Death Note - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 27, 2017
  • An adaptation of the anime about how a face, and a name can kill if written in this book. Here's my review of DEATH NOTE!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: twitter.com/JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: facebook.com/RealJeremyJahns
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 5 601

  • An Do
    An Do Month ago

    Just watching anime or read the manga and make review of it!!!!
    Dont watching hollywood version of manga or anime, its never be good you know

  • Hazell Vasquez
    Hazell Vasquez Month ago

    2:27 Actually Light develops as a character throughout the anime as he grows up to his 20's and works for the detectives........... unfortunately, the movie did not choose that root.......................

  • google google
    google google 2 months ago

    Should've been a short mini series.

  • GoddessOfWhim2003
    GoddessOfWhim2003 2 months ago

    check out the Japanese live action movies, they are way better and show you the real story. in the anime/Japanese movies Light's in high school for a little bit, more showing him in college. those are totally worth it

  • Johnny Jones
    Johnny Jones 3 months ago

    IT'S SAD THAT ANIME NERDS. KILLED THIS MOVIE, I NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE I SAW THIS MOVIE I THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT. THE 4.5 RATING ALMOST MADE ME MISS A GREAT MOVIE... THANKS NERDS!

  • gnauben
    gnauben 4 months ago

    die

  • MARVELous pop 2005
    MARVELous pop 2005 4 months ago +1

    Is it death note?

  • Sahil Dalvi
    Sahil Dalvi 5 months ago +1

    Man...just watch death note anime...i watched it recently...its good

  • I justpropaned
    I justpropaned 5 months ago

    Trust me. The movie gets 1000000 times worse when you watch the Anime. The anime is just spectacular and will instantly make you forget about the shitty movie

  • M Mugi
    M Mugi 5 months ago

    Dude just watch the fucking anime and then review the anime, be sure that you will review the movie again. Light is not doing that because of a damn woman he loves no woman. hell he almost killed his sister.

  • criminal activity
    criminal activity 5 months ago

    The animie is way better you need to watch it. The anime focuses on everything you need to watch

  • dil The pickle
    dil The pickle 5 months ago +2

    WATCH THE ANIME AND YOU’LL UNDERSTAND!!!!!!!!

  • Sam Mantori
    Sam Mantori 5 months ago

    Worst piece of fucking horse shit ever fucking made. PERIOD!!!

  • Jordan Williams
    Jordan Williams 6 months ago

    You’ve seen all of Cowboy Bebop and haven’t even HEARD of Deathnote? Bruh

  • ALl ABOUT STREAMING
    ALl ABOUT STREAMING 6 months ago +1

    Watch the anime already

  • Ralph Joseph RJM
    Ralph Joseph RJM 6 months ago

    If jeremy wouldn't watch the anime, he could at least see the japanese 2 part live action. Even that is way better than Netflix's.

  • Michael Martinez
    Michael Martinez 7 months ago

    Every problem you had with the movie is fixed in the anime. Literally every single one of them

    • Michael Martinez
      Michael Martinez 7 months ago

      Well except the high school part. But he does become and adult later on even though it’s not really important

  • 52gdpl
    52gdpl 7 months ago

    Why did kira in this movie scream like a girl? He had a comidic scream...

  • Anything. Lucy
    Anything. Lucy 7 months ago +1

    You need to watch the anime

  • Offensive Movie Reviews

    Watch the anime. Just watch the anime, Jeremy. The middle part that was mostly the investigation is the majority of the anime. Watch the anime, Jeremy. Just do it ... do it ... there's more of a story ... that's in the anime ... just watch the anime, all the things you found issue with are in the anime. You're watching a shortened version of a longer narrative, which fleshes out all the stuff you questioned ... just watch the anime .. do it ... DO IT ... muahhahahaha :) -Shinigami

  • Kylo Ren
    Kylo Ren 8 months ago

    Did you see Japanese version of the movie?

  • TigerClaw!
    TigerClaw! 8 months ago

    watch the Anime

  • Andy Studio
    Andy Studio 8 months ago

    Please review death note Japanese live action movie 2006

  • Amber133 Lee
    Amber133 Lee 9 months ago +1

    This movie was really terrible

  • Amber133 Lee
    Amber133 Lee 9 months ago +1

    Watch the JP Japanese Movies,Anime so much better

  • RadBadJad
    RadBadJad 10 months ago

    It's cuz for some reason every goddamn anime has to take place in high school.

  • DJ OU
    DJ OU 10 months ago

    Jeremy Jahns literally watch 2 episodes anime........literally 2

  • Firmus
    Firmus 10 months ago

    It's not an adaptation of the anime since the anime itself is an adaptation of the manga. Saying it's an adaptation of the anime feels like saying that a Batman movie is an adaptation of the Batman animated series.
    BTW, I highly recommend both the manga and the anime, they are really good and it will make you realize just how much of a terrible adaptation this was.

  • eladmeleh
    eladmeleh 10 months ago

    How did you like this horrible piece of shit?

  • Bidhan Biswas
    Bidhan Biswas 11 months ago

    Review the anime.

  • Abedelmohsen Abukwaik
    Abedelmohsen Abukwaik 11 months ago +1

    Jeremy please watch the anime and you'll understand why the movie is so shit

  • Chatnoir 77888
    Chatnoir 77888 11 months ago

    The anime and manga both focus more on the investigative part of the story, as well as the "cat and mouse" game between Light and L and (in the first half anyway) Light and Ryuk's relationship (although the anime and manga more have Ryuk as a neutral background/side character rather than some major influence like this movie seems to make him).

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell 11 months ago

    I liked the direction from Adam Wigard
    I just hope he receives good material to work with on the GODZILLA vs KING KONG movie

  • alex sekerak
    alex sekerak Year ago

    You should watch the anime

  • Stranger Jones
    Stranger Jones Year ago

    I'm actually glad that he hasn't seen the anime. Chris has seen the anime, and he reviewed it both as a film AND an adaptation, but I'm more interested in a review from someone who hasn't seen the anime or read the manga. So thanks Jeremy for not watching in advance.

  • ShadowRocker24
    ShadowRocker24 Year ago

    this version of the movie was trash, nothing more said that others have already said. just watch and review the anime if you haven't already. it really is a Masterpiece of a plot if you haven't yet seen it. watch it on Netflix English DUB, 37 episodes of course, you can binge it in a weekend. anyway, take care

  • John Smith
    John Smith Year ago

    watch the anime, it's so much better

  • Yeah ikr lol
    Yeah ikr lol Year ago

    Is it awkward to watch the anime after watching the movie?

  • Mona
    Mona Year ago +2

    actually, light being in highschool had a purpose in the anime

  • Rob Pegg
    Rob Pegg Year ago +2

    Review the death note anime!

  • Quixotic
    Quixotic Year ago +1

    PLEASE REVIEW THE ANIME

  • assassinman0066
    assassinman0066 Year ago

    Honestly, I love the anime. The film... Well it was better then the drama that came out before it. I know there were a few films before it so I’ll give my reviews on those...
    Death Note: Boring
    Death Note 2: Boring AF!
    L Changed The World: DBE Terrible
    Light up the new world: Better. Much better.
    Drama: Garbage.
    Netflix: Good... Better then I thought.
    I’ll say this now, if this was a straight up adaptation of the anime/manga, then it would be very boring and predictable to those who love the anime, like me. To those who never seen it, like my dad, enjoyed it. It got him into the anime.

  • Robert Mitchell
    Robert Mitchell Year ago

    everything you wanted in this movie you get in the anime and then some, trust me.

  • Robert Mitchell
    Robert Mitchell Year ago

    If you watch the anime you would really Love it

  • ReyEddy85
    ReyEddy85 Year ago

    I think this movie wasn't necessarily made for the anime fans. It was mostly made for the casual movie seer. I saw the movie before the magna and thought it was cool except for actors.

  • UNDERTALE stufz Stufz

    You would hate the movie if you watched the anime

  • Spacedust Daddy
    Spacedust Daddy Year ago

    Do red sparrow

  • C
    C Year ago +2

    I haven't seen the movie but the actors/actresses looking/act nothing alike the characters from the anime from what i've seen

  • lol bag
    lol bag Year ago +2

    did this guy say he's never heard of the deathnote anime?!

  • El Nino Son
    El Nino Son Year ago +1

    WATCH THE ANIME

  • MaiDewd
    MaiDewd Year ago +1

    It was horrible compared to the show, almost as bad as Dragon ball evolution

  • abbccddee
    abbccddee Year ago

    The dude was supposed to be in college...like in the anime

    • The Protagonist
      The Protagonist Year ago +2

      Light was in high school in the first few episodes. Then in like episode 8 or 9, he took the college entrance exams where he finally meets L.

  • WhiskeyCavino
    WhiskeyCavino Year ago

    I think he actually did see the anime

  • gb mlle
    gb mlle Year ago

    Better than ghost in the shell?!!! Wtf

  • Jwalant Baria
    Jwalant Baria Year ago

    Dude watch DeathNote anime

  • K. The Artist
    K. The Artist Year ago

    I thought the movie was good. If I compare it to DragonBall Evolution, it's a lot better. But the Anime is a lot better than both of those movies combined

  • Austin Bacon
    Austin Bacon Year ago

    Honestly the anime explains why he was it was important he was in High school and your problems with L. Like you said if the just did there own thing it would have been better but since they wanted to stay close to the same story but change it fucked them. Although I enjoyed it as a Netflix movie.

  • Mathieu Dextradeur
    Mathieu Dextradeur Year ago +1

    you lost me with "I never watch the anime blah blah blah", about 10 seconds.

  • Alyssa C
    Alyssa C Year ago +2

    okay... I am not that type of person to get triggered over something this stupid.... WHICH IT IS...ITS JUST DUMB.... Like okay the only 2 things i like where Ryuks costume and Ls personable... (I think he really fits that role) I could go in more detail but that will take me over an hour just to explain most of the things i am mad about...Example.... Light's name...I mean Light Turner.... Come on i know its like an English version but still.... And he doesnt really show how "badass" He is (and thats like one of the reasons i like anime cause they show off how badass they are".... when i saw they had a movie i really want to see the chip scene.... but they would most likely make me more disappointed...
    Basically I HATE THE MOVIE.... And the sad part my mom likes it but she is not willing to see the really deal.... :(

  • Eddie Barragan
    Eddie Barragan Year ago +1

    It's funny how all of the problems with this movie that jeremy listed, are nonexistent in the anime.

  • Extreme Peanut
    Extreme Peanut Year ago +6

    Yes the anime is way better, but I did find it very interesting to hear the opinion of someone who hasn't watched any of it.

  • HotnessGaming
    HotnessGaming Year ago +2

    Please watch the anime

  • Kobil Shakur
    Kobil Shakur Year ago

    So has he watched the anime?

  • Glorfindel The Balrog Slayer

    Dude, you are lucky. If you have seen the anime you would have hated every single thing about this pile of garbage( except maybe Ryuk he was kinda cool).

  • Retro Movie Room
    Retro Movie Room Year ago

    Seriously dude, watch the anime. I will give you my hulu password.

  • Сейдж Хьюсс

    you just needed to see the Japanese version of TV series "Death Note"

  • Freight Bannana
    Freight Bannana Year ago

    walmart version of Death note

  • assassinman0066
    assassinman0066 Year ago

    I’m a mega fan of Death Note... This film... Is... Not that bad. I enjoyed a few things. The gore in it I enjoyed, Ryuk I loved, L was good, Mia was great wish she was in the anime, Watari was great casted too, and Light’s father was great and I loved the father and son moments in the film. The worst part... Light. No hate on Nat, I think he’s a good actor, but I didn’t see him as Light since day one. I felt like a different actor could’ve done it better. For me, if I was able to cast the actor for Light, I would go for... Dane Dehaan or Evan Peters.
    This film is okay. To people who have never seen the anime, like Jeremy, will find the movie entertaining and will watch the anime. For anime fans, it’s a mix bag. You have people who loved it and people who hated it. I’m innthe middle.

  • Melvin Alexander Ramírez

    Sir, you should definitely see the anime

  • jared dion
    jared dion Year ago

    I think the reason they wanted him in high school is because the first few killings he does are suppose to be irresponsible and not thought out which would besically help L deduce that he hasnt been killing for very long and that he's not that bright.

  • Christian Rowbotham

    You should watch the anime , you are missing a lot

  • Brooke knight
    Brooke knight Year ago

    I've seen the movie called death note it was good and okay.

  • Rodrigo Huichalao

    I feel sorry for Jeremy not having watched the anime and seeing this bullshit.

  • ghighianonim
    ghighianonim Year ago

    watch the anime pls

  • Queen Star
    Queen Star Year ago

    Don't come for my beloved L and Near and in the movie they gave traits of Near to L like how Near always takes lucky guesses and theories while L always finds evidence.

  • ash 101
    ash 101 Year ago

    This movie is an insult to the Death note anime/manga.

  • tyler wilson
    tyler wilson Year ago

    gotta admit that opening scene with pretty fuckin cool and the tone of the movie is cool too but thats why I like this movie and yes I've watched the anime it was great but it be kinda stupid to see the same thing twice the soundtrack is awesome too everything in the movie is really fast which keeps u watching i'm not saying it's the better than the anime just feel like the tone is better.

  • My Fujoshi Frenzy

    He's an idiot especially compared to the anime

  • Connor Berry
    Connor Berry Year ago

    Jeremy i think you'd love the anime honestly

  • Judith Rios
    Judith Rios Year ago

    I have 2 death notes

  • pottertja00
    pottertja00 Year ago

    You really should watch the anime, its so different but so much better

  • Sound Braker
    Sound Braker Year ago

    At least compared to the anime (specifically the first half) its not very good. Like at all

  • Ikea Lamp
    Ikea Lamp Year ago

    Dude, you talk way to fast and you're rushing when editing. There's barely a split second between sentences. You don't give people any time to think about what you said. I was looking for a great movie review channel but i'm afraid I have to skip this one.

  • Shoto Todoroki
    Shoto Todoroki Year ago

    I respect your opinion but if you watch the anime you will hate this movie
    1. Light is stupid
    2. Ryuk was good not tripping about that
    3. Misa is all wrong
    4. L is a cry baby and tries to use the death note to kill wtf
    5. The fucking soundtrack enough said
    6. It loses all it's tention and does not appeal
    In other words the anime and manga is wayyy better

  • Shoto Todoroki
    Shoto Todoroki Year ago

    This movie was an awful movie

  • Renzo Fuentes Tarmeño

    the movie is good, my father really like it(he didnt see the anime), you have to forget the anime and you will like even more.

  • Andy Studio
    Andy Studio Year ago

    Do movie review about death note movie 2006, Death Note 2 Last Name, L:Change the world and Death Note Light up the world

  • OhThatGuy
    OhThatGuy Year ago +1

    To be fair the anime wasn't good either

  • Potatis Tatis
    Potatis Tatis Year ago

    Ok, on a scale of one to ten, is negative numbers ok to use?
    Cause that's all the netflix version had
    The anime is 10/10 I've watched loads of anime, but DN beats 'Em all
    If u havent by now, watch the anime.
    And Ryuk is a shinigami aka death god, not demon

  • Leo Udechukwu
    Leo Udechukwu Year ago

    Dude. Just watch animes! The good shit! You can watch the b tier fun and perv time ones whenever, but dude! Watch avatar (SHUT UP! ITS AN ANIME! PERIOD!!!) then death note! I have a ton of awesome shit for you. U like giant robots? Evangelion series, bad ass cowboy shows, cowboy bebop, you like blood and death and badassery (quadruple distilled) check out bersek either og or remake, attack on titan, claymore(manga is better.... a lot better, its like 2 bucks for the entire thing and an engaging read, sexy and bloody too, so yeah), tokyo ghoul, elfien leid, gatnz😉, samurai seven, bacano, death parade, corpse club. And if you like mystery scifi thriller and so on, phyco pass, phantom, ghost in the shell, ergo proxy, re zero starting life in a new world, re zero(same premise wholly different execution equally awesome....except the endings they both suck nuts) and for dumb fun, adventure and so on watch my hero acadamia, one punch man, gintama, grimgar, seven deadly sins, deadman wonderland and FINALLY horror! Mirai nikki, parasite, another, shikki and more (horror aint my thing but these stood out)

  • Owen Hornbuckle
    Owen Hornbuckle Year ago

    One of the worst Anime adaptions along with Dragon balls ze.

  • Endless Bliss
    Endless Bliss Year ago

    But only the first half up until L died was the anime good, after that it got boring

  • Endless Bliss
    Endless Bliss Year ago

    I don't even like anime but I gave deathnote a shot and it was really good, watch the anime after you see the movie

  • artfire28
    artfire28 Year ago

    There will be more live-action adaptations to come. Stay tuned.

  • Repent and Follow God

    Death note Netflix became the new dragon ball evolution

  • rocky 362
    rocky 362 Year ago

    Riyuk is a death god not a demon and i highly recommend you to watch the anime

  • ju.bas
    ju.bas Year ago

    Aaaaaaaand read the manga

  • QualityContentEveryday

    Jeremy you would love the anime

  • QualityContentEveryday

    L is way cooler in the anime

  • NameBigg
    NameBigg Year ago

    Watch the anime!!!! And review it!!!!