Ralph Breaks The Internet - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 20, 2018
  • Wreck It Ralph was amazing....so here's hoping the sequel can live up to the legacy. Here's my review for RALPH BREAKS THE INTERNET!
    #RalphBreaksTheInternet
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 538

  • Hassat Hunter
    Hassat Hunter 16 hours ago

    They really should have gone with MMOs or online games. Instead: The Emoji movie route. Basing most of it around making meme-videos for youtube. Wooooow, no.
    While Vanellope turns Turbo, but suddenly she can do it while that's a big no in the first one.
    All around terrible movie. It and Incredibles 2 were such disappointments.

  • Spider Boy
    Spider Boy 23 days ago

    I was slightly disappointed

  • Alvin Del Rey
    Alvin Del Rey Month ago +1

    I didn’t like the ending 😰

  • Night Raven
    Night Raven 3 months ago

    this just seemed worse than the original

  • Theunis Jansen van Rensburg

    Finally watched this movie and had to come back and check I wasn't crazy in loving it.

  • HEROSAM12
    HEROSAM12 3 months ago +2

    “I’m gonna call it Wreck-It Ralph 2 throughout this review”
    *Not even 2 seconds later*
    “So Ralph Breaks the Internet...”

  • The Butter Stick
    The Butter Stick 4 months ago +1

    What!? I thought this movie was terrible! Huh? That’s weird

  • ricky roach
    ricky roach 4 months ago

    This movie is so good for all ages!

  • Kemal Beyaztas
    Kemal Beyaztas 4 months ago +2

    Came after watching it on Netflix 😂

  • OOPS
    OOPS 4 months ago +1

    ehhhhhh IDK man I don't think it's Awesometacular at all. Honestly I was disappointed! While the references were entertaining most of them didn't really mean anything like Ready Player One for example. The story was good but I think it dragged on and being a Disney movie it was very predictable. I also think the virus sequence lasted too long and honestly I almost fell asleep towards the end of it. I'm not saying the movie is bad, I just didn't find it particularly funny! That's not me being a grumpy asshole I suppose my sense of humour doesn't match the jokes told in this movie.

  • A E S T H E T I C T R A S H B A G

    It is cool and funny, but it just isn’t wreck it Ralph.

  • Adam Johnson
    Adam Johnson 4 months ago

    I was soooo bored during this movie

  • Caleb
    Caleb 4 months ago

    Loved this movie

  • Krystophur Senemar
    Krystophur Senemar 5 months ago +1

    I was disappointed, more of the garbage movement to show empowerment and making Ralph a clingy, insecure, beta. He was a good friend, then he becomes he a jerk, then apologizes and moves on.

  • Hellstone
    Hellstone 5 months ago +2

    Honestly, I didn't like the ending. Don't get me wrong, it's sad but it felt kind of out of place. So what about Venellope's game? Aren't the players gonna wonder where Venellope is? Sugar Rush wouldn't be the same without the character that's on the side of the console and what makes the game. I also didn't like how they changed Ralph's character. He went from being serious and emotional into a funny, silly and irresponsible character. The movie was ok. I give it a C+. I love the crossovers with the Disney characters, but everything else was meh.

  • Martian Buddy
    Martian Buddy 5 months ago +4

    its was a bit underwhelming

  • SurviveOnPizzaRolls
    SurviveOnPizzaRolls 5 months ago +1

    The whole review, I was saying "Please say sike".

    I hated this movie.

  • R. T.
    R. T. 5 months ago

    It’s my favorite movie from Pixar hands down

    • HEROSAM12
      HEROSAM12 3 months ago

      You’re triggering my ADHD. And I hate you for it...

  • sudha bhatt
    sudha bhatt 5 months ago

    IDGAF what anyone says. I love this movie!!!!

  • Taufiq Othman
    Taufiq Othman 5 months ago +1

    Kinda weird seeing that Ralph looks so unconcerned when he broke Vanellope's game. Like seriously? He learned nothing about the horror of getting plugged out from the first movie? Then, he broke another game because he doesn't like her hanging out with other character. He is getting dumber after 6 years time gap.

  • Gabe PL
    Gabe PL 5 months ago

    Maybe modern movies like the old times when movies were digitized to perfect HD qualities

  • Gabe PL
    Gabe PL 5 months ago

    I don't care if vannelope lives in the grand theft auto looking game but I don't enjoy the Internet looking like the emoji movie and being less main villain like

  • Gabe PL
    Gabe PL 5 months ago

    I think Disney feature films canons are better off without sequels unless they air on DVD and Blu ray

  • Gabe PL
    Gabe PL 5 months ago

    I don't think modern Disney are the same anymore for this Era, besides sequels air on TV and vhs or DVD

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 6 months ago +2

    It didn't have the magic of the original still a good time no alcohol required

  • Nishiki Pasta
    Nishiki Pasta 6 months ago

    Is it only me? Ralph and Penelope(idk her name) relationship showed all the major pedophile relationship signs??

  • Sean Rhead
    Sean Rhead 6 months ago

    I actually really didn’t like this movie. I thought they did a total disservice to Ralph’s character and were very hypocritical about the universe they created. The first one makes such a big deal about how bad it is to leave your own game. This one shrugs it off like it’s totally okay if it’s what the character really wants. Also, I refuse to believe that Ralph would stoop so low as to sabotage what made Vanellope happy. It was just so out of character for him.

  • Tianna Carlson
    Tianna Carlson 6 months ago +2

    Yay! My favourite movie actually has a positive review!!! :)

  • jose gonzalez
    jose gonzalez 6 months ago

    V for vendetta quote, awesome

  • Robb Anderson
    Robb Anderson 7 months ago

    First time we disagree.

  • Alex M
    Alex M 7 months ago

    you know a movie is good when you try not to cry at the end

  • Work Fit
    Work Fit 7 months ago

    I......... was disappointed in this one. Not sure exactly why. I guess it didn’t seem as lively to me as the first and the “antagonist”/problem at the end was much like the first too.

  • angelasings24
    angelasings24 7 months ago +1

    i didn't like this movie that much tbh! i felt like they could've done a great subplot with felix but that aspect was completely left behind. and then there were parts that were political and that's not what i think anyone is looking for with disney movies. some jokes were good but overall for me, disappointed :(

  • SquidParty
    SquidParty 7 months ago +3

    I had a problem with the character development. Only Ralph develops to be a better friend and not s clingy and controlling one. Venellope however didn’t seem to develop. Yes she wanted something new and different however her intentions never change. She wants to abandon her game and enter an entire new world and live there. Idk. The resolution felt dissatisfying to me. It felt like somethings was missing.

  • Carter Hughes
    Carter Hughes 7 months ago

    Better than the 1st

  • Stuff TR
    Stuff TR 7 months ago

    Amazing sequel

  • Stuff TR
    Stuff TR 7 months ago

    يوه الفيلم اسطوري تقريبا كل الفيلم كنت مبتسم خصوصا البدايه المهم ان الفيلم يجنن اعجبتني اميرات ديزني لما دخلو ديزني اشتغلت ليت ات جو يوه الفيلم فيله روح بس مو مره روح الصداقه هههههه عجبني لما شالو الصوت لما فيلكس كان يقول سر الابوه ههههههههه اميره Brave كانت تتكلم لغه ثانيه وش كانت تقول ياخي نص الاميرات م عرفتهم اعرف بس سيندرلا و مولان مونا و حقت تانقليد نسيت اسمها و حقت برايف و الاميره البيضا الي م قد شفت فلمها الفيلم مره مره يضحك ههههههه رالف يذكرني ب اخوي محمد و النهايه ماهي سعيده مره يعني م يشفون بعض كثير قالت استنى مكالمتك الاسبوع الجاي و حتى قالت اشوفك بعد شهرين هو صح رالف تقبل ذا الشي بس اكيد يشتاق لها و فليكس احبه ي ليت جابوه اكثر ليت ات جو لما دخلو ديزني اشتغلت حلوه انشالله يسون جز ثالث بسرعه هذا قعد 6 سنين []ثوم[]
    25 مارس 2019

  • fenrirdarkfangs
    fenrirdarkfangs 8 months ago

    Sucked BIG time. Perfect example when an agenda is being spread and not a story is been told.

    • sudha bhatt
      sudha bhatt 5 months ago

      Not exactly imo. Gr8 sequel imo.

  • Randall Williams
    Randall Williams 8 months ago

    I really liked it I was very happy with how it turned out I thought it was cool how it worked in with the internet stuff and how it worked in with the story with Ralph and vanellope

  • Angus Han
    Angus Han 8 months ago +1

    You know when a Disney movie tried to tell kids a moral story but the moral is so morally wrong, it just pissed me off.

    Let’s get started. The whole story focuses on blaming Ralph because he want his friend Vanellope with him all the time...and apparently according to the movie, this is why their friendship was broken, and it is all Ralph’s fault!
    Seriously?!

    Now let’s rewind to the beginning of the movie….Vanellope was very sad after losing the steering wheel, she really really want it back, after that her best friend Ralph did everything he could to get her back the steering wheel, including bidding the auction, doing the cringy memes, not because he likes doing it, but because he wants Vanellope game fixed and up running, because this is what Vanellope wants in the first place, and Ralph just wants her to feel happy, that’s all.

    While they are exploring the internet, Vanellope was fascinated by a new racing game, and that immediately becomes her new dream, she wanted to stay and keep playing. Being convinced by Shank, she still decided NOT to tell his best friend who was striving for everything he could (doing more cringy memes) to fix her beloved old game, and just leave him out!
    After Ralph knew that she was in the game, he wanted her back, of course, all that effort he puts in, what he has gone through (e.g. Doing all the work and reading the mean comments) had consumed him, however he just have a simple request, getting his best friend back to the original game. So he sent a virus that he thought to be harmless in order to get her out, because Vanellope muted his phone call therefore he had no way to contact her, making this the only way Ralph can get her out of the game.

    At this point, let me clarify, I am not saying that Ralph is perfect, he sure has a problem with his own "friendship idea" of staying together (which is caused by his personality) , but the blame shouldn’t be on Ralph.

    Vanellope should’ve at least talk to Ralph about her new goal, and that she doesn’t want the steering wheel anymore. Also, it would be nice if she go back with Ralph to her old game for a while, settling down with the new steering wheel, and then come back to the new game. (as Shank said it is ok for her to come back anytime)

    The thing is, friendship is about keeping promise, being honest. When somebody help you all along and pay lots of effort to help you get what you want, you cannot just let everything go and be like "screw it, i don’t want this actually, I have my own secret new dream, you can go home on your own, I don’t need your help anymore, bye" that is just disappointing and disgusting.

    Back to the story, Ralph saved Vanellope from the virus, yes Ralph is the one who sent the virus, but there was no intention that Ralph wanted to harm his best friend in any way. Ralph just believe that the game is dangerous for both him and her, and that the old racing game is more suitable for her.

    Then there goes the conflict once Vanellope was saved from the disaster. Vanellope go all rage at Ralph and Ralph just keeps apologizing. The movie interpret that Ralph was the one that break their friendship, and should took all the blame because he sent a virus, that he thought to be harmless to his friend. (By the way when Ralph knows he is wrong, he risked his life and went into a collapsing building to save Vanellope. )

    So now the kids will think like this, if I got a new dream, I must go for it, leaving my old goal behind, even if my friends or family provided me with everything to let my old dream succeeded I still have to leave it behind immediately, even without talking about it, because my parents or friends wouldn’t like the idea I changed my dream. And mainly because I don’t like my old goal now, I feel boring with the old lifestyle, old goal. But it is alright, because if anyone is stopping me, it is their fault, I can do whatever I want, whatever I find interesting, fascinating, I can just leave everything behind without even talking to the ones who care most about me.

    Seriously Directors? Seriously Disney? This is just disgusting.

    And what Vanellope said just pissed me off after Ralph rescued her. "Oh u did this to me, because u don’t allow me to chase my dream"........c’mon Vanellope, u cannot just completely ignored and betrayed your best friend when he was doing everything to save your old beloved game... and he just risked his life saving you from a collapsing building.. and u are still angry right now? Shouldn’t Ralph be more angry than you, and can you please remind yourself that Ralph was the one who was working his ass off just to get what you want in the first place, your very expensive steering wheel!
    Whoever wrote this story just make Vanellope talks like a bitch, and Ralph a consistently suffering dumb guy. (Try watch the movie again, and put yourself in Ralph shoes, you will know what I mean.)
    Ralph should have scolded at her, making an argument, tell her how he was feeling (angry, betrayed) not just saying sorry. In fact, Ralph shouldn’t be saying sorry first, since Vanellope apparently forgot what she had done (ignoring Ralph completely while chasing her new secret goal), is utterly unacceptable.

    Now let’s move on to Ralph. I certainly agree that Ralph does have his flaws which is caused by his personality, however it is a minor one considering its contribution to their broken friendship. Ralph and Vanellope have been staying together for 6 years, and they are both used to a very consistent routine. Vanellope didn’t enjoy the routine as much as Ralh did. It would take a longer time for Ralph to adapt a new lifestyle. When Vanellope, his only friend took up a huge part of his life, it is not easy to take it away from him, he was very used to staying with Vanellope, she leaving him will certainly make him feel insecure and unhappy. It is a normal human trait! Moreover, when one of his best friend leave him all of a sudden without telling him, he would feel betrayed. But after all that, he still thought Vanellope was his best friend and would like to take every action he can to get her back, in a way that he believes is harmless. That I think is acceptable (assuming that Ralph does not know that virus is actually destructive). Ralph’s only flaw is that he is so used to a routine, and he cannot accept any sudden change. It is just his nature!
    How to make the movie right then? I mean morally. Simple actually.
    When Ralph and Vanellope came to the conflict right after Ralph rescued her, make Ralph argument legit instead of Ralph saying sorry while Vanellope continuously being angry and scolding Ralph.
    Make Ralph say how much he did for her to get the steering wheel in order to fix her game. Make Vanellope admit her faults, how she hurt Ralph’s feelings.

    Cut away lines that Ralph said “nonono, I can explain this…I’m sorry” Ralph shouldn’t feel sorry at this stage, after going through all that, he should be feeling betrayed, angry, disappointed and upset.

    Make Ralph and Vanellope both angry, make the confrontation a real conflict. Don’t just make Ralph feeling sad, and Vanellope feeling angry while thinking that herself has done nothing wrong.
    Then, let the story developes until both Ralph and Vanellope are glitching and malfunctioning, not just Ralph, but both.
    Both feeling shameful of themselves subconsciously, while both resist to admit that it is their fault.

    After a while, there goes Ralph and Vanellope and their giant virus counterparts (made up of those smaller sized Ralph and Vanellope) fighting each other destroying the buildings (which indicates websites, applications and stuff) and then the fight between the giants are getting more intense, other characters like Shank and Internet police force all failed to stop the giants. It is an unstoppable force that causes mass destruction of the Internet. (Also aesthetically, it can be an awesome fight scene)
    At the final stage, Ralph and Vanellope got caught by the giants, (Ralph got caught by giant Vanellope and vice versa)
    After they were caught, they finally consciously understood they have their faults and flaws of their own , and both admitting what they had done wrong.
    However the focus should be Vanellope, she is the one who should be feeling most guilt, she should apologize that she had left everything behind after finding her passion in the new racing game, and admits that it is her responsibility to inform Ralph who was working hard for the steering wheel. It would be nice too if she can thank him for all the efforts he made to get the new steering wheel for her.

    My point is, Ralph shouldn’t take all the blame in the conflict (especially after Vanellope being rescued), but Vanellope, the fact that she intentionally hide her “new dream” from her best friend is the reason that ultimately destroyed their friendship.

    To be honest, the whole story is kind of worthless, if Vanellope goal is to explore new interesting racing games in the internet, please do not make Ralph desperately trying to get her the steering wheel in the first place ffs.

    For me, watching this movie just makes me feel sad and disgusted.
    Thanks for reading if you make it through.
    And sorry for my terrible English. I would also like to know what you guys think!

  • SamauraiRippeR
    SamauraiRippeR 8 months ago +1

    I loved it but thought there was a huge missed opportunity. I get that it's a family film and its gotta stay focused and shortish to keep the kids attention, but there was a whole B plot here that was sidelined into an admittedly funny joke. *SPOILERS*
    I thought the whole plot of the married Felix and Calhoun adopting 15 kids at once would have been a goldmine of plot and humour, but it was literally just bookends and I would have liked to see some middle stages, even only a few scenes. I mean, aside from those moments, the bigger side characters from the first movie have literally nothing to do.
    *SPOILERS END*
    But lacking that didn't take away from the film, and I get that it could have caused problems. I still loved it.

  • Hector Arredondo
    Hector Arredondo 8 months ago +1

    The internet was way better here than in the emoji movie the emoji movie made obvious jokes about the internet (trolls spam youtube the dark net etc) but this was very creative and I love the Disney Easter eggs

  • Seina Kimura
    Seina Kimura 8 months ago

    Vanellope basically went Turbo, but when Ralph does it everybody freaks out... whatever Disney...

  • Jon Bond
    Jon Bond 8 months ago +1

    I loved this movie too! Women are great! Men are bad! That was the point right.

  • 00rphb
    00rphb 8 months ago +1

    This movie is terrible, not "emoji movie terrible" but "Matrix Reloaded / Revolution" level terrible. Its is the kind of film that we want to pretend don't exist, because it more or less destroys all of the lessons we learned from the first film

  • JayRacks
    JayRacks 8 months ago +1

    This movie was a mess, and took a shit on the character development in the first one.

  • Jose Gomez
    Jose Gomez 8 months ago +1

    This movie was pretty meh...

  • GoddessOfWhim2003
    GoddessOfWhim2003 8 months ago

    the ending pissed me off, i'm still pissed four months later.

  • Osman Matthew
    Osman Matthew 8 months ago

    Did anyone cry when Ralph and Vanellope hugged I did

  • wolverineiscool
    wolverineiscool 8 months ago +2

    am i the only one who hated it, the credits scene was much better than the entire movie

  • antman DJ
    antman DJ 8 months ago

    I enjoyed the movie it put a smile on my face. 😆✌

  • Donovan Taylor
    Donovan Taylor 8 months ago

    Your my favorite reviewer man! Great review 100% agree

  • just jacob11
    just jacob11 8 months ago

    I just finished watching this movie, and came straight to this review. Couldn't agree more with everything you said

  • John lineker
    John lineker 8 months ago

    I am seeing him for the first time and he is weird..

  • F. K.
    F. K. 8 months ago

    Great Film. Way better than the first one, imho.

  • HiroClaw
    HiroClaw 8 months ago +1

    I didn't even recognize the fact that Ralph's a big man and veneloppe's a little girl. I really focused on their relationship, and I saw it as two best friends. Because I already get the idea of friends having to change, the moral lesson wasn't that much of a revelation. But I was invested into their bonds and just like the characters, I felt bittersweet about having to let go which really got to me

  • Emmanuel Dugenia
    Emmanuel Dugenia 9 months ago +1

    I just saw this recently and I have to say, while it was entertaining, it was way inferior to the original. My problem with this sequel is how it kind of contradicts the original's premise where "you have to stick to the program". I mean Vanellope can leave her game but Ralph can't? I understand that it's central theme is growth and letting go, but the writers I'm sure could've found a way to address that without junking their mythology.

  • Kingstad
    Kingstad 9 months ago

    personally I found the message or moral of the movie 10 times as profound as your typical animation movie without a typical happy ending, and that gives it a ton of points in my book

  • Brian Burke
    Brian Burke 9 months ago

    The mid credit scene with kid talking about part of the trailer not being in the movie...then they played that part of the trailer everyone was talking about that wasn't in the movie....had me rolling and thinking they had plans to set that up the whole time hahaha

  • hootbutler
    hootbutler 9 months ago

    1:40 Chappell’s show did it too