The Founder - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 14, 2017
  • Michael Keaton stars in the story about the 'founder" of McDonald's. Here's my review of THE FOUNDER!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: twitter.com/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 475

  • Dominic Kowalczyk
    Dominic Kowalczyk 5 days ago

    Such an amazing movie. Such a twist and how much a piece of shit he was.

  • Pretty Freckelz
    Pretty Freckelz Month ago

    Sad how he tricked the McDonald brothers wow that was sad

  • TC mekanik
    TC mekanik 2 months ago

    I truly enjoyed this american movie about an american story.
    Michael Keaton was great.

  • T. L
    T. L 3 months ago

    *cough* screenjunkies *cough*

  • Robd collector
    Robd collector 3 months ago

    The Founder was a great movie!! Also got me hungry for burgers!

  • Tony Campbell
    Tony Campbell 3 months ago

    I enjoyed it and I identify more with Michael Keaton's character.

  • Drake Gordon
    Drake Gordon 4 months ago

    Them Macdonold brothers got Zuckerd before Mark Zuckerberg fucked over the two brothers with Lawsuits and Knowledge

  • Fioqw 45
    Fioqw 45 5 months ago

    "Is this the point where the biopic of my life becomes the biopic of their life?" man this sentence really hit hard. Who knows you will get valuable life lessons while watching a movie review.

  • Wade Wilson
    Wade Wilson 5 months ago

    The brothers especially dick were kind of cunts. They became millionaires for doing basically nothing and fought Ray every step. I say fuck em.

  • Dan -Horsenwelles- Williams

    i like this film because its got the right direction, the right cast, and the right pacing to make something that should be more like a documentary for business officials at big investing conferences into a perfect consumer grade smartly done piece of american entertainment.
    it does have a few hiccups but the actual experience of the film was totally solid and fun.
    8.5/10

  • 1,000 Likes without a Comment

    The Founder was a surprise. Didn’t think I wanted to see it, but I did and it was awesome!

  • Rusty Shackleford
    Rusty Shackleford 7 months ago

    Ray Kroc wasn't the villain, the McDonald brothers were the villains too stubborn to see the potential of their product.

  • Gehrig Gains
    Gehrig Gains 7 months ago

    Just watched it for the first time and it was pretty cool. Keaton was fantastically creepy in a way and you want to route for him at the start then as a point you go oh crap he kind of a jerk. The McDonald brothers were done in such a great way that you really felt sorry for them. Also how great is it that after McDonalds complained about Batman Returns Batman himself plays the lead in a McDonalds movie!

  • Wordsof Harmony
    Wordsof Harmony 7 months ago

    Capitalism at its finest

  • don't believe the hype
    don't believe the hype 8 months ago

    Michael Keaton although old and unattractive I'm finding myself strangely attracted to him.. is it just me? or do you find him attractive in a ugly sort of way?

  • Delray58
    Delray58 9 months ago

    Great movie. Illustrates the difference between having a good idea and having a vision. The brothers had a nice idea...Ray had a vision.

  • James Barr
    James Barr 9 months ago

    Loved the movie and Keaton. It DID make me want to eat at McDonalds the next day, but only the original meal of a burger, fries, and a Coke.

  • Ted Burke
    Ted Burke 9 months ago +1

    The Founder was easily one of the best 5 movies of that year. Not a weak moment, not a weak shot, not a weak edit. This was perfect story telling of an interesting man

    • Alan G.
      Alan G. 9 months ago

      Ted Burke --- Well said.

  • Tom Bystander
    Tom Bystander 9 months ago

    Micheal keeton is such an amazing actor

  • ravioli ravioli give me the formuoli

    Honestly ray kroc was a huge sack of shit however the movie was good

  • Lajvard M
    Lajvard M 10 months ago

    Captain Holding basically the same screen time as Ray Croc's wife.... Both could've been omitted from the film maybe 🤷‍♂️

  • Manga Addict
    Manga Addict 10 months ago

    This movie was good.

  • Letty' s corner
    Letty' s corner 10 months ago

    I was shocked how good this movie was. I looked at it straight through, which is unusual for me.

  • Tyler Bergen
    Tyler Bergen 10 months ago

    I 100% agree with your review man...you were dead on with what were the high and low points. Overall it was a good movie though, I enjoyed it!

  • SomethingSomething Dark Side 94

    I don't understand why this movie didn't get the attention it deserved when released. I live in Phx aka one of the most populated cities in the US and this movie was barely released in any theater and the ones it did make it to it was there for like a couple weeks. Same thing with Inside Llewyn Davis a movie starring Oscar Issac, John Goodman and directed by the Coen Brothers

  • David Dil
    David Dil 11 months ago

    I was on ray side. He just out smarted them. It's a rat race. He took an idea and was not going to be held back.

  • Trey Warnock
    Trey Warnock 11 months ago

    You’re not supposed to “root” for anybody in this story. It’s a true story, not a Hollywood cheeseball script. Just watch the story, don’t try to “identify” with the characters.

  • camarojoe1997
    camarojoe1997 11 months ago

    This is a good movie a good watch

  • Anything Film Fan

    My mom got mad at this movie because of the scam in the film.

  • Chris Codd
    Chris Codd Year ago

    I love this movie but I am on ray Kroc's side make it big

  • Nasilele Lisselo
    Nasilele Lisselo Year ago

    Here is an idea for a movie called Blockbuster Video: The Rise and Archeological Myth of the Times of late Rental Fees based on the meme 'Blockbuster Video' relic of a forgotten world or The ruins of an ancient civilization.

    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    Starring Michael Keaton and co-starring in the supporting cast Jonah Hill and Lakeith Stanfield get Donald Glover to write it and Jordan Peele to direct it.

  • Crazy 999
    Crazy 999 Year ago

    McRibs I'm waiting

  • El Chirpo
    El Chirpo Year ago

    Ray Kroc finessed the fuck out of the brothers and that dudes wife😂

  • Gareth Trevor
    Gareth Trevor Year ago

    After watch the founder it made want eat McDonald's is bad the founder was great

  • ティルブルックベンジャミン

    Telling you what happens = "Movie Review"

  • Jason Steel
    Jason Steel Year ago

    McDonald's is poison and I don't eat there

  • obsidian fury
    obsidian fury Year ago

    This is the saddest shit I have ever seen from someone that saw fast 7 Titanic and escape from sobibor without a tear this shit is jus terrible even if they were compensated it's so wrong

  • Daniel Reiman
    Daniel Reiman Year ago

    i loved it

  • Anita Santana
    Anita Santana Year ago

    I love Flash of Genius with Greg Kinnear. Its about the Entrepreneur getting screwed over by Ford.

  • marcello sandoval

    just saw it its good

  • Isaiah Williams
    Isaiah Williams Year ago

    After watching this film, I don't know if I could ever eat at McDonald's again.

  • critical awards entertainment

    I haven't seen this movie but I do like movies with Michael Keaton in them.

  • Captain Jakemerica

    Does The Wolf of Wall Street count? He did get screwed over?

  • The 1200 Films Podcast

    Love this movie. Keaton totally "Facebooked" the true founders.

  • Fatima Saeed
    Fatima Saeed Year ago

    I'm not sure if this counts but The Greatest Showman is kinda like that I guess??? I'd be interested in seeing these two movies compared in terms of production and execution.

  • Abhishek Meena
    Abhishek Meena Year ago

    jeremy u douchebag u spoiled this movie for me........

  • pinpaper
    pinpaper Year ago

    Kroch only did what he said he was going to do. He always really offered the Mcdonald's brothers the money and they kept turning it down. I honestly think if alot of people were put in the same situation it would probably go the same way

  • James Palmer
    James Palmer Year ago

    Thanks for letting me know this was on Netflix. Very entertaining movie but I felt dirty after watching it.

  • Joey Cook
    Joey Cook Year ago

    I’m really glad you ended up talking about this movie. I don’t think I can look at a McDonalds the same way ever again after watching this movie. Also Michael Keaton is starting to become one of my favorite actors!

  • Devin Houthoofd
    Devin Houthoofd Year ago

    It was a good movie ... I'm a big movie buff ... And I realized when I was done watching it that this was the first movie I have ever seen where I didn't like the main character ... I mean he was an asshole ...it's good that they didn't make this movie while he was still alive ... People would be sending him hate mail

  • Madeleine Hilger
    Madeleine Hilger Year ago

    I'm a current Mcdonalds employee. Very interesting to know about the company. Good movie!

  • KG
    KG Year ago

    Good movie, good acting, good characters - all pretty fascinating. It's not political, it doesn't try to convey the latest shallow political point du jour. You're right: it's two hours and I wonder if they could have cut it not 10 minutes but 20-30 minutes.

  • ZIGI Ahmed
    ZIGI Ahmed Year ago

    Good movie

  • Serena Walker
    Serena Walker Year ago

    When I first watched this movie I was an employee at McDonalds, after watching the movie I felt sick to my stomach every time I saw those golden arches 🤧

  • Stephane Gregory Dan

    This movie was excellent.

  • Ricardo Mendez
    Ricardo Mendez Year ago

    I Loved that Movie.. Seen it several times already. Loved It.

  • StormDoesGaming
    StormDoesGaming Year ago

    i'm watching this while eating mcnuggets..

  • MunMun MurMur
    MunMun MurMur Year ago

    Spoiler Alert:




    I like how the makers of this film didn't distort facts to make this movie have a happy ending. In the end, the McDonald's brothers lost the majority of their money, their company, and even the right to their own name. Plus Ray Kroc pretty much divorced his wife so he could go after the wife of one of his friends. They didn't try to make any of this seem like a good thing, in real life it was awful so by the time you finish the movie you have this feeling of sadness since some of the only good people in this movie lost everything while the over greedy Ray Kroc succeeded in every way that he wanted.

  • Nameless Man
    Nameless Man Year ago

    Ray Kroc was an asshole.

  • John Cunningham
    John Cunningham Year ago +2

    I caught it on Netflix too. Thought it was great. But, if you're a decent human being, it is kind of depressing, because it really cements that idea that if you want success out of life, you have to step on toes, and if you aren't willing to step on toes, someone will most definitely step on yours.

    • MrHoppers002
      MrHoppers002 Year ago +1

      success is subjective. In my opinion the mcdonald brothers were successful. They had a functional, profitable, and efficient restaurant that generated good revenue for them. McDondalds back in the early 50s generated the brothers 350,000 a year in sales, they made 100,000 a year after taxes. That is a lot of money back in those days for a single burger stand. The McDonalds brothers were content with that. Nothing wrong with that. If I had that kind of money coming in I would be happy too. Ray wanted billionaire level success like the likes of rockefeller, bill gates, zuckerberg etc. He wanted to span the globe. Revolutionize the way we eat. etc. That's success too just on a larger scale. So long story short the mcdonald brothers were ill equipped to deal with a guy like ray. They didn't trademark their name or business. They didn't get a iron clad contract over the royalty deals. They made mistakes. Those mistakes cost them. Never ever accept a handshake deal. That was the most dumbfounded thing for me in the film Veteran businessmen like the mcdonald brothers accepting a handshake deal? So you do what you have to protect yourself and your interests.

  • David AC
    David AC Year ago +1

    Any other biographical movies about business men or rags to riches stories (wolf of wall street for example) anyone can recommend?

  • The One Above All
    The One Above All Year ago +1

    McDonalds needed a guy like Ray Kroch to make it as successful as it was. Sadly, Kroch needed the freedom to do whatever he wanted to to make it as successful and the McDonald brothers werent allowing him that. Then again, even if the McDonald brothers gave Kroch the freedom he wanted, he'd still screw them. All in all, the McDonald brothers got about all they were gonna get out of the business had they never hooked up with Kroch - About $2 million between them. That's about all they wouldve made by the time they retired running that 1 McDonalds.

    • MrHoppers002
      MrHoppers002 Year ago +3

      if the mcdonald brothers didn't deal with ray kroc, their restaurant would've probably still be around today as a great local burger stand that has affordable food, fast service, and cleanliness in San Bernardino. Nothing wrong with that. I think the mcdonald brothers would've been much happier if they didn't deal with kroc, ran their restaurant as they wanted to, make the money they were comfortable with, and retired on their own terms or sell the business to someone they wanted to sell to willingly. Burger King would've been what McDonalds is today as the biggest hamburger chain in america/world.

  • Martin Schultz
    Martin Schultz Year ago

    Im am very curious as a European: Does americans in general value the behaviour Ray Croc shows through the movie? I find Ray Croc pretty much portraited as a deuchebag.This comes from a guy (me) ho has been working at McDonald's for 6y in the past.
    I am not trying to show prejudice, actually im trying the opposite: I'm honestly curious if this is what an American would consider withith his right since the wealth he is able to grow from his stunts is, beyond human understanding?
    If ray Croc's behaviour generally is seen as utterly crap behaviour, then i am very confused at what the message of the film is?
    BE A DEUCE, SCREW PEOPLE, GET RICH, LIVE WITH IT WITHOUT REMORSE?
    I gotta say i find the message of the movie very contradictive no matter what angle you look at it?
    Enlighten me

  • Big dick Rick
    Big dick Rick Year ago

    Took there name and fucked that dudes wife. He's a douche but a savage

  • Daniel Appleton
    Daniel Appleton Year ago

    A movie about the fast - food franchise responsible for making the world fatter & unhealthier. Fantastic.

  • Alex Orozco
    Alex Orozco Year ago

    Omg Jeremy this movie! Thanks for this review. I had no idea about this movie and if I hadn't seen your review I'd have never seen this awesome flick. This movie is damn brilliant and Kroc is painted in various shades of grey to the point that the original character is so unrecognizable. Excellent recommendation and a spot on review!

  • Mikey Bacon
    Mikey Bacon Year ago

    Watched it on a 11hr 30mins flight from London to SF back in June, and loved it. Very interesting and very beneficial into learning about the history of the corporation and how McDonald's started

  • Samii O
    Samii O Year ago

    I really enjoyed that movie. But I love movies based on true events. Probably why I am in love with The Glass Castle. There are horrible people in this world, they aren't always evil every step of the way.

  • damian gac
    damian gac Year ago

    🍻👻

  • jared dion
    jared dion Year ago

    when i watched this movie on netflix i wasnt too keen on micheal keatons character. like what an asshole to take what some other people created and put your name on it like what a disgusting move. Those brothers were right but though through the whole movie. Where they were like if we franchise standards drop and you can see it in todays mcdaondls all over the world standards drop no longer are we getting that fast convenient meal no! I mean i stood in line for about 25 minutes for my meal so they arent putting a standard in place. But besides that this movie was a pretty good movie as weird as it is i think i would do the same thing i might screw over them by doing the same thing but with a little twist if i was worth that much and making that much i would give a good percentage too those brothers or at least make them managers. those brothers didnt deserve to be screwed over like that.

  • PharaohsKingdom
    PharaohsKingdom Year ago

    It was a great movie.

  • Jared Locke
    Jared Locke Year ago

    Watched it last night. Loved it

  • DavesWorld
    DavesWorld Year ago

    Just watched it. I thought you would blue ray it.

  • truthis
    truthis Year ago

    RAY KROC WAS NOT THE FOUNDER. HIS GREEDY MAN.

  • Paradox Gabe
    Paradox Gabe Year ago

    I hate McDonalds

  • SearchIndex
    SearchIndex Year ago

    You missed the subtle lesson of Laura Dern's character. She was not a waste of celluloid.
    She had wanted to be in high society eating the healthier food at the country club. Ray says 'these aren't our people' indicating he has working class 'tastes'. He takes her out to eat at the halls instead where she complains "Ooooooh ! Salty!".But always the dutiful physically but not emotionally supportive wife, she buys in to his working class dream 'team' and starts rustling up hard working couples.
    The night Ray asks for a divorce, his wife is eating at their table and says "Please pass the salt". As soon as she has acquired the 'salty' working class tastes of her husband, he leaves her for a high society woman with ambition and ideas and ends up with more money than anyone could realistically spend and donated it to charity to help the poor, the sick, and the uneducated
    Laura Dern's character just wanted the basics in life at a certain social level of her ideal. And she got it. She got the house and the car in the divorce.
    She was a supportive wife but her ambition did not match her husband's pace for pace so over time they grew apart...she was always a supportive step behind him instead of an ambitious idea man side kick 'team' that he wanted.
    The lesson of the wives is in Laura Dern's character

  • Tombstone is the perk you need To survive

    So a guy who is obsessed with playing bird people made McDonald's

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 Year ago

    One of the best scenes was in the hospital great acting all round

  • Who Knew 22
    Who Knew 22 Year ago

    Great film what a turn half way through problem for the brothers they didn't have the business know how hence the only restaurant they got going was there's

  • John McNamara
    John McNamara Year ago

    I just watched it. I must say very good, they didn't pull any punches and shows the cut throat world of business perfectly as well as one mans determination to be great.

  • Ru New
    Ru New Year ago

    Are you planning to do Netflix review as an addition to your regular reviews? That would be great

  • Bruce Wayne
    Bruce Wayne Year ago

    Great movie, you'll appreciate it more with a financial background and understanding of the franchise model.

  • Cavefire
    Cavefire Year ago +1

    I loved this movie

  • kassie the fucking fish

    Now do death note...

  • you tube
    you tube Year ago

    im eating less big mac because of this movie

  • MissZeely
    MissZeely Year ago

    Waffle street was a good entrepreneurial movie 👍🏼

  • FireStormBaller
    FireStormBaller Year ago

    JESUS FUCKING CHRIST. IT'S 2017 MATE! CAN YOU PLEASE MAKE YOUR FUCKING INTRO LOUDER AND MORE ANNOYING PLEASE?

  • High Desert Peeps

    Thanks for the review. I watched the Founder on TVclip because of it and I found it fascinating.

  • Pendekar malaya
    Pendekar malaya Year ago

    go see gold what do you think

  • Samson Knight
    Samson Knight Year ago

    speaking of SHARK TANK- Mr Wonderful is the 21st century Ray Kroc!!

  • kwang-won Chung
    kwang-won Chung Year ago

    The story of a real piece of shit...

  • VeilGrimace
    VeilGrimace Year ago

    I love The Founder and Michale Keaton did a great job at making me absolutely hate his character.

  • L Desmond
    L Desmond Year ago

    Boom like that gives the same story but portrays Kroc as the villian

  • LCD drownd
    LCD drownd Year ago

    And favorite screwing someone else over movie is Wolf of Wall Street

  • LCD drownd
    LCD drownd Year ago

    Review Wilson. Please.

  • Theknowabout
    Theknowabout Year ago

    When will we stop getting big screen adverts where we have to pay to watch the advert.

  • Rim GHRABA
    Rim GHRABA Year ago

    I loved this movie !!

  • Joseph Bernal
    Joseph Bernal Year ago +2

    I love this movie but I felt so terrible for the true founders of McDonald's, dick and Mac. I'm glad this movie came out. Those guys truly deserve to be honored. I'll never look at McDonald's the same way.

  • captcorajus
    captcorajus Year ago +2

    I literally just watched it on Netflix! lol

  • Stacy
    Stacy Year ago +1

    Good review! I got so... emotional watching this movie lol