Death Note - Movie Review

Share
Embed

Comments • 5 951

  • Bidhan Biswas
    Bidhan Biswas 3 hours ago

    Review the anime.

  • Abedelmohsen Abukwaik
    Abedelmohsen Abukwaik 24 days ago +1

    Jeremy please watch the anime and you'll understand why the movie is so shit

  • Chatnoir 77888
    Chatnoir 77888 26 days ago

    The anime and manga both focus more on the investigative part of the story, as well as the "cat and mouse" game between Light and L and (in the first half anyway) Light and Ryuk's relationship (although the anime and manga more have Ryuk as a neutral background/side character rather than some major influence like this movie seems to make him).

  • Kyle Campbell
    Kyle Campbell 27 days ago

    I liked the direction from Adam Wigard
    I just hope he receives good material to work with on the GODZILLA vs KING KONG movie

  • alex sekerak
    alex sekerak Month ago

    You should watch the anime

  • Stranger Jones
    Stranger Jones Month ago

    I'm actually glad that he hasn't seen the anime. Chris has seen the anime, and he reviewed it both as a film AND an adaptation, but I'm more interested in a review from someone who hasn't seen the anime or read the manga. So thanks Jeremy for not watching in advance.

  • ShadowRocker24
    ShadowRocker24 Month ago

    this version of the movie was trash, nothing more said that others have already said. just watch and review the anime if you haven't already. it really is a Masterpiece of a plot if you haven't yet seen it. watch it on Netflix English DUB, 37 episodes of course, you can binge it in a weekend. anyway, take care

  • John Smith
    John Smith 2 months ago

    watch the anime, it's so much better

  • Yeah ikr lol
    Yeah ikr lol 2 months ago

    Is it awkward to watch the anime after watching the movie?

  • Tomato Soup
    Tomato Soup 2 months ago +1

    actually, light being in highschool had a purpose in the anime

  • Rob Pegg
    Rob Pegg 2 months ago +1

    Review the death note anime!

  • Quixotic
    Quixotic 2 months ago +1

    PLEASE REVIEW THE ANIME

  • assassinman0066
    assassinman0066 2 months ago

    Honestly, I love the anime. The film... Well it was better then the drama that came out before it. I know there were a few films before it so I’ll give my reviews on those...
    Death Note: Boring
    Death Note 2: Boring AF!
    L Changed The World: DBE Terrible
    Light up the new world: Better. Much better.
    Drama: Garbage.
    Netflix: Good... Better then I thought.
    I’ll say this now, if this was a straight up adaptation of the anime/manga, then it would be very boring and predictable to those who love the anime, like me. To those who never seen it, like my dad, enjoyed it. It got him into the anime.

  • Klavier Gavin
    Klavier Gavin 2 months ago

    everything you wanted in this movie you get in the anime and then some, trust me.

  • Klavier Gavin
    Klavier Gavin 2 months ago

    If you watch the anime you would really Love it

  • YouGotSomeFuckingAttitude _

    Death note is the must watch Anime for all edgy emoish high schooler alongside jack the skeleton patches and my chemical romance shirt/ pins

  • YouGotSomeFuckingAttitude _

    Why is L a gangsta when he supposed to be a reclusive white/ Asian? Guy who looks rather goth.

  • ReyEddy85
    ReyEddy85 3 months ago

    I think this movie wasn't necessarily made for the anime fans. It was mostly made for the casual movie seer. I saw the movie before the magna and thought it was cool except for actors.

  • UNDERTALE stufz Stufz
    UNDERTALE stufz Stufz 3 months ago +1

    You would hate the movie if you watched the anime

  • Jatin Jaiswal
    Jatin Jaiswal 3 months ago

    Do red sparrow

  • C
    C 3 months ago +1

    I haven't seen the movie but the actors/actresses looking/act nothing alike the characters from the anime from what i've seen

  • lol bag
    lol bag 3 months ago +1

    did this guy say he's never heard of the deathnote anime?!

  • El Nino Son
    El Nino Son 4 months ago

    WATCH THE ANIME

  • MaiDewd
    MaiDewd 4 months ago +1

    It was horrible compared to the show, almost as bad as Dragon ball evolution

  • abbccddee
    abbccddee 4 months ago

    The dude was supposed to be in college...like in the anime

    • The Protagonist
      The Protagonist 2 months ago

      Light was in high school in the first few episodes. Then in like episode 8 or 9, he took the college entrance exams where he finally meets L.

  • kingAL tapes
    kingAL tapes 4 months ago

    I think he actually did see the anime

  • gb mlle
    gb mlle 4 months ago

    Better than ghost in the shell?!!! Wtf

  • Jwalant Baria
    Jwalant Baria 4 months ago

    Dude watch DeathNote anime

  • K. Le Animateur
    K. Le Animateur 4 months ago

    I thought the movie was good. If I compare it to DragonBall Evolution, it's a lot better. But the Anime is a lot better than both of those movies combined

  • Austin Bacon
    Austin Bacon 4 months ago

    Honestly the anime explains why he was it was important he was in High school and your problems with L. Like you said if the just did there own thing it would have been better but since they wanted to stay close to the same story but change it fucked them. Although I enjoyed it as a Netflix movie.

  • TW STORM
    TW STORM 4 months ago

    watch the anime

  • Mathieu Dextradeur
    Mathieu Dextradeur 4 months ago +1

    you lost me with "I never watch the anime blah blah blah", about 10 seconds.

  • Alyssa C
    Alyssa C 4 months ago +2

    okay... I am not that type of person to get triggered over something this stupid.... WHICH IT IS...ITS JUST DUMB.... Like okay the only 2 things i like where Ryuks costume and Ls personable... (I think he really fits that role) I could go in more detail but that will take me over an hour just to explain most of the things i am mad about...Example.... Light's name...I mean Light Turner.... Come on i know its like an English version but still.... And he doesnt really show how "badass" He is (and thats like one of the reasons i like anime cause they show off how badass they are".... when i saw they had a movie i really want to see the chip scene.... but they would most likely make me more disappointed...
    Basically I HATE THE MOVIE.... And the sad part my mom likes it but she is not willing to see the really deal.... :(

  • Eddie Barragan
    Eddie Barragan 5 months ago +1

    It's funny how all of the problems with this movie that jeremy listed, are nonexistent in the anime.

  • Extreme Peanut
    Extreme Peanut 5 months ago +4

    Yes the anime is way better, but I did find it very interesting to hear the opinion of someone who hasn't watched any of it.

  • HotnessGaming
    HotnessGaming 5 months ago +1

    Please watch the anime

  • Kobil Shakur
    Kobil Shakur 5 months ago

    So has he watched the anime?

  • Glorfindel The Balrog Slayer

    Dude, you are lucky. If you have seen the anime you would have hated every single thing about this pile of garbage( except maybe Ryuk he was kinda cool).

  • Retro Movie Room
    Retro Movie Room 5 months ago

    Seriously dude, watch the anime. I will give you my hulu password.

  • Сейдж Хьюсс
    Сейдж Хьюсс 5 months ago

    you just needed to see the Japanese version of TV series "Death Note"

  • Freight Bannana
    Freight Bannana 5 months ago

    walmart version of Death note

  • assassinman0066
    assassinman0066 5 months ago

    I’m a mega fan of Death Note... This film... Is... Not that bad. I enjoyed a few things. The gore in it I enjoyed, Ryuk I loved, L was good, Mia was great wish she was in the anime, Watari was great casted too, and Light’s father was great and I loved the father and son moments in the film. The worst part... Light. No hate on Nat, I think he’s a good actor, but I didn’t see him as Light since day one. I felt like a different actor could’ve done it better. For me, if I was able to cast the actor for Light, I would go for... Dane Dehaan or Evan Peters.
    This film is okay. To people who have never seen the anime, like Jeremy, will find the movie entertaining and will watch the anime. For anime fans, it’s a mix bag. You have people who loved it and people who hated it. I’m innthe middle.

  • Melvin Ramirez
    Melvin Ramirez 5 months ago

    Sir, you should definitely see the anime

  • jared dion
    jared dion 5 months ago

    I think the reason they wanted him in high school is because the first few killings he does are suppose to be irresponsible and not thought out which would besically help L deduce that he hasnt been killing for very long and that he's not that bright.

  • Christian Rowbotham
    Christian Rowbotham 5 months ago

    You should watch the anime , you are missing a lot

  • Brooke knight
    Brooke knight 5 months ago

    I've seen the movie called death note it was good and okay.

  • Rodrigo Huichalao
    Rodrigo Huichalao 5 months ago

    I feel sorry for Jeremy not having watched the anime and seeing this bullshit.

  • Anything. Lucy
    Anything. Lucy 5 months ago

    I liked this movie

  • ghighianonim
    ghighianonim 5 months ago

    watch the anime pls

  • Pat -
    Pat - 5 months ago

    That adaption is retarded. Watch the anime ,read the manga, watch the jap live action movie. But THIS, THIS is filmographic rape of human culture

  • TinyxxMew Rendell
    TinyxxMew Rendell 5 months ago

    Don't come for my beloved L and Near and in the movie they gave traits of Near to L like how Near always takes lucky guesses and theories while L always finds evidence.

  • ash 101
    ash 101 6 months ago

    This movie is an insult to the Death note anime/manga.

  • tyler wilson
    tyler wilson 6 months ago

    gotta admit that opening scene with pretty fuckin cool and the tone of the movie is cool too but thats why I like this movie and yes I've watched the anime it was great but it be kinda stupid to see the same thing twice the soundtrack is awesome too everything in the movie is really fast which keeps u watching i'm not saying it's the better than the anime just feel like the tone is better.

  • laurianne bending
    laurianne bending 6 months ago

    He's an idiot especially compared to the anime

  • Connor Berry
    Connor Berry 6 months ago

    Jeremy i think you'd love the anime honestly

  • Judith Rios
    Judith Rios 6 months ago

    I have 2 death notes

  • pottertja00
    pottertja00 6 months ago

    You really should watch the anime, its so different but so much better

  • Sound Braker
    Sound Braker 7 months ago

    At least compared to the anime (specifically the first half) its not very good. Like at all

  • Niels van Maas
    Niels van Maas 7 months ago

    Dude, you talk way to fast and you're rushing when editing. There's barely a split second between sentences. You don't give people any time to think about what you said. I was looking for a great movie review channel but i'm afraid I have to skip this one.

  • Shoto Todoroki
    Shoto Todoroki 7 months ago

    I respect your opinion but if you watch the anime you will hate this movie
    1. Light is stupid
    2. Ryuk was good not tripping about that
    3. Misa is all wrong
    4. L is a cry baby and tries to use the death note to kill wtf
    5. The fucking soundtrack enough said
    6. It loses all it's tention and does not appeal
    In other words the anime and manga is wayyy better

  • Shoto Todoroki
    Shoto Todoroki 7 months ago

    This movie was an awful movie

  • Renzo Fuentes Tarmeño
    Renzo Fuentes Tarmeño 7 months ago +1

    the movie is good, my father really like it(he didnt see the anime), you have to forget the anime and you will like even more.

  • Andy Studio
    Andy Studio 7 months ago

    Do movie review about death note movie 2006, Death Note 2 Last Name, L:Change the world and Death Note Light up the world

  • Corey Messick
    Corey Messick 7 months ago

    Yeah I'll leave a note on "trending" that you just couldn't handle the cocaine anymore...

  • Ayo
    Ayo 7 months ago +1

    To be fair the anime wasn't good either

  • Potatis Tatis
    Potatis Tatis 7 months ago

    Ok, on a scale of one to ten, is negative numbers ok to use?
    Cause that's all the netflix version had
    The anime is 10/10 I've watched loads of anime, but DN beats 'Em all
    If u havent by now, watch the anime.
    And Ryuk is a shinigami aka death god, not demon

  • Leo Udechukwu
    Leo Udechukwu 7 months ago

    Dude. Just watch animes! The good shit! You can watch the b tier fun and perv time ones whenever, but dude! Watch avatar (SHUT UP! ITS AN ANIME! PERIOD!!!) then death note! I have a ton of awesome shit for you. U like giant robots? Evangelion series, bad ass cowboy shows, cowboy bebop, you like blood and death and badassery (quadruple distilled) check out bersek either og or remake, attack on titan, claymore(manga is better.... a lot better, its like 2 bucks for the entire thing and an engaging read, sexy and bloody too, so yeah), tokyo ghoul, elfien leid, gatnz😉, samurai seven, bacano, death parade, corpse club. And if you like mystery scifi thriller and so on, phyco pass, phantom, ghost in the shell, ergo proxy, re zero starting life in a new world, re zero(same premise wholly different execution equally awesome....except the endings they both suck nuts) and for dumb fun, adventure and so on watch my hero acadamia, one punch man, gintama, grimgar, seven deadly sins, deadman wonderland and FINALLY horror! Mirai nikki, parasite, another, shikki and more (horror aint my thing but these stood out)

  • Owen Hornbuckle
    Owen Hornbuckle 7 months ago

    One of the worst Anime adaptions along with Dragon balls ze.

  • Lord Aku
    Lord Aku 7 months ago

    But only the first half up until L died was the anime good, after that it got boring

  • Lord Aku
    Lord Aku 7 months ago

    I don't even like anime but I gave deathnote a shot and it was really good, watch the anime after you see the movie

  • artfire28
    artfire28 7 months ago

    There will be more live-action adaptations to come. Stay tuned.

  • Repent and Follow God
    Repent and Follow God 7 months ago

    Death note Netflix became the new dragon ball evolution

  • rocky 362
    rocky 362 7 months ago

    Riyuk is a death god not a demon and i highly recommend you to watch the anime

  • ju.bas
    ju.bas 7 months ago

    Aaaaaaaand read the manga

  • Mysterionn5
    Mysterionn5 8 months ago

    Jeremy you would love the anime

  • Mysterionn5
    Mysterionn5 8 months ago

    L is way cooler in the anime

  • NameBigg
    NameBigg 8 months ago

    Watch the anime!!!! And review it!!!!

  • Arivera Arivera
    Arivera Arivera 8 months ago

    For some one that didn't watch a lot of the a anime ot was a good movie they should of made it longer and put some people that look something like the anime and fuck the love romance crap put a little but half the movie

  • TheUmbrellaCorpX7
    TheUmbrellaCorpX7 8 months ago

    Watch the anime. This movie is complete shit.

  • Tyler Lucas
    Tyler Lucas 8 months ago

    failed review stop at ep 25

  • John Doe
    John Doe 8 months ago

    The one problem I had was why would they spend so much time setting up the power of the keeper yet anyone who writes on a page from the death note can kill anyone

  • Khyler Bane
    Khyler Bane 8 months ago

    ironiclly the thing about people using this kind of book for selfish reasons is basiclly what and who light turns into. why i liked the change in personality in the movie. light in the show was heartless, emotionless, selfish, and manipulitive. who will kill and use anyone to get his goal of god of the new world,even those who care abut him and love him. the show has the theme of ablsoute power corrupting absolutly, and the girlfend in the movie did a good job showing that aspect. the light in the movie seemed more human in my opinion.

  • Raul Toro
    Raul Toro 8 months ago

    I'm glad he didn't take the anime into consideration when making the review but yeah that being said you should watch the anime

  • Yuval Miles
    Yuval Miles 8 months ago

    WATCH THE ANIME PLEASE, it will make you love anime i shit you not. then watch neon genesis evangelion and join the club

  • Kai Gaming
    Kai Gaming 8 months ago

    Manga is book of pictures or comics (also graphic novels)
    Anime is animation of a cartoonish show.
    You don't "watch" Manga. You watch Anime.
    Get it right.

  • Cris More
    Cris More 8 months ago

    To me it fellt like it got to conclutions without explenations, some things just popt up, and it fellt like there was gaps in the story telling.... It bored me out.... could not finnish it.... sorry.

  • Ilvie Borchert
    Ilvie Borchert 8 months ago

    Its funny how every flaw he points out in the movie wil be explained when he watches the serie. please man watch the anime!!

  • Jay D
    Jay D 8 months ago

    Idk why you would do a review of a movie from Netflix , you don't typically do Netflix movie reviews so you're just getting on the hype train SMH and your doing yourself a huge diservice by not watching the original content anime

  • dankoulous memeolous
    dankoulous memeolous 8 months ago

    Watch the anime or us death note fans will crucify you

  • His Snake is Solid
    His Snake is Solid 8 months ago

    Willem dafoe, the only good part of the entire movie

  • okir rama
    okir rama 8 months ago

    Anime>>>>>>>>>>>>>>netflix

  • Finnala's Peril
    Finnala's Peril 8 months ago

    Just watch episode 1-25 and you'll be set

  • missisabella16
    missisabella16 8 months ago

    Terrible adaption, that’s an understatement

  • Anirudh Mahajan
    Anirudh Mahajan 8 months ago

    watch the anime!!!!!!

  • AlexxAMV
    AlexxAMV 8 months ago

    they do detail how ell finds out bout kira havin to know the name nd face

  • Aaron Verive
    Aaron Verive 8 months ago

    I enjoyed this movie! I'm glad I'm not alone haha.

  • Kiel Wright
    Kiel Wright 8 months ago

    It had amazing supporting actors but the main characters were poorly done, funny combination

  • 42 Blaze
    42 Blaze 8 months ago

    Never found any interest in death note, so don't really care if it's changes in the movie were severe.

  • alex domain
    alex domain 8 months ago

    This movie was so good, so i assume Jeremy thinks it is terrible:)

  • peace go
    peace go 8 months ago

    You fucking piece of shit wash your mouth before you talk about Death note! How dare you say it was a good movie. Watch the fucking anime before you review the movie.
    It's like saying that a cake made of fucking carrots tastes ok, when you never actually tried the chocolate one.
    Fucking retard go die, son of a bitch.