Tomb Raider - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 672

  • Gooper Loper
    Gooper Loper Day ago

    whats up with the constant editing cuts? if its noticeable, its not subconsciously effective .. not for ME!! Bwahahha!

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur 2 days ago

    I would buy it on Blu-ray

  • Niekil Datt
    Niekil Datt 4 days ago

    waiting for bluray :)

  • Dorian Wilde
    Dorian Wilde 12 days ago

    I've played both rebooted games and LOVED them (TRIED to play the originals, but I'm not a good shot or a puzzle person) and as far as adaptations go, I felt this one was great. Many action sequences were taken straight from the games. I thought it was fun for what it is...Adaptation of a reboot of a video game. :)

  • HollywoodHuntsman
    HollywoodHuntsman 12 days ago

    Wait...this movie came out?

  • David Smith
    David Smith 18 days ago

    great movie

  • Ezra DaรŸer
    Ezra DaรŸer 24 days ago

    agree

  • David Gonzales
    David Gonzales 26 days ago

    Ehh still followed the game kinda honestly rather play the game but the movie was nice

  • vance astrovik
    vance astrovik 28 days ago

    Bleh...Shitty plot, and they made Lara UGLY with lesbian undertones and shrunk her boobs. Fuck this movie

  • dnw009
    dnw009 29 days ago

    Wish they brought more characters from the game with them, atleast like 1 or 2. Because now it was just her and the previous captain's son. Also the ending with the story they went for realism over magic. Was not too bad I guess just kinda wished to see some supernatural shit happening with Himeko.

  • Kazzong
    Kazzong Month ago

    yeah, the scene with the airplane was taken directly from the game.

  • Rasfa
    Rasfa Month ago

    Completely disagree. I see a couple of issues but none of the above.

  • Solvidro
    Solvidro Month ago

    I played both new games and i really like them. As for the movie: Loved Alicia Vikander as Lara, hated the story, other characters and effects were allright. Overall an okay movie that i will probably never watch again because i prefer the games with their story and characters.

  • steph g
    steph g Month ago

    well, i HATED assassins creed and finished it, so why not try out tomb raider, right? :)

  • rangawhitearm
    rangawhitearm Month ago

    I loved it

  • Kevin Godwin's channel

    Wait what is the plot point he is talking about? I saw it, but I canโ€™t think of it.

  • y u mad
    y u mad Month ago

    Great character building movie. Shes not 'the' lara croft but grows to be which is awesome.
    wish they kept the true Himiko mythology and plot of the game but i guess including solarii and the oni and reincarnation etcetc would be too convoluted

  • SteveTKO
    SteveTKO Month ago

    You serious? The movie was great. The character development was poor but the action sequence was good and acting was straight. I'm shock you Gave this a bad review

  • Kevin Reynart
    Kevin Reynart Month ago

    Probably the best video game movie adaptation we've gotten so far.

  • blottz
    blottz Month ago

    All the action scenes are in the game as well

  • Rex67Diego9 fandub
    Rex67Diego9 fandub Month ago

    i think you are giving way much of a hard time to the movie jeremy.
    the movie never dissapointed in fact it suprised, some of the trailer scenes look like i was gonna watch fast and furious meets indiana johns, so basically indiana johns and the kindgdo of the crystal skull.
    i thought lara was going to be this indestructible chick, the trailers really sold me those scenes like that, and when i watched the movie, i don't know what happened to the edition or the shot itself but it was believable, the parachute scene, the crashed plain scene, all the fight and chase scenes, they felt believable, they felt intense, i reall y enjoyed it and lara herself was a good character, not breaking any bounderies here, but she was a good character that felt genuine, unlike that shitty Rey from the last fart, she is skilled and talented sure, but she isn't invincible, i really like that.
    and lastly to your point with the character, yeah i agree with that, but outside of that character noone else was convinced about anything, the villian was just there for business, and that was cool.
    definately a good time no alcohol required.

  • rant osaurus
    rant osaurus Month ago

    Well jeremy you've won me over "I'm a subscriber!"

  • Bassem Elmehdawi
    Bassem Elmehdawi Month ago

    The writing in this movie was just so cliqued

  • rebecca
    rebecca Month ago

    What was the horrible plot choice you hated?

  • elanor2006
    elanor2006 Month ago

    Saw it yesterday, was bored during most of the movie, the story barely made sense and had way too much pointless action scenes, bad guys shooting for half an hour on the island, stupid bike chase in the beginning, etc.. The only moment that was mildly intersting was the temple/adventure part at the end. Also she looked more like Katniss Everdeen than Lara Croft, though I did liked the actress herself, I was not fond of the portraying of the character. Just re-watched the 2001 version and loved every minute of it, it was an adventure movie with an interesting story, well-balanced action scenes, interesting characters, and Angelina Jolie's Lara Croft is way more badass.

  • Seth Lopez
    Seth Lopez Month ago +1

    I thought this was well-made movie overall. The casting was enjoyable, it had fun action, and it felt closely inspired by the new games. There was an important change to the Himiko story, but I thought it worked for the movie. It does combine elements from "Rise of the Tomb Raider" in an interesting manner. This is definitely one of the better video game-based movies at this time. I just think it's stupid that the majority of focus from some viewers went to complaining about breast size! Alicia Vikander was awesome!

  • Captain Raz
    Captain Raz Month ago

    Just saw it. Pretty good! But With some minor problems

  • Toledo Tourbillion
    Toledo Tourbillion Month ago

    Your review is on the money Jeremy. Thanks

  • KyubitheNineTailFox
    KyubitheNineTailFox Month ago +1

    I thought the movie was fantastic. It has the video game feel but is still realistic enough to be a movie. I never got that "yea that's bullshit" feeling. I also really liked how Lara wasn't some superheroesque person who could do all this crazy shit but rather a normal human who happens to be fairly athletic, and that's what allows her to pull of those feats. Overall I really enjoyed it, I wasn't drunk, and I'll definitely remember it. Looking forward to the sequel.

  • Athrun000
    Athrun000 Month ago

    For anyone that played the 2013 tomb raider reboot, you'll find this movie to be pretty enjoyable.
    Don't expect the story to be groundbreaking, remember that this is a game movie. For a game movie, it performs as much as I expected.
    Thumbs up from me!!

  • Anders Hansen
    Anders Hansen Month ago

    I probably would've said No Alcohol Required because I was sober, and I did enjoy the movie. But the 'unbelievable twist' was rough on the old sober mind.

  • PunkJabi
    PunkJabi Month ago

    Love the game loved the movie!!!

  • superitgel
    superitgel Month ago

    I wish she was at least as sexy as polygon lara croft let alone the angelina jolie

  • Wesley VL
    Wesley VL Month ago +1

    Its a shit movie

  • Wilbert Beltman
    Wilbert Beltman Month ago

    I really disliked t his movie, I felt like it didn't know what it wanted to be. In the beginning I thought okay this is something TOTALLY different then the game okay, thats a good thing. But then later it takes plots points and scenes are so from the game theres even some stuff from Rise of the tomb raider in it that made me go "uhm wait what?" And I knew a certain character was added just to die. it was kinda predictable. At some points the movie was doing its own thing but then it was doing stuff from the game it was just a complete mess to me

  • Lloyd991P
    Lloyd991P Month ago

    That usp scene at the end of the movie.... fuck me..

  • garrett davis
    garrett davis Month ago

    This movie was trash. Best grade it can get is a 5/10 was really let down

  • Luke Thomas
    Luke Thomas Month ago

    I really liked this movie.

  • Amenhotep IV
    Amenhotep IV Month ago

    Angelina Jolie! is all about this movie!

  • Fangsabre
    Fangsabre Month ago

    It sounds like it based shot for shot on the reboot Tomb Raider video game.... And I am ok with that

  • Csgo Tutorials/Guides/Gameplay

    I went to go tomb raider and tbh, its probably one of the best movies I have seen this year.

  • Dr.Pepper
    Dr.Pepper Month ago +1

    AMAZYING MOVIE! one of the best video game movie !

  • Janely Helend
    Janely Helend Month ago

    wanted to watch some tomb raider reviews but damn your voice is so annoying...

  • Ryan Fanstone
    Ryan Fanstone Month ago

    This is literally a crappy version of rise of the tomb raider.
    Which is even more insulting after rise of the tomb raider had a cliffhanger ending!!

  • dave holland
    dave holland Month ago +2

    Still the best reviewed vg adaptation movie in recent year.

  • Nagato Ryu
    Nagato Ryu Month ago

    Shitttttyyy movie ever

  • wolverineiscool
    wolverineiscool Month ago

    yeah the movie sucked

  • Shaun S
    Shaun S Month ago

    Have to see it again due to the FUCKEN TEENAGERS who would not SHUT THE FUCK UP GAH!!!!!

  • Sir.WolfTreez
    Sir.WolfTreez Month ago +3

    I just saw it today, I really liked it. That's all I have to say.

  • Maximus1Decimus
    Maximus1Decimus Month ago

    Thanks for saving me from another crap movie, Jeremy. Love the channel my dude.

  • Katima XP
    Katima XP Month ago

    Yeah I agree. As soon as the plot took that twist the movie officially sucked for me. It really did not need to go that way. Vikander was a better Tomb Raider in a sucky movie.

  • Carson Brage
    Carson Brage Month ago +2

    I liked this one a lot.

  • bobby fagan
    bobby fagan Month ago

    Really didnโ€™t like this film at all

  • Jack Reacher
    Jack Reacher Month ago

    Good movie. I recommend watching Tomb Raider.

  • Jose Garcia
    Jose Garcia Month ago

    It was good I get it 7 outta 10

  • Paige Wilson
    Paige Wilson Month ago

    Everything good that you said about it, is literally straight out of the fucking game. It was better there.
    We all knew it would happen, so I guess no one can complain, but damn. Another mediocre one.

  • Mike Boncheck
    Mike Boncheck Month ago +1

    What the F......????? I thought this was a review....not a guy on crystal meth

  • ionicblood666
    ionicblood666 Month ago

    When was lara ever a bike messenger. Like what the fuck

  • CanadianShow
    CanadianShow Month ago +1

    They pretty much took the PS3 game and made it a movie
    They only changed and took something out
    But I was still entertained by it

  • Forever Fearless Magazine

    This is super! Check out my channel too :)

  • Neil Gaskin
    Neil Gaskin Month ago

    Don't forget people, Angelina is an American but Lara Croft is British!!! So respect Alicia!!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  • Nexus Clarum
    Nexus Clarum Month ago +1

    I give it an 8.5/10. A lot of the negative reviews I read I just don't buy. Sure, some of the actions sequencies were completely unreleastic but like we all said it's a video game adaptation. That obviously was going to be the case. But it isn't retarded shit like a 100lb girl overpowering 250lb man with brute strength retarded trying to shove some political message down our throats. It's just oh, she survived that fall? That's pretty damn lucky. Some climbing scenes near the end etc were like... yeah... no. But overall it's really enjoyable. I recommend it.

  • KindaDumb
    KindaDumb Month ago +1

    Sometimes I come back to see if Jeremy still sucks ass. Yup. This movie was better than being drunk fun.

  • Abraham Moya
    Abraham Moya 2 months ago +3

    Actually, I really liked the movie and thought it was very cool. I want to watch it again.

  • saidoterodiseno
    saidoterodiseno 2 months ago +1

    I liked it. I saw it yesterday, it captures the vibe of the new Tomb Raider games. It has some flaws but IMO it's a pretty good video game adaptation, and it's entertaining; I would say it's not the best but I can't remember if it has been made a good one recently.

  • Stitch underground
    Stitch underground 2 months ago +1

    I am not a big Tomb Raider fan but i thought the movie was pretty good i give it a 7 out 10.

  • guntar gaboza
    guntar gaboza 2 months ago

    Tomb Raider? more like mountain trekking!

  • QUEENDOM
    QUEENDOM 2 months ago +1

    Just play the games instead ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Sam Vimes
    Sam Vimes 2 months ago

    Did she get impaled as many times as she did in the 2013 game though?

  • Alexis Melendez
    Alexis Melendez 2 months ago

    Who else couldn't see anything during the boat crash scene and the epilepsy inducing lightening?

  • Chris Giordano
    Chris Giordano 2 months ago

    considering is a straight rip from the game , anybody who had played the game wont need to watch the movie , but its cool for bringing it to a new audience that otherwise would have not played the game

  • Chris Giordano
    Chris Giordano 2 months ago

    hey jeremy you need to play the Tomb raider definitive edition for ps4 , xbox one and pc , then re-review this movie , if you played the game you would know this movie is a scene for scene recreation of that game , including the story

  • MrFlamesFan12
    MrFlamesFan12 2 months ago +2

    Not gonna lie i actually really liked it.

  • Hagfromhell
    Hagfromhell 2 months ago

    I didnโ€™t like the movie at all, I know itโ€™s a video game based movie but it was bad and the plot wasnโ€™t interesting

  • carlee elizabeth
    carlee elizabeth 2 months ago

    okay now that it's been released and i've seen it a second time:
    i still agree that it suffers from pacing issues and like most movies that have come out in the past five or so years, it relies too heavily on you being familiar with the source material before you go in. the character establishing/building stuff was good (for most characters) and i liked the scenes with her and her dad (even though i suspect that's the thing you hated halfway through and i understand why), but the twist at the end didn't mean as much as it should have because we knew nothing about the guardian prior to that other than she had been lara's guardian.
    all of that said, i enjoyed it enough to watch it a second time and possibly a third. i'm not going to hold something that every movie based on an established franchise has been doing (i'm looking at you, marvel, black panther and phase one aside). i do enjoy the first angelina jolie movie more if we're comparing the two; i feel like that movie did a better job of telling a complete story without expecting you to fill in the gaps.

  • Breana Higgins
    Breana Higgins 2 months ago

    The movie seemed to take forever! It took almost an hour and half to get to the island and once there, the movie was trying to wrap it up as soon as possible. It.was.boring. They took some aspects from the recent video games but completely turned things around. If they stuck with the story of the video game as an origin story (which was a great story) then the movie would have been great! Same issue with Assassins Creed (all of the great stuff was taken out, boring exposition dialogue takes its place)

  • kelly levo
    kelly levo 2 months ago

    Lara Croft had a chance to kill Vogel from behind in his tent and no body would notice, instead she went outside and killed one of the guard which caused other guards to fire upon the prisoners. She had another chance to kill Vogel by flipping the latter/bridge while Vogel was standing in the middle which will cause him to falls to his death, instead she jumped in front of him in the middle of the latter and knocked him back to the other side, then she kicked the latter down the cliff anyway.

  • soaringbullet
    soaringbullet 2 months ago +1

    Really enjoyed this movie, it was fun which is what I expect from an action movie

  • MaximumMadnessStixon
    MaximumMadnessStixon 2 months ago

    I actually liked it quite a bit. It's not a great film by any means, but it was a good tonal and aesthetic representation of the 2013 reboot, the action was well executed and Alicia Vikander was excellent as the new Lara Croft. I'd put it about on par with the '95 "Mortal Kombat" movie- a bit silly and kitschy, but a ton of fun. I'd probably give it a "Good time, no alcohol required" if I was going by your ratings, or a solid 7 if I was going on a 1-10 scale. Definitely worth seeing on the big-screen. And I'd definitely check out a sequel if they made it.

  • Timberwulfx6
    Timberwulfx6 2 months ago

    I think Hotline Miami would be brilliant as a action, horror, and psychological thriller Netflix series

  • Lee Claxton
    Lee Claxton 2 months ago

    disliked because I don't like your editing style...PM me for tips

  • Lee Claxton
    Lee Claxton 2 months ago

    is this a good filme?

  • Ark Ortega
    Ark Ortega 2 months ago

    Probably better keep this as movie to stream via twitch if did this have her boat ton of money their not that many things done like this or ideas that move around the movie Theater

  • MagicianFlip69
    MagicianFlip69 2 months ago

    I just wanna see groot make a quick shapeshift to vin diesel and then back

  • Ryan Ghaffari
    Ryan Ghaffari 2 months ago +2

    THIS MOVIE IS ACTUALLY REALLY GOOD IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN IT GO WATCH IT HOPE IT GETS A SEQUEL.

  • Richard Jolly
    Richard Jolly 2 months ago +1

    Another crappy movie. Daddy issues and unnecessary action sequences. Oh yeah, she can't beat a girl in the ring, but can kill a male mercenary in the mud. I found the father more interesting and wondering how he obtained all those artifacts. Maybe make a movie based on the game instead of turning the game into a movie. Also, I think Gemma Arterton would make a much better Lara in a movie.

    • MrEverisforever
      MrEverisforever Month ago

      Richard Jolly That girl was a trained fighter.. The dude she killed was obviously not as skilled.

  • Jure Pivac
    Jure Pivac 2 months ago

    Best part of this movie for me was the trailer for Avengers Infinity War at the beginning.
    If there's a sequel, your gonna need the Rock in it .

  • Erin Toney
    Erin Toney 2 months ago +1

    The plane scene is stripped straight from the game. In fact, the movie is pretty much the 2013 game. I take it Jeremy hasnโ€™t played the game.

  • Chasity McKinney
    Chasity McKinney 2 months ago

    Jeremy Jahns singing Destiny's Child...my life is complete ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜โค

  • DINSTAR-AS
    DINSTAR-AS 2 months ago

    Enjoyed the movie overall and glad they didn't make Lara Croft a Mary Sue.

  • Jelly Boi
    Jelly Boi 2 months ago

    At least there getting better

  • Edward Diaz
    Edward Diaz 2 months ago

    Hi Jeremy. I only watch your reviews because youโ€™re so dreamy ๐Ÿ˜.

  • Oliver Salvatore
    Oliver Salvatore 2 months ago

    Which plot twist is he talking about??

  • Oliver Salvatore
    Oliver Salvatore 2 months ago

    It's was a good movie realllyyy

  • Oliver Salvatore
    Oliver Salvatore 2 months ago

    spoiler talk plz

  • Stephanie Ordonez
    Stephanie Ordonez 2 months ago

    Please review Red Sparrow!! ๐Ÿคž๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿคž๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿคž๐Ÿฝ

  • Rob .Turner
    Rob .Turner 2 months ago

    Solid- Not incredible, but delivers just enough. Got to agree with pretty much everything Jeremy said, though on a side note I like that the depiction of London is a bit more realistic than most Hollywood films.

  • Ryan Sottosanti
    Ryan Sottosanti 2 months ago

    I am more of an Uncharted fan, and the games will get a film adaptation. It's directed by Shawn Levy and is in pre-production. However, I do want to see Tomb Raider, though, since video game adaptations know what to do now.

  • DJ Jake V
    DJ Jake V 2 months ago +1

    It was a cool movie

  • BlueCorp
    BlueCorp 2 months ago

    Angilina Jolie > Alicia Vikander