Joker - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 2, 2019
  • The origin story of the beloved DC comic villain starring Joaquin Phoenix has hit theaters! Does it live up to the hype? Here's my review for JOKER!
    #Joker #JokerMovie
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 7 487

  • try batman
    try batman Hour ago

    I like your review but be more graphic with your word so I feel like I'm watching the movie in you don't make me guess ok thanks

  • Paul Marks
    Paul Marks 13 hours ago

    I CAN'T GET THIS HOUR & A HALF OF MY LIFE BACK.. Super slow dragged out, The 8.8 IMDB Rating That must be Liberal hollywood voting.. My favorite scene is when Robert De Niro gets shot in the head.... Download it, I ACTUALLY FEEL LIKE THE PRODUCERS OWE ME $40.00...

    • dragging no
      dragging no 2 hours ago

      Lol yes it's slow because it's a slow burn but you didn't like it but most people are calling it a masterpiece so..

  • Justin Awesome
    Justin Awesome Day ago

    This movie is amazing its my second favorite of the year. I love it but I have to say so far Avengers Endgame is the best.

  • mr J / pro wrestling

    SEEN IT LAST NIGHT FOR A 2ND TIME I WAS @ THE OPENING OCTOBER 4TH WHAT A MASTERPIECE 👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

  • A Teaching Moment
    A Teaching Moment 3 days ago +1

    Great movie. It shuld be best picture and Oscar.

  • ScorchedCrow95
    ScorchedCrow95 3 days ago +4

    I feel like this movie is dangerous, but not in the way people are saying it is. It won't invite violence or anything like that. It's dangerous because this movie makes you sympathize with the Joker, but it doesn't make you root for him or hope he succedes. It's dangerous because it's a movie that makes you question the *reasons* why Arthur does what he does rather than just writing him off as cartoonish evil. It makes you realize the inherent problem in our society, that the poor and the mentally ill are forgotten and abandoned. It's a movie that doesn't let you see things in black and white. It's absolutely dangerous, but it's dangerous because it makes us confront issues in society rather than ignore them. All the people saying it will Incite violence are just wanting to ignore the message and go back to their black and white narrative that lets them continue to ignore people in need.

  • Marc Potter
    Marc Potter 3 days ago

    For those who don't even pay attention to superhero movies it's great cuz you can sit down and watch without knowing a damn thing.

  • Mainely Movies
    Mainely Movies 3 days ago +2

    This is such a conflicting and uncomfortable watch, but Phoenix is fantastic in the role!

  • NotRappers
    NotRappers 4 days ago

    I think here's how you tie in Phoenix's joker into the larger DCEU:
    They've replaced batfleck with Pattinson's Batman and that's the first hurdle.. and honestly I wish they would have just kept batfleck he wasn't the fucking problem but ok just say fuck it and act like it was Robert Pattinson all along we won't even acknowledge the change.
    We can just act like Pattinson's Batman is fucking 50 years old and jacked like batfleck.
    Then say that Leto's joker was Jason Todd since thats what everyone thought at first anyways. It would explain away why Leto's joker was so bad because he was just imitating the real joker. Imitating Phoenix's joker.
    Idk I'm honestly just spitballing at this point I just feel the DCEU is so fucked they are making birds of prey which has Harley fucking Quinn in it which means Leto's joker is still in the universe. So how do they explain a whole different batman. If they did something different with Leto I'd be curious to see it.. I thought from the suicide trailers he'd be great. But they'd be stupid not to include Joaquin Phoenix's joker in the DCEU considering that in most peoples opinion he definitely matched if not exceeded Heath ledgers take on the joker.
    It's like DC is just throwing shit out there at this point and seeing what sticks and it's kinda sad. Even though I loved joker it's still sad to think that that's all we're gonna get of that version of the joker. I don't think anybody wants to see Leto again after that masterful performance by Joaquin..
    I truly truly hope they figure all of it out but at the moment things are a fucking mess in the DCEU and if they fuck up Batman one more time he's gonna die for a couple decades Joel Schumacher style... Please DC don't fuck it up anymore... Please

  • Jack Latham
    Jack Latham 4 days ago

    I would like to see a two face orgin story played by me

  • ed rosa
    ed rosa 5 days ago +1

    I'm kinda "meh" on the Joker as a character. To me Joker is Mark Hammil in cartoons and the games. That being said....
    HOLY SWEET HECK I ADORED that movie. The cinematography, sound design, color on top of an amazing performance by Pheonix.

  • extreme bass boost
    extreme bass boost 5 days ago

    But if you realy a joker fan you will know from the batmen film that his wife make him do that not his life and after that he want to do evry think with laugh but in bad why's and try to show the worst on pepol that's why i hate that movie

  • VictoryNYC
    VictoryNYC 5 days ago

    First AWESOMETACTULAR since ENDGAME.

  • The Ren
    The Ren 7 days ago

    The television scenes reminded me of Requiem for a Dream........

    Great...
    Brb... Gonna be depressed for a couple days.

  • Rob R
    Rob R 7 days ago

    Taxi driver

  • Rob R
    Rob R 7 days ago

    Agree with alot of points made..the movie should have been called Arthur instead of joker. If your going to see the movie as huge batman/joker fan you will be disappointed.

    • dragging no
      dragging no 2 hours ago

      Lol nope I'm a big batman and joker fan and I loved it because I know it's and else world story and a great one as well

  • Davis Jugroop
    Davis Jugroop 7 days ago

    I dont agree with the idea that he gets beat down and he becomes the joker. He had a predispostion to become the joker. He had a choice, but he is both innocent and guilty. I thought of the movie hannibal rising, they did it better.

  • Marisa B
    Marisa B 8 days ago

    Ultimately I got one small scheme out of this movie and that’s what I’ve always liked about joker is the chaotic evil intelligence. In this regard it was lacking and felt like the joker was flying by the seat of his pants rather than being in control imo

  • Peter Petrakis
    Peter Petrakis 8 days ago

    DC movies suck in general

  • stephen moran
    stephen moran 8 days ago

    Why so many dislikes??

  • Lawun Bryant
    Lawun Bryant 9 days ago

    I thought it was psychological thriller about a man who changes as the movie current events and drama unfolds. He progresses to become the Joker as problems in his personal life mount up. Being the son of one of Batman’s most important character’s came as a shock. The movie was good but for meant health patient it makes you feel more alive in a way. It was like a walk thru the life of real person ....but on the edge!!!!

  • Ozamataz Buckshank
    Ozamataz Buckshank 9 days ago +1

    2:54 jeremy really had low expectation on de niro? Really nigga? Bruh u a film critics and u thought abt that to de niro, fucking lord de niro! Seriously? Lost a bit of respect to jeremy

  • M R
    M R 9 days ago

    JFC these iMovie effects.

  • Nique Nique
    Nique Nique 9 days ago

    Undeniably a tragedy lol

  • rockstarcrossing
    rockstarcrossing 10 days ago +1

    This movie made me question my own sanity.

  • Evil Queen
    Evil Queen 10 days ago +3

    When you realize they did a great job portraying a descent to madness in less than 2 hours amazingly and D&D had 8 seasons to descend Daenerys into madness but still couldn’t do it right

  • Ryan Sprout Root
    Ryan Sprout Root 10 days ago

    "Walking Phoenix"

  • Wyguy the French Fry
    Wyguy the French Fry 10 days ago +3

    This is gonna be his #1 movie of the year

  • John Hooyer
    John Hooyer 10 days ago

    Thanks for pointing out that the movie was uncomfortable and that it made you root for him to _not_ snap. Which for a movie that pulls you in because you _want_ to see a Joker origin story, that's pretty impressive.

  • GaunerD4V3
    GaunerD4V3 10 days ago

    Great movie seen it today had to take cigarette break because it was so intense

  • mircea1910
    mircea1910 10 days ago +1

    the first 3 seconds says all

  • John Ivan Taro
    John Ivan Taro 11 days ago

    I wonder if we'll ever get spoiler talks for Zombieland 1 and Zombieland 2....

  • Jace MindSculptor
    Jace MindSculptor 11 days ago +1

    Mr. Freeze played by Bryan Cranston

  • Chris Pacman
    Chris Pacman 12 days ago

    So much more than the usual comic book based movies with heavy CGI, dumb plotlines, cheesy jokes and unrealistic ripped actors. Yeah am looking at you Avengers

  • JonSnowIII
    JonSnowIII 12 days ago +1

    That intro was genius.

  • L. Rodrigo Andrade
    L. Rodrigo Andrade 12 days ago

    They should do a ventriloquist movie (batman vilain)

  • Raghu Seetharaman
    Raghu Seetharaman 12 days ago +1

    Liberals hate this movie.


    I now learned that Liberals are idiots.

  • LRsoup
    LRsoup 12 days ago +1

    You're absolutely right. The movie should be called 'Arthur'.

  • Amy Artist
    Amy Artist 12 days ago +2

    There is only one scene he isn’t in...Think the other time “you get what you f-ing deserve” is said and to who. It has to do with a different character.

  • Amy Artist
    Amy Artist 12 days ago +2

    There is only one scene he isn’t in...Think Pearls and a future vigilante.

  • HARRY POTTOKER
    HARRY POTTOKER 12 days ago

    Its a great movie it just shouldn’t be about jokers back story should just be a movie about a psychotic villain , The only problem I have is the joker is like 35 and Bruce is still about 10 so by the time Bruce becomes Batman the joker will be about 50 and would be no match for Batman at that age the timeline is off

    • RetroMania
      RetroMania 11 days ago

      Well what about the Batman 1989 movie? Jack Nicholson was pretty old as the Joker in that one. So its worked before.

  • Geralt Rivia
    Geralt Rivia 13 days ago +2

    would you say this movie...put a smile on that face?

  • raonyrolim
    raonyrolim 13 days ago +2

    Fast foward Jeremy's Terminator Review: " its like porn". Fast foward Joker Review: "Tod Phillips is ready for deeper things".
    Shit i should have watch the whole vídeo.

  • LordKellthe1st
    LordKellthe1st 13 days ago

    PLEASE Stop removing pauses between sentences, it is very uncomfortable to watch and completely unnecessary.
    Why do people keep doing this....

  • LordKellthe1st
    LordKellthe1st 13 days ago +11

    Jack: do i look like i am joking?
    Heath: Why so serious?
    Joaquin: all i have are negative thoughts
    Leto: all i have are negative reviews

  • vik saggu
    vik saggu 13 days ago

    Arthur: how an Ardvark has a bad day

  • Ghost Warrior 38
    Ghost Warrior 38 13 days ago +1

    I genuinely hope that this opens the gateway to other DC Villains getting their own Standalone film

  • Max Maximum
    Max Maximum 14 days ago +2

    One of the best movies in 2019! Another good movie is Parasite.

  • Hernando Escamilla
    Hernando Escamilla 14 days ago

    So no Maleficent: Mistress of Evil review hum? Fine be that way. :(

  • John lisE
    John lisE 14 days ago

    So basically, we have a delusional schizophrenic person that murders multiple people and he’s the Joker. So anyone mentally ill person to that extreme that commits murder, can be the a Joker. You missed the character. Joaquin Phoenix does a a fantastic job of crossing Taxi Driver and one Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest but that ain’t the Joker.

  • Masih Siyall
    Masih Siyall 14 days ago +1

    *Joaquins speech after winning the Oscar* "Everyone laughed at me for my Oscar losses, but no ones laughing now!"
    - jok̶e̶r̶aquin phoenix 🃏

  • KratosTV
    KratosTV 14 days ago

    I think they should do a film just on the penquin honestly. Penquin is never in batman films in many many many years it's always joker this and joker that. The others matter to you know. Joker is eh okay I just think he is overrated big time. I'll wait till redbox to see it

  • Tahsin Ahmed
    Tahsin Ahmed 15 days ago

    Highest grossing rated R movie baby,

  • NerdyPYTHON Media
    NerdyPYTHON Media 15 days ago

    Just spitballing here, but Bryan Cranston as Mr. Freeze doesn't sound bad

  • Joey Vancleve
    Joey Vancleve 15 days ago

    Generic crap is the best term to describe joker

  • Don Franco
    Don Franco 15 days ago

    Great review for a superb movie. Joker makes me want to go back and rewatch The King of Comedy and Taxi Driver.

  • pfguo87
    pfguo87 16 days ago

    Yes agreed with that this should not have been called 'Joker' and 'Arthur' would definitely have been a better name. 'Joker' got a 1/10 from me, 'Arthur' would have gotten a higher score. I didn't like this movie, to me it wasn't about Joker the Batman villain, it was about Arthur a guy with mental issues. Don't agree that this is a awesome movie...

    • gaming Work
      gaming Work 13 days ago

      So just because it didn't feel like the joker even though this is just the beginning for this joker you give it a 1 gtfo.

  • Chris Schreiner
    Chris Schreiner 16 days ago

    Bane would be another great character development film IMO. Saw joker yesterday... absolute masterpiece. Dark, but so thought provoking. Be kind to one another folks 😉

  • ShogunG
    ShogunG 16 days ago

    Movie was terribly boring ... picked on dude that has enough then goes crazy ... regular school shooter story. Not creative at all

  • pozzibleMovies
    pozzibleMovies 16 days ago

    One thing I will say about this snooze fest of a movie is that it didn't feel real at all, as a matter of face during the last scene I was left wondering what was real and what wasn't, like with his girl, but I found myself not caring about any of it