The Founder - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 455

  • don't believe the hype

    Michael Keaton although old and unattractive I'm finding myself strangely attracted to him.. is it just me? or do you find him attractive in a ugly sort of way?

  • Delray58
    Delray58 Month ago

    Great movie. Illustrates the difference between having a good idea and having a vision. The brothers had a nice idea...Ray had a vision.

  • James Barr
    James Barr Month ago

    Loved the movie and Keaton. It DID make me want to eat at McDonalds the next day, but only the original meal of a burger, fries, and a Coke.

  • Ted Burke
    Ted Burke Month ago +1

    The Founder was easily one of the best 5 movies of that year. Not a weak moment, not a weak shot, not a weak edit. This was perfect story telling of an interesting man

    • Alan G.
      Alan G. Month ago

      Ted Burke --- Well said.

  • Tom Bystander
    Tom Bystander Month ago

    Micheal keeton is such an amazing actor

  • ravioli ravioli give me the formuoli

    Honestly ray kroc was a huge sack of shit however the movie was good

  • Val Naumchuk
    Val Naumchuk Month ago

    We had to watch this movie in my senior economic class

  • Lajvard M
    Lajvard M Month ago

    Captain Holding basically the same screen time as Ray Croc's wife.... Both could've been omitted from the film maybe 🤷‍♂️

  • Manga Addict
    Manga Addict 2 months ago

    This movie was good.

  • Letty' s corner
    Letty' s corner 2 months ago

    I was shocked how good this movie was. I looked at it straight through, which is unusual for me.

  • Tyler Bergen
    Tyler Bergen 2 months ago

    I 100% agree with your review man...you were dead on with what were the high and low points. Overall it was a good movie though, I enjoyed it!

  • SomethingSomething Dark Side 94

    I don't understand why this movie didn't get the attention it deserved when released. I live in Phx aka one of the most populated cities in the US and this movie was barely released in any theater and the ones it did make it to it was there for like a couple weeks. Same thing with Inside Llewyn Davis a movie starring Oscar Issac, John Goodman and directed by the Coen Brothers

  • David Dil
    David Dil 2 months ago

    I was on ray side. He just out smarted them. It's a rat race. He took an idea and was not going to be held back.

  • Trey Warnock
    Trey Warnock 2 months ago

    You’re not supposed to “root” for anybody in this story. It’s a true story, not a Hollywood cheeseball script. Just watch the story, don’t try to “identify” with the characters.

  • camarojoe1997
    camarojoe1997 3 months ago

    This is a good movie a good watch

  • Anything Film Fan
    Anything Film Fan 4 months ago

    My mom got mad at this movie because of the scam in the film.

  • Chris Codd
    Chris Codd 4 months ago

    I love this movie but I am on ray Kroc's side make it big

  • JauchBeast Films
    JauchBeast Films 4 months ago +1

    My Great Grandpa knew Ray Kroc. He was actually one of the people Kroc approached when he was trying to build on the business. But my grandpa, knowing Ray Kroc, decided it would be safer for him to decline.

  • Nasilele Lisselo
    Nasilele Lisselo 4 months ago

    Here is an idea for a movie called Blockbuster Video: The Rise and Archeological Myth of the Times of late Rental Fees based on the meme 'Blockbuster Video' relic of a forgotten world or The ruins of an ancient civilization.

    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    Starring Michael Keaton and co-starring in the supporting cast Jonah Hill and Lakeith Stanfield get Donald Glover to write it and Jordan Peele to direct it.

  • Crazy 999
    Crazy 999 4 months ago

    McRibs I'm waiting

  • El Chirpo
    El Chirpo 5 months ago

    Ray Kroc finessed the fuck out of the brothers and that dudes wife😂

  • Gareth Trevor
    Gareth Trevor 5 months ago

    After watch the founder it made want eat McDonald's is bad the founder was great

  • ティルブルックベンジャミン

    Telling you what happens = "Movie Review"

  • Jason Steel
    Jason Steel 5 months ago

    McDonald's is poison and I don't eat there

  • Ken Chaxx
    Ken Chaxx 5 months ago

    This is the saddest shit I have ever seen from someone that saw fast 7 Titanic and escape from sobibor without a tear this shit is jus terrible even if they were compensated it's so wrong

  • Daniel Reiman
    Daniel Reiman 5 months ago

    i loved it

  • Anita Santana
    Anita Santana 5 months ago

    I love Flash of Genius with Greg Kinnear. Its about the Entrepreneur getting screwed over by Ford.

  • marcello sandoval
    marcello sandoval 6 months ago

    just saw it its good

  • Isaiah Williams
    Isaiah Williams 6 months ago

    After watching this film, I don't know if I could ever eat at McDonald's again.

  • never naked
    never naked 6 months ago

    I haven't seen this movie but I do like movies with Michael Keaton in them.

  • Captain Jakemerica
    Captain Jakemerica 6 months ago

    Does The Wolf of Wall Street count? He did get screwed over?

  • The 1200 Films Podcast
    The 1200 Films Podcast 7 months ago

    Love this movie. Keaton totally "Facebooked" the true founders.

  • Fatima Saeed
    Fatima Saeed 7 months ago

    I'm not sure if this counts but The Greatest Showman is kinda like that I guess??? I'd be interested in seeing these two movies compared in terms of production and execution.

  • Abhishek Meena
    Abhishek Meena 7 months ago

    jeremy u douchebag u spoiled this movie for me........

  • pinpaper
    pinpaper 7 months ago

    Kroch only did what he said he was going to do. He always really offered the Mcdonald's brothers the money and they kept turning it down. I honestly think if alot of people were put in the same situation it would probably go the same way

  • James Palmer
    James Palmer 7 months ago

    Thanks for letting me know this was on Netflix. Very entertaining movie but I felt dirty after watching it.

  • Joey Cook
    Joey Cook 7 months ago

    I’m really glad you ended up talking about this movie. I don’t think I can look at a McDonalds the same way ever again after watching this movie. Also Michael Keaton is starting to become one of my favorite actors!

  • Devin Houthoofd
    Devin Houthoofd 8 months ago

    It was a good movie ... I'm a big movie buff ... And I realized when I was done watching it that this was the first movie I have ever seen where I didn't like the main character ... I mean he was an asshole ...it's good that they didn't make this movie while he was still alive ... People would be sending him hate mail

  • Madeleine Hilger
    Madeleine Hilger 8 months ago

    I'm a current Mcdonalds employee. Very interesting to know about the company. Good movie!

  • KG
    KG 8 months ago

    Good movie, good acting, good characters - all pretty fascinating. It's not political, it doesn't try to convey the latest shallow political point du jour. You're right: it's two hours and I wonder if they could have cut it not 10 minutes but 20-30 minutes.

  • zigi Ahmed
    zigi Ahmed 8 months ago

    Good movie

  • Serena Walker
    Serena Walker 9 months ago

    When I first watched this movie I was an employee at McDonalds, after watching the movie I felt sick to my stomach every time I saw those golden arches 🤧

  • Stephane Gregory Dan
    Stephane Gregory Dan 9 months ago

    This movie was excellent.

  • Ricardo Mendez
    Ricardo Mendez 9 months ago

    I Loved that Movie.. Seen it several times already. Loved It.

  • StormDoesGaming
    StormDoesGaming 10 months ago

    i'm watching this while eating mcnuggets..

  • MunMun MurMur
    MunMun MurMur 10 months ago

    Spoiler Alert:




    I like how the makers of this film didn't distort facts to make this movie have a happy ending. In the end, the McDonald's brothers lost the majority of their money, their company, and even the right to their own name. Plus Ray Kroc pretty much divorced his wife so he could go after the wife of one of his friends. They didn't try to make any of this seem like a good thing, in real life it was awful so by the time you finish the movie you have this feeling of sadness since some of the only good people in this movie lost everything while the over greedy Ray Kroc succeeded in every way that he wanted.

  • Waleed Albarakati
    Waleed Albarakati 10 months ago

    Ray Kroc was an asshole.

  • John Cunningham
    John Cunningham 10 months ago +1

    I caught it on Netflix too. Thought it was great. But, if you're a decent human being, it is kind of depressing, because it really cements that idea that if you want success out of life, you have to step on toes, and if you aren't willing to step on toes, someone will most definitely step on yours.

    • MrHoppers002
      MrHoppers002 6 months ago

      success is subjective. In my opinion the mcdonald brothers were successful. They had a functional, profitable, and efficient restaurant that generated good revenue for them. McDondalds back in the early 50s generated the brothers 350,000 a year in sales, they made 100,000 a year after taxes. That is a lot of money back in those days for a single burger stand. The McDonalds brothers were content with that. Nothing wrong with that. If I had that kind of money coming in I would be happy too. Ray wanted billionaire level success like the likes of rockefeller, bill gates, zuckerberg etc. He wanted to span the globe. Revolutionize the way we eat. etc. That's success too just on a larger scale. So long story short the mcdonald brothers were ill equipped to deal with a guy like ray. They didn't trademark their name or business. They didn't get a iron clad contract over the royalty deals. They made mistakes. Those mistakes cost them. Never ever accept a handshake deal. That was the most dumbfounded thing for me in the film Veteran businessmen like the mcdonald brothers accepting a handshake deal? So you do what you have to protect yourself and your interests.

  • David AC
    David AC 10 months ago +1

    Any other biographical movies about business men or rags to riches stories (wolf of wall street for example) anyone can recommend?

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All 10 months ago +1

    McDonalds needed a guy like Ray Kroch to make it as successful as it was. Sadly, Kroch needed the freedom to do whatever he wanted to to make it as successful and the McDonald brothers werent allowing him that. Then again, even if the McDonald brothers gave Kroch the freedom he wanted, he'd still screw them. All in all, the McDonald brothers got about all they were gonna get out of the business had they never hooked up with Kroch - About $2 million between them. That's about all they wouldve made by the time they retired running that 1 McDonalds.

    • MrHoppers002
      MrHoppers002 6 months ago +2

      if the mcdonald brothers didn't deal with ray kroc, their restaurant would've probably still be around today as a great local burger stand that has affordable food, fast service, and cleanliness in San Bernardino. Nothing wrong with that. I think the mcdonald brothers would've been much happier if they didn't deal with kroc, ran their restaurant as they wanted to, make the money they were comfortable with, and retired on their own terms or sell the business to someone they wanted to sell to willingly. Burger King would've been what McDonalds is today as the biggest hamburger chain in america/world.

  • Martin Schultz
    Martin Schultz 11 months ago

    Im am very curious as a European: Does americans in general value the behaviour Ray Croc shows through the movie? I find Ray Croc pretty much portraited as a deuchebag.This comes from a guy (me) ho has been working at McDonald's for 6y in the past.
    I am not trying to show prejudice, actually im trying the opposite: I'm honestly curious if this is what an American would consider withith his right since the wealth he is able to grow from his stunts is, beyond human understanding?
    If ray Croc's behaviour generally is seen as utterly crap behaviour, then i am very confused at what the message of the film is?
    BE A DEUCE, SCREW PEOPLE, GET RICH, LIVE WITH IT WITHOUT REMORSE?
    I gotta say i find the message of the movie very contradictive no matter what angle you look at it?
    Enlighten me

  • Big dick Rick
    Big dick Rick 11 months ago

    Took there name and fucked that dudes wife. He's a douche but a savage

  • Daniel Appleton
    Daniel Appleton 11 months ago

    A movie about the fast - food franchise responsible for making the world fatter & unhealthier. Fantastic.

  • Alex Orozco
    Alex Orozco 11 months ago

    Omg Jeremy this movie! Thanks for this review. I had no idea about this movie and if I hadn't seen your review I'd have never seen this awesome flick. This movie is damn brilliant and Kroc is painted in various shades of grey to the point that the original character is so unrecognizable. Excellent recommendation and a spot on review!

  • Mikey Bacon
    Mikey Bacon 11 months ago

    Watched it on a 11hr 30mins flight from London to SF back in June, and loved it. Very interesting and very beneficial into learning about the history of the corporation and how McDonald's started

  • Tomas Quillopo
    Tomas Quillopo 11 months ago

    You should do the big short

  • Osamiij j
    Osamiij j 11 months ago

    I really enjoyed that movie. But I love movies based on true events. Probably why I am in love with The Glass Castle. There are horrible people in this world, they aren't always evil every step of the way.

  • damian gac
    damian gac 11 months ago

    🍻👻

  • jared dion
    jared dion 11 months ago

    when i watched this movie on netflix i wasnt too keen on micheal keatons character. like what an asshole to take what some other people created and put your name on it like what a disgusting move. Those brothers were right but though through the whole movie. Where they were like if we franchise standards drop and you can see it in todays mcdaondls all over the world standards drop no longer are we getting that fast convenient meal no! I mean i stood in line for about 25 minutes for my meal so they arent putting a standard in place. But besides that this movie was a pretty good movie as weird as it is i think i would do the same thing i might screw over them by doing the same thing but with a little twist if i was worth that much and making that much i would give a good percentage too those brothers or at least make them managers. those brothers didnt deserve to be screwed over like that.

  • PharaohsKingdom
    PharaohsKingdom 11 months ago

    It was a great movie.

  • Jared Locke
    Jared Locke 11 months ago

    Watched it last night. Loved it

  • DavesWorld
    DavesWorld 11 months ago

    Just watched it. I thought you would blue ray it.

  • truthis
    truthis 11 months ago

    RAY KROC WAS NOT THE FOUNDER. HIS GREEDY MAN.

  • Jellybeans
    Jellybeans 11 months ago

    I hate McDonalds

  • SearchIndex
    SearchIndex 11 months ago

    You missed the subtle lesson of Laura Dern's character. She was not a waste of celluloid.
    She had wanted to be in high society eating the healthier food at the country club. Ray says 'these aren't our people' indicating he has working class 'tastes'. He takes her out to eat at the halls instead where she complains "Ooooooh ! Salty!".But always the dutiful physically but not emotionally supportive wife, she buys in to his working class dream 'team' and starts rustling up hard working couples.
    The night Ray asks for a divorce, his wife is eating at their table and says "Please pass the salt". As soon as she has acquired the 'salty' working class tastes of her husband, he leaves her for a high society woman with ambition and ideas and ends up with more money than anyone could realistically spend and donated it to charity to help the poor, the sick, and the uneducated
    Laura Dern's character just wanted the basics in life at a certain social level of her ideal. And she got it. She got the house and the car in the divorce.
    She was a supportive wife but her ambition did not match her husband's pace for pace so over time they grew apart...she was always a supportive step behind him instead of an ambitious idea man side kick 'team' that he wanted.
    The lesson of the wives is in Laura Dern's character

  • Tombstone is the perk you need To survive

    So a guy who is obsessed with playing bird people made McDonald's

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 11 months ago

    One of the best scenes was in the hospital great acting all round

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 11 months ago

    Great film what a turn half way through problem for the brothers they didn't have the business know how hence the only restaurant they got going was there's

  • John McNamara
    John McNamara 11 months ago

    I just watched it. I must say very good, they didn't pull any punches and shows the cut throat world of business perfectly as well as one mans determination to be great.

  • Ru New
    Ru New 11 months ago

    Are you planning to do Netflix review as an addition to your regular reviews? That would be great

  • Bruce Wayne
    Bruce Wayne 11 months ago

    Great movie, you'll appreciate it more with a financial background and understanding of the franchise model.

  • Cavefire
    Cavefire 11 months ago +1

    I loved this movie

  • Toxic
    Toxic 11 months ago

    Now do death note...

  • you tube
    you tube 11 months ago

    im eating less big mac because of this movie

  • MissZeely
    MissZeely 11 months ago

    Waffle street was a good entrepreneurial movie 👍🏼

  • FireStormBaller
    FireStormBaller 11 months ago

    JESUS FUCKING CHRIST. IT'S 2017 MATE! CAN YOU PLEASE MAKE YOUR FUCKING INTRO LOUDER AND MORE ANNOYING PLEASE?

  • High Desert Peeps
    High Desert Peeps 11 months ago

    Thanks for the review. I watched the Founder on TVclip because of it and I found it fascinating.

  • Pendekar malaya
    Pendekar malaya 11 months ago

    go see gold what do you think

  • Samson Knight
    Samson Knight 11 months ago

    speaking of SHARK TANK- Mr Wonderful is the 21st century Ray Kroc!!

  • kwang-won Chung
    kwang-won Chung 11 months ago

    The story of a real piece of shit...

  • VeilGrimace
    VeilGrimace Year ago

    I love The Founder and Michale Keaton did a great job at making me absolutely hate his character.

  • L Desmond
    L Desmond Year ago

    Boom like that gives the same story but portrays Kroc as the villian

  • Rubeus Hagrid
    Rubeus Hagrid Year ago

    And favorite screwing someone else over movie is Wolf of Wall Street

  • Rubeus Hagrid
    Rubeus Hagrid Year ago

    Review Wilson. Please.

  • Theknowabout
    Theknowabout Year ago

    When will we stop getting big screen adverts where we have to pay to watch the advert.

  • Rim GHRABA
    Rim GHRABA Year ago

    I loved this movie !!

  • Joseph Bbernal
    Joseph Bbernal Year ago +1

    I love this movie but I felt so terrible for the true founders of McDonald's, dick and Mac. I'm glad this movie came out. Those guys truly deserve to be honored. I'll never look at McDonald's the same way.

  • captcorajus
    captcorajus Year ago +2

    I literally just watched it on Netflix! lol

  • Stacy
    Stacy Year ago +1

    Good review! I got so... emotional watching this movie lol

  • Harsh Jain
    Harsh Jain Year ago

    dude control your hands

  • POLikonus
    POLikonus Year ago

    You should watch the show "Halt and Catch fire" its about entrepreneurs in the late 70/80s that try and to create new consumer technologies (like the first laptop)

  • Sean V
    Sean V Year ago

    I saw this just last this week as well. It's pretty good :)

  • Carlos Marcelo
    Carlos Marcelo Year ago

    Great entrepeneurial movie: Pirates of the Silicon Valley.

  • mAdgAmer4127
    mAdgAmer4127 Year ago

    founder is the off-brand social network

  • Emilee McClain
    Emilee McClain Year ago +1

    I hate McDonald's, but loved the movie. Michael Keaton was amazing in this role.

  • James Deal
    James Deal Year ago +1

    I definitely didn't expect the film to be as good as it was. Superb acting all around. Great writing. Amazing set design.

  • Date Masamune
    Date Masamune Year ago

    I got a Wendy's ad before the video played. You trying to send me mixed signals, TVclip?

  • Red
    Red Year ago

    A great film. Keaton was spectacular, should get something for this performance.

  • Frog Juice Justice

    Jojo's bizarre adventure
    Part 1: Phantom Blood

  • Ayla Morgan
    Ayla Morgan Year ago

    The Social Network..