The Commuter - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 14, 2018
  • FACEBOOK: facebook.com/ChrisStuckmann
    TWITTER: twitter.com/Chris_Stuckmann
    OFFICIAL SITE: www.chrisstuckmann.com
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Commuter, starring Liam Neeson, Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Jonathan Banks, Elizabeth McGovern, Sam Neill. Directed by Jaume Collet-Serra.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 986

  • Nick Berry
    Nick Berry 4 days ago

    Nice Cowboy Bebop shirt! Best anime ever

  • Vinayak Alagwadi
    Vinayak Alagwadi Month ago

    Guess what ,,Joana and Goodwin are the same person ,, Goodwin ha s the source code ,, joana is not real, they were just trying to find prinn using sc ,, and that Mike thinks he got her busted BUT Godwin knows 😁😁😁

  • Taylor Grimsdottir-Jackson

    You don't get this film at all.

  • onespeed
    onespeed 4 months ago

    I liked the movie but it was really confusing and hard to follow.

  • microfg4
    microfg4 4 months ago

    I was just happy to watch Sam Niell yet again!

  • Thomas Latimer
    Thomas Latimer 4 months ago

    I just saw it & enjoyed!

  • PretentiousTwat
    PretentiousTwat 5 months ago

    Worst movie of 2018.

  • Comic Culture
    Comic Culture 5 months ago

    Am I the only one who thinks that Vera Farmiga kinda looks like Kristen Wiig ?

  • Alex Jbf
    Alex Jbf 5 months ago

    I really enjoyed Non-Stop but this one was awful. The premise and story made no sense at all. Next!

  • Comictalent
    Comictalent 6 months ago

    Possibly the dumbest movie I've seen in 5 years - it makes even out-of-control train movies seem like Documentaries. The story makes almost no sense at all...

  • nikagirl7
    nikagirl7 6 months ago

    This movie was damn good... I seen similar movies..felt like I was watching "Clue" but 20times better!

  • The Photo Booth Chick
    The Photo Booth Chick 6 months ago

    Yea, it was a bit far fetch... He should have died in so many ways.

  • TheTooginator
    TheTooginator 6 months ago +1

    I agree with the review. The opening scenes were especially well done. I’m pretty jaded about implausible situations, and this movie didn’t cross the “that’s impossible” threshold (close at times though). You have to suspend a certain amount of disbelief at times, but that’s expected.
    Spoiler alert!
    I don’t honestly believe that any intelligent person would accept a VERY ambiguous task for any amount of money in real life, regardless of how desperate they are financially. There is no way that someone offers $25 K to someone to do something legal and if the task was harmless, the person would do it themselves. The other problem, which is actually addressed in the movie (well done!), is that once a task is done, the person is compromised forever.

  • Krusti
    Krusti 6 months ago

    best movie ive ever watched

  • John Henry
    John Henry 6 months ago

    S

  • SabriX
    SabriX 7 months ago

    Please do a review for The Ballad of Buster Scruggs it may be the first A+ movie in 2018 😉

  • Robot Stonka
    Robot Stonka 7 months ago

    Are you serious?? Where is the thrill??? Waste of time!! I like action movies but the whole concept of the plot is soo dumb and did not believe their acting at all!! It must be hard to act when the story is shit.
    I like your reviews but you disappointed me on this one buddy!

  • James Prytula
    James Prytula 8 months ago

    one of ur blu rays is sticking out. Just to be that person haha

  • Ken Smith
    Ken Smith 8 months ago +1

    Yeah but he didn't know someone might come to harm at first. It was only after he was given that package with his wife's wedding ring that he really started to change and his police instincts kicked in.

  • Sullivan Domarchuk
    Sullivan Domarchuk 8 months ago

    fuck this movies awesome

  • che Rogers
    che Rogers 8 months ago

    Wow...I still wont let this distract me from the fact that this guy has a ACTUAL tattoo of Fox McCloud and Symis from Metriod and.. Is that Link from Zelda??...😶😶😶

  • AtotehZ
    AtotehZ 9 months ago

    It's not a bad movie, there were some things that were a bit odd though.
    Continuity: In the very beginning of the movie we see him sit in a car with his wife.. It is supposed to be on different days, but the exact same raindrops are on the windows on different days.
    ***SPOILERS***

    When she states that a GPS tracker was to be placed on the target I initially thought it was to trace the person of interest, that would make sense with GPS.. but that wasn't the case. They needed it to pinpoint a person on a metro. You don't use GPS for that. You use something like Bluetooth for that. Bluetooth has a huge signal drop-off within 2m and works by pairing. This means their hitman would only have to stroll up and down the train and he'd spot him, underground or not. It's way more precise. I guess you could use both, GPS outside 5-10m and Bluetooth within, but it doesn't say in the movie they did.
    His friend Murphy was acting suspect almost from the beginning.. and the fact that the only person who knew he was on that train was his family and him made him even more suspect. They don't really touch on this till the end of the movie, but it's apparent pretty much when he is contacted by the lady in the first place.

  • Derg HAZE
    Derg HAZE 10 months ago

    Best part of this movie is the multi-track drifting!!!

  • Haider Zara short films
    Haider Zara short films 10 months ago

    It’s really good movie

  • Boogieman
    Boogieman 10 months ago

    Ya, okay, now i like more than Jeremy

  • TheMaskman74
    TheMaskman74 10 months ago

    I thought he was insane the whole time

  • Simon Naylor
    Simon Naylor 10 months ago

    I agree with your take on. Entertaining, good acting, good action, just too much unbelievable timing and a slightly convoluted plot. Overall, it was as good as I could of hoped for from a Liam Neeson film I didn’t know existed before it was recommended to me after I asked for a good crime thriller like Zodiac, Prisoners, and A Walk Amung the a Tombstones. Not as good as those three but a perfect recommendation for what I was in the mood for!

  • AJMitchell
    AJMitchell 10 months ago

    Geez 2 ads on this video

  • Kutta Kyte
    Kutta Kyte 10 months ago

    I couldn't believe how thin, gaunt Liam looked. He's aged so fast. Looked about 75 years old in it. What a shock.

  • Nicholas Jenkins
    Nicholas Jenkins 10 months ago

    1000th comment

  • Luigi Nastro
    Luigi Nastro 11 months ago

    Very enjoyable, albeit flawed movie. The third act is kinda ridiculous, but overall it's a 6/10 for me.
    How is Neeson 66, by the way?

  • Chris Lopez
    Chris Lopez 11 months ago

    This movie is street trash who is killing him he never killed nobody never fight and it was a straight straight trash

    • Chris Lopez
      Chris Lopez 11 months ago

      Who is killing those people on the train they never sent us why does movies street trash

  • Rocky Lion
    Rocky Lion 11 months ago

    are you kidding? First time I disagree! He’s 66 years old. Stop playing the hero. If a 66 year old guy got beat up like that in real life he’d be dead. I give it a D -

  • Joey F
    Joey F 11 months ago

    This movie gave me a huge Non-Stop vibe, which isn't bad since I love both movies

  • Piero Minaya Rojas

    I was at the edge of my seat...

  • Nic haydel
    Nic haydel Year ago

    Hey somebody help me. What role does the black girl, who gives the warning to McCauley, play? It's like she comes out of nowhere though I was expecting her origins to be explained.

  • Supreme
    Supreme Year ago

    It’s Taken...on a train

  • A. Kamal
    A. Kamal Year ago

    Awful movie!

  • Bronwyn SoCal Gal

    I don't know if it's the Hitchcock style of intrigue and suspense but I can't stop watching "The Commuter". From the memorizing Vera Farmiga to the always delightful to watch Liam Neeson, the Commuter is slowly creeping up my top films of the year list. Plus this film has one of the most beautiful musical scores since "Interstellar".
    The movie is such a delight to watch.

  • Smoov Operata
    Smoov Operata Year ago

    This movie sucked ass. Its Taken 4 meets snakes on a train. Gay

  • Wow
    Wow Year ago

    I watched this movie just recently and I actually really enjoyed it. It was entertaining.

  • Roger Gonzalez
    Roger Gonzalez Year ago

    The movie and acting were a little silly, found myself chuckling frequently.

  • Captain Cluster
    Captain Cluster Year ago

    I thought the first half was great, intelligent and well crafted. Unfortunately it got more and more silly with some extremely ropey CGI near the end. It really didn't need to become an over the top action movie as it was doing fine as a Hitchcock type mystery up until the fists started flying.

  • Vaclav Adamek
    Vaclav Adamek Year ago

    Can someone help to explain me the end, please? How can he find the woman on the train at the end of the movie? Thanks.

  • ö. . ,
    ö. . , Year ago

    It's so close to a good movie, but then the director decided to turn it into a total stinker with all that over the top action bullshit.

  • Theo Little
    Theo Little Year ago +1

    One thing I noticed with the camerawork was that the shots that took place off of the train kinda swayed, as if you were moving back and forth slightly, like in a moving transport. Then we get on the train and the shots are on a steady cam. I just found that interesting, but I don’t know if it was mere observation or an actual choice made by the director or cinematographer.

  • LulzTV it
    LulzTV it Year ago

    Its not an excelent movie but I had a very fun time watching it. I loved this movie even if I am a hard sci fi movie goer. I will give it a B+.

  • Bob Smithers
    Bob Smithers Year ago

    Hey look its spike from cowboy beebop

  • Ardie Septian
    Ardie Septian Year ago

    Ed Warren and Lorrain Warren cannot find more job in exorcism and decide to deceive people. Unfortunatelly, they deal with God Zeus who's reincarnating as veteran expert bodyguard slash detective. Awesome ^^. By the way, Chris, day by day you do look more like Chris Pratt

  • lolwutdavid
    lolwutdavid Year ago

    Ever since you mentioned shakey cam in a past video Ive come to appreciate scenes more that dont use shakey cam or at least use them right. One of the dope things I noticed during the movie.

  • M.T.S The Shark Movie Reviews

    Yah, i really didn't like this film, it was unengaging, boring, miss step, it was just not good

  • I Am Connor
    I Am Connor Year ago

    Liam Neeson kills on a Plane!
    ...on a train!
    ...on a boat!
    ...drinking tea.. *AND WILL STILL KILL SOMEONE!*

  • Handsome Bastard
    Handsome Bastard Year ago

    Spoiler alert:



    Had he just gone home instead of stopped at a bar after he was fired, then none of this wouldve happened.

  • Horror Fan 4 Life

    I really enjoyed this film.it's the best of the four films liam and the director have done together.I give it the grade of A-.

  • BlueMonk25
    BlueMonk25 Year ago

    Taken on a train?

  • Monquese Rockefeller

    Great review but man how many cowboy Bebop shirts do u have lol

  • Jayson James Guerta

    This is Thanos doing.. He want Liam Neeson gone before he can join the Avengers or John Wick

  • Ramon Wessel
    Ramon Wessel Year ago

    Nope, i just got done watching this. I felt like every piece of acting was set out to be some kind of punchline.. all the time. It didnt enchant me at all, there were a couple of times i couldnt restrain myself from rolling my eyes. And then the ending.. *SPOILER ALERT* where everybody admits that they are all the person the killer was looking for. I am prim.. NO I AM PRIM.. noo, i am prim. Good lord, could they have portrayed the king of overcoming adversity (liam neeson) even more tacky on the big screen. Im gonna go watch Taken again.

  • WeLikeSportz
    WeLikeSportz Year ago

    It was a lot better than I expected, but the end where the shooters don't realise a target changing colour before their eyes nearly killed the whole movie. Yeh, there are so many implausible events like in many movies(eg. unkown bad guys way too powerful/all knowing), but at least you can suspend your disbelief a little with that. You definitely can't in regards to the target changing right before the shot and them somehow not noticing.

  • Forest Fernandez
    Forest Fernandez Year ago

    Can you review Kill List please?

  • Vookie
    Vookie Year ago +1

    YOU GUYS DONT KNOW POINT OF THE MOVIE. Movie starts with scenes where Michael get up every morning and first thing he do is listening the media. And media talk mostly about bad things. Also just before last scene we can see how much media had talked about that accident on train. Joanna and her group... they are not assassins, they don't work for rich people who try to hide evidence. THEY WORK FOR MEDIA. THEY WORK FOR SHADOW GOVERNMENT WHO OWNS MEDIA. Look today media, they talk only about mass murderers, terrorist attacks, wars, killers, Black Chronicle is more then 60% of news today. I dont know how bad news impact us "people" but they do. The point is MEDIA needed some big thing some big accident some big story so people have what to listen. Mass shootings in USA is example. All of those are set up. And that is the point of the movie. Media control people and media always need new stories so they sometimes must make false flags. Sorry for bad english.

  • DarkSwam56
    DarkSwam56 Year ago

    "I'm Prin. No wait, i'm Prin. They're all lying, i'm Prin!" "I am NOT Prin..So.." Ahahahahahahahaha!! Love that part xD

  • Ashok Koyi
    Ashok Koyi Year ago

    Wow, You liked this movie. My head hurt so badly while watching this movie. Just like this movie, You are a great reviewer indeed

  • Sharath SH
    Sharath SH Year ago

    I have the same shirt! This world is small.

  • rahatul alam
    rahatul alam Year ago

    is liam Neeson the new Charles Bronson, like action move legend, Liam Neeson has to remake a Charles Bronson movie for sure

  • 1984Akeem
    1984Akeem Year ago

    Liam Neeson: I have a particular set of skills.... I will find you... and do what I must... on this train!

  • Yasemin BAHAR
    Yasemin BAHAR Year ago

    honestly i LOVE LOVE LOVE thrillers/action thrillers and I was ready to buy a ticket but liam neeson's "witch hunt" comment on "times up" made me change my mind completely. i'd rather watch the flightplan for the fifth time.

  • xmeerzx
    xmeerzx Year ago

    I have to say.... I’ve been stuckmannized

  • Joe Norman
    Joe Norman Year ago

    Smile in thumbnail makes me think this movie might be amazing.

  • wearesibz
    wearesibz Year ago

    This was so true!!! Great review!!

  • Mohan K
    Mohan K Year ago

    Non-stop, but now on a train!

  • Matt Lucas
    Matt Lucas Year ago

    This was enjoyable at least

  • John Pearson
    John Pearson Year ago

    CHEAP PLOT!!! A $100.000 AIN'T NO MONEY IN THESE TIMES! ALSO-"WHY SHE GET BACK ON THE TRAIN"?

  • Rene Rivero
    Rene Rivero Year ago

    Oh my god I'm the 1000th comment. I'm so honored.😜

  • brigton11235
    brigton11235 Year ago

    The movie is like a C or a D. Not worth buying a ticket for 15$+. U stupid fcuk boi

  • EonHSD
    EonHSD Year ago

    Please Review Buried!

  • Corey Duncan
    Corey Duncan Year ago

    Despite some minor and forgivable flaws, this movie was a powerhouse. The directing was focused and precise, the cinematography was beautiful and well-balanced, the pacing was fast and rhythmic, the suspense was as intense as any Hitchcock movie, and the cast blended it all together. This is action filmmaking done right.
    The ending was perfect. When he pulled out his badge . . .

  • guy3480
    guy3480 Year ago

    I do not understand the hate for this movie. I thought it was brilliant and was constantly using early elements in the later parts of the movie and that was brilliant

  • Bad Request
    Bad Request Year ago +1

    i think they should stop randomly naming characters played by liam neeson in these kind of movies and just start calling them liam neeson. they're all liam neeson played by liam neeson living though liam neeson's life, because this is how i imagine liam neeson's daily routine is. and that was a lot of liam neeson in a single sentence.

  • MrManPersonGuy
    MrManPersonGuy Year ago

    One of the funniest things I've seen in a while has to be Liam Neeson getting pepper sprayed. I really didn't expect that and I laughed so hard when it happened.

  • CARL WongTW
    CARL WongTW Year ago

    Just watched this, loved it. He was hit on the head countless times, Neeson = invincible old man.
    Part 1: Non Stop (plane)
    Part 2: The Commuter (train), highly recommended
    Part 3: The Ship..?! (or spaceship, more futuristic) Take a guess

  • Milomand99
    Milomand99 Year ago

    i saw jonathan banks i wanna see this

  • anthony long
    anthony long Year ago

    What a good movie this The Commuter (The Passenger in europe).
    Intense and ... that fight one shot scene ... have been bette than all the Taken reunited.
    The composer did also a really good job especially at the beginning of the film with this montage of daily life.
    Yeah !

  • Movie Hub
    Movie Hub Year ago

    To be honest, I think the hate that this film received by critics was totally unnecessary. For starters, no one goes into a Liam Neeson film expecting an excellent plot, beautiful cinematography and Oscar worthy performances, people go into a Liam Neeson film expecting an easy to understand plot, cool action scenes and some cheesy dialogue. The film wasn't perfect and it definitely had it's flaws, but it was fun, enjoyable and quite funny at certain points as well. Good review Chris.

  • Ldancingcat
    Ldancingcat Year ago

    I'm so glad to find a reviewer who just talks normally and puts the focus on the movie instead of being gimmicky or over the top. He doesn't try to be an entertainer using a funny voice and jump cuts like other reviewers I've seen.

  • Ian Harper
    Ian Harper Year ago

    "noble" you used it to describe Liam Neeson's character, weird how its also a key word in the movie

  • itchytastyurr
    itchytastyurr Year ago

    Just saw this at the cinema- it was like the negotiator meets the orient express. Now go to the showers in the gym across the street, and ask random men to pee in your hands...

  • J. AV.
    J. AV. Year ago

    Movie was crap, made me fall asleep, first movie that’s done that since the last American Godzilla.

  • Quazi Aseer Faisal

    Love the t-shirt. 😍😍😍

  • FURM PRODUCTIONS
    FURM PRODUCTIONS Year ago

    SPOILER: But I feel like the fight scene with the guitar dude is one of the best fight scenes I've seen in a movie in a while. Haha. Like... no lie. I know!!! It sounds pretty crazy saying that. But I just thought it was captivating and done really well. And plus I'm just sick of seeing fight scenes with over the top shakey cam and jump cuts every damn second. Haha.

  • flixl23
    flixl23 Year ago

    Michael Mccauley.....play on Heat.....Neal Mccauley and Michael Cheritto

  • Bruce Wayne
    Bruce Wayne Year ago

    Stuckmann completely lost it lol, this and insidious weren't bloody awful movies but he somehow liked them, everyone has their own opinion I guess 🤔

  • Tyler Durden
    Tyler Durden Year ago

    Liam Neeson in Schindler’s fist. Where he single handily takes down the third Reich.

  • SullysNQ
    SullysNQ Year ago

    I like that the background characters had a part in the conspiracy. Generally the main characters are the only ones who know the details of the conflict. It was kind of cool when Neesan realized who killed Ricky...and the camera panned over to the passengers faces.

  • Simon Santodomingo
    Simon Santodomingo Year ago +1

    This movie is terrible what did you watch 😂

  • Alec McGrath
    Alec McGrath Year ago

    Can you review "A Walk Among The Tombstones"!? I'm surprised you haven't yet. And I'm pasting this comment on all of your new videos until you do, or acknowledge me. LOL!

  • Danny T.
    Danny T. Year ago

    Idk I thought this movie was awful. something we've seen before, cliche predictable characters, Liam Neeson doing the same thing he does in every movie except with less backstory and that jump from train to train was just laughably awful also terrible forced humor.

  • Bogumila Czwakiel
    Bogumila Czwakiel Year ago +1

    🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽🙏🏽👹💤😱💩💪🏿💪🏿💪🏿💪🏿👻💀😛

  • Julie Hostrup
    Julie Hostrup Year ago

    Did you see the korean zombie movie “Train to Busan”... fantastic use of the train setting and a great zombie film in general!

  • Juan Tamez
    Juan Tamez Year ago

    Very entertaining movie, I highly recommend it to see it before Liam Neeson quits to do action/thriller movies.