The Commuter - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 14, 2018
  • FACEBOOK: ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Commuter, starring Liam Neeson, Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Jonathan Banks, Elizabeth McGovern, Sam Neill. Directed by Jaume Collet-Serra.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 989

  • Kid Wavy
    Kid Wavy 27 days ago

    How did the FBI just know to keep his family safe?? The person he called throughout the movie was MURPHY the guy who was in on it with Joanna so how did the FBI get the hint that miachels family was in danger

  • Tru Keesey
    Tru Keesey Month ago

    I ain't got no time to watch no movin pictures, and am not inclined to trust my mind and subconcsious programmin to our foes in the entertainment corporations, so I get knowledge about the movin pictures through reviewins such as yours, as well as honest trailers and Movie Clips. When I want more detail I'll listen to Cinema Sins, but Jeremy Scott insulted me personally (actin like he was comin down from speed) and so is on my fecal roster.

  • LKNANML
    LKNANML Month ago

    These movies are a lot of fun. This is what happens when you take any script made for Steven Seagal and drop a good actor into the lead role. It takes a pompous, unbeatable master of everything character you hope they just kill and end the movie out of nowhere and makes you want to see the character save the day.
    Honestly. Liam Neeson and Steven Seagal have the same laid back, soft spoken portrayal of a guy with past filled with kicking ass that just wants life to slow down but "Just When I Thought I Was Out, They Pull Me Back In!".
    It really does lend itself to flipping that Hollywood just on the cusp of that could happen in real life vs that was so unbelievably implausible switch in your head and just sit back and enjoy the ride.

  • carborundable
    carborundable Month ago

    Great review!

  • Nick Berry
    Nick Berry 2 months ago

    Nice Cowboy Bebop shirt! Best anime ever

  • Vinayak Alagwadi
    Vinayak Alagwadi 3 months ago

    Guess what ,,Joana and Goodwin are the same person ,, Goodwin ha s the source code ,, joana is not real, they were just trying to find prinn using sc ,, and that Mike thinks he got her busted BUT Godwin knows 😁😁😁

  • Taylor Grimsdottir-Jackson

    You don't get this film at all.

  • onespeed
    onespeed 6 months ago

    I liked the movie but it was really confusing and hard to follow.

  • microfg4
    microfg4 6 months ago

    I was just happy to watch Sam Niell yet again!

  • Thomas Latimer
    Thomas Latimer 6 months ago

    I just saw it & enjoyed!

  • PretentiousTwat
    PretentiousTwat 7 months ago

    Worst movie of 2018.

  • Comic Culture
    Comic Culture 7 months ago

    Am I the only one who thinks that Vera Farmiga kinda looks like Kristen Wiig ?

  • Alex Jbf
    Alex Jbf 8 months ago

    I really enjoyed Non-Stop but this one was awful. The premise and story made no sense at all. Next!

  • Comictalent
    Comictalent 8 months ago

    Possibly the dumbest movie I've seen in 5 years - it makes even out-of-control train movies seem like Documentaries. The story makes almost no sense at all...

  • nikagirl7
    nikagirl7 8 months ago

    This movie was damn good... I seen similar movies..felt like I was watching "Clue" but 20times better!

  • The Photo Booth Chick
    The Photo Booth Chick 8 months ago

    Yea, it was a bit far fetch... He should have died in so many ways.

  • TheTooginator
    TheTooginator 8 months ago +1

    I agree with the review. The opening scenes were especially well done. I’m pretty jaded about implausible situations, and this movie didn’t cross the “that’s impossible” threshold (close at times though). You have to suspend a certain amount of disbelief at times, but that’s expected.
    Spoiler alert!
    I don’t honestly believe that any intelligent person would accept a VERY ambiguous task for any amount of money in real life, regardless of how desperate they are financially. There is no way that someone offers $25 K to someone to do something legal and if the task was harmless, the person would do it themselves. The other problem, which is actually addressed in the movie (well done!), is that once a task is done, the person is compromised forever.

  • Krusti
    Krusti 8 months ago

    best movie ive ever watched

  • John Henry
    John Henry 8 months ago

    S

  • SabriX
    SabriX 9 months ago

    Please do a review for The Ballad of Buster Scruggs it may be the first A+ movie in 2018 😉

  • Robot Stonka
    Robot Stonka 10 months ago

    Are you serious?? Where is the thrill??? Waste of time!! I like action movies but the whole concept of the plot is soo dumb and did not believe their acting at all!! It must be hard to act when the story is shit.
    I like your reviews but you disappointed me on this one buddy!

  • James Prytula
    James Prytula 10 months ago

    one of ur blu rays is sticking out. Just to be that person haha

  • Ken Smith
    Ken Smith 10 months ago +1

    Yeah but he didn't know someone might come to harm at first. It was only after he was given that package with his wife's wedding ring that he really started to change and his police instincts kicked in.

  • Sullivan Domarchuk
    Sullivan Domarchuk 10 months ago

    fuck this movies awesome

  • che Rogers
    che Rogers 11 months ago

    Wow...I still wont let this distract me from the fact that this guy has a ACTUAL tattoo of Fox McCloud and Symis from Metriod and.. Is that Link from Zelda??...😶😶😶

  • AtotehZ
    AtotehZ 11 months ago

    It's not a bad movie, there were some things that were a bit odd though.
    Continuity: In the very beginning of the movie we see him sit in a car with his wife.. It is supposed to be on different days, but the exact same raindrops are on the windows on different days.
    ***SPOILERS***

    When she states that a GPS tracker was to be placed on the target I initially thought it was to trace the person of interest, that would make sense with GPS.. but that wasn't the case. They needed it to pinpoint a person on a metro. You don't use GPS for that. You use something like Bluetooth for that. Bluetooth has a huge signal drop-off within 2m and works by pairing. This means their hitman would only have to stroll up and down the train and he'd spot him, underground or not. It's way more precise. I guess you could use both, GPS outside 5-10m and Bluetooth within, but it doesn't say in the movie they did.
    His friend Murphy was acting suspect almost from the beginning.. and the fact that the only person who knew he was on that train was his family and him made him even more suspect. They don't really touch on this till the end of the movie, but it's apparent pretty much when he is contacted by the lady in the first place.

  • Derg HAZE
    Derg HAZE Year ago

    Best part of this movie is the multi-track drifting!!!

  • Haider Zara short films

    It’s really good movie

  • Boogieman
    Boogieman Year ago

    Ya, okay, now i like more than Jeremy

  • TheMaskman74
    TheMaskman74 Year ago

    I thought he was insane the whole time

  • Simon Naylor
    Simon Naylor Year ago

    I agree with your take on. Entertaining, good acting, good action, just too much unbelievable timing and a slightly convoluted plot. Overall, it was as good as I could of hoped for from a Liam Neeson film I didn’t know existed before it was recommended to me after I asked for a good crime thriller like Zodiac, Prisoners, and A Walk Amung the a Tombstones. Not as good as those three but a perfect recommendation for what I was in the mood for!

  • AJMitchell
    AJMitchell Year ago

    Geez 2 ads on this video

  • Kutta Kyte
    Kutta Kyte Year ago

    I couldn't believe how thin, gaunt Liam looked. He's aged so fast. Looked about 75 years old in it. What a shock.

  • Nicholas Jenkins
    Nicholas Jenkins Year ago

    1000th comment

  • Luigi Nastro
    Luigi Nastro Year ago

    Very enjoyable, albeit flawed movie. The third act is kinda ridiculous, but overall it's a 6/10 for me.
    How is Neeson 66, by the way?

  • Chris Lopez
    Chris Lopez Year ago

    This movie is street trash who is killing him he never killed nobody never fight and it was a straight straight trash

    • Chris Lopez
      Chris Lopez Year ago

      Who is killing those people on the train they never sent us why does movies street trash

  • Rocky Lion
    Rocky Lion Year ago

    are you kidding? First time I disagree! He’s 66 years old. Stop playing the hero. If a 66 year old guy got beat up like that in real life he’d be dead. I give it a D -

  • Joey F
    Joey F Year ago

    This movie gave me a huge Non-Stop vibe, which isn't bad since I love both movies

  • Piero Minaya Rojas

    I was at the edge of my seat...

  • Nic haydel
    Nic haydel Year ago

    Hey somebody help me. What role does the black girl, who gives the warning to McCauley, play? It's like she comes out of nowhere though I was expecting her origins to be explained.

  • Supreme
    Supreme Year ago

    It’s Taken...on a train

  • A. Kamal
    A. Kamal Year ago

    Awful movie!

  • Bronwyn SoCal Gal

    I don't know if it's the Hitchcock style of intrigue and suspense but I can't stop watching "The Commuter". From the memorizing Vera Farmiga to the always delightful to watch Liam Neeson, the Commuter is slowly creeping up my top films of the year list. Plus this film has one of the most beautiful musical scores since "Interstellar".
    The movie is such a delight to watch.

  • Smoov Operata
    Smoov Operata Year ago

    This movie sucked ass. Its Taken 4 meets snakes on a train. Gay

  • Precious Tritium
    Precious Tritium Year ago

    I watched this movie just recently and I actually really enjoyed it. It was entertaining.

  • Roger Gonzalez
    Roger Gonzalez Year ago

    The movie and acting were a little silly, found myself chuckling frequently.

  • Captain Cluster
    Captain Cluster Year ago

    I thought the first half was great, intelligent and well crafted. Unfortunately it got more and more silly with some extremely ropey CGI near the end. It really didn't need to become an over the top action movie as it was doing fine as a Hitchcock type mystery up until the fists started flying.

  • Vaclav Adamek
    Vaclav Adamek Year ago

    Can someone help to explain me the end, please? How can he find the woman on the train at the end of the movie? Thanks.

  • ö. . ,
    ö. . , Year ago

    It's so close to a good movie, but then the director decided to turn it into a total stinker with all that over the top action bullshit.

  • Theo Little
    Theo Little Year ago +1

    One thing I noticed with the camerawork was that the shots that took place off of the train kinda swayed, as if you were moving back and forth slightly, like in a moving transport. Then we get on the train and the shots are on a steady cam. I just found that interesting, but I don’t know if it was mere observation or an actual choice made by the director or cinematographer.

  • LulzTV it
    LulzTV it Year ago

    Its not an excelent movie but I had a very fun time watching it. I loved this movie even if I am a hard sci fi movie goer. I will give it a B+.

  • Bob Smithers
    Bob Smithers Year ago

    Hey look its spike from cowboy beebop

  • Ardie Septian
    Ardie Septian Year ago

    Ed Warren and Lorrain Warren cannot find more job in exorcism and decide to deceive people. Unfortunatelly, they deal with God Zeus who's reincarnating as veteran expert bodyguard slash detective. Awesome ^^. By the way, Chris, day by day you do look more like Chris Pratt

  • lolwutdavid
    lolwutdavid Year ago

    Ever since you mentioned shakey cam in a past video Ive come to appreciate scenes more that dont use shakey cam or at least use them right. One of the dope things I noticed during the movie.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Yah, i really didn't like this film, it was unengaging, boring, miss step, it was just not good

  • Kyle Reese
    Kyle Reese Year ago

    Liam Neeson kills on a Plane!
    ...on a train!
    ...on a boat!
    ...drinking tea.. *AND WILL STILL KILL SOMEONE!*

  • Handsome Bastard
    Handsome Bastard Year ago

    Spoiler alert:



    Had he just gone home instead of stopped at a bar after he was fired, then none of this wouldve happened.

  • Horror Fan 4 Life

    I really enjoyed this film.it's the best of the four films liam and the director have done together.I give it the grade of A-.

  • BlueMonk25
    BlueMonk25 Year ago

    Taken on a train?