If I could only have one computer this would be it. - Alienware m15 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 7, 2019
  • Get an unrestricted 30-day free trial of FreshBooks at www.freshbooks.com/techtips
    Use code LINUS and get 25% off GlassWire at lmg.gg/glasswire
    The Alienware m15 R2 can do basically everything I'd ever want a computer to do... but at that price, should you just get two instead?
    Buy Alienware m15 R2
    On Amazon: geni.us/kogAtBr
    On Newegg: lmg.gg/8KVPC
    Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1111560-if-i-could-only-have-one-computer-this-would-be-it-alienware-m15-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a VPN with PIA at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Check out Displate Metal Posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: tvclip.biz/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High tvclip.biz/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 074

  • Ryan Dudley
    Ryan Dudley 7 hours ago

    Alienware sucks m15 r2 keyboard stop working 1 month into service
    On top of that dell services suck

  • Maria Noen
    Maria Noen 8 hours ago

    I stopped at onboard memory. 4k to not be able to upgrade the memory in the future, nope , you guys have to understand that no spec in the world can take advantage of you. and if we stay together the industry will follow.

  • Sabre
    Sabre 10 hours ago +1

    7:04 I did not know that when I clicked on this video, I would have bulges shoved into my face

  • Golden Apple
    Golden Apple 13 hours ago

    Good video.

  • Bro Bless
    Bro Bless 16 hours ago

    im color blind fuck sRGB

  • Roxanne Kotlyaroff
    Roxanne Kotlyaroff 17 hours ago

    Hi ! Everyone ; we have Apple Mac book pro with only 8 GB of memory can that be upgraded to 16 GB and same goes for our Apple iMac. THANKS !

  • Stephen Manary
    Stephen Manary Day ago

    Feel like there should have been "Seizure Warning" at 7:00

  • victoria zumbado

    Nooo come one 7:00 was a bad experience put your clothes and try different ways to sell your merchandise

  • Jeffrey Green
    Jeffrey Green Day ago

    Tobii eye-tracking does support Windows Hello, at least it does on my Alienware 17 R4. I did have to re-install the drivers to get it working though. It seems to work for windows login even if eye-tracking is disabled.

  • A s t h e t i c a l y P l e a s i n g

    Someone tell linus to review the eluktronic mag-15 laptop

  • TheFreak InTheFlame

    Would the asus ROG strix scar 3 be a good replacement?

  • pinche dox
    pinche dox Day ago +1

    linus's face looks like hes worried about losing alienware as an affiliate after he said its twice as fast LOL

  • Ian Konstantino
    Ian Konstantino Day ago

    The rocket League background :)

  • melvin khosa
    melvin khosa 2 days ago

    Linus and Alex needs to try the MSI GT75 Titan's keyboard. Hands down the best keyboard in any laptop out there (aside from the GT83 which has a full sized mechanical keyboard).

  • Lars Sims
    Lars Sims 2 days ago

    I rly want this.

  • Abeille Magique Dans Coquelicot

    Yeah just dont buy it

  • Matthias Möhle
    Matthias Möhle 2 days ago

    Well buy the potent desktop and stream the game from there you need to play on the laptop.

  • rb_plays
    rb_plays 2 days ago

    Please....PLEASE...stop zooming in on Linus in his underwear....

  • Bob Dobbs
    Bob Dobbs 2 days ago

    Maximum of 16 GB of RAM for your "one" computer AND it's costs $3,000.00? Linus... buddy. You're better than this man.

  • BOUNCEHOUSE
    BOUNCEHOUSE 2 days ago

    YOu should hands on the Razer Blade 15. I have had this laptop for about 8 months with similar specs and I still prefer it to the m15

  • RS1
    RS1 3 days ago

    How come people dont like alienware? I always see bad comments about them but with no proof.
    (Just getting into computer stuff.)

    • First Name Last Name
      First Name Last Name 10 hours ago

      They're pretty notorious for being overpriced, and pray you get a functioning one if you do buy. Dell support is one of the worst things to experience. Ever. I bought a Dell 34inch ultrawide that had almost 1/4 screen back light bleed. I RMAd it, got a nasty refurb that had a huge 2in gash on the bezel so bad it showed metal. Beyond comprehension how anyone would think it was OK to send to a customer. RMAd that, bitched at support for sending a shitty unit & they promised a new retail one. Got another garbage refurb. Had the same, horrible back light bleed. Oh, there was a $30 voucher that came with the monitor, and I bought a pcie usb 3.0 card. Didn't work in 3 machines I tried it in.
      Friend had a similar experience with his keyboard and ssd in laptop. Constant missed key presses, & bsods with "no bootable media present", where machine would randomly not see the os drive. Sent it in for service, took them 6 weeks round trip. Problems showed up again literally days later.
      Watch the series on this channel of "are computer manufacturers ripping you off?" or something and see how horrible dell does, particularly in the tech support section. They're abysmal. It's your money, but I'd buy a pre-built or laptop from absolutely anyone else. Nothing dell,ever again.

  • Sankhadip Mazumder
    Sankhadip Mazumder 3 days ago

    7:06 ...Now i am blind , linus you better pay for my future wife n kids

  • Spazza42
    Spazza42 3 days ago

    Buy the older gen 15’s with a 1070 and quad core processor. Cheaper and plenty of power for the foreseeable

  • Wyatt Smith
    Wyatt Smith 3 days ago

    disliked solely for the underwear macbook pro segment

  • Noxious
    Noxious 3 days ago

    3:25 have you u guys seen the Romanian Flag on the car?

  • Anonymous
    Anonymous 3 days ago

    So now they soldered the RAM in? I remember when I got my m15x back in 09' and they literally charged like $500 for the RAM upgrade option from slowest to best. I got it with base RAM and CPU options then upgraded them myself to the max RAM and CPU configuration and literally saved about $1000. I realized after spending roughly $2500 I could've bought a car instead. It was a unique gaming experience nonetheless. It also had the magnesium alloy chassis. It could run Unreal Tournament 3 (best looking game at the time) at max settings 1024×768 resolution at around 60 fps. It was capable of a resolution maximum of 1920×1200 which at the time was the highest you could get on a screen that small (15").

  • Avacado Kid
    Avacado Kid 3 days ago

    boi when you review something i wanna know if it can run vr headsets

  • Goofball Gaming
    Goofball Gaming 3 days ago

    Laptop and gaming is an oxymoron

  • Luc1d9
    Luc1d9 3 days ago

    I wish i just had a 100 dollars pls anyone send me some money through paypal that would seriously make my life i have a computer which is bot mine but i want to buy a graphics card which is 150 and my monthly money that i get is 40 dollars lol pls anyone

  • Reprisal
    Reprisal 3 days ago

    Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.

  • B.N.R multitec
    B.N.R multitec 3 days ago

    Any updates about surface book 3....

  • Tech-WonDo
    Tech-WonDo 3 days ago

    Why you didn't talk about the badly placed webcam?

  • Tech-WonDo
    Tech-WonDo 3 days ago

    I see the Octane as a wallpaper, I press Like

  • DJScrivbits
    DJScrivbits 3 days ago

    Sorry don’t speak rich

  • J R
    J R 3 days ago

    Can anyone tell me why the 15" is worth buying when (for me in New Zealand) the 17" is actually cheaper. It still has a 144hz monitor, and i would prefer a larger screen.

  • Jazz A
    Jazz A 4 days ago

    This is one of the best reviews I've seen on LTT including the gem at 07:00 lmao. The backing music works beautifully and coupled with the animated desk gives this video such a nice atmosphere, the set gives me an upgraded Dave2D(Is that his name? I can't remember I got linus on my mind) vibe.

    The new sets are wonderfully designed, I have no idea who Linus & Ivan are off camera, but when so many talented individuals gather around two people, one can see they are great people. I dunno why I love the vibe of this video so much. You guys are amazing to watch grow.

  • Henrik Lahn Andersen

    ......... whaaattt??? Dude at the 2460$ pricepoint, you can still buy the 1000$ surface laptop, and have 1460$ for your PC ...... You can get a pretty banging PC for that! Make it a Ryzen 5 3600 and an RX 5700 XT for 1100$ (Basically look online for these builds... this one +50$ more for the RX 5700 XT over the RTX 2060 Super - and you are pretty much there! pcpartpicker.com/guide/R3G323/great-amd-gamingstreaming-build ) This gives you 360$ for a monitor, keyboard and mouse - which is pretty damn doable these days...

    I don't care what performance this computer has - it's overpriced AF! (don't forget - they actually picked a cheaper model - the I9 is 400$ more - so close to 4K $ at that point ... da fak!) And saying the keyboard is "almost as good as a Lenovo keyboard" ............. SERIOUSLY they have been making those keyboards for 20 years now and they have barely changed. The fact that ALL computers in that pricerange doesn't have this is what you should focus on rather than "OMG this one does" - one question though! Where the fuck is the numpad? Most Lenovo computers of this size has a numpad - and unless your computer is nothing more than a souped up netbook, not having it is fucking unacceptable... especially if you want to do anything other than gaming on it! Try doing your taxes or whatever with the numbers above the letters... I would rather have my dick stuck in a rotating door! Gaming laptops are in general shit and not worth the money..... and the premium on this is downright moronic!

  • Dani L
    Dani L 4 days ago

    my only question is: are the drivers supported for arch?

  • Spooki
    Spooki 4 days ago

    2.5k .... damn

  • evans yomu
    evans yomu 4 days ago

    RAZER BLADE PRO 17.3 INCH 4K touch with 120HZ screen

  • A7_BlockeyBlue
    A7_BlockeyBlue 4 days ago

    I feel like companies solder the ram bc they make it better than any you can buy alone on the market, so they only want it used on their products

  • El Diablo
    El Diablo 4 days ago

    Channel has too many inside advertisements. Unsubscribed!

  • Jeremy Christian
    Jeremy Christian 4 days ago

    Dave ducktaped a macbook, Marquess reuploading a video 999 times, and this is what we get from you Linus? Nothing worth meme-ing about?

    Oh wait, underwear crotch shot. You're cool.

  • Douglas Jones
    Douglas Jones 4 days ago

    Good God Linus, PLEASE KEEP YOUR CLOTHES ON!!!! You are a very disturbed individual.

  • Michael Kiepert
    Michael Kiepert 4 days ago

    So I remember in a video that alex was an engineer but i would like to know what kind of engineer?

  • Terrence Ryan
    Terrence Ryan 4 days ago

    Curious what the game is at 1:20. Anybody?

  • Rain
    Rain 4 days ago

    can you add auto subtitle

  • C M
    C M 4 days ago

    Once upon a time I owned the Alienware M17x R2 & R3. I found back then, running two video cards with the SLi would give rise to graphical stuttering. Although I found a single video card to work fine in the R3 model.

  • Abe Edits
    Abe Edits 4 days ago +1

    Will I be able to play Cyberpunk 2077 on it?

  • Ruan du Plessis
    Ruan du Plessis 4 days ago

    So, you saying this is better than the ROG STRIX 240hz? I cant decide..

  • fait
    fait 5 days ago

    would rather have a mac than being a loser gamer.

    • fait
      fait 5 days ago

      Vs jack of all trades master of none.

  • ngu0061
    ngu0061 5 days ago

    $3330....annnnd closes browser.

  • Shadow Obscura
    Shadow Obscura 5 days ago

    Love Linus, but he should hire women to get some women representation on his channel. Need to breakout of this boy's club.

  • Muhammad Hafiz Aslami

    Alienware m15 R2 or Acer Predator Triton 500?

  • Felix
    Felix 5 days ago

    I finally got a replacement after mine broke immediately after ordering it 2,5 months ago. It had been repaired twice, the ram was broken, it wouldn't charge and my sound didn't work.
    Still have to return my old one, it was a real pain to get a new machine from Dell in the Netherlands. Now that I finally have a new one I'm really happy with it, finally the software is also up-to-date and no more weird glitches, everything feels solid.

    I work in an IT company myself, so I do know what I'm doing with these machines, but the previous one from this same model I had I would not recommend. The one I have right now is amazing!
    i7 9750h
    RTX 2060
    16 GB 2666 Mhz ram
    256 GB + (My own 1 TB 970 evo)

    Real solid machine, if I'd want more power in the future I'll just connect the Alienware graphics amplifier. Although it felt weird for me to buy a laptop with soldered RAM, I don't mind (yet). Since I always like to service my own machines this one made that nearly impossible, but so far it has been serving me well.

  • Jack TheRipper
    Jack TheRipper 5 days ago

    is it weird that i rewind the video just to watch Linus in his underwear again?

  • Subyfly
    Subyfly 5 days ago

    Now only if they don't make it look so 'gamery' look, then this would replace my office laptop.

  • brunoais
    brunoais 5 days ago

    Biggest question: Does it run linux as good as windows?

  • Vishal Maurya
    Vishal Maurya 5 days ago

    Does Linux perform good??

  • Kevin C
    Kevin C 5 days ago

    Sorry. My experience with my Alienware a few years ago was a nightmare. I heard that they break down, but I assumed that it was he usual vocal minority and that the chances of mine being faulty were astronomical. Instead, I was faced with a faulty motherboard, causing me to have to use in-home repair, and then once that ran out, it happened again. No way am I ever going back to Alienware. I won’t lie to people, it was an amazing laptop, but the problems I had with it were just too much to handle. The most ironic thing is that at the time, I had a separate laptop for school (Alienware was for travel) that was the Dell Inspiron 7559 (I think that was the designation) and even though that thing had mushy keys, horrible viewing angles, ridiculously unsharp display, it still was a trooper. It never broke down on me and became my every day laptop even though the Alienware had a 980M (the Inspiron had a 960M). It’s funny how dell’s non-gaming sector produced a much more durable and loveable laptop than Dell’s Alienware sector. I think my next laptop will for sure be a Lenovo Legion.