A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 16, 2019
  • Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
    Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
    There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
    Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 231

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  Month ago +308

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

    • midnightwolf
      midnightwolf 12 days ago

      Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

    • alysdexia
      alysdexia 17 days ago

      @lazypizzaguy gibberish

    • pxc
      pxc 24 days ago

      @alysdexia is the pricing actually that tilted in Apple's favor?

    • lazypizzaguy
      lazypizzaguy 24 days ago

      @alysdexia learn how to not be an trump.

  • MacroWaveDude
    MacroWaveDude Day ago

    Watching on the 19in system 76 laptop XD

  • Dave Snigier
    Dave Snigier Day ago

    Great video! Love what system76 is doing

  • Michael Cloutier

    Where the hell have you been for the last 20 years. There have been Linux Vendors making prebuild and installed desktop and laptop Linux systems for a long time, and including support contracts for those systems. What are you on about? I have purchased Linux systems for some of my customers as fare 18 years ago.

  • blizzardjesus
    blizzardjesus Day ago

    I love that case... if i could hackintosh it, it would be the ultimate computer.

    • JackRedstonia
      JackRedstonia Day ago

      Well, okay, though I'd prefer just keeping Pop!_OS on the machine since it's a superior choice compared to Windows and MacOS

    • blizzardjesus
      blizzardjesus Day ago

      because i hate windows and linux...

    • JackRedstonia
      JackRedstonia Day ago

      Why would you use something as locked down as MacOS?

  • Anonymous Linux Nerd

    Didn’t Linus code Linux.

  • nooboobtoob
    nooboobtoob 2 days ago

    I use PopOS as my second partition. Love it so far.

  • carringbushpet
    carringbushpet 3 days ago

    There is a lot of dislikes about the 'seizure inducing' B-Roll footage. I think the concept of it was simple and brilliant, it was aesthetically great. Probably just needed a little less strobe type footage.

  • xaGe
    xaGe 3 days ago +4

    Listening to you speak about Linux in the 1st few minutes you can definitely tell you are not familiar with anything Linux from the last 3+ years. I cringed when you start talking about having to compile kernels or finding the necessary repos.

    • Wsdag Saesrgt
      Wsdag Saesrgt 2 days ago +2

      I agree. These days Linux will install and run just as simply and reliably for most users as either Windows of MacOS. The most likely fail case would be wifi cards, arising from selecting one of those distros that requires you to add a repo for "non-free" drivers. Even a small amount of research should help you avoid this problem. Since Windows users sometimes have to spend a lot of time finding and installing drivers, it' would be disingenuous to suggest that's a "Linux problem".

  • homelessEh
    homelessEh 3 days ago

    The ultimate Hipster Compy!!!! its nostalgic looking free open source os bra and its expencive..social signal for both hey im frugal look i use a free os but paid the same or more for a shillputer.

  • homelessEh
    homelessEh 3 days ago

    pop os has me sold i refuse to Pay for winblows 10 .. once 7 becomes Deader then vista.. its pop os by then it will be super mature and fully fleshed out by then.

  • Zi&D
    Zi&D 3 days ago

    I always thought Linus was for Linux

  • Dave
    Dave 3 days ago

    Rossmann quote: Dont Delay, Buy Today

  • Sai Nai
    Sai Nai 3 days ago

    bullshit content

  • Daniel Rios
    Daniel Rios 3 days ago

    "Normals" manufacturers should use Linux in their products as well, Linux has a lot of preconception, it is much better than the normal user ever thought

  • nope
    nope 3 days ago

    {interviewing the thelio parts and quality chart} ....thats a ali express button .

  • George B
    George B 3 days ago

    Theleos is Greek for perfect

  • Littletweeter
    Littletweeter 3 days ago

    this pc company is for people that have fuck you money lmao

  • Nick Slouka
    Nick Slouka 3 days ago +1

    *LGR signal appears in the sky*

  • Christopher Council
    Christopher Council 3 days ago

    Did you guys call there support?

  • Lanngreen
    Lanngreen 3 days ago

    had to stop halfway the video because my eyes started hurting from the footage ._.

  • Mikael Kiviniemi
    Mikael Kiviniemi 3 days ago +1

    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Help me
    I deleted system32

  • skillzorz101
    skillzorz101 3 days ago

    I think you put the wrong sponsor link in the bio. I'm actually interested in those laptop bags, but Dollar Shave Club is listed.

  • Chrash
    Chrash 3 days ago +9

    A couple years ago I was at my grandma's house to use her printer and I got on her PC and it had Linux on it. I couldn't figure out how to navigate it so my grandma had to teach me how to use Linux...

  • sinni800
    sinni800 4 days ago +1

    "No motherboard upgrade", but can the BIOS be upgraded to use Ryzen 3? If yes, could probably pop a 3900X in and upgrade the perf a lot?

  • Diego Linde
    Diego Linde 5 days ago

    Sorry, System76 is too expensive.

  • Leslie Savege
    Leslie Savege 6 days ago +1

    I didn't like the website either for the same reasons Linus mentioned.

    Linus shows his ignorance of Linux, when he talks about it, like the way software is loaded, which is pretty standard now. 2:35

    It runs faster and leaner than Windoze, who likes to look over your shoulder.

  • peabody
    peabody 7 days ago

    I bought a thelio and its very stylish very powerful and DESIGNED to run Linux 0 compatibility issues. Yes i could have built my own, then you are stuck with individual parts that you need to rma if something goes wrong AND may not be compatible with Linux. You see, Ive been running Linux for 3 yrs and will NOT go back to windows........EVER! Hell, windows will not even install on this machine at all. Trust me Ive tried multiple ways and times! IMO it's money well spent!

  • Force
    Force 7 days ago +1

    I don't like that 76!

  • Vaijanath Madugolkar

    I installed POP on my dell XPS 12. Since POP OS have enforced the disc encryption most of the time when i start my computer it just sits on auth page without response.
    When i install ubuntu i have choice to not encrypt my disc.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 6 days ago +1

      @Vaijanath Madugolkar :) yeah cool, but you probably want to make yourself one anyway for security.
      sudo passwd username
      Just to be on the safe side.

    • Vaijanath Madugolkar
      Vaijanath Madugolkar 6 days ago

      gilkesisking I just tried installing solution is simply " Simply select to not set a password, and you don't have encryption"

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 6 days ago

      Disc encryption is done by default during the PopOS install. Its not "enforced", if you don't want that ( say you're a storing game files on the same disk ) then you can select the advanced install option and set it up how you want, with or without encryption.

  • Jan Enemark
    Jan Enemark 8 days ago

    Linus, you should watch destinationlinux.org, and then join the program once. These guys will make you much wiser on the posibilities using Linux OS.

  • Snypa007
    Snypa007 13 days ago

    the 80's background interference is more annoying than the review! I literally can not watch this because of it!

  • Defunct Lizard
    Defunct Lizard 16 days ago

    You don't need to compile a kernel to install linux, Not everything is gentoo. Jeez linux is super easy to install, learn, and use.

  • Clovet Music
    Clovet Music 17 days ago

    Expensive done right

  • Lindsay
    Lindsay 18 days ago

    Proprietary case with open source software thats been unpopular for decades?

  • Vinicio Coelho
    Vinicio Coelho 19 days ago

    They are awesome bit expensive.

  • Generic Eric
    Generic Eric 19 days ago

    It's imperative to mention Lutris as well as Proton.

  • Eli Santana
    Eli Santana 19 days ago

    I know System 76 has to make money but their mark-up on hardware is unacceptably high. They charge RTX 2080 price for a 2070. Come on now. Sell the cards at cost at least.

  • Kagyu Breigh
    Kagyu Breigh 20 days ago

    OMG, this song is from a game or sounds super similar to one! It's on the tip of my brain... uggghh .. I can't even hear what Linus is saying anymore. This.. is killing me

  • bean stalker
    bean stalker 20 days ago

    Let me introduce your IO to my Dremel.

  • Captain Comrade
    Captain Comrade 20 days ago

    When are you going to bring back 16:9 videos?

  • greg roberts
    greg roberts 20 days ago

    I love seeing people building a machine like this, great review linus

  • Anil Gulati
    Anil Gulati 22 days ago +1

    Better than a cheese grater

  • Mike M
    Mike M 22 days ago +4

    I'm watching this on Pop OS 19.04 on my W3690 Dell Workstation with an RX 560. And it runs fast!

    • J 984
      J 984 20 days ago

      I'm watching this on Windows xp and it runs..... NOSTALGIC!

  • MaDoTPG
    MaDoTPG 23 days ago

    linux tech tips

  • Bon Bonjovi
    Bon Bonjovi 23 days ago

    Linus is the type of guy who drinks soda out a can

  • kakaido
    kakaido 24 days ago

    Just disable telemetry and use Windows 10

  • Anton Zadorozhniy
    Anton Zadorozhniy 24 days ago

    System76 is great but you should really check out Raptor Talos systems, that’s way more OSS friendly (no hidden microcode or firmwares)

  • Gd moo5555
    Gd moo5555 24 days ago

    Who else cringed when it said counter strike go

  • Assbender666
    Assbender666 24 days ago +1

    Overboard with the effects, who thought that looked good?

  • 05Matz
    05Matz 24 days ago

    I've been using Linux Mint (Cinnamon) for years now -- I find it somewhat easier to install, maintain, and install/uninstall software on than the Windows 7 I used to use (Why, oh WHY doesn't Windows have a package manager?), and FAR less of a chore than the Windows 10 computers I'm occasionally forced to struggle with for family. My laptop is from System76, and I pretty much couldn't be happier with the product or service (it came with Ubuntu when shipped, but I installed Mint on it later) but I built my desktop myself -- and I'd do it again, since I can't justify the premium price over commodity hardware. PopOS sounds interesting, and I've been casually looking at it every now and then, but I think I'll stick with Mint for now. The 'classic' Mint-X interface style is basically the Windows 7 replacement I wanted in the beginning, and I've become very used to it by now.

  • wompshmack
    wompshmack 24 days ago

    I was a hardware nerd even as a little kid, didn't get into linux until I was a teenager. When I met linux nerds I assumed they'd know things about hardware, but that really wasn't my experience. I had to install for them, in different situations, a power supply and a CD drive. I think it's even worse now. Hardware is much easier, but there's even fewer people into it.

  • Deryk Lister
    Deryk Lister 24 days ago

    NVidia GPU is an interesting choice on a Linux machine

  • Reprisal
    Reprisal 25 days ago

    Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.

  • Holret
    Holret 25 days ago

    I would love to see more Linux systems being introduced in one complete package. I have been wanting to get into it for a while because well, Windows 10 isnt the most ideal OS I have ever used.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 24 days ago

      tvclip.biz/video/yZpmlRam6KY/video.html

  • Tom Ruff
    Tom Ruff 25 days ago

    Normies is a furry term

  • knotsandcrosses1
    knotsandcrosses1 25 days ago

    I don't use Pop!_OS with any System76 computer, rather an old laptop I have. It manages to shave most of the rough edges off of Ubuntu (and after Canonical's 32-bit library fail, they'll keep making sure Steam works). Pretty decent OS.

  • Techboy235 FK8
    Techboy235 FK8 25 days ago +1

    Chill music 0:00

  • Andrea Mitchell
    Andrea Mitchell 25 days ago +1

    10:52
    >selling shaving products to neckbeards

  • Waylen
    Waylen 26 days ago

    Matching hardware specs to a comparable Imac, System76 is priced about the same on hardware.

  • Jozef Plata
    Jozef Plata 26 days ago +1

    I switched from windows to Pop!_OS few months back... And I just love it. I dont think I will ever go back to windows

  • Wild Tangent
    Wild Tangent 26 days ago

    I used to be a diehard Linux tinkerer. I didn't mind spending hours or days or weeks, however long it took, getting everything about every new computer I had perfect and just the way I wanted it. That was a long time ago though, nowadays I want a system that does enough of the important things well enough without my intervention that I don't feel a need to really mess with it too much right away.

    So I've been a Mac user for the last 5 years or so, after *HATING* them for so long. I just happened to come into a deal too good to pass up for an '11 MBP 13-in and didn't have any other working computer at the time so I started using it out of necessity and lack of anything else to use and now I'm on my third one (they all work still). Not the outcome I would have expected way back then.

    Now there are a lot more choices in distros and window managers, and everything from the pros only, everything is a config file to extremely newbie-friendly ones that are just as drama-free as Windows or MacOS. I don't think the 'Linux on the desktop' revolution everyone has been hoping for for the last couple decades is ever going to happen, but for those that are inclined to Penguins, you've got more options than ever before, and a few of them can provide that easy, hand holding experience you may want if you don't have the time to tinker and just want to work.

  • David
    David 26 days ago

    Second hard drives are usually 'hidden away' in Linux. You don't access Linux drives by letter like in windows, you access them as a directory in the file tree. The rub is that your drive will be mounted somewhere like /home.

  • Ray Bitton
    Ray Bitton 26 days ago +2

    A few days ago I took my father's old laptop and installed Arch Linux on it.
    He is a Mechanical Engineer and he was in need for a SolidWorks/CAD software alternative so I did a simple search in the command line and found a very similar software - freeCAD.
    So now... My father leaves his Windows computer on the shelf and his daily driver is a Linux machine.
    He is proudly saying: "I use arch, btw".

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 26 days ago

      Here's another CAD program for Linux if you're interested www.bricsys.com/en-intl/

  • swordkorn
    swordkorn 26 days ago

    Had to stop less than 50 seconds in...
    Where do you get your Linux information from Linus? Most of us Linux users didn’t compile our own Kernel or choose our own repos...
    Most I’ve ever done is configure vanilla Arch and even THAT doesn’t go as in depth as you talk about!
    I love the channel but get your facts straight before presenting Linux to the masses.

  • Tuii
    Tuii 26 days ago

    Hold my bear

  • Bitchass McGee
    Bitchass McGee 26 days ago

    I think that this is a great idea, in theory. But honestly someone who needs those kinds of specs are probably using programs that aren't on Linux

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 26 days ago

      Well, gaming for a start, DaVinci Resolve, Light-works... coders wanting to compile, rendering... Blender, virtualisation. This is pretty under powered for Linux users, we like and need pretty beefy machines. Lots of cores. This is Windows spec to be honest, why system76 offer much more powerful options.

  • Sergio Díaz Nila
    Sergio Díaz Nila 26 days ago

    you said it right, you assumptions about the Linux community. Because the Linux community likes System76 for the simple reason they can buy a Linux machine without having to own Microsoft crap.

    • swordkorn
      swordkorn 26 days ago

      Sergio Díaz Nila doesn’t mean I’m willing to pay through the nose for hardware though... and sure as heck not the operating system... or the software provided...

  • Gesichtskrapfen
    Gesichtskrapfen 26 days ago

    Tuxedo is nice, too

  • Jaosn Fuller
    Jaosn Fuller 26 days ago

    Wrong: Using Linux