Tomb Raider - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 1 705

  • Guillermo Almontes
    Guillermo Almontes 4 days ago

    this movie was fucking trash I hope they never try to make another one this was nowhere as good as the first 2

  • Pinkiepool GamerBrony27

    Still Better then the Assassin's Creed movie

  • Joe Snaffer
    Joe Snaffer 8 days ago

    I just want a Watch Dogs movie

  • VOLD GAMER
    VOLD GAMER 12 days ago

    i thought the film was decent, some parts where expected, some parts where rushed, but i thought the characters where good, and the parts that where from the game where good, the story could have been better, and the movie should have been a little longer cause it felt really short, but like jeremy said the film is a step in the right direction for video game movies. 7/10

  • sajid1891 1
    sajid1891 1 25 days ago +1

    It was an okay film. Good one time watch. It had its moments and at points it dragged. Meh

  • Appalling Ace
    Appalling Ace 27 days ago

    The games are better than this crap movie

  • Cren Ceolce
    Cren Ceolce Month ago

    Eh. Was too hard to watch, tried to get into it but just wasn't happening.

  • Liv Rogers
    Liv Rogers Month ago

    Fingers crossed they don't make another movie. I wasted money renting this because as a person who has played all the games including the new ones. The movie isn't true to the game at all

  • John Loop
    John Loop Month ago +1

    Facepalming every5 minutes...

  • OLDGAMESARE AWESOME

    Next film Lara Croft the revenge of the incredible shrinking titty woman

  • Amy Rietveld
    Amy Rietveld Month ago

    I don't play video games, and as such I can't judge the movie off of accuracy to the game, but I think that it was a solid movie. I really enjoyed it.

  • Mister M
    Mister M Month ago

    Lara was cooler when she had boobs and wore shorts.

  • jkhdfkjashdfk
    jkhdfkjashdfk Month ago

    This was possibly the worst movie I’ve ever seen. The Angelina Jolie versions sucked but were still much better than this.

  • Ulises Vences
    Ulises Vences Month ago

    That is the thing with movie adaptations if you're not playing the reboot game of tomb raider and you compare to uncharted you look like an idiot
    Nothing is original now of course is based on Indiana Jones
    If you are going to see a movies based on video games try to play the game first.
    Fans never been satisfied and non fans too

  • kratoscallofduty
    kratoscallofduty Month ago +1

    I liked Lara in this film....and that's it. The rest of it sucked.

  • TheKikkomaster
    TheKikkomaster Month ago

    Watched it drunk with friends...It was dissapointing. Felt rushed and hollow and not big or "epic" enough...Something really was missing here :(

  • Robert Kenny
    Robert Kenny Month ago

    My desire to see a Metroid movie contiues to sink.

  • Bellhelly
    Bellhelly Month ago

    "That was strait right up Uncharted 2 stuff" Chris didin´t played the video game, that´s directly from Tom Raider video game.

  • Saraceno Gaming
    Saraceno Gaming Month ago

    The movie is crap I was going to write a big paragraph about this movie but one word for this movie is crap

  • kSwissh007
    kSwissh007 Month ago +1

    alicia’s take as lara croft >> angelinas take as lara croft

  • Joshua Hansen
    Joshua Hansen Month ago

    I would've given it the same rating. Just because tons of characters who we know are smart make stupid decisions and there are more plot holes in this movie than a time travel movie. I did love the action before she got into the tombs and Alicia Vikander was great as Lara Croft. Unfortunately that wasn't enough to save the movie for me

  • Xanderstrife
    Xanderstrife Month ago

    one thing i was wondering why was why were the other characters in the movie. Like Sam and the other crew members from the video game. I mean this is pretty much based on the reboot one. So where were the other characters? Another thing i didnt get was that they messed up the plot from the video game where Himiko was the one keeping people on the island and not letting them leave. Like a supernatural force destroyed planes and such if they came or left. It was an ok movie. Kind of wish they did a bit better. But i guess if they make a sequel they gotta add the other characters to the mix.

  • BULLETSCARER22
    BULLETSCARER22 Month ago +2

    I just bought it, I thought it was awesome, and yea, it was better than Assassin's Creed, Assassin's Creed was cool with its concept, cast and that's it, but I loved this movie

  • Adrian Bigno
    Adrian Bigno Month ago +1

    All I know is there is a lot of climbing involved in this movie.

  • ReeLoy Kenjins
    ReeLoy Kenjins Month ago +2

    Pretty decent movie overall. There are some flaws, some which I've noticed include the dated trope of bad guys not being able to shoot for shit and the villain was just one-dimensional with no real backstory or reason for how he is and sometimes the CGI looked like a video game which, to its credit, is in a movie based on a video game so I guess I won't count that against the movie as much. But the ending was pretty good, there was some neat action and set design, and Alicia Vikander did a good job as Lara Croft. I'd give it a 7/10

  • zeroeien
    zeroeien Month ago +1

    Great movie, good watch all the way through. It's like no one can call a movie good unless it's like Citizen Kane or The Godfather these days.

  • D.C. Dave
    D.C. Dave Month ago +1

    Hated this movie. Angelina was a badass,not THIS wimpy person always losing fights.

  • SimsForever
    SimsForever Month ago

    i really enjoyed this movie. its much better than the last 2

  • joshs199
    joshs199 2 months ago

    This movie had so many cliche's it felt like a joke. But the non stop over the top CGI Action was almost distracting enough. For you to forget what a cobbled together piece of shit it is.

  • A P
    A P 2 months ago

    This movie had shit aspects undeniably

  • EyeAmBatman
    EyeAmBatman 2 months ago +1

    so what was this big gaping plot hole????

  • midoribishi
    midoribishi 2 months ago +1

    People like to nick pick but I enjoyed it.

  • Allen Walker
    Allen Walker 2 months ago

    It was entertaining to shut your mind off and watch, but once you start noticing some all the things that were weird it starts to crumble. Like the scene where he falls to his death in the pit but as he falls there is no wind? Just him everything still as he plummets.

  • jah blaques
    jah blaques 2 months ago

    i aint even gonna sugar coat it .... BULL SHIT

  • dontex7
    dontex7 2 months ago +1

    It wasn't that bad it was decent...I think she did a good job

  • John Arevalo
    John Arevalo 2 months ago

    Do a movie review called the last shift on Netflix please

  • Eric Manso
    Eric Manso 2 months ago

    To me the movie was boring but it did actual portray the tomb raider like the game the only thing and this might sound perverted is I wish her boobs were bigger

  • No one
    No one 2 months ago

    i dont like her hair in the movie. lara croft always has hair flowing down her forehead. in this its always slick back in a pony tail.....

  • DBS
    DBS 2 months ago

    The worst part of this film was Alicia Vikander
    .
    She can't act at all. It was almost painful to watch. The film would have nailed it had they taken more care in picking the actress instead of going with whomever was f*cking Michael Fassbender.

  • The Shadow Master
    The Shadow Master 2 months ago

    Honestly, I was just happy to see one of those classic treasure adventure films again, even if it wasn't the greatest film imaginable.

  • Apoorva Lundchuse
    Apoorva Lundchuse 2 months ago +1

    Sad really. This world has become so sensitive and people so fickle, movies HAVE to be politically positive to show women empowerment so it can have positive ratings and make money. This movie is not Lara Croft. There is no WOW. There is no sexiness. It is actually a big disappointment. If it was any other adventure movie, then it is entertaining and fresh in the sense that she does not appear to be indestructible like Jone McClane.

  • Furious Aravindh
    Furious Aravindh 2 months ago

    I really loved the movie !

  • savvagooner
    savvagooner 2 months ago

    What a shit movie

  • ThermaL1102
    ThermaL1102 2 months ago

    haven't seen this kind of bad acting for a while , actually never cause i always turn it off after 10 sec , same with this one
    thought , well , why don't i put it back on , 5 min in and i'm sick of these bad brittish actors
    the movie feels like bad british C movie or something worse
    are people really THAT far gone that they don't see this ? idk

  • somerandomknight
    somerandomknight 2 months ago

    I have to say, I got pretty disappointed that the tomb did contain anything mystical. It felt like that was missing in the movie.

  • Gooper Loper
    Gooper Loper 2 months ago

    whats up with the constant editing cuts? if its noticeable, its not subconsciously effective .. not for ME!! Bwahahha!

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur 2 months ago

    I would buy it on Blu-ray

  • Niekil Datt
    Niekil Datt 3 months ago

    waiting for bluray :)

  • Dorian Wilde
    Dorian Wilde 3 months ago +1

    I've played both rebooted games and LOVED them (TRIED to play the originals, but I'm not a good shot or a puzzle person) and as far as adaptations go, I felt this one was great. Many action sequences were taken straight from the games. I thought it was fun for what it is...Adaptation of a reboot of a video game. :)

  • HollywoodHuntsman
    HollywoodHuntsman 3 months ago

    Wait...this movie came out?

  • David Smith
    David Smith 3 months ago

    great movie

  • Ezra Daßer
    Ezra Daßer 3 months ago

    agree

  • David Gonzales
    David Gonzales 3 months ago

    Ehh still followed the game kinda honestly rather play the game but the movie was nice

  • vance astrovik
    vance astrovik 3 months ago

    Bleh...Shitty plot, and they made Lara UGLY with lesbian undertones and shrunk her boobs. Fuck this movie

  • dnw009
    dnw009 3 months ago

    Wish they brought more characters from the game with them, atleast like 1 or 2. Because now it was just her and the previous captain's son. Also the ending with the story they went for realism over magic. Was not too bad I guess just kinda wished to see some supernatural shit happening with Himeko.

  • Kazzong
    Kazzong 3 months ago

    yeah, the scene with the airplane was taken directly from the game.

  • Rasfa
    Rasfa 4 months ago

    Completely disagree. I see a couple of issues but none of the above.

  • Solvidro
    Solvidro 4 months ago

    I played both new games and i really like them. As for the movie: Loved Alicia Vikander as Lara, hated the story, other characters and effects were allright. Overall an okay movie that i will probably never watch again because i prefer the games with their story and characters.

  • steph g
    steph g 4 months ago

    well, i HATED assassins creed and finished it, so why not try out tomb raider, right? :)

  • rangawhitearm
    rangawhitearm 4 months ago

    I loved it

  • Kevin Godwin's channel
    Kevin Godwin's channel 4 months ago

    Wait what is the plot point he is talking about? I saw it, but I can’t think of it.

  • y u mad
    y u mad 4 months ago

    Great character building movie. Shes not 'the' lara croft but grows to be which is awesome.
    wish they kept the true Himiko mythology and plot of the game but i guess including solarii and the oni and reincarnation etcetc would be too convoluted

  • SteveTKO
    SteveTKO 4 months ago

    You serious? The movie was great. The character development was poor but the action sequence was good and acting was straight. I'm shock you Gave this a bad review

  • Kevin Reynart
    Kevin Reynart 4 months ago

    Probably the best video game movie adaptation we've gotten so far.

  • blottz
    blottz 4 months ago

    All the action scenes are in the game as well

  • Rex67Diego9 fandub
    Rex67Diego9 fandub 4 months ago

    i think you are giving way much of a hard time to the movie jeremy.
    the movie never dissapointed in fact it suprised, some of the trailer scenes look like i was gonna watch fast and furious meets indiana johns, so basically indiana johns and the kindgdo of the crystal skull.
    i thought lara was going to be this indestructible chick, the trailers really sold me those scenes like that, and when i watched the movie, i don't know what happened to the edition or the shot itself but it was believable, the parachute scene, the crashed plain scene, all the fight and chase scenes, they felt believable, they felt intense, i reall y enjoyed it and lara herself was a good character, not breaking any bounderies here, but she was a good character that felt genuine, unlike that shitty Rey from the last fart, she is skilled and talented sure, but she isn't invincible, i really like that.
    and lastly to your point with the character, yeah i agree with that, but outside of that character noone else was convinced about anything, the villian was just there for business, and that was cool.
    definately a good time no alcohol required.

  • rant osaurus
    rant osaurus 4 months ago

    Well jeremy you've won me over "I'm a subscriber!"

  • Bassem Elmehdawi
    Bassem Elmehdawi 4 months ago

    The writing in this movie was just so cliqued

  • rebecca
    rebecca 4 months ago

    What was the horrible plot choice you hated?

  • elanor2006
    elanor2006 4 months ago

    Saw it yesterday, was bored during most of the movie, the story barely made sense and had way too much pointless action scenes, bad guys shooting for half an hour on the island, stupid bike chase in the beginning, etc.. The only moment that was mildly intersting was the temple/adventure part at the end. Also she looked more like Katniss Everdeen than Lara Croft, though I did liked the actress herself, I was not fond of the portraying of the character. Just re-watched the 2001 version and loved every minute of it, it was an adventure movie with an interesting story, well-balanced action scenes, interesting characters, and Angelina Jolie's Lara Croft is way more badass.

  • Dark Grey
    Dark Grey 4 months ago +1

    I thought this was well-made movie overall. The casting was enjoyable, it had fun action, and it felt closely inspired by the new games. There was an important change to the Himiko story, but I thought it worked for the movie. It does combine elements from "Rise of the Tomb Raider" in an interesting manner. This is definitely one of the better video game-based movies at this time. I just think it's stupid that the majority of focus from some viewers went to complaining about breast size! Alicia Vikander was awesome!

  • Captain Raz
    Captain Raz 4 months ago

    Just saw it. Pretty good! But With some minor problems

  • Toledo Tourbillion
    Toledo Tourbillion 4 months ago

    Your review is on the money Jeremy. Thanks

  • KyubitheNineTailFox
    KyubitheNineTailFox 4 months ago +1

    I thought the movie was fantastic. It has the video game feel but is still realistic enough to be a movie. I never got that "yea that's bullshit" feeling. I also really liked how Lara wasn't some superheroesque person who could do all this crazy shit but rather a normal human who happens to be fairly athletic, and that's what allows her to pull of those feats. Overall I really enjoyed it, I wasn't drunk, and I'll definitely remember it. Looking forward to the sequel.

  • Athrun000
    Athrun000 4 months ago

    For anyone that played the 2013 tomb raider reboot, you'll find this movie to be pretty enjoyable.
    Don't expect the story to be groundbreaking, remember that this is a game movie. For a game movie, it performs as much as I expected.
    Thumbs up from me!!

  • Anders Hansen
    Anders Hansen 4 months ago

    I probably would've said No Alcohol Required because I was sober, and I did enjoy the movie. But the 'unbelievable twist' was rough on the old sober mind.

  • PunkJabi
    PunkJabi 4 months ago

    Love the game loved the movie!!!

  • superitgel
    superitgel 4 months ago

    I wish she was at least as sexy as polygon lara croft let alone the angelina jolie

  • Wesley VL
    Wesley VL 4 months ago +1

    Its a shit movie

  • Wilbert Beltman
    Wilbert Beltman 4 months ago

    I really disliked t his movie, I felt like it didn't know what it wanted to be. In the beginning I thought okay this is something TOTALLY different then the game okay, thats a good thing. But then later it takes plots points and scenes are so from the game theres even some stuff from Rise of the tomb raider in it that made me go "uhm wait what?" And I knew a certain character was added just to die. it was kinda predictable. At some points the movie was doing its own thing but then it was doing stuff from the game it was just a complete mess to me

  • Lloyd991P
    Lloyd991P 4 months ago

    That usp scene at the end of the movie.... fuck me..

  • garrett davis
    garrett davis 4 months ago

    This movie was trash. Best grade it can get is a 5/10 was really let down

  • Luke Thomas
    Luke Thomas 4 months ago

    I really liked this movie.

  • Amenhotep IV
    Amenhotep IV 4 months ago

    Angelina Jolie! is all about this movie!

  • Fangsabre
    Fangsabre 4 months ago

    It sounds like it based shot for shot on the reboot Tomb Raider video game.... And I am ok with that

  • Csgo Tutorials/Guides/Gameplay

    I went to go tomb raider and tbh, its probably one of the best movies I have seen this year.

  • Dr.Pepper
    Dr.Pepper 4 months ago +1

    AMAZYING MOVIE! one of the best video game movie !

  • Janely Helend
    Janely Helend 4 months ago

    wanted to watch some tomb raider reviews but damn your voice is so annoying...

  • Ryan Fanstone
    Ryan Fanstone 4 months ago

    This is literally a crappy version of rise of the tomb raider.
    Which is even more insulting after rise of the tomb raider had a cliffhanger ending!!

  • dave holland
    dave holland 4 months ago +2

    Still the best reviewed vg adaptation movie in recent year.

  • Nagato Ryu
    Nagato Ryu 4 months ago

    Shitttttyyy movie ever

  • wolverineiscool
    wolverineiscool 4 months ago

    yeah the movie sucked

  • Shaun S
    Shaun S 4 months ago

    Have to see it again due to the FUCKEN TEENAGERS who would not SHUT THE FUCK UP GAH!!!!!

  • Sir.WolfTreez
    Sir.WolfTreez 4 months ago +3

    I just saw it today, I really liked it. That's all I have to say.

  • Maximus1Decimus
    Maximus1Decimus 4 months ago

    Thanks for saving me from another crap movie, Jeremy. Love the channel my dude.

  • Katima XP
    Katima XP 4 months ago

    Yeah I agree. As soon as the plot took that twist the movie officially sucked for me. It really did not need to go that way. Vikander was a better Tomb Raider in a sucky movie.

  • Carson Brage
    Carson Brage 4 months ago +2

    I liked this one a lot.

  • bobby fagan
    bobby fagan 4 months ago

    Really didn’t like this film at all

  • Jack Reacher
    Jack Reacher 4 months ago

    Good movie. I recommend watching Tomb Raider.

  • Jose Garcia
    Jose Garcia 4 months ago

    It was good I get it 7 outta 10