A NEW Level of Gimmick? Gigabyte Aero 15 x9 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 14, 2019
  • Check out a Joan Board and use code LINUS8 to get 8% off at bit.ly/Joan_8
    Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
    While everyone else has been making their laptops better, Gigabyte has been... adding AI?
    Buy the Gigabyte Aero 15 x9
    On Amazon: geni.us/XvxBgkK
    On Newegg: geni.us/NF6VH
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1054687-a-new-level-of-gimmick-gigabyte-aero-15-x9-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 503

  • PRIMAX XYG
    PRIMAX XYG 2 hours ago

    Love from indian bro
    I am watch video frpm when you have only 1000k subs

  • Alan Philpott
    Alan Philpott 5 hours ago +1

    Love the way you can skip 10 seconds straight past the intro reel. Perfect intro length.

  • YouTube Editor
    YouTube Editor 7 hours ago

    I always install a clean version of OS and setting battery/system to PERFORMANCE

  • Eric Lambert
    Eric Lambert 16 hours ago

    I bought the i7 version one month ago, really happy with it, it just works perfectly for everything, and of course it's a beast in gaming.

  • Alkhemist 95
    Alkhemist 95 Day ago

    Yeah. Keep reading, you dink.

  • syam babu
    syam babu Day ago +1

    make a pop up camera like in the new phones.

  • HateG Plus
    HateG Plus Day ago

    Sha-see not cha-see

  • Cam Mewton
    Cam Mewton Day ago

    you're pretty brave, turning your back on that pissed off AI

  • Franklin Castillo
    Franklin Castillo 2 days ago

    tvclip.biz/video/ZZLz7GDBcnw/video.html

  • Henry xxA
    Henry xxA 2 days ago

    Mine only hits 100 FPS csgo. Please help

  • Tolipop Jia
    Tolipop Jia 3 days ago

    Wonder if the source of the zebra crossings video could be provided?

  • Anon Commenter
    Anon Commenter 4 days ago

    But the AI is in the software...

  • Scheurer
    Scheurer 4 days ago

    i dont really get the price argument. if you already spend almost over 2500$ on a gaming laptop, what are 200$ then?

  • frederick8o8
    frederick8o8 4 days ago

    Is it me or audio is slightly off?

  • Almir Ramadanovic
    Almir Ramadanovic 4 days ago

    Hey I want to get my first gaming laptop but I’m don’t understand if it’s good or not I found it in amazon could you make a review for it or reply to me here type this in amazon search bar thx! Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP

  • Lefteyehawk
    Lefteyehawk 4 days ago

    if this is an AI, what is the MSI Afterburner, etc., you can even overclock with this tools

  • Eightsh
    Eightsh 4 days ago

    Artificial. it's in the name.
    The impression of better. Placebo effect.

  • Kurtis Depauw
    Kurtis Depauw 4 days ago

    I never have any idea what in the hell Linus is talking about, yet I'm constantly driven back to just simply listen and wish I were more intellectually inclined.

  • Chris Lighthall
    Chris Lighthall 4 days ago

    Linus when are you going to review a nose hair trimmer? jk

  • dwiddleD
    dwiddleD 4 days ago

    i literally spit out the milk in my mouth when linus said AI

  • dwiddleD
    dwiddleD 4 days ago

    i literally spit out the milk in my mouth when linus said AI

  • subash lama
    subash lama 5 days ago

    so its like the ultra instinct of laptops

  • Keefe Overby
    Keefe Overby 5 days ago

    Yeah games and stuff cool, but what about the hash rate?

  • Rex Lastname
    Rex Lastname 5 days ago

    my x8's keyboard's been broken for 4 months and i'm still looking for a goddamn keyboard replacement.

  • Matt Farel
    Matt Farel 5 days ago

    best channel ever

  • Wector Cze
    Wector Cze 5 days ago

    what is it on the left from linus were you playing kal-toh

  • HellaHellaHella HEY
    HellaHellaHella HEY 5 days ago

    Next up acer nitro 7 when it comes out.

  • Christian Troia
    Christian Troia 5 days ago

    for the price i would just put it in to a build

  • 〉〉GameHacKeR〈〈

    A Ryzen 7 1700 laptop can get better render times in blender compared to those i9's and cost WAY less than those 3 $h1tty ones.

  • Alexander Talashov
    Alexander Talashov 5 days ago

    There is an Y9 version that holds the RTX 2080, so why you didn't test that instead

  • Yearls
    Yearls 5 days ago

    Who has that sort of money to throw away on a laptop that can't outlive a phone?

  • Alex Mort
    Alex Mort 5 days ago

    Oh the ignoring of MSI...

  • Raina Lane
    Raina Lane 5 days ago

    Battery leave the chat

  • scruffy pugs
    scruffy pugs 6 days ago

    3:13 - 3:14 "for less money's"

  • NickAirsoft
    NickAirsoft 6 days ago

    “Optimizes for gaming by upping the fan and optimized for light work by enhancing acoustics” sounds like a normal fan curve to me

  • Joham Diaz
    Joham Diaz 6 days ago

    Hyundai kanabo

  • ZepG
    ZepG 6 days ago

    If I ever wanted to own a laptop this might be the one, I never use a webcam and I couldn't care less about fast typing or fan noise. I like the fact we can open the case and upgrade.

  • Dashiell
    Dashiell 6 days ago +1

    The lesbian one is back

  • JoshuaVendetta
    JoshuaVendetta 6 days ago

    Well linus where else they gonna put the webcam? how about they put it in the display, A PUNCH OUT HOLE SCREEN!!! ...that will surely piss everyone off

  • BrandonStaires
    BrandonStaires 6 days ago

    Looking forward to that Alienware m15 review!

  • Amiga Wolf
    Amiga Wolf 6 days ago

    A Max-Q graphics card/GPU is not the perfect thin gaming laptop, they are a lot slower then the normal graphics card/GPU.

  • Yu Jay
    Yu Jay 6 days ago

    Is there a reason why touch pads aren't slightly more to the right?
    My MSI Gaming Laptop has the touch pad more to the middle of the laptop, which I find really nice since I use it for both gaming and work and I tend to accidentally touch with my palm and quite often randomly pick stuff up or move code in chunks somewhere it certainly shouldn't be with other Laptop, but having it under the left palm is very common..

  • Tams80
    Tams80 6 days ago

    So, move the webcam to the top, make the battery 99Wh battery, make an AMD version, and tone down the AI drivel?

  • Cole Hintermeister
    Cole Hintermeister 6 days ago

    I love how a current i7 is essentially the power equivalent of what would be a hypothetical two generations ago i9 or even better, and yet both i7's are "more than capable to handle whatever you throw at it." It's not a knock on any one person or reviewer, I just think the culture of it all is funny

  • Daniel Dulu
    Daniel Dulu 6 days ago

    nope

  • Everyth1n9
    Everyth1n9 6 days ago

    I never knew Gigabyte had gaming laptops 😲

  • Alfonso Calderon
    Alfonso Calderon 6 days ago

    you bunch of junk. you are all just pinheads here. a Picasso knows much less than you or slower than you but he is greater than any of you. it is because of what he does. and making a movie is so easy. I like it. I dont like knowing your stuff. I just like playing games on a very good set. just one of the least things that I like.

  • die pls
    die pls 6 days ago

    OH MY GOD ARE YOU THE SUGAR GAY GUY

  • Wonk
    Wonk 6 days ago

    A true missed opportunity to call it the "AI"ro 15

  • Lowen264
    Lowen264 6 days ago

    Man a 6hr battery would be nice. My Nitro 5 dies after an hour or if I'm lucky an hour and a half.

  • Animiles
    Animiles 6 days ago

    I hardly ever use a webcam. But there are times when I just need a webcam. It doesn't matter if it sucks, but I just need something. If someone had to use a decent webcam regularly they wouldn't be satisfied with the built-in webcam anyways. Unless they spent a lot of money on the webcam, which simply isn't worth it since hardly anyone will use the webcam regularly anyways.
    Integrating some kind of webcam for as cheaply as possible is good enough for most people, while not including it would probably cut down on sales. I know I'm not going to buy it if it doesn't include a webcam (unless the thing is far better than any other competition in the same price range).

  • Incorrigible Panda
    Incorrigible Panda 6 days ago

    Blah blah blah, the damn thing still hits thermal limits. i.e. its trash.

  • Mateusz T
    Mateusz T 6 days ago

    I wonder why laptop makers are so afraid of building anything with over 16GB of RAM. No, seriously, can someone please explain it? Most still have 8, which isn't much these days. I'm genuinely curious.

  • MC5 FORLIFE
    MC5 FORLIFE 6 days ago

    When you see ur product on LTT
    GUESS ILL DIE

  • rick hunter
    rick hunter 6 days ago

    REALLY?? saving 140 bucks is budget to you?? come on

  • Maksim Barsukov
    Maksim Barsukov 6 days ago

    BMW Headlights Turn on at 3:01

  • Vladislavs Dovgalecs

    So AI detects a hotter CPU and revs up the fans. I get it. Very advanced.

  • a4tech79
    a4tech79 6 days ago

    they are so wrong about ppl spending 2-4000USD on a laptop and don't touch the fans. They are also wrong about their build and the hardware selection. a throttled 8950HK and a Max-Q basically running like a 2009 laptop. Waste of time, waste of money. GG no re ... MSI GE75 2080 lightest desktop gpu laptop FTW !

  • Martin Procházka
    Martin Procházka 6 days ago

    I wonder why they even bother with webcam and mic if the only reason someone would use them is to make fun of the poor quality and placemet. It just makes the laptop feel more bloaded than the pseudo OS it comes preinstalled with. Companies should adopt the do-it-right-or-not-at-all mindset...

  • Josh Mc
    Josh Mc 6 days ago

    i dont mind a low webcam, as i almost never use one

  • HuntaKiller
    HuntaKiller 6 days ago

    interesting is the laptop is $2199 now!!

  • mekacher anis
    mekacher anis 6 days ago

    "with GLASWIRE make access to your internet activities easier for the NSA"

  • KeithShizuo
    KeithShizuo 6 days ago

    wow, youtube is realy crushing those black levels

  • Omar Hisham
    Omar Hisham 6 days ago

    3:10 "less moneys"

  • BLUE MOXIE
    BLUE MOXIE 6 days ago

    I wanna skip to where IT Bursts into FLAMES!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • mz555
    mz555 6 days ago

    AI is just a fancy term for macros :p

  • CrimFerret
    CrimFerret 6 days ago

    At that pricepoint, I can't imagine the price difference you pointed out at the end really making that much difference.

  • KevinPaul06
    KevinPaul06 6 days ago

    Any suggestion under 1200usd?

  • Гошуу
    Гошуу 6 days ago

    put liquid metal :D and make temp test

  • Jaden Dutton
    Jaden Dutton 6 days ago

    Check out the MSI gs65 stealth

  • MiguelPpM
    MiguelPpM 6 days ago

    If you’re rich enough to buy a 2 400 $ laptop I bet another 200 $ or so won’t hurt you that much.

  • NekomimiNinja
    NekomimiNinja 6 days ago

    Auto-switching fan presets and power settings counts as AI these days, huh.

  • Axel Pryke
    Axel Pryke 6 days ago

    I see that #35 on trending nice try linus

  • Sviatoslav Ilitchev
    Sviatoslav Ilitchev 6 days ago

    Honestly Linus? Most of people who buys a laptop like that only cares about weight, dimensions, screen quality, keyboard, touch pad(if even, most of people have a wireless mouse), battery life, and performance, stop BRAGGING about the fucking WEBCAM. No one cares about it, no one uses it anymore, and even if someone would want to use it, most of the people have a 20+ dollars webcam that is going to be a whole mile better than even the BEST pre-installed laptop webcam. It is there just because it always has been there. And it's placement is there just because if you want to have these slim bezels, that are the same on all 3 sides, is a sacrifice that you have to make, if you don't want to see a notch, or a punch hole in the laptop

  • Nomad Void
    Nomad Void 6 days ago

    GlassWire: get an infinite "Connecting to Local Server." after purchasing a year of subscription. Wish Linus never advertised that shit. If you want to waste money for nothing, you now know how.

  • Legends of Mobile
    Legends of Mobile 6 days ago

    *test*

  • Legends of Mobile
    Legends of Mobile 6 days ago

    **subbed**

  • konatadesuka
    konatadesuka 7 days ago

    I can smell Clevo from way over here. Which justifies the unimpressive keyboard but great IO with BIG THICC chunky standard ports. And also lovely, standard since 20 years ago, generic barrel plug power connector.

  • Jakob
    Jakob 7 days ago

    Aint it something any fw upfate from MS could implement.. afteral it would not be that big a hurdle for an OS to sense when your doing what, browsing on known browsers, gaming , encoding etc and simply some algorithmes that sense for triggers.... or has Microsoft simply outsource that AI-feature as a cash cow.

  • Orion Humphrey
    Orion Humphrey 7 days ago

    Has linus ever given a good review of a laptop webcam? This one looked better than the rest but didn't sound great.

  • Aikona
    Aikona 7 days ago

    Reminds me of those old chinese kungfu movies.

  • Lawrence Lentini
    Lawrence Lentini 7 days ago

    AI is the dumbest technology trend I can remember. IT'S NOT REAL AI! NONE OF IT!!!

  • Marcus Bain
    Marcus Bain 7 days ago

    Rich kid laptpp i was hopeing for 300 or less price range but i saw a 4 digit price on this thing

  • Eric Cartman
    Eric Cartman 7 days ago

    #42 on trending street

  • Garry Mack
    Garry Mack 7 days ago

    Here's your gimmictvclip.biz/channel/UCl7DP01_v7VrCt3eDCzBS6A

  • SquirrelyBlake
    SquirrelyBlake 7 days ago +1

    No more Linus Tech Tip or Stephen A. Smith videos (both) on TVclip Trending. Enough! Very annoying. Stop pretending like these two are god.

  • Amol Sanghera
    Amol Sanghera 7 days ago

    If anyone wants to try it out for themselves (special price until the 2nd)
    amzn.to/2IAeyUQ

  • Chlorophant
    Chlorophant 7 days ago

    I prefer a macbook pro with shadow

  • Ryan Clarke
    Ryan Clarke 7 days ago

    whos chubby little fingers are those at 7:30 lol

  • ShiivaWilding
    ShiivaWilding 7 days ago

    For a show that deals with tech, you can't edit the audio in synch with the video?

  • Mark Okoli
    Mark Okoli 7 days ago

    They can remove the webcam or Linus can stop using it

  • 前锋Aelvaro
    前锋Aelvaro 7 days ago

    Too bad their software pretty bad lmao

  • Jack Luther
    Jack Luther 7 days ago

    I can afford these laptops...I can I promise

  • Greatest Ever
    Greatest Ever 7 days ago

    keep shooting in this aspect ratio no one else does it

  • Alanna Lopez
    Alanna Lopez 7 days ago

    laptop manufacturers will never understand that webcams there are extremely stupid, I wouldn't put a webcam in a laptop, the cameras they use are absolute garbage anyways, either put something that at least rivals a pixel 3 camera, or don't put anything at all, I'll be putting my own camera anyways

  • franco bee
    franco bee 7 days ago

    Linus is definitely a dongle embracer

  • Eduardo Gonzalez
    Eduardo Gonzalez 7 days ago

    This ai thing remember me of
    O(1) scheduler vs bfs and others .

  • Quackers
    Quackers 7 days ago

    .......
    Okay I realize he didn't want to speculate (and also probably enjoyed ragging on them a bit)
    But does he really expect us to believe it took him testing and documentation to figure out what their "A.I." does?
    I figured it out watching their CES video.
    You can literally find my comments on that video explaining EXACTLY what that Ai does and why there was no difference between two laptops on chargers, which btw is because the power performance settings usually max out if its not on battery power.
    I refuse to believe that Linus is actually dumb enough to have not figured out on his own AT THE SHOW what the Ai is supposed to do.

  • JamBooshGaming
    JamBooshGaming 7 days ago

    glasswire lowkey wireshark with less features and with a nice gui for dummies.
    oh and starting from 39$

  • kgonepostl
    kgonepostl 7 days ago

    I'm not spending 2.5 grand on a laptop. Don't support this shit. Vote with your wallets. Don't be just another "idiot gamer".