New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed

Comments • 5 670

  • Javeria Zulfqar
    Javeria Zulfqar 17 hours ago

    i dont think apple is trying to replace laptops with this ipad because they're trying to sell the entire ecosystem ((iphone, mac, ipad). i doubt it'll ever be able to replace a laptop entirely simply because apple wants to push macbook sales too.

  • Chino Designs NYC.com
    Chino Designs NYC.com 19 hours ago

    I just purchased it, FYI guys remember Photoshop will have a version in 2019...can't wait!!

  • Alden Clarke
    Alden Clarke 22 hours ago +1

    You're trying to force your dated laptop ways onto the iPad Pro. Remember, we've been doing our Mac laptop thing since the 90s. This is a paradigm shift in how a computer fits into life. Evolve or go extinct!

  • robotechfans
    robotechfans 22 hours ago

    "it's more expensive than my laptop"
    "I should love it....."

  • Tracee Lopez
    Tracee Lopez Day ago

    It’s like you’re really really trying to find every bad thing. Lol
    Overall, pretty decent review :p

  • Nathanael Hoffman

    This guy low key annoys me lol

  • Cristiano Maestro

    Really. Could on my laptop Fortnite runs 1 FPS on my tablet 30

  • KWAN Francis
    KWAN Francis Day ago

    Cannot tell how much I agree with the critic from the Verge about the new iPad Pro in 2018.
    In 2018 when apple is showing off how powerful the new generation iPad Pro could be , apple at the same time shipping the by-product that how obvious the limitations of an iPad (or iOS) are . With all these amazingly powerful hardware in the new iPad Pro 2018, it's the first time we see the iOS is holding the hardware back from reaching its full potential while forcing consumers to pay the bills for the hardware. All of these marketing doesn't make sense at all when we're talking about an iPad more expensive than a capable laptop computer. Eventually, if you're paying a price as much as for a powerful laptop , you're demanding for getting serious things done efficiently , rather than appearing to be aesthetically cool casually.
    Lastly, Well, having no real file/folder management capability in such mature iOS is really an immature behavior .

  • JON Gergeceff
    JON Gergeceff Day ago

    Awesome review Mr Patel

  • Sonia
    Sonia Day ago

    I LOOVE MY I PAD PRO 2018

  • Declan Sharp
    Declan Sharp Day ago

    Lol better then apples laptops i7 cpus hahaha apple is straight garabage for what you pay for. People waste so much money its funny af

  • Dilan Stubbins
    Dilan Stubbins Day ago

    For a college student who just uses this for notes, writing essays and basic use is this fine or should one get a MacBook Pro?

  • Phanitej Kanchu
    Phanitej Kanchu Day ago +1

    $2200 for tablet! , no thank you.

  • Biggie Phil
    Biggie Phil Day ago

    I wish Apple would install Mac OS on the iPad Pros.

  • hotmojo1
    hotmojo1 Day ago

    I use the fan. What more do you need?

  • Thayer Vahan
    Thayer Vahan Day ago

    I wish to use this iPad pro for school work and drawing. Would this be good for school work such as, Google classroom, Google docs, Google slides, etc?

  • Chris Lynch
    Chris Lynch 2 days ago

    I’d wait for the pro 2020 before buying into this. Kudos costs..

  • Rafael Freitas
    Rafael Freitas 2 days ago

    Mossberg certainly disagrees.

  • Muneeb Chaudhry
    Muneeb Chaudhry 2 days ago

    I have the previous gen 12.9 inch iPad Pro, and I love it for what it is. However, I agree with everything you said in this review. If you know what you’re using it for and its limits - its a great machine. I’m a student, and for me its a paperless option for note taking with apps like Notability. And I have the added convenience of having a computer for pretty much anything I need. I’ve used a laptop for school work, and it’s nowhere near as engaging and versatile for note-taking in lectures. That being said - the iPad can’t be a computer for people that need a full computer and full-strength programs... Maybe someday, but it’s not there yet.

  • Eric Pellegrini
    Eric Pellegrini 2 days ago

    A reviewer who thinks a GeekBench means an iPad is as fast as a laptop.
    Not impressed.

  • Encanto India
    Encanto India 2 days ago

    I am planning to buy a new portable device. I am confused between Surface Pro and this iPad pro. Budget is not an issue. Can all you people please help me decide. Till now I have been using Samsung Tab s3, iPad 3 and HP x360. HP is basically a laptop but its small and i can use it as a tab though heavy.

  • SlowRide
    SlowRide 2 days ago

    I don't want iOS at that price. At that price just give it OSX. then and on;y then will it truly replace a laptop.

  • Cult Snarez
    Cult Snarez 2 days ago

    Pro DJ gear works with Surface Pro 6. Just saying....

  • Grady White
    Grady White 2 days ago

    You said Adobe wrote a Siri app that imports photos from the camera roll into Lightroom CC and then automatically deletes the imported photos from the camera roll. What is it called and ow do I get this app? I cannot find it anywhere.

  • R Snr
    R Snr 2 days ago

    I’ve felt that dockand app switcher gesture has been difficult for quite some time.

  • Angelo V.
    Angelo V. 2 days ago

    Nice review overall. Despite being critical of the iPad Pro, I’ll still, probably get one compared to the new MacBook Air. I mainly use my computer to type documents, to create slides using google drive and to surf the web for news and entertainment like a normal tablet. It can probably replace my laptop, especially when Apple fixes the Files feature. The one thing that I heard no one talk about at all is the iPad Pro’s future proofness.
    The A12X chip is so powerful that it could probably handle future iOS updates for the next decade at most. Overtime, Apple will develop iOS to be more optimized with more iPad specific apps and third party apps that take advantage of the A12X. So if I do buy one as a laptop replacement, I should be fine based on what I need for now. However, if I do need more pro apps later down the road, the iPad will probably have those apps by the time I need them. Either way, I think it’s a good purchase for me.

  • Mainak Roy
    Mainak Roy 2 days ago

    Damn

  • Taylor Albaugh
    Taylor Albaugh 2 days ago

    Omg just bring MacOS to the iPad Pro dear lord so many people want this!

  • icephoenix88
    icephoenix88 2 days ago

    The next iteration will have the full OS. Next thing you know everyone will be rallying behind apple saying they are so innovative & changing the game - _-. Until they actually do something signicant I'll stary away.

  • Theodore Yamada-Dessert

    *"Yet"* or *"...for now"* should be included after every one of his complaints. People forget that this thing can improve greatly fast. For this reason, I found this video slightly misleading, but for the most part I really liked this product review.

  • Gerhard Wunderler
    Gerhard Wunderler 3 days ago

    Excellent review... you really nailed it! Was a big Apple fan years ago, but they lost me with this stupid compatibility issues like not playing Googles 4K vids, not allowing my 1st gen. MacPro to run an OS beyond Lion even though it is capable of etc...

  • TheLouis9720
    TheLouis9720 3 days ago

    I’ve got an 800€ bonus to spend in electronic shopping for the school but I’m actually in doubt between the new IPad Pro , the old MacBook Air or the base model of the MacBook Pro. What would you suggest to me ? Consider I have a mid 2012 MacBook Air 11” which fits a lot with my daily use (web browsing normal stuff ), the most important thing for me it’s MATLAB using, that is not still available for iPad . Thank you for your attention.

  • # TooMuchScotty
    # TooMuchScotty 3 days ago

    The pen being magnetic should’ve been on the first iPad pro. Why don’t they make a iPad Pro that can do everything a laptop can do, the tech is already in there hands but they don’t because they will put those features in the next iPad pro

  • Kaito Hamada
    Kaito Hamada 3 days ago

    Hooold up! iPad Mini from late 2018? What's that? And it shouldn't be the iPad he placed next to the iPad Pro 2018 the scene after he said that...

  • Sean Mather
    Sean Mather 3 days ago

    Apple can do hardware so well.... they really need to focus on software and compatibility. The walled garden is no longer useful in keeping people in the apple ecosystem, it’s keeping the company from growing bigger. If it more seamlessly fit in with my other devices then it would be great, but right now my phone and iPad feel like they’re on their own little island. At this point I think 3 things need to happen. One is apple needs to go all in on it’s own chips, as clearly it can take full advantage of it. Secondly they need to bake in great x86 compatibly into OS X once they move to be all A series processors. Finally OS X needs to be on every pro machine and optimized for touch, while iOS should be the non pro system.

  • corsegerspwnd
    corsegerspwnd 3 days ago

    No

  • Art Online
    Art Online 3 days ago

    Thanks! Welcome to my channel!)

  • Arya1999
    Arya1999 3 days ago

    No proper keyboard, no replacement. If you're a touch typer who has to type all day, chicklet keys are a frigging nightmare. I've had to buy a gaming machine.

  • thinlycuta4paper no lastname

    With osx yes

  • gene978
    gene978 3 days ago

    Not a fan of the Price of the pencil after using a normal Stylus from Dollar Tree waiting for the pencil to come in. The new Pencil cannot open HOME SCREEN of Shift side to side to the next Application. The Keyboard Bores me to pieces and $200 is outrageous for this No frills Keyboard with No Home Button or short cuts and Can’t full protect the device when closed. I was hoping Logitech or someone else had something out for this 12.9 Pro so I can bring back this horrible plain keyboard. The IPad is nice but miss the Touch sensitive home button for unlocking and it’s features. I still have my other IPAD PRO that is still like NEW condition and I am asking myself do I need this new one? The screen is beautiful and the depth is amazing but not $1200 worth.

  • Aegon Aram
    Aegon Aram 3 days ago

    I would rather a yoga C930

  • jujuju222333444
    jujuju222333444 3 days ago

    conclusion: im not buying one. btw, GREAT REVIEW! : )

  • Jega Surian
    Jega Surian 3 days ago

    i can use headphone adapter for 3.5mm jack cable? and we can export photos , videos & some files to memorycard using card reader?

  • Phil
    Phil 3 days ago

    Love iOS as a mobile OS but this is like strapping a Ferrari engine on a horse.

  • Tijmen Brozius
    Tijmen Brozius 3 days ago

    I only have the last version of the 12,9 version to draw in Photoshop - on my Mac. I use the Astropad app to do that, it does a great job of turning the iPad Pro into a graphics tablet. I did this to avoid having to buy an expensive Wacom Cintiq. So for that it works. I absolutely hate the roadblocks mentioned in the video, and use an android phone - I would never use iOS daily.

  • Orelion
    Orelion 3 days ago

    "I don't want to adapt to my computer..." But that's the entire mantra of Apple in all long their products...

  • sdq sdq
    sdq sdq 3 days ago

    Folding screen is the future

  • AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali

    Then what is the best unit that replaces your laptop?

  • Axel Fischer
    Axel Fischer 3 days ago

    I can’t use Rosetta Stone on this beautiful but USELESS IPAD without a FLASHDRIVE!!!!

  • Axel Fischer
    Axel Fischer 3 days ago

    Apple get it together!!!! I want a IPAD that REPLACES A COMPUTER!!!!!

  • Kalid Dueck
    Kalid Dueck 3 days ago

    IT IS NOT A COMPUTER REPLACEMENT!!!! Why is everyone bringing this up in their reviews. The iPad was never meant to be a computer replacement.

  • Shivamrinder Kapoor
    Shivamrinder Kapoor 4 days ago

    This review was soooooooooooooooo good

  • micah
    micah 4 days ago

    love the honesty

  • Stephen  Andrews
    Stephen Andrews 4 days ago

    If I live for another 50 years maybe I could save up for it !!!

  • Alex
    Alex 4 days ago

    Have you tried Y Disk flash Drive? It has a free app. I'm using it with iPad 2017. I have a the 125GB Flash Drive.

  • Paul M
    Paul M 4 days ago

    One note: the old Apple Pencil could be charged with lightning chargers using a tiny adapter that comes with the unit. (which was really easy to lose) I always ended up charging it the 'goofy' way by sticking it into the port so it looked like an old bluetooth antenna

  • Paul M
    Paul M 4 days ago

    Haha "it should make my heart flutter." I wish I could get that excited about tech. Maybe if someone gives it to me for free :D

  • David Bowen
    David Bowen 4 days ago

    Best tech review I've watched/read in a long time. Same frustrations with iOS!

  • Joe Monsanto
    Joe Monsanto 4 days ago

    I have been an iPad fan for years, but with this version, they've lost me. I can't justify spending $1,500 for something that won't truly replace my laptop. I have business apps which I simply can't run on an iPad. As it is, I was using my iPad mostly to RDP to a windows desktop.

  • David Builes
    David Builes 4 days ago

    Thanks for the review. Very informative and upfront :D

  • Mike O'Connor
    Mike O'Connor 4 days ago

    The ipad is not supposed to replace a computer. its a tablet not a computer and will always be that.

  • RunningFromAdults
    RunningFromAdults 4 days ago

    Too much greed. Not enough innovation.

  • karotofel
    karotofel 4 days ago

    Give me that exact thing but with macOS and I will throw all the money at apple. Ppl say that for years now but apple is just laughing at this

  • Robin Offringa
    Robin Offringa 4 days ago +1

    It could.....


    If it had mouse support....

    • Chris Earl
      Chris Earl 3 days ago

      One of my biggest leaves is try to type, and not having mouse support. Sometime selecting text, or correcting spelling errors is a massive pain even when using the pencil

  • DiamerladGamer
    DiamerladGamer 4 days ago

    Am I the only one who believes that they stole the "program on Tablet" thing from Microsoft, The Attachtable keyboard from them too?

  • Marek Sławiński
    Marek Sławiński 4 days ago

    I think next year iOS 13 will bring much needed software features to iPad. Right now software is two steps behind hardware.

  • Flash Thunder
    Flash Thunder 4 days ago

    cheap HP printer did not work? what?! I would expect it to work in the first place!

  • NAD T
    NAD T 4 days ago

    No and too expensive

  • iforce2d
    iforce2d 4 days ago

    12:10 lol I thought I heard him say $2200 for a minute there :D


    ohhhh.....

  • Herman Bodewes
    Herman Bodewes 4 days ago

    Surface Pro with windows 10 is way more useful than the iPad pro. Better from every point of view.

  • adss70
    adss70 4 days ago

    Best review to date.

  • Smart Computers Tech

    screw this - nothing is better than my old Lenovo running Windows 7.

  • Theta
    Theta 4 days ago

    I think (and hope) Apple have some big plans for iOS 13 in relation to iPad Pro. It needs a complete custom design on iPad with more exclusive features (and ability to use external storage media!) Sometimes it feels like Apple have absolutely no idea what they're doing.

  • Tong Yong
    Tong Yong 4 days ago

    Good points!

  • Will Darling
    Will Darling 4 days ago

    wow, no 4K youtube is a dealbreaker 7:20

  • BIG T.
    BIG T. 4 days ago

    2 minutes in, got bored

  • Angry TechAddict
    Angry TechAddict 4 days ago

    And the stupidest decision: Mac book Air (wich is definitely sitting in front of you when you want to use it and you are looking at it) gets Touch ID and the iPad Pro (wich may just be laying next to me on my desk) I have to pick up now and look at it from the right angle for every little thing I want to check... What genius came up with that??? Also screw the new iPad because of the removal of the headphone jack, huge camera bump and still the lack of mouse support...

  • Bodhisattwa Mondal
    Bodhisattwa Mondal 4 days ago

    verge really knows how to make great reviews!!

  • Awang Shahirman
    Awang Shahirman 4 days ago

    All i need is MacSpectacle Pro 😎😂

  • alkdfn
    alkdfn 4 days ago

    That's a lot of unread emails! :O

  • txny
    txny 4 days ago

    If the bezel was thinner, it’d be harder to hold comfortably

  • Bernd Kiltz
    Bernd Kiltz 4 days ago

    Thanks for that very well made review. You got the limitation right on spot, keeping my macbook and old ipadair2 :)

  • Paul Rone-Clarke
    Paul Rone-Clarke 4 days ago

    Virtually none of the software I use is on it. Can't install proper office apps, doesn't run the CRM I use and when I want to game, most are not available. No use to me at all.

  • Lucho Nesemaro
    Lucho Nesemaro 4 days ago

    Awesome video, thanks man!

  • Faye Petersen
    Faye Petersen 4 days ago

    who really wants to watch TVclip in 4k tho?

  • Ryles
    Ryles 4 days ago

    This iPad is nice and all, but does it have ActiveX controls?

  • Wawasjohn
    Wawasjohn 4 days ago

    Thank you for telling me that iPad Pro can’t do 4k TVclip. Main reason I was upgrading. can I assume that is also the case for Netflix? My air 2 is fine but has a medium size scratch and was liking everything else about the pro. Guess I’ll wait for next upgrade now.

  • Pedro Kritselis
    Pedro Kritselis 4 days ago

    Best review I have seen thus far. Personally owning a iPad Pro, It will NEVER take over a MacBook Pro (not yet).

  • Carla E Photography
    Carla E Photography 4 days ago

    Thank you for such an informative review!

  • Charles M Rinehart
    Charles M Rinehart 4 days ago

    Now that 0 to low interest rates have ended, many companies are raising prices including Apple, which raised prices on the MacBook and iPad 20-25%. Glad I bought my 9.7 earlier this year.

  • Vince Friel
    Vince Friel 4 days ago

    "the old apple pencil was pretty great specs-wise"
    lmfao

  • Fironic
    Fironic 4 days ago

    How do I get the shortcut for Adobe import you were mentioning for Lightroom CC?

  • Mike Martin
    Mike Martin 4 days ago

    Very On point review

  • chariots8x
    chariots8x 4 days ago

    I use USB flash drives a lot. Doesn't Apple have any accessory to allow us to connect a USB flash drive to the iPad?

  • Séverine Richet
    Séverine Richet 4 days ago

    "I don't want to adapt to my computer, I want my computer to adapt to me." -> what a shame !!! life is about adaptation. My dad 77 use an ipad pro and no more computer, my son 19 use an ipad pro at university. If you do not want to go out your bondaries, your mind will stay so tight. Remember me something ...Is Microsoft a share holder of The Verge? Maybe yes... That's probably why the testers/journalists need more probity.

  • 2Evan
    2Evan 4 days ago

    Really enjoyed the balanced review. Yep, powerful tablet, but that power can't be used to its fullest. Time to upgrade the Air-2. Need a pen too. Bummer the (no) headphone jack. Should not have to find a workaround at that price. Zero interest in geeky wireless earphones. Fingers crossed software will catch to hardware.

  • Joshua Lyle
    Joshua Lyle 4 days ago

    Did he say PPI means points per inch?

  • Khmer Digital Store
    Khmer Digital Store 4 days ago

    Our customer has placed order this New iPad Pro from Cambodia!!! It's best fit with Apple Filio Smart Keyboard. Believe it or not???

  • Near By Gamer
    Near By Gamer 4 days ago

    the plug in play USB works better on android but Apple restricts I'd like to see the external GPU's work but eater a 2in1 or android will probably work

  • EvanWolf
    EvanWolf 5 days ago

    Honestly, this was a good review and an honest one but I feel like there was just so much negativity towards the new iPad. If I would have watched this before I bought mine it would have convinced me to not buy it but I'm glad I did buy one. Overall, great review keep up the content