The Mummy - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 3 081

  • WarlordRising
    WarlordRising 9 days ago

    The film took a nosedive along with the plane. It was actually pretty damn good up until everyone went to London.

  • Rikard Stromberg
    Rikard Stromberg Month ago

    Why do you reference the director of Wonder Woman as a girl? Do you ever reference Tom Cruise as a boy?

  • Mohamed Germanotta
    Mohamed Germanotta Month ago

    sofia Boutella love her

  • Odin God
    Odin God Month ago

    I like sci fi movies but the "strong" women in movies is to far from reality and it ruins the movie for me.

  • Darth Sidious
    Darth Sidious Month ago

    this movie feels like it's a combination of different movies, the scenes and dialog feels unrelated

  • TheSparkyWriter
    TheSparkyWriter Month ago

    I enjoyed Russel Crowe IMMENSELY in this movie. In fact, I’d have preferred seeing his story rather than this. The fact that the whole Dark Universe thing is canceled makes me sad because I wanted more of him. Jenny was... so freaking sad. Just no y’all. No.

  • Elizabeth Cloudwalker
    Elizabeth Cloudwalker 2 months ago

    I think the movie was..." Eh" because you can tell it was whitewashed. And by whitewashed, I mean that this is an egyptian tale about an egyptian curse of an egyptian mummy, and who they pick to play the majority of characters? White people. Yes, the Frasier version had a lot of white people in it too, but you also had the Medjai, the representation of the other culture and people who the mummy is native to. Sure I liked a lot of elements about this story. It had a lot packed into it and they could easily have broken this story down into multiple movies, packed in more details, thrown in more monsters, and it wouldn't have been as whitewashed as it was. They basically focused on filming it in England, another instance of whitewashing. Even in the Frasier movies, they based the not tomb scenes in Cairo. They could have done so much better without whitewashing.

  • Brandon G
    Brandon G 2 months ago

    How do you feel about these old monster movies, which were originally great in creepy atmosphere, timing, imagery, and story, all just being rebooted as distinctly not scary CGI-bloated action movies? I think it's sad that Hollywood would rather take these classic cinema monsters out of the horror genre and force them into the action genre.

  • TheSilverSkorpious
    TheSilverSkorpious 2 months ago

    Chris: Movies need to be more woke when portraying female characters!
    Also Chris: Call these adult leading women girls!
    I'm not questioning his integrity or anything, just thought it was funny.

  • Hot Anime Guys Productions

    I love that sweater man👍

  • BJ64Th3M0v13f4n
    BJ64Th3M0v13f4n 2 months ago

    The sidekick is called Chris! HAHAHAHA Good luck with that one!

  • bela darling
    bela darling 2 months ago

    This movie is so disappointing.
    I thought it will be awesome but after 15 minutes, it goes downward spirral

  • HappyBeezerStudios - by Lord_Mogul

    I really enjoyed the Brandon Frasier movies. They were silly fun, didn't took themselves to seriously. Somewhere between a serious adventure movie like Indiana Jones, a parody and a genuine comedy. They had the right mix.
    Sure, they aren't masterprieces, but they were really enjoyable.

  • Danish Ansari
    Danish Ansari 3 months ago

    this movie sucks... i dnt know y u r all praise for tom cruise.. even he feels lost in this train wreck.. screenplay sucks.. no story.. nothing..

  • a random furry
    a random furry 3 months ago

    You should do the stephen sommers series of the mummy

  • Amadeus C
    Amadeus C 3 months ago +1

    This movie is total shit and i regret downloading and watching it for free.

  • SiNiSTeR_GRooVeS
    SiNiSTeR_GRooVeS 4 months ago +1

    The Mummy (1999) = Great
    The Mummy Returns = Fun
    The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor = Boring
    The Mummy (2017) = Why...

  • Tristan Putnam
    Tristan Putnam 4 months ago

    I love when he says its.. fine xD he says it all the time and I love it these videos are amazing

  • Jase
    Jase 4 months ago

    I went and saw The Mummy with Brendan Fraser three times in the theater back in 1999, yes three times in the theater, I loved it so much. I went and saw this with my girlfriend and I saw it once and I actually liked it but only saw it once and never again.

  • Emund Montgomery
    Emund Montgomery 4 months ago

    ashyan har.

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    Did you know that Guillermo del Toro was originally supposed to lead the direction of the whole Universe. But when he said he wanted to make a Creature from the black lagoon movie from the persepective of the monster Universal said no and thus the shape of water was born

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Uhh, this was such a failure of a film, D

  • Bryant Hardin
    Bryant Hardin 4 months ago

    A true disappointed i just keep watching mummy 1-2 good 3 half&half gotta bring great director cast and good good screenwriting my opinion

  • Dennis Williams
    Dennis Williams 5 months ago

    Good lord this comment section is filled with insecure guys. It's amazing how just saying "this movie had a weak female lead" is such a trigger phrase.

  • Nate Lucid Carter
    Nate Lucid Carter 5 months ago

    Calls wonder woman a girl and the director a girl.. prolly not intentionally rude but it is

  • Resident Evilfan666
    Resident Evilfan666 5 months ago

    i really did like this movie really enjoyable movie and i did like the new mummy played by Sofia Boutella i really did enjoyed her acting and her character and she just look hot to be a mummy and i havent seen the first one or third one with jet li i only saw the mummy return and this new mummy movie 2017

  • Jessica Norton
    Jessica Norton 5 months ago

    I just finished the movie and I needed to come back to re watch your review. And I definitely agree with your opinion Jenny's character. OMG she was ANNOYING. And frustratingly useless. I was so disappointed that he fell for her when she did nothing and he ultimately "gave himself" fully to the curse for this bitch. Really dude, she did nothing. I know there has to be a love interest but they couldn't do any better than that!? Besides that, movie was ok. I liked the mummy the best. This movie had at leadt one bad ass chick. Though this will NEVER top the originals for me either. They will always be some of my favorite guilty pleasures. I still have them on vhs lol. (Yes including The Scorpion King😂)

  • Mar Rastapopoulos
    Mar Rastapopoulos 5 months ago

    If Chris Stuckmann is not willing to do it, I will: The Mummy is a f&#$& bad movie! The worst of Tom Cruise’s career and oh my god what a snoozefest. Buyer beware; read the negative reviews on wiki first. They are all true!

  • TheSparkyWriter
    TheSparkyWriter 5 months ago

    The movie is good but you can’t help but look back at the Brendan Frazier movie (I say movie because I don’t acknowledge the other two) and it’s just. I weep. The best parts were Russel Crowe THE BEST REALLY and the mummy lady. She was cool, powerful and sold her role. Could’ve done without that romance with Jenny... just. Please no. The whole reason for the ending... she needed to be saved. God.

  • Charles Gabriel
    Charles Gabriel 5 months ago

    U gave this movie a better review than Dracula untold yet that was actually a really good movie while the mummy was shit.

  • Ja tack
    Ja tack 6 months ago

    I personally HATED quite many of Cruise's funny quips and faces. It totally destroyed whatever scary mood the setting and score had build up. The overall theme of the movie was sabotaged by Cruise's attempts to make it funny.
    Ofcourse, it wasn't only Cruise doing funny stuff, but his comedy made the biggest impact for the worse. Imo. He was the subject of a real curse. He shouldn't be telling jokes. He should be seriously scared, close to panic, and not in a funny way.
    Rant over.

  • Aaron Jaggan
    Aaron Jaggan 6 months ago

    A mummy swimming underwater... .....really?

  • batman144
    batman144 6 months ago

    Benicio Del Toro's Wolfman was actually before Universal decided to do a Dark Universe, wasn't it?

  • Omar' Commin
    Omar' Commin 6 months ago

    At which fucking point was this movie funny and Tom Cruise's character charismatic?

  • The FirstBourne
    The FirstBourne 7 months ago

    I guess he does have a better performance the last movie he did, but the last movie he did actually had a better character. This character was an awful one, and was the worst. I could not really be rooting fo' this fool.

  • Ivan Kalazic
    Ivan Kalazic 7 months ago

    since when is Seth Egyptian god of death like in this movie

  • JoJa
    JoJa 7 months ago +1

    This movie is just one big mess

  • Broken Haven
    Broken Haven 8 months ago +1

    I have to disagree. This movie was absolute trash.

  • RekLaw XeRo
    RekLaw XeRo 8 months ago

    I thought Dracula Untold was a pretty good action/fantasy movie

  • Gilberto Ignacio Aguirre Vargas

    Russell plays Nick Fury

  • Smash it
    Smash it 8 months ago

    Dracula untold was a pretty solid movie I liked the story.

  • too lazy
    too lazy 8 months ago

    I wish that the movie was like that trailer they accidentally uploaded.

  • SRRN or BWM
    SRRN or BWM 8 months ago

    This is the only full mummy movie I've seen. I think it's really good.

  • Rectus Rectumius
    Rectus Rectumius 8 months ago

    For the Brits, the mummies are always girls.

    • Rectus Rectumius
      Rectus Rectumius 8 months ago

      Liable Punchline Dispenser In British English, mothers are mummies, not mommies.

    • Crappy HR
      Crappy HR 8 months ago

      Rectus Rectumius you wot?

  • JD Bond
    JD Bond 9 months ago

    This movie is great!

  • ChickenOfTheCaveMan
    ChickenOfTheCaveMan 9 months ago

    It's amazing how they think not showing Cruise's face will make us want to see the next movie in the series (if there's still one...)

  • Coaster Crazy
    Coaster Crazy 9 months ago

    Chris your reviews suck dude, I have just watched The Mummy and yeah it’s not a great film but it’s not terrible either

  • B La
    B La 9 months ago

    I love how Chris is wearing an amazing Spiderman shirt lol I knew you would come around buddy i knew
    Deep down inside you didn't love those sam rami spiderman movies you don't have to say it but we all get it and I'm proud of you buddy spiderman homecoming is the best Spiderman movie the second best Spiderman movies are the amazing Spiderman movies ok i know there are 2 of them so I should say second and third it goes In this order spiderman homecoming the amazing Spiderman 2 and the amazing Spiderman 1 those tobey maguire movies are the worst you know it's true Chris tell me this one thing how does it make any sense that Tobey Mcguire gets bit by a spider and automatically has webs come out of his wrists fuck that man if he webs it would come out of his ass like a spider lol but at least agree with me on this spiderman homecoming is the best Spiderman movie ever andrew Garfield is the second best Spiderman tobey maguire is terrible as spiderman come on Chris admit it

  • Mike Reif
    Mike Reif 9 months ago

    This movie sucks sucks sucks. Who the hell wrote the screenplay for this stinker, oh wait I know L. Ron Hubbard.

  • Elia Carbonaro
    Elia Carbonaro 9 months ago

    Did anyone see that little Easter egg with the book of the living that was sick coming from loving the original mummy and I do agree about the 3rd one it was Chinese mythology not egyptian

  • Hurry Before it's deleted

    The MUMMY (2017) in just 1 sentence.




    Filler Movie for a failed, unfunny, Cinematic Universe

  • Pathfinder0708962
    Pathfinder0708962 9 months ago

    To be fair, Oded Fehr who played as Ardeth Bay in 1999 movie, he kind of did the same thing in the beginning. I mean, there was a few parts where he kind of went silent, but at the beginning and end of the “memory” or “flashback”, he did what Russel Crowe did.

  • Makhi Makharadze
    Makhi Makharadze 10 months ago

    I had the same amount of fun with Mummy as with most Marvel movies or the past Brendan Fraser Mummy movies. All this critique seems like pretentious whining from pseudo movie experts, going into the movies with certain expectations, needing very little reason to bitch to show how well they analyse films. Sit you ass down, get rid if you bullshit expectations and JUST watch the film, not to talk about it later with people, but for yourself.

  • cookie emezi
    cookie emezi 10 months ago

    get stuckmannisaed

  • Sunny Baig
    Sunny Baig 10 months ago +1

    Why does Tom cruise remind me of Nathan drake from the Uncharted game series

  • YellowHero1
    YellowHero1 10 months ago

    Scorpion King is awesome

  • Nasus The Curator Of Sands

    I really disliked it. It was so full of cliches and awful progression that made it unbearable for me. Starting off with Tom Cruise's character who is your typical adrenaline junkie who just injects himself in a little village filled with rebels like Leon in Resident Evil 4. Something to point out in this scene, when Cruise and his friend are hiding behind walls, the rebels for some reason keep shooting at them even when there is 0 chance they are gonna hit them. Then the sexy female shows up, who as expected has some sexual background with the main character. They find the ancient tomb, and the woman has everything figured out in 2 minutes tops, while Cruise somehow goes full retard and shoots this rope that he has no idea what it does. Then there is also this typical scene of the main character being exposed naked and shredded infront of the lead female character which i have grown really tired of seeing. The exposition of Amanet's story is also a bad choice because it kills all the mystery. What i did like was this introduction to an organization that finds and contains such metaphysical threats. There is also this overarching theme of evil being a literal disease, which is rediculous because if evil is a virus, then who the fuck gave Amanet her power in the first place? I could go on and on but i will drop it here.

  • Predatoreus Films
    Predatoreus Films 11 months ago

    I thought it was a good movie

  • HITMAN ◢◤ ΛVICII
    HITMAN ◢◤ ΛVICII 11 months ago

    It is amazing movie because it feels like Mission: Impossible 😀 :D

  • SRINIVAS RAO
    SRINIVAS RAO 11 months ago

    Deserves a D

  • QueenOfFabulous
    QueenOfFabulous Year ago

    I couldn't buy into Tom Cruises performance he was supposed to be this dick but was also funny and likeable but for me it just didn't work and he and the female lead just had zero chemistry

  • Neil M
    Neil M Year ago

    Even the basic setup fails. They buried a queen trying to hide her forever. So they have ropes attached to her that raise here when broken?! Even thought ropes will just naturally snap over time regardless. And Tom for no reason just decides to break the rope to get the story moving?

  • Zachary Deleon
    Zachary Deleon Year ago

    Spoiler Alert
    I thought his homie who was cursed to be a shadow was just an illusion by the Mummy up until he became useful to help him

  • Dottie Ndots
    Dottie Ndots Year ago

    i liked the brendan fraser movies

  • Kirk wahmmet
    Kirk wahmmet Year ago

    No you fucking piece of shit you mean to tell me you rate this higher then transformers five are you high this movies fucking terrible it’s worse then transformers 4 are you fucking joking

  • Tim Z
    Tim Z Year ago

    the way you make russell crowes character so mysterious and it was a pleasant surprise it can only mean he is playing an older version of rick

  • MasterofPlay7
    MasterofPlay7 Year ago

    well i liked it

  • Michael Simmons
    Michael Simmons Year ago

    Tom Cruise sucks as an actor no sense of humor no real acting skills, his only good movies were cocktail and top gun...with this aid he has not learned to do other types of movies and should be removed from the Hollywood arena until he learns to act better. he always plays all his roles way too serious and isn't very good at many movies. Brendan Fraser is a way better actor with lots of versatility and i believe he will always be better for movies like this over Tom Cruise. Some people may be high in the director's eyes but should not be chosen for that reason but on their ability to play the part.

  • Rocco Siffredi
    Rocco Siffredi Year ago

    Chris when you step into a dog shit you have just have to accept how bad it stinks

  • Jashan Wariach
    Jashan Wariach Year ago +1

    It's fine .it 's fine ?! That was horrible !!!!

    • The FirstBourne
      The FirstBourne 7 months ago

      +Jashan Wariach It's a more infuriating "fine", but I have to be honest, he is kinda right when he says the movie is only fine. While Transformers had cooler robot characters with awful human characters, this one had not so well-written human characters, but actors who at times can make those characters maybe a little bit more bareable just because they're those actors. I have no interest in defending this movie, but I'm also trying to avoid blind hate. Every time someone asks me, I'm just going to say this movie is not good, because it still has good stuff in it.

  • Jeffrey314159
    Jeffrey314159 Year ago

    Tom Cruise has made some very good movies over the years, Oblivion was the last great one he made. But in this film he is miscast!
    Having said that, this film is still very entertaining with some great action scenes & spfx(if you saw this movie in a theater or on a widescreen).
    This film has been misjudged by the critical intelligentsia, but it is still not a great film, for it could have been better.
    In the end, I was sympathizing for antagonist Princess Ahmanet, and no one else.
    Tom should never have been cast here because in this film he's just Tom Cruise. He sucks the oxygen out of the room, not because of his talent but because of his star power and ego! The film became a Cruise vehicle - - get it ;-)
    If they make a sequel, which is less than likely, they have to get rid of Tom, and bring back Sofia Boutella at all costs!

  • mr mystic
    mr mystic Year ago

    Lets make a film about a mysterious, creepy, esothericly mystified mummy. Yeah, cool.
    The Hollywood result: "OH MY GOOOD I`M ALMOST FALLING OUT FROM A FUCKING PLAAAAIN!!! OHH, THE VERY SPECIAL EFFECTS AND ALL THE REALLY NECCESSARY EXPLOTIONS!!!" And lets add a lot of cheap jumpscares!! Yees......(!)
    Jeezus stepdancing christ.....I give up.

  • iNNeRKaoS
    iNNeRKaoS Year ago

    7, 9, 7, 8 on your keypad = THEY'RE WATCHING US!

  • Legoon
    Legoon Year ago

    Russel Crow played the bride of Frankenstein. Spoilers

  • Kris Roberts
    Kris Roberts Year ago

    She's a professor where as he is a mercenary, the narrative to the roles fits perfectly even though it doesn't with your whimsical leftist claptrap, you manchild!

  • MattWagnerMovies
    MattWagnerMovies Year ago +1

    I really liked it It was lots of fun Don’t see the big deal

  • FoxyWhite
    FoxyWhite Year ago

    Tom Cruise was soooo badly miscast. They should have absolutely found someone else, because not once could I take him seriously. And the ending! God, that ending was stupid. I'm even more unconvinced of an all powerful Tom Cruise with Set inside of him. Honestly, the movie would have been so, so much more interesting if Jenny had been the one to free Ahmanet and become setepa'i.

  • Honey Glazed
    Honey Glazed Year ago

    Congratulations I see a wedding band🎊🎊🎊

  • Mary Zheng
    Mary Zheng Year ago

    Chris Stuckmann, I have that exact same hoodie.

  • Nathan Robert Harkins

    I don't always fall asleep in cinemas.... But when I do, it's when I'm watching watching The Mummy.

  • Diversion Frolic
    Diversion Frolic Year ago

    uncharted the mummy ends

  • humanafterall
    humanafterall Year ago

    Sofia Boutella as the Mummy was fantastic. Hopefully she'll return for the role in future movies

  • Mr.ScaryPasta
    Mr.ScaryPasta Year ago

    While I agree The Mummy 3 TODE wasn’t that good. It really wasn’t that bad either. It was nice to have a new mummy villain and it created sort of an EU for that movievers like more mummies could be out there. More curses etcetera. The characters were awesome and the action scenes were a guilty pleasure.

  • Zain Hartono
    Zain Hartono Year ago

    As soon as I finished watching the movie I just needed to rewatch the 1999 film and The Mummy Returns. Why couldn't they just build off on those films? Building a Dark Universe? Just why? Especially in the same way as Marvel is a big mistake. It isn't impossible, but it shouldn't have been so in your face as it was.

  • Don Bond
    Don Bond Year ago +20

    Tom Cruise is 'Captain America' of the 'Dark Universe' Avengers

    • Zachary Collins
      Zachary Collins 5 months ago +1

      Unfortunately, there isn't a Dark Universe anymore.

    • Hatesh Warkio
      Hatesh Warkio 9 months ago

      I like Tom Cruise's Nick more than Chris Evans' Captain America because that character pisses me off and especially in later movies which I watch only because there are other Avengers and it builds up that universe.

    • FoxyWhite
      FoxyWhite Year ago +9

      Except Chris Evans as Steve Rogers is engaging and Tom Cruise as Nick is bland, unlikable, and unconvincing

  • Phillip E. Moody
    Phillip E. Moody Year ago

    Annabelle Wallis' character is actually essential to the film and Nick's redemption; his ability to fight the other personality that resides within him. She is the equivalent to Frank (Helen's love interest in the 1932 version). Without her, he would give in and Set and Ahmanet would rule the world.

  • Lore Theorist
    Lore Theorist Year ago

    it wasnt great but was it bad HELL NO this wasnt bad it was like how i like peas do i love them no but do i hate them no since they arent as bad as turnips

  • THE16THPHANTOM
    THE16THPHANTOM Year ago

    thanks for pointing out the sex of the mummy... i mean i wasn't thinking about that. its the mummy supposed to be male? i mean now all i'm thinking is that the film was tainted by the same people that made, female ghost busters. overall the "female" mummy was more impressive to me. god so many thoughts running in my head now just from that one comment he made.

  • Dave Gl
    Dave Gl Year ago

    this movie wasn't fine. it was garbage

  • PunkJabi
    PunkJabi Year ago

    Don't agree with the whole female characters shouldn't be saved. There is a place for everything and some girls/guys are wonder woman or Superman and some are regular people who need to be saved. It depends on the story.

  • Tim Treakle
    Tim Treakle Year ago

    I really enjoyed this film. I gave it a 8.5 out of 10.

  • T. Baugh
    T. Baugh Year ago

    I would like to see this guy make a movie. Since he's obviously qualified to give this movie a C. Just imagine how all his productions would be A+

  • Dinosaur Spy
    Dinosaur Spy Year ago

    Now that this movie has been out awhile, could you do an analysis? You say the movie is "um... fine" that is the best I've heard.

  • fetB
    fetB Year ago

    I loved the sidekick. He had like 4-5 scenes and they were pretty short. Exactly what the comic relief is supposed to do

  • Pretty Pesos
    Pretty Pesos Year ago

    I just watched the movie (late I know) and I agree it was all over the place with the "story line". Didn't know six people were apart of it 🤔 it all makes sense now 😂 I literally was watching it like "Where the hell did Dr. Jekyll come from and why is he a part of a Mummy movie lmaooo" So many things were confusing about this movie 😂

  • Bazly Rahman
    Bazly Rahman Year ago

    I wanna see more. But I want it to be better. I just hope they can redeem themselves.

  • Ikraz Slav
    Ikraz Slav Year ago

    What the fuck? C? Way to generous

  • Hobo Joe
    Hobo Joe Year ago

    So Dracula untold was scrapped from the dark universe because it didn't do well, but when they tried to reboot it again, the mummy does worse? Hmm

  • James Hawkins
    James Hawkins Year ago

    I started watching your reviews becomes of the similarities with the way we judge each film, but I have to say that I believe your review of this film is way off. I don't think your wrong, because I think you believed it to be a movie it wasn't like most people. I Frank, was close but not quite. Dracula Untold was great, and this Mummy was fantastic. Think of the potential of this Dark Universe based on the Munsters. I like the marvel and DC universe movies although I think they are a formula now, but this dark universe is different and unique. I thought the acting was just as good as Marv and DC movies and the action shots were as good if not better with limited cgi and when there was cgi it was smooth. I also believe The Mummy played really good off of classic movie themes. Good vs Evil. To beat a monster you have to become one. And when you do become a monster you have to constantly fight with that battle within yourself.

  • Owl the Commentator

    The Mummy: Fuck you