The Founder - Movie Review


Comments • 1 452

  • El Chirpo
    El Chirpo 6 days ago

    Ray Kroc finessed the fuck out of the brothers and that dudes wife😂

  • Gareth Trevor
    Gareth Trevor 12 days ago

    After watch the founder it made want eat McDonald's is bad the founder was great

  • ティルブルックベンジャミン

    Telling you what happens = "Movie Review"

  • Jason Steel
    Jason Steel 23 days ago

    McDonald's is poison and I don't eat there

  • Ken Chaxx
    Ken Chaxx 27 days ago

    This is the saddest shit I have ever seen from someone that saw fast 7 Titanic and escape from sobibor without a tear this shit is jus terrible even if they were compensated it's so wrong

  • Daniel Reiman
    Daniel Reiman 27 days ago

    i loved it

  • Anita Santana
    Anita Santana 27 days ago

    I love Flash of Genius with Greg Kinnear. Its about the Entrepreneur getting screwed over by Ford.

  • marcello sandoval
    marcello sandoval Month ago

    just saw it its good

  • WallyWinka
    WallyWinka Month ago

    I saw this. Ray Croc was a fucking DICK. I understand business is business, you do what you do to get ahead of the competition. But as a person he was a sleazy piece of shit. He screwed over the McDonalds brothers ("contracts are like hearts, made to be broken"), he had the affair with that one franchisee guys' wife, AND he divorced his wife after he made it big and basically left her penniless, refusing to give her any part of the Mcdonald's wealth even though it was SHE who supported him when they were starting out, all while he was being a neglectful prick. Piece. Of. Shit.

  • Isaiah Williams
    Isaiah Williams Month ago

    After watching this film, I don't know if I could ever eat at McDonald's again.

  • casper man
    casper man Month ago

    I haven't seen this movie but I do like movies with Michael Keaton in them.

  • Captain Jakemerica
    Captain Jakemerica Month ago

    Does The Wolf of Wall Street count? He did get screwed over?

  • The 1200 Films Podcast

    Love this movie. Keaton totally "Facebooked" the true founders.

  • Fatima Saeed
    Fatima Saeed 2 months ago

    I'm not sure if this counts but The Greatest Showman is kinda like that I guess??? I'd be interested in seeing these two movies compared in terms of production and execution.

  • Abhishek Meena
    Abhishek Meena 2 months ago

    jeremy u douchebag u spoiled this movie for me........

  • pinpaper
    pinpaper 2 months ago

    Kroch only did what he said he was going to do. He always really offered the Mcdonald's brothers the money and they kept turning it down. I honestly think if alot of people were put in the same situation it would probably go the same way

  • James Palmer
    James Palmer 2 months ago

    Thanks for letting me know this was on Netflix. Very entertaining movie but I felt dirty after watching it.

  • Joey Cook
    Joey Cook 2 months ago

    I’m really glad you ended up talking about this movie. I don’t think I can look at a McDonalds the same way ever again after watching this movie. Also Michael Keaton is starting to become one of my favorite actors!

  • Devin Houthoofd
    Devin Houthoofd 3 months ago

    It was a good movie ... I'm a big movie buff ... And I realized when I was done watching it that this was the first movie I have ever seen where I didn't like the main character ... I mean he was an asshole's good that they didn't make this movie while he was still alive ... People would be sending him hate mail

  • Madeleine Hilger
    Madeleine Hilger 3 months ago

    I'm a current Mcdonalds employee. Very interesting to know about the company. Good movie!

  • KG
    KG 3 months ago

    Good movie, good acting, good characters - all pretty fascinating. It's not political, it doesn't try to convey the latest shallow political point du jour. You're right: it's two hours and I wonder if they could have cut it not 10 minutes but 20-30 minutes.

  • zigi Ahmed
    zigi Ahmed 3 months ago

    Good movie

  • Serena Walker
    Serena Walker 4 months ago

    When I first watched this movie I was an employee at McDonalds, after watching the movie I felt sick to my stomach every time I saw those golden arches 🤧

  • Stephane Gregory Dan
    Stephane Gregory Dan 4 months ago

    This movie was excellent.

  • Ricardo Mendez
    Ricardo Mendez 4 months ago

    I Loved that Movie.. Seen it several times already. Loved It.

  • StormDoesGaming
    StormDoesGaming 4 months ago

    i'm watching this while eating mcnuggets..

  • MunMun MurMur
    MunMun MurMur 5 months ago

    Spoiler Alert:

    I like how the makers of this film didn't distort facts to make this movie have a happy ending. In the end, the McDonald's brothers lost the majority of their money, their company, and even the right to their own name. Plus Ray Kroc pretty much divorced his wife so he could go after the wife of one of his friends. They didn't try to make any of this seem like a good thing, in real life it was awful so by the time you finish the movie you have this feeling of sadness since some of the only good people in this movie lost everything while the over greedy Ray Kroc succeeded in every way that he wanted.

  • Waleed Albarakati
    Waleed Albarakati 5 months ago

    Ray Kroc was an asshole.

  • John Cunningham
    John Cunningham 5 months ago +1

    I caught it on Netflix too. Thought it was great. But, if you're a decent human being, it is kind of depressing, because it really cements that idea that if you want success out of life, you have to step on toes, and if you aren't willing to step on toes, someone will most definitely step on yours.

    • MrHoppers002
      MrHoppers002 Month ago

      success is subjective. In my opinion the mcdonald brothers were successful. They had a functional, profitable, and efficient restaurant that generated good revenue for them. McDondalds back in the early 50s generated the brothers 350,000 a year in sales, they made 100,000 a year after taxes. That is a lot of money back in those days for a single burger stand. The McDonalds brothers were content with that. Nothing wrong with that. If I had that kind of money coming in I would be happy too. Ray wanted billionaire level success like the likes of rockefeller, bill gates, zuckerberg etc. He wanted to span the globe. Revolutionize the way we eat. etc. That's success too just on a larger scale. So long story short the mcdonald brothers were ill equipped to deal with a guy like ray. They didn't trademark their name or business. They didn't get a iron clad contract over the royalty deals. They made mistakes. Those mistakes cost them. Never ever accept a handshake deal. That was the most dumbfounded thing for me in the film Veteran businessmen like the mcdonald brothers accepting a handshake deal? So you do what you have to protect yourself and your interests.

  • David AC
    David AC 5 months ago +1

    Any other biographical movies about business men or rags to riches stories (wolf of wall street for example) anyone can recommend?

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All 5 months ago +1

    McDonalds needed a guy like Ray Kroch to make it as successful as it was. Sadly, Kroch needed the freedom to do whatever he wanted to to make it as successful and the McDonald brothers werent allowing him that. Then again, even if the McDonald brothers gave Kroch the freedom he wanted, he'd still screw them. All in all, the McDonald brothers got about all they were gonna get out of the business had they never hooked up with Kroch - About $2 million between them. That's about all they wouldve made by the time they retired running that 1 McDonalds.

    • MrHoppers002
      MrHoppers002 Month ago +1

      if the mcdonald brothers didn't deal with ray kroc, their restaurant would've probably still be around today as a great local burger stand that has affordable food, fast service, and cleanliness in San Bernardino. Nothing wrong with that. I think the mcdonald brothers would've been much happier if they didn't deal with kroc, ran their restaurant as they wanted to, make the money they were comfortable with, and retired on their own terms or sell the business to someone they wanted to sell to willingly. Burger King would've been what McDonalds is today as the biggest hamburger chain in america/world.

  • Martin Schultz
    Martin Schultz 5 months ago

    Im am very curious as a European: Does americans in general value the behaviour Ray Croc shows through the movie? I find Ray Croc pretty much portraited as a deuchebag.This comes from a guy (me) ho has been working at McDonald's for 6y in the past.
    I am not trying to show prejudice, actually im trying the opposite: I'm honestly curious if this is what an American would consider withith his right since the wealth he is able to grow from his stunts is, beyond human understanding?
    If ray Croc's behaviour generally is seen as utterly crap behaviour, then i am very confused at what the message of the film is?
    I gotta say i find the message of the movie very contradictive no matter what angle you look at it?
    Enlighten me

  • Big dick Rick
    Big dick Rick 5 months ago

    Took there name and fucked that dudes wife. He's a douche but a savage

  • Daniel Appleton
    Daniel Appleton 6 months ago

    A movie about the fast - food franchise responsible for making the world fatter & unhealthier. Fantastic.

  • Alex Orozco
    Alex Orozco 6 months ago

    Omg Jeremy this movie! Thanks for this review. I had no idea about this movie and if I hadn't seen your review I'd have never seen this awesome flick. This movie is damn brilliant and Kroc is painted in various shades of grey to the point that the original character is so unrecognizable. Excellent recommendation and a spot on review!

  • Mikey Bacon
    Mikey Bacon 6 months ago

    Watched it on a 11hr 30mins flight from London to SF back in June, and loved it. Very interesting and very beneficial into learning about the history of the corporation and how McDonald's started

  • Tomas Quillopo
    Tomas Quillopo 6 months ago

    You should do the big short

  • Sja Jo
    Sja Jo 6 months ago

    I really enjoyed that movie. But I love movies based on true events. Probably why I am in love with The Glass Castle. There are horrible people in this world, they aren't always evil every step of the way.

  • damian gac
    damian gac 6 months ago


  • jared dion
    jared dion 6 months ago

    when i watched this movie on netflix i wasnt too keen on micheal keatons character. like what an asshole to take what some other people created and put your name on it like what a disgusting move. Those brothers were right but though through the whole movie. Where they were like if we franchise standards drop and you can see it in todays mcdaondls all over the world standards drop no longer are we getting that fast convenient meal no! I mean i stood in line for about 25 minutes for my meal so they arent putting a standard in place. But besides that this movie was a pretty good movie as weird as it is i think i would do the same thing i might screw over them by doing the same thing but with a little twist if i was worth that much and making that much i would give a good percentage too those brothers or at least make them managers. those brothers didnt deserve to be screwed over like that.

  • PharaohsKingdom
    PharaohsKingdom 6 months ago

    It was a great movie.

  • Jared Locke
    Jared Locke 6 months ago

    Watched it last night. Loved it

  • DavesWorld
    DavesWorld 6 months ago

    Just watched it. I thought you would blue ray it.

  • truthis
    truthis 6 months ago


  • SWAG
    SWAG 6 months ago

    I hate McDonalds

  • SearchIndex
    SearchIndex 6 months ago

    You missed the subtle lesson of Laura Dern's character. She was not a waste of celluloid.
    She had wanted to be in high society eating the healthier food at the country club. Ray says 'these aren't our people' indicating he has working class 'tastes'. He takes her out to eat at the halls instead where she complains "Ooooooh ! Salty!".But always the dutiful physically but not emotionally supportive wife, she buys in to his working class dream 'team' and starts rustling up hard working couples.
    The night Ray asks for a divorce, his wife is eating at their table and says "Please pass the salt". As soon as she has acquired the 'salty' working class tastes of her husband, he leaves her for a high society woman with ambition and ideas and ends up with more money than anyone could realistically spend and donated it to charity to help the poor, the sick, and the uneducated
    Laura Dern's character just wanted the basics in life at a certain social level of her ideal. And she got it. She got the house and the car in the divorce.
    She was a supportive wife but her ambition did not match her husband's pace for pace so over time they grew apart...she was always a supportive step behind him instead of an ambitious idea man side kick 'team' that he wanted.
    The lesson of the wives is in Laura Dern's character

  • Tombstone is the perk you need To survive

    So a guy who is obsessed with playing bird people made McDonald's

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 6 months ago

    One of the best scenes was in the hospital great acting all round

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 6 months ago

    Great film what a turn half way through problem for the brothers they didn't have the business know how hence the only restaurant they got going was there's

  • John McNamara
    John McNamara 6 months ago

    I just watched it. I must say very good, they didn't pull any punches and shows the cut throat world of business perfectly as well as one mans determination to be great.

  • pattimcb31
    pattimcb31 6 months ago

    Are you planning to do Netflix review as an addition to your regular reviews? That would be great

  • Bruce Wayne
    Bruce Wayne 6 months ago

    Great movie, you'll appreciate it more with a financial background and understanding of the franchise model.

  • Cavefire
    Cavefire 6 months ago +1

    I loved this movie

  • Toxic
    Toxic 6 months ago

    Now do death note...

  • you tube
    you tube 6 months ago

    im eating less big mac because of this movie

  • MissZeely
    MissZeely 6 months ago

    Waffle street was a good entrepreneurial movie 👍🏼

  • FireStormBaller
    FireStormBaller 6 months ago


  • High Desert Peeps
    High Desert Peeps 6 months ago

    Thanks for the review. I watched the Founder on TVclip because of it and I found it fascinating.

  • Pendekar malaya
    Pendekar malaya 6 months ago

    go see gold what do you think

  • Samson Knight
    Samson Knight 6 months ago

    speaking of SHARK TANK- Mr Wonderful is the 21st century Ray Kroc!!

  • kwang-won Chung
    kwang-won Chung 6 months ago

    The story of a real piece of shit...

  • VeilGrimace
    VeilGrimace 7 months ago

    I love The Founder and Michale Keaton did a great job at making me absolutely hate his character.

  • L Desmond
    L Desmond 7 months ago

    Boom like that gives the same story but portrays Kroc as the villian

  • Rolling Stone
    Rolling Stone 7 months ago

    And favorite screwing someone else over movie is Wolf of Wall Street

  • Rolling Stone
    Rolling Stone 7 months ago

    Review Wilson. Please.

  • Theknowabout
    Theknowabout 7 months ago

    When will we stop getting big screen adverts where we have to pay to watch the advert.

  • Rim GHRABA
    Rim GHRABA 7 months ago

    I loved this movie !!

  • J Bernal82
    J Bernal82 7 months ago +1

    I love this movie but I felt so terrible for the true founders of McDonald's, dick and Mac. I'm glad this movie came out. Those guys truly deserve to be honored. I'll never look at McDonald's the same way.

  • captcorajus
    captcorajus 7 months ago +1

    I literally just watched it on Netflix! lol

  • Stacy
    Stacy 7 months ago +1

    Good review! I got so... emotional watching this movie lol

  • Harsh Jain
    Harsh Jain 7 months ago

    dude control your hands

  • POLikonus
    POLikonus 7 months ago

    You should watch the show "Halt and Catch fire" its about entrepreneurs in the late 70/80s that try and to create new consumer technologies (like the first laptop)

  • Sean V
    Sean V 7 months ago

    I saw this just last this week as well. It's pretty good :)

  • Carlos Marcelo
    Carlos Marcelo 7 months ago

    Great entrepeneurial movie: Pirates of the Silicon Valley.

  • mAdgAmer4127
    mAdgAmer4127 7 months ago

    founder is the off-brand social network

  • Emilee McClain
    Emilee McClain 7 months ago +1

    I hate McDonald's, but loved the movie. Michael Keaton was amazing in this role.

  • James Deal
    James Deal 7 months ago +1

    I definitely didn't expect the film to be as good as it was. Superb acting all around. Great writing. Amazing set design.

  • Date Masamune
    Date Masamune 7 months ago

    I got a Wendy's ad before the video played. You trying to send me mixed signals, TVclip?

  • Red
    Red 7 months ago

    A great film. Keaton was spectacular, should get something for this performance.

  • Frog JuiceXports
    Frog JuiceXports 7 months ago

    Jojo's bizarre adventure
    Part 1: Phantom Blood

  • Ayla Morgan
    Ayla Morgan 7 months ago

    The Social Network..

  • Marco Vucinic
    Marco Vucinic 7 months ago

    i watched it and i liked it!!

  • Iliyas Yasir
    Iliyas Yasir 7 months ago

    Its not on Netflix in the UK :(

  • seanc41556
    seanc41556 7 months ago

    Only America could make a movie that glorifies fast food

  • xanarchy militia
    xanarchy militia 7 months ago +1

    seems like mcdonalds payed you to give this movie a "buy on blu ray" verdict..............

  • AustenArts
    AustenArts 7 months ago

    Burger King is better. Fight me

  • Anthony Ospina
    Anthony Ospina 7 months ago

    Jeremy Jahns Batman & Bill A Hulu Documentary! Very good and revealing

  • salamander337
    salamander337 7 months ago

    I haven't had a McDonald like in forever. This just add another reason for me to stay away.

  • The Lukanator
    The Lukanator 7 months ago

    No one cares more about optimal run-time utilization than Jeremy Jahns.

  • Ezra Daßer
    Ezra Daßer 7 months ago

    I can't believe your intro is starting to give me nostalgia !

  • Cats go Meow
    Cats go Meow 7 months ago

    i am eating kfc

    INDO KEREN 7 months ago

    It's all Fucked UP.

  • Resident evil
    Resident evil 7 months ago

    Can you please do a review on Mr Nobody.

  • MightyManotaur22
    MightyManotaur22 7 months ago

    This was a great movie. Shame some critics didn't like it because they thought Keaton's characterization was too multi-dimensional. Because God forbid a movie give us a balanced take on a complex character.

  • [FTG] Gattsu
    [FTG] Gattsu 7 months ago

    Yeah, but this movie doesn't go into the darker stuff lol. End of the day everyone in real life with the movie was a Dick. They all dicked each other around. And stuff. The movies skips out on the darker stuff between what happened. All the cheating and stuff lol. Good movie though. Always nice to see movies focus on acting and stuff rather than SFX lol

  • Wander Bear
    Wander Bear 7 months ago

    I'm happy someone I respect and admire reviewed this movie. It deserves more accolades.

  • Albert Wesker
    Albert Wesker 7 months ago

    I had Mcdonalds last night.

  • Ben Abbott
    Ben Abbott 7 months ago

    It sounds like you may want to actually read the contracts you're signing before signing them, Jeremy.

  • ladidations
    ladidations 7 months ago

    the ending to this movie was both amazing and horrifying in my opinion

  • brian WHITE
    brian WHITE 7 months ago

    I love this movie. One of my favorites.