Fenix E30R Flashlight - Rechargeable - EDC - Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jul 12, 2019
  • This channel is Agenda Free and is fully supported by the viewers.
    Support TOGR with Patreon : www.patreon.com/TOGR
    Instagram : theoutdoorgearreview
    This is the Fenix E30R Flashlight;
    Small form factor
    1600 max lumens
    Rechargeable
    What's not to like?
    I'll answer that question in this review.

    Link : www.fenix-store.com/fenix-e30r-rechargeable-edc-flashlight/
    Price : $80
    Weight : 3.7oz with battery, lanyard and pocket clip
    Battery : 18650
    Max Power : 1600 Lumens Fenix ARB-L18-3500 included (two CR123A Lithium batteries can be used in emergency)
    Form Factor : EDC
    Measurements : 3.9 inches in length and 0.85 inches in diameter body. 1” diam. Head.
    Charger Type : Magnetic
    Max Run Time : 70.5 hrs on eco mode which is 30 lumens
    Light Type : Cool White; I don’t believe there is a neutral version available, if there is I haven’t see it.
    ……
    Specifications
    Utilizes Luminus SST40 LED with a lifespan of 50,000 hours
    5 Output Modes Plus Strobe (runtimes based on using a 18650 3500mAh rechargeable Li-ion battery)
    Turbo: 1600 Lumens - 1 hr. 27 min.
    High: 800 Lumens - 1 hr. 55 min.
    Mid: 350 Lumens - 5 hr. 28 min.
    Low: 150 Lumens - 17 hrs. 32 min.
    Eco: 30 Lumens - 70 hrs. 30 min.
    Strobe: 1600 Lumens
    4-level Battery indicator
    Soft and Balanced Beam
    Extreme Output: 1600 Lumens with visibility distance of 666 ft.
    Magnetic suction charging port in the neck
    Ultra-thin Optical lens
    Tailored magnetic charging cable also available in portable Micro USB devices
    Lock-out function avoids accidental operation (Double Click within 0.5 seconds)
    One switch for fast, convenient operation
    Intelligent over-heat protection to avoid high temperature of the surface
    Low-voltage warning reminds when battery replacement is needed
    Reverse polarity protection, to protect from improper battery installation
    Digitally-regulated output maintains constant brightness - will downshift after roughly 1 minute 30 seconds from turbo to 900 lumens
    Heat protection : The light will accumulate a lot of heat when used on Turbo or High output level for extended periods. When the light reaches a temperature of 65℃ or above, the light will automatically step down by 5% every 10 seconds to reduce the temperature, and until to 350 lumens.
    When the temperature is reduced below 65℃, Turbo mode can be reselected; or only 900 lumens can be reached.
    …..
    Pros :
    Easy to use and understand battery indictor
    Green constant on: saturated (100% - 86%)
    Green flashes: sufficient (85% - 51%)
    Red constant on: poor (50% - 26%)
    Red flashes: critical (25% - 1%)
    I love the magnetic charging port; usb sockets with rubber cover is old tech and I’m not personally interested in any flashlight which uses it. With that being said, it would be nice if flashlight and headlight companies could come together and select a unified magnetic port so there was one to charge all. But because that is unlikely to happen, it would be great if Fenix would make it so that the magnetic end was usb so individuals like myself don’t have to carry a bunch of cables. Some will dislike that it is a property charging port.
    Excellent quality - no issues in the last couple of months of use.
    Excellent stepping between modes
    Easy to use lock out mode.
    Great beam balance; flood and throw
    Super small flashlight; perfect for EDC use
    Quick charging speed - 3 hours to fully charge
    There is no memory settings with this light so every time that you turn it on, it goes back to low. That maybe a con to some but for myself, it’s a pro as I can use it when I need to in the dark without completely destroying my natural night vision
    Cons :
    On/off switch can be hard to locate in the dark; I rotate the pocket clip over the charging port which means that the on/off switch is on the opposite side which makes it easy to locate.
    Can get extremely hot and will do so very quickly. That is to be expected with so much power though.
    There is no true low mode as the lowest setting is 30 lumens. For some people this is huge, for myself, I don’t mind it at all.
    Summary :
    For the money, this is in my opinion an excellent edc flashlight. The performance is good, it doesn’t have any annoying characteristics for myself. Everyone is different when it comes to flashlights and may want different features such as a memory mode; lower lumen count and so on.
    For myself, the only issue to mention is the recessed on/off switch which can hard to locate and use with gloves.
    I like the power and I like the size immensely.
    ..
    Check out our web site for more information concerning everything seen on our Channel including reviews, insight into what is coming up and a chance to vote and influence our upcoming overnight adventures.
    www.theoutdoorgearreview.com/
    ...
    Come Join Us on Facebook and Twitter:
    Facebook: pages/The-Outdoor-Gear-Review/281509538652229
    Twitter: OutdoorGearRev
    .....
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 126

  • TheOutdoorGearReview
    TheOutdoorGearReview  2 months ago +11

    One Flashlight to Rule Them All?
    What would it be?

    Have a great weekend everyone!
    - Luke

    • Felix Smith
      Felix Smith 18 hours ago

      TheOutdoorGearReview olight m2r warrior

    • 1911 reloader
      1911 reloader 2 months ago

      Olight seeker2

    • BOOSTEDLASER
      BOOSTEDLASER 2 months ago

      Loving my new Vanquest Mobius 2.0 tvclip.biz/video/d4uc-Ecmafw/video.html

    • Derek Todd
      Derek Todd 2 months ago +1

      Olight M2R copper

    • Boa Boy
      Boa Boy 2 months ago

      Cheers ✌️🖖

  • Burkinater 48
    Burkinater 48 28 days ago

    It's between this and the olight s2r baton ll, I think the olight comes out on top by a hair imo

  • Jeremy C
    Jeremy C Month ago +1

    I just wish they would make a flashlight with 2 modes. Eco for lighting the tent and such all night, and high for more light. I rarely find the need for a medium setting and nobody needs a strobe.

  • Steve Hogue
    Steve Hogue Month ago

    I bought a police flashlight( I know...many brands) and the non-memory light modes are High, Low and Strobe. HIGH for initial vehicle approach. LOW for interaction with the subject. STROBE for escalated interaction. Damn, I should write a manual. EDIT: Or should I say MEMORY since it cycles back to HIGH? 00110111011001010101101110101011010110111111011011111. ......EDIT....................TO INFINITY AND BEYOND!

  • 185Lancer
    185Lancer Month ago

    LED.. battrery will wear out before the bulb.

  • Judd Videos
    Judd Videos Month ago

    Thank you sir🤘

  • David LaBedz
    David LaBedz Month ago +1

    The E30R appears to be a very good light! Great review!

  • Garmashua
    Garmashua Month ago

    What a fucking poor review!!! you did not show turbo mode properly.

  • goodbi99
    goodbi99 Month ago

    Excellent

  • ucity metalhead
    ucity metalhead Month ago

    Os the battery a proprietary design with the non standard contacts?

  • Robatman
    Robatman Month ago

    Loving the charger cable as opposed to a usb micro socket with a not so clever rubber cover ! Great review.

  • James Kirk
    James Kirk 2 months ago

    Too expensive compare to other brands.

  • DARIN COX
    DARIN COX 2 months ago

    as much as I use a flashlight I could buy a Ozark trail flashlight and run it straight for 1 yr for the price that piece of shit lol

    • DARIN COX
      DARIN COX 2 months ago

      hey you could use it as a heat source in yourn tent

  • WarGrrl3
    WarGrrl3 2 months ago

    Really like the simple UI. I don't need all that sos/beacon crap. I would buy it for sure but it's a bit pricey. Thanks for the heads up on a great flashlight. I truly enjoy and learn a lot from your vids. I love your gear type choices for review. Thanks for remaining agenda free. Blessings in all good things.

  • John McNeill
    John McNeill 2 months ago

    Fenix lights are garbage I had one it did not last one week

  • R B
    R B 2 months ago

    Just ordered it Luke

  • Dale Hok
    Dale Hok 2 months ago

    being a pensioner, would like to find gear a retired couple could afford.

  • Noah Riemenschneider
    Noah Riemenschneider 2 months ago +3

    I have been carrying my gen 1 pd35 for years and it has even survived wash and dryer a couple times...oops! Still going strong though.

  • SWAMPHUNTER644
    SWAMPHUNTER644 2 months ago

    You can buy 1 Fenix or12 EBay flashlghts . Put your money into good batteries such as HIXON, PANASONIC, or SANYO. The battery you choose is as important to performance in an LED as the flashlight itself. Not all 14500 and 18650 batteries are created equal. EBay flashlights may not have all the bells and whistles of a Fenix or other elite light, but their light itself is just as good. For small size and light weight, choose a14500 LED. For long runtime choose a compact 18650 LED light.

    • ayem172003
      ayem172003 3 days ago

      18650 batteries are only 5/8" longer than a 14500 and they designed this flashlight to fix around an 18650 battery like a condom. it's slightly thicker but as small as most 14500 flashlights. 3 7/8" long and 1" thick not counting the pocket clip

  • Jeff Holthus
    Jeff Holthus 2 months ago

    30 lumen lowest? Please.

  • Lord Dalron
    Lord Dalron 2 months ago +1

    Looks like they ripped olight off

  • Billy Blaze
    Billy Blaze 2 months ago

    personally I would rather have a 500 lumen flashlight with a much longer run time and adjustable throw. I never have a need for more than 500 lumens, and just so happens you can get a great one at Harbor Freight for $10.00 :-) at that price if something happens to it just ditch it and go get another one, however the ones I have are still going strong.

  • Robert Joiner
    Robert Joiner 2 months ago

    Going to be a smart ass now. OMG its a light, 18650 .. no way! Instructions, strobe, high low, rechargable... Now Way! Amazing. Omg if i hear another guy talk about a light and read the package to me i am going to do a candle review.

  • Ovi Van
    Ovi Van 2 months ago

    Hey Luke. Great review. While I like the Magnetic Port on this model, I didn’t want to yet bring another cable to load electronics. Just got myself the Fenix UC35 - 1000 Lumens, Micro Usb Port (behind old tech rubber cover, which works) and a 800h moonlight setting which is great for reading etc. The button is also only the settings button so it does allow memory of the last setting. The main power button is at the tail end. I like this model. Check it out.

  • D.A. Risse
    D.A. Risse 2 months ago

    Did you ever get to a use review of the Snugpak Stratosphere bivy ?

  • alec barrows
    alec barrows 2 months ago

    Driving through Marion today and thought I saw you in the new truck. Turns out there's a twin in your neck of the woods.

  • Jason Pettit
    Jason Pettit 2 months ago

    The botton don't bother me as much as the charger,your right,it's the charger

  • ivanhamlyn
    ivanhamlyn 2 months ago

    Hey how about doin a review on some military rain gear?

  • Matthew O'Herlihy
    Matthew O'Herlihy 2 months ago

    Great review Luke.
    Was wondering when you'll do a proper review on the Eureka ICS 2000?

  • Dewi .Griffiths
    Dewi .Griffiths 2 months ago

    it would be good for me wen i go to green man festival in august 12th

  • Γιώργος Χρας
    Γιώργος Χρας 2 months ago +1

    I will sell it and I will go to s2r 2 baton...

  • Newj4ck Tactical
    Newj4ck Tactical 2 months ago

    Great review, Touches on all the little indiocincrcies that you might look for in an EDC light.

  • reteeks
    reteeks 2 months ago

    I really like the idea of a rechargeable battery flashlight. Would be nice though to have an extra rechargeable battery to use as a backup if needed. Great review.

  • Eye of the Tiger
    Eye of the Tiger 2 months ago

    G'day from "down under" Luke, really dig your integrity and the panoramas you often show, nice part of the world.
    As far as this light; not bad quality from Fenix, but too many negatives for me;
    proprietary charge cable, heat and step down, no moonlight mode, no tail switch, price.
    Re: Charge port may be mistaken for switch; I do a similar thing with the pocket clips on my Thrunites though the clip invariably moves and you are more disoriented than when you started.
    Keep up the great work,
    Duke.
    P.S. I hope they fixed that cheap tent, what a shocker.

  • Marks Alot
    Marks Alot 2 months ago

    Too expensive. $80
    Proprietary charging cable
    🤔😳

  • Shane Coffey Outdoors
    Shane Coffey Outdoors 2 months ago

    Nice!

  • Klepto Naisa
    Klepto Naisa 2 months ago

    Unfortunately Fenix won't be doing usb-c type cables since well, you lose their cable you gotta buy another one from them = more money they make off ya lol. Proprietary cables/charging mechanisms = max profit.

  • Mikee
    Mikee 2 months ago

    How does it fit in a pocket? Compared to the PD 35?

  • Steve Hogue
    Steve Hogue 2 months ago

    (The following was said through clenched teeth during an intense therapy session under heavy medication. Please, show compassion and understanding)......." I DO NOT NEED ANOTHER FLASHLIGHT! I ALREADY HAVE DOZENS AND DOZENS! WHY? WHY? Why do I need ANOTHER? WHY? I try to be good. I try to do right. WHY DO I NEED ANOTHER FLASHLIGHT? " DISCLAIMER: The subject just quoted eventually was cured of his/her obsession and is now happily herding feral cats in an abandoned neighborhood in Detroit.

  • Swami Vivekananda
    Swami Vivekananda 2 months ago

    Fenix just released the pd36r which runs twice as long as this one check it out

    • ayem172003
      ayem172003 3 days ago

      i've got both this flashlight and the pd36r, both amazing flashlights, the pd36r is a tiny bit thicker but not really noticable unless you hold them up to eachother, it is a couple inches longer and a bit heavier. so depending on what kindof pants you're wearing and how sensitive to a heavier flashlight in your pocket you are this smaller one might be more appealing even though the 21700 battery the pd36r uses has a much higher capacity. the pd does have mode memory and a separate button on the tail to turn it on though which is nice

  • kyle glasco
    kyle glasco 2 months ago

    Didn't chigg just review this?

  • Darrell F
    Darrell F 2 months ago

    I'll just pretend I can go and buy an $80 EDC flashlight.
    I've been dreaming about a Kelty late start 1 for 3 months working extra hours still Out Of Reach.
    I'm not trying to ask for this flashlight because (I wouldn't accept it for free no way)!
    I just love the reviews because I wish I could do this stuff.
    Parallel universes one is real and one isn't

  • Omniversal Void
    Omniversal Void 2 months ago

    I'd really like some reviews on the military-ish triple aught design. Currently considering the stealth hoodie and the fast pack edc so those are a good place to start.

  • JK 241
    JK 241 2 months ago

    i like the rechargable feature.

  • Richard_N
    Richard_N 2 months ago

    Are there red or blue lenses available? I love to use a red lens sometimes to preserve night vision.

  • Drifus
    Drifus 2 months ago +1

    With the side chargring, I would have thought the main button would be on the bottom. None the less looks good. Thanks Luke.

  • Ib Erik Söderblom
    Ib Erik Söderblom 2 months ago

    Its very close to what I'm looking for.
    But..., a bit expensive...
    What if its placed in the netting in the tent while the light is on ?
    Will it burn a hole in the tent?
    Starting on Eco mode is perfect for me, but its difficult to use with gloves is not great.

  • Ben Dover
    Ben Dover 2 months ago

    I'd love that flashlight. Really awesome, especially since I have night blindness.
    Cool video as always. ~Eddie

  • Ginger Bowman
    Ginger Bowman 2 months ago

    This light seems to be getting good reviews

  • torchesarecool uk
    torchesarecool uk 2 months ago

    30 lumens to dark adapted eyes is too bright. 1 Lumen or less is a basic necessity which really should have been included.
    Although I'm impressed they set the temperature limit so high at 65 celcius, making the most out of the lights abilities without risking it too much. Nice to see they're not being soft.
    This looks like a nice quality light but the UI is too lacking in features and at the price there's not really an excuse for that.
    Case and point - check out the Emisar lights running either narsil or anduril firmware. Packed with features, top notch build quality, half the price, many custom spec options at purchase

  • Grim Adventures of Bushcraft and Hiking

    Dang the battery life of that is awesome. Agreed would like everything to run on one cord I've got three cords so far for what I bring out with me. Oh I like that it drops down to keep it cool.

  • American Axe & Tool Co
    American Axe & Tool Co 2 months ago

    Guys Gals my name is Luke and I will be reviewing my 1000th flashlight! Lol

  • Nick Tombs
    Nick Tombs 2 months ago

    Maybe it's just me or maybe it's darker over there where you are but I can't see the benefit of having a light that can shine brighter than the sun for a few seconds

  • MrPuffyb
    MrPuffyb 2 months ago

    But does it get hot?

    • torchesarecool uk
      torchesarecool uk 2 months ago

      If the thermal management is set to kick in at 65 celcius then yes. It is beginning to get uncomfortable to hold a light at that temperature

  • Steve Cuth
    Steve Cuth 2 months ago

    GREAT review as always 👍👍 should do your greatest picks for the overall BEST gear for backpacking or BIGGIN out.

  • Echo Nomadic
    Echo Nomadic 2 months ago

    My m4 tac light MSRP at 170 bucks. Tac and everyday carry torches. Are not the same as your REI flash light guys. 1600 lumin strob. Love it.

  • Mike Jones
    Mike Jones 2 months ago

    Dude, get a new shirt!!! Lol. Good review!!

  • duane bushcrafting
    duane bushcrafting 2 months ago

    149 Deg. thats not hot, hot is when you get into your car after its been baking in the Arizona sun all day. Thats hot.

  • Brad Michaud
    Brad Michaud 2 months ago

    This is a rip off from the olight batons lol. Luke review a budget 18650. Check out the ThorFire VG15S edc light

  • Islander Malamute
    Islander Malamute 2 months ago +1

    Thank you , this is what I'm looking for .
    I always want a flashlight with long runtimes in 30-40lm for candle mode and 150-200lm for normal use .