libertarian45 7 months ago

    Saw it on TV tonight. A crock of left-wing propaganda trying to make out sleazy, unscrupulous reporters as heroes in the hopes of discrediting the duly elected POTUS and trying to distract the public from the fact that journalism is nearly dead. NYTs, WAPO, CNN, MSNBC have all presented fake news and tried to pass it off as truth. They've chosen sides and completely lost their objectivity (if they ever had any).
    Now some facts. The Pentagon Papers was a study ordered by Robert McNamara to compile the correspondence and records of discussions leading up to and during the early stages of the war (up to 1967). Ultimately, when viewed by non-biased intelligent people, the report justifies and vindicates most decisions taken. There's no "smoking gun" or earth-shattering revelations that the public just has to know immediately. There wasn't really a scandal except that it was a classified document that was STOLEN by Daniel Ellsberg. The suits weren't about suppressing the truth from the public (again, there wasn't much of value in the report) they were about the dangerous precedent of the theft of classified material and irresponsible release to the public during war time. Imagine if, during WW2, a Nazi or Japanese sympathizer stole classified documents and had his reporter buddies spin a story that, ultimately, aided the enemy. People would have been executed.
    So the report was a whole lot of nothing and the NYT and WAPO published their interpretation/spin of what it meant. The mini scandal weakened the draw down and the US's bargaining position at the future peace talks (just like the lies spread about the Tet offensive in 1968 which actually was a victory and resulted in the destruction of the VC as a fighting organization - from 68 - 75 it was all NVA Regulars). Pat yourselves on the back reporter heroes...
    The reviewer is correct that it is connected to current events: lying Hollywood will stoop to any level to get their propaganda to the masses t to control the message and attempt to make their accomplices in the MSM appear heroic and brave. Ultimately the aim is to make Trump look bad.
    Nixon is reviled yet he achieved way more in his 6 years than Obama did in 8. He ended the US part of the war in 73 as promised. Essentially the US won its objectives and set up South Vietnam for success...contingent on the PROMISE of continued aid and air power for when the North would break the treaty (which of course the commies did) and invade the South. The democrat-controlled Congress refused, disallowed air support and slashed aid. The dems lost the war for the South by betraying them. Nixon opened talks with China and USSR helping to thaw the cold war a little. Obama? Divided the nation along racial lines and got a Nobel Prize for....no one really knows...just for getting elected, I guess.

  • Bruce Taylor
    Bruce Taylor 8 months ago

    "Spotlight" (2015) is a far better film than "The Post" from the standpoints of direction, writing, acting and editing. In fact I found it slightly superior to "All the President's Men". "Spotlight" deservedly won the "Best Picture" Oscar for that year.

  • FORREST GUMP
    FORREST GUMP 9 months ago

    Chris, I thought you were smarter. The liberals have been brainwashing the public for years.

    • Andrea Foreman
      Andrea Foreman 19 days ago

      FORREST GUMP what do you mean by brainwashing? What’s wrong with being progressive?

  • phil lamonica
    phil lamonica 9 months ago

    Just as an FYI... The Pentagon Papers were classified top secret documents stolen from a government contractor (Rand Corp.) by a hawk turned dove Daniel Ellsberg. President Nixon had nothing to gain personally by trying to keep this from being published as the report pre-dated Nixon and was highly critical of both Kennedy and Johnson's escalation of the war. Nixon cared about the country and the damage this could and did cause to our foreign relations around the world. Had Nixon been as "self centered" as some people think, he could have used this to blame his predecessors for the war. The release of stolen and top secret military reports don't seem to matter anymore. It should.

  • Pratham Prakash
    Pratham Prakash 9 months ago

    Chris,I have followed your channel for a long time now and I think your spielberg reviews have missed an important one, Leo dicaprio 'catch me if you can'2002.
    How come you didn't review it, didn't you like it?

  • Pixilate U
    Pixilate U 10 months ago

    I went into this movie with anticipation, but had to bail about a third of the way in. Strangely, I realized that every scene with Meryl turned off any and all built-up momentum and interest for me. Maybe it was the writing for her part, but mostly it seemed like she was grasping to channel her real-life character (and of course characters are Meryl's strong suit.) She seemed to flail and wobble, and her characterization just seemed really odd. Totally broke the spell for me. I might try to jump in again at the halfway point and see if it's any better. The rest of the movie seemed great. Maybe it was a little too rushed by Spielberg?

  • funky35791
    funky35791 10 months ago

    You should direct the terminal

  • Marcos Gallardo
    Marcos Gallardo 10 months ago

    so is this movie good or not??

  • TheDragonflyDoji
    TheDragonflyDoji 10 months ago

    just watched this. ok not to pick apart one meaningless scene... but wtf was up with that protest? was that shot indoors or something? was that suppose to be mario savio's "bodies on gears of the machine" epic rant? why not just use real footage or at least make it look halfway real? this is the detail that can make or break a period peice... and for that reason, i'm out. no oscar.

  • belly QBE6878
    belly QBE6878 11 months ago

    That is NOT what Trump is doing. He is not trying to control the media, he calls them out when he thinks that they are lying.

  • colin the dog from SPACED

    Well shot /acted. When all the women stared in awe at Streep I cringed. To be honest it was DULL. Worthy but dull.

  • RAPPI GONEN
    RAPPI GONEN Year ago +1

    you gave to a movie a B ?
    you dont like steven spielberg !!!!!

  • Vatican Cameos!
    Vatican Cameos! Year ago +1

    dARKEST hOUR>??????

  • TriforcePlayer2
    TriforcePlayer2 Year ago

    IT WAS HER TURN

  • zavali7
    zavali7 Year ago

    Now Washington Post & NY Times work on the government USA :(
    RT tells the truth!

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    This is Oscarbait

  • HMat
    HMat Year ago

    You have the coolest tee shirts. We can I get them?

  • Anthony Fletcher
    Anthony Fletcher Year ago

    I will never, ever, ever, watch this movie, even if I had a chance to pick up a copy from a pawn shop!..... These anti-americans will never get my money...

  • Helen S. C.
    Helen S. C. Year ago

    We like your channel, but turning political will turn off half of your viewers. I agree the movie is good, and it's relevant for today's times. However it's relevant because the opposite is happening now. Then, there were real journalists and what they revealed was a true tragedy, continued by 4 presidents. Now the media is on a 24/7 Trump hatefest full of lies. Trump has a first amendment right to call them out for their lies. And the media has been wrong about everything they predicted. Stop watching CNN, go outside and see the world is not ending. Economy is booming, jobs are abundant, wages are up, Korean peace is right around the corner, and lots more good news thanks to Trump.

  • CMG
    CMG Year ago

    Would rather watch paint dry than sit through a Tom Hanks movie.

  • DJ Knight
    DJ Knight Year ago

    Your T-shirt is way too dope ! Link please ?

  • DrMoorehen
    DrMoorehen Year ago +1

    Dont know what you yanks are rabbiting on about oscar bait for. Yes a good movie but not oscar worthy... now gary oldman as sir winston? Yes a deserved (brit) winner...hahha.....

  • DrMoorehen
    DrMoorehen Year ago

    Thanks, but dont knock trump! Love him and need him in the uk now during brexit

  • Jory Stultz
    Jory Stultz Year ago

    The dialogue was amazing in this movie.

  • hifrom mike
    hifrom mike Year ago +1

    Speilberg said in the blu-ray bonus feature that it was the current attacks on the media that caused him to fast-track this film. It has some of the most effective camera movement in any film I've seen.

  • omegapointil
    omegapointil Year ago

    I see little reason to dredge up this issue when ...afterall, who hasn't heard about The Pentagon Papers by now. What it succeeds in doing is distracting from the genuine, far more shameful atrocities that are brought up by Nick Turse's expose "Kill Anything That Moves." Don't hold your breath for anyone to make a film of that. What KATM does is uncover from National Archives documents that Mai Lai was a daily exercise. This film, with its star power seems to be a way to keep Americas' attention away from a real reason to assign guilt. Go head, its here in TVclip, search "Nick Turse if want to feel ....informed.

  • URCHIN SAM
    URCHIN SAM Year ago

    why havent you made a review for i tonya

  • मार्तण्ड उर्फ मारू

    बहुत ही सटीक समीक्षा। फिल्म का पहला हाफ थोड़ा सा बोरिंग सा था। पर फिल्म जरूर एक बार देखने लायक है।

  • Jean-Philippe Doyon

    Didn't deserved the nominations...stealing them to Blade Runners 2049...pure oscar bait...

  • Tercero Ciencias
    Tercero Ciencias Year ago

    Make a review about The Paper House, from netflix

  • Lover of everything

    I like it but tough the begging was slow

  • John Dalton Logan

    Loooooooooove that shirt

  • rocr62
    rocr62 Year ago

    Real review:
    I just saw the movie or was this a comedy or was it a spin off on "the producers"? I think the actual term is "narrative piece".
    The best part of the movie was the audience. Their reaction made me feel as though I was watching a children's puppet show... "crocodile? where's the crocodile?" This movie is to never trumpers as election night meltdowns are to trump supporters.
    Acting was good, I'll give you that, ... but this was a cheese fest as far as script was concerned. Replace the reporters all hunkered down in Tom Hank's living room with a group of rabid feminists coming out of self defense yoga on women's prison release night and you have the writing team for this movie.
    I give it 2 out of 5... it just didn't work.

  • Phil S
    Phil S Year ago

    Yeah it just feels like a cut and paste Spielberg film... Meh

  • RAPPI GONEN
    RAPPI GONEN Year ago

    chris I think you are an ass hall ! you gave Spielberg film a B ! instead an A !!!!

  • Hellfire Alpha
    Hellfire Alpha Year ago

    So I have only two complaint about this review and that is that you're not seeing this as a movie about a historical event (which it is) and you instead chose to focus on it's comparison to current day media, and you used far to little time to try to review the movie properly, other than that it was ok

  • Mr. Marston
    Mr. Marston Year ago

    Darkest hour review

  • rahatul alam
    rahatul alam Year ago

    listening to the end credit soundtrack while this review was really cool a movie to see a sequel to this is mark felt played by Liam Neeson this year, that was also good. a double bill just like Dunkirk and darkest hour.

  • Rich As F*ck
    Rich As F*ck Year ago

    have you ever talked about the media NOT talking about hillary, obama and FBI scandal?? why Trump all of a sudden?? don't stuff your political views on the generic viewers. like your reviews overall but do avoid making political comments for crying out loud. what a turnoff.

  • Free living
    Free living Year ago

    Review Shot Caller. I personally think it was a great film and definitely better than the rating which are about a 7.4/10 which isn’t bad but I think it’s more of an 8.5. It’s more about choices made after mistakes that changes your life drastically and for the worse but also for survival. It really doesn’t have much to do with skin heads other than the organization rather than being racist it’s about choices in survival

  • schmoab
    schmoab Year ago

    Important story, but this movie was rushed. The script needed to be tightened up and the editing was inadequate.

  • XenoKaiju
    XenoKaiju Year ago

    SLIGHT-ISH SPOILER? I GUESS?
    Well I think the first half was meant to be slow like that. As someone who was a part of a high school newspaper and a couple journalism classes, I felt the same way as these characters did when someone got the leg up in story leads. I thought the film communicated that very clearly, having your spot annoying taken from you.
    But then that last act came and it felt like a blast from the past! The rush of getting the story written, collecting the facts coherently, going through the legalities/ethics and finally publishing on time. Like you said, very riveting.

  • Daniel Drylie
    Daniel Drylie Year ago +1

    I agree. The opening was fantastic. After that, it felt like the momentum of the film got stuck in mud, and it took a huge chunk of the film to get out.

  • echosixnoble
    echosixnoble Year ago

    More Liberal propaganda.SMH

  • Kristofer Sandlund
    Kristofer Sandlund Year ago +1

    Keep in mind that the information was primarily about the Kennedy and Johnson presidency's and their lack of transparency regarding the Vietnam War. Having lived through those years, I can state with confidence that none of my family or friends believed the governments press releases regarding the status of the war. The "body counts" on the nightly news were simply horrible and never gave us any confidence that the war was winnable by attrition. (The draft ended the year I became eligible). As far as it related to today- think about what the movie reveals about the paper... the press at that time struggled over whether it was legal to release the reports. They worked hard to be sure this was in the best interest of the country and debated the repercussions of what they were doing. The press today?? They report every leak they can get their hands on. There is no thought whatsoever as to the legality or even the validity of what they report. Whether you like or hate Trump, this movie shows how the press should be functioning. Sadly, today's news reporting is a tragedy to behold.

  • Joseph Carl Breil

    Just another rank amateur reviewing movies on TVclip.

  • Peter KJ Richter - *IMHO*

    The Post is more for film buffs and history majors, or if you have a thing for 70s retro ;)

  • Movie Man Reviews

    That's interesting. The issues Chris had with this film I didn't have at all. I liked the first half just fine. The whole film was very good.

  • Ace Breao
    Ace Breao Year ago +1

    MY BOY SAUL GOODMAN MOVED ON FROM HE DRUG BUSINESS

  • 65 TossPowerTrap
    65 TossPowerTrap Year ago

    The Post was a bunch of Nixon hating communists. Where was the Post when LBJ took us into Vietnam? When JFK stole the election in 1960? Not on the communist liberal agenda.

  • marvin pettey
    marvin pettey Year ago

    Respect your opinion but i have to disagree with it. I thought it was great

  • Baked
    Baked Year ago

    LMAO you think Trump is controlling the media?>? You are smarter than that. It is the liberal left that is controlling the media wake up.

  • lestat1886
    lestat1886 Year ago

    You got the story wrong: it’s the Time who got it first not the Post... I found this movie focused on the wrong things and was to me quite boring. Meryl Streep was great and her character was interesting (and the relationship between them and the politics but that was not adressed that much)...

  • 3dartistguy
    3dartistguy Year ago

    The Trump administration is not trying to control anything. Rather its the press that is so biased against the Trump administration that they are essentially making things up and reporting thiese things as if they are fact, like Trump supposedly calling African countries "shitholes". The only source Dick Durbin a known liar and despite the fat that it was refuted by two other people, its still being reported as fact. I enjoyed this movie, but its more relevent to the Clinton scandals of the 90s.