Brightburn - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 24, 2019
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Brightburn, starring Elizabeth Banks, David Denman, Jackson A. Dunn, Matt Jones, Meredith Hagner. Directed by David Yarovesky.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 3 459

  • Future weapon
    Future weapon 22 hours ago

    Just saw this it was really weird

  • Joe Yuzwa
    Joe Yuzwa Day ago

    I saw this movie last night, and I have to say it was seriously bad. 2/10 for me

  • Tilly Jackson
    Tilly Jackson Day ago

    I totally agree with you on the reveal at the start, however they would have had to have given that away in the marketing anyway given the whole premise is evil superman

  • FunkMonk
    FunkMonk Day ago

    It's a good villain origin.

  • Alex Vallejo
    Alex Vallejo Day ago

    I couldn't even finish it. The story was terrible. Great idea, didn't like the execution. Acting was great, visuals were great, the story was so dull and frustrating. I'm amazed I got through an hour before I got up and left the theater.

  • TheKira708
    TheKira708 Day ago

    What made this movie bad to me is that he was just bad for the sake of being bad.....like his mission was to take over the world but like...for what PURPOSE....WHY y,know there was no reason that explained that, it kinda reminded me of Dragon ball Z how Goku was sent to Earth to rule it but he hit his head and forgot his mission. But atleast in the show it explains why Saiyans took over worlds but in this movie, the kid was just an evil superman thats it....:/ like a what if Superman was actually an evil kid with powers that wannted to take over the world...thats it -_- very disappointing there wasnt more to it then just that. An the rest of his kind were they gonna go to Earth to see or help him take over the world or what kind of race of aliens were they etc. just sooo many unanswered questions and he was just a kid with powers who was evil who wanted to take over the world for NO REASON and if there was a reason for it, we sure dont get NO explanation why. but oh well it was cool seeing him act like an evil Superman tho with the kills other then that movie didnt really care for it.

  • Sharonda Leaky Jackson

    The father is grossly overweight and were supposed to believe heโ€™s doing all that running around without being out of breath??? Lol please. I believed the superpowers more than that very OBESE man running around

  • Saifaleslam Aldhahry

    I watched the movie yesterday and I really enjoyed it. I absolutely agree with you, I felt the movie kind of rushed up and I was really expecting some thing more deep but overall the movie was great. I also expected a short background were Brandon (The boy) came from, but I think this is a good thing that they made his original background a mystery. For example I think Brandon come from another diminution (Earth 3) and when he is become a man he probably be Ultra man from DC comic Crime syndicate (That is my thought). Anyway, excellent review as always Chris good job mate.

  • boy White
    boy White 6 days ago +1

    If superman was a god to people...then brightburn must be the anti christ.....

  • boy White
    boy White 6 days ago +2

    Well the never really reference that he was a alien besides of the superman origing story..

  • MajorShot
    MajorShot 6 days ago

    I found this movie wasn't that good, not worth watching.

  • Isaac Rivera
    Isaac Rivera 7 days ago +1

    His shirt is legendary. I need it.

  • Michael Kuhlenberg
    Michael Kuhlenberg 7 days ago

    This movie was BORING all the way thru. It had a good idea that was not thought out. This film makes Dark Phoenix looks Oscar worthy.

  • TruFantom21
    TruFantom21 7 days ago

    Chris Stuckmann
    Do you honestly think that not including the crash landing scene
    would have not given the mystery of where this kid comes from?
    Are you not aware of trailers?

  • Nick Young
    Nick Young 8 days ago

    While I appreciate Chris's opinion that there should have been more of a struggle within Brandon, I saw him being "commanded" by the ship to "take the world" as a twist on the whole "Clark activates the Jor-El hologram & it tells him he can/has to be a hero" trope from both Superman (1978) & Man of Steel, so I'm okay with how it happened. That said, I think that's a very minor problem that the Superman movies & this exude: why can't it be the character's own choice to do good or evil? Are they fated to do either?

  • brett norris
    brett norris 8 days ago

    This movie is objectively terrible. Stop acting like itโ€™s decent. Fuck. I want my money back plus compensation for the gas I spent getting to the theater

  • yung razz
    yung razz 9 days ago +7

    This movie was terrible. Only the idea was good. It's like watching the same scene over and over again; Brendan stands in front of someone, camera pans, Brendan is gone! Cue Brendan flying in again with violence.
    Also there was no story at all. No character development. Why did he want to kill all these people? Where did he come from?
    I can't take anyone serious that passes this off as anything more than watchable.

  • Michael Prescott, Jr.
    Michael Prescott, Jr. 9 days ago +2

    Like a solid blind rental from the 80's.

  • myname istavo
    myname istavo 10 days ago

    this movie was fucking terrible

  • YEROCnamrus
    YEROCnamrus 10 days ago

    Yeah but they needed to advertise it as 'evil superman' to get a decent amount of people in the cinema, they really wouldnt have been able to keep the alien part a secret. And also I feel like his motivations were clear enough, he is still just a kid

  • Art Giddens
    Art Giddens 10 days ago

    movie was horrible

  • Silly Goose
    Silly Goose 10 days ago +1

    I too was rooting for this film. These are the type of indy movies I would pay to see in the theater every week.

  • kevin u
    kevin u 10 days ago

    Great review is always Chris!

  • Cap Glo
    Cap Glo 10 days ago

    If it was any slower, it wouldโ€™ve been Capt. Marvel ๐Ÿ˜ด

  • Brutal Justin
    Brutal Justin 10 days ago

    Great review, but I don't think taking out the intro crash landing scene would've helped the movie much, since every trailer gives you the idea that the movie is about an unusual, other-worldly kid who becomes evil. I think it would only work for someone going into the movie completely blind knowing nothing about it other than the title.

  • Candice G
    Candice G 11 days ago

    This movie was a waste of time

  • Lia Flexx
    Lia Flexx 11 days ago

    I thought it was pretty cool movie. As you said it lacked some character development. He went from nice boy to prince of darkness in 0.2 seconds. I heard so much about it being like evil Superman, but the only things that were like Superman was the adoption and the farm. Other than that it was pretty much a purely evil alien who happens to have superman like powers.

  • Wes Fields
    Wes Fields 11 days ago

    Great movie

  • jmac46951
    jmac46951 11 days ago

    It was a terrible movie. The acting was wooden. The father was miscast and it seemed as though they rushed through the story to get to the killing. You're welcome.

  • Pen Wednesday
    Pen Wednesday 11 days ago

    4:40 yes

  • PreferAndroid
    PreferAndroid 11 days ago

    This movie sucked a giant gorilla dick. There was zero character development. There was no connections to the relationships between the characters. Extremely predictable. It felt rushed as f***. Horrible! I honestly don't see how this guy sees this movie as a good movie. It really boggles the mind. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    • TieFighter34
      TieFighter34 4 days ago

      Chris is one of the absolute worst movie reviewers.

  • Manny Johnson
    Manny Johnson 11 days ago +2

    Please dont say superhero, there is nothing heroic about anything Brandon does. He is not a hero. He is a serial killer with superpowers, nothing more.

  • Who's Next โ€ข 9 years ago

    So it's goku without head injury

  • David Huff
    David Huff 11 days ago

    If you want to see a good movie then skip this one.

  • Nikki Movie Reviews
    Nikki Movie Reviews 12 days ago +3

    Great review๐Ÿ˜ŽLove your channel๐Ÿค— I love the superman dark twist to it ๐Ÿคฃ

  • Nick N
    Nick N 12 days ago

    A movie that is similar to the super man story that is over looked / forgotten is 'Powder'...

  • Alex Rademacher
    Alex Rademacher 12 days ago +3

    great review, great points. i think a solid A , for sure, maybe A+

  • tinwoods
    tinwoods 12 days ago

    A tough judge. I like that.

  • Jarsky
    Jarsky 12 days ago

    Guess they would have had to withhold a lot more from the trailers if they wanted to do a late second act reveal.
    It was evident from the first trailers that came out that this was a twist on Kal-El's origin story from the Superman saga.

    Still one of the movies im most looking forward to this year

  • Mainely Movies
    Mainely Movies 13 days ago

    Very interesting insight, Chris! The idea of a twist could have really made this story a bit more compelling and really could have built up the motivation and explanation side of it too.

  • deathrider7
    deathrider7 13 days ago

    Have you seen Clerks for $28,000?

  • 92680BOYD
    92680BOYD 13 days ago

    Here's a trigger. What if the Russians sent that kid instead of it being an actual alien. Could be a twist coming up for the sequel.

  • Out of Spite Production

    I think he's just a straight psychopath, just the shit he does or saids has traits of a psychopath, not even the killing forget about that, just how he reacts and acts and how he's very anti social as well, a lot of traits of a psychopath, to me personally super power or not I think he would have ended up evil

  • MrKalashnik0va
    MrKalashnik0va 13 days ago

    "There are times in the movie where he expresses that he wants to be good" You mean the ONE time at the end of the movie after he killed everyone? Just before he kills his mom?

  • Freak Reviews
    Freak Reviews 13 days ago

    I rewatched the movie and still can't figure it out the kid's motivations. It's so rushed.

  • IvyHilts
    IvyHilts 14 days ago +4

    "Chronicle meets Superman" it's good, but I'd rather pitch the de idea as "We need to talk about Kal-El"

  • David Semick
    David Semick 14 days ago +2

    You liked it more than I did. It seemed more like an 85 minute teaser for a potential Brightburn 2.

  • TFEXY
    TFEXY 14 days ago

    Easily my fave horror movie

  • Juicy Narwal
    Juicy Narwal 14 days ago

    Not sure if Iโ€™m reaching here, but I also kind of noticed a really nice touch of colour symbolism. Many times in the movie youโ€™ll see the family around blue clothing and other items, while the kidโ€™s aesthetic is all red. Every time he goes crazy thereโ€™s a touch of red, but whenever his parentโ€™s bring him back down, thereโ€™s always blue in the shot.

  • K26SMOOTH
    K26SMOOTH 14 days ago

    Excellent review

  • Garrett K
    Garrett K 14 days ago +6

    I could feel the "oh shit'' moment in the scene that you showed where the kid gets pushed around and bullied.
    I think it's just a bad idea to bully people. It never seems to turn out well.

  • Sรธren Vigand Kryger

    It's funny.. I just saw this movie and it did NOT have that opening scene with the crash. We see the parents fooling around in the bed, they get interrupted by a sound that goes silent, and then goes out with a big bang. Then it cuts to footage of the boy as a baby, growing up. That's it. The crash scenes comes later in the film, so I'm kinda sad that Chris Stuckmann didn't see this version that I did :) Anywho, I loved the movie with its flaws.

  • sadder daze
    sadder daze 14 days ago

    off topic but I need that shirt lol

  • Mlogan11
    Mlogan11 14 days ago

    Good film, but need more character development to show his motivation. Also it seems everyone kept making really dumb mistakes typical of horror films. Since they let you in on the alternate Superman-verse right at the star, it would have been cool to see some other character origins like "Lex Luthor" turning out to be the good kid scientist that has suspicions about Bryan, setting up for the sequel.

  • Jedi Master ULTRA-NERD

    Here's the thing: I thought the film was solid. Great acting, good premise, good writing, and one helluva third act. The ending was good. I liked the direction. I thought it was good. But when 'Bad Guy' by Billie Eilish came on and they played it over clips of him leveling cities and killing thousands.... i just couldn't take it seriously. Its hard to take in these horrific things while a pop song with an up-tempo beat plays. If they intended for me to take it seriously... no. just no. kinda took me out of it because it was so HARD R and gory details that its jarring to hear an up-tempo pop song come up. its just odd. to prove my point, watch the movie (its worth watching), listen to the song in the finale, then look up the music video. Tell me that the tone matches

  • That1lameguy
    That1lameguy 14 days ago

    So, itโ€™s an alternate universe of superman. Lex Luthor, joker, deathstroke, etc are good

  • ZH36 -
    ZH36 - 14 days ago

    Labyrinth t shirt!!!

  • Seanjohn0101
    Seanjohn0101 14 days ago

    THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT!!!!!!!

  • Triste d3 Nemesis 13:17-13

    I loved this movie this is the real superman it deserves a sequel for such flip

  • Romane Forbes
    Romane Forbes 15 days ago

    You have to remember that they probably got that time to do the movie so it had to be rushed

  • Nihaal Sandim
    Nihaal Sandim 15 days ago

    Batman : im not gonna save this bitches mother

  • utubeproductreviews
    utubeproductreviews 15 days ago

    Interesting, thanks for the info.

  • Tyler Williams
    Tyler Williams 15 days ago

    I think the opening scene was fine given the fact everyone in the audience already knew that this was an evil superman movie. Wouldn't had made sense to keep it a secret.

  • JadedTheatre
    JadedTheatre 15 days ago +3

    omg, I want your shirt so bad!

  • Bill Stone
    Bill Stone 15 days ago +3

    When does a movie about a childless couple become a horror movie?
    When it becomes apparent.

  • Jason Stewart
    Jason Stewart 15 days ago

    I was disappointed. It wasn't an awesome movie. It was just an okay movie. The only unlikable character he killed was his mother. In my opinion, this movie would have been a lot better if they focused more on his school life, him being bullied and if they went with the angle of him getting revenge for that bullying. Kind of like if a school shooter had super powers, what would happen.

  • Not A Doctor
    Not A Doctor 15 days ago +6

    If the Gunn brothers decide to do a crossover film with Super (which was teased at the very end), Iโ€™d be there opening night!

    • BRYCE
      BRYCE 14 days ago

      I think they should, have an evil justice league. Then have them fight a good suicide squad, a good joker, a good lex luthor, good penguin, etc.

  • James simpkins
    James simpkins 15 days ago

    I would of gave brightburn an a

  • Alexander Leslie
    Alexander Leslie 15 days ago

    Evil superman

  • After Math
    After Math 15 days ago

    this movie was fucking garbage
    like 5/10

  • Rob Vespa
    Rob Vespa 15 days ago

    Wow. I now want to see this film.

  • Dark Glass
    Dark Glass 15 days ago

    I like the approach where the mother was in denial rather than oblivious to the connection between her 'son' and the horrible things that have happened since he started going through "puberty". It is a realistic approach that actually makes me fascinated with what was going on in the film rather than roll my eyes.

  • John Cherry
    John Cherry 15 days ago

    It was all jumpscares from beginning to end. Why. Why are the reviews so good.

    • John Cherry
      John Cherry 15 days ago

      I'm bob ross I'm a master of horror

  • Lmarie.
    Lmarie. 15 days ago

    He didn't want to be good. I thought the classroom scene where he explained the difference between bees and wasps basically suggested he's a predator whos only purpose is to hunt and kill like a wasp.

  • Sean Coomes
    Sean Coomes 15 days ago

    That shirt is dope

  • Veemon digimon
    Veemon digimon 15 days ago

    Well. about the spaceship scene....since it was already established from the trailers...it really didn't make sense try to hide it like a 'plot secret' ...the trailer must show something after-all.

  • MetalArms
    MetalArms 15 days ago

    I actually got to the theater a couple of minutes late and missed the opening scene of him crashing and yeah you were right. It did kinda make the movie better for me lol

  • krzykoopa
    krzykoopa 15 days ago

    I don't understand what the movie gains from "hiding the surprise / playing with our expectations" If you seen the trailer or know anything about the movie there is no surprise. The fact they lean into that in my opinion is great because the movie does not pull punches in what it is showing. Other than that I agree with everything you said

  • Brandon
    Brandon 15 days ago

    Wishing it was a tie in to the unbreakable universe!

  • michael mcpeek
    michael mcpeek 15 days ago

    What a surprise. Leftist degenerate turns the story of Superman into a demented fantasy. Who would have guessed?

  • Zha G
    Zha G 15 days ago

    Is Chronicle meets Superman it's evil Superman give me Monies๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

  • booginas
    booginas 15 days ago

    I like your idea of them withholding the fact that he's an alien til the middle of the movie. It would have been a better reveal, yet somewhat still predictable.
    My takeaway from the movie however is that you can love someone with everything in you & sacrifice your last for them but they are still gonna be what they're gonna be, whether that's a murderer, an alcoholic, a thief, gay (not that that's a bad thing) --- you can't change what it is in someone to be. And it raises the question:. "If you find out someone is truly irredeemable --- can you stop loving them? Or maybe, "Should you feel guilty if you stop loving them"? Cuz I think Elizabeth's character really loved him even til the end. But the father --- I think he loved who he THOUGHT his son was til the end, but not who his son truly revealed himself to be, & that's why his & Elizabeth's character bumped heads & were stuck @ a crossroads. I knew what he was gonna do at the end because the mother didn't have the strength to get past her emotions & think practically. It's the same reason why it's hard for people to get over an "ex." You're holding on to the memory of the ideal version of them in your head--- your fairytale version of them. But when you are able to ACCEPT who the TRULY ARE, then you're able to release them & I think the scene near the end with the father & the boy in the woods ( don't want to spoil it) was when the father let the lil' boy he raised die & saw him for who he was at the point, & that's how he was able to do what he did. Or attempted to anyway. Just my 25cents.

  • Haz3 Spears
    Haz3 Spears 16 days ago

    Everyone knows hes an alien its a superman ish plot

  • Zach Sheets
    Zach Sheets 16 days ago

    "I feel your review could have been better if you would have gave it a double B for Brandon Bryer" lol jk. I really felt exactly the same about this movie. Was great but missed the mark on a couple things.

  • 5yogurt
    5yogurt 16 days ago

    If he is part of an invasive species then his concept of being good is different from that of humans.

  • Call me KENNETH!
    Call me KENNETH! 16 days ago

    Elizabeth Banks is so underated.

  • Sainiranjan Lingayat
    Sainiranjan Lingayat 16 days ago +1

    Cool huh!

  • 3 KIDS
    3 KIDS 16 days ago

    Agreed, I think the run time needed an extra 30 minutes. I think the whole โ€œis it a puberty thing or something elseโ€ could have been fleshed out more which also means youโ€™re right the opening crash scene would have had to be moved, most likely to the beginning of the dream sequence. So itโ€™s not an entirely faultless film, but I thought it was really entertaining and fun to watch, I liked it a lot ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

  • Jan Venter
    Jan Venter 16 days ago

    I think they did they alien bit so everyone would compare this to Superman

  • ANIME FAN
    ANIME FAN 16 days ago

    So brightburn is the oposite if superman what if superman is alive again and fought him power by power hand by hand superman vs the demon of space.

  • Duke Silver
    Duke Silver 16 days ago +23

    Hollywood announced it's permanent vacation from originality when they tried to remake Point Break.

  • pingus42
    pingus42 16 days ago

    The problem with having a setup for a reveal in a film like this is that a lot of people are going in with the premise that the boy is Superman basically, so the surprise would be dumb

  • skeleton
    skeleton 16 days ago

    So superman gone bad

  • Hannah Perez
    Hannah Perez 16 days ago

    damn I havenโ€™t seen it yet but you mentioning that they shouldโ€™ve kept him being an alien a secret until further into the movie made me so angry cuz itโ€™s such a good idea and I wish the writers did that

  • Jamal Crawford
    Jamal Crawford 16 days ago

    sorry imo this was trash asf

  • Frauke Schmidt
    Frauke Schmidt 16 days ago +3

    Excellent review, thank you.

  • David DeCelle
    David DeCelle 17 days ago +1

    I liked this film. It sort of struck me as the origin story for Hyperion. I would love to see this incorporated into the MCU, but I know thatโ€™s not gonna happen.

  • Ms. Perfection
    Ms. Perfection 17 days ago

    What absolutely annoys me is the amount of people who think this movie has any ties to DC Comics.

  • Peter Borrie
    Peter Borrie 17 days ago +10

    He explains his motive through the wasp and bees thing in the science class

    • maximumrisk2004
      maximumrisk2004 16 days ago

      True, every class scene ties into the movies plot.

  • Nhan Do
    Nhan Do 17 days ago

    My friend gwen acts in brightburn...