Godzilla: King of the Monsters - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 29, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Godzilla: King of the Monsters, starring Vera Farmiga, Ken Watanabe, Sally Hawkins, Kyle Chandler, Millie Bobby Brown, Bradley Whitford, Thomas Middleditch, Charles Dance, Aisha Hinds. Directed by Michael Dougherty.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 12 364

  • mick cv
    mick cv 5 hours ago

    Just watched it finally and you’re dead on. Characters were awful and I literally fast forwarded through their scenes at the end and watched the monster battles. And the plot made no sense at all. Though tywin lannister was awesome.

  • Anthony Crayne
    Anthony Crayne 9 hours ago

    I expected cool monster fights and bad story and that's what I got so I wasn't disappointed.

  • logitechSDAZ
    logitechSDAZ 13 hours ago

    2014 Godzilla...the incredible actor Bryan Cranston was killed off way too early, leaving us with the unbearable Ford Brody (Aaron Taylor-Johnson). I'm sorry, this dude just can't act well to save his life. The scene with him and his wife (Elizabeth Olsen) kissing seemed off. No chemistry there at all. Seemed forced. The Halo jump scene borrowed the music from 2001: A Space Odyssey, but there was no real tension in that scene because it was obvious Ford Brody would survive that jump, because it was already well established that he was the main "badass" in the movie. So, once again, the audience is treated to Aaron's incredible acting talent of acting "scared" during the moment and breathing heavily...even though everyone knows his character at that moment is in no danger whatsoever.
    2019 Godzilla, Kyle Chandler is great. No, he's no Bryan Cranston, but at least Kyle is very good in the movie, unlike Aaron Taylor-Johnson. Vera Farmiga is great in her role. She is at times irritating, but she can act and portray emotion on a dime when needed. And I always have liked Charles Dance. Can't say anything negative about his performance. Millie Bobby Brown was good, not great. She wasn't in the movie enough to cause me to get annoyed (some child actors overstay their welcome and get very annoying in movies).
    Yes, there was a litte too much exposition at times, but it wasn't nearly as bad as Chris Stuckmann makes it out to be, especially if you are a casual fan of Godzilla, and not a hardcore fanboy. It probably should have been dialed back a peg or two though. But, I didn't find it distracting or annoying for the most part. I understand the exposition scenes were there to explain things to the first time, or casual Godzilla viewer. So, whatever. Yes, a hardcore, know-it-all Godzilla extremist would probably be annoyed by the exposition in explaining scenes to the audience. Deal with it.
    The overall action is better in Godzilla: KotM than in 2014's Godzilla. Yes, it is more over-the-top, and some scenes are silly (just like a lot of action scenes in the sci-fi genre), but it kept my interest more than most of 2014's Godzilla action scenes.
    Godzilla was shown way more in KotM than in 2014. Godzilla 2014 held back in showing the monster throughout most of the movie. That was annoying.

  • Tom Mccarthy
    Tom Mccarthy 13 hours ago

    Make a scarier film

  • Tom Mccarthy
    Tom Mccarthy 13 hours ago

    It would have been better if there were no people in it

  • Peter Smernoff
    Peter Smernoff 22 hours ago

    Good acting from Charles Dance and Millie Bobby Brown, but a terrible script and mostly hammy overacting. Visual splendor, but great special effects don't make this anymore than a nice-looking but still awful movie.

  • sunnymoney187
    sunnymoney187 23 hours ago

    Every time Godzilla is on scene this movie is great, when the actors are on scene I want to turn the movie off lol

  • Anton587
    Anton587 Day ago

    The music and the updated monster designs were enough to yell over the shitty acting, plot, and script. I enjoyed the movie, cried at the credits because it was all I hoped for and anticipated but it certainly a shit show from a film perspective. Still watched it 5 times and orgasmed every time Godzilla’s theme came on.

  • LostAndFoundVideo
    LostAndFoundVideo 2 days ago

    Where was KONG?

  • Stan Shady
    Stan Shady 2 days ago

    These days movie trailers are very tricky & misleading. This Stan watches reviews before watching the whole movie.

  • Hunter Nixon
    Hunter Nixon 4 days ago

    Honestly when it comes to a Godzilla films I don’t care about the human characters. I just wanna watch monsters beat the living hell out of each other. Let’s face it no Godzilla film will ever touch the original Godzilla. That movie is perfect. These Godzilla films are merely fun popcorn entertainment films

  • Noah Menz
    Noah Menz 7 days ago +1

    I hate it when people hate on American Godzilla characters! If you really think about it, how many characters in Japanese Godzilla movies are memorable? Exactly. Very few. How come we're fine with characters in Japanese Godzilla movies, but when America makes a Godzilla movie, we expect the characters to be great characters?

  • PrinceArt77
    PrinceArt77 7 days ago

    the script is so lousy....the characters are just not important in the plot. that chinese woman looking at the cocoon at the waterfalls and the same chinese woman at the argo...were they twins? the ending part is just so stupid. that humvee part is so annoying. how on earth that stupid lady scientist drove that humvee from the villain's lair towards the baseball pitch ? after all the rubble being created by 2 gigantic monsters fighting each other, the roads seemingly were just laid fine for her leisure driving. from baseball pitch to their stupid home, the road was laid out pretty well for their majestic journey...and how on earth that stupid girl found her way to her home with the city totally destroyed? how did she survive a total home demolition safely tucked in inside the bath tub without a scratch. that lady scientist surviving that horrific flying humvee on a total destructive, multiple tumbling crash with just a minor scratch on her nose bridge lying peacefully on the pavement with her indestructible feeble body. and that old villain, what happened to him and his merrymen? special effects is ok...storyline and script....fuckin nonsense.

  • Kane's Cauldron
    Kane's Cauldron 8 days ago

    The way the main woman/mother character was, just took away all the plot. Nobody goes to epic monster movies because some parent needed to soul search.

  • The Gentleman With the Mustache

    Godzilla movies have always been about no story, monsters fighting. Michael Dougherty was really just honoring that tradition, especially since he's a big fan of Godzilla himself. That's just the number one complaint every critic had. Too many monsters. As if they've never seen a fucking Godzilla movie before. This was an awesome addition to the Godzilla franchise!
    Also the soundtrack! The soundtrack is one of the best soundtracks I have ever heard. Never before had I been so pumped when I heard Godzilla's theme and classic roar! It was such a respectful piece in the film.

  • Bodhi
    Bodhi 9 days ago

    All I wanted was a great Godzilla movie..and what I got was a savior Jesus movie with all the pickings... I don't know how many times in this fucking movie Godzilla is going to save us he's the only one who can and then you see from a distance a Huge cross??? Wft???
    Gedorrah is a demon not of this Earth and must be stop.and then you have the other monsters figuring out which side to fight on????
    Oh a human emotional story put into monsters?? Wft???
    What the fuck is a Cross doing in this Movie??
    It's a fucking monster movie!!
    Not a religious movie...
    Boy I hope the King Kong and Godzilla movie are a whole lot better,3rd times a charm I guess...
    😴😴😴😴😴😴

  • Max Vorhees
    Max Vorhees 10 days ago +1

    Man, Chris you say you grew up with the big G but I think your 8 year old self was asleep while watching this movie and your adult film school journalist self is getting in the way here. 🤔 I love Godzilla films so much because they bring back the feeling of being a kid. But it’s interesting because the only Godzilla film critics seem to love and only give any real praise to is 54. I can always tell a real Godzilla fan vs a film critic that happens to “like” Godzilla films. It’s only 54 in their eyes. 🙄

  • princekilana
    princekilana 10 days ago

    We came here for big ass monster fights

  • Levi Gifford
    Levi Gifford 12 days ago

    What do you rate the 2014 movie?

  • mark montana
    mark montana 13 days ago +1

    who needs a plot or mourning the loss of characters when the film's unapologetically stated position is that the REAL monsters threatening the planet, in need of eradication, are HUMANS.
    This is some George Soros, Illuminati, "Great Culling" shit, masquerading as a mindless monster movie. Hollywood poses an existential threat to our species and must be destroyed.

  • Oscar Garcia
    Oscar Garcia 14 days ago

    Bro chris stuckmann what plot will it be about monsters killing each other it's because of you and others that maybe we wont get the Godzilla vs king kong enjoy a popcorn movie

  • The Moral Reform Chronicles

    I was very satisfied with this movie. I loved the monster fights and I loved loved how they brought back the Godzilla theme.
    A lot of nostalgia with that man

  • ZFistAce
    ZFistAce 18 days ago

    Millie Bobby brown was so bad in this movie lol. I still remember her emotional crying scene lmao

    • Nintendozilla17
      Nintendozilla17 6 days ago

      *Spoilers*



      She's gonna come back in godzilla vs kong lol

  • Carnage 2018
    Carnage 2018 19 days ago

    This movie was everything I wanted. A Godzilla movie featuring the iconic 4 (Big G himself, King Ghidorah, Mothra and Rodan) made by an American film studio and with American actors.

  • Batmandude 17
    Batmandude 17 19 days ago

    This movie was so overhyped along with Captain Marvel and other movies
    But I thought it was okay, yes the characters and story were awful, but I enjoyed it I guess
    B-

  • emil engen
    emil engen 19 days ago

    Yeah, it's not directed as well as godzilla 2014.

  • Horizons Anew Video Game Review

    Godzilla and the monsters are all that matter. Likeable characters do not make a movie.

  • Tony
    Tony 21 day ago

    They killed Kenny!!!1!!

    And Mothra RULES!!!

    that is all....

  • Daniel Ziran-Xu
    Daniel Ziran-Xu 22 days ago

    There is no Ultraman in this movie.

  • Cole REVIEWS
    Cole REVIEWS 22 days ago

    MICHAEL DOUGHTERY (DIRECTOR) MOVIES RANKED
    1. GODZILLA KING OF THE MONSTERS (2019) B+
    2. TRICK 'R TREAT (2007) B
    3. KRAMPUS (2015) B-

  • Rocket & Groot
    Rocket & Groot 23 days ago +1

    *I'm just gonna call this movie*
    *Monster-Porn*

  • ConnorG 420
    ConnorG 420 24 days ago

    Just watched this film and I thought it was one of the worst films of the year! Absolutely terrible human characters with stupid not even close to being funny humour! It's a shame as the monsters were amazing! But just didn't get enough screen time of them 👎

  • Free
    Free 25 days ago +3

    Did you ever think that:
    The Kaiju have characters?
    Godzilla gets so much development
    He is first portrayed as self centred and he very much believes he can win every battle he enters. This is shown by his first fight with Ghidorah where he attacks Ghidorah in the open very rashly, and loses the fight.
    In their next fight, Godzilla learns from it. This time, he uses the ocean to his advantage and wins that battle. That is until humans interfere and end it abruptly and that results in the G-Man being down, feeling weak and like he isn't the Aplha the planet needs.
    With the sacrifice of Serizawa , which the Dr and Godzilla had a heart to heart moment, Godzilla is remined he is the last hope of Earh, and that he needs to win against Ghidorah
    The final battle in Boston, Godzilla uses what he has learnt. He accept the help of humans, using them as allies, not something to be ignored, and accepting help from Mothra. He wins this battle and we see a more developed, wise Godzilla from the one we started with.

    Oh, look at that. A developed character. You would think that a reviewer would know who the protagonist of the movie is.But you ignore the protagonist and act like the side characters are the main characters. The amount of development form Godzilla and Ghidorah (without any words) is amazing. Rodan and Mothra get quite a bit to, but i wish they got more, it isn't as in depth as Godzilla's

    • David Gonzalez
      David Gonzalez 19 days ago

      This is one of the main why I liked this movie , The monsters are characters.

    • David Brown
      David Brown 23 days ago

      Speak the truth man

  • AmateurSpaceman
    AmateurSpaceman 27 days ago

    The only interesting character in Jurassic Park was the Ian Malcolm character. The rest are pretty stock characters, but they still put the characters in this movie to shame.

  • free_your_mind
    free_your_mind 27 days ago +1

    who wants to watch 'human ants' when there are so many ancient gigantic monsters fighting each other? Humans don't matter in the world of giants... its like asking what does the human race matter to the sun, stars or planets

  • Consensus Pigeon
    Consensus Pigeon 28 days ago

    Here is my review of the movie
    US army is going against mass murdering titans while a terrorist mom who matches osama binladans energy fights her husband on weather or not she should be allowed to release more rampaging killers on the earth to “save it” we’ll miss thang I personally don’t agree with genocide but apparently you and your daughter think it’s the “right thing to do” she said she was perfectly sane but I’m pretty sure that’s what terrorists think. Funny that they paint the terrorists as the good guys

  • iTRY_ Mash
    iTRY_ Mash Month ago +1

    were we supposed to notice the humans? i just saw my boy Godzilla n was pleased☺️💪🏼💪🏼💪🏼

    • David Brown
      David Brown 23 days ago

      Yeah boy can't wait for godzilla vs kong

  • stuff Explained
    stuff Explained Month ago

    I was very excited for king of the monsters but after watching it it felt empty even though there were so many monsters. The fight scenes and the characters were worse than 2014 in my opinion. I know there weren’t many fight scenes in 2014 but the few minutes those fights lasted felt great but I know a lot of people don’t feel the same way.

  • Final Press USA
    Final Press USA Month ago

    Are serious about the "too many monster fights and not enought people drama?"
    The most annoying scenes are the cliche'd drama scenes of
    "reach for my hand!"
    "no i have to go on suicide run its the only way"
    "there she is!" (cut all sound and go slomo)
    "no im going to stay and sacrifice my life for my daughter and husband"
    "we have to hold him back just long enough to make 1 last shot"
    They keep feeding us the same bullshit because we fall for it everytime.
    pathetic.

  • rom kvodi
    rom kvodi Month ago +1

    C- Are you series ? Come on. When you watch godzilla, Who cares about the plot.

  • Frederick Swanson
    Frederick Swanson Month ago

    Chris, I agree with most of you reviews. This is one of the few I can’t get on board with. GKOTM was epic from a true Godzilla fans perspective. Ain’t it was a great popcorn flick for a casual. When people left IT chapter 2 I heard many people talking about how it sucked. Even heard a few whispers of disdain while leaving Joker which didn’t surprise me actually. Didn’t have that experience leaving this movie. Everyone seemed pretty satisfied.

  • St. Clair Dancing
    St. Clair Dancing Month ago

    I do think you right on your points Chris! Their were several plot points that could've have been expanded on. There was some symbolism that would alienate many people...and the crappy climate change, were destroying ourselves plot line....STUPID. The use of legend about dragons in China and other areas is completely out of context and just dumb! The end she says, "long live the king?" Stupid! Stupid! Stupid! Now were the monster fights cool, yes..pretty awesome in the CGI, but everything, like you're mentioning of the scared little girl...there was so much more there.

  • IKEA
    IKEA Month ago

    Regardless of how "bad" the movie went , Godzilla will always remain iconic , in the community and outside the community .

  • HECTOR MEJIA
    HECTOR MEJIA Month ago

    The main characters are good and the antagonist is well done, it's really the side characters that are bland as hell. Plus, the fact that there's not a lot of plot isn't at all a problem in a godzilla movie, or monster movie of any kind, my grade:
    B/4 stars
    P.S like Detective Pikachu and Dumbo(yes I'm serious) I feel like this is a movie that REALLY doesn't deserve all the hate it gets

  • Inspector Lau Kin Ming

    No offense Chris, but have you ever seen a Godzilla movie besides the original and the American remakes? It sounds to me you just like saying you're a fan of things, while barely pertaining any knowledge about said thing.

  • Stewie
    Stewie Month ago

    Totally agree, the story was very very stupid. Plus there is no suspense at all, nothing is at risk, some little made-up Mexican village? And the needless exposition and bad dialogue. The 2014 movie is vastly superior. Example: on the train with a nuke heading for the tunnel. That was suspenseful and built up to a good scene. Nothing like that in this film.

  • JiNzX115
    JiNzX115 Month ago

    C- is a little too harsh. This really is a new genre of film, much like MCU for people to just get on a roller coaster ride, that's about it. It can't be compared to actual films that focus on the aspect of storytelling. There's no storytelling in Godzilla, just a bunch of bing bang boom whacky smacky sequences.

  • Alex youtube channel

    Random person: I hate Godzilla 2014 because there's not enough godzilla
    Random person again: I hate Godzilla 2019 because there's too much Godzilla
    Me:What are you talking about?

  • William Buchanan
    William Buchanan Month ago +4

    This movie was great. Don’t know wtf you’re talking about

  • 3 ngàn
    3 ngàn Month ago

    What a bunch of butt hurt

  • Nuralif Othman
    Nuralif Othman Month ago

    loved the movie, there so many omages towards the old japanese movies. the theme songs, mothra dying to revive big g, godzilla blowing up like a melting pot etc.

  • AsapVision
    AsapVision Month ago +1

    The only human characters I liked were the dad the Asian lady and Asian guy from the 2014 movie

    • Alex youtube channel
      Alex youtube channel Month ago

      You mean Godzilla king of the monsters because there's no Asian woman in the 2014 Godzilla 2014 film.

  • The Napski
    The Napski Month ago

    Now if they had the story line and cast from the first movie combined with all the monster sequences in this movie, we would have the best Godzilla movie EVAH!

  • CyberKnight_Miky
    CyberKnight_Miky Month ago

    I kinda disagree on your topic. Yeah the story and the film isn't perfect, but most of us fans dö care of an improvement to the 2014. While it's beautiful and Gareth Edward do get the monsters, but the protagonist felt bland, not enough Godzilla scenes (while many Godzilla films do cut away him, but are interesting which comes next), and they cut away to humans that aren't interesting at all. Example like the final battle, almost one of the best if they didn't cut away to Ford Brodey multiple times.
    The reason why they have many monsters is because the three others if you cut out Godzilla are the three of "the Big 5", which never was potraid in the big screen by US stand point. Yeah few are disappointed, but remember it's Godzilla's 65th anniversary, just like Final Wars is his 50th anniversary. More caos, more risks, wish too that there's more developement but they were humans that are watchable. While this point is not relevant but make a point, like how Shin Godzilla is. Sure no main characters but that is the point. It was a metaphor of Japanese bureaucracy screwing up everything back in Fukijima Nuclear disaster, tsunami and earthquake. Their decisions cost every single life to be lost. While 2019 message isn't clear, but it is mostly of our choice's that got more worst to our world and need to be fixed, and try to stop King Ghidorah to overthrow him off the throne of being King of The Monsters.
    Yeah It's not "the best", but it is an improvement and a blast to see again.

  • Cole REVIEWS
    Cole REVIEWS Month ago +2

    Monsterverse Ranked
    1. Godzilla King Of The Monsters
    2. Godzilla 2014 Reboot
    3. Kong Skull Island

  • Kevin Hodjat
    Kevin Hodjat 2 months ago +1

    You have developed a brain after 1998? I was like mabey you have bet then you said you liked the 2014...

  • Laserdemon Frostmage
    Laserdemon Frostmage 2 months ago

    Godzilla is a film franchise that can be interpreted in a handful of ways BUT APPARENTLY people here only would like to see them in these following ways:
    Japanese (or a lot of them at least) see it as a film about how humans deal with “godzilla situations”, Americans (or a lot of recent fans at least) see it as a monster action film.
    My honest viewpoint is that it’s an OK - bad film.
    It has pros and cons and frankly a lot of people here would focus on the negative side usually because they lean or prefer the human part AND the political commentary of the concept of godzilla’s prescence.
    What I am kinda saying to the comments:
    You all don’t have to be shitters of other opinions on this comment section jeez. It’s like a huge dumpster fire here. Shitters create more shitters and eventually just cause a massive shitstorm.

  • Cyrus The Great
    Cyrus The Great 2 months ago +1

    Godzilla KOTM actually has a very interesting plot. Long ago, humanity engaged in a costly war with Titans. It would seem that the history between Man and Titan in the MonsterVerse was more complicated than it was originally thought. Also, it appears the humans and not the monsters were the villains of the story.
    The third film in the MonsterVerse touches on the history of the Titans and their association with humans when Monarch goes down into the Hollow Earth tunnels to find Godzilla. They discover an ancient underwater civilization that was apparently Godzilla's home. Paintings on the walls indicate that the humans who once lived there worshiped Titans like Godzilla as gods. It's suggested that back then, humans revered the Titans and treated them with respect rather than fear and suspicion, which is how modern humans tend to regard the monsters.

    The redacted text in the credits of Godzilla: King of the Monsters tell a very long story about the relationship between humanity and Titans, which goes back thousands of years. At the beginning, humans did indeed worship Titans, but things changed when humans somehow developed a method of telepathic communication with the Titans. These ancient humans sought to gain control over the Titans, who they believed could be used for purposes of warfare. The Titans became slaves to the humans, but some were able to rebel against their masters. As a result, a war ignited between them.


    Though the credits don't reveal a winner, they do say that the human survivors scattered and formed colonies all over the world, which does hint at defeat for mankind. Also, whatever happened in the war caused an event that the redacted text refers to as "the cataclysm". It's not clear what this "cataclysm" was, but it was somehow devastating enough to trigger the Ice Age, which means that the world's biggest weather phenomenon is related to the actions of Titans (and humans) in the continuity of the MonsterVerse.

    This would mean that the war is the single most important event in the history of humanity. The war reshaped human civilization by scattering the survivors all over the planet, forcing them all to start over. The results of the war can serve as a warning for modern humans in the MonsterVerse, since Godzilla: King of the Monsters reminded humans of the existence of Titans and just how much destruction they can cause if provoked.






    Addendum: Credit goes to ScreenRant.

  • Stefen B. Echols
    Stefen B. Echols 2 months ago +1

    I hated every human character in this movie.

  • Cynicas
    Cynicas 2 months ago

    Critics: tHeRe ArE tOo MuCh mOnStErS

    Godzilla fans: .............so?