Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 14, 2017
  • In re-watching the Harry Potter films, I figured "why not review them"? So, here's my review of "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone"!
    See more videos by Jeremy here: tvclip.biz/user/JeremyJahns
    Follow Jeremy on Twitter: JeremyJahns
    Friend Jeremy on Facebook: RealJeremyJahns
    Watch me on the Movie Triia Schmoedown Inner Geekdom here: tvclip.biz/video/l01WowgVJm4/video.html
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 1 982

  • Frank Sánchez
    Frank Sánchez 2 months ago

    The only bad thing about Harry Potter is J.K. Rowling

  • Ugo Supiot
    Ugo Supiot 2 months ago +1

    This movie is a part of my childhood.

  • Tori Jenkins
    Tori Jenkins 5 months ago

    Who leaves a baby on a doorstep in the middle of the night in October/November? One of many things that linger in my Slytherpuff mind about the HP series.

  • Lauren Nicole
    Lauren Nicole 5 months ago

    I have seen every one or the movies but I have always Harry Potter as a character

  • Casey Bator
    Casey Bator 6 months ago

    There is a movie revewer on youtube who revewed harry potter and doesn't read books and then asked lots of questons about if the books explain this and do the books explain that. I thought it was kind of funny.

  • Speedypikachu 5530
    Speedypikachu 5530 7 months ago

    I'm still a kid

  • Harry Fowler
    Harry Fowler 9 months ago

    I’d give this a great time no alcohol required


    Edit-maybe pushing for worth buying on blu ray

  • Metalgear SolidSnake
    Metalgear SolidSnake 9 months ago

    ..................lol

  • Ian
    Ian 10 months ago

    Dude, they did zero setting up for anything throughout this entire film series

  • A
    A 11 months ago +1

    He said Endgame!

  • luckyDancer100
    luckyDancer100 Year ago

    Harry Potter needs a re-release where they update the CGI. It really just needs a good cleanup.

  • Jordan Reviews
    Jordan Reviews Year ago +1

    In my country it was called Harry Potter and the Guy’s Rock

  • Brendan Kyle
    Brendan Kyle Year ago

    You mean diagon Alley not Hogsmeade

  • jayyTeęe s
    jayyTeęe s Year ago

    Every couple of months I have myself a quick Harry Potter marathon to remind me that life doesn’t have to be all bad

  • Matei Bobes
    Matei Bobes Year ago

    I would say that the movie definetly shows his age with the special effects and some aragements compared to how the series evolved, but it's a nice introduction into everything like who Harry is, Ron, Hermione and how they dislike her at the beginning, she becomes best friends with them even if she still plays smart sometimes.... And i like this childhood idea like innocence, chrismas, family, idea of having a new home like Hogwards etc. It's diferent then i remember and from other movies, but i think it really has that kind of something that drags you in, especially a child.... But i tjink that some of the characters were much better in the sequels and, as i said, even if the special effects sre great, they show some age compared to the followups! Book or movie, it's not very different!

  • Disney65Fan
    Disney65Fan Year ago

    I was watching this last night. I loved it. Hated the Harry Potter films when I was younger but now in my late 20s I actually love them now. Plus it was Emma Watson's film debut.

  • Disney65Fan
    Disney65Fan Year ago

    Published on my birthday

  • Michele Gacioui
    Michele Gacioui Year ago

    Sorcerers stone if you're American philosophers stone if you're English

  • Will Common
    Will Common Year ago

    You never finished this...

  • Jeremy Kington
    Jeremy Kington Year ago

    Jeremy. PLEASE review the Raimi Spider-Man movies. You don’t even have to watch the third one, but I neeeeed my nostalgia fix.

  • w_R Andrs
    w_R Andrs Year ago

    I am against the whole "paying movie reviewers to shut up and rate it good" thing... But if you rated HP1 below Awesometacular and given it A Good time, no alchohol required or lower... I'd use Avada Kedavra on you're parents and waited 10 (He was 1 year old when Voldemort murdered his parents so it would be 10 years later aka when he was 11) years to try and kill you as well.

  • Umbrellaguy
    Umbrellaguy Year ago

    Didn't get why the name was either Sorcerer's or Philosopher's stone. Was it just sorcerer in America?

  • j9rd11
    j9rd11 Year ago

    Slytherin for life!

  • Michael Nally
    Michael Nally 2 years ago

    In my opinion this film is one of the weaker of the Harry Potter. Is it bad? No! It’s just the rewatch ability kinda goes down over time for me as I have to rewatch the world building.

  • True Blue
    True Blue 2 years ago

    I saw the movie for the 1st time yesterday n I actually liked it n now i am going to read the 1st book!

  • Karl Fleming
    Karl Fleming 2 years ago

    *philosopher's stone*

  • shubhi shukla
    shubhi shukla 2 years ago

    This guy talks total shit

  • Hubert's Horrible Horror Show

    Philosopher's Stone. It's called the Philosopher's Stone. Why the hell was it changed? I'm genuinely curious.

  • LessCommonKnowledge
    LessCommonKnowledge 2 years ago

    oh god this takes me back, I remember reading the first book with my dad only a few months before the movie came out. I think i was 9 or 10 when the first movie came out, I just remember loving it so damn much, as soon as we left the theatre I begged my parents to go to the book store and buy the second book.
    I rewatched it a few months ago and... it doesn't quite hold up as much as i wanted it to, the special effects in particular look really (and sometimes awfully) dated. I still like the movie and have some truly amazing memories tied to it and the book, but of all the movies this one in my opinion has aged the worst, I will further elaborate on that if and when I comment on the review of Chamber of Secrets.
    also it's definitely Philosophers Stone, thats what Rowling intended and what it's called everywhere except the US.

  • Fought a Pidgeon
    Fought a Pidgeon 2 years ago

    Watching the movie again and realizing Dumbledore is a manipulative fuck that barely prepared Harry for anything.

  • Nick Sketch
    Nick Sketch 2 years ago

    Harry Potter Films Ranked:
    1. Prizoner Of Azkhaban
    2. Deathly Hallows Part II
    3. Goblet Of Fire
    4. Sorcerer's Stone
    5. Chamber Of Secrets
    6. Deathly Hallows Part I
    7. Half Blood Prince
    8. Order Of Phoenix

  • Parker Pshebnisky
    Parker Pshebnisky 2 years ago

    Harry Potter and the deathly hollows part 2 is my favorite!

  • Ksenia
    Ksenia 2 years ago

    I remember seeing this movie and then running home immediately to read the books :P thus my life as a diehard HP nerd began

  • RYAN RDS
    RYAN RDS 2 years ago

    So if Nicolas Flamel was 665 years old when he decided to get rid of the stone, would that mean that it would be evil to keep it another year?

  • kemuael
    kemuael 2 years ago

    Boring movie.

  • kemuael
    kemuael 2 years ago

    The Best place to watch movies is at home!!!

  • The Sci Fi and Fantasy cast

    love your channel Jeremy by the way I own a wedding chapel and we are having a Harry Potter themed wedding in September

  • Madrid Monarch
    Madrid Monarch 2 years ago

    You make me want to listen to the whole Harry Potter series on Audible.

  • Andreas Scott
    Andreas Scott 2 years ago

    PHI-LO-SO-PHER
    [fi-lo-sor-fah]

  • carlee elizabeth
    carlee elizabeth 2 years ago

    so what house are you in?

  • Darth Revan
    Darth Revan 2 years ago

    With the weather during their sports you have to take into account that they're in Scotland
    not very good weather up there

  • harrylover531
    harrylover531 2 years ago

    i enjoy and love watching the movies even now. ill say i do have a bit of problems and opitions. but regardless they are still great to watch. all the actors playing them really imbraced there characters. this is the rare time when i would have accepted splitting book 4 in two movies and same with 5 - 7. having read the books first i would have accepted and really loved that so you could get more detail and key plots in new fans needed to know.

  • Bandit S
    Bandit S 2 years ago

    Its philosophers stone duh

  • Confession Bear
    Confession Bear 2 years ago

    your a wizard harry

  • AJ Estur
    AJ Estur 2 years ago

    Jeremy, I wanna Slytherin you.
    Sorry.

  • Zach Clanton
    Zach Clanton 2 years ago

    My order:
    1. 6
    2. 3
    3. 7pt2
    4. 4
    5. 5
    6. 1
    7. 2
    8. 7pt1

  • Mr. Manager
    Mr. Manager 2 years ago

    In one of the Harry Potter movies Harry literally says "what place could be safer than Hogwarts?" and I busted out laughing. Seriously, *nothing* good happens at Hogwarts. Every year some new terror comes and threatens to kill you Harry. You're better off under the stairs.

  • G Richard Yamagata
    G Richard Yamagata 2 years ago

    This review shows Jeremy Jahns does not need new movies to make new reviews. We really enjoyed this movie review. He put a lot of thought into this. Great Job!

  • David Billiot
    David Billiot 2 years ago

    I didn't think I'd like the book when everyone was reading it for the first time. Then I read it and guess what ... nope, I didn't like it. The I read the next book and didn't like that either. As of now, I've read all the books and seen all the movies and Order of the Phoenix is the about the only thing of literary value in the series. Too bad the movie for that one didn't capture the kernel of skill that was put into the book.

  • Wetdookie
    Wetdookie 2 years ago

    Came out around the same time as lord of the rings but lotr had better cgi

  • JACK SPARROW
    JACK SPARROW 2 years ago

    my favorite harry potter movie,i see one thousand times

  • Kenjo Mendez
    Kenjo Mendez 2 years ago

    YER A WIZARD, HARRY.

  • RJ McIvor
    RJ McIvor 2 years ago

    This review made me want to watch Super 8 again. We were all kids once.

  • J-H P
    J-H P 2 years ago

    I am a huge Harry Potter fan, it's the first "real" and dense book I ever read but, as a manga fan I have to say that when I finished the books, Harry wasn't the hero of the story anymore. Indeed, in most mangas about kids and teenagers, the main character works hard AF to gain the abilities which allow him to beat his foes but, with this story Harry really doesn't do much. Dumbledore, Snapes, his mother and even Hermione (and of course Voldemort) are far better wizards who gave him all the weapons he needed to defeat Voldemort. It's a bit disappointing because in the fourth book Harry expresses an interest in becoming an Auror like MadEye Moody but, at the end of the story he's nowhere near this level of masterliness (which makes sense given his young age) and he never really tries to get there and, he ends up defeating Voldemort with two or three spells thanks to Dumbledore and Snapes' efforts.
    So, to me the brilliance of this story really resides on the sacrifices all these people made to save Harry and defeat Voldemort and the characters I admire are Dumbledore and Snapes who have so brilliantly crafted Voldemort demise.

  • Alyson MacQuarrie
    Alyson MacQuarrie 2 years ago

    Walking to Diagon Alley not Hogsmeade

  • Darewin Ocampo
    Darewin Ocampo 2 years ago

    Since you've just recommended that we read the books, you're going to be the first guest of Collider Book Talk hosted by the Beard ft. David Griffin.

  • SAUglaz
    SAUglaz 2 years ago

    I can't remember if movies actually mention that in world cup despite Krum actually caught the snitch, his team lost. Not completely broken game.

  • StarKnight619
    StarKnight619 2 years ago

    They completely destroyed the wand lore in the last 2 or 3 movies

  • Daniel John Kofler
    Daniel John Kofler 2 years ago

    Snitches get stitches indeed.

  • Kiryuin Satsuki
    Kiryuin Satsuki 2 years ago

    I was actually born a fully matured adult