Real Doctor reacts to DOCTOR STRANGE | Hospital Movie Scenes Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 8, 2019
  • As a huge geek I thought it time I break down the medical scenes from the Marvel movie Doctor Strange from a real doctor's perspective! I'll explain how accurate it is, a bit more about what's happening on screen and share some of my experiences too!
    I try and bring something different to each video, so if you enjoyed this please check out my other reviews of Medical TV dramas; House MD, Scrubs, The Good Doctor, Grey’s Anatomy, The Resident and ER!
    Here is my latest review of the TV show House that you may enjoy:
    tvclip.biz/video/DjBQddVExh0/video.html
    You can connect with me via the following:
    Instagram: instagram.com/drhopesicknotes
    Twitter: twitter.com/drhopesicknotes
    FB: facebook.com/drhopesicknotes
    Clips used under fair use (education and review):
    THANK YOU FOR NOT COPY STRIKING THIS VIDEO SO I CAN CONTINUE TO USE THESE GREAT SHOWS FOR EDUCATION AND REVIEW.
    DOCTOR STRANGE Clips © 2016 - Marvel
    Surgical scrub video:
    tvclip.biz/video/MpwMnjQR41Y/video.html
    Thank you to all the artists that make their music available for these videos:
    Song 'Escapists' by The AutoDisko
    Song ‘Finding Me’ by Eveningland
    Music: Cubic Z - Diamond Ortiz
    Support by RFM - NCM: tvclip.biz/video/DOSNT7VA2XA/video.html
    #doctorreacts #doctorwatches #doctorstrange
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 9 351

  • Dr Hope's Sick Notes
    Dr Hope's Sick Notes  2 months ago +3769

    So here is my first medical movie reaction! There are some cracking medical scenes in Doctor Strange, and a had loads of requests to give them a look, I do get a bit nerdy explaining things, but hey! that's what I'm here for. Timestamps:
    00:43: Intro scene with Doctor Strange in theatre
    03:06: First case of bullet in brainstem
    08:07: Medical cases talked about in car scene
    10:54: Doctor Strange rehab
    12:20: Doctor Strange cardiac arrest in theatre after being stabbed
    18:47: Ancient One in theatre after head injury

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 11 days ago

      again the ancient one diher stuff to keep him alive. she did what is necessary as an old keltic woman to help someone of obvious english ancestry as her, Benedict cumber- i mean Dr strange.

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 11 days ago

      Strange response: i asked your help once, you denied me.,

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 11 days ago

      Again this the american doctor with years past his surgical residency into his attending and beyond. he is a bit a jackass in his fast sports car.

    • carlos Rivas
      carlos Rivas 11 days ago

      the ring light is too close to you maybe? i know you might have one? slightly father away and it will show off your beautiful blue eyes.

  • Fiat Craft
    Fiat Craft 13 hours ago

    I get to watch doctor strange and get new knowledge! Good job!

  • Anthony Bert
    Anthony Bert Day ago

    Real Indians react to Indian in the Cupboard

  • L C
    L C Day ago

    I have a question.
    Now after Dr. Strange leaves to become a wizard, and after his accident I would assume he is no longer employed or have a license to work at that hospital. So when the Ancient One is brought to the hospital, is it that simple for Dr. Strange to just walk in and prep for surgery?

  • Not Actually A Black Guy

    When you react to the scene starting at about 19:34 it's hard for me to not hope you'll also acknowledge and comment on the significance of him allowing the other surgeon to do the job instead of himself. Showing the overall progress of Dr. Strange through his arc as a hero and changed man. Going from totally selfish and narcissistic to selfless and humble. Willing to let go of his ego and let someone he sees as kind the inferior surgeon mentally perform because he physically cannot do it himself. Plus you can tell he just doesn't like that guy much generally. Lol. But I understand you're probably just wanting to remain objective and true to the main purpose of your videos.

    • Not Actually A Black Guy
      Not Actually A Black Guy 2 days ago

      I guess it just leaves me asking myself "did the doctor man understand the emotional side this part as well?" Those things can be less apparent. And it would provide a kind of objective/subjective balance that could be cool to see you walk through.

  • Not Actually A Black Guy

    The patient with the electric implant struck by lightning is interesting to see a real doctor react to because a lot of people think that may be an Easter egg/reference for a new Marvel hero. I've heard it usually be explained as a possible reference to Captain Marvel I think.

  • Luis Fonseca
    Luis Fonseca 2 days ago

    Real doctor watches movie CRANK.

  • benson tran
    benson tran 2 days ago

    Could you react to tf2 Meet The Medic?

  • Sage2000
    Sage2000 2 days ago

    Good review without being a jerk. Thank you!!!

  • Josh Staver
    Josh Staver 2 days ago

    Christine!!!

  • Alexandria Patricio
    Alexandria Patricio 2 days ago

    This video reminded me of someone (Doctor Mike?) I dunno even the "good hand washing technique" was the same check doctor Mike's vid and judge for yourself it's "Real doctor reacts to The Good Doctor". No hate btw...

  • Viktor Jangsell
    Viktor Jangsell 3 days ago

    you look hella stoned

  • the1tigglet
    the1tigglet 3 days ago

    The mid thorazic fracture is actually a reference to Warmachine armor flyer in the Avengers. ;)

  • Onexshotx Blackwing
    Onexshotx Blackwing 4 days ago

    Chest compression's Chest compression's Chest compression's!

  • Prince Silvermane
    Prince Silvermane 4 days ago

    Would you actually need so much surgery and pins on your hands? That part always struck me as a little odd. There was some line from Strange about the way that they did it was more damaging than it should have been. But that could always be his arrogance.

  • Austin Smith
    Austin Smith 5 days ago

    Holy fuck did I just learn so much

  • Roy Mustang Ackerman

    Arnold reacts to Hulk

  • Roy Mustang Ackerman

    Real robot reacts to Iron Man

  • ba de ya say that you remember

    real widow react to black widow

    or


    terminator react to winter soldier

  • shabrina z
    shabrina z 5 days ago

    Wow 4.4 million.
    hopefully Strange would still be practicing meds in the second movie

  • Frankie T
    Frankie T 5 days ago

    Real toys react to Toy Story

  • A'laigne MacGregor
    A'laigne MacGregor 6 days ago

    He looks like Benedict :O

  • Elijah Rodriguez
    Elijah Rodriguez 6 days ago

    The spine ingery was rodie A.K.A war machine in the events of civil war

  • Doggo Boi
    Doggo Boi 7 days ago

    Real Iron reacts to Iron Man

  • Higher Vibez
    Higher Vibez 7 days ago

    So what is doctors talk about nba, gsw are the Golden State Warriors

  • Rance Kidder
    Rance Kidder 7 days ago

    Universal healthcare in the UK must not cover braces.

  • superduperjoi
    superduperjoi 7 days ago +1

    Real Mermaid Reacts to Aquaman

  • ALAN THAMPI
    ALAN THAMPI 7 days ago

    I want this guy to operate me 😂 He Knows his stuff👌😂

  • Sameer Sharma
    Sameer Sharma 7 days ago

    people try to make money in mysterious ways.

  • Nour Wanace
    Nour Wanace 7 days ago +1

    He looks like Bilbo Baggins

  • SupDawg444
    SupDawg444 8 days ago

    Crazy how the human skull has a hinge on it for easy opening

  • Jacob Davidson
    Jacob Davidson 8 days ago +1

    For some reason it just now dawned on me that when he said colonel crushed his spine they’re talking about Rhodes

  • bmxriderforlife1234
    bmxriderforlife1234 9 days ago

    there was a guy in the states who got shot in the head and the bullet passed almost right through without causing damage but some pressure caused issued till it was removed. pretty uncommon id suspect but might be where they got the idea.

    • bmxriderforlife1234
      bmxriderforlife1234 9 days ago

      if im not mistaken its when the sac surrounding the heart gets punctured and fills with blood and causes pressure on the heart preventing it from beating.

  • bmxriderforlife1234
    bmxriderforlife1234 9 days ago +2

    itd be cool to get your imput on surgeries done in history. theres an indian legend about a guy doing surgeries like 2000 years ago. as well as some actual crazy accounts of pretty complex surgeries done back in the day. pretty sure one of the medieval kings of europe had a pretty crazy one and lived.
    always found it kinda strange they managed to oull stuff like this off back in those days yet we are always told how bad medical technology and practices were in those days. like the aztecs fixing hematoma's with obsidian knives and cutting out bits of the skull.

  • Rolomir Fenrir
    Rolomir Fenrir 9 days ago

    Don't oil the springs, hearing it creak was rather funny.

  • Kapitan Gövienov
    Kapitan Gövienov 9 days ago +2

    Real Black Widow reacts to Black widow

  • Аня Ильдейкина

    Ничо не поняла, но интересно

  • FXRGXTTEN HERXES
    FXRGXTTEN HERXES 9 days ago

    real Tree react to groot would be awesome

  • hehe
    hehe 9 days ago +1

    Real widow reacts to black widow

  • Jaylee Gale
    Jaylee Gale 9 days ago

    This dude is actually rly smart tho like

  • L Jay
    L Jay 9 days ago

    Speaking of heart rhythms, does he have any leads on?

  • Sarah Kruse Abrahams Paulin

    Hey, great video! Could you please review the episode "His last vow" from Sherlock? It has a few medical scenes that I'd like to see you talk about. Thank you for your videos, they are jusy awesome! Keep up the good work!

  • Ninja Y.
    Ninja Y. 9 days ago

    This vids title should be "*Watching myself during surgery*"

  • D-VIII A-IX
    D-VIII A-IX 10 days ago

    Dr hope looks like Benedict Cumbeerbatch from the side

  • Andrew Grabowski
    Andrew Grabowski 10 days ago

    Since you're a big Marvel fan, can you examine the Tony Stark injury from the first Iron Man movie? I don't know if you're a surgeon or any background of being an engineer but I'd love to know how realistic the injury is and the technique to fix the injury is, especially since it was in the middle of the Afghan desert in 2008 of all times. Just has my curiosity hightened to get your take on what happened vs what should've happened.

  • Azzedination
    Azzedination 10 days ago

    Real jew react to boy in the white pajamas

  • S Butcher
    S Butcher 10 days ago +1

    A red skull reacts to a specific scene in infinity war

  • Yvonne Palarion
    Yvonne Palarion 10 days ago +1

    Please react to Yong Pal please , Hospital Ship and Doctor Stranger a korean drama please thank you

  • Evianna Faye
    Evianna Faye 10 days ago

    I agree with your assessment on the cardiac tamponade scene, I would be pressing the call bell for assistance....and have a whole med team there.

  • Doodle Boy
    Doodle Boy 10 days ago

    I am here for 8:13
    Sound of the Lamborghini V10

  • Skit Less
    Skit Less 10 days ago

    You look like him...

  • Gio Productions
    Gio Productions 11 days ago

    Loved it, thank you!

  • Gio Productions
    Gio Productions 11 days ago

    Real dick leaves a stupid comment

    Idk how this works..

  • carlos Rivas
    carlos Rivas 11 days ago

    So tony stark, a genius engineer who shown he can do just about anything, all he had to do was offer Dr Strange perfect hands, and the doc would have defeated Thanos the first time?

  • ALexpWTFISTHAT
    ALexpWTFISTHAT 11 days ago

    Nice to see that little nod to previous Marvel movies in Dr. Strange. The Air Force captain with a mid-thoracic burst fracture (or whatever that was) was probably a reference to the failed Hammer Industries armoured suit that was trying to emulate Tony Stark's Iron Man suit hahaha

  • unknown
    unknown 11 days ago

    If you like cells at work and surgery shows you should try doing a review of black jack (anime) it is based on a 1973 manga by osamu tazuka (creator of astro boy) the godfather of anime. It follows a underground surgeon who is very talented and perform operations for the poor who cant afford it (something like a medical robin hood).

  • J Town
    J Town 11 days ago

    Real Actors react to Real Doctor's reaction of them Acting like Doctors

  • J Town
    J Town 11 days ago +1

    How did a surgeon of his caliber not have his hands insured for some massive amount through Lloyds of London?

  • Grace Faith
    Grace Faith 11 days ago

    fantastic. loved seeing the science behind the movie.

  • Knockoff Transformers
    Knockoff Transformers 11 days ago +1

    But is his handwriting ok?

  • Rashdan1994
    Rashdan1994 11 days ago

    One of the best TVclip recommendation with great comments 😂

  • Stephen Beaton
    Stephen Beaton 11 days ago

    I like how you explain things I am not looking into the medical profession but, I am still interested in these kinds of things. Though I am more interested in the musculoskeletal system,

  • Keshler Sanon
    Keshler Sanon 12 days ago

    I just realized the billy guy was talking about Rhodes who became paralyzed🤯

  • Loltol1234
    Loltol1234 12 days ago

    Is it just me or does he kinda look like dr strange

  • Mazuko Uzumaki
    Mazuko Uzumaki 12 days ago +3

    8:18 i just now realized the guy on the phone was talking about war machine😱

  • Juliana Karasawa
    Juliana Karasawa 12 days ago

    Nice commentary! Put in very simple terms for the laymen without taking the fun from the movie

  • Liron Koren
    Liron Koren 12 days ago

    React to code black

  • Magnus Schwerdtfeger
    Magnus Schwerdtfeger 12 days ago

    What would you do when the two other types of cardiac arrest occur?

  • Macy B
    Macy B 12 days ago

    Super interesting! I actually learned a lot watching!

  • 『SNZV』
    『SNZV』 12 days ago

    Anger Man reacts to The Hulk

  • Alberto Lamorena Tan Jr

    A pleasure to watch your videos Doctor.

  • Salty.Bitters.
    Salty.Bitters. 12 days ago +2

    Female reacts to Ironman

  • Premier Sammyboy
    Premier Sammyboy 12 days ago

    why would someone even dislike this video

  • Drawing Prodigy
    Drawing Prodigy 12 days ago

    Real bat reacts to Batman.

  • upperganger
    upperganger 12 days ago

    This thorough explanation is so good that I'm starting to really get into knowing about medical terms more. I love the fact filmmakers are also starting to acknowledge the importance of accuracy of scenes with real world practice, it gives a sense of magnitude to make the scenes more alive.

  • iSellYew -
    iSellYew - 13 days ago

    *Real Spider Reacts To Spider-Man*

  • Demon Queen
    Demon Queen 13 days ago

    in .... theatre?????

  • Dave Cheney
    Dave Cheney 13 days ago +4

    Since you taught us about medical stuff in Doctor Strange maybe do the doctors from Star Trek

  • Ricardo Builes
    Ricardo Builes 13 days ago

    Amazing

  • WildWolf
    WildWolf 13 days ago +1

    This was much more interesting to watch than expected

  • javd25
    javd25 13 days ago

    Could you review Saving Hope? It’s a show on Hulu

  • Rah_ul g
    Rah_ul g 13 days ago

    I planed to watch this for just 5 min but here i am .. !! Till the end

  • Dailydailey
    Dailydailey 13 days ago

    He look like doctor strange as well

  • Alan Rico
    Alan Rico 13 days ago

    You pause too much

  • Selman Yılmaz
    Selman Yılmaz 13 days ago

    He really looks like Charlie from Lost

  • Young Boy
    Young Boy 13 days ago

    Real ant reacts to Ant-Man

  • Brenden Neal
    Brenden Neal 13 days ago +2

    One of the most interesting videos I’ve ever watched :)

  • Jedi J03Y
    Jedi J03Y 13 days ago

    Bill Cosby reacts to the Kardashians

    • John Smith
      John Smith 13 days ago

      Jedi J03Y You are not gang to get that because they do not visit people that are in jail for sex crimes.

  • legomation reviews
    legomation reviews 13 days ago +1

    Real tree reacts to groot

  • John Nguyen
    John Nguyen 13 days ago +3

    Real taxi driver reacts to Taxi Driver.

  • Zaya Moone
    Zaya Moone 14 days ago

    This was very interesting and entertaining to watch!

  • Jonathan Lumbreras
    Jonathan Lumbreras 14 days ago +1

    Real panther reacts to black panther

  • Jack Daniel's in the lion's den

    Honestly you do kinda look like Benedict Cumberbatch from certain angles

  • Cyk
    Cyk 14 days ago

    Alright, I'll be VERY original on this one, but from the front view I think you look like Watson in Sherlock Holmes (the one with Benedict/ younger, obviously), but from 3/4 you just look like Benedict himself. So besides the fact that this video was pretty informative and interesting, I found it kind of funny to see this ahah

  • Sahar Lerk
    Sahar Lerk 14 days ago +2

    I liked this video bc im a marvel fan and i learned things while watching

  • ariennye42
    ariennye42 14 days ago

    This was fantastic! I love this movie, but cringe through the medical scenes. It drives me crazy the basic stuff that they do wrong. As you said, some of it is forgivable being a superhero movie and all, but scrubbing in? Come on! And if my brain is exposed on the operating table, my medical team had better be wearing masks in theatre! Thank you for this great little expose and educational lesson. This doctor is glad its not just me noticing this stuff. I expect more accuracy in the real life part of million dollar movies, even if/until magic, aliens, or supers come along. Then they can do whatever they want. (my late husband felt the same way about computer stuff in "real life scenes" in movies.) And I totally play music in surgery. :}

  • angela’s blessings
    angela’s blessings 14 days ago

    is it just me or does dr hope look like dr strange ...😂

  • Musa myBoi
    Musa myBoi 15 days ago +2

    Real Thanos Reacts to infinity War

  • bursegsardaukar
    bursegsardaukar 15 days ago

    4:31 Hamlet time

  • Serina Seras
    Serina Seras 15 days ago

    Your smile is adorable and I love how enthusiastic you are when discussing medicine. Jealous of everyone who has you in grand rounds