New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 5, 2018
  • Apple’s new iPad Pro is a beast of a tablet, and Nilay Patel reviews it -- everything from its new design and screen to plugging in several devices to the new USB-C port. Dami Lee and William Joel, professional creatives at The Verge, also give their insight into the new iPad and Apple Pencil.
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Here's a link to buy the iPad Pro: amzn.to/2E8BDeV
    Note: we sometimes place affiliate links directly to the best deals in our video descriptions, so we may earn a commission if you buy something.
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Subscribe to Verge Science on TVclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 5 812

  • Richard Francisco
    Richard Francisco 3 days ago

    thank you so much for this review!

  • kristances
    kristances 5 days ago

    Just the review I needed TT been battling between getting a laptop or just risking it with the new iPad Pro (since they promoted it as a portable and drawable laptop) This definitely cleared up my confusion. Loved it.
    Hope you can do a new review on the new iPad? Or maybe the iPad Pro with the new iPadOS?

  • Max
    Max 11 days ago +1

    No it can’t, it’s literally just a bigger iPhone. Can’t run adobe flash so no

  • C l
    C l 19 days ago

    This was so helpful!!!

  • Josephine König
    Josephine König 19 days ago +1

    PERFECT review! Thank you!!!

  • vong Vang
    vong Vang 21 day ago +2

    It's not the hardware that's the problem, it's the software.

  • Bo Zhao
    Bo Zhao 26 days ago

    This the my third iPad after I traded in my iPad pro 10.5'. The best iPad ever made and it releases the full potential that any iPad users expect for some of functions a laptop possesses. This new gen of iPad is a leap from its predecessor. It is capable of a 'light' office working while you are on the go.

  • x_Drop_Dead_x X
    x_Drop_Dead_x X 27 days ago +1

    I just ordered the 11inch hype!

  • Schuyler Trinidad
    Schuyler Trinidad 28 days ago

    Best and most sensible quote on this video "i dont want to adapt to my tech, i want my tech to adapt to me"

  • AwesomeManPlayz
    AwesomeManPlayz 29 days ago

    It could do so much more... but it just doesn’t want to.

  • Natalia
    Natalia 29 days ago

    It's perfect for artists, otherwise it's too limited to be a laptop replacement.

    • Natalia
      Natalia 27 days ago

      @rocketlauncher29 Totally true, they make it easier to export the files but that's not enough and interrupts the workflow. Not to mention I have to switch to my laptop which defeats the purpose of using the iPad in the first place. But honestly, I'm getting tired of watching my friends whip out their iPad anywhere and start sketching or working on homework while I'm stuck wondering if it's worth the hassle to take out my wacom, cables, start up my laptop, etc. I'm an illustrator but for visdev, not for editorial. I've noticed that procreate has worked just fine for most of everything entertainment related; keyframes, color scripts, landscapes, creature designs, etc. I think I'm willing to spend some money to increase my productivity in everyday life, and if I need to I'll export the files to adobe.

    • rocketlauncher29
      rocketlauncher29 27 days ago

      Even for artists it´s so limited....like imagine i´m an illustrator who wants to edit a book, I should be able to draw and edit the content (Adobe Indesign) in the same device... And for the price, that is the least apple could do, just like he said, it´s just an accesory (a very expensive one).

  • Matthew Griffin
    Matthew Griffin 29 days ago

    How can I not watch 4K on a $2000 laptop??? 😔

  • FireKicks
    FireKicks Month ago +1

    ipados fixed your issue bro lol

  • OMGWTFLOL
    OMGWTFLOL Month ago

    Pass. I've been hoping for years that an iPad would eventually replace my laptop, but not yet. The external storage limitation is ridiculous. I'm quite happy with my Macbook Pro anyway. It does everything I need and I don't have to attach a keyboard, among many other pluses.

  • --
    -- Month ago

    it’s an ipad not a computer. if it worked exactly like a computer like you want it to, it wouldn’t be an ipad it would be a computer. they are two different devices all together. buy whatever you want but don’t complain that an ipad doesn’t work like a computer because news flash it’s not meant to.

  • ethan quirke
    ethan quirke Month ago

    Such a good video

  • Beiron Esq
    Beiron Esq Month ago +1

    This video needs to be grossly updated.

  • Wakon Lee
    Wakon Lee Month ago

    Would Bluetooth printing work?

  • Clay More
    Clay More Month ago

    Dami Lee 😍

  • Imogen Scott random
    Imogen Scott random 2 months ago

    😭😪😪😦😦😧😧🖕🏻👇🏻

  • Ibdman2000
    Ibdman2000 2 months ago

    I got the feel u wanted to focus on the negatives just to get longer view times. Bad move.

  • Jack Gonsalves
    Jack Gonsalves 2 months ago +1

    iPadOS answers allllll your concerns for the new iPad Pro

    • Nick Stein
      Nick Stein 2 months ago

      Will it run a full version of Safari and Excel. I found out my first day of class the mini will not. So the iPad mini is virtually useless in class, except for handlheld notes and reading lightly.

  • Immortal gamer
    Immortal gamer 2 months ago

    After iPad OS will I be able to use stuff like photoshop full like on Mac

  • AO1337
    AO1337 2 months ago

    Yeah, because the verge would know lots about computers.

  • Mademoiselle Jolie
    Mademoiselle Jolie 2 months ago

    My best friend just baught me this ipad this morning I should have it next week. Although I felt weird for someone to spend so much money on me. Now that I see the limitations PLEASE HELP DECIDES SHOULD I PICK SOMETHING ELSE. Reason I can't go on TVclip, I thought I get it to you use for my radio to store all my music what do you guys think? This is my 1st Ipad by Apple at the same time I don't want her to spend all this money and I don't truly put it to use.

  • R. J. Smith
    R. J. Smith 2 months ago

    "Can it replace your laptop?" TL;DR version: No.

  • David Swanson
    David Swanson 2 months ago

    I love how much Apple prioritizes privacy vs Google. But you nailed it. This is why I hate Apple. It's roadblock after roadblock. I wish Adobe would support Linux. I would get rid of my Mac and never look back.

  • Dramatello
    Dramatello 2 months ago +1

    Dear human from November 2018..... I come from the future (July 2019 to be exact) and I'm here to bring you this message: iPadOS !!!

  • huda kh
    huda kh 2 months ago

    I got one but I honestly am very disappointed.. 💔😭

  • Lithostheory
    Lithostheory 2 months ago +1

    apple

  • Benjamin Hall
    Benjamin Hall 2 months ago

    Amazing review, Nilay et al.

  • Scott Hill
    Scott Hill 3 months ago

    Really need my Ipad Pro to run Excel calculators like me Macbook Pro .
    I use Office 365, but can't seem to get my
    calculator out of read only mode ...
    Suggestions ?
    Trying to lighten up my travel load with IPad Pro but really need my calculators with Excel

  • Paul Thierry
    Paul Thierry 3 months ago

    On the new iPadOS update, you can also enjoy the desktop version of websites on your iPad so you can use web apps like Google Docs, Squarespace, and WordPress.

  • Paul Thierry
    Paul Thierry 3 months ago

    In the new iPadOS update, you can connect an external hard drive, SD card reader, and, yes, even a USB drive.

  • Brandon Zernicek
    Brandon Zernicek 3 months ago +1

    All these great features and all this power and he’s trippin on “4K” 😪

  • Evelyn Baek
    Evelyn Baek 3 months ago

    I wonder if I should get this iPad when I already have a laptop. I’m a student btw lol

    • heaven whitten
      heaven whitten 2 months ago

      it depends what laptop. i have a hp that only works when it’s plugged in with the charger and i want the ipad pro instead buying another windows laptop. if you have a macbook already don’t buy an ipad

  • Pebbles
    Pebbles 3 months ago

    I really appreciate this information. real tech-journalism that was very relevant to me. thank you.

  • MrFlimFlam
    MrFlimFlam 3 months ago

    You’re problems are fixed! IpadOS out now (for devs)

  • Careless Demon
    Careless Demon 3 months ago +20

    thats why apple brought up iPadOS. i am looking forward to it

  • Omar Chavez
    Omar Chavez 3 months ago

    This is my first ever iPad and its a the quickest

  • Gary Capili
    Gary Capili 3 months ago

    Seems like you dont like the tablet why dont you give it to me.

  • Connor K
    Connor K 3 months ago

    8:13 well said

  • Miri Hawk
    Miri Hawk 3 months ago

    *it's more expensive than my laptop*
    Well maybe if you get 256gb wifi only with a better case for half the price and a used pencil it won't be

    • Miri Hawk
      Miri Hawk 3 months ago

      @Shayan Doomed Some people if using as a laptop might possibly

    • Shayan Doomed
      Shayan Doomed 3 months ago

      @Miri Hawk I mean... is there really ppl buying the 1T option? Like its so overkill specialy with cloud options

    • Miri Hawk
      Miri Hawk 3 months ago

      @Shayan Doomed it doesn't, but it will certainly be cheaper than 1800 dollars.

    • Shayan Doomed
      Shayan Doomed 3 months ago

      @Miri Hawk same tbh; but doesnt change the fact that the ipad itself is quite expensive (doesn't mean its not worth its price tho)

    • Miri Hawk
      Miri Hawk 3 months ago

      @Shayan Doomed You'd be surprised...I have gotten many pieces of tech for half the price that worked identically.

  • Danj126
    Danj126 3 months ago +9

    Imagine Tony Stark’s arc reactor only being used to power your lamp. This is that

  • anshu raj
    anshu raj 3 months ago +1

    Please review it again after ipados 13

  • Dheer Chandru
    Dheer Chandru 3 months ago

    Why is he wining about every thing like a little kid

  • Gabrielflor
    Gabrielflor 3 months ago

    But my muscle car is bad tho

  • Kevin Freire-Souza
    Kevin Freire-Souza 3 months ago

    No more headphone jack
    Me
    Well now they can’t say there was no space to put it

  • S. E. C-R
    S. E. C-R 3 months ago +11

    The new iPadOS fixes most all of the “issues” talked about in this video.

  • Spazza42
    Spazza42 3 months ago +86

    Well, iPadOS will fix most of these gripes

    • Max
      Max 11 days ago

      Still can’t run adobe flash so it will never or compete with a laptop

    • DANIEL HWANG
      DANIEL HWANG 2 months ago

      Very true. 👌🏼

    • Kulu247
      Kulu247 2 months ago

      Ya

    • lukesuperflyjones
      lukesuperflyjones 3 months ago

      thinkin the saaaaaame thing

  • Ness
    Ness 3 months ago

    eh... id rather get an entry level surface pro with a keyboard and pen all for under a grand... at least it’s a full laptop. far too much for just a glorified entertainment machine.

  • omar arreola
    omar arreola 3 months ago

    “You don’t want to adapt to a computer, the thing should adapt to me”. Well, people adapted to the iPhone very well in 2007. So...

    • john d
      john d 3 months ago

      People want more control too. This is what they talk about

  • Satan, The Skinny Whale Legend

    You can use RavPower FileHub if you wanna use flash drive or hard disk on your iPad. You can use Puffin Web Browser if you wanna browse the desktop version, it uses Flash.

    • Satan, The Skinny Whale Legend
      Satan, The Skinny Whale Legend 3 months ago +2

      earthall79 Doesn’t matter. iPadOS 13 now lets you use hard disk drive and flash drive and internet browsing is now desktop style.

    • earthall79
      earthall79 3 months ago

      Doesn't SanDisk have a USB for ipads/iPhones?

    • littlecubes
      littlecubes 3 months ago

      The main crux of the iPad Pro here is that these features should already be part of the OS from the start. Thankfully, iPadOS coming out this Fall will solve both of these issues.

  • cryptoBall
    cryptoBall 3 months ago

    I hate how apple hinders the community not helps it, not reading usb sticks is one example of this...

    • cryptoBall
      cryptoBall 3 months ago

      @Aman Agarwal ya they're making money moves! Picked myself up an ipad

    • Aman Agarwal
      Aman Agarwal 3 months ago +3

      They have added it in ios 13

  • Ted Strang
    Ted Strang 3 months ago +1

    Yes you are stuck in your ways. As kids that all know tablets, then the laptops will go away. “Get off my lawn!”

  • Srujan Barai
    Srujan Barai 4 months ago +2

    This is how tech reviews should be.

  • Christos Stambelos
    Christos Stambelos 4 months ago

    can i print

  • Shankaracharya Chakraborty

    Best lines: You know what? I'm tired of waiting...

  • Flower_power
    Flower_power 4 months ago

    I will be purchasing an iPad pro tomorrow. I know it will not be a replacement for my mac book as I will mainly be using it for note-taking, productivity, and drawing. In my opinion, it is IDEAL for artists and designers.

  • Edwin Black
    Edwin Black 4 months ago

    what did you say you want your computer to adapt to you hahaha you always adapt to your computer