New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 5, 2018
  • Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it -- everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new USB-C port. Dami Lee and William Joel, professional creatives at The Verge, also give their insight into the new iPad and Apple Pencil.
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Here's a link to buy the iPad Pro: amzn.to/2E8BDeV
    Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TVclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 801

  • Imogen Scott random
    Imogen Scott random 4 days ago

    😭😪😪😦😦😧😧🖕🏻👇🏻

  • Ibdman2000
    Ibdman2000 4 days ago

    I got the feel u wanted to focus on the negatives just to get longer view times. Bad move.

  • Jack Gonsalves
    Jack Gonsalves 5 days ago +1

    iPadOS answers allllll your concerns for the new iPad Pro

    • Nick Stein
      Nick Stein 23 hours ago

      Will it run a full version of Safari and Excel. I found out my first day of class the mini will not. So the iPad mini is virtually useless in class, except for handlheld notes and reading lightly.

  • Immortal gamer
    Immortal gamer 8 days ago

    After iPad OS will I be able to use stuff like photoshop full like on Mac

  • AO1337
    AO1337 8 days ago

    Yeah, because the verge would know lots about computers.

  • Will _
    Will _ 9 days ago +3

    Hopefully iPadOS will allow it to genuinely replace a laptop. That’d be great for students, such as myself.
    I’m in nursing school and Notability with the Apple Pencil is fantastic. I can take notes and have the textbook split on screen to write and read as I need.

  • Mademoiselle Jolie
    Mademoiselle Jolie 10 days ago

    My best friend just baught me this ipad this morning I should have it next week. Although I felt weird for someone to spend so much money on me. Now that I see the limitations PLEASE HELP DECIDES SHOULD I PICK SOMETHING ELSE. Reason I can't go on TVclip, I thought I get it to you use for my radio to store all my music what do you guys think? This is my 1st Ipad by Apple at the same time I don't want her to spend all this money and I don't truly put it to use.

  • R. J. Smith
    R. J. Smith 11 days ago +1

    "Can it replace your laptop?" TL;DR version: No.

  • David Swanson
    David Swanson 11 days ago

    I love how much Apple prioritizes privacy vs Google. But you nailed it. This is why I hate Apple. It's roadblock after roadblock. I wish Adobe would support Linux. I would get rid of my Mac and never look back.

  • Dramatello
    Dramatello 13 days ago +1

    Dear human from November 2018..... I come from the future (July 2019 to be exact) and I'm here to bring you this message: iPadOS !!!

  • huda kh
    huda kh 13 days ago

    I got one but I honestly am very disappointed.. 💔😭

  • Lithostheory
    Lithostheory 17 days ago +1

    apple

  • Benjamin Hall
    Benjamin Hall 21 day ago

    Amazing review, Nilay et al.

  • Scott Hill
    Scott Hill 28 days ago +1

    Really need my Ipad Pro to run Excel calculators like me Macbook Pro .
    I use Office 365, but can't seem to get my
    calculator out of read only mode ...
    Suggestions ?
    Trying to lighten up my travel load with IPad Pro but really need my calculators with Excel

  • Paul Thierry
    Paul Thierry 28 days ago

    On the new iPadOS update, you can also enjoy the desktop version of websites on your iPad so you can use web apps like Google Docs, Squarespace, and WordPress.

  • Paul Thierry
    Paul Thierry 28 days ago

    In the new iPadOS update, you can connect an external hard drive, SD card reader, and, yes, even a USB drive.

  • Brandon Zernicek
    Brandon Zernicek 29 days ago +1

    All these great features and all this power and he’s trippin on “4K” 😪

  • Evy White
    Evy White Month ago

    I wonder if I should get this iPad when I already have a laptop. I’m a student btw lol

    • heaven whitten
      heaven whitten 11 days ago

      it depends what laptop. i have a hp that only works when it’s plugged in with the charger and i want the ipad pro instead buying another windows laptop. if you have a macbook already don’t buy an ipad

  • Pebbles
    Pebbles Month ago

    I really appreciate this information. real tech-journalism that was very relevant to me. thank you.

  • MrFlimFlam
    MrFlimFlam Month ago

    You’re problems are fixed! IpadOS out now (for devs)

  • Careless Demon
    Careless Demon Month ago +15

    thats why apple brought up iPadOS. i am looking forward to it

  • Omar Chavez
    Omar Chavez Month ago

    This is my first ever iPad and its a the quickest

  • Gary Capili
    Gary Capili Month ago

    Seems like you dont like the tablet why dont you give it to me.

  • Connor K
    Connor K Month ago

    8:13 well said

  • Miri Hawk
    Miri Hawk Month ago

    *it's more expensive than my laptop*
    Well maybe if you get 256gb wifi only with a better case for half the price and a used pencil it won't be

    • Miri Hawk
      Miri Hawk Month ago

      @Shayan Doomed Some people if using as a laptop might possibly

    • Shayan Doomed
      Shayan Doomed Month ago

      @Miri Hawk I mean... is there really ppl buying the 1T option? Like its so overkill specialy with cloud options

    • Miri Hawk
      Miri Hawk Month ago

      @Shayan Doomed it doesn't, but it will certainly be cheaper than 1800 dollars.

    • Shayan Doomed
      Shayan Doomed Month ago

      @Miri Hawk same tbh; but doesnt change the fact that the ipad itself is quite expensive (doesn't mean its not worth its price tho)

    • Miri Hawk
      Miri Hawk Month ago

      @Shayan Doomed You'd be surprised...I have gotten many pieces of tech for half the price that worked identically.

  • Danj126
    Danj126 Month ago +4

    Imagine Tony Stark’s arc reactor only being used to power your lamp. This is that

  • anshu raj
    anshu raj Month ago +1

    Please review it again after ipados 13

  • Dheer Chandru
    Dheer Chandru Month ago

    Why is he wining about every thing like a little kid

  • Gabrielflor
    Gabrielflor Month ago

    But my muscle car is bad tho

  • Kevin Freire-Souza
    Kevin Freire-Souza Month ago

    No more headphone jack
    Me
    Well now they can’t say there was no space to put it

  • Stan Carpenter-Rickert

    The new iPadOS fixes most all of the “issues” talked about in this video.

  • Spazza42
    Spazza42 Month ago +58

    Well, iPadOS will fix most of these gripes

  • Ness
    Ness Month ago

    eh... id rather get an entry level surface pro with a keyboard and pen all for under a grand... at least it’s a full laptop. far too much for just a glorified entertainment machine.

  • omar arreola
    omar arreola Month ago

    “You don’t want to adapt to a computer, the thing should adapt to me”. Well, people adapted to the iPhone very well in 2007. So...

    • john d
      john d Month ago

      People want more control too. This is what they talk about

  • Satan, The Skinny Whale Legend

    You can use RavPower FileHub if you wanna use flash drive or hard disk on your iPad. You can use Puffin Web Browser if you wanna browse the desktop version, it uses Flash.

    • Satan, The Skinny Whale Legend
      Satan, The Skinny Whale Legend Month ago +2

      earthall79 Doesn’t matter. iPadOS 13 now lets you use hard disk drive and flash drive and internet browsing is now desktop style.

    • earthall79
      earthall79 Month ago

      Doesn't SanDisk have a USB for ipads/iPhones?

    • littlecubes
      littlecubes Month ago

      The main crux of the iPad Pro here is that these features should already be part of the OS from the start. Thankfully, iPadOS coming out this Fall will solve both of these issues.

  • cryptoBall
    cryptoBall Month ago

    I hate how apple hinders the community not helps it, not reading usb sticks is one example of this...

    • cryptoBall
      cryptoBall Month ago

      @Aman Agarwal ya they're making money moves! Picked myself up an ipad

    • Aman Agarwal
      Aman Agarwal Month ago +3

      They have added it in ios 13

  • Ted Strang
    Ted Strang Month ago +1

    Yes you are stuck in your ways. As kids that all know tablets, then the laptops will go away. “Get off my lawn!”

  • Srujan Barai
    Srujan Barai Month ago +2

    This is how tech reviews should be.

  • Christos tv
    Christos tv 2 months ago

    can i print

  • Shankaracharya Chakraborty

    Best lines: You know what? I'm tired of waiting...

  • Flower_power
    Flower_power 2 months ago

    I will be purchasing an iPad pro tomorrow. I know it will not be a replacement for my mac book as I will mainly be using it for note-taking, productivity, and drawing. In my opinion, it is IDEAL for artists and designers.

  • Edwin Black
    Edwin Black 2 months ago

    what did you say you want your computer to adapt to you hahaha you always adapt to your computer

  • Miranda Halbrook
    Miranda Halbrook 2 months ago

    My new apple iPad Pro asked at the begging if I want to set up as new I pad so I did I entered a new Apple ID and so one I went to the store I came back to finish and entered my Apple ID now it’s saying wrong Apple ID wtf

  • harsha choradia
    harsha choradia 2 months ago

    Hey hey can u please help me out in ipad pro can i use ( coreldraw , adobe photoshop , adobe illustrator ) ?
    Hope u rply me soon :)

  • Tapas Ranjan Meher
    Tapas Ranjan Meher 2 months ago

    This iPad not have ear phone jack

  • Amit Kumar
    Amit Kumar 2 months ago

    I wont get the money to buy this even if i sell myself lol

  • Bacon Grease
    Bacon Grease 2 months ago

    I ducking love my 12.9 pro. So freaking clean and fast. I’m a major media consumer. So I use my iPad all day long. And I sell tech for a living so I use it to demo to customers.

  • ButterPeanut
    ButterPeanut 2 months ago

    I wish that they had a iPad mini pro.

  • Anime World
    Anime World 2 months ago +2

    I have an iPad pro it's amazing I bought an apple pencil because I am a little artist and it's help a lot!❤️

  • William Freeman
    William Freeman 2 months ago

    Back in 2017, I bought the iPad Pro 12.9 with the 512g as I thought it would be a great replacement for my 13 inch MacBook Pro that sadly died. But unfortunately although it was fast, it just wasn’t the same experience, the form factor was great and I loved the touch screen, but at the end of the day, it came down to the operating system, it felt like an oversized IPhone which it basically is! Until Apple decide to change the operating system over to OS, leave the smaller iPads and obviously iPhones with iOS, but for the IPad Pro I think it would be the ultimate computer/tablet if they put OS on it for the 11 and 12.9 inch pro

  • Stewart Hines
    Stewart Hines 2 months ago

    my macbook pro from 2014 can't even run rush or premiere pro doing 1080p haha

  • Harvivek Dhindsa
    Harvivek Dhindsa 2 months ago

    This is the only Verge vid that i have liked so far and i own this thing

  • Mike Valavicius
    Mike Valavicius 2 months ago +1

    You know what else is looked over? Unless you use Bose app you cannot connect two headphones to the iPad pro while watching movies. what a bummer...

  • AKEWSD
    AKEWSD 2 months ago +1

    Closed end system is a double edge sword. They need to co-exist with other non apple products.

  • Aisyah Rozi
    Aisyah Rozi 2 months ago +1

    great review dude, so honest and exactly how I feel about IOS.

  • John Barrett
    John Barrett 2 months ago

    Try Airmail instead of Mac mail

  • sanch Sanchayan
    sanch Sanchayan 3 months ago

    I will take it when I feel I really need it. Otherwise my current Dell 2 in 1 is enough for me.

  • Luke Pruscino
    Luke Pruscino 3 months ago +1

    Still an upgrade from a chromebook.... I’m buying it soon

  • Derek Xue
    Derek Xue 3 months ago

    reallay nice juicy bear

  • Dexter Daniel
    Dexter Daniel 3 months ago +7

    Great review. Influenced my decision NOT to get the iPad Pro. Thanks

  • Jon Bee
    Jon Bee 3 months ago

    I don't think Apple will ever make their iPads as 'true' laptop replacements any time soon. Could be in the future, but if they do that, then they might as well discard their entire MacBook lineup which they probably won't do since they're making money on both their laptop division and tablet division separately. They're getting fairly close but who knows if that will ever happen.

  • Savannah nike
    Savannah nike 3 months ago

    Am getting a iPad pro on my birthday April 30 and my sister is getting a ipod it's like a small phone on her birthday may 26

  • Dom
    Dom 3 months ago

    It’d be cool if the iPad Pro was just an experiment to see if the tablet’s CPU can beat current MBPs. Hence we’d see MBP mounting the same specs or faster in Late 2019 or 2020-given the fact that macOS needs to be adapted to run on a different CPU. Hell, they could also go with macOS on iPad Pro

  • CASMANWHAT
    CASMANWHAT 3 months ago +6

    I have it and it definitely makes my heart flutter. Love it.

    • Perpendicular Driving
      Perpendicular Driving 17 days ago

      @GXNGHIS Google docs is better

    • GXNGHIS
      GXNGHIS 21 day ago

      CASMANWHAT a bit late sorry, how is Microsoft word on it. Tempted to buy one but as a uni student Microsoft word etc is realllly important and there’s not many vids on it

  • Lizzie D
    Lizzie D 3 months ago +5

    I love to draw, and i was always dragging around hundreds of pencils, erasers, inks, watercolors, etc for years. I received this with the keyboard and pencil for Christmas, and I now can just sit down on the couch, bed, table, anywhere, and draw

  • Mario Georgiou
    Mario Georgiou 3 months ago

    Excellent Review, you echo my sentiments and it's one of the main reasons I am angry with Apple. They lack a real OS on iPad for computer users ... it is still just a second class media device with some great capabilities. They have deliberately hamstrung this tech because they knw it will replace their computers in a minute if they were more robust OS wise.

  • khayias hamilton
    khayias hamilton 3 months ago

    Ya “the verge” I really don’t enjoy the same reporter reporting all of apples main flagships, change it up give us some other opinions from a range of reporters not just the same reporter covering the same topic every year...

  • Ariana Zuniga
    Ariana Zuniga 3 months ago

    I not understanding your language please talk Spanish

  • Jim Beam
    Jim Beam 3 months ago

    What about an OLED display? Think the fall models will have it?

  • Diego Vides
    Diego Vides 3 months ago +1

    I love your reviews! You always knock it out of the park! The verge production team is simply unparalleled

  • Xanh
    Xanh 3 months ago

    Does mouse work with this?

  • Yellow Slipper
    Yellow Slipper 3 months ago

    It seems like this review is about iOS 12, not iPad Pro 3rd gen.

  • Amber L
    Amber L 3 months ago

    So I’m deciding between the iPad Pro and the cheapest Mac. I’m a blogger and don’t need anything too fancy, but I need to be able to save and edit photos and work on my website. Suggestions? Max I want to spend is $1200. I’m open to Windows based option but I’m a fan of my iPhone and how it operates. Portability is great but not a deciding factor so that’s why I’m considering a desktop.

  • Ying Dong
    Ying Dong 3 months ago +86

    Imagine a nuclear reactor powers a fishing boat; this is that.

  • Nazhif Jamil
    Nazhif Jamil 3 months ago +7

    I wish Apple releases MacOS update for the iPad Pro

  • Paul L
    Paul L 3 months ago

    Great review

  • RetroGhost
    RetroGhost 3 months ago

    its a tablet why do people think it will replace a laptop or desk top computer.sorry the power might be there but it just wont replace them

  • Jacob Keys
    Jacob Keys 3 months ago

    If you want to do operations which you simply cant do on iOs, just use MacOS ... They will never make changes like you mentioned just because they dont want to and then the Macbook would be a nonscense to buy.. Just learn more about Apple before any other review

  • Malo RK
    Malo RK 3 months ago

    Great review, man! I'm watching this on a Samsung tablet that I love.

  • Silver Soul
    Silver Soul 3 months ago

    First time to see dami lee in person like in person video person

  • Silent 1969
    Silent 1969 3 months ago

    I really want it instead of getting a laptop but they made it just such a hard choice with the software

  • mrcasavechia
    mrcasavechia 3 months ago

    This is a really good review. As a professional photographer I want to have the iPad do more so I can use it for travel assignments that are one to two days. It would be great to tether to it without needing a laptop. Plus editing one photo that client needs while you're on the road, it can't been done on an iPad like you can do it on a laptop. You're 100% right, you have to adjust to the computer, the iPad is fun and I have an older iPad Pro but I really only use it for email and looking over documents.

  • OMGz1122
    OMGz1122 3 months ago

    Apple is like the company who loves to sell you accessories

  • Nikko
    Nikko 3 months ago +9

    If they put MacOS on an ipad, then it’s game over

    • Martin Jeppesen
      Martin Jeppesen 2 months ago

      @Likecomment Coolness Well I wouldn't hold my breath. It's way easier to put arm-based processors across all devices. It will allow you to do pretty much the same, and it's a natural move for Apple since they won't have to rely on Intel hardware anymore.

    • Martin Jeppesen
      Martin Jeppesen 3 months ago

      @Likecomment Coolness bootcamp is for macs, not iPads.

    • Martin Jeppesen
      Martin Jeppesen 3 months ago

      They won't though. I think they will put their processors in the Macbooks, so all apps can run on all devices.

  • Todd Dominey
    Todd Dominey 3 months ago

    The point about websites kicking you out to iOS apps is enough of a reason to keep me switching to an iPad from a Macbook. Makes sense why it happens, but that would drive me crazy.

  • James Burns
    James Burns 3 months ago

    if u want to overpay and not have access to any apps besides the most popular ones sure

  • Yuvraj Chauhan
    Yuvraj Chauhan 3 months ago +2

    Apple why do you restrict us.

    • Diego Regalado
      Diego Regalado 3 months ago

      Yuvraj Chauhan They want to conform us to their ecosystem. All apple or nothing.

  • Nemesio Artaiz
    Nemesio Artaiz 3 months ago +1

    I have the same sentiment. Yes Its a fast and expensive device, but it can't even handle usb c flash drive files. Im sticking to my old ipad 12.9

    • GM 3
      GM 3 3 months ago

      Nemesio Artaiz the old ones Support at sternal storage

  • Mike Jones
    Mike Jones 3 months ago

    why does apple still use intel chips in the macbooks ?

  • Holger Laufenberg
    Holger Laufenberg 3 months ago

    He primary reason why is no real computer is the lack of a real file system and the shortcomings of mobile software. Even Apple’s own FileMaker Pro mobile version can’t perform primary functions like importing data on the iPad.

  • ZEN 2019
    ZEN 2019 3 months ago

    If you buy that, then you have to stick with mobile apps and their limitations..(most of the great apps are not free as well)
    u better buy a laptop with that price.. and you can even play AAA Games and Office and Photoshop and Web Browsing and Hacking and Torrenting and Entertainment (TV, Movies and Music..) it probably wont have touch scren but what tha heck.. using wireless keyboard and mouse is way better and more precise for anything

  • Alpha Delta X
    Alpha Delta X 4 months ago

    No mouse support, no files system for God's sake, has USB-C but doesn't recognize SSD/ Flash drives/ External Hard disk, no desktop app support. This is a joke. Surface Go/ Pro are the real laptop replacements.

  • Steve Buddy
    Steve Buddy 4 months ago

    $2200?!?! I'll just either wait for Apple to come out with something actually worth $2200 or I'll just buy a Surface Pro and a Samsung Tablet! Thank You Apple!!!

  • Dinho Lima
    Dinho Lima 4 months ago

    Ya. I think the same... this is sooooooo stupid. Even an Apple fan as I am can think about why those idiots keep stealing our money, making useless iPads, just to sell more macbooks.

  • Akhil krishna Chowdary
    Akhil krishna Chowdary 4 months ago +4

    Truly Honest review.. thumbs up

  • Marty Ericson
    Marty Ericson 4 months ago

    Best. Review. Ever.

  • silverwess
    silverwess 4 months ago +2

    I have the previous version and this one. my review is I like it more than the last one. My review is done.

  • Hector Coronel
    Hector Coronel 4 months ago

    just buy a freaking laptop

  • randomaccount
    randomaccount 4 months ago +2

    What's the deal with Apple and External Storage???

    • FireWall
      FireWall 4 months ago

      Probably to get people to spend money on iCloud and internal storage.

  • Explosion
    Explosion 4 months ago

    From who did Apple get the inspiration from
    *HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM*