Suburbicon - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 820

  • Caleb Mbuvi
    Caleb Mbuvi Month ago

    "Drank all the milk and ate the sandwich." 😂😂😂 Gotta make that a new idiom

  • Caleb Mbuvi
    Caleb Mbuvi Month ago

    Although it was a little underwhelming, it wasn't as bad as Jeremy made it seem. The social element was interesting to me. They needed to execute the narrative better. But I'd say it's a solid watch if you have the time.

  • RomOakhill
    RomOakhill Month ago

    The movie was not fun 2 watch.
    Weird.

  • Quille The BabyFace
    Quille The BabyFace 2 months ago

    I just finished it and it was a surprise. The black family was a bait to make you think something would happen but nope. The movie just shocked me so I like it, it could of been done better but it's alright

  • Jax griffiths
    Jax griffiths 2 months ago

    What was the point of the black family subplot? Why were they so nice? Why not a dindo family that terrorizes the community and causes white flight. They could then end up with a mini Chicago.

  • TheEquilibrum007
    TheEquilibrum007 2 months ago

    i don't get why the review is so low its not a bad movie. The movie is not what you see in the trailer which i think is smart.

  • John Ravasio
    John Ravasio 2 months ago

    I completely agree with your review! This movie was a complete dud. Boring. A terrific concept, but just didn't tie together in the movie at all. No Great Character arcs to follow. And we didn't really care about the main plot. It was all just too obvious, even without any explanation.

  • Iroquois Plissken
    Iroquois Plissken 2 months ago

    Blatant social commentary does well with critics not audiences

  • aokpalad
    aokpalad 2 months ago

    This guy knows nothing about movie. Have u heard satire films?

  • mihappy
    mihappy 2 months ago

    It was just plain shitty, that's all. star power, yes. entertaining, no.

  • Wardakka
    Wardakka 2 months ago

    I never understood why they had the black (African American) family in the movie? it made no sense to the plot other than....nope! got nothing .. the main plot was the kid finding out that his dad lied to him! The damn movie could've been made with an all black cast for crying out loud and I still would of still come to the same conclusion of the movie.

  • MONSTER JUICED GANGSTER

    This is not a comedy at all. Very serious very dark

  • Mottahead
    Mottahead 2 months ago

    I wasn't expecting much when I watched this movie and it actually surprised me for not being that bad.

  • Anonymous User
    Anonymous User 2 months ago

    fuck your ads and thanks for the review, a cuck reviewing other cucks ...

  • gwenstacy 22
    gwenstacy 22 2 months ago

    Yooo this movie was horrible!!

  • Marc Radermacher
    Marc Radermacher 3 months ago

    This movie fucking sucked

  • Jane Smitherson
    Jane Smitherson 3 months ago

    I'm at 52 mins. and damn this movie drags. It's nothing like the trailer.

  • ini the man
    ini the man 3 months ago

    Gee, I didn't feel as though it was boring. It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the first viewing. It was great the second time, too! I didn't really see it as a dark comedy, though. I am actually quite surprised that so many people dislike it.

  • BurnedSpace
    BurnedSpace 3 months ago

    this movie was anything but boring. almost nonstop drama/action. that’s how i know that this review is shit

  • Stranger Jones
    Stranger Jones 4 months ago

    I was so excited for this. I can't believe how bad this was.

  • Savannah Mayor
    Savannah Mayor 4 months ago

    fucking sucks. clooney is over and damon on the way out...

  • President John Henry Eden

    I liked it and I thoight the blacl neiboorhs wherw eccential because it provided a reason no one saw or moticed what was going on

  • ChocoKaylaRobin
    ChocoKaylaRobin 5 months ago

    I honestly thought he was gonna kill people in the suburb but hey it's not the worst movie. Atleast it's easier to follow than Mother. Mother was garbage.

  • RandomNumber
    RandomNumber 5 months ago

    Totally agree -- the whole "racism" thing could have been left out and it wouldn't have changed the movie ONE BIT (except to make it shorter). It was completely inane to the actual plot, which then caused it to come off as randomly preachy and accusatory. This movie, in a nutshell, was 2 hours of my life that I'd like to get back.

  • Joel D
    Joel D 5 months ago

    Most disappointing damn movie I've seen in, idk, a decade....

  • Yao Hsiang
    Yao Hsiang 5 months ago

    you never stop talking like your voice keeps building up and up and up and up and all i get from your voice is just "i am a marvel and dc fan boy that only likes movies that are laid out exactly as every other fucking movie.

  • Akosa117
    Akosa117 5 months ago

    What is everyone talking about? This movie was great

  • dave ventura
    dave ventura 6 months ago

    Wow jahns. I like your reviews but this movie really was over your head. The racial plot wasn't just a miniscule side plot. It literally was meant to show you how this country is, then and now. How ppl make a huge deal about a black family in town, when in actuality, it's the higher class white family next door the ones that are sick. It's acually quite telling. U just missed it.

  • Bäng Gäng Wien
    Bäng Gäng Wien 6 months ago

    What he said!

  • You Already Know
    You Already Know 6 months ago

    Damn, am I the only one who really enjoyed the movie?

  • Bronwyn Thompson
    Bronwyn Thompson 6 months ago

    oh god how I hated this movie.

  • kay you
    kay you 6 months ago

    Bro u talk to much about nothing u do terrible reviews get to the point was it good or nal

  • Seb B
    Seb B 7 months ago

    One of the rare movies I actually watched pausing three times. I watch movies on my pc mostly bit by bit. I pause and resume a lot and it takes me a week to actually finish a movie. I do other things on the pc such as programming and gaming. This movie was actually good enough that I watched it within 3 hours pausing the movie only three times. I think it was pretty darn good and deserves a higher scrore than its 5.5/10 on imdb. I'd give it a 7.5/10. Felt sorry for the little boy all the way through. I'd recommend the movie.

  • Yedidiya K
    Yedidiya K 7 months ago

    I disagree, I think this movie was great. The movie wasn't about different parts trying to be their own. It was a perfect juxtaposition between the lives of the two kids and how even though their lives are horrible, they have baseball they can share. It starkly contrasts the evil and absurdity of life, them playing baseball at the end was a way for the movie, or Coen brothers to says that laughing at absurdity is the only cure.

  • Snoopy Da Dawg
    Snoopy Da Dawg 7 months ago

    I didn't get the ending

  • Vinícius Henrique
    Vinícius Henrique 7 months ago

    I thought it was cool. Not awesome, but definitely not boring.

  • Colby Kozier
    Colby Kozier 7 months ago +1

    I think this movie was just trying to get a meaning across. While everyone was focused on dealing with a simple problem with black people in the neighbourhood, a much bigger problem was going on. It's trying to address our life today, how we get so focused on something so small that something big somewhere else happens causing more problems.

  • Nathan Glass
    Nathan Glass 7 months ago

    This movie was so good and entertaining u guys are such mainstream drones

  • Nathan Glass
    Nathan Glass 7 months ago

    If u think blade runner 2049 was the greatest movie and don't like this movie I feel sorry for you your life must be miserable since your have unimaginable high standards

  • Hate Monger
    Hate Monger 7 months ago

    Your hair probably smells like a coked out strippers farts.. 🙍🏻💨

  • lonely astronaut
    lonely astronaut 7 months ago

    The trailer sold something completely different. The movie utterly undercuts the real life story it's part based upon and tries really hard to interweave two separate stories that don't blend well, if at all. Great review Mr Jahns, keep up the good work please.

  • Scream Bloody Murder
    Scream Bloody Murder 7 months ago

    Ah shit, I am not alone.

  • Nathan Schell
    Nathan Schell 7 months ago

    I actually REALLY loved this movie. The comedy, the acting, and especially the ending were all Coen perfection!

  • Amber Edwards
    Amber Edwards 7 months ago

    The movie was meant to be a modern day spin on racial inequities. The neighborhood is so concerned about this black family moving into this neighborhood but in actuality one neighbor has just killed his wife in a plot to collect insurance money. It was very disappointing though, given the amount of talent from this veteran cast👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽

  • Virgilia Wheeler
    Virgilia Wheeler 7 months ago

    I went in never seeing a trailer or hearing anything about it. I quite enjoyed it. The trailer makes it seem like something it's not. So I think it threw people off who saw the trailer first.

  • Iwillone
    Iwillone 7 months ago

    Thought this was a full-on comedy by watching the trailer but it was with surprising twist of tone that I found interesting so I liked it.

  • Antwain Williams
    Antwain Williams 7 months ago

    white people still don't want to know the truth

  • Antwain Williams
    Antwain Williams 7 months ago

    this movie tells nothing but the truth PLEASE GO AND WATCH THIS MOVIE

  • 7grims
    7grims 7 months ago

    i loved this movie. dont get were u got the laughter and comedy bits...

  • Finnmega26
    Finnmega26 7 months ago

    I honestly thought that this would be a 1950’s Jason Bourne movie with some elements of dark comedy, but alas it was a “liability”

  • ray alves
    ray alves 7 months ago

    Movie lame

  • illa_boy
    illa_boy 7 months ago

    Sorry.... But this was a very good movie....

  • Alexander Teplitzky
    Alexander Teplitzky 8 months ago

    After watching for 22 minutes and 30 seconds i actually stopped (because it was a torture) and checked this review, and... thank you, for me avoiding this!

  • tamsinthai
    tamsinthai 8 months ago

    I'd resisted downloading this film because of the rating, but hey, not all ratings reflect quality right? I hadn't even bothered to see it was Coen bros but if I'd bothered to see C-Looney had had his precocious tender little (zzzzzz) hand in it I wouldn't have wasted the miniscule bandwidth I already had. Arrogance on a fucking stick. Coen bros going to have to redeem themselves mightily from this pile of shit and Clooney? Go fuck your egotistic self. Oh, and my commiserations to those who actually paid for it. Bwaaaaahahahaaaa.

  • IYONA14 GranTurismo GT6,GT SPORT Legendary Racers

    It was his mother in law who died....not wife..

  • Jax
    Jax 8 months ago

    This movie pulled me in then completely confused me then put me to sleep. I was so ready for it to end. Horrible movie! Don't waste your time!

  • Marat Akpassov
    Marat Akpassov 9 months ago

    Totally agree, this movie is a trash

  • Rien
    Rien 9 months ago

    You didn’t speak about the violence of the movie

  • david moore
    david moore 9 months ago

    I really enjoyed it i dont see what hes talking about at all

  • Gentleman Gingerdew
    Gentleman Gingerdew 9 months ago

    But....But.... I wanted to go watch this :(

  • Catharsis Studios
    Catharsis Studios 9 months ago

    Oh yeah and it has a moment in the beginning with a white guy trashing up a Muslim womans grocery stall... Just as a "btw you're all racist, look at this poor muslim woman" ... For absolutely no reason. Fuck this movie, it's so disingenuous.

  • Catharsis Studios
    Catharsis Studios 9 months ago

    This movie was ladened with anti-white hate. It literally made every character in the movie out to be crazy and dangerous and only the non-white people acted normally.... I noticed many subtle digs towards Trump and it is absolutely no surprise it was directed by George Clooney... Essentially in the first 10 minutes one of the only good guys in the film that is white shit talked a whole religious subgroup of Christianitu (Ironically the one that Trump apparently follows).. I'm not stupid. I see what you tried to do there Cooney and I have as a result lost a shed load of respect for Matt Damon too.... Literally everyone including the main character are evil and twisted.. It's borked.

    • Above Beyond
      Above Beyond Month ago

      Catharsis Studios calm down, lol. Sheesh.. you’re so fixated on world views, and Trump hate; was the movie good though?

  • genocide amerika
    genocide amerika 9 months ago

    Lol just watched it ( screener )
    I immediately deleted it afterwards

  • bmcg8888
    bmcg8888 9 months ago +1

    Entertaining movie what more can ya say

  • K Bowler
    K Bowler 9 months ago

    I found it reasonably entertaining. I found it hard to follow the plot, but I found the suspense worked in somee places, but I agree that it's 3 movies in one. The black family were completely irrelevant to the main plot apart from expanding in the expectations of the neighborhood.

  • Morning Dew
    Morning Dew 9 months ago

    I ate the sandwich and had some milk, you were right...

  • Harry McDonough
    Harry McDonough 10 months ago +2

    It's still worth a watch, and I thought the inclusion of the black family opens up a range of interpretations which would otherwise leave the film completely one note and boring. They were one of my favourite inclusions if I'm honest.

  • Larry Singleton
    Larry Singleton 10 months ago

    While I love watching movie reviews. Never depend on the critics. At least if you're like me. I leave my brain at the door when I watch movies. I don't try and pick it apart. I just sit there and go "duh" for an hour and a half or so.
    However there are movies that aren't worth watching. And that seems to be the majority of them made today. But I guess I'm bias. I grew up watching the spectaculars of the 50's and 60's and I love the movies from the 30's and 40's.
    Add to that I'm hard of hearing and the movies made today are just shit. It seems like whatever they make, a documentary or a movie they've got to smother it with "dramatic" "music" from beginning to frigging end. Add to THAT the actors today sound like they're talking with a mouth full of marbles or whispering. Question: Why is it that I can understand every word of dialogue in a movie made in the 30's, 40's and 50's but when the 70's and 80's hit it just all started going to crap? Maybe it had something to do with actors back then being "theater" trained or something, I don't know. I just know the actors today don't speak clearly and most of the time I need subtitles to watch the frigging things.
    Oh yeah; If you want to plug a recent Western, go head on. The few made today that I've tried to watch absolutely stunk. Except for Tombstone and a couple of others of course.

  • The year 2017
    The year 2017 10 months ago

    This movie was great, you're a fucking idiot.

  • Psyclapse
    Psyclapse 10 months ago

    The way I see it, Cloony is in a position that he can do what he wants and not have to bother about critical reception. It doesn't look like my sort of film anyway so I'll not be watching it, but it must be nice to just do something and know it's only for creative fun and if it tanks then there will still be food on the table the next day. His celebrity probably got him to that position in the first place, but the flipside is that it's always going to be under the microscope.

  • Mandy Olsen
    Mandy Olsen 10 months ago +1

    Very deep and good movie. Not like the trailers but still full of plot twists and a good amount of action. Very Hitchcock and Kubrick. Unique films like this are rare and I give this film a 90/100

    • Furiousleo
      Furiousleo 9 months ago +1

      Claire Standish completely agree

  • MarkFilipAnthony
    MarkFilipAnthony 10 months ago +7

    Suburbicon: A movie about how a 50s white family can get away with crime, and be respected, while a black family can be blamed for everything by doing nothing.
    Two storylines seemingly unrelated through narrative, but thematically confronts each other about race and crime, and overall questions what society sees as idyllic and the norm

    • Elena Savva
      Elena Savva 13 days ago

      I thought the same. I guess this is why i go and see reviews everytime i finish a movie. I love seeing other people's perspective. And i guess most movies are about that. Some critics are on point, and some are not. You always see the movie you just watched from different dimensions tho.

    • Quick Gaming
      Quick Gaming 7 months ago +1

      Yes, This Comment Right Here is why I like this movie

  • Trilby Dude
    Trilby Dude 10 months ago

    What I find in multiple other reviews say that it was based off an old script made by the Coen brothers, but I have not looked in far enough to actually know

  • Mike Messier
    Mike Messier 10 months ago

    yeah, movie was not great. I agree: tvclip.biz/video/B1c9dVqOI7I/video.html

  • Slothbeach
    Slothbeach 10 months ago

    I actually liked this one a lot.

  • decayed knight:
    decayed knight: 10 months ago +6

    I actually enjoyed this movie. I actually went on my first date taking a girl out to go watch subericon. The first half hour was slow, but the characters were very well portrayed and the movie was funny when the movie called for it. Me and my date enjoyed the movie very much, and even if i don't remember the plot 20 years from now i"ll always remember the movie because it had special sentimental value to me.

  • Zyra L. F.
    Zyra L. F. 10 months ago

    No, not more tan, more melanin. Yes, Clooney failed yet again but I won't give any money or views to anything with sexual predator enabler piece of shit matt damon.

  • Jiz anthipus
    Jiz anthipus 10 months ago

    Half an hour into the movie, I thought "I could have jerked off and saved $11." By the end of it, I was thinking "I could have jerked off and saved an hour and 58 minutes"

  • Jaclyn Janae
    Jaclyn Janae 10 months ago

    What I got out of the film was that white males can get away with murder and no one will care because they are too busy attacking non-whites who aren’t doing anything wrong.

  • Daniel Jones
    Daniel Jones 10 months ago

    Don’t waste your time or money. Your description of crushing three movies into one is spot on.

  • Defiant One
    Defiant One 10 months ago

    It's so ridiculously cliched, even the KKK would laugh their ass off watching it.

  • Fien Vermeulen
    Fien Vermeulen 10 months ago

    ban genius agency excellent residence cash refer policy pitch auto.

  • October Jack101
    October Jack101 10 months ago

    I think it’s good😁

  • Jerek Bilbar
    Jerek Bilbar 10 months ago

    Yo I saw five seconds of the review and just kinda thought "I'll find out for myself, how bad can it be?" Turns out the answer is very. Like holy shit. Don't watch this movie unless you're allergic to plot or consistency.

  • Bharat Penumutchu
    Bharat Penumutchu 10 months ago

    Piece of Shit ....I asked the movie theatre for refund seriously. .what were they trying to achieve. ..a moral lesson saying scumbags are scumbags regardless of race ?...If the trailers had it like a serious tone that tackles social stereotypes. . ..I would have been content. ..there was no comedy there just an eerie feeling.. I was expecting another Burn After Reading....rather it was a huge Burn After Watching a huge f×÷%you to the audience.PLEASE DO NOT GO...I LIKE MATT DAMON JULIAN MOORE..PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM IT..

  • Jesus Penaloza
    Jesus Penaloza 10 months ago

    The point of having the racial tension in the movie with the black family moving in was that even though so many things happening in Matt Damon’s house hat no one noticed because they were so focused on the black family. It was talking about how that’s the way it is in society that people are focusing on something that doesn’t really matter when a lot worse things are happening right under their noses.

  • Lyndsey Murray
    Lyndsey Murray 10 months ago

    I liked it! I thought it was weird, but interesting!

  • CeciVizz
    CeciVizz 10 months ago

    It was okay. Something to play in the background. Matt did a good job and all i got from it was white people are crazy lol

  • trang vu
    trang vu 10 months ago

    Watched it n it's good .just scary

  • Jon Black
    Jon Black 10 months ago

    This is guy gives shit reviews..

  • Toasty
    Toasty 10 months ago

    100% agree! Spot on review! When top 3 favorite parts of the movie include Matt Damon riding a bike, you didn't hit the mark.
    Subscribed!!

  • Jason ODonnell
    Jason ODonnell 10 months ago

    Fucking spot on brah!

  • Eric Turpel
    Eric Turpel 10 months ago

    Just saw it today...I was sad.

  • Vincent Glory
    Vincent Glory 10 months ago +7

    I was told that the black family was a reprensentation of racism, the other families are literally murdering each other,committing fraud, crashing cars. Yet literally all the other folks are worried about is the one black family. This is highlighted when Spoiler warning: Gardner kills a man and right down the street people don't even turn around. He even pauses for a second like really no one saw that? And then drags the corpse back. Even towards the very end Gardner says "Stay away from that colored boy" keep in mind he has killed 2 people at this point yet despite all of his concerns insists that his son avoid the other folks as if they're dangerous. Blind to the insane irony or at least that's how I see it

    • Quick Gaming
      Quick Gaming 7 months ago +3

      That's what I took from it, and a big reason why I liked it. I just liked that it was different really

  • tyrone shoelaces
    tyrone shoelaces 10 months ago +1

    Bombs away. Up yours, George.

  • Akihito007
    Akihito007 10 months ago

    Great another leftist Hollywood movie bashing those "flyover states" and middle America. No thanks.

  • Andrei Dumineca
    Andrei Dumineca 10 months ago

    I want my money back!

  • Andrei Dumineca
    Andrei Dumineca 10 months ago

    One of the worst movies that I see in my life!

  • Katya Horigene
    Katya Horigene 10 months ago

    This is a truly great movie! Some may not appreciate it and that’s understandable.
    I’m sure the ones who wrote it could explain it and still, some wouldn’t like it. And I understand why... that’s because for once, instead of making a movie about how the caucasians suppressed and enslaved the Africans, someone decides rather to show the challenges of a successful African family who just wants to better themselves and in doing so, just want to be somewhere nicer than where they were before; but somehow, the caucasians thought it was bad to have them in their neighborhood. And the worst part is, the whites would be ok with having a black maid around, so they could pick at, but not a strong, successful, black person who could stand up to them like that family did.
    Or maybe most people are scared of the reality behind the facts that while these Africans just wanted better in a nicer place, the real monsters were next door.
    I’d strongly advise to watch it again: especially the Africans who think that movie was a fail!
    I personally have no idea what 12 years a slave is about, I could careless about “Detroit”... they are there so some Africans get angrier and not focus on the dream MLK, Mandela fought for... they don’t realize that those before us fought for equality already, now we have to work for it...
    [...]
    I’d give it a 10 ⭐️ if I could.

  • Lyon Richardson
    Lyon Richardson 10 months ago

    SOOOOO DISAPPOINTED IN THIS FILM....Spot on Review